Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A-1 APPLIANCE REPAIR SVC INC

Founded 1990 • With Angi since December 2005

4.8

(155) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4-39 BOYD AVE

Fair Lawn, NJ 07410

Description

3 EMPLOYEES. MYSELF AND MY TWO SONS NO SUBS. CHARGES A FLAT RATE. NO TRAVEL CHARGES. SERVICE FEES MAY APPLY. DO NOT CONTACT THROUGH EMAIL. NO EXTRA CHARGE FOR AFTER-HOURS SERVICE....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/12/2019


Karen K.

Jeff from A-1 may be the best appliance repairman I have ever met. He has literally saved me thousands of dollars by saving my appliances and keeping me from having to by new. When another repairman told me to not bother fixing my dryer and that I should buy a new one, Jeff replaced a sensor for $200 and it was good as new. That was 7 years ago. Today he replaced the a belt from the same dryer, which is now 12 years old. He managed to do it without taking it off the washing machine it is sitting on, which would have cost hundreds of dollars more. Replacing the dryer would have cost $800 with installation and tax.. His charge for the belt replacement was $230. Two weeks ago he replaced a part on my 12 year old refrigerator that caused water to go into my basement. Instead of spending $2200 on a new refrigerator, I paid a tenth of that. He knows what he's doing and will save your appliances if possible. He gets right into the situation and can tell you if the appliance is salvageable very quickly. Hire this man.

Description of Work
Dryer Repair

Category appliance repair

5.0

08/22/2019


Abraham H.

Came in as scheduled, diagnosed and replaced a defective part. Only reason for the B on price is that I don't know what a part should go for. $500 seemed high for apart replacement.

Description of Work
wine celler cooling system wasn't working

Category appliance repair,small appliance repair

5.0

05/21/2018


Gary X.

Jeff from A-1 was very professional and communicative throughout multiple visits over 2 weeks to fix a dishwasher. He waived service fees for later visits and finally resolves a somewhat tricky clog that caused the breakdown. Overall I am satisfied with the service and will use them again in the future.

Description of Work
Dishwasher repair

Category appliance repair,small appliance repair

5.0

10/05/2017


james F.

Very well each time they provided service. Prompt & professional service.

Description of Work
Washing machine repair Refrigerator repair

Category appliance repair

5.0

09/11/2017


Scott O.

Great diagnosed both issues. Dishwasher tricky diagnosis but tech found issue and fix.

Description of Work
Checked microwave. Also diagnosed dish wash and fixed.

Category appliance repair,small appliance repair

5.0

09/04/2017


Abraham S.

part not made anymore had to replace unit

Description of Work
Ac not working

Category appliance repair

5.0

04/07/2017


Francine D.

Jeff is always knowledgeable, professional, and helpful. I'm very happy to have found him through Angie's List.

Description of Work
My ancient Viking range needed serious attention and Jeff was once again able to do it all. He replaced the thermostats in both ovens and checked the temperature to make sure it was accurate, just in time for holiday baking.

Category appliance repair

5.0

02/16/2017


Bella H.

They diagnosed the issue, I ended up having to get a new one. There was one technician and he did a good job.

Description of Work
They were called out to check on my fridge.

Category appliance repair

1.0

08/29/2016


Anthony G.

I called and spoke with Mike over the phone last Wednesday afternoon (8/24/16), who told me the first available appointment would be for the following Monday (8/29/16) for someone to come out to my house and look at my dryer. I then asked for a time frame on Monday, and he told me that someone would call me first thing Monday morning to give me an approximate time so I gave him my name, address and phone number. When I did not receive a phone call by 10 am the following Monday morning (8/29/16) , I called back the number listed on the company website, and I spoke with another gentleman who told me that he had no record and no schedule for anyone to come out to my house. It was very unprofessional, as my wife re-arranged her schedule to be available at the house, and we waited almost a week only to find out that no one was coming to my house. In there company description , it says only three employees, which I assume they want to think is a good thing, but maybe they should consider hiring some more people to help schedule clients, as it's obvious they can't handle communicating effectively between all three of their employees.

Description of Work
Dryer Repair

Category appliance repair

5.0

08/20/2016


David C.

Our problem was that all the cold air was directed to the bottom freezer and none to the refrigerator compartment. This caused the refrigerator compartment to get very warm while the freezer was too cold. Adam quickly analyzed the problem as a failed circuit board that controls the defrost cycle. Since the freezer coils were iced up no air was able to flow to the upper refrigerator compartment. Adam first defrosted the freezer and then replaced the circuit board with a new one which he had in his truck. My wife and I were very impressed with Adam’s knowledge, skills and care in taking our freezer apart. Believe me, taking apart a Whirlpool freezer to get at the cooling coils is no easy job. To our amazement Adam was able to complete the entire job in well under 1 hour. These guys are real pros and I would definitely call them again for any appliance repair. We couldn’t be more satisfied with the work and fast response time.

Description of Work
Installed a new circuit board in Whirlpool refrigerator and manually defrosted freezer and cooling coils.

Category appliance repair

5.0

08/01/2016


Jody R.

Excellent. My oven was flashing "locked door" and it wouldn't turn on. I called A-1 Appliance on Sunday morning, and someone picked up right away. He said he would call me Monday morning between 7:30-8:00 a.m. to schedule service the same day. Monday morning he called when he said he would, and was at my house by 8:15a.m. He knew immediately what to do. Less than 30 minutes later, the oven was fixed. I'm very happy with this company and would not hesitate to use them again.

Description of Work
Oven Repair

Category appliance repair

5.0

07/31/2016


Marilyn L.

Arrived as promised. Professional, polite, thorough, knowledgeable. Very pleased to find appliance repair company that's reliable and competent. Tested everything patiently. Discovered timer was broken. Ordered new timer on the spot and will replace it upon arrival.

Description of Work
Clothes Dryer Repair. No Heat.

Category appliance repair

5.0

05/27/2016


Steven Q.

Alex arrived on time, inspected my dryer and determined the problem. He explained the issue, how it would be prepared and gave me the cost before making the repair. He completed the repair in about 30 minutes and the cost was exactly what he said it would be. He was quick and professional and I would definitely use them again and recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
Repaired GE dryer

Category appliance repair

5.0

05/14/2016


Jose A.

This company was very responsive. I called in them in morning; they picked up the phone on the second ring and came to fix my dishwasher on the same day. The technician explained everything very well and answered all my questions. Best of all they had the replacement parts on the truck. He fixed the machine and now it's working as good as new. I am very happy with this company and I would definitely use them again. I will certainly recommend them to my friends and neighbors.

Description of Work
Fixed my KitchenAid dishwasher

Category appliance repair

5.0

04/12/2016


Philip C.

'Called on Sunday morning and left a message that I wanted to schedule an appointment for the coming week. Received a call back within 10 minutes. They said they would be able to do it on Monday but would have to call me between 7:30am and 8:00am on Monday with the specific time as he did not have the day's schedule with him. As promised called around 7:40am and said he would be at my house between 9:30am and 11:00am. Called my wife around 11:00am and they had already fixed the dishwasher and had left. Very punctual, professional, nice. Would definitely use again for any appliance repair.

Description of Work
Fixed Kitchenaid Dishwasher

Category appliance repair

5.0

02/19/2016


Christine G.

Service from my 9 year old Frigidaire dryer (super loud squeaking). Michael (father) answered call on the 1st ring. Made an appointment for 4 days from date called me the following day there was a cancellation if I was available he could come which was perfect because I was home (Plus this meant I could do my laundry over the weekend instead of waiting until Monday). Michael was very professional straight forward and business like. ( which is what others may mistakenly misconstrue as rude or not friendly). He assessed the situation gave me my options, informed me of probable outcomes, fixed the problem and went on his way. Would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Assess the situation. Lubricated pulley and belt.

Category appliance repair

5.0

12/30/2015


ELLEN D.

I called for service because we were having a problem with our refrigerator. The very helpful man I spoke with diagnosed the problem over the phone and told me how to correct it, rather than letting me pay for a service call. It's wonderful to know that there are helpful, knowledgeable, honest people out there. If I ever have an appliance problem, this will be the first number I call.

Description of Work
Was incredibly helpful on the phone.

Category appliance repair

5.0

09/10/2015


Lillian L.

They called me back right away got an appt next day. They came at the time requested.

Description of Work
There was no water in my dishwasher.

Category appliance repair

1.0

09/09/2015


Anna C.

Very difficult to schedule, finally scheduled & told Jeff I had a coupon from their website for free service call with repair. He called 5 minutes before he was due & said he hurt his back. Needed to reschedule. I requested to schedule someone else from the company.

Description of Work
Repaired microwave twice, called for a third visit because it stopped working again.

Category appliance repair,small appliance repair

5.0

08/12/2015


Sara N.

It went very well. Nice guy and didn't mind my dogs.

Description of Work
My dryer wasn't getting hot. They came out the next day on time and fixed the problem. Took the tech about 20 minutes and he explained what was wrong with the dryer and how he was going to fix it. He also made some suggestions about what to do to keep the problem from happening again. Fair price, excellent service!!! Would highly recommend

Category appliance repair

5.0

08/06/2015


Beth S.

On Tues evening discovered our aging refrigerator was no longer cold . On Wed morning I called A-1 and spoke with Michael. He was at my house within 3 hours. He pulled out the refrigerator, examined the compressor, noted the condenser not working and quoted his price, installed a new condenser and cleaned the coils. Said it would take 24 hours for the fridge to be fully functional but I immediately saw the difference in temperature. Quick, professional and price was fair. Would call again for all my appliances. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Repaired 16 year old GE refrigerator

Category appliance repair

5.0

07/01/2015


Gilbert G.

Mike was friendly, professional, and honest. Although we didn't use him based on his recommendation, I am inclined to do so in the future.

Description of Work
I called asking about a potential fix to my wine cooler. He reasoned that given the make and year of the cooler, it might make more sense to replace the unit outright.

Category appliance repair

5.0

05/11/2015


Radley M.

Adam was prompt and very courteous. He found the problem quickly. He told me how long it would take to repair and the approx. cost. Everything went smoothly and would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Washing Machine had a leak.

Category appliance repair

5.0

04/23/2015


Joe P.

The service person was right on time. He checked and eventually got the electric stove to heat up to the thermostat settings. It seems it is taking longer to heat up to the cooking temperature but it does reach the correct temperature per the oven thermometer. Adam sent us the supplier contact information along with part numbers for material we may want to purchase since once his inventory is gone it will almost impossible to replace parts for a fratelli range.

Description of Work
Michael went to great lengths to find parts for a Italian stove purchased by the previous owners of our home. The company went out of business and no supplier seem to carry the parts. It was confirmed that one company did carry some inventory. The electric stove had suddenly stopped heating up above 200 degrees no matter what the setting.

Category appliance repair

5.0

04/02/2015


Mary Jane and John D.

Mike was prompt, very neat,. He took the wood panel off the dishwasher to see the problem. (the washer was not properly cleaning, or not cleaning at all, and the water was not draining) . He said that I needed a new relay (my word) panel. We discussed whether it was feasible to fix this older machine, or just to get a new one. We decided to move forward with the repair. He ordered the" panel" and installed it. The panel was not a cheap part. When installed, it helped the situation, but there were obviously other issues with the machine. Mike spent time on the phone with someone from Bosch to get his input. The part that they had sent, did not agree with the number of the original panel. He ordered the "correct" panel. To make a long story short, and to get to my point, my husband and I decided not to move forward with the repair, but to go ahead and buy a new machine. Mike spent alot of time at my house (3 visits), and, when I called him to tell him we had bought a new machine, and to ask what we owed him for his time. He would not accept payment because he felt bad that the job could not be completed. When I insisted on paying him something for his time and effort, he told me that if I were going to Church on Easter Sunday, I should put something extra in the plate. For all of his time, we only paid him for his work done on his first visit. Mike is class act.......a knowledgeable, and dedicated worker. He is my go to appliance service guy in the future. MJ Dreyer

Description of Work
Mike was called to repair a 12 year old Bosch dishwasher

Category appliance repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    Edgewater Appliance NJ LLC

    Edgewater Appliance NJ is the best appliance service in the area. We are very dedicated to our craft and to helping fix those broken appliances. We charge a $95 service fee if we show up and you do not use our services. ASAP or emergency call extra $55. If you choose to go with us, their is no service fee for any current or future service needs. We are available 24 hours a day and 7 days a week. Please give us a call, and let us know what we can do for you. Serving Bergen and Hudson County, Hoboken, Jersey City, Parsmus, Fairview, NJ; Cliffside Park, NJ; Ridgefield, NJ; Palisades Park, NJ; Fort Lee, NJ.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    DAVE'S APPLIANCE REPAIR

    Owner and operator, Dave Cardozo, a native Bergen County resident, has been in business over 25 years, servicing ALL major brands of Washers, Dryers, Dishwashers, Gas/Electric Ranges and Refrigerators AND KITCHENAID MIXERS  

    Express Fix Appliance Repair

    We are an Appliance Repair Service with 10 years of experience. Here to help you with all your appliance repair needs.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    NO
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    APPLIANCE REPAIR & SERVICE INCLUDING ALL MAKES & MODELS OF REFRIGERATORS, WASHERS, DRYERS, RANGES, AIR CONDITIONERS, MICROWAVES, DISHWASHERS, GARBAGE DISPOSALS, TRASH COMPACTORS & COOKTOP HOODS.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about A-1 APPLIANCE REPAIR SVC INC

    How is A-1 APPLIANCE REPAIR SVC INC overall rated?

    A-1 APPLIANCE REPAIR SVC INC is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are A-1 APPLIANCE REPAIR SVC INC open?

    A-1 APPLIANCE REPAIR SVC INC is open:

    Sunday: 8:00 AM - 12:30 PM

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does A-1 APPLIANCE REPAIR SVC INC provide

    A-1 APPLIANCE REPAIR SVC INC accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does A-1 APPLIANCE REPAIR SVC INC offer free estimates?

    No, A-1 APPLIANCE REPAIR SVC INC does not offer free project estimates.

    Does A-1 APPLIANCE REPAIR SVC INC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, A-1 APPLIANCE REPAIR SVC INC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does A-1 APPLIANCE REPAIR SVC INC offer a senior discount?

    No, A-1 APPLIANCE REPAIR SVC INC does not offer a senior discount.

    Does A-1 APPLIANCE REPAIR SVC INC offer emergency services?

    Yes, A-1 APPLIANCE REPAIR SVC INC offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by A-1 APPLIANCE REPAIR SVC INC?

    Yes, A-1 APPLIANCE REPAIR SVC INC offers warranties.

    What services does A-1 APPLIANCE REPAIR SVC INC offer?

    A-1 APPLIANCE REPAIR SVC INC offers the following services: APPLIANCE REPAIR & SERVICE INCLUDING ALL MAKES & MODELS OF REFRIGERATORS, WASHERS, DRYERS, RANGES, AIR CONDITIONERS, MICROWAVES, DISHWASHERS, GARBAGE DISPOSALS, TRASH COMPACTORS & COOKTOP HOODS.