Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

eWire Electric Company

Founded 2002 • With Angi since September 2008

5.0

(242) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

834 Arbor Road

Winston Salem, NC 27104

Description

eWire Electric Company is a small, locally-owned electrical contracting business based in Winston-Salem, NC. We are honored to have been selected for the Angie's List Super Service Award for 6 consecutive years! Our specialties include all types of residential and light commercial wiring,

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/20/2018


Cari H.

Fred responded the same day that I contacted him and provided a timely quote. He was able to come out to work on the project the very same day! The job was completed efficiently. He was very professional and his work was of high quality. I would definitely use this company again.

Description of Work
Installation of a closet light and replacement of a doorbell transformer

Category electrician

5.0

11/08/2017


Gena P.

Fred Schlosser of eWire Electric Company very responsive, competent and professional. He did an excellent job for a very reasonable price.

Description of Work
Fred installed our new NEMA15-40R and JuiceBox EVSE.

Category electrician

5.0

08/24/2017


Dawn B.

Fred is awesome! Stays with the job until it is complete. Did a great job.

Description of Work
Lighting & repair

Category electrician, lighting

5.0

08/07/2017


Dawn B.

We have had Fred do some work for us before. We love his easy, polite, confident manner and had no trouble deciding to hire him for this job. He is a busy man so it took a few days for him to get to us (however we assured him there was no rush). We are well pleased and satisfied and would hire again in a heartbeat.

Description of Work
Needed a rough-in wiring for new circuit and receptacle for a dishwasher (never had a dishwasher in this house), a new light in the bathroom in the shower area (where there never was one), which also required a new switch, a new box for vanity light over mirror and he also did some trouble shooting and repaired an outdoor light fixture.

Category electrician, lighting

5.0

07/25/2017


Carolyn C.

I had a good experience with them. When I tried to get a hold of them again for another job, I couldn't get in touch with them. He was great. He cleaned up. I have no complaints. It took him a couple of days. He was informative and responsive. I was very pleased. No problems at all.

Description of Work
They installed lights in the ceiling.

Category electrician

5.0

07/14/2017


Fawad R.

My experience with them was excellent. He installed a chandelier in the dining room. He took out the old chandelier in the dining room and put it upstairs in the foyer area. I think he did an excellent job. A real professional guy. I think I got a good deal out of it. I will definitely use them again. Everything was excellent.

Description of Work
He installed a chandelier in my dining room.

Category electrician

5.0

07/11/2017


William H.

He has always been excellent, I have used him several times. I would definitely use him again.

Description of Work
He replaced an outlet and installed a new window a/c unit.

Category electrician

5.0

04/26/2017


Doug P.

Fred has become my no-questions-asked go-to guy for electrical issues. I'm extremely pleased with the quality, especially with how consistently good he's been at getting wiring into tough locations with minimal impact on existing drywall.

Description of Work
Installed ceiling fan where no fixture existed. Installed bathroom vent fan / light where no fixture existed. Replaced existing bathroom vent fan / modified switch to separate light and fan. Installed electric cooktop to replace gas, including running new circuit. Installed Sense energy monitor.

Category electrician, lighting, ceiling fans

5.0

04/06/2017


Lance J.

Fred was persistent and finally found the problem. Had to cut 2 holes in ceiling but that is what it took to gain access. We are so thankful that I called Fred as this connection had burned but was not visible.

Description of Work
All outlets and light/fan out in my office. Apparently, the neutal connection in a hidden junction box went bad due to loose connection from a remodel 20 yrs ago. I was at wits end trying to find problem.

Category electrician, lighting

4.0

03/10/2017


Frank A.

I want to use him again but Fred hasn't yet returned my calls. That is why I am grading him lower than I wanted especially for responsiveness.

Description of Work
Trying to get a ceiling fan repaired. I wound up getting a contractor friend to repair it.

Category electrician, lighting, ceiling fans

Service Provider Response

I apologize for not being more responsive. My dad had a heart attack and I wasn't able to keep up with everything for a period of time this winter. I enjoyed doing the work for [Member Name Removed] and would be happy to help him again in the future.
5.0

01/23/2017


laura C.

great work and quality fans installed

Description of Work
fans in two bathrooms

Category electrician, ceiling fans

5.0

11/05/2016


Shannon W.

Fred is not only a qualified electrician, but also an engineer who comes up with creative ways to solve issues by thinking outside of the box. He arrives on time, works diligently, and completes the items on your electrical repair list with precision and cleans up afterwards. Fred is my go-to guy for all things electrical and I recommend his services without hesitation.

Description of Work
I have hired Fred on two different occasions (once in 2014 and most recently in May 2016) for various electrical services. In my old home, there were 15-20 defective receptacles (possibly a bad batch that were installed when the home was built) that he replaced. Fred also installed a whole home surge protection device in my electrical panel, ran new CAT5e network drops, repaired a canned light on the front porch, and installed a pair of flood lights on the back deck.

Category electrician

5.0

10/17/2016


Sarah-Jane W.

Very well, he was very nice and I would use his services again

Description of Work
Wired tv over fireplace

Category electrician

5.0

09/07/2016


Allison W.

Fred does great work and is a pleasure to work with. He ended up making several visits to our house to complete a project that was ongoing for several months. Everything he's done is very professional and tidy, and with great attention to detail. Any other electrical work we need done on our house, we will absolutely use Fred.

Description of Work
Wiring a new room addition to our home including all outlets, lights, and fan; and installing a lamp post.

Category electrician, lighting, ceiling fans, outdoor lighting

5.0

08/05/2016


Karen D.

It was great. Had some work done by Ewire in the past. Saw the deal came up on Angie's List, figured why not get the deal.

Description of Work
Purchased a Big Deal from Ewire Electric Company for 2 hours of labor. The rep they sent fixed several things around the house. He replaced a light fixture in my car port. This light was supposed to be motion sensitive, it was out for a while, he fixed it. I have a pole light besides my driveway, that was fixed. Also fixed a light by my kitchen door. Fixed a light in the front of my house as well.

Category electrician

5.0

05/09/2016


Jill C.

Fred Schlosser was a great and very knowledgeable person with whom to work on a project that spanned three months. He helped us add new lighting to our grim and dim basement so that it is now bright and very good work space. We had many small jobs that we listed and worked in to existing gaps in time, both his and ours. He shopped for us to acquire items that would work in out older house. He was very precise and professional in his work and always left a clean work space. He was open tp our ideas and offered helpful suggestions on how to proceed. He is an amazing worker and we would call him again for anything electrical.

Description of Work
upgraded deficient lighting in house, installed new range hood, repaired broken lights, installed new lighting

Category electrician

5.0

05/02/2016


David H.

He was on time, extremely knowledgeable and very professional. He made several trips overall. He is now my go to guy for electrical problems. Very pleased with his service.

Description of Work
Replaced circuit breakers, trouble shoot electrical problems. I have not received an invoice yet.

Category electrician

5.0

03/30/2016


Janis O.

Found live wires that other handyman so-called electrician had placed back in the wall and walled over. eWire electrician was patient in finding the problem, then solving it. He was thorough, professional, and courteous throughout. Also called proper authorities and sent pictures over for report about shoddy and dangerous electrical work done by handyman company.

Description of Work
Repaired faulty work done by non-qualified handyman (Low Low Mow). A whole side of the house did not have electricity after remodeling done by Low Low Mow (which they just left). eWire came in and found the problem, then repaired it all over two visits.

Category electrician

5.0

02/04/2016


Daniel H.

Fred was a pleasure to work with from beginning to end. He was personable and professional and made short but careful work of the whole project. I'm very happy with my experience, and I wouldn't hesitate call him again for the next project.

Description of Work
Removed all electrical from a wall for a remodeling project. It meant removing a switch and an outlet, and then moving two single-pole switches and two three-way switches to a different wall.

Category electrician

5.0

01/25/2016


Patsy M.

Fred installed new bulbs in an overhead fluorescent light fixture in my laundry/computer room after discerning that the ballast was working properly. He checked out another light fixture that had been malfunctioning at the base of my basement stairs and determined that the problem was not the fixture, but two (new) nonfunctioning bulbs. The third repair was a light fixture in my basement that had broken; he replaced this with a new one that is now working beautifully! Fred does top-notch work and I trust him implicitly. I would not hire anyone else to perform electrical work in my home.

Description of Work
performed electrical repairs

Category electrician, lighting

5.0

01/19/2016


Velvet H.

Fred was excellent showed up on time was very communicative and explained everything in detail to me. He even showed me what I needed to do to get reimbursement through Duke Power and the good news is they paid three quarters of the cost due to their negligence.

Description of Work
My meter socket and panel inside and out were damaged by water leaking in through disintegrated rubber around the main power lines coming into The house. Fred replaced and repaired all the damage.

Category electrician

1.0

01/17/2016


Marcia S.

Terrible!! In the 2 hours he was there the only thing he completed was moving the wall plug 6 inches. He looked at 2 other items and just said he didn't have time. Even though I thought it was ridiculous that he was not able to complete any other task, I told him that was ok and I would pay extra charges for him to complete the work. He told me he did not have time that day but would email me his availability for the following week. To me he knew well in advance what was needed and should have scheduled the extra time I agreed to wait for the following week. Needless to say he NEVER contacted me to schedule the following week. I emailed him and also sent messages to him through Angie's list, but now over 2 weeks later he has done NOTHING to schedule completing the remaining work!

Description of Work
Fred was to move a wall plug and install a replacement overhead fixture. I also had a few other items that needed done that I had advised him of to begin with and that I would of course pay him for anything over the 2 hours. I provided him a list prior to the appointment of the various needs. He said he would do as much as he could in the 2 hours and then charge me $65 an hour for anything over that. I agreed with his quote.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

I appreciate the feedback and am sorry that we did not meet or exceed this customer's expectations. We had a computer crash shortly after completing the first phase of the work and were not able to respond to emails or Angie's List messages in a timely manner I was unaware that the customer was trying to contact me, but nevertheless, should have done a better job by contacting the customer via phone. It also would have been helpful if the customer had tried to contact me via phone when electronic means didn't seem to be working. That being said, I am surprised and disappointed by the customer's comments and other ratings. I arrived at the customer's house at the time arranged, expecting to be there for up to 3 hours (customer said that there might be more work than could be completed with the 2-hour coupon she had purchased). The work completed was done exactly as requested, and the jobsite was left spotless. We moved a receptacle about a foot, which involved routing and extending wires to another stud cavity. To avoid the need for extra holes or blank plates, splices were made in an existing box in a room on the other side of a wall. We also took apart a switch box and crawled around in an attic to determine the best way to add a light and switch in the dining room. Previously, someone had removed the dining room light and used the switch and wiring to install a fan in the living room. Last, we adjusted the cord length on the first of three pendant lights that the customer had purchased to replace the heads on existing track lighting. The customer said that she had tried the pendants and that they were fine except that the length needed to be adjusted. Unfortunately, this was not correct and the pendants were not compatible with the track, so they could not be installed safely. The review states that very little was accomplished in two hours. We were actually on site for close to 3 hours, but did not bill for the extra time or the materials used to move the outlet. I have been in the electrical business for quite some time, and in my view, this customer's expectations were unrealistic. Nevertheless, I sent several emails and messages offering to come back to work things out and complete the remaining work. The customer responded that she was not interested.
5.0

01/08/2016


Carolyn C.

Fred did a wonderful job. He called me back ASAP and always arrived exactly on time. At first I wasn't sure exactly what type of lights I wanted or how I wanted them spaced. Fred helped me decide and they are perfect. He made very little mess and cleaned it up so it was cleaner than when he started! His estimate was right on; the final cost was actually a little less. The past year I have had many house problems and many Incompetent and dishonest contractors. Fred was one of two who restored my faith in contractors and made me want to start new projects!!! I will definitely call Fred again.

Description of Work
Fred installed 12 LED ceiling lights in my kitchen and living room.

Category electrician, lighting

5.0

12/23/2015


Thomas E F.

My wife and I are both musicians who just purchased our 1st home and decided to do a number of needed renovations on a 1950's house. We hired eWire to do the electrical. Fred (owner/operator) was very prompt and was incredibly responsive throughout the long process of our renovation Aug-Dec 2015. Fred also made me aware of some things my contractor was doing incorrectly and helped me get out of a very bad situation before I got in too deep. Fred is one of 2 people in the renovation/construction business that I actually trust. I wish everyone worked with the thoroughness, dependability, professionalism and ethical convictions of Fred. His prices are fair for his work and quality and there is defiantly a reason why he is so in demand. He is my new electrician for life.

Description of Work
Wired and installed 8 recessed lights and 6 outlets for our Basement. Added GFCI, new outlet for our Dyer as well overhead light and single pole switch by the door of our laundry room. Installed dome lights in 2 rooms that didn't have them. Installed 2 dimmer switches and extra 7 outlets throughout the our home.

Category electrician

5.0

12/09/2015


Claudia L.

Fred did a fabulous job. I would hire him again

Description of Work
installed a grounded plug in garage.

Category electrician

    Other local Pros in your area

    ADT

    ADT home security systems are backed by more than 145 years of experience. As the leader in home security, ADT can help you customize a home security system with easy-to-use equipment and special security features to meet your safety needs. We have service centers nationwide that can install an ADT home security system within 24 hours in most areas. Once your home is equipped with our top-of-the-line system, it is connected to a network of ADT Monitoring Centers nationwide which deliver non-stop security monitoring 365 days a year. All of our installation technicians are internal employees, and not third-party contractors. You can count on your Security Advisor to take the time to set up your system properly, help you understand how the system works, and help make sure your home and family are thoroughly protected.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Escarate Electric

    We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. Our team has quality experience in this industry, and we make sure our customers are happy before we leave. Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Bretco Electric Company Inc

    Not all Electrical Contractors are created equally. So true is this statement when applied to Bretco Electric Company. Call us for a quote. It all began in 1990 as an idea and today is one of the most respected Electrical Service Companies in Winston-Salem. Under the guidelines of Randy Draughn, Bretco grew to a full service Electrical Company. We respect our customers right to get value for their dollar. Hometown values and a great work ethic, are how we separate ourselves from the competition. Repeat and long term satisfied customers are Bretcos' No.1priority. Give Bretco Electric Company a call for all your Residential and Commercial needs. About President Randy Draughn for Bretco Electric Company Inc. I earned my Electrical Contractors License in the Unlimited Category from the North Carolina State Board Of Examiners in October of 1988. Bretco is a member of the Better Business Bureau since 2004 Company Information Summary: Locally owned and operated since 1990 by Randy Draughn. Licensed & Insured. Servicing Residential & Commercial Clients, service upgrades, landscape lighting, standby / backup generators, telephone / network, outlet repair & installation, recessed lighting, ceiling fans, fuse box, hot water heaters, security lighting, hot tubs, swimming pools, bucket truck, parking lot lighting, chandelier cleaning, smoke detectors, and troubleshooting.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Satisfaction

    Services Offered

    General wiring, troubleshooting and repairs, service changes and panel upgrades, wiring for remodeling and additions, wiring new circuits, adding receptacles, installation of fixtures, recessed lighting, electrical inspections, landscape lighting, wiring HVAC systems, hot water heaters, and residential burglar and fire alarm systems.

    Services Not Offered

    Industrial wiring (manufacturing plants, large warehouses, tec.).

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about eWire Electric Company

    How is eWire Electric Company overall rated?

    eWire Electric Company is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are eWire Electric Company open?

    eWire Electric Company is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Friday: 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does eWire Electric Company provide

    eWire Electric Company accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does eWire Electric Company offer free estimates?

    Yes, eWire Electric Company offers free project estimates.

    Does eWire Electric Company offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, eWire Electric Company offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does eWire Electric Company offer a senior discount?

    No, eWire Electric Company does not offer a senior discount.

    Does eWire Electric Company offer emergency services?

    Yes, eWire Electric Company offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by eWire Electric Company?

    No, eWire Electric Company does not offer warranties.

    What services does eWire Electric Company offer?

    eWire Electric Company offers the following services: General wiring, troubleshooting and repairs, service changes and panel upgrades, wiring for remodeling and additions, wiring new circuits, adding receptacles, installation of fixtures, recessed lighting, electrical inspections, landscape lighting, wiring HVAC systems, hot water heaters, and residential burglar and fire alarm systems.

    Are there any services eWire Electric Company does not offer?

    Industrial wiring (manufacturing plants, large warehouses, tec.).