Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

SOS Heating and Cooling

Founded 1950 • With Angi since August 2006

4.7

(128) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

8314 Maple St

Omaha, NE 68134

Description

At SOS Heating and Cooling our mission is to be thecompany you can trust for any and all of your heating and cooling needs. We are a full service company offering residential and commercial heating and cooling service for all makes and models. We have years of experience ranging from the basic maintenance check of a residential system, to a long range, multi-phase commercial job. We value all jobs with the same integrity, regardless of size. Our goal is not to be the biggest or the cheapest, but simply offer the highest quality at a price that is fair to each and every customer. This policy has allowed us to remain successful and grow as a business since 1950. Award winning....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/23/2021


Alan S.

They were pretty honest, professional and they're on time. So far I've been pleased with what they've done.

Description of Work
They check the system.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/25/2021


Dennis S.

verviewUpdatesServicesReviewsPhotosAbout Reviews from the web Facebook 5/5 19 votes Customer Lobby 5/5 2 reviews RateABiz 3.2/5 4 reviews Google review summary 4.8 (180) Google reviews Sort All furnace 50 call 21 unit 14 sales 12 +6 D S D S Local Guide · 34 reviews · 266 photos a minute ago Positive: Professionalism, Punctuality, Quality, Responsiveness, Value SOS Heating and Cooling has been around Omaha area for many years. It is family owned and was started by the grandfather, then his son and now his son (Jon). In this case, my interest was to simply replace an old tired heat pump because our furnace was only 8 years old. I reached out to them via Angie's List and Jon was very responsive and built the quote on his laptop during the walk through visit. His bid was about $100 lower than the other lowest bid, but there was a much stronger value in the product and support. They installed a 3.5 ton York heat pump that is manufactured in Wichita and they bundled a service contract for 10 years on parts and labor. -That is one heck of a value proposition. The system was ordered and arrived in about a week and we set up installation date. His technicians are experienced and one of the guys has been with the SOS family 41 years and the other 44 years. I love that about these guys! They were accommodating, informational and they laid protective coverings on the paths in the house so the floors/carpets didn't get dirty. Both know the precautions regarding COVID and wore their mask the entire day except while working on the heat pump outdoors. Without reservation, I would encourage you to get to know the SOS family and due business with a local that earns your respect immediately and throughout the process. Hands down 5 stars!!

Description of Work
Install heat pump

Category appliance repair, heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/29/2020


Brian V.

I was very impressed with SOS and Jon Stuehm. My AC went out over the Memorial day weekend. It was original to the house and the whole system was in need of replacing so I didn't feel like putting any money into it. I reached out online to SOS on Saturday night and the called me on Tuesday morning after the holiday which was what I expected. Jon came out and was helpful and listened to what I was looking. I got a quote from him within a few hours and it included just what I was looking for and not full of equipment I didn't want or need. I got a couple of more quotes from reputable companies in town and they were significantly higher for comparable equipment. After I made the decision to go with SOS, the crew was out here the next day at the time they said they would be. They were courteous, nice, helpful, and informative. SOS made the process easy, affordable, and drama free. Thanks guys!

Description of Work
Replace furnace and air conditioner

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

2.0

11/11/2018


Steven S.

Our furnace's blower motor went out. SOS's technician installed a new motor in about 30 minutes, but it wasn't working correctly. He troubleshot it for another 30 minutes until he realized he installed the wrong motor. He had to come back the next day to install the correct one. We weren't home so I'm not sure how long it took him. Later, SOS billed us for two hours worth of labor—one hour for the first day and one hour for the second day. I called and asked them to reduce it to only one hour because the extra labor was solely due to the technician's error, but they only reduced the bill by $20 even though the extra hour of labor cost me $85. I'll be using a different company next time my HVAC system needs servicing.

Description of Work
Replace Motor in Furance

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/28/2018


Cynthia Y.

We found out that our humidifier had been shut down before we moved into our house. SOS hooked it back up for us and made sure all the bolts and nuts were tightened so it wouldn’t leak. The technician was very competent and courteous. He even put on booties to protect our flooring. Additionally, he checked our furnace and found a condensation leak which he fixed. We could not be more pleased with this company.

Description of Work
Heater and humidifier check up

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

2.0

04/05/2018


Orv H.

Our furnace just went out 3 weeks ago. We had three estimates before choosing SOS, because they were the cheapest. As they say, " you get what you pay for". First off, the installers were not very friendly nor communicative. WE DIDN'T HAVE A WORKING FURNACE AND THEY KEPT LEAVING THE MAIN DOOR OPEN. One of the installers was a smoker and tossed all of his cigarette butts in the yard. They wired the furnace wrong, so the Utility Inspector couldn't get it started. They ran the condensation drain out of the house in a way it would back up and freeze, so we had them come back out and change it. Good thing I caught it. And they ran the intake and exhaust out the chimney, which was fine. What wasn't fine was that the intake was at a 45* facing West rather than a 90*, which allowed for the elements to enter the piping. We also had them come back out for this. The installer ended up putting the extra 45* on the wrong pipe, so now the install will not pass inspection. I would not recommend this business to a friend.

Description of Work
New furnace install

Category electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac, appliance sales, metal restoration

Service Provider Response

I apologize about the installers leaving the door open and the cigarettes. We addressed this with them as this shouldn't ever happen. We had not finished the wiring for the thermostat and were coming back an hour after MUD (the utility) hooked up the gas meter. The installation did not fail an inspection and we came back a third time for no charge and fixed the venting to your liking. For the condensation, this was discussed in detail during our bid. We agreed that the condensate was going to be ran through the route we discussed and you said you could put heat tape on it. I'm very happy that we found another better route which we re-routed at no charge. I'm not sure why we are getting called out on these items. It is also a bit disheartening that the homeowner said he was very happy with the job, paid us in full, thanked us for coming back and said he did not write a review. He said this review was written by the person who lives in a camper in his driveway. Sincerely, Jon Stuehm President

5.0

11/21/2017


Bob K.

I have dealt with SOS for several years and have always been pleased with their service and feel they are always looking at ways to keep my costs to a minimum while performing quality service. Everything was covered under my contract except a small filter for the humidifier which was less than $10.00.

Description of Work
I have an annual service contract with SOS which gives me a spring and fall system checkup. I have been very pleased with their service. They only sell me parts or filters whn necessary and always ask before installing.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/06/2017


Steve G.

Steve Came out and talked with us about the type of unit we needed. We went with the 16 seer unit. He told us about the OPPD rebate which we received. We also noted a $50 a month savings in our OPPD bill. SOS was very prompt and the technicians were courteous and clean. Great Job SOS Thank You. I will always use SOS for all of my HVAC needs. Steve Grabowski

Description of Work
We needed to replace our Central Air Unit. We talked with Steve From SOS.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

09/27/2017


Namita S.

Great. Were on time, the leader was responsive in answering any questions and taking phone calls. SOS came through when I was having trouble finding someone good and reliable to get the job done.

Description of Work
Duct work for ventilation hood

Category

1.0

06/06/2017


Maureen M.

Zero stars. SOS "repaired" my air conditioning last summer. The technician was prompt and courteous and appeared to have fixed the problem. The indoor coil in the evaporator was frozen solid - he defrosted it, replaced the air filter, and I believe he changed an electrical component. What he didn't do and didn't educate me about caused the same thing to happen this summer. Because it was the exact same issue I did not call SOS for service - instead I decided to do some research on my own. First I learned I need to clean the outdoor compressor every year. The technician didn't even look at it last year - there was vegetation growing and two dormant wasp nests in the coil along with all the dust/dirt/lint/grime build up. Next I learned I need to change my air filter more often due to a large amount of pet hair (I tacked screening in my vents and registers which I will vacuum regularly to hopefully cut down on this problem - I will also be having the vents cleaned and change the filter more often.) I turned the unit off and turned just the fan on to completely defrost and dry out the system - not only was the indoor coil frozen but a large chunk of ice had formed and fallen off of the pipe to the compressor outside in the 90 degree plus weather! After the system dried out I removed the chimney, access panel and triangle plate in front of the A coil inside the evaporator and vacuumed out over an inch of crud accumulation. Next I checked the condensation drainage tubing - it was full of rust and grime and completely plugged up. In summary - last year it cost $180 to defrost part of the system and temporarily get the AC running again this year. This year I watched youtube videos for about three hours and spent about an hour cleaning and $5.50 for new drainage tubing to get the cold air running.

Description of Work
My air conditioner was not cooling.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

05/15/2017


robert S.

very well, no issues. prompt, clean, courteous, informative.

Description of Work
Replaced furnace

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/06/2017


Clyde A.

SOS replaced the system in one day, and it has functioned well during the first two years with about a 13% savings in electrical power use. Some savings in gas but hard to determine because of mild winters. The EcoBee smart thermostat had problems getting a Wifi signal, but EcoBee upgraded the software and it has worked flawlessly since then. We also bought an annual maintenance with SOS, and they service the system every 6 months. Cost is $192.60/year which includes labor but not parts.

Description of Work
In May 2015 SOS replaced our furnace and A/C unit. Our 25-year old system had to be replaced because the parts cracked/broken on the furnace were no longer available. We replaced it with a high-efficiency York system. We also included a high-efficiency electronic air cleaning/filter system that has helped reduce my wife's indoor allergy problems.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

02/15/2017


Susan B.

They did a good job and explained what he was doing and what had happened.

Description of Work
They came and fixed our furnace. They replaced like the computer panel.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/16/2017


Brad K.

Install was quick, and it looks and works great.

Description of Work
Instalation of humidifier.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

3.0

12/12/2016


Kevin H.

It was like 85 per service call, they came twice and then like 250 or 260 for the part. They didn't have the part, they had to order it. They charged us for one service call and they charged us again to come back. And on top of it they forgot about us for two weeks. Then they called us they're oh we found your invoice it was in our completed pile sorry about that, we'll come out and fix it. Then we thought oh well you know they'll probably give us a discount or at least say they're sorry about it. I was not happy about it. Two young guys came out, they were both really nice, they did fix the thing but between charging us like that and forgetting about us and stuff I would probably only give them like a C.

Description of Work
I used SOS Heating and Cooling for heating and a/c services. They changed out a switch board on a furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

10/17/2016


Stuart N.

They showed up on time, did the work at a fair price.

Description of Work
Replaced furnace

Category appliance repair

5.0

09/20/2016


Zachary W.

SOS promptly responded to our call to their emergency line on a hot, humid Friday evening when our AC unit failed. The project manager was out of town at the time; however, he kept in contact with us via phone/email all weekend, ordered everything to be done, and had us set up to have a new AC unit installed by Tuesday morning. Everyone we worked with from the project manager, to the emergency line employee, to the two installers were friendly, prompt, professional, and incredible to work with.

Description of Work
AC Replacement

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/23/2016


Tina G.

Wonderfully, the gentleman who was dispatched was both thorough and knowledgeable. After checking circuit boards, fuses, switches, and motors, he deduced the problem and cause. As well as installed a solution. He even helped us understand the actual issue, and how to handle things in the future if a hard reset may be required.

Description of Work
My AC unit was out, needed repair/ diagnostic? We believed it may have been the fan motor, but that was not the case. Fan motor had only seized due to underlying issues we were unaware of.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/04/2016


Kimberly K.

Technician was timely and very courteous. Found the problem was only a loose screw on the fan, but took the time to check everything out, test the different components, check temperatures, and clean out the furnace. All of this only took about 1/2 hour even with the tech explaining things to me and teaching me a thing or two along the way. Because there was still time left on a 1 HR service call, he also checked out my a/c. Fixed some poor wiring, cleaned out a mouse nest, plugged up a hole, and tested all the components to ensure proper functioning. All this and I was still only charged the 1 HR service call labor fees.

Description of Work
Furnace began making a loud noise, but the heat still worked. Scheduled a service call to have it checked out. Was able to schedule for same day and they did their best to accommodate my work schedule.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/22/2016


Bernard K.

Our furnace quit working, the blower worked, but NO heat. We called SOS at 8.00 AM, they were out at noon. The problem was a easy fix,but they checked everything else. The technician was professional, pleasant, friendly and efficient. There was no hard sell. We used SOS in the past, and I highly recommend they.

Description of Work
Furnace quit working,

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

01/21/2016


Richard E.

I loathe having to deal with most heating and A/C firms from past experiences. This time, having access to Angie's List, I selected SOS because of their rating and because they are close by, practically neighbors. They provided a reasonable estimate, and acknowledged an Angie's List coupon. I didn't check with other companies because of these facts. They were able to get in to remove the old furnace and install the new one in just one day, keeping the house from freezing up as it was near zero degrees outside. The old furnace was installed in such a way that it was not really easily serviceable. SOS changed the orientation of the furnace to meet code. To do so, it required rerouting of electrical, gas line, and drain line for the A/C. They also cleaned to A/C coil in side the furnace Their install was a thing of beauty, clearly a professional install. They returned on another day to add some vents to meet code and removed a door that ensured adequate ventilation all necessary to pass the M.U.D. inspection. They plan to return in the spring to ensure that the A/C system is charged and working. I will recommend SOS to anybody that need heating or A/C work.

Description of Work
Install new furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/29/2015


Richard E.

Inspected furnace and cleaned. Replaced humidifier pad. Did diagnosis on humidifier and got it working again. Gathered data for a estimate for a new furnace

Description of Work
Furnace check-up

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

4.0

10/13/2015


Peter M.

We paid for the parts. They're pretty good. I was not very happy with the price of the filter.

Description of Work
We have a contract with them.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/22/2015


Bryan P.

The ductwork insulation looks great - I can't obviously double check their sealing since it's all covered. But all supply and return ducts were insulated and it looks neat and well done. Even underneath the duct where it's resting on the rafters they managed to get insulation in as much as possible.

Description of Work
All of the ductwork in the attic was sealed and insulated. We had previously removed all of the existing insulation in the attic including the insulation on the ductwork that was 50 years old and had SOS come and reseal/reinsulate the ductwork.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/21/2015


Carol W.

They installed it within a couple of days from my call. They were fantastic.

Description of Work
They took out an old furnace and replaced it. They even helped me finance a rental unit.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    Other local Pros in your area

    Electrical PowerPros

    We're Electrical PowerPros and we've been an electrician in Omaha, NE, since 2015. We offer a wide selection of services including indoor and outdoor lighting, remodeling and panel upgrades.We do all types of residential and commercial repairs, remodels and installations.. We're looking forward to partnering with Omaha consumers to continue to provide a premier experience. We would like to personally invite you to contact us for your remodeling project, today!  

    Urban Electric and Lighting, LLC

    Urban Electric and Lighting, LLC is a trusted electrician in Omaha, NE. With nearly two decades of experience, we have what it takes to handle all of your commercial or residential electrical needs. Whether you need a panel upgrade or a full fixture replacement, you can rely on us to do the job right.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Solid Ground Electric LLC

    Solid Ground Electric is here to serve you and your electric needs. We can help you with all electrical needs such as: panel upgrades, remodels, electric car chargers, lighting upgrades. Our goal is to serve our community well with the skills we have developed with years of experience.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Installation A/C, furnace, heat pumps, thermostats, humidifiers, repair, a/c checks, furnace checks, heat pump checks, diagnostics, pricing, filter change, free-on, thermostat check, humidifiers, air cleaners, provide parts, warranty, clean & assemble.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about SOS Heating and Cooling

    How is SOS Heating and Cooling overall rated?

    SOS Heating and Cooling is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are SOS Heating and Cooling open?

    SOS Heating and Cooling is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does SOS Heating and Cooling provide

    SOS Heating and Cooling accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does SOS Heating and Cooling offer free estimates?

    Yes, SOS Heating and Cooling offers free project estimates.

    Does SOS Heating and Cooling offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, SOS Heating and Cooling offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does SOS Heating and Cooling offer a senior discount?

    No, SOS Heating and Cooling does not offer a senior discount.

    Does SOS Heating and Cooling offer emergency services?

    Yes, SOS Heating and Cooling offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by SOS Heating and Cooling?

    Yes, SOS Heating and Cooling offers warranties.

    What services does SOS Heating and Cooling offer?

    SOS Heating and Cooling offers the following services: Installation A/C, furnace, heat pumps, thermostats, humidifiers, repair, a/c checks, furnace checks, heat pump checks, diagnostics, pricing, filter change, free-on, thermostat check, humidifiers, air cleaners, provide parts, warranty, clean & assemble.