Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Vaughan Building & Remodeling Inc

Founded 2001 • With Angi since November 2008

4.9

(68) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

91 Stotts Mill Rd

Wendell, NC 27591

Description

We are a licensed and fully insured General Contractor specializing in NEW CUSTOM HOMES and LARGE SCALE HOME REMODELING projects. Our services include building new homes, home additions, extensive remodeling, historic restorations, and large-scale home improvements. We have been in business in the Triangle and surrounding areas for two decades. During this time, we have worked hard to achieve and maintain an outstanding resume and a reputation for quality workmanship, in-depth construction knowledge, and customer service and accessibility. Thank you for looking at our site, and we look forward to assisting you with your next project!...

Projects

New Custom Home project
New Custom Home

home builder

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/19/2020


Steve Q.

Ripping open the entire back end of our home to put on an addition was bound to have plenty of challenges! Throughout the entire process, Vaughan Building and their team were extremely professional, punctual, and very transparent over the multi-month construction event. No renovation job of the magnitude of our was ever going to be easy. However, I can attest that Billy Vaughan was always available by phone or to get out to the job site to address coordination between trades, deliveries, or unforeseen issues requiring field adjustments. They also have a great group of trusted subcontractors for electrical, plumbing, HVAC, roofing, masonry, etc. This construction company is probably the most honest and trustworthy you will find in the Raleigh area. I highly recommend their services.

Description of Work
Major home renovation and addition going from 2,600 to 4,200 sq. ft.

Category remodeling,garage builders,home builders

5.0

10/28/2019


james W.

Our project was a complete renovation downstairs and master bath remodel, 8 months. Billy V. was great to work with, very personable and always tried to deliver the outcome you want. He managed all aspects of the work. His crews (general construction, HVAC, plumbing, painting, cabinets, countertops, drywall, brick mason) were consistently arriving at the designated times and cleaned up each day. Electricians were the exception - needed constant oversight and rework. Billy was very transparent in the pricing and monthly review of the invoices. Overall, we were very satified with the final results.

Description of Work
House Remodel, downstairs plus master bathroom.

Category remodeling

5.0

10/27/2019


carmen G.

Our kitchen remodel turned out even better than we were thinking because of good, innovative ideas and suggestions from Billy and Joyce from JoCo Cabinets. It took a few months, but was worth it. It is a brand-new kitchen that blends with vintage beautifully! We were very happy with the outcome. Billy was always responsive and took the time to address all issues/problems that arose in dealing with an old house. A pleasure to get to know him. His crew was hard-working and always did an excellent job. Also a pleasure to have around.

Description of Work
Kitchen Remodeling

Category remodeling

5.0

10/23/2019


Andrew W.

Vaughan Building built our forever home to our specifications. Billy did a quality job and there were no surprises along the way. He was always responsive and quick to handle any issue that arose. His subcontractors were all top notch and left a clean jobsite at the end of every day. We had some weather delays at first but as soon as the house was dried in everything went according to schedule. If we ever decide to do any remodeling Vaughan Building and Remodeling will be our first call.

Description of Work
Construct a home

Category home builders

5.0

09/24/2019


Jann S.

Everything looks great. He and his employees are professional and very meticulous. We could not have asked for a better experience.

Description of Work
Billy has done several jobs for us and we were always extremely pleased. I would definitely use him again.

Category remodeling

5.0

09/23/2019


Bill H.

Working with Billy, his crew, his subcontractors, and other professionals he recommended has been a great pleasure. They all care about the work they do and our satisfaction and they work hard, skillfully and with cheerfulness. They are pros at what they each do and are used to working with each other and with or for Billy. We never expected to complete this large project and be so happy with the process and results, as we have had some poor experiences in the past. This was a complex project, but all challenges were dealt with expertly. The dining addition had to interface with our kitchen and existing screened porch, which we did not want damaged. Everyone who sees the result is amazed at our new, more spacious living space and seamless interface to the old area. On the exterior and interior, it looks as if it was always this way. Billy offered many good ideas to help us make the many decisions we have had to make. He has a lot of experience in construction and good judgment and problem-solving skills. He has known many of his subs for many years and they have strong personal and working relationships. We cannot say enough good things about Billy and his team!

Description of Work
We are elderly (at least I am) and wanted to “age in place” by converting our downstairs living room and dining room to a master bedroom and master bathroom. Billy and his crew and numerous contractors accomplished this, and it was a major remodel. We added space on the back of the house to allow for new dining space. This extended the foundation of the back of the house. The screen porch flat roof was deteriorating so it was completely redone with a new gabled roof and new screen. The new roof overhangs and works so much better than the old roof. We also added a box window in the new bedroom and a new portico on the front porch. All our windows were replaced with new construction windows and screens. New gutters were installed. We added new hardwood flooring and refinished the existing hardwood. We added a second banister to the stairwell. We had new painting throughout the house including rooms that were not remodeled. New ceiling fans were installed throughout the house. We added numerous new LED light fixtures, new ceiling fans, new door hardware (handles, locks, and hinges). The bath has a no- threshold shower and a heated floor. We added a new bar area in the new “keeping” room with beautiful new cabinets. We added or replaced the window treatments including some wooden shutters in the new bedroom and bath.

Category custom cabinets,contractors,ceramic tile,closet systems,concrete repair,countertops,decks,drywall,electrician,flooring contractor,picture framing,glass repair,gutter repair,hardwood floor,home inspection,lighting,plumbing,remodeling,roofing,siding,replacement windows,woodworking,ceiling fans,home remodeling,house painters,interior painters,doors,sunrooms

5.0

11/29/2018


Mark E.

Billy Vaughan and his crew are fantastic. We have been remodeling our own homes for 25 years, doing some work ourselves and hiring other parts out. We had been planning this change for a couple of years and had been trying to come up with a design that would take our simple, flat front 1950s ranch and turn it into a cute cottage with a lot of personality. This project was too big to handle on our own so we went looking for a GC who would work with us and respect our design ideas while handling the details and doing a quality job. We interviewed a few contractors and decided on Billy because he really listened to what we wanted to do. He offered great ideas where we were uncertain and added his own creativity because he was able to see our vision. His main team - love these guys - were so professional, courteous and exceptionally talented. They kept the worksite clean and safe. Their attention to detail was excellent. They quickly figured out that we wanted to be more involved and so they came to us whenever they had questions or ideas that might improve our design. The project included adding 11'x14' addition to our master bedroom to the front of the house. We also added a 9'x11' screen porch and an 8'x22' open porch on the front. They extended the eaves on the sides of the house, replaced the entire roof, replaced several existing windows, plus the front door, and re-sided all of the wood trim with concrete siding. Quite a project overall and the transformation was amazing. Several complete strangers have stopped to stare and comment about how it looks like a brand new house (true story!). My wife and I couldn't be happier with our "new" cottage. Billy and his crew were the perfect team to turn our vision into our dream home.

Description of Work
Master Bedroom Addition plus Front of House Makeover

Category concrete repair,decks,drywall,electrician,flooring contractor,picture framing,gutter repair,lighting,masonry,remodeling,roofing,siding,replacement windows,woodworking,ceiling fans,house painters,interior painters,doors

5.0

10/31/2018


Charles P.

We highly recommend Billy Vaughan, Vaughan Building and Remodeling for interior and exterior remodeling requirements for your home. Vaughan Building and Remodeling completed an excellent home renovation in collaboration with his superb trade partners. We selected Vaughan Building and Remodeling after viewing two of his home renovations on the Wake County Remodelers Tour and meeting with Billy Vaughan on the tour and at our home. Billy recommended and we used the excellent design services of Thomas Betts to totally redesign the kitchen, master bath, powder room and enlarge the dining room. The primary values we observed with Vaughan Building and Remodeling are: honest, trustworthy, personal and financial integrity, listen and respond to customer requirements, daily communications (e.g., texting, telephone, email), and very frequent on-site visits to discuss progress and review work and problem solve any issues. Billy Vaughan has an easy, pleasant working style and our interactions with him were positive and respectful. Billy did not require nor accept money upfront to fund the renovation but invoiced at the end of the month based on services provided and supplies purchased. He provided receipts for items purchased along with the invoice for services rendered. Vaughan Building and Remodeling employs three full-time experienced master carpenters/remodelers who are outstanding! They are highly skilled, professional and diligent master craftsmen. They ensured every detail was completed according to customer requirements and to the highest standards. They kept us informed of any renovation issues and asked questions to ensure work was done to our requirements. The work area was left orderly and clean everyday. Billy Vaughan works routinely with selected trade companies that he knows well and who share the same honest, trustworthy and high quality work ethic. Billy was in frequent contact with the trades (e.g., plumbers, HVAC, electrician, painters, tile installer, custom cabinet maker) throughout the renovation to schedule project work, manage workflow and follow-up and resolve unknown renovation issues that arise in many renovations projects . We are thankful for the excellent renovation work provided by Vaughan Building and Remodeling and highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
The kitchen, master bath and powder room renovation included soffit removal in kitchen and master bath, removal of back stairs in the kitchen area, installation of I-beam for load bearing ceiling, design and installation of custom cabinets and buffet, master bath linen cabinet and wall mirrors, quartz countertops, wall and floor tile, zero threshold spa shower, radiant floor heating, heated towel rack, removal of bathtub, plumbing line replacement, electrical rewiring, and installation of new plumbing and interior/exterior lighting fixtures. Additionally, we had existing hardwood floors refinished and added hardwood floors in the master bedroom, stairs and 2nd floor hall, and interior/exterior painting and new roof and gutters. Billy designed a deck addition to the sunroom and his master craftsmen constructed a deck with maintenance free materials and marine cable and railings.

Category custom cabinets,contractors,ceramic tile,concrete repair,countertops,decks,drywall,electrician,picture framing,glass repair,gutter repair,hardwood floor,lighting,plumbing,remodeling,roofing,siding,replacement windows,woodworking,home remodeling,house painters,interior painters,doors

5.0

10/20/2018


Alan S.

We can't say enough good things about Vaughan Building and Remodeling. Billy Vaughan was the first builder we interviewed. We found him to be honest, professional, and extremely knowledgeable on home construction. We never interviewed anyone else. He has the gift of being technically sound but also uses his common sense to resolve any issues that always occur when building a custom home. His experience is extremely valuable. His employees were very polite and diligent. His subcontractors were outstanding. We were always treated professionally by everyone that worked on our project. We consider Billy and his crew friends and rate him A+. Billy made building our dream home truly a great experience.

Description of Work
Construction of 3500 sq/ft. home.

Category home builders

5.0

10/16/2018


Karen D.

We had a large addition consisting of a master suite with garage and basement area added to our 50 year old home in Downtown Cary. We were given Billy’s name through a contact after interviewing approximately 4 builders. Upon meeting Billy it was apparent that he had great ideas and would be easy to discuss our dream home. The project was large in scale for an addition on a older split level home with some challenges with the lot which Billy was able to work with and always in a timely manner. People want to put our home on their list of homes to tour for Christmas! Never thought we would be asked for thatto happen. His work crew are pros and Billy works with the best! He absolutely honored our requests to keep the integrity of the home in relation to the historic neighborhood while completing what we desired which was main level living space. Now we live in a beautiful home that we can stay in as long as we live. He also worked with us to keep the costs down on this addition. We feel so fortunate that we chose Vaughan Construction. Highly recommend!

Description of Work
Large addition on Downtown Cary home.

Category custom cabinets,contractors,ceramic tile,closet systems,concrete repair,countertops,decks,concrete driveways,drywall,electrician,flooring contractor,picture framing,glass repair,hardwood floor,home inspection,lighting,masonry,plumbing,remodeling,roofing,siding,replacement windows,garage builders,home builders,woodworking,ceiling fans,home remodeling,house painters,interior painters,doors,sunrooms,basement remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    J&L Concrete

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work.As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. Call or message us to schedule an estimate today!  

    Liberty Construction Llc

    With over 25 years of professional Roofing experience and construction, Liberty Construction is dedicated to customer satisfaction. We are owner-operated, and pride ourselves on top-quality craftsmanship, using only the highest quality materials- no matter your budget. Our team of skilled technicians responds quickly to perform estimates, and work with you to create a customized solution to your roofing needs. We provide satellite view measurements, and quick turnaround time. Give us a call today to schedule your free consultation and estimate  

    Closet Factory

    We design, manufacture and install custom storage for closets, home offices, garages, pantries, laundry rooms, murphy beds and more. We are locally owned and operated and have a lifetime warranty on our product.  

    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    52171
    Trade License Locale
    North Carolina
    Trade License Authority
    North Carolina: General Contractors
    Trade License Expiration
    12/31/2022
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    no
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    New Home Construction, Large-Scale Remodeling and Additions, Historic Home Renovations, Whole House and Kitchen Remodeling, Replacement Windows, Roofing. We work primarily in Raleigh, in particular, North Raleigh and inside the beltline, Wake Forest, and some areas of Cary that are not too far south or west.

    Services Not Offered

    Since we specialize in larger projects, our company is geared to manage and perform more extensive, in-depth work. For this reason, we do not ordinarily do, nor are we as competitively priced, on smaller, short-term repair projects and service work. We do not do repair work unless it is part of a large-scale project. Some areas are further than it is convenient or cost-efficient for us to travel to given the type of long-term projects we do. We ordinarily do not work in Morrisville, Apex, the Jordan Lake area, Holly Springs, Fuquay Varina, or Chapel Hill.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Vaughan Building & Remodeling Inc

    How is Vaughan Building & Remodeling Inc overall rated?

    Vaughan Building & Remodeling Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Vaughan Building & Remodeling Inc open?

    Vaughan Building & Remodeling Inc is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:30 PM

    What payment options does Vaughan Building & Remodeling Inc provide

    Vaughan Building & Remodeling Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Vaughan Building & Remodeling Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Vaughan Building & Remodeling Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Vaughan Building & Remodeling Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Vaughan Building & Remodeling Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Vaughan Building & Remodeling Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Vaughan Building & Remodeling Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Vaughan Building & Remodeling Inc?

    No, Vaughan Building & Remodeling Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does Vaughan Building & Remodeling Inc offer?

    Vaughan Building & Remodeling Inc offers the following services: New Home Construction, Large-Scale Remodeling and Additions, Historic Home Renovations, Whole House and Kitchen Remodeling, Replacement Windows, Roofing. We work primarily in Raleigh, in particular, North Raleigh and inside the beltline, Wake Forest, and some areas of Cary that are not too far south or west.

    Are there any services Vaughan Building & Remodeling Inc does not offer?

    Since we specialize in larger projects, our company is geared to manage and perform more extensive, in-depth work. For this reason, we do not ordinarily do, nor are we as competitively priced, on smaller, short-term repair projects and service work. We do not do repair work unless it is part of a large-scale project. Some areas are further than it is convenient or cost-efficient for us to travel to given the type of long-term projects we do. We ordinarily do not work in Morrisville, Apex, the Jordan Lake area, Holly Springs, Fuquay Varina, or Chapel Hill.