Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

J Carnes & Son Roofing

Founded 2004 • With Angi since December 2009

4.9

(38) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

153 Lafayette Rd

Hampton Falls, NH 03844

Description

Welcome to J. Carnes & Son Roofing, New Hampshire’s leading roofing contractor. At J. Carnes & Son Roofing it’s our mission to serve the community with qualified uncompromising workmanship and unparalleled service. We work with dedication and integrity, and strive for a position of leadership in our trade. Building a foundation of respect and trust it is our goal to offer all property owners premium roof systems using the finest products paired with proven installation techniques. We enforce the most practical solutions to ensure your investment is well protected. We believe by maintaining this philosophy while offering affordable pricing we will continue building a network of satisfied customers and referral business to pass on for generations. Additional DBA - J. Carnes & Son, LLC....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/02/2020


Joe T.

J. Carnes & Son Roofing is the definition of excellence. Everyone from Jay (owner), Jade, Shannon, & the crew were all a pleasure to do business with. Knowledgeable, professional, & pleasant to interact with. All questions I had were answered thoroughly & promptly. Jay even contacted me personally to make sure everything went well, which was greatly appreciated. Exceptional work at a reasonable price. From start to finish, my whole roof was done in one day! If you want quality work for your roofing needs, these guys get it done, & get it done RIGHT! They absolutely live up to their motto "Roofing Done Right, Done Tight"! Very nice Job J. Carnes staff! If I ever need any other roofing work done, you know who I'll be calling! Thanks for a fantastic roofing experience!

Description of Work
Roof replacement

Category roofing

5.0

10/24/2018


Gary D.

It hasn’t snowed yet

Description of Work
Snow plowing

Category snow removal

5.0

10/15/2018


Duane Z.

waiting for estimate

Description of Work
repair leak

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Great talking with you [Member Name Removed]! See you on Friday!
5.0

11/03/2017


Kathryn M.

J Carnes & Son did a beautiful job on our roof and gutters. They were very professional and helpful throughout the process, and they completed the job in one day. Their price was fair and comparable to other quotes we received. One big advantage is that they have a showroom with large samples of the shingle colors. Beverly and Jay patiently helped me choose a color and prevented me from making a big mistake. I can't recommend them highly enough.

Description of Work
Replaced our roof and gutters

Category gutter repair, roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you Kate for the great review. I am so happy to hear our new showroom was helpful in your decision making. Have a great holiday season!
5.0

09/21/2017


Jan G.

I highly recommend J. Carnes & Son Roofing for your roof replacement. Jay responded to all questions/correspondences in a timely manner. He was able to start the job and complete the work in the time frame stated when he provided me the quote (very busy so a couple of months out and well worth the wait). He AND his crew are very professional and polite. Jay's crew was prompt and efficient getting right to work as soon as they arrived taking care to move anything that was in the way. The work was completed in a timely manner and the crew dealt very professionally with the unexpected rain that arrived before they could complete the work which would have otherwise been finished the same day. The crew was polite enough to ask how early they could start and arrived back bright and early the next morning (which happened to be a Saturday) to complete the work which included my shed roof. I couldn't have asked for a better experience. They even changed my flood lights high up on my garage (thanks guys!). The cleanup was great and when they finished the work, they were packed up and gone just a quick as they had set up taking care to remove all the debris. Although J. Carnes & Son was not the lowest quote I received, the price was reasonable and my decision was not based on cost alone. Other factors I considered when making my decision. • Experience • Knowledge of products offered • Straightforward explanation of the products offered • Professionalism he presented when we met I felt these factors made J. Carnes & Son the best option and worth the slightly higher cost and I was not disappointed. Another factor that I would like to mention that is important to me being a single woman. I'm used to (and hate) the 'hard sell' and ‘scare’ tactics others sometimes use and fortunately, Jay does none of this. He presented the facts about a new roof with honesty and spoke to me respectfully about the options. Note: The price quoted was for a ranch-style house with an attached large two-car garage, mud room between garage and house, and a standard size shed. Thanks for a great experience and job well done!

Description of Work
Roof replaced

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Wow! Thank you [Member Name Removed] for taking the time to write this great review! It was a pleasure working with you!
5.0

09/06/2017


Donald E.

Overall, I am happy with the look of the new roof. It has only been a week so it's too soon to tell if there will be any leaks or similar problems. Based on the use of multiple layers of materials I'm hopeful that everything should be nice and tight. The Carnes crew was very polite and seemed to be very experienced especially with our roof which has many hips, valleys and unusual angles. The crew is quite large and was able to complete the job in a little over a day and a half. There is no question that replacing a roof is a noisy, dusty, dirty project. I would suggest not being in the house during the project if you can avoid it. They placed long nylon nets from the bottom of the roof to the ground to keep old shingles from hitting the house on the way down. This worked most of the time although a few missed the net and hit the house. Other than having a new roof that doesn't leak, one of the most important things for me was cleanup after the job. I'm pretty fussy but I would say about 95% of the refuse was captured and removed. I found a few nails and shingle pieces and that was it. They also went around and cleaned up black smudges on the house. About the only negative I can think of is that one of our foundation plants got banged up more than I would have liked. Carnes was not the cheapest contractor I talked to but I felt the feedback from previous customers justified paying a little more for what I felt would be a high quality job. I'm happy with the outcome (and glad it is over frankly) and would certainly recommend Carnes for any roofing work you may need.

Description of Work
The original roof (23 yrs old) on my 4000 sf house was stripped and replaced with GAF shingles and related roofing materials.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed] for the business and the review!
5.0

08/02/2017


Melissa B.

.

Description of Work
I’ve had things from them, had them do work. Snow removal from the roof is one thing and consultations about when it’s time to have the roof changed and that kind of thing done.

Category snow removal

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for taking the time to leave us a review!
5.0

06/05/2017


Joe M.

Jason Carnes was a pleasure to work with. His crew did the entire job in one day. The roof came out great and Jason suggested some improvements to the shed roof so that it looks much better than it ever has. His crew also replaced an old gutter we had with a new one that matched the trim and it is so much nicer. The crew were very hard working and professional. We got quotes from a number of roofers and Carnes was very competitive, especially considering the extras that he did. We have worked with many contractors over the years and we can say that Jason Carnes is second to none. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
We needed a new roof on our house and shed.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for your very kind review. It's was a pleasure working with you on this project!
5.0

04/26/2017


Catherine M.

My interactions with them were very limited. I would recommend them.

Description of Work
Roof repair.

Category roofing

5.0

03/21/2017


Catherine M.

Excellent. The owner was incredibly responsive and accommodating. His crew showed up as promised, on time, and did the work efficiently. Everyone I spoke to at J. Carnes & Son was professional and courteous. I would not hesitate to use them again or recommend them to others.

Description of Work
Lost a small section of roofing shingles due to high winds. Three-story townhouse/condo unit in Atlantic Heights, Portsmouth.

Category roofing

5.0

02/27/2017


anthony A.

excellent (finished in 1 day)

Description of Work
contractor installed a new shingled roof

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for taking the time to leave us a great review! It was a pleasure working with you.
5.0

09/19/2016


William B.

Jay and his team showed up exactly when they said they would. Prepared the yard for the job and we're extremely efficient. The level of proffessionalism and care to the home was unmatched. The roof looks amazing, the price was great, and they left my front yard cleaner than when they showed up.

Description of Work
Replaced my roof over the home and garage.

Category roofing

5.0

07/03/2016


David N.

I received quotes from different providers, all listed on Angie's list. J Carnes was the most reasonable quote, far from the most expensive. J. Carnes showed up around 7AM with an "army" (my words) of workers. They took any outdoor furniture and moved it away from the house. They proceeded to drape the house with tarps - from the roof line to the ground. They placed tarps on the ground around the house to catch debris coming off the roof. They replaced the entire roof in a single day, no small feat in my opinion. They cleaned everything up, it was almost like they weren't here. Very minor issue in that a couple of plants appear to have suffered a little damage, no biggie they will recover.

Description of Work
Replaced roof on a single family dwelling.

Category roofing

5.0

06/27/2016


Melissa B.

Description of Work
.

Category roof snow removal

5.0

05/26/2016


nils H.

Carnes & Son roofing did an absolutely fantastic job. They arrived on time, were courteous and professional. They finished the job on schedule just as they said they would. They left my yard in better shape than when they arrived. I would highly recommend them for anyone needing a new roof!

Description of Work
Put on a new roof

Category roofing

5.0

07/03/2015


Sandra D.

jay and his crew were EXCELLENT !! They showed up on time. Were very courteous and finished the job as quickly as promised. they arrived with 9 people on the crew and finished stripping and installing the roof with amazing efficiency. Each person had a job to do and they worked very hard. Clean up was done on a continuous basis and a day later, we can't tell that they were even here. Jay was always prompt with responses when we had questions. His price was a little lower then the other quotes we received too. Highly recommended !

Description of Work
removed 2 layers of shingles from roof and installed new shingles

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for the great review! It was a pleasure working with you!
1.0

06/25/2015


Jerry Q.

Didn't hear from him until this review went up.

Description of Work
Called about a roof and talked to their secretary, left detailed message. She said they would call right back. Never did. Called back a week later, same routine. Told her we'd had the conversation a week earlier, she said she would walk the message right down to them. Still nothing

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], I would like to start off saying you are right, we have never spoken and we have never been under any agreement to complete work for you. I would hope you could understand with the brutal winter we had this year the roofing industry in the North East is beyond busy. We are getting 10-20 calls a day from new consumers as well as numerous calls from solicitors selling leads and pushing SEO. These solicitors call from out of state numbers and leave messages as if they are new business in attempt to get a return call. You called from a Chicago area code. Contrary to your accusations I did in fact call you back and reached a computerized voicemail with no identification so unfortunately I didn’t leave a message assuming it was another solicitor. I apologize we weren’t able to connect and I wish you the best of luck with your project. Jason Carnes
5.0

10/06/2014


Jennifer S.

Jason and his crew did a fantastic job! His promptly visited my home and gave me an estimate inclusive of all potential and necessary costs that would be involved with the job. Considering their certifications and schedule, I was surprised to find that theirs was one of the lower estimates I received. The crew completed the entire job in under 7 hours and left nothing behind. I am very pleased with the work that was done! Besides Jason's professionalism and the comfort level I had (with my being a first-time homeowner with this being my first roof replacement) - I appreciated his honesty, above all else. I obtained four estimates and Jason was the only one to tell me the worth of the solar panels being removed from my existing roof. Other contractors offered to simply 'get rid of them' while Jason explained the value of what I had and noted that his crew would set them aside for me to handle as I wished. I highly recommend this group!

Description of Work
Complete roof replacement and top-of-chimney (roof line) re-pointing

Category roofing, chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you (member name removed) for the kind words. It was a pleasure working with you on your new home! Jason Carnes
5.0

12/08/2013


Jonathon D.

The stripped 3 layers of shingles and replaced them with new shingles. The work covered both sides of the main house, both sides of the garage, a porch, and a small front entrance. I wasn't there for the work but my neighbor commented how fast and clean the team was. I'm very happy with the work. There were wind gusts this past week (11/23-25/2013)of 50 mph and the roof didn't even shutter!

Description of Work
I used J CARNES AND SON ROOFING LLC.

Category roofing

5.0

09/23/2013


Brian P.

The guys were extremely responsive, they showed up when they said they would, they worked quickly and they were friendly..

Description of Work
Installed new roof

Category roofing

5.0

08/30/2013


Patricia J.

They came early in the morning. Worked continuously until afternoon./ I noticed each person on the job had their own task ( clapboard removal, gutter etc.) to achieve. They were clean and thorough. Jason was on the job site most of the time. The workers were very professional. My roof is perfect! I took 4 proposals for this job and I went with Jason not because he was the cheapest but he offered the best quality and value. I won't be purchasing another roof so I wanted this one to have longevity.y I went on many sites trying to gather as much information as I could get on roofs My son in law is a former roofer in Texas so he gave me alot of helpful info.. I went into this contract feeling like I had more knowledge of what I wanted and needed in a roof. I am happy and satisfied with the decision to have J Carnes put a new roof on my home. I felt that Jason was dependable and trustworthy and he values his reputation. It shows in his work He explained the repair to my chimney in a way I understood.. They did all of this in one day The area surrounding my home is cleaner then when they started too.. I felt this was a big purchase and I am glad I had them do it.

Description of Work
New roof, new gutters, new clap boards, and a leaky chimney re-mortared and repaired correctly.

Category roofing

5.0

08/02/2013


Kari T.

The crew was punctual,professional and did a great job. They were a very skilled and coordinated team. A great job and a very thorough clean up.

Description of Work
Removed old roof and some trim and replaced them on my detached garage.

Category roofing

5.0

05/04/2013


Rebecca P.

The office contacted us right away after we left a message and scheduled an appointment to come out right away. The representative was punctual, professional and knowledgeable and was able to help us decide on the right type of shingles and timeframe for the project. We had limited time to be able to oversee the job, so he was able to schedule the project for a time when we would be there. The price was quite reasonable and the roofers arrived right on time in the morning. They quickly and cleanly removed two layers of old shingles and disposed of them. They found one spot on the corner of the roof where it was necessary to replace the board, but it was minimal enough that they didn't charge us for it. They cleaned up the area around the cottage thoroughly, so that no nails or other materials remained. The whole place looked beautiful! The entire job took about three hours, which was convenient for our time schedule. I highly recommend J. Carnes and Son.

Description of Work
New roof on our summer cottage, which is 12' x 36'.

Category roofing

5.0

03/01/2013


Alvis J.

Went very well. Service was scheduled for several days out and worked out well since no rain was in the forecast till the day after the repair. Very satisfied.

Description of Work
Tree branch fell and punched fist-sized hole in roof. Company came out and ended up installing roof vents (a necessary and novel solution) including one over the hole. Additional ventilation seems to have improved ice dam problem.

Category roofing

5.0

11/14/2012


EILEEN A.

I had interviewed a few different companies and found J.Carnes and Son to be the most professional. I emailed the company and within 24 hours I received a call from Jason Carnes to set up an appointment at my home. He was prompt and came with a professional quality presentation of what services his company offered and had his quote ready for me listing every service required to install this roof. He did not push me into making a quick decision. He followed up with me within a few days and after looking at all of the proposals, I decided that I would hire his company. The weather was horrible for a few weeks which delayed the installation of my roof, but soon as things cleared up, I received a call saying that the roof could be installed right away. He and his crew dropped off the supplies a day before and by 7:30am they were coming up my driveway ready to begin. I stopped by during the afternoon and most of the roof was completed. By the time I arrived home, the roof was done and my lawn and everything around my house was neat and clean. They left my home the way it was before they got there except for a brand new beautiful roof. Jason came by the next day to collect the balance for the roof and explained what was done and asked if I had any questions. I would highly recommend this company. They were very professional from the initial proposal all the way through the cleanup at the end. The price was not the lowest I received, but it wasn't the highest either and I felt that I got a fair deal considering the size of my roof. The fact that it took only one day to install was also a plus.

Description of Work
I had a total roof installed including over my attached garage.

Category roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    United Gutters LLC

    As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Jim Peck & Co

    Family owned Jim Peck & Co has served the Londonderry, NH and Massachusetts area for 20 years with a commitment to service and value. We appreciate your interest and look forward to earning your business. Jim Peck & Co has the experience and expertise to get the job done right the first time. Our skilled professionals use only the finest tools and materials. We guarantee our work and materials as well as your satisfaction. We offer customized work at the job site so call us today for your free estimate.  

    Universal Windows Direct of Manchester

    Universal Windows Direct of Manchester serves all of Central and Southern NH; we specialize in windows, doors, siding, and roofing. We carry our own exclusive brand of windows and siding called Unishield, and we have some of the best warranties in the industry. We are a preferred Owens Corning roofing installer. One of the key points that differentiates our window products from our competitors is that we use only virgin vinyl, built in one solid piece custom to each opening rather than standard sizes modified during installation. This creates a seamless fit that will not bend, crack, or warp over time. We also use the exclusive super spacer in between the panes of glass instead of metal, which is used by most window manufacturers. This amazing material almost completely diminishes any heat or cold transfer within the panes of glass, keeping you and your home comfortable and energy-efficient no matter the season!  

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, PayPal
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential and commercial installation & repair including roof, inspections and shoveling, chimney, flashings, deck, ridge straightening, carpentry, fascia, soffits, ventilation systems, skylight, gutters & ice dam solutions.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about J Carnes & Son Roofing

    How is J Carnes & Son Roofing overall rated?

    J Carnes & Son Roofing is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are J Carnes & Son Roofing open?

    J Carnes & Son Roofing is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does J Carnes & Son Roofing provide

    J Carnes & Son Roofing accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, PayPal

    Does J Carnes & Son Roofing offer free estimates?

    Yes, J Carnes & Son Roofing offers free project estimates.

    Does J Carnes & Son Roofing offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, J Carnes & Son Roofing offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by J Carnes & Son Roofing?

    Yes, J Carnes & Son Roofing offers warranties.

    What services does J Carnes & Son Roofing offer?

    J Carnes & Son Roofing offers the following services: Residential and commercial installation & repair including roof, inspections and shoveling, chimney, flashings, deck, ridge straightening, carpentry, fascia, soffits, ventilation systems, skylight, gutters & ice dam solutions.

    Are there any services J Carnes & Son Roofing does not offer?

    Ask for details