Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

AAA GENERAL CONTRACTING INC

Founded 1988 • With Angi since February 2007

3.0

(8) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 615

East Hampstead, NH 03826

Description

Please note that the ratings found here represent the approximate 3% of our customers who gained personal satisfaction in using this site to "vent" rather than contact us directly to resolve their frustrations. They would have had a much better result by contacting me personally to give me the opportunity to make things right....Thanks for visiting us!...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/10/2016


Wayne B.

Description of Work
.

Category electrician

2.0

02/22/2013


Daniel S.

Initial problems included trouble getting AAA to put into our contract the proper description of work and materials. We also found out later that our contract was missing several terms required by Mass. law to be a part of home improvement contracts. If the contract had included the required information regarding Home Improvement Contractor registration, we would have discovered that state sanctions against AAA owner Stephen Pascoe included a reprimand and fine against his HIC registration and a past suspension of his Contractor Supervisor License (CSL). Work began on our house before the necessary building permit had been obtained. A necessary electrical permit was never obtained, and the work was illegally done by an AAA employee who is not a licensed electrician. That work created a safety hazard, and we had to hire an electrician to correct the problem. More than 10 months after our deck was completed and in use, we found out that the final inspection on it had never been done. Steve was not aware of this because he was not involved at all with the deck and other items that, as CSL holder, he should have been. The deck, fortunately, did pass inspection, though the inspector made recommendations. There were many delays with this project--workers were not scheduled to come or were scheduled to come but were canceled or simply did not show up. There were delays in ordering our doors and windows. We did not receive the Pella windows called for in our contract. There was a problem with the order and AAA told us that if we wanted the Pella windows stated in our contract, we would have to pay more than the price stated for them in the contract, or we could choose a different, cheaper window company. Thinking that we had no choice, we ended up having lesser windows installed. The workers were often careless, and much of the work done was not thorough. We had to tell the project manager (or Steve Pascoe, when he finally entered the scene) what the workers had missed, as AAA neglected to assess the quality of the work done or what the workers accomplished each day. For example, caulking of the window trim was part of the window replacement, yet we had to have workers come back repeatedly for missed areas. One window had caulking overlooked four times. When we pointed out a half-inch opening still needing caulking, Steve belittled us. Paint got on the newly-built deck (the first time the house was painted and then again the second time, even after bringing the matter to Steve's attention). Workers were not always prepared. One painter took a bucket that was under an outside faucet, stood on it, broke it, and left the pieces on the ground without telling us about it. Another painter didn't have a ladder with him and had to come another time to reach the second floor. He asked to borrow a step stool. By the time one was brought out to him, he was standing on a small, wooden side table that he took from the backyard. Another time a worker needed to do some touch-up painting and asked if we had a paintbrush that he could use. The project manager came to do some work one day and could not do all he intended to do, as he said that he hadn't known that one of his workers had taken the caulk gun out of his car. The contract stated that a dump truck would be brought to the site for all related debris, and all related debris would be removed from the property as needed. Instead, many items were thrown into a heap in our backyard and left for weeks. Some garbage was then removed, and more was added to the pile. Several weeks passed before all the garbage was removed. We had to pick up from around the yard many screws, nails, and bits of wood that were left on the ground. The only item completed by the contract-stated ending time of 4 weeks was the insulation. Almost 5 months after starting work, some siding and trim repair remained to be done, as did some outside work on the windows that were installed during the winter. This work, as well as the repainting of the exterior of the house, was due to be done in the spring of 2012. The repainting was necessary due to negligence on the part of the subcontracted painters--despite our attempts to get them to stop, they painted when it was too cold out and too late in the day; the paint even froze on one side of the house. Despite attempts on our part, June and July of 2012 went by with no work being done. Because AAA caused so many delays and Steve Pascoe went back on his word several times, we asked him to sign a contract that would enumerate the remaining work and when it would be completed. Unfortunately, AAA did not do the work according to the terms of the second contract either, nor did they finish within the time specified. When we objected to deviations from work plans, on two different days Steve became angry with us and contacted his workers by phone and told them to leave our house. Our deck, completed in late November 2011, received its final inspection on October 9, 2012. We made our final payment on October 9, 2012, almost a year after work started on a project that was supposed to take four weeks. The lack of professionalism we observed includes: Steve Pascoe yelling at us on the phone; Steve hanging up on us twice; Steve berating us in an attempt to get us to not hold him to parts of the contract; at times, very slow response from AAA to our calls or e-mails (days or even a week); Steve and the project manager often changing times that we were to meet to discuss work; and an employee wearing an "I 'heart' strippers t-shirt with a silhouette of a stripper and a pole." Steve Pascoe was very unpleasant to work with and the overall experience with AAA General Contracting was terrible. After our ordeal, we filed a complaint with the Office of Consumer Affairs and Business Regulation (which oversees home improvement contractors) against Stephen Pascoe and AAA General Contracting for state violations. In July 2013, OCABR reprimanded Stephen Pascoe's Home Improvement Contractor registration.

Description of Work
Insulation was blown into the walls of the house from the exterior. Replaced existing soffit vents with continuous soffit venting. Exterior of house was painted (and repainted the following summer, due to problems with the paint work). Demolition of shed. Demolition of small deck that enters into our house on upper level. Built a new deck to replace the one torn down. Installed 10 replacement windows, with one window needing reframing. Replaced one entry door and two storm doors. Removed electrical conduit. Performed minor repairs and caulking to siding and trim.

Category contractors, decks, electrician, replacement windows, house painters

3.0

03/10/2011


Patricia D.

There was flooding in the area, so there were emergency charges. I think they're expensive. I haven't always liked their work. They will show up for emergencies, but they didn't install the water heater correctly in the past. Two years after they installed it, the area flooded because the water heater wasn't far enough off the floor. They didn't give us a very good break on the new water heater. The water heater wouldn't have been ruined if they had installed it high enough. They installed the new water heater too low, as well. I contacted them, and they fixed it. They gave us a $250 for a $600, and I thought that was obnoxious. They have shown up during blizzards while I had water coming through my ceiling. It's a mixed bag. Their prices have been outrageous for certain jobs. They aren't super cheap, but they aren't always out of line. They are very responsive. They are very punctual. They can do a lot of different things, and they'll show up in an emergency.

Description of Work
They repaired the furnace and replaced the water heater.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair, drain cleaning

Service Provider Response

It is amazing that customers will use this site to badger contractors who, time after time, bail them out of emergencies. Our rates our far less than the competition and we stand behind our work. I am hoping that we will be taken off their list to call when emergency strikes or for any other work. We do not need the harrassment.
1.0

09/15/2009


JOSEPH M.

They didn't go by the plans about 90% of the time. He formed the concrete wrong in order to save money and now the concrete is shaped incorrectly and is different from the plans. The concrete is still encased in the wood and I have had to take them to court because the work has yet to be completed correctly a year after I contracted with them.

Description of Work
I supplied them with a structural engineer's drawings to repair termite damage and to build a curb to keep the termites from getting into the house.

Category concrete repair

2.0

12/08/2008


Jason S.

Overall, it was a poor experience. The plumbing and electrical was done fairly well, quickly, and efficiently. Some of the workers seemed competent and knowledgeable. The rest of the work that was done resulted the worst contract experience I have ever had.

Description of Work
They did some drywalling, removing wallpaper, painted, electrical, and plumbing, and hung new ceilings.

Category drywall, electrician, plumbing, wallpaper removal, home remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

It is amazing that we never received one comment from this customer at any time expressing dissatisfaction. However, he has the time to use this site to post negative comments about us. Kind of makes you wonder.....doesn't it??
5.0

09/24/2007


JOHANNA M.

AAA General Contracting Inc had a pretty fair price. The quality of the work was marred a little because they broke some things. They also got started a month later than they had said they would. They were very responsive to our calls and acted in a very professional manner. They used a metal detector in the clean-up which I thought was very impressive.

Description of Work
They installed a new asphalt shingle roof on my town house and over the porch. They first took off a double layer of shingles and cleaned up.

Category roofing

5.0

09/19/2007


JEANNE C.

This company is not what I would call the cheapest place around, but the honesty and integrity levels are there. The owner would give you the shirt off his back if you needed it. He will tell you how to do something yourself if you can avoid having to pay him to do some minor type of thing in your house. He is always really good about communicating with us and letting us know what is going on. We just think he's a great guy who is really trustworthy and worth every penny.

Description of Work
This company installed all new wiring for the kitchen and basement in my 3000 square foot home. They also repaired some lighting problems caused by our tree guy when he removed trees.

Category electrician, lighting

1.0

02/03/2007


COURTNEY M.

This was the worst experience ever. When I signed the contract, AAA seemed to be reasonable. As soon as the work started, however, they were extremely unorganized, sloppy and cheap with their work and materials, careless with my property, rude (Steve Pascoe, the CEO), and expected payment prior to completing work sufficiently. They damaged my personal property not even in the rooms being worked on and expected me to overlook damages. They pinched pennies on everything. They used workers who always did the bare minimum to get the job done. The president could not have cared less about doing a decent job or making sure his workers knew what they were doing. He expected me to make sure work was done right even though I explained upfront that I am often out of town and did not have time to manage the work myself. He used extremely rude pressure tactics to try to get me to pay for lack of service and for inadequate work even after I had paid most of the contracted price pro actively.

Description of Work
Completely renovated kitchen, remodeled Bathroom and fixed bedroom walls.

Category home remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    Sylvester Electric Inc

    As the country depends more and more on computers and other forms of automation to make life easier, dependence on electricity sees an equal increase. So when some part of your home’s electrical system begins to malfunction, you need a team that can correct it efficiently, and you need to be able to trust that the job was done right. The team at Sylvester Electric knows that this trust is extremely important, because of the potential for hazards in the event of poorly done work. However, their team of Dracut electrical specialists have been serving their community for over 30 years, and they are highly skilled in all aspects of electrical work. From home safety inspections and maintenance to outlet repair and breaker replacement, even wiring and installing things like ceiling fans, generators, lighting fixtures, and home theaters, this team is committed to providing the best possible quality in all work they perform. Call today to find out more about how they can help you!  

    Offers by Sylvester Electric Inc on Angi
    Shawn Desjardins

    We specialize in interior and exterior painting services, cabinet painting, staining, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below. Please call (603) 923-5059 for free estimate today.  

    Offers by Shawn Desjardins on Angi
    Paul Duren Incorporated

    I have been in the painting industry for 25 years. we specialize in interior / exterior painting, powerwashing, deck refinishing, cabinet refinising. My company is owner operated my crew is detailed oriented we take pride in all phases of the job.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    5% OFF
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    KITCHEN & BATH REMODELING, ADDITIONS, CLOSET ALTERATIONS, GARAGE CONVERSIONS, ELECTRICAL, NEW TILE INSTALL, GROUTING & SEALING OF EXISTING TILE, INTERIOR & EXTERIOR PAINTING, SPOT PAINTING AFTER REPAIRS, DOORS, LOCKS, WINDOWS, DECKS, STUCCO, FENCING, PLUMBING, WATER HEATERS, NEW INSTALLATION OF PLUMBING, CLEANING GUTTERS & GUTTER REPAIR.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about AAA GENERAL CONTRACTING INC

    How is AAA GENERAL CONTRACTING INC overall rated?

    AAA GENERAL CONTRACTING INC is currently rated 3 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does AAA GENERAL CONTRACTING INC provide

    AAA GENERAL CONTRACTING INC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does AAA GENERAL CONTRACTING INC offer free estimates?

    Yes, AAA GENERAL CONTRACTING INC offers free project estimates.

    Does AAA GENERAL CONTRACTING INC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, AAA GENERAL CONTRACTING INC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does AAA GENERAL CONTRACTING INC offer a senior discount?

    No, AAA GENERAL CONTRACTING INC does not offer a senior discount.

    Does AAA GENERAL CONTRACTING INC offer emergency services?

    Yes, AAA GENERAL CONTRACTING INC offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by AAA GENERAL CONTRACTING INC?

    No, AAA GENERAL CONTRACTING INC does not offer warranties.

    What services does AAA GENERAL CONTRACTING INC offer?

    AAA GENERAL CONTRACTING INC offers the following services: KITCHEN & BATH REMODELING, ADDITIONS, CLOSET ALTERATIONS, GARAGE CONVERSIONS, ELECTRICAL, NEW TILE INSTALL, GROUTING & SEALING OF EXISTING TILE, INTERIOR & EXTERIOR PAINTING, SPOT PAINTING AFTER REPAIRS, DOORS, LOCKS, WINDOWS, DECKS, STUCCO, FENCING, PLUMBING, WATER HEATERS, NEW INSTALLATION OF PLUMBING, CLEANING GUTTERS & GUTTER REPAIR.