Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Adaptations Unlimited

Founded 1980 • With Angi since October 2011

4.3

(18) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

25 Fox Run Rd

Newington, NH 03801

Description

Complete Home Remodeling and Design Services. One stop shopping in our Newington, NH showroom, Showroom features extensive selection of Cabinetry, Plumbing, Decorative Hardware, Ceramic Tile, Lighting, Appliances, and products for Adaptive Design (for people with Physical Challenges)....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
4.0

04/29/2016


Janet C.

Description of Work
Total kitchen remodel. Could not have done the design and input without the efforts of Sharon Tully. Excellent help and support. Coordination of project was difficult, but I believe that particular part was out of her hands. We are very happy with the kitchen overall! We would qualify our answer "use this provider in the future" There should be a choice for indicating "other"!! We definitely would hire Adaptations again for a project, if coordination, communication with areas of construction were improved. |

Category remodeling, home remodeling

4.0

06/04/2015


Mary T.

.

Description of Work
.

Category remodeling

5.0

05/14/2015


Michael G.

Description of Work
Remodeled our kitchen. Partial gut rehab.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

3.0

02/04/2015


Strider S.

.

Description of Work
They renovated a 7'x7' bathroom that was torn down to the studs (walls, ceiling, and floor) prior to their arrival. The job was quoted as 19 days on the calendar, but took approximately 3+ months. The subcontactors' work was satisfactory, the supervision and General Contracting of Adaptations Unlimited was lacking and I often found myself reporting problems to them that they were unaware of. At one point, after 10 days of no work accomplished, I called to inquire and was told that they were waiting for a city plumbing inspection, to which I pointed out that the plumbing was not even complete so how could it be inspected--Adaptations Unlimited had no idea the plumbing was not complete. The price, which I find to be extremely high, excludes electric which I contracted to someone else.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

IN RESPONSE: To clarify what the Client’s signed contract states: “Adaptations Unlimited has provided the Client with a detailed sample schedule (see page 9) in order for the electrician to have a general idea of how to plan his schedule and perform his work per the AU schedule, and AU will update both the Client and the electrician of any revisions to the schedule with as much due notice as possible. The sample schedule is to be used as a guideline for planning purposes (and illustrates if everything goes along perfectly) and may have revisions once the job starts, which is a normal progression in the remodeling business since small delays may occur that are unforeseen.” It was relayed repeatedly even before we started the work that the City inspections were currently taking a longer time to schedule than usual and to expect delays. Weekend days were never to be included in the sample count, but he repeatedly insisted on counted in week end days after we let him know we needed to move on and that his schedule was not going to be a typical sample schedule. He did not acknowledge the days he and his electrician added to the schedule, nor the additional work above and beyond the scope of work in the contract and the additional days it took to better his home, make it safer and rectify issues we discovered. • The contract that he signed contains the wording: “Generic timeframe to complete a small bathroom renovation involving all new fixtures, floor, tile, etc. is generally 3-4 weeks. Typical delays may be waiting for an inspection, emergency calls for a contractor that may take them away from their work on a project temporarily (like a no-heat call in winter), etc. Adaptations Unlimited is trying to accommodate the Client’s desire to start the project as soon as possible. There is currently a possible window of time mid-April to get the jump start on this project, but the contractors may have to intermittently come back for the finish. All attempts will be made to complete the job and its punchlist within a month from the actual start date.” We did have a 10 day slip in the schedule and communication issues in regards to the plumbing contractor’s schedule but we owned up to it and tried to do our best to make up for it. The contract was for the second floor bathroom. In regards to pricing: • We did our best to educate him on what a typical bathroom remodel could cost ($20,000-25000 to start, with modest selections and no unforeseen circumstances) and we tried to keep the price down at the quoting stage by giving him discounts on some of the product. We counseled the Client to pull a building permit for this remodel, for his own protection and for ours, since this was an old house with issues. He knew it would not be an inexpensive job. • He ended up with a very chic bathroom with top quality product that addressed the needs of design for an extra-long tub and luxury features like a rainhead with handheld shower, radiant heat under the tile, an MTI bathtub with tiled bench seat, Fairmont Designs vanity and top, Robern Medicine cabinet, porcelain tile tub surround, etc. benefited from the delayed schedule from us supplying additional work free of charge as an apology for the schedule delay. Then he decides to bad mouth us? • We came up against challenges to the schedule with additional work orders necessary to complete the contract’s scope of work by addressing the non-permitted illegal third floor bathroom that affected the venting of the 2nd floor (contracted) bathroom (it needed to be changed to go through the roof) and the challenging plumbing that had to be creatively rectified in the 2nd floor bathroom in regards to drainage. That added time and money to the job. Not only did we need to creatively solve the issue, it took time to meet with the City to get the plan approved. The situation was rectified and the client was not charged, as a good will gesture to make up for the schedule having slipped, although he should have been charged according to our contract. Not charging him for it was one of the many instances of us trying to make up for the schedule delay. He was aware that it added time to the job but never acknowledged it. We do not deserve a “D” in punctuality. • We discovered the floor joists were all cut off below the floor from past plumbings by others and that took additional time and money to address. • We finish painted (walls and trim) the 2nd floor bathroom free of charge as a gift to him to spend his weekend time with his family and again apologize for the schedule delay. • We did drywall fixes free of charge in the kitchen that normally would have been a change order for how we needed to address the plumbing re-worked for the tub’s drainage with respect to working with the existing framing. • We supplied recessed lighting replacement in the third bathroom and dry wall work in the third floor bathroom free of charge. • We proactively replaced his medicine cabinet door when project management noticed a defect in the mirror’s silver backing. • We reordered Kohler Hydro rails two times in a row because we noticed defects in the first one prior to installation and it took extra time to get the new parts in. • All in all we supplied approx. $3,000 worth of labor and materials at no charge for additional work/materials and he ended up with a lovely second floor bathroom and a for free of charge a permitted legal bathroom on the third floor. He incorrectly paints the picture-Not all of the demolition work was done prior to our arrival. When we tore up the bathroom subfloor, we uncovered more problems to rectify. (We even gave guidance and instruction on how best to do the work he put sweat equity into.) There were also delays due to his decision making on bathroom accessory placement delays due to his availability from his traveling schedule and his electrician’s schedule/method of work. In the end we also offered a reduced price to address an issue outside of the scope of the contract with respect to the finish plumbing inspection passing (the home’s aquastat needed replacing, outside of the bathroom, unforeseen issue until the finish plumbing inspection discovered it) and he totally ignored the help and refused to correspond whether he had it fixed so we could ask for the final inspection. (Note: The city’s building inspection office holds the homeowner responsible for that being scheduled, so we are absolved from arranging it.) Again, our wording states: “If additional changes are required to pass the code enforcement inspections to update existing to building code there would be an additional cost to the Client and it would be handled as an additional work order.” He was reminded of that but he tried to say it was our responsibility to pay for… We actively and professionally responded to all feedback that he gave us on the job, and visited with him on several occasions to investigate his concerns. Pictures of potential placements for the bath accessories were taken and emailed to him to speed his approval on the placements. In many instances we acted proactively and with empathy. The fact that we could not do the impossible in his fantastical 19 days does not mean we did not do a job well. It means the opposite, after the initial delay we continued to strive to provide him with the best outcome and took the time and effort necessary on our side to get it done to our standards. His overall rating of “D” in responsiveness and a “C” in project management is unjustified. He received much more value than what he paid for, (we deserve an “A” for price) and it is sad to say some people you can never please. It is unfortunate that all of the other people we have served in 100’s of past projects that are very satisfied with our project management, work, design style, value, work ethic and attention to detail are not represented on Angie’s List as well, but that it often seems to be the place for someone with selective memory with an ax to grind. Throughout the project, the Client had selective memory in regards to the signed contract’s representation of the schedule and was fixated on what “an ideal schedule would be in a perfect world.” In all of our dealings we strove to take the higher road whenever we spoke with him. Afterwards he tried to get us to admit that we felt regrets for taking the job and we answered no. We do not have regrets that we took the job on because we, being in the remodel business, know that it is not always an easy process, especially with the older homes. As a team, both in project management and the subcontractors we hire, Adaptations Unlimited takes pride in the work and the end result. We do regret that some clients are never satisfied, can be manipulative, and are not appreciative of honorable good faith efforts to make a situation right.
2.0

08/12/2014


Melanie S.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel. Staff conflicts with each other felt like working with a dysfuctional family. Many management issues. I would never recommend this company.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

It is very hurtful to receive a review like this. With all due respect to the client, we completed the job, perfectly in every way. One product she ordered was defective and the manufacturer replaced it and we reinstalled it. This was a January 2012 Job. This is the first we are hearing of any dissatisfaction form this client. I believe that this review from a job 32 month old, is inaccurate and completely unfair. I hope to get a phone call from this client so we can meet and discuss this review. It is bad enough to have to write off bad debt at the end of a job, To get an unfair review more than two and a half years later is adding insult to injury.. We chose
1.0

07/08/2014


corinne M.

Description of Work
Still haven't gotten back to me with quote. If I don't get in touch with the designer, she seems to forget about me. She had some great ideas, but I never even got the plans I paid for.

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

When [member name removed] and I met my understanding was that she was not ready to proceed with the bath remodel project and would let me know when she was. As soon as I received this, I contacted her and have fullfilled her request for the design for the master bath and apologized for any misunderstanding on my end. I would love to remodel her bath when she is ready to proceed and would be happy to put together quotes for her at that time. Thank you
3.0

06/13/2014


Steven T.

Salesman was initially polite and asked what we wanted to do. As we were explaining that he interupted to tell us that we shouldn't do that, and started to tell us why not. We were interested in his advice but not pleased with not at least hearing us out. That happened several times through out the discussion. He did offer some constructive advice but the experience still left us uneasy. We had to email repeatedly to get a response and quote. Once we got that we called back to discuss the details and asked if we could get an itemized quote to understand the pricing and adjust if needed. He said he wouldn't do that. After we pressed he did agree to do it but we never heard back from him. We started looking for other options at that point.

Description of Work
Presales consult, measured kitchen, provided quote and rendering

Category home remodeling

5.0

06/09/2014


Paul S.

ransactions with themrI wish to submit A retraction of my previous review. It was a case of mistaken Idenitiy.I sincerly appologise to this company and truly regret the mistake I made.I can' say anything more about them because we never conducted any transactions with them. Again my Appologies to this firm and I regret any difficulties I may have caused. PAUL SHEA

Description of Work
They did not perform any services

Category home remodeling

4.0

06/05/2014


Cara F.

I liked them. The scope of what they wanted to do was not what we wanted. It was a smaller job than what they wanted to do. I have nothing to complain about. I would not use them again.

Description of Work
Adaptations Unlimited did a design consultation. It was a big deal purchase.

Category home remodeling

5.0

04/11/2014


Pat A.

Description of Work
I bought a Big Deal from them for a kitchen or bathroom design consultation with floor plans.

Category home remodeling

5.0

02/02/2014


Mary T.

Fantastic!

Description of Work
Complete new kitchen.

Category home remodeling

5.0

01/05/2014


Amy S.

.

Description of Work
They provided a plan for refurbishing our bathroom. A consultant came to the house and measured the space. 2 weeks later we went to the showroom where we could select materials. We've decided to wait until the summer to complete the project. $45 was the price for the consultation and planning.

Category home remodeling

3.0

12/22/2013


Leonard D.

They were courteous and friendly. However, when they provided us the proposed contract for the construction of our home addition their cost was almost twice what we anticipated based on multiple other vendor estimates. Despite our asking for alternatives for various items (heating, insulation, windows, etc) none were provided. Their work was lacking in detail as to cost elements and left out many areas of additional cost to us. While we learned more about the construction process for the room addition the end product did not in any measure fulfill our needs. Our cost in time and energy working with them far exceeded the benefit. Their end product (construction proposal) was inadequate. Although inter personally they were nice and knowledgeable people, I could not in good conscience recommend their services.

Description of Work
.

Category remodeling, home builders

5.0

08/11/2012


Todd B.

Overall we couldn't be happier with our new kitchen. I honestly wouldn't change a thing. The team at Adaptations was very professional and walked us through some exceptional design schemes. We have a relatively small kitchen but they came up with a design that completely maximized the space and functionality. The main installer was very friendly and had a meticulous attention to detail. The quality of the cabinets are very solid and we have had no issues since our new kitchen was installed over a year ago.

Description of Work
Adaptations Unlimited remodeled our kitchen from start to finish. This included drawing up the design, removal of old cabinets and appliances and installation of new cabinets, appliances and the detailed finish work.

Category custom cabinets, remodeling, architect, home remodeling, cabinet refacing

5.0

08/10/2012


Thomas S.

I met with Stephen, the owner of the company who took care of me personally. I explained what I was looking for and he visited my home to measure the next day. He was very professional, listened carefully and attentively and responded with a kitchen design that more than fulfilled my desires in style and quality...at a reasonable price. The demolition and construction work was done in a very timely and professional manner. When we changed some things in the middle of the job, change orders were executed promptly and reasonably. The job was completed on time. The work was always professional and high quality.

Description of Work
New Kitchen cabinets and granite counter tops including lighting and under mount sink and facets. Also new granite work in Master Bathroom

Category countertops, electrician, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, marble & granite, architect, home remodeling

5.0

07/02/2012


Andrea K.

They planned the work, with a working budget. They performed as planned and to budget. When walls were opened, some unexpected issues and challenges came up. They were dealt with efficiently, economically, and professionally. I am delighted with the work, the professionalism, and the budgetary responsibility they showed

Description of Work
I purchased a bank owned singlr family. It was a disaster and needed to be totally gutted and rehabbed I went to Adaptations Unlimited because I learned that they had done a number of similar jobs and had a great reputation, earned over 32 years..They came up with a cost effective plan including adding a second story with two full bedrooms, dorma storage and a full bath. The first floor was gutted and completely rebuilt with new electrical, new plumbing and a new roof and a new full bath with laundry. New windows were installed and everything was brought to code. The outside was redone in vinyl siding. A new high efficiency heating system was installed. I now have a brand new house on a 100 year old foundation

Category contractors, electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, siding, home builders, woodworking, home remodeling

4.0

05/14/2012


Mark N.

Not done yet.

Description of Work
We've just started the process of the remodeling job. Still determining scope of work. Owner, Steve Kniaz, has been very responsive to our requests.

Category home remodeling

5.0

10/22/2011


john C.

Went very well. Our salesperson/designer helped us create a custom plan for the remodel. She was very knowledgeable about the details of the lines of products they sell. She was able to suggest a set of products in our target price range that went together very well. She was able to quickly answer detailed questions on each product or she would find out the answers. Once we settled on a design, she coordinated the install. She communicated very well with us so we knew what was going on and how we could help. ( The install was in our second home which is an hour+ away from where we live during the workweek.) And she made sure the details of the install went well (permits, product delivery to our home, arrival of installers.) The installers did a great job, paying close attention to the details. And the finished product reflects their high standards. They were attentive to dirt/dust control and our carpets still looked good after the install. We plan to update the other full bath in our place and will visit Adaptations Unlimited first.

Description of Work
Bathroom remodel including replacing: tile floor; two custom vanities w/ quartz countertops; toilet and sink fixtures

Category custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, plumbing, remodeling, home remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Sylvester Electric Inc

    As the country depends more and more on computers and other forms of automation to make life easier, dependence on electricity sees an equal increase. So when some part of your home’s electrical system begins to malfunction, you need a team that can correct it efficiently, and you need to be able to trust that the job was done right. The team at Sylvester Electric knows that this trust is extremely important, because of the potential for hazards in the event of poorly done work. However, their team of Dracut electrical specialists have been serving their community for over 30 years, and they are highly skilled in all aspects of electrical work. From home safety inspections and maintenance to outlet repair and breaker replacement, even wiring and installing things like ceiling fans, generators, lighting fixtures, and home theaters, this team is committed to providing the best possible quality in all work they perform. Call today to find out more about how they can help you!  

    Offers by Sylvester Electric Inc on Angi
    Jackson's Flooring

    Jackson's Flooring Professional Laminate Installation Specializing in Hardwood Flooring, Laminate Flooring, and Ceramic Tile  

    Level Line Tile

    Fully insured tile contractor with combined 20 years of experience. Owner operated business that will always be on the job site. Specializing in ceramic, porcelain, mosaic, glass, and natural stone. We can do anything from basic floors to high end custom shower stalls. Using an artistic approach we make each job special for the customer. We are professional, efficient, and have competitive pricing.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Kitchen, Bath & General Remodeling. Design Building. Additions.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Adaptations Unlimited

    How is Adaptations Unlimited overall rated?

    Adaptations Unlimited is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are Adaptations Unlimited open?

    Adaptations Unlimited is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    What payment options does Adaptations Unlimited provide

    Adaptations Unlimited accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does Adaptations Unlimited offer free estimates?

    Ask Adaptations Unlimited for details on free project estimates.

    Does Adaptations Unlimited offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Adaptations Unlimited offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Adaptations Unlimited offer a senior discount?

    No, Adaptations Unlimited does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Adaptations Unlimited?

    No, Adaptations Unlimited does not offer warranties.

    What services does Adaptations Unlimited offer?

    Adaptations Unlimited offers the following services: Kitchen, Bath & General Remodeling. Design Building. Additions.