Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

PRECISION DECORATING

Founded 1969 • With Angi since August 2006

4.4

(11) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2701 PETERS CREEK PRKWY

Winston Salem, NC 27127

Description

Precision Decorating is a full service remodel company. They are able to assist from concept to completion on any bath or kitchen project. Their work is sub contracted by contractors that work for them every day....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

05/17/2017


Janice W.

Lisa Allen was wonderful! She listened well to understand our hopes and dreams. She came up with terrific ideas. She made sure all the work was well organized. She was responsive to concerns.

Description of Work
Update condo, including kitchen and bathrooms.

Category countertops, flooring contractor, remodeling, home remodeling, cabinet refacing

2.0

10/10/2016


Dianne C.

Install of microwave subpar. They told me how to find someone to fix their terrible install. I did and the new folks did a great job fixing the errors. I would never hire them again. Anna was totally unhelpful and frankly more interested in chatting up her subs than quality work.

Description of Work
Kitchen remodel

Category carpet cleaners, home remodeling

3.0

07/17/2014


Larry L.

The owner was very aggressive up front to get me to commit to the job. After shopping around I decided to overlook this characteristic since I would be working with the designer and not with the owner. They said it would be about a 2 week job and it was finally finished after 7 weeks. The designer and owner came to my home the first day even when I had problems I never saw them again. The demo and Tile install went great. Very happy BUT it was the tile installer and myself that came up with the layout NOT the designer. I had to go to the plumbing showroom and pick my fixtures. The designer did not have any suggestions or input. She did not even tell me I would need to have the room painted after the tile was installed and I had to arrange for that myself as well. The plumber they sent was courteous and the fixtures are fine but there is an unresolved issue on the control handle. The nightmare is on the shower door. The owner was adamant that I did not want to have a frameless glass wall due to leaks. Well my framed door ( which is"custom") looks terrible and leaks anyway if water hits the door too aggressively. I complained to the designer about this and it was just brushed off. I requested a discount of the $300 up charge for the custom door and it ignored. I am dissatisfied but so sick of this that I am will ing to live with the mistakes to just be done with them. Bottom line, you get what you pay for. If you want a professional team that is more hands on and concerned that you are a satisfied customer DO NOT use Precision Decorating.

Description of Work
Shower repair/remodel. Replace tile, drain, fixtures

Category home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We have never met or spoken to the member about this project, we only have been in contact with Martha. After her initial visit to our store, we met her at her home to see her leaking shower, and we priced what needed to be done to fix the problem. In order to fix it, we had to tear out the existing tile work in her shower and tub area. Martha agreed that it needed to be done and wanted to move forward. In the beginning, she wanted to match the new tile to the existing tile as close as possible which is what we selected and agreed upon. After a few meetings, I suggested an accent tile to go in the shower and we selected one as well. In the original plan, Martha wanted to reuse her existing plumbing fixtures, but she decided after we signed the contract to purchase new fixtures. Because of Martha and my conflicting schedules that day, I coordinated a meeting with Martha and the showroom manager of a plumbing supplier we use regularly. I told the supplier to give Martha our wholesale pricing as a favor to Martha. We started this job on May 27 and completed the job when we installed the new shower door on June 10 (2 weeks). The next day on June 11, Martha emailed me that there were holes at the bottom of the shower frame (which are weep holes for drainage) and also that when Larry got home he had trouble getting through the door, which was a standard 24” door. Our installers used a standard 24” door because without ever meeting or talking with the member, we were not aware of any concerns with door size. We were in contact with the company that same day to resolve the issue. They were able to send someone out to see the problems on June 16. When the door installer went to see the problem the homeowners were having with the shower door, the client preferred a custom 30” door to give more room for entering and exiting the shower. We ordered the new custom sized 30” door on June 24 after Martha agreed to the $300 charge for the new door, which we gave to her at our cost due to the inconvenience. The glass door was supposed to arrive and be installed the week of June 30th, but their shipment did not arrive in time due to shipping factors we had no control of. The new door arrived Monday July 7 in the afternoon and installed the next day on July 8. There is no shower door that is water tight. If there is water aggressively hitting it, there will be leakage. Also, we were never made aware of any plumbing issues with the control handle. This job was completed in the 2 weeks that we had originally planned on. The client had one issue that we were aware of, the shower door, and it was addressed and resolved in the next few weeks after the job had been completed.

4.0

06/18/2014


Nicole W.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, flooring contractor, home remodeling

5.0

02/21/2014


Donna L.

Work was done nicely, by polite and competent people, and ON TIME.

Description of Work
New counters and backsplash in kitchen.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, home remodeling

4.0

11/04/2013


Linda W.

Initial contact was in August of 2013. Precision sent a representative to take measurements of what kitchen cabinets I had and figure out what I needed for replacement and what would go on a wall that had no cabinets. The rep was very personable and presented herself very professionally. A week later I was contacted to go to their location in Winston Salem and pick out what cabinets I want along with the granite and back splash. When I got there, Anna, the representative, had picked out some cabinet types, an array of cabinet colors, matching back splash and granite. I had told Anna what my price range was and she stayed within that as much as possible. She introduced lighting under the cabinets which was a great idea. She showed me some samples and I decided that I wanted them. I am so glad I did. I also told Anna that I was not repainting the walls or replacing the floor. Only cabinets, granite, back splash, and under counter lighting. In about a week Anna sent me an email with an attached bid. We sent this bid back and forth a couple of time adding and sub-tracting items until it was what I could afford. I let them know that my partner did not want any part of this so we set a time to begin this job while my partner would be out of town. The work was to begin on September 23, 2013. This was great because it gave me lots of time to clean out my kitchen and set up a schedule for food preparation without a kitchen for about two weeks. Anna sent a schedule of when I would have people in my house. Who the people were and what they would be doing. Promptly on the morning of September 23, Mike came to begin taking down the old cabinets and putting in the new. He did an outstanding job. He first covered the floor to protect it and then he began removing the cabinets. Each night when he left, he cleaned up and vacuumed. On the second day the electricians came to mark where the switches would go on the wall for the new cabinets and under cabinet lights. The third day Mike was back and began putting in the new cabinets. He completed all of this in a week. Now we began having challenges. First, the new cabinets went to the ceiling and the old cabinets did not. I did select this type of cabinet. The new cabinets were at least 2 1/2 inches higher than the old cabinets so there was a large area under each cabinet that was wall board. Evidently Anna did not take this into consideration when measuring as I was not informed. Also, there were holes along the wall under the cabinets where Mike had to put braces to hold the cabinets while securing them to the wall. There were huge holes where electrical wiring was pulled for under cabinet lights. I called Anna and told her about it. She was surprised that it bothered me and then she was really surprised when I said that it had to be fixed and at her company's expense. I told her painting was not in my budget . She told me it wasn't in hers either. I told her that I would go and get a painter and send her the bid and subtract it from my final payment. She asked me to wait and she would send someone from Precision that does painting. I told her fine. The next problem was the cabinet that was measured to put my microwave in was not going to fit my microwave. I showed it to Mike. He spoke to Anna. He eventually made the opening bigger and did a beautiful job. Then Mike went to install the back splash I selected and it was not the correct one. He had already installed 1/2 of it when I came into the kitchen and told him it was wrong. I had taken pictures of the back splash I selected along with the selected cabinets and granite so I sent to Mike's phone a copy of what I selected. He agreed it was definitely not the correct one. He removed it and I had to go select a new one. Evidently the company that supplies the material had run out of the color that I wanted but kept the name. Anna was not aware of this. I went to Precision and picked out a new back splash. The entire job was to be done by October 11. It was not done until October 25. Precision did send in a painter and they were able to match the color of my walls. They patched the holes and repainted my entire kitchen. Mike put in my new back splash and although it is not what I really wanted, I am satisfied. I would use this company again but I know what to ask for and how to estimate how much time it will take. Once it was understood what my expectations were and what I needed to have done in order to be a satisfied customer, Precision stepped to the plate and did their job. I would always ask for Mike as he is probably the most professional person I have ever worked with. He is a perfectionist and very precise. I have a beautiful kitchen and the design of the cabinets was totally done by Precision Decorating. I am not good at that and I am very thankful that they are.

Description of Work
Replaced and added cabinetry in my kitchen. Put under cabinet lighting. Put in granite counters.

Category electrician, home remodeling

5.0

07/15/2013


walter S.

They were helpful, always quick to respond to questions, and offered good ideas. Their contractor did quality work, We had a minor problem with the pantry which the contractor was resolved to our satisfaction. The overall project, from start to finish, took a bit longer than would have liked -- due to contractor scheduling. These delays tested out patience but did NOT cause problems in our home -- as the work was done elsewhere and the finished cabinet was installed in our home in a few hours. Both parties met their promised schedules.

Description of Work
Designed and contracted the construction and installation of a custom pantry (storage area) for a kitchen/dining room combination with storage issues.

Category home remodeling, cabinet refacing

4.0

12/28/2012


Terri L.

Okay

Description of Work
Precision gave me an estimate for a bathroom remodel. I did not ultimately decide to use their services because I preferred to work with a general contractor who would do most of the work himself instead of subcontracting all of the work out; however, I did find them to be very professional and to have good ideas for the remodel.

Category home remodeling

5.0

11/12/2011


Roger M.

The entire experience was well planned, organized, and scheduled. Job was finished on time and on budget. Had a few issues during the remodel which were handled professionally and at no additional cost. Would highly recommend Brittany Galyan as the designer. She selected all the major elements of the remodel and we are completely satisfied.

Description of Work
Complete remodel of our master bath. Tore everything to the studs, removed all cabinetry, flooring, toilet and fiberglass shower. Left old jetted tub as it was in excellent shape. Replaced with new vanity, and sinks, tiled shower (which is gorgeous), toilet, tiled floor, new tile around tub decking, a storage tower, lighting, storage cabinet, all hardware, and custom mirrors. The work is done by sub-contractors that are scheduled and cotracted through Precision. All subs were professional, reported on time, and left the work site clean and organized.

Category electrician, flooring contractor, lighting, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

08/19/2011


Luther B.

They did a very good job. We were real pleased and would recommend them. We're going to have them come back to do some more bathroom work. After they finished the work we had a problem with one area and we called them and told them about it. They are coming back Thursday of next week to look at and see what they can do to fix the problem. Overall they have been very cooperative about fixing the problem.

Description of Work
They remodeled our bathroom. They put in a cabinet for storage and a new walk in shower.

Category remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

08/07/2006

EVERYTHING WAS ALL FINE. THE WORK WAS OF GOOD QUALITY AND THEY CAME ON TIME. WHAT MORE CAN YOU ASK FOR. THE PRICE WAS A LITTLE HIGH, BUT I THINK EVERYONE IS TOO EXPENSIVE.

Description of Work
THEY CLEANED THE CARPET IN ONE ROOM OF THE HOUSE AND PART OF THE HALLWAY.

Category carpet cleaners

    Other local Pros in your area

    M&M Carpet Cleaning

    M&M Carpet Cleaning is a full service company. We take great pride in our services. We specialize in Residential and Commercial properties. Our services consist of Carpet cleaning, and Landscaping. We are a family owned business, and dedicated to our customers satisfaction. We promise to leave no mess behind. We gladly give free estimates. Call us today for your free quote. We are fully bonded and insured.  

    Go Dry Carpet Cleaning

    Our dry carpet cleaning process in Greensboro NC thoroughly rids your carpet of dirt, stains, allergens and other dangerous contaminants and is dry instantly. Our carpet cleaning system even removes soil and detergent left behind by other carpet cleaning methods or inexperienced budget carpet cleaners. You'll Love The New Way To Clean Carpet! We Guarantee It!  

    BUY SMART CARPET CORP

    We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! Specializing in Carpet and Flooring services; We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for Details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    KITCHEN REMODEL, BATH REMODEL, CABINETS,FLOORING,CARPET, COUNTERTOPS, WINDOW TREATMENTS.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about PRECISION DECORATING

    How is PRECISION DECORATING overall rated?

    PRECISION DECORATING is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are PRECISION DECORATING open?

    PRECISION DECORATING is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 9:00 PM - 1:00 PM

    What payment options does PRECISION DECORATING provide

    PRECISION DECORATING accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does PRECISION DECORATING offer free estimates?

    Ask PRECISION DECORATING for details on free project estimates.

    Does PRECISION DECORATING offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, PRECISION DECORATING offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does PRECISION DECORATING offer a senior discount?

    No, PRECISION DECORATING does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by PRECISION DECORATING?

    No, PRECISION DECORATING does not offer warranties.

    What services does PRECISION DECORATING offer?

    PRECISION DECORATING offers the following services: KITCHEN REMODEL, BATH REMODEL, CABINETS,FLOORING,CARPET, COUNTERTOPS, WINDOW TREATMENTS.