Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Seidel Electric Inc

Founded 1944 • With Angi since June 2010

Seidel Electric Inc. is a locally owned electrical contracting firm established in 1944, serving our customers uninterrupted for the last 72 years. Our technicians are licensed Master Electricians and we are bonded professionals and fully insured. One of our main focuses is the sales, service and installation of Generac residential and commercial standby generators. We are proud to have earned the distinction as a GENERAC a Select, POWERPRO*, PowerPlay* Dealer. Our well marked service vehicles are virtual warehouses on wheels stocked with thousands of products so that your project can be completed in one trip. No annoying trips to the supply house on your dime. We are committed to providing you with fast, friendly, quality service unmatched in our industry.Our welcoming and knowledgeable office staff is always ready to answer your questions and schedule your appointment for an "In Home Consultation", or service call. We have a Brick and Mortal location with full a stocked showroom displaying the current products, technology and services that we provide Seidel Electric does not charge by the hour like our colleagues in the industry. Rather, we will give you a "Straight Forward Price* for any service, repairs or installation before any work has begun. You will never hear, " Lets us get started on your job and we will bill you at the end." For the rest of the day you will be looking at your watch, getting annoyed at the contractor for conducting business with others on his cell phone while you are paying for his time. With "Straight Forward Pricing*" You pay the price quoted no matter how long it takes. Additional DBA - Seidel's Satellite Systems Seidel's; a DirecTV local service provider and installer and Radio Shack Dealer Franchise Store. (not affected with the recent Corporate store closures)

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
yes
Senior Discount
10%
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(61) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 61 reviews
Clara D.
5.0
11/02/2018
I have an old house and it was brought to my attention by another contractor that I should look at upgrading some of the electrical because it was unsafe. I called a couple of electricians but was really impressed by Seidel. The gentleman that met with me was very knowledgeable and patient with all of my questions. Hopefully I won't need more work done in the future, but I would call them if I did.
Description of Work
Various electrical upgrades and inspections
Category
electrician
Pamela H.
5.0
10/19/2018
I was contacted immediately by Frank. A team member came out to review the project details. The project estimate was very fair. The electricians Frank and Anthony arrived on time, as scheduled. Everything I needed was completed. EXCELLENT, EXCEPTIONAL work!! Definitely hiring them again for other projects. Responsive and great customer service!!!
Description of Work
Placement of lighting fixtures and electrical outlets
Category
electrician, lighting
Patricia C.
5.0
09/03/2018
The gentle man arrived on time, and checked our very old outlets and wiring for problems. A circuit breaker and several outlets were changed; the work was done quickly and the price was extremely reasonable. Very professional service!
Description of Work
Circuit Breaker and Outlets Replaced
Category
electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for selecting our company for your electrical service needs. Please call again.
David C.
5.0
07/26/2018
The process went exactly as it was described when we purchased the generator. All was done on-time and very professionally. They cleaned up everything after they were done with installation. When Stephen came to demonstrate how the generator worked, everything worked perfectly! Don’t shop around, just call. They beat the other price I got from another company by almost about 30%!
Description of Work
Purchased and installed full house standby generator.
Category
electrician, generator service

Service Provider Response

Wow, Looks like I need to reevaluate my pricing model :). I'm pleased that we were able to save you 30% on such a valuable addition to your home. I'm sure that your new Generac whole home power alternative is already "generating Peace of mind" just sitting there in standby waiting for a blackout.
Rob R.
5.0
06/19/2018
Great! Steve was professional, courteous and did a great job. Will recommend to my friends.
Description of Work
Generator sale and installation
Category
electrician, generator service

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed]. A pleasure to have you as a customer. See you in a year for your scheduled PM call.
Janet F.
5.0
04/15/2018
My Generac Whole House Generator sustained accidental damage and I contacted Seidel Electric to repair it. They responded very quickly and candidly explained the pros and cons of repairing vs replacing and I decided replacing was the best alternative. Despite a widespread power outage, I had my new generator installed within 2 days. I would definitely recommend them for repairs as well as furnishing a new generator system.
Description of Work
Replace a whole house generator
Category
electrician, generator service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words. It was fortunate that we stock a large quantity of all generator sizes in our NJ warehouse and were able to replace your system during the period of outage. I am glad your insurance claim was also successful which helped to mitigate the overall cost.
Robert S.
5.0
03/15/2018
Absolutely perfectly. Seidel Electric is flawless with its work. In addition, they are very supportive of their customers should any questions arise they are quick to respond.
Description of Work
Electrical wiring and installation of outlets, generator and transfer switch installation.
Category
electrician, generator service
Bob L.
5.0
03/06/2018
We had our 22K generator installed about 3 years ago. The process was easy and professional. We have had annual maintenance and our generator exercises every few weeks. Since install we only had one 30 minute outage - until last Friday. The power went out in a severe storm, our generator kicked in and fully powered our house for 36 hours until power was restored. It's great when things work as promised.
Description of Work
Generator installation
Category
electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed].Glad our system is Generating Peace of Mind.
Emma B.
5.0
02/09/2018
Went without a hitch. Very professional and very punctual. Explained whats needed to be done and did everything that was in the contract.
Description of Work
Upgrade electrical wiring and repair work
Category
electrician
Christine W.
5.0
12/05/2017
Excellent. They go above and beyond to make sure everything is running smoothly. I am thankful to have found an honest and reliable electrician.
Description of Work
Generator serviced
Category
electrician
Gary R.
5.0
10/31/2017
Very professional, tried replacing the motor on the attic fan but the blades were out of balance and needed to replace the entire unit. The work was performed with high quality an in a timely manner and at a very good price. Highly recommended.
Description of Work
Needed to replace the attic exhaust fan and change exterior flood lights.
Category
electrician
Natalia L.
5.0
05/30/2017
Excellent work, responsive, punctual, goes extra mile. Best price
Description of Work
Installed Generac Backup electric generator
Category
electrician, generator service
Brian K.
5.0
04/27/2017
The Seidel was prompt, friendly, efficient and professional throughout the entire job.
Description of Work
Full review and replacement/updates, as needed of fire extinguishers and CO2 detectors. Also needed a switch upgraded to support the heat in the basement and a variety of smaller electrical issues that needed to be corrected (after being investigated and found).
Category
electrician
Cherwyn A.
5.0
03/09/2016
Went very well. Very pleased. Will call again.
Description of Work
Replaced two floodlights out front that shine on the face of the house. Replaced four lights on deck and installed new one. Sealed up dangerous loose wire and loose outlet and made a new, secure one. Fixed outdoor outlet that wasn't working. Replaced broken ceiling lamp in den.
Category
electrician, lighting, satellite tv service
Susan M.
5.0
12/14/2015
Decided to use another provider.
Description of Work
Installation of outlet for TV connection.
Category
electrician, home theater design
Janet A.
5.0
11/25/2015
The replacement of the exhaust fan was not easy since the wiring and opening for the new fan in bathroom ceiling had to be completely redone. Stephen had to use a ladder to climb up into attic many times. The new LED lights in kitchen and bedroom look and work great! The new dimmer switches are so convenient--you just tap the switch which makes turning light on in the dark so much easier than what we had. Stephen is very experienced and completed the job perfectly. He even cleaned the work areas--vacuumed, etc!!! I will use Seidel Elecrric again.
Description of Work
Replaced exhaust fan in bathroom and changed switches. Replaced recessed lighting in kitchen and bedroom with LED kits and new dimmer switches.
Category
electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words.It was a pleasure to work with you again since that last time we came as a result of your Angie's List request to install the ceiling fan in your cathedral ceiling. I'm glad you are happy with the LED lighting upgrade I recommended.Not only do you have 50% more light, you will save over $486.00 in energy costs on each recessed light over the lifespan of the fixture. Thats almost $5,300.00 in savings. We look forward to your next call.
Tony S.
5.0
11/07/2015
Very well. Electrician (Dave) was on time, polite and professional. He was originally to install one new exterior outlet and was able to complete a few additional jobs I asked him to do while he was here, saving me the cost of an additional service call. Have not used electrician before and not sure about the price.
Description of Work
Replaced outdoor electrical box, repaired outdoor electrical box and installed wall switch
Category
electrician
Paul C.
5.0
10/28/2015
The technician was prompt, professional and courteous. We purchased a two hours of labor special through Angie's list and her was able to get everything done we needed in that time frame. We would use this company again in the future if needed
Description of Work
Removed two ceiling fans and installed new light fixtures, installed dimmers, repaired doorbell, installed new exterior floodlight
Category
electrician, lighting, ceiling fans
Cyrile L.
5.0
10/16/2015
Arrival on time, work done quickly and perfectly. Will hire again.
Description of Work
Changed outdoor outlet, added panel and outdoor lights
Category
electrician, lighting, outdoor lighting
RICHARD W.
5.0
09/15/2015
Showed up on time. First two hours were through a coupon $119. Additional hours at $69 + material. Dave was very pleasant, flexible as I asked for additional services, hard worker, cleaned up before he left. All and all he did a great job!
Description of Work
Bathroom: Removed one recessed light and one ceiling mounted. wired (3) recessed lights. Provided one additional switch to control the shower light separately. Installed exhaust fan. Installed additional outlet. I provided all of the material except for the wire. Bedroom: Installed Ceiling Fan support and temporarily installed the ceiling mounted light fixture that was removed form the bathroom. Ran extra wire from the switch to control the light and fan separately. They provided the fan rated support and wire.
Category
electrician, lighting, ceiling fans

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure doing business with you and we look forward to the next opportunity.
kerry C.
2.0
09/08/2015
What a huge disappointment!! After purchasing the 2 hour of labor for $119, I paid an additional $300. for labor & materials and only got 3 recessed lights installed. The electrician didn't even clean up & I had to vacuum sheetrock powder off of my bed & sweep it from the floor!
Description of Work
Installed recessed lighting
Category
electrician, lighting

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], I'm sorry that your expectation of the time to perform the tasks you requested was unrealistic. Contrary to what you posted, our Master Electrician accomplished far more you indicated. In addition to cutting in 3 customer supplied recessed lighting fixtures in your finished sheetrock ceiling, we also fished multiple conductors down two finished walls, installed 2 light switches with dimmers and wired them to the new lighting fixtures. We wired the new lighting to an existing circuit in the attic rather than subject you to the additional labor and material required for a dedicated line back to the electric panel. We also repaired a light fixture that you claim your husband installed improperly. It now works. In addition, you requested a porcelain keyless fixture be installed in your basement. All tasks were completed in our customary excellent workmanlike fashion. We arrived earlier than scheduled at 11:00 and departed your home, (at your request) at 3:10, not withstanding the 2 hours travel time to and from your location.(There was no travel time charged).The extra charges incurred including labor and material that you requested and were in accordance with the Angies list pricing guidelines. We ALWAYS clean up our work space after we complete our work and even go the extra mile to wear protective shoe covers when inside your home. When David started to clean up you insisted that he leave because you were concerned that we would charge you for additional time. You were mistaken. What a huge disappointment !!
Maria P.
5.0
09/01/2015
Very happy with the professionalism and quality of work. They were prompt and clean. I would use them again!
Description of Work
Replace 1 ceiling fan.
Category
electrician, ceiling fans
Nancy G.
5.0
09/01/2015
Dave was quick and knowledgeable. He had patience and checked everything carefully. I was very satisfied.
Description of Work
Replaced two outlets and ceiling light fixture. Checked and replaced, as needed, 4 outside electrical outlets. Trouble shoot to determine cause for overhead stove vent not working.
Category
electrician, lighting
Ruth D.
5.0
08/25/2015
Very responsive company; they replied to my request promptly, Dave called when he was coming, he explained the installation options to me; the globe was cracked so I needed to exchange it at the store and Dave stopped back to finish the installation for me.
Description of Work
Installed my ceiling fan
Category
electrician, ceiling fans
Sandra D.
5.0
08/11/2015
Mr. Seidele was prompt, courteous, professional, and knowledgeable. He truly exceeded our expectations. We would definitely recommend him and use his services again. Thank you. Mr. And Mrs. Domingo and Sandra Delmonte.
Description of Work
Installed a ceiling fan and repaired a non-functioning outletp
Category
electrician

Phone

Address

72 State Route 94

Blairstown, NJ 07825

Other Information

Services offered

Electrical Contracting, GENERAC generator sales & installations, Maintenance Contracts, Access Control, Attic Ventilators, Cable/DirecTV Installation, Ceiling Fan Installation, Service Upgrades, Re-Lamping, Flat Screen TV Installation, Home Safety Inspection, Internet Wiring, Landscape Lighting and Design, Media Center Installations, Media Integration, Radiant Floor Heating, Security Lighting, Surge Protection, Smoke Detector , Telephone Wiring, LED Under Cabinet Lighting, WIFI Installations .

Services not offered

We don't do Dishes

Payment options

Check
Discover
MasterCard
Visa
American Express
Financing Available

FAQ

Seidel Electric Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

Seidel Electric Inc is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 AM

Seidel Electric Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, American Express, Financing Available

Yes, Seidel Electric Inc offers free project estimates.

Yes, Seidel Electric Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Seidel Electric Inc does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Seidel Electric Inc offers emergency services.

Yes, Seidel Electric Inc offers warranties.

Seidel Electric Inc offers the following services: Electrical Contracting, GENERAC generator sales & installations, Maintenance Contracts, Access Control, Attic Ventilators, Cable/DirecTV Installation, Ceiling Fan Installation, Service Upgrades, Re-Lamping, Flat Screen TV Installation, Home Safety Inspection, Internet Wiring, Landscape Lighting and Design, Media Center Installations, Media Integration, Radiant Floor Heating, Security Lighting, Surge Protection, Smoke Detector , Telephone Wiring, LED Under Cabinet Lighting, WIFI Installations .

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Bloomfield Cooling Heating & Electric Inc

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Bloomfield Cooling Heating & Electric Inc

We are a full service Heating and Cooling company. We employ Nate Certified Technicians, Epa CertifiedTechnicians. Our Home improvement License # is 19HC00144800. We also are a Lead Certified Contractor. Our Electrical Division License # is 11850B. Award winning.  

Ambiance Systems Inc.

5.0

(8)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Ambiance Systems Inc.

Ambiance Systems was founded in 1985 by Richard Yeomans, an electronics technician who is passionate about creating audio/visual experiences for the home.  

B-Tec Electric Co LLC

Angi Certified

B-Tec Electric Co LLC

B-Tec Electric Co LLC is an independent electrical contractor specializing in residential and light commercial electrical service and installations. We are fully licensed, bonded, and insured independent electrical contractors based in New Jersey. We are a family owned & operated business, servicing Morris County as well as Sussex County since 1993.