Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Conn Mechanical Systems

Founded 2005 • With Angi since April 2012

4.7

(66) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5521 White Horse Pike

Egg Harbor City, NJ 08215

Description

Conn Mechanical Systems Services LLC. is a family owned and operated successful HVAC business in the Southern New Jersey area. Ed Conn started his business in 2005 after fifteen years of electrical, mechanical, and trouble shooting experience in the residential and commercial HVAC fields. Our company takes great pride in offering our customers quality workmanship, friendly professional interaction with our employees and outstanding service in all areas. Ed is a “hands on” employer who works closely with his team and feels that good communication with employees and customers is a key in making every job a successful one....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

04/05/2017


Robert S.

Jury is still out on the odor control though recently is seems better. As far as Ed, and his customer service team at Conn Mechanical, I can only sing their praises. From the initial contact to the finish of the job Ed was responsive, helpful and most importantly knowledgeable . He knows his stuff. My schedule is difficult for contractors to meet but he came on two Saturdays mornings to meet me. First, was initial diagnosis and the second was a follow up to go over the work and make sure i understood the new odor control; REMI system. It did not stop there. I had a problem with the new WIFI smart phone service and Ed actually went down to my place and fixed all the issues.

Description of Work
HVAC work to help control a persistent, lingering odor

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

02/20/2017


Rosanna M.

On time, neat, friendly and professional

Description of Work
Kitchen faucet replaced

Category plumbing

5.0

02/01/2017


CLARK A.

They came out right away. They scheduled at 10:00 in the morning and they arrived at 10. One person came out for the service and it took him about 45 minutes to complete the job. He left the area clean as it was before. He left no mess. Everything's working good on the water supply system adjustment and everything was done, so it should be good. I've used them a couple of times.

Description of Work
I've used Conn for geothermal work. They did some valve work.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/13/2016


Peg F.

The staff was pleasant when I called to make appointment, and was able to get someone to come out the next day. He explained the problem so I could understand it, and although he did not have the needed part today, he suggested a solution so I did not have to take off of work. The price for the service call, the repair and labor were all reasonable. I will use Conn again.

Description of Work
Air conditioner stopped working. Unit needed servicing anyway.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking time to review our company! We are so pleased that you were satisfied with our services. We look forward to working with you again! Thank you for choosing us for your heating and cooling needs!
1.0

07/13/2016


Christopher M.

In February, I had purchased a coupon with Conn Mechanical Systems for a heater and AC checkup. I explicitly gave direction over the phone that I would need an oil change as I had never done it. I also made it clear that I would like my plastic PVC pipe coming out of my oil tank converted to metal. Obviously, I expected to pay more for the piping change since it wasn't included in the coupon. When Conn Mechanical had came out, the engineer noticed that my oil filter was not standard and could not be changed easily. He said I should swap it out for a more contemporary filter and I agreed. He just didn't have the tools to do it at that point. He also didn't have the tools or material to change the pipe. So basically, at this point in February, they were supposed to call back and schedule a time to replace the oil filter and piping and eventually check up on the AC. I called roughly three times to schedule the follow up and was given the "we'll call you back" deal (never happened). On one call the lady on the phone seemed frustrated and told me she would give me a call in May (that never happened). Finally, in June, I got a hold of someone and got the follow up appointment scheduled. The guy comes out and doesn't have the filter nor the tools and material to do the piping. He checks up on the AC and everything is fine. I ask when he can come back and do the filter and piping work. He says they'll call me. As you might of expected, that never happened. I am now out $200 from Conn Mechanical for someone to come out and look at my systems and tell me everything is fine. I will probably have to do the piping and oil filter work myself. I thought this company might have integrity given their high score on Angie's list and website, but it seems like they were just trying to make a quick buck on the Angie's list coupon.

Description of Work
They inspected the heater and AC and everything was fine.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Dear Mr. [Member Name Removed], We are very sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience with our company. We understand that there seems to have been some miscommunication as to exactly what you were seeking to have done and that this was more of a custom job that would have to be looked at first and then rescheduled at a later date. The Service Manager was under the impression that you agreed to have the oil line done at a future date. We try to stay on top of calling customer's back, Ed Conn is a huge Customer Service oriented owner and he believes that his customers should come first. It seems you may have called while our Service manager was out and that is why the call backs were delayed. I can assure you that we never take a customer’s payment without the intention of making good on what was originally paid for. We are currently learning a new dispatch system and it seems that not all of the job details were transferred over to the Tech during your scheduled AC checkup so our Tech was not aware that the Oil lines still needed to be redone. It was our mistake and we wish we could have provided you with that Service at the same time as your AC checkup. We have tried to call you and explain and we will absolutely perform that Oil Filter swap out and Oil line conversion for you. We are not in the business of "making a quick buck" on the Angie's List Coupon actually we have many times where we have done work for nearly 0 profit through these coupons but we feel that promoting our reputation and the positive exposure through Angie's List is an important part of our business. Conn Mechanical is in no way the type of business that takes advantage of its customers and we are very honest and forth coming when it comes to how we handle our operation. We hope you will have a change of heart and let us come back to complete this work. Many thanks, Conn Mechanical Systems
5.0

06/14/2016


Patti M.

The price was hard to estimate as the condition and location of the rough plumbing of the modular home was an unknown factor (especially with the G.C being the home owner) however the contractor's bid was fair and well explained. The contractors were professional and punctual and they also handled the relations with the City and their inspections, which were all passed on the first attempt. Conn Services were also very accommodating with the additions and extras asked by the home owner's wife throughout the project.

Description of Work
Provider first removed and stored large appliances that were extremely heavy and bulky. They then completed plumbing and Hvac for a modular home as well as returned and hooked-up appliances.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair

5.0

02/23/2016


Michael D.

They were very responsive and punctual. They were on the job for three days and did a great job. We still use them for our annual servicing.

Description of Work
Replaced flex ducting under the house which had taken on water during hurricane Sandy and replaced the heating/air unit,

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, water softeners

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking time out to review our company and your experience with us! We are so pleased you were satisfied with our service! We look forward to working with you again in the future!
5.0

11/21/2015


lynne S.

Adam and two other guys arrived on time. They were courteous, quiet, and clean up all to themselves. They also arranged for an electrician to put new outlet in at the same time.

Description of Work
Tankless water heater installed and old tank removed.

Category water heater repair

Service Provider Response

We are so pleased that you were satisfied with the work that was done! If we can be of any service down the road - don't hesitate to give us a call!
5.0

11/12/2015


Richard B.

I would like to take a minute to thank Conn Mechanical Systems for their excellent service at my home last week. I was very uneasy when i was told I had a gas leak coming from my boiler by the gas company. I called Conn and they responded almost immediately with a very knowledgable technician that knew exactly what to look for. He found the leak in minutes, ran out and got the parts needed, and repaired my boiler within an hour or two. The technician stayed and ran the boiler for an hour or more after repair with a gas detector to assure no more gas leaks were present. Conn Mechanicals priority was to make sure that my family and i were safe and for that i cannot thank them enough!

Description of Work
Saved the day, replaced leaking gas valve and gave me piece of mind!

Category excavators, heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, gas leak repair

1.0

11/11/2015


Matthew D.

I rarely write reviews, but I feel compelled to let other consumers know about my experience. Conn installed my Weil-McClain boiler 6 years before I moved into my home in 2011. I had his people work on it once in the 3 years that followed, along with several other HVAC and plumbing contractors because the system never worked properly. It locked out continually, and I would wake up freezing cold and worried my pipes would freeze. This past spring the nine year old unit was leaking gas into my home. The first people I called after the gas was shut off was Conn Mechanical to diagnose the system. They came out and claimed that they repaired the leak. That day the gas company was back at my house saying the unit was pouring gas into my home and shut my gas off again. Conn Mechanical came out a second time and took the unit apart, stating something had "cracked" and my best option would be to replace the entire unit. They never even put it back together. Just left the burner assembly and gas valve laying on the floor next to the unit. The owner came out and said it would be in my best interest to replace our American-Made Weil-McClain unit with a South Korean $10,000 unit. I had insurance coverage for any crack in my heating system, so I contacted my insurance company and they sent investigators out to inspect. Much to my surprise, the insurance company deemed the unit repairable. I called another HVAC contractor who stated they could repair it but I would of course have to pay them to also reassemble the unit first so they could diagnose what the problem was. Well $2,000 later the unit runs perfectly, we have had no lock outs and my home is safe from gas leaks. They lost my trust. Conn tried to up sell me an entirely new unit when all I needed was a repair, that was likely a result of a poor installation in the first place. Their technician and owner were unable to correctly identify this problem. Be cautious, and make sure they put you unit back together when they say you need a new one, and get some quotes from other HVAC contractors before going with them. The only thing they did to me that was fair was not bill me for NOT FIXING my unit two times, had they I would probably be taking them to court.

Description of Work
Took apart my boiler to diagnose a gas leak and never put it back together.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, gas leak repair

Service Provider Response

Dear [member name removed], We are very sorry that you seem to have had a dissatisfactory experience with Conn Mechanical Systems. We work very hard to be sure that our customers are satisfied. We feel a great responsibility to our customers to be sure that if there is anything that may not be satisfactory may be rectified and a customers safety is a top priority! It is unfortunate that not every job is a standard text book case and sometimes there are obstacles to get through before we fix the issue completely. We wish there had been opportunity to help with your situation but you did not contact us after the estimate you requested from the owner was given to you. It is very unfortunate for both of us as there must have been a breech in communication between us on how you wished to proceed with the situation you were having We are sorry that you felt compelled to publicly display your displeasure with our company and services.
5.0

08/31/2015


Gary B.

The AC decided to quit the day after a power outage and the day before a heat wave. I called about 8:30 am on a Monday, the lady said she would try and get somebody out in the afternoon. About 3pm the tech shows up, listens to my description of events and went about his diagnosis. He took apart the shroud and tested some more to find out the time delay on the unit was bad most likely from the storm. By 4:15 it was running and the house was already a degree cooler. I couldn't be more happy with the response time and the knowledge of the tech plus he took the time to explain to me what was wrong and how he fixed it. Outstanding!

Description of Work
Diagnosed and repaired non working AC unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit this great review! We are so glad you were satisfied with our company and the work done. Thank you for choosing us for your heating and cooling needs. We look forward to working with you again!
5.0

08/26/2015


Gerard F.

Promp, courteous , extremely neat professional installers

Description of Work
Replaced existing burner and ac unit

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the nice review! We appreciate your feedback and hope to work with you again in the future! If you need anything please don’t hesitate to call. Thank you again!
5.0

07/24/2015


peter M.

Excellent. Did the job as agreed with professionalism and recommendations. Very honest. I highly recomment.

Description of Work
Complete inspection of HVAC system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking time to submit a review of our company. We are very happy that you were satisfied and look forward to hearing from you again!
5.0

07/21/2015


Roberta H.

Before going with this vendor, I went through all the reviews on Angie's List for local A/C repair services. I really liked what I read about this company and made an appointment. I was greeted by a very friendly lady named Stephanie scheduled an appointment right away and in a time slot that didn't interfere with my work schedule. Today I was greeted by a very nice young man named Zak fom Conn Mechanical Systems Services. He was very professional and courteous and spent time with me to explain about his company and their approach to their work. Zak did a full inspection of my A/C unit, diagnosed the problem and did the repair. Because of his excellent work ethic and demeanor, I decided to go with one of the three (3) great service plans they offer. I was not only confident in the decision I made, but also felt I got a good value in my purchase. The other great part about this vendor is that they will contact me for an appointment in the Fall to schedule me for my heating checkup. I am very particular about the people I depend on to do work in my home and there is no doubt in my mind I chose a good fit and dependable company in Conn Mechanical Systems Services.

Description of Work
Sealed a leak on my air conditioning unit and added freon. Also did a complete checkup of my system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

We are thrilled that you were so happy with our company. We take great pride in our work and our employees. Thank you for choosing us for your heating and cooling needs and we look forward to a wonderful working relationship with you for many years to come. Thank you again!
5.0

06/18/2015


Joel C.

Exactly as explained to me and as expected.

Description of Work
Tune up AC.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your great review. We strive to make sure all of our customers have a pleasant experience. Please know we are always here for all your HVAC and plumbing needs!
5.0

05/13/2015


Louise G.

Very pleased with work previous contractor had installed system completely incorrectly, not to code. Conn was able to complete

Description of Work
Installed new ac system

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

(removed member name), Thank you so much for taking time to complete the survey. We know what a hard time you had with the mess the previous contractor left behind and we were happy to be able to get things in working order for you. We hope you are enjoying your new system and look forward to a stress free summer. We look forward to working with you again. We also wanted to let you know that we now are happy to offer Maintenance Agreements and Service Contracts. If you are interested please contact Stephanie in our office and she can email you information. Thank you again for your wonderful review.
5.0

05/08/2015


DAVID O.

From my first initial conversation with Eddie Conn, the owner all the way through service completion and confirmation from Barbara - I was treated as a valued customer and the service I received was stellar! Eddie came out to my property to offer an estimate. He worked on my schedule and was punctual, professional and friendly. He knew exactly what I wanted and made great recommendations to make sure I was buying the right system for my summer rental. He delivered a quote that was precisely what we discussed and worked with me to get the price as low as possible. His office manager, Barbara, was also great to work with as she was the schedule coordinator. She listened to my concerns and scheduling conflicts and made sure I was happy - and I was. On the morning of installation I met Eddie (technician, not owner) and his assistant Mike. They walked through the job with me, made sure I knew what was happening and kept me informed all along the way. When there was a question about placement of the units - they asked and made sure we talked it out. The install went flawlessly. Eddie and Mike did a masterful installation. I couldn't be more please with how they treated my property and how carefully they worked inside and outside of my property. Because the project went so smoothly the install was finished before the electrician was available for making the final connections. No worries there either: Eddie took the time to contact his office to make sure the electrician was scheduled properly and he met the electrician at my property the next day to make sure it went well. After everything was done and completed to my satisfaction - Barbara called me to review the final balance and inform me they had already submitted the paperwork for my rebate - I love these guys!

Description of Work
Installed a ductless Mitsubishi AC system

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Mr. [member name removed], Thank you so much for your awesome review! We are thrilled that you are so pleased with our service and installation. You were a pleasure to work with as well which always makes our jobs easier. We take great pride in our workmanship and customer service and are happy to add you to the list of CONNfident new customers. We look forward to working with you again.
5.0

04/07/2015


Joel C.

Did what they came to do. I assume it was done well and correctly. I can only trust that they knew what they were doing.

Description of Work
Inspection and maintenance of gas furnace (2 units)

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. Please be aware we do offer a 1 year warranty on our workmanship and stand behind our work 100% so if you have any problems please don't hesitate to contact us. We pride ourselves on our customer service and are proud to be a two time consecutive Angie's List Super Service Award Winner!
5.0

03/22/2015


Vince S.

Installer and his apprentice were very knowledgeable and professional. They were neat and cleaned up after themselves and answered all our questions. They also offered detailed advice on maintenance.

Description of Work
Remove old gas water heater. Install gas tankless water heater.

Category water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking time out of your busy schedule to submit such a great review of our company. We take great pride in knowing our technicians are upholding the standards our customers have been accustomed to. Customer satisfaction is one of the most important aspects of a company's reputation and I am happy to add another CONNfident new customer to our client base. We look forward to working with you again.
5.0

02/19/2015


Chris M.

They were good. They replaced my furnace because thy found it was under warranty. They did charge for the labor but not the furnace.

Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal for a maintenance check.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your great review. We appreciate our customers taking time to let us know about their experience with our company. We look forward to working with you again.
5.0

10/16/2014


Concetta B.

I bought the $60 Deal for Heater Check and Clean. My request was answered promptly through Angie's List, my appointment was scheduled for the next day. Steve the technician arrived on time. He was Pleasant and Professional. All went well, i will definitely use Conn Mechanical again!

Description of Work
Gas Heater Check and Service

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so happy you were satisfied with your interactions with our company and we look forward to working with you again.
5.0

10/14/2014


Peg F.

After calling around for estimates, they were the only company to come out to the house, and the price was the same as the others within about $100. They gave us a date and time, and were prompt. The charge when completed was exactly as quoted. The work was done promptly and he explained everything to my husband.

Description of Work
Installed a new hot water heater

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair

Service Provider Response

[Member], Thank you for submitting your review. As a first time Conn Mechanical customer we are so happy you are pleased with your experience. We pride ourselves on the services we provide to our homeowners and look forward to working with you again.
5.0

08/24/2014


Gaye S.

GREAT! The representative checked all the ac units & even the venting under the house. He was professional, knowledgeable, polite and did a great job. Our electric bill was down by $100 after he checked & made some necessary improvements to our system.

Description of Work
Checked our air conditioning system

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Thank you for submitting such a wonderful review about your experience with our company. We look forward to working with you again. We love making new CONNfident customers!
4.0

08/07/2014


Thomas H.

It appeared to go just fine. The unit was working fine for the p/m, however, when we attempted to actually start using the unit, it would not start. The service people came out and found that there was a bad connection in the junction box outside the house (had nothing to do with the p/m service, just an electrical fluke) so we had to pay for another service call, which was discounted. Some other issues arose immediately after this but we did not call Conn back, I choose to resolve them myself. While working on the other issues, I noticed that Conn replaced the air filter which was the wrong size. Luckily, they left the old filter next to the unit so I was able to put it back. I have since purchased new proper sized filters and the system appears to be working fine as of this post 8/7/2014. The system was working fine for 8 years and as soon as I had a p/m performed, so many things seemed to go wrong. I guess I should have stuck with the old saying that 'if it ain't broke, don't fix/touch it'.

Description of Work
preventative maintenance on a/c unit

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], We thank you for taking time out to submit a review about our company. We are sorry to hear you had some issues but we stand behind our work 100% and if you have any further problems please do not hesitate to call us. We take great pride in our work and want our customers to feel confident and satisfied. Hopefully you will give us a second chance to prove why we have such a good reputation. Thank you.
5.0

08/01/2014


peter M.

The service call went extremely well. The tech did a complete inspection of inside and outside units. He did an entire cleaning of the unit after which he again checked to outside unit. The entire service was included in the deal with no additional charges. The tech was honest and gave recommendations for possible future problems that might develop. I will continue to use this company and refer them without hesitation.

Description of Work
Maintenance & inspection HVAC service.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed], Thank you for the wonderful review. We are so pleased you were happy with our service. We take great pride in our techs and our customer service. We look forward to working with you again. Thank you!

    Other local Pros in your area

    Restoration 360 LLC

    Restoration 360, IICRC Certified, non-franchised, locally owned and operated water damage, flood damage, sewage cleanup, storm cleanup, basement and wall drying company headquartered at 501 Cambria Ave. Bensalem, PA with multiple locations throughout all of our service areas including New Jersey. Standing behind years of experience in the construction industry, we stand behind our work and go above and beyond to take care of our customers. Our 5 star reviews and work ethics make us stand out from the crowd.  

    Restore You

    Mold removal and testing services. Restore You is a water and mold removal remediation company. We are equipped and ready to respond to customers affected by water and mold. Mold Remediation, Mold Clean up and Air quality Testing services are performed to industry standards and protocol to remove mold and mildew. Special Hepa vacuums and hepa air scrubbers are used while we perform mold removal and repairs to drywall, joists, sub floor, basements, crawlspace, and attic areas. Our qualified professionals approach each situation with urgency and skill. Although each job may differ slightly the goal is always the same. To make a healthy environment and to dry wet structures, with minimal disruption to the customer, and return homes or businesses to their pre-loss condition as quickly as possible. We use products in the home that are not harmful to the family and their pets. Over the years this approach has earned us our 5 Star reputation for providing excellent customer service. If you have any Questions you can call or text me at 609-457-2190 or send an e-mail to jerseyshorehi@comcast.net  

    Orbit Water Solutions

    Orbit Water Solutions has been in the business of water for over 70 years and will continue to be in business once the current Covid-19 virus situation is under control. We are practiced and trained to adhere to all CDC recommended protections. We are a family owned business; your home is our home. We are considered an essential business and we are ready to help you with your home water needs NOW. If you wish to wait, we highly recommend you call us and get on our schedule now for the near future. It is our objective to educate our neighbors on the quality of their water and assist them in choosing the most effective way to make their home a pure water environment.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Residential & commercial. High efficiency gas. Oil heat. Air conditioning. Boilers. Indoor air quality. Custom made filters. Duct work. New construction. Replacements. Water heaters. Upgrades. Geo thermal heating.

    Services Not Offered

    Duct cleaning.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Conn Mechanical Systems

    How is Conn Mechanical Systems overall rated?

    Conn Mechanical Systems is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Conn Mechanical Systems open?

    Conn Mechanical Systems is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does Conn Mechanical Systems provide

    Conn Mechanical Systems accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, American Express, Financing Available

    Does Conn Mechanical Systems offer free estimates?

    Yes, Conn Mechanical Systems offers free project estimates.

    Does Conn Mechanical Systems offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Conn Mechanical Systems offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Conn Mechanical Systems offer a senior discount?

    No, Conn Mechanical Systems does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Conn Mechanical Systems?

    No, Conn Mechanical Systems does not offer warranties.

    What services does Conn Mechanical Systems offer?

    Conn Mechanical Systems offers the following services: Residential & commercial. High efficiency gas. Oil heat. Air conditioning. Boilers. Indoor air quality. Custom made filters. Duct work. New construction. Replacements. Water heaters. Upgrades. Geo thermal heating.

    Are there any services Conn Mechanical Systems does not offer?

    Duct cleaning.