Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

WICKERSHEIM & SONS

With Angi since December 2005

4.2

(26) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

92 FAIRMOUNT AVE

Hackensack, NJ 07601

Description

Wickersheim & Sons is a family owned and operated plumbing, heating and cooling company, which has been servicing the Bergen County area since 1926. We specialize in serving our customers the way our grandfather did. If you like to be treated fairly and honestly, responded to promptly, and the work performed cleanly and in a timely fashion, then you want us to work for you. We have over 80 years of experience in plumbing, heating, and air conditioning service and installations. Large enough staff to handle all your needs yet small enough to keep it personal. Our employees live in the area and most have for many years with many ties to the community. Our uniformed, courteous, service technicians have the experience to deliver the outstanding quality workmanship our customers have come to expect from Wickersheim & Sons in a timely fashion and most times well within the customer’s budget. Our philosophy has always been to treat our customers the way we would want someone to treat our own family members. We want to develop a relationship with our customers built on trust and honesty. A hand shake still means everything to us. We have a lot of those customers around today along with their kids and their grandchildren. Rob, Scott and Todd Wickersheim have all graduated from Hackensack High School and all still live in Bergen County today. Their commitment to doing business fairly and honestly is why the business has grown from 2 trucks in 1995 to over 10 vehicles today! 24 hours a day, 7 days a week we are on call to handle any and all emergencies life tends to throw your way....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
4.0

09/08/2017


Christina M. F.

This time it was expensive. Easy to access. Easy to make an appointment. They responded quickly.

Description of Work
They stopped a sink leak and repaired the pipes around the sink.

Category plumbing

1.0

04/03/2017


giovanni R.

They told me wrong cartridge to order and wanted to charge me again to complete the job once I received the right one. So I paid and never had my job completed. They were rude unprofessional and not honest .

Description of Work
Change bathroom cartridge

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

The first technician was there performing other work she had requested. At the end of the job, she asked the technician to look at the shower as a favor to see what could be done. The technician removed the trim so the cartridge was visibly accessible. We did not pull the cartridge for fear of damaging it more without having a new cartridge there to back us up. This specific cartridge was not one that our supply house carries, but it is one that Home Depot carries. The technician explained to the customer in order for us to investigate and search for the replacement part, we would need to remove the cartridge and go to Home Depot. The customer was also informed that the technician would be charging for all his time to do so which she then said she did not want to pay for. That's when she stated she would order the cartridge herself. All my technician did was remove the trim so the cartridge was visible. Never once did we tell her what part number to order because we did not know ourselves. The second technician then arrived once she called us back. This is when we found out the part she ordered was wrong. She paid our guy the service fee he requested, then proceeded to call the office to complain and stated she would just simply cancel the check when she was informed there was no refund.
5.0

12/27/2016


Kelly I.

They did an excellent job. Made arrangements to come over right away, were courteous, explained everything very well, and did wonderful work. We are glad to have found such a wonderful plumber!

Description of Work
They cleaned the sewer line, fixed problems with the bathroom sink plumbing, installed a brand new sink, and replaced hardware in the bathtub that had broken.

Category plumbing, drain cleaning

5.0

11/18/2015


Mary Jane Y.

Everything went perfectly. They were professional (as usual) and spot-on-time (also as usual).

Description of Work
Check furnace (winterize). No problems there. And check the faucet in the bathroom (crooked). Fixed it and that was it!

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

5.0

04/06/2015


Dwane R.

Technician was able to arrive the same day of the call. He was professional, explained what he was going to do, discussed options and gave me a verbal price estimate. He performed service left the area the way he found int.

Description of Work
provider replaced toilet flushing mechanism

Category plumbing

5.0

01/05/2015


BILL S.

I had a cracked main sewer pipe that was causing a leak. They were able to correctly diagnose the problem and the location behind the walls. They advised me that I could save a lot of money if I opened the walls myself or had a handyman do it. I did as they advised and they were able to remove the cast iron pipe from a very tight location and replace it with a PVC pipe. They gave me a quote prior to starting the job and charged me what they quoted even though I signed a release saying that the job could cost more. I have used them before and was not disappointed. Their prices are very fair and the quality of work is excellent.

Description of Work
Replaced cracked sewer pipe with PVC pipe.

Category plumbing

1.0

09/26/2013


Kathy B.

He took advantage of me because they were only here for an hour and a half and charged me so much. They were so expensive and not honest. I would never call them again.

Description of Work
They jack-hammered the tile in the basement to open the drain and unclogged it.

Category drain cleaning

5.0

01/10/2013


Alan M.

He pumped out the basement (not easy because there was no electric!) and replaced a hot water heater and sump pump. The price was not unreasonable given the emergency circumstances.

Description of Work
Had Hurricane Sandy damage and first called several local plumbers for assistance. Scott responded to my call and came over to help quickly.

Category plumbing

3.0

10/25/2012


Craig W.

They spent a lot of time trying to identify the problem and then recommended very expensive diagnostic procedures that would not actually fix anything. We instead called another plumber who solved the whole situation in about a half hour for under $200. I called Wickersheim and Sons and demanded that they return my service call fee, which they did.

Description of Work
We had water coming up in our basement toilet, backing up from the sewer line occasionally.

Category plumbing

5.0

11/17/2011


Michael C.

Our Furnace broke the day after Christmas 2010. Wickesheim was not my first call, in fact I called several, but due to the Holiday no one could help. Scott Wickersheim showed up one hour after I called. Gave me an estimate and latter supplied space heaters. The Furnace arrived in two days and intalled two days latter. The guys did a great job the area was cleaner than before they started.

Description of Work
Replaced Furnace

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

06/05/2011


Glenn S.

We had three drains to be cleaned out. The first problem happened in the kitchen sink when the repair man broke the pipe he was snaking out. He replaced that pipe at no cost and asked me not to report it to the company. The next problem was he broke the drain pipe for the shower. This went undetected until I stepped into a flood in my basement that evening. I tried to contact them that evening but there wasn't anyone available to speak with so I left a message. The return call came the next day and I explained what happened and I was told "It's not our fault, the pipes must have been old. If you want someone to come out and fix the pipe it will be $135.00 per hour, for emergency service." I was very upset by this so I told them no thank you. Two days later after I had another plumber fix the drain pipe, I received another call from Wickersheim Plumbing. The person I spoke with was one of the owners, and he said there was a message left on there machine. I told him that I had already spoken to someone at his company, and that I didn't feel that I should have to pay for them to come out and fix the problem. I told him that the repairman they sent out broke two pipes and this wasn't my fault and that I wasn't going to pay for an "Emergency Call" to repair them. I also told him I hired another plumber who already fixed the problem. He said "why did you do that" when I tried to explain once again why, HE HUNG UP ON ME!!!! Needless to say, "I WILL NEVER USE THIS COMPANY AGAIN, AND I TELL EVERYONE I KNOW THAT IS LOOKING FOR A PLUMBER ABOUT MY EXPERIENCE AS TOO! They were very unprofessional in my opinion on how they handled my plumbing repair.

Description of Work
We had several drains cleaned out.

Category drain cleaning

2.0

01/29/2011


CHRISTINA D.

They came in gave an estimate, the job needed to be complete, there was leaking happening. They fixed within 3 hours. not problems, paid and they left. The second situation, for the pipe in my basement. They saw there was hole and said they would need to replace the whole pipe, not true a portion could have been replaced. Did not use because of the overall price of the estimate. Shop around there are cheaper and HVAC people out there they won't take advantage of you.

Description of Work
Changed out a part for heating unit in my home. Extremely expensive! Also, got an estimate for a pipe to be replaced they estimated a price of over $1000.00 without labor included, I got it done for $60.00. Talk about ripping people off when you need heat in your home.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

5.0

02/04/2010


Barbara L.

They are very reliable. They aren't cheap, but they are very reliable and do good work. They came on time and I was satisfied. I would use them in the future.

Description of Work
They did all kinds of plumbing work for me, I had a sink and toilet that weren't working.

Category plumbing

4.0

01/05/2010


Eugene R.

1. Estimates are on par with other licensed plumbers, i.e. twice as high as a handiman's work.2. Clogged drain was very tough - the technician spent 1.5 hrs fighting thru. It was finally done, but cost me much more than I expected. Thus it's hard to give them the highest grade, which I would otherwise do.

Description of Work
1. Estimates for plumbing work around the house; 2. Cleaned a clogged drain

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, home remodeling, drain cleaning

5.0

10/05/2009


HARVEY U.

We like their responsiveness and professionalism. They are knowledgeable about their line of work. They are on the pricey side, but we've always been happy with the work.

Description of Work
Wickersheim & Sons last came out to repair a leak in the sink. We have also used them in the past.

Category plumbing

5.0

05/19/2009


ronald P.

every job they have performed for us has been excellent, great craftmanship. kind and clean. will NOT rip you off.. third generation of plumbers..

Description of Work
I have used this company numerous times. They do plumbing all types from repairs on up to kitchen and bathroom renovations. (piping drains sinks tubs showers etc; no tile or carpentry ) They have done my kitchen replacement(new) and heat toe kick heat in new kitchen,great work. Ihave had h/w heater replacement also.VERY nice and VERY clean work! always on time if not before.They do heating a/c, drain cleanouts, repairs, all types of replacements etc; you will NOT be sorry ! wonderfull people.

Category drain cleaning

4.0

12/23/2008


Bradley M.

Minor jobs around the house. Completed on time and when scheduled.

Description of Work
Have used them for the last three years. Prices seem fair, and they're reliable and competent.

Category plumbing

5.0

12/01/2008


Gina H.

They were great. Punctual and great to work with.

Description of Work
They did some work in my bathroom.

Category plumbing

5.0

10/13/2008


Randi J.

I was very pleased with the service. They were very professional. Everything was done on schedule, very polite and neat, returned phone calls when they said they would and accommodated my time schedule.

Description of Work
Replaced the toilet in my master bathroom.

Category plumbing

5.0

06/07/2008


Michelle M.

I have been using him since 2001. When we first moved to town I asked someone about plumbers and he was recommended and I have been using him since. He is trustworthy.

Description of Work
He had to replace the boiler system for us in our home.

Category plumbing

5.0

12/09/2007


ANGELA D.

The owner came right away and gave us an estimate The two plumbers came as planned the next day. They came on time and did the work professionally. They removed used materials and cleaned up after themselves.

Description of Work
Removed 2 existing toilets in two bathrooms and put in new ones. Clean gouge on heating system. Installed new seats and washers on bathroom sink, shower faucet, kitchen sink and installed new ball valve.

Category plumbing

4.0

01/26/2006


PATRICIA E S.

THEY DO A REALLY GOOD JOB. THEY SHOWED UP WHEN THEY SAID THAT THEY WOULD. I THOUGHT THAT THE PRICE WAS FAIR. I AM HAPPY WITH THE RESULTS. THEY ARE ALSO RELIABLE AND HARDWORKING.

Description of Work
THEY PUT IN A SPECIAL ORDER SINK.

Category home remodeling

5.0

01/06/2006

THIS GUY HAD BEEN IN BUSINESS FOR A LONG TIME SO HE IS VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE. WE HAVE NEVER HAD A PROBLEM WITH THE WORK THAT THEY HAVE DONE FOR ME. THEY ARE ALL VERY PROFESSIONAL AND COURTEOUS EVERY TIME THEY COME OVER.

Description of Work
HE REPAIRED MY LEAKY BATHROOM AND HE SERVICES MY AIR CONDITIONER DURING THE SPRING.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/19/2005

MY OVERALL EXPERIENCE WITH THIS COMPANY WAS REALLY EXCELLENT. THEY ARE GOOD FRIENDS OF MINE AND ARE REALLY HARD WORKERS. I HAVE USED THEM MANY TIMES BEFORE AND THEY HAVE ALWAYS DONE GOOD QUALITY WORK.

Description of Work
THEY FIXED MY AIR CONDITIONING AND DID SOME MINOR PLUMBING WORK.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

12/19/2005

I DO USE THIS COMPANY FOR MY WORK ACCOUNT IN MY TOWN HOUSE. THEY ARE REALLY GOOD AT WHAT THEY DO. THEY COME WHEN THEY SAY AND I HAVE HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH THEIR SERVICES. I WOULD RECOMMEND THEM TO ANYONE.

Description of Work
THEY REPAIRED A PART OF MY HEATER THAT KEPT OVERFLOWING.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    Jack's Plumbing & Heating INC.

    Jacks plumbing and Heating is a family owned and operated plumbing company covering all areas of plumbing and heating from the smallest to the largest repairs and replacements. We provide the highest quality service at a competitive price and we are fully licensed and insured (Lic. #1093517). Most estimates are free, all pricing is based on flat rates and we offer a 10% discount to all Angie's list first time callers.  

    A.N.T. Global

    Ant Global NJ is a family owned business that serves in New Jersey and surrounding areas. With over 15 years of experience in the industry we are capable of offering the best solutions for our clients. Our primary goal is our customers needs. We provide the best technology and experience in the field to satisfy our customers needs. That’s why we have a wide range of solutions beginning with heating A/C services and Home Remodeling. We help you remodel the place you call Home.  

    NJ Premier Plumbing & Heating

    For over two decades, Premier Plumbing & Heating Services LLC has been serving customers of the North New Jersey area with expert plumbing advice and service. With the experience our team has acquired over the past 20 plus years, we know exactly what works and what does not. Put your trust in us for all of your plumbing and heating needs! Benefits of Working with the Best Plumbing and Heating Service in New Jersey: We understand that you have many options to choose from and that is why we will never take your business for granted. We show you our appreciation in many small but meaningful ways. Should you choose us as your next heating and plumbing provider, here are a few of the many benefits you will enjoy: Honest and upfront pricing: We are proud to offer honest, upfront pricing on every service call. As a business we always try to be as transparent as possible, and that’s why our customers continue to work with us. Quality materials and expert workmanship: All of our technicians are trained in the latest equipment and technology and use only the highest quality materials on the market. Doing so ensures safe, effective repairs and installations. Same day service: Your plumbing problem cannot always wait. With us, we will dispatch a technician out to your home the same day and get your home back up and running in no time.  

    Offers by NJ Premier Plumbing & Heating on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes, Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Bathroom and kitchen remodeling, drains cleaned; sinks to sewer mains, Faucets, toilets, tub’s and showers repaired, replaced and installed, all types of sinks installed, Water heaters, high-efficiency, Sump pumps repaired, replaced and installed Sewage ejectors repaired, replaced and installed, water filtration, underground sewers and water main replacement, food waste grinders dishwasher’s, clothes washing machines and dryers installed and Basements pumped and dried

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about WICKERSHEIM & SONS

    How is WICKERSHEIM & SONS overall rated?

    WICKERSHEIM & SONS is currently rated 4.2 overall out of 5.

    Does WICKERSHEIM & SONS offer free estimates?

    No, WICKERSHEIM & SONS does not offer free project estimates.

    Does WICKERSHEIM & SONS offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, WICKERSHEIM & SONS does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does WICKERSHEIM & SONS offer emergency services?

    Yes, WICKERSHEIM & SONS offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by WICKERSHEIM & SONS?

    No, WICKERSHEIM & SONS does not offer warranties.

    What services does WICKERSHEIM & SONS offer?

    WICKERSHEIM & SONS offers the following services: Bathroom and kitchen remodeling, drains cleaned; sinks to sewer mains, Faucets, toilets, tub’s and showers repaired, replaced and installed, all types of sinks installed, Water heaters, high-efficiency, Sump pumps repaired, replaced and installed Sewage ejectors repaired, replaced and installed, water filtration, underground sewers and water main replacement, food waste grinders dishwasher’s, clothes washing machines and dryers installed and Basements pumped and dried