Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Dave's Home Improvement & Building inc.

Founded 2003 • With Angi since November 2006

EST 2003

Amenities

Free Estimates
yes
Warranties
yes
Senior Discount
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Bonded
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.4

(14) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-14 of 14 reviews
Chelsea S.
1.0
11/03/2017
Horrible; incompetent and ran off with our money and didn't complete job!
Description of Work
Bathroom remodel
Category
woodworking, home remodeling
John M.
5.0
03/16/2014
We hired Dave to build three sets of stairs for our new home. He gave us a reasonable quote and was able to come the week after we called due to an unexpected opening in his schedule. We asked if he could build the stairs to code. Dave did some research after he gave us the initial quote and discovered that the code had been updated. He modified the stairs to meet the code and did not increase the price. Overall we are pleased with his work. The stairs look nice and solid. I would recommend him. We plan to hire him to do more work in the future.
Description of Work
Built exterior stairs to 3 doorways and a landing for one of the doors.
Category
drywall, remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thanks [member name removed] family. I hope you move into your new home soon and comfortably. Thanks for the business. Dave
David J.
5.0
01/15/2014
Dave and his subcontractors did an excellent job with the entire project. The shower repair was quite extensive. I felt very confident with Dave's expertise and professionalism. All of his subcontractors were likewise professional (plummer, tile, glass). I would feel very confident recommending Dave to friends and family and will use him again for further home projects.
Description of Work
Dave Home Improvement did an extensive bathroom shower repair and remodel in my home. The job included demolition, sub-flooring replair, new shower pan, new tile, new glass, removal of cabinets, and more.
Category
woodworking

Service Provider Response

Thanks for business [removed member name]! Was a pleasure working for you. Hate that you had such a poorly installed shower in a 2 year old home. You can rest comfortably knowing your shower won't leak again! Thanks, Dave's Home Improvements & Building
Ryan S.
5.0
12/15/2013
Hired Dave to build a 12X20' deck on the back of my house. The deck was elevated 1 story due to the slope of our yard. He did a great job w/ quality work.
Description of Work
I used DAVE'S HOME IMPROVEMENT AND BUILDING INC.
Category
decks

Service Provider Response

Thanks (removed member name)! Was a pleasure working for you and I hope your getting plenty of pleasure from your new deck!!
Bill G.
5.0
06/02/2013
On the first day he tore down the old deck and hauled most of it away. He left us some of the better posts and boards, some of which we have already reused. On the second day he built the main structure of the deck including the stairs. On the third day he finished of the railings and trim. The deck he built us is clean and simple, exactly what I wanted. How did he know? Dave was the lowest bidder of three on this project. He worked alone, all by himself. Dave does beautiful work!
Description of Work
Dave tore down our the 37 year old deck and built us a new one.
Category
woodworking

Service Provider Response

Thanks [removed member names]! I know your enjoying that new deck and keep helping them unfortunate dogs you rescue!!!!! Thanks again, Dave
Columbus B.
5.0
05/20/2013
The entertainment center turned out really well. We loved the trim details, instead of being just a box. The overall result was still very and quot;mission styleand quot; with square straight lines, but that's what we wanted. He had examples of other work that he did and seems quite flexible. He was very personable and provided several ideas on how to improve things. There were a few minor fit and finish details that I missed on the final inspection (but my wife noticed of course), but these mostly disappeared once the paint went on. He also added some trim to the doors at the last minute (even though he wanted to get done for the day) that made the whole experience a lot better. Thanks
Description of Work
He built an entertainment center which included two double door bookshelves, a "media tower" shelf for DVDs, and a platform with shelving under it for DVDs.
Category
woodworking

Service Provider Response

Thanks [member name removed]! Hope your enjoying the unit in your bonus room. It filled that space perfectly! Thanks again, Dave
Darlene P.
5.0
11/14/2011
Dave is one amazing individual. Not only does he do superior work, his costs come in consistently under his estimate. He does whatever he can to save us money. He does a superior job, making sure, at each step, that we are happy with his work. He is so trustworthy that we have given him a key to our house. He works hard and always has a smile on his face. He feels like part of the family not just some contractor. I heartedly object to the person who gave him an and quot;Fand quot; rating . There is no possible way that this occurred in the way stated. I would suggest that Angie's list do a better job in monitoring reviewers claims. This sort of thing can destroy a business and is a travesty.
Description of Work
I have used Dave in the past to build a composite deck, expand a laundry room , paint, and install hardwood floors. We needed to renovate two bathrooms, remove wall paper, remove popcorn ceilings, and paint the entire inside, as well as the garage of a 4200 square foot house. There is only one person that we would call to spend several weeks in our home, often without us present and that is Dave.
Category
decks, drywall, hardwood floor, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thanks [member names removed]. You two along with your wonderful children have always been a pleasure to work for and make it very hard to keep a smile on my face! I must say, I loved the transformation of your beautiful home! It also was a pleasure to work along side your designer! Thanks again for ALL the business, Dave
Suzette S.
1.0
02/08/2011
I would absolutely NOT RECOMMEND David Stone of Dave's Home Improvement for any service period. He provided an estimate and a contract was signed for remodeling our master bathroom, bedroom, closet and kitchen dining area including three custom built-ins. After one week he began showing up at different times every day (with no notification), brought his young son to work with him without approval and almost never worked a full 8 hour day. If we questioned anything he was doing, requested a change (we were willing to pay for) or asked for an expected completion date David Stone became defensive, angry and rude. It got to the point that I was afraid to be around him by myself so my husband started working from home to help manage the situation. He was one of the most disorganized people that I have ever met. He would beging many projects and without completed any. Due to his obvious lack of organizational skills, we were forced to write a project plan and started reviewing it with him daily, which made him even more angry and defensive. He ended up abadoning the remodeling job by sending an e-mail stating that it was not worth it to him to complete the job. We advised him that he was defaulting on his agreement/contract with us and we requested contact information from the subcontractors he had been using. We never received a reply from him. In addition, we paid in advance for several parts of the project (big mistake on our part) and he did not refund any of our money. We will be forced to take him to small claims court to get our funds returned for the incomplete projects. He left our house in a state of disrepair. The master bedroom, master bath and closet and the kitchen dining area were not usable. He also left two large openings in our home (where windows were removed) exposed to the elements. During this period it snowed several times. THEREFORE, WE WOULD NOT RECOMMEND HIM FOR ANY TYPE OF SERVICE.
Description of Work
He provided an estimate and a contract was signed for remodeling our master bathroom (gutting it down to studs), bedroom, closet and kitchen dining area including three custom built-ins.
Category
drywall, hardwood floor, plumbing, remodeling, siding, woodworking, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

The member proceeded to take me to small claims and lost her judgment. She didn't just attack my subs and me verbally, she continued to attack me and the judge during our court case. She is a lady who is out to take advantage of every person she comes in touch with. This wasn't her first claim against someone, nor i believe her last. As for what she posted....All Lies. I'll try to explain her claims - I started everyday at 8:15 unless i had to go to lumber yard to buy material. This unfortunately happened often due to the member's changing finished work, numerous times. - for window, I took out 2 windows, framed in area,ply wooded and insulated it all in one afternoon, so that i could work in the room when it was 30 degrees outside. For her to claim windows(2 4'x4' openings) where left open for weeks is crazy. I was the one working in that room, and I promise you, I don't like working in the cold. The judge chuckled when she made that claim in court! - When my plumber and I recommended a few things that she wanted done differently, she proceeded to verbally attack both of us claiming we were trying to persuade her into something we wanted. We just wanted to let her know what the proper way to do that certain task was.Yes, majority of those tasks where changed. -I changed every change she made on the job(which were many changes) without ever getting rude or vulgar. She was the one who became extremely vulgar to me and my plumber. My plumber actually left the job and refused to come back. -So after 4 weeks and 80% of job complete(was paid for 66%,2 of 3 payments), she (on a Friday) verbally attacked me as a person and a carpenter like no one has ever done before. She said she wasn't gonna pay for any of the extra work/material. Then that evening when i sent an invoice on all extra work/material she owed me on, she replied via email. In that email she stated she felt unconformable with me in her house alone and she wasn't paying for any extra work. I called my lawyer because that is more then just lies about my workmanship/business, that's about who I am as a person. My lawyer proceeded to tell me not to go back to the job, when she has stated a comment like that which could jeopardize more then just my business. PLEASE CONTINUE TO READ OTHER COMMENTS ABOUT ME ON THIS LISTING TO SEE HOW POLAR OPPOSITE HER CLAIM IS
Patrick M.
5.0
10/21/2010
Dave did an outstanding job for us. We will highly recommend this company to friends and family. First and foremost the work turned out great. Dave was punctual each time we met, and offered a reasonable quote within the time promised. They kept a neat work area and cleaned up all trash as agreed. The level of craftsmanship is excellent, and I sense they are capable of much more complex work than we contracted. Anyone can check out Dave's website at http://www.daveshomeimprove.com
Description of Work
Replaced water damaged Masonite siding Replaced two exterior swing doors
Category
siding, doors
Darlene P.
5.0
12/14/2009
This is one awesome guy. He can do just about anything and will tell you what he can't do. We call him first before anyone else. We are blessed to have such a great worker. He is fastidious, neat, thoughtful, quiet, friendly, experienced, and helpful. We can leave him in the house alone because he is so trustworthy. We jokingly call our house "Houses by Dave" because he has done so many things for us!
Description of Work
Here is what Dave has done for us in the past year; expanded our laundry room, built a fence, replaced all of our second floor carpet with wood floors, is currently in the process of renovating our third floor, painted several rooms, removed popcorn ceiling, repaired drywall around a sink, installed a sink, and I know I have forgotten a few things.
Category
drywall, fencing, hardwood floor, plumbing, remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you. Your words are so kind! You and your family are such a pleasure to work for! Thanks Thanks Thanks. Dave Stone.
Darlene P.
5.0
06/06/2009
David showed up. He was so quick I almost hadn't picked out a paint color by the time he was ready to paint. This guy can do just anything. And, if he can't, he finds someone who can. He is honest, reliable and highly skilled. He is a pleasure to work wiith.
Description of Work
He expanded our laundry room into another room. He renovated the laundry room and the game room in the process. He also removed al the upstairs carpeting and replace it with hardwood floors. He removed the popcorn off the ceiling and repainted it along with the game room. This also involved ductwork, carpentry, and plumbing.
Category
drywall
Darlene P.
5.0
07/16/2008
I found Dave on Angie's List one year ago and was so pleased with his work that I called him to replace my deck. Dave is dependable, thoughtful, and a skilled craftsman. He helped me find this brand new material that was just released in January. He built me a beautiful deck!! He does his work without complaint, working in very hot, humid conditions. Even on the hottest day, he is polite and pleasant. He finished the deck within budget. I have been so pleased with him, I will use him in the future to expand my laundry room and winterize my porch. He is the best!!!!!
Description of Work
Dave tore down my falling apart deck and replaced it with the brand new Trex Escapes Decking.
Category
decks
Darlene P.
5.0
04/23/2008
He works alone so you feel very comfortable with him. He came in $400 under the quoted cost.
Description of Work
He replaced rotten siding, added paneling to screen porch, replaced rotten wood on deck, replaced all the screen windows and a screen door.
Category
screen repair, siding, deck cleaning, doors
RHONDA D.
5.0
11/14/2006
Dave did a phenomenal job from start to finish. He is a one-man show and is very knowledgeable about his craft. He arrived as scheduled and on time to give an estimate, completed the work when expected and did not go over budget. He called each day, with a daily update and did not do any unnecessary work! We would hire him again!
Description of Work
Replace worn or rotting siding, replace porch and stair railings, replace water-damaged window sills.
Category
siding, woodworking

Phone

Address

1004 WINTER BLOOM CT

Wake Forest, NC 27587

Other Information

Services offered

HOME IMPROVMENT SERVICE: DECKS, PORCHES, ADDITIONS, SUNROOMS, SCREENED IN PORCHES, ATTICS, BASEMENTS, BOOKSHELVES, HOME REPAIRS,KITCHENS BATHROOMS.

Payment options

Check

FAQ

Dave's Home Improvement & Building inc. is currently rated 4.4 overall out of 5.

Dave's Home Improvement & Building inc. is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Saturday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Dave's Home Improvement & Building inc. accepts the following forms of payment: Check

Yes, Dave's Home Improvement & Building inc. offers free project estimates.

Yes, Dave's Home Improvement & Building inc. offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Dave's Home Improvement & Building inc. does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Dave's Home Improvement & Building inc. offers warranties.

Dave's Home Improvement & Building inc. offers the following services: HOME IMPROVMENT SERVICE: DECKS, PORCHES, ADDITIONS, SUNROOMS, SCREENED IN PORCHES, ATTICS, BASEMENTS, BOOKSHELVES, HOME REPAIRS,KITCHENS BATHROOMS.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Mid Atlantic Roofing Systems Inc.

5.0

(53)

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Mid Atlantic Roofing Systems Inc.

Mid Atlantic Roofing Systems Inc. is fully bonded, and insured company that is based out of Winston-Salem, and proudly services all of North Carolina with over 25 years of experience. We serve residential and multi-family homes, as well as commercial buildings and take pride in delivering superior products and services at competitive rates. High standards are set for all of our employees because we train our team members to fully accommodate your unique requests. Make Mid Atlantic Roofing Systems, Inc. your first call when you need a professional roofing company, seamless gutter installation and skylight installation/repair, including tinting solutions and leak repair. (Flexible appointments available, 7 days a week.) * A rating with the BBB*  

Additional contact name - Kirt Storch. Additional email - wakeforest@certapro.com. Additional DBAs - Sheri Storch Services Inc, Certapro Raleigh, CertaPro Painters Ltd. Independently owned & operated. Additional website - www.certapro.com.  

Express Yourself Paint

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Express Yourself Paint

We were established in 2006 through a lot of sweat, tears and 80-hour work weeks, like most small businesses. I left my cushy upper management job in corporate to take over the great business my wife had started. She had decided to make our home a happier place by learning to paint faux finishes through our home like marbled ceilings and a brick painted patio. Then the neighbors wanted them, their friends and so forth. The name "Express Yourself Paint" came from customer's expressing their unique character through faux finishes. We started out in an eight-foot utility trailer with the forty-foot ladders hanging out to infinity with red flags tied to them and a used spray gun. We looked more like the Red Neck Painters of Raleigh. Thanks to all those trusting souls who allowed us to paint for them in those early days! We came from humble beginnings, but we wanted to create a different kind of painting company. A company that is high performance, uses modern technology for communicating and scheduling making for a more satisfied customer experience while still applying paint the old fashion way...brushes, rollers and sprayers. Our desire to be different has resulted in us becoming the largest and most successful repaint company in the Triangle. All that said, we still trip over our own feet sometimes and as of yet have not discovered how to be perfect. Give us a try and we will most definitely put our best foot forward for you. We can't leave the light on for you because we are at your home painting, but we will definitely bring all the paint and the fixings. Our sincere wish for you is to experience, "The Power of Paint!"