Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Island Creek Landscape

Founded 2004 • With Angi since October 2006

5.0

(170) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5588 Thomas Ln

Stanfield, NC 28163

Description

Island Creek Landscape is a residential design and installation company specializing in landscaping, hardscapes, landscape lighting, and drainage solutions. Island Creek Landscape is a fully authorized Belgard Contractor and is the only company in the area with the Master Craftsman designation, the highest level of certification from Belgard. Owned and operated by Daniel Griffin, a NC State alumnus, Island Creek is staffed with dependable employees with numerous industry certifications....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/07/2021


ALAN C.

Professional, high-quality installation.

Description of Work
Drainage installation, rock river bed with walkway and stone steps

Category excavators, landscaping, pavers, gravel, drain pipe, hardscaping

5.0

05/02/2020


Sara R.

We were incredibly please with Daniel and crew! They provided a complete makeover of our front and back landscape. The natural area behind our home was cleaned out, removing trees and brush. The job was completed as planned with excellent communication during the entire process. We will definitely used them again!

Description of Work
Landscape design, planting, tree and brush removal

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch, tree service, drain pipe, outdoor lighting

5.0

02/07/2020


Phyllis M.

The entire project was expertly done from start to finish. We are very happy with the result and now have a beautiful and practical outdoor space to enjoy.

Description of Work
Josh and his crew recently completed a paver walkway, patio, custom fire pit, and stone sitting wall for us.

Category excavators, landscaping, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, patios

Service Provider Response

It was great working with you and we hope you love spending time on your new patio!
5.0

01/27/2020


Lynn T.

They did a great job removing our old bushes and even saving a few to replant elsewhere. The new landscape plants fit so well with out house and look better than I could have imagined! Great quality work for a reasonable price. Would highly recommend and use for future jobs!

Description of Work
Removal and planting of new bushes around home.

Category landscaping

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure working for you and we are glad you are enjoying your new landscape!
5.0

04/24/2019


Dwight P.

Never got to use them. They are not in our area.

Description of Work
Landscape quote.

Category landscaping

5.0

08/17/2017


Thomas F.

Wonderful. Josh came out in June and looked over everything. He wrote up a contract for us and we made some adjustments and then we had to wait. They have a lot of business so we did have to wait for towards the end of July and then because of rain waited until mid August. They said they would come this week. They wanted to also make sure we could water what they planted because they certainly can not do that for us. So paying the money we also wanted to make sure the plants would live once Island Creek did their part. Good thinking on their part. They came Tuesday and worked very hard all day Tuesday and came back Wednesday morning to plant the plants. They made sure that what we wanted was done. They were very hard workers, kind, diligent and efficient. We were very pleased. They were very respectful. It looks like we have a new home. They were very professional. We are totally pleased. The wait was worth it. We were a little impatient at times but whenever we called, they assured us that the work would be done. Would I use them again. Absolutely. We are planning on putting in a retaining wall.

Description of Work
We had our front and side gardens totally removed and refinished. 17 year old bushes and a Holly tree removed and many other plants including blackberry sticker plants removed. Everything needed to go and be revamped.

Category landscaping

5.0

04/16/2017


kathy H.

The work that Island Creek Landscape does is amazing and meticulous. Josh provided me an initial design and quote that met my needs and adjusted with me as the project progressed and I added items to original quote! The crew was amazing with Adam in the lead. My husband and I felt so confident in their ability and were so happy they were prompt every day. I highly recommend this company and will use them again!

Description of Work
We had our deck torn down and our concrete patio removed. We added pavers, steps, trees and landscape lighting.

Category excavators, landscaping, tree service, hardscaping, patios

5.0

02/27/2017


Debbie P.

Did a great job and were very responsive to some issues I noted

Description of Work
I had them grade my back yard and put in a catch basin and a French drain across the back yard. Looks great and solve a water pooling problem we had.

Category landscaping, mulch, drain pipe, hardscaping

5.0

08/29/2016


MIN Z.

Daniel and all his crew members did good job on the project. Smooth and timely communication, things move forward according to the plans. We are pleased with the overall process and their professional working attitude.

Description of Work
Landscaping work for new house

Category landscaping

5.0

06/29/2016


Richard H.

He was very knowledgeable of all the plants that were recommended and spent the necessary time answering questions.

Description of Work
He came with a complete landscape design with drawing and proposal.

Category landscaping

5.0

06/01/2016


Sherry S.

Daniel G with Island Creek was precisely on-time to view our property on 21Apr2016. Daniel sent an estimate via email on 05May2016. We did not use because a competitor offered an AngiesList deal on landscape design that couldn't be passed up.

Description of Work
Provided estimate

Category landscaping, tree service

5.0

05/25/2016


MEREDITH M.

Due to the terrain of our yard, we had excessive water pooling in our front yard during and after rain storms. We asked several landscaping/drainage companies to propose a fix. Island Creek's proposal was the most sensible, and also the least expensive of the three. (That being said, we went with them because we thought their plan made the most sense.) I was a little hesitant because I found the pre-work written proposal to be a little vague, but we were thrilled with the level of verbal communication, the conduct of the crew, and the end-result. Our front yard looks beautiful!, the mulch was installed well and is thriving, and the worksite was left perfectly clean! And best of all -- the drain is working perfectly to route water around the house, so no more pooling. We would recommend this company without hesitation.

Description of Work
Levelled portions of front yard, installed top soil and mulch. Removed shrubs. Installed drainage pipe.

Category landscaping, lawn service, mulch, drain pipe

5.0

05/10/2016


Jacob F.

The backyards looks phenomenal. We are so happy the overgrowth is gone and we can now enjoy our backyard with 1/4 acre lawn instead of weeds that were hiding snakes and bugs. They did the whole job in only two days and used a great sub-contractor to install the irrigation system in the backyard that is working really well. Overall, Island Creek is run by good people who are eager to do a good job. They were very flexible with my work schedule and lack of availability at times. I appreciated their understanding. The quote was one of the best and I'm very glad I picked Island Creek, I'll be using them for future projects.

Description of Work
Cleared a 1/4 acre of overgrown brush, shrubs, and small trees in the backyard. Removed overgrowth and bamboo light plants on right side of property all the way through front yard. Added mulch in the front yard, tilled back yard, and planted grass seed with straw cover.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems, mulch

5.0

12/18/2015


Teresa T.

Daniel's crew was wonderful! Adam was the point man and he was very courteous and professional. The attention to detail was very much appreciated! We purchased our home over a year ago and have been doing a total renovation . Needless to say, the outside had been neglected for quite some time as we just moved in full time this past summer! I almost didn't want to look at the yard as it seemed so overwhelming, but now, it is gorgeous! Daniel responded quickly and kept us informed as to starting dates, etc.. Daniel listened to what we pictured for the landscaping and was very helpful. He gave us suggestions and listened to what we had to say Very nice to work with! We even added a few things during and they were very flexible . We would highly recommend them and would definitely call on them again! Everything looks beautiful! Thank you, Daniel, Adam and fellows!

Description of Work
Extensive landscaping around entire foundation of house. They pulled up old plantings and installed all new , including mulch. In front, they installed stacked stone.

Category excavators, landscaping, mulch, pavers, gravel

5.0

12/04/2015


Christina L.

Daniel was very professional, responsive, and immediately understood our goals for our landscaping project. We worked together to schedule the work during a rainy spring, and once the weather was clear, his team completed the job in a very timely manner. After a couple of the shrubs didn't make it through the summer, they returned to replace them (covered under warranty). I really respect that they honored the warranty and completed the job without any disruption to the rest of the yard or even our daily schedule. The patio and pergola look fantastic, and we've received many compliments from friends/family/neighbors. I would absolutely recommend Island Creek and use them again should a future project arise.

Description of Work
re-grade small yard, fix drainage, install new patio, construct/install pergola, "privacy" perimeter landscaping

Category landscaping, hardscaping, patios

5.0

10/19/2015


Joseph J.

Review is a bit delayed. Everything went very well with Island Creek, and Daniel was nothing but professional. The project took a bit longer than expected, but that was largely out of Daniel's control--it was mainly due to a regional shortage of the particular sod we were looking for. Throughout the delay, Daniel kept us informed on the status of the sod availability and then his team completely the whole project in a matter of days. Really satisfied with the experience and have already recommended to others.

Description of Work
Paver patio installation in back yard, drainage in back yard, regrade and lay sod in front and back yards, installed plantings in both front and back yards.

Category landscaping, drain pipe, hardscaping, patios

5.0

12/25/2014


Karla N.

Very knowledgeable of the service provided. Very professional and was on time or early for all appointments. Service was delayed a couple days due to heavy rain at the request of home- to avoid turf damage. Company easily accommodated this request. The install went smooth and fast. Large trees were planted that required a bobcat for moving the trees. The minor indentations left in the yard were re-seeded and covered. Two weeks later you could not tell where they had been. Very pleased and will use again. Fair price and great service

Description of Work
Installation of Green Giants to add privacy screening

Category landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment, tree service

5.0

11/08/2014


Carrie N.

We had a plain square concrete slab for a patio that didn't do our backyard justice. We wanted a nice paver patio to spruce up our yard. From the initial consultation, Daniel was very professional and offered great suggestions on the design. We received other estimates, but what stood out to us with Daniel were his estimates were very detailed - line by line so you can see what each piece of the design would cost. That made it easy to adjust things if needed. Daniel was also great to work with through our painful HOA approval - it should've taken 4 weeks for approval and ended up taking almost 6-7 weeks. Daniel was very accommodating in fitting us in once we did get the HOA approval. We met the crew on the first day and they were quick to get started. . The crew cleaned up after each day and worked to cause as little disruption as possible. The level of detail the crew gave was great and the end result we are super happy with. It completely transformed our backyard. The quality is outstanding when compared to other paver patios we've seen. We've already received compliments on how great the patio looks. We can't wait to use it for entertaining or just relaxing. I plan on calling Daniel for future landscaping projects.

Description of Work
Pulled up old concrete patio and installed paver patio with bench seating and privacy plantings. Also installed underground downspouts

Category landscaping, hardscaping, patios

5.0

10/03/2014


Mary C.

All aspects of job were completed very professionally. Owner and crew chief were polite, informative and helpful. Work was completed in a timely manner with minimal disruption to existing yard. Job site cleaned up at the end of each day.

Description of Work
Removed sod and relocated. Built new beds and extended irrigation Installed new plantings Topdressed new beds.

Category landscaping, irrigation systems

5.0

09/30/2014


Sharon W.

While the total bill is high, the area is quite large, done with high end pavers according to ICPI specifications with a 5 year warranty on the installation and a lifetime manufacturer's warranty on the pavers themselves. The other two estimates I received from top-rated contractors ranged from slightly lower cost per square foot to quite a bit higher and the warranties were one or two years and with the work not being done to ICPI specifications. All estimates had at least 4" of compacted gravel to start but the others used limestone screenings or rock dust instead of 1 inch of ICPI specified concrete sand for the paver bed. Concrete sand does a better job of packing into the bottom of the paver joints and locking pavers in place. Others also used rock dust to fill the top of the joints rather than the polymeric sand that Island Creek uses. Polymeric sand hardens into an impermeable mortar while rock dust washes away, retains moisture that can then freeze and cause pavers to move, and provides a good medium for weeds to grow in. I feel I got the best deal available as well as the best quality. For the pergola, Island Creek subcontracted to Tomberlin, Inc. to leverage their expertise in carpentry. Island Creek and Tomberlin seemed to work quite well together. As a homeowner seeing the excavation happen and old sidewalk that was right up against my garage get removed was nerve-wracking but that took place without a hitch. The experience and skill of the crew was apparent and once work began steady progress was made. The design was roughly mapped out to start and a few adjustments were made at my request along the way with no hassle at all. Sometimes it takes seeing things in person to see how they work or don't and adjusting accordingly and Daniel Griffin and his crew have the flexibility to accommodate. A good company works to avoid problems. Island Creek took care to not damage my house, fence, and landscaping except as required for installation. But no matter how careful one is things can still happen and a couple did. What separates a great company from just a good company is how they handle those situations. As luck would have it my fence gate was tied open but came loose at exactly the wrong moment and got a bit crushed by their DitchWitch. This was immediately brought to my attention with the promise that it would be replaced and it was with no hassle or cost to me whatsoever. Also, Daniel did his final inspection, pointed out two blocks that were flawed and promised to replace them at his expense. True to his word, those blocks have been replaced and my new patio looks superb now and I'm sure for years to come.

Description of Work
Installed large paver patio and sidewalk plus a pergola with a ceiling fan and two electrical outlets, a Japanese Maple and some perennials.

Category excavators, landscaping, masonry, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, patios

5.0

09/12/2014


Pamela M.

Another great experience with Daniel and his team. They did a great job. Very professional and very responsive to all my concerns. The installation of the new walkway ties in seamlessly with the patio they did last year. You would never know they were done at different times. We are having them do more work this fall!

Description of Work
Installed two retaining walls to solve erosion problems and installed paver walkway to connect with existing patio they installed last year.

Category landscaping, masonry, hardscaping, patios

5.0

09/02/2014


Krista K.

I am extremely happy with the work Island Creek did for us. Daniel has been prompt, professional, and courteous every time I have contacted him - even when I have contacted him to ask dumb questions. There were a couple of issues that cropped up after the work was completed and the ground settled a bit, and Daniel was very quick to respond and to correct those issues quickly. When he came to my house to check on those issues, he did a walk around my yard and noticed another low patch in the yard that wasn't draining well, so he sent a crew out (at no additional cost to me) to install an additional section of French drain to make sure the job was done correctly and thoroughly. Home ownership has brought me plenty of bad and mediocre customer service experiences, so it was wonderful to work with someone who seemed to be going out of his way to do an outstanding job for us. I highly recommend Island Creek Landscape and will absolutely be in touch with them for future projects.

Description of Work
Installed French drain in backyard and installed underground drainage for downspouts on front of house.

Category landscaping, drain pipe

5.0

07/28/2014


Jon G.

In general we were very happy with the project. As with all projects, we had some setbacks. The biggest challenge we faced was when the delivered pavers didn't match the color we picked out at the showroom. The owner was very accommodating and worked with us to find the right color. His suppliers were also very helpful in delivering additional samples. This delayed the project, but the way it was handled couldn't have been better. Very professional and didn't spend a lot of time trying to find blame, rather solutions. The quality of the installation for the pavers was top notch. Every cut was perfect and tight. Initial Fire Pit Review: I scored them an overall B on quality because of the firepit. While it came out looking good, it wasn't great. The diameter was determined by a prefabricated cap that I purchased separately. This defined the layout for the masons to create the firebrick interior and cinderblock construction. My general statement is the masons were sloppy with little attention to detail. Laying of the firebrick wasn't symmetrical, mortar joints didn't align and some mortar cracked due to drying too quickly in the hot sun. Additionally, the stacked stone facade appeared too vertically stacked in some areas (vertical lines could be seen instead of overlap). It has been too hot to really test the quality of construction on this firepit. For the money I paid, I don't feel I got the value on the fire pit. UPDATE: Initially, I never fully explained my dissatisfaction of the fire pit with the company owner. Upon reading my review, the owner wasn't satisfied that I wasn't completely happy with the overall project and offered to redo the fire pit at no cost. I was reluctant, but he was sincere and knew I would be happier with the project. I accepted his offer. The work was performed by another crew and it came out great! There was a clear and distinct difference in the craftsmanship and attention to detail. I will accept responsibility for not giving feedback sooner and would give that advice to future clients. Be honest with Daniel and he will work with you to make it right. I would thoroughly recommend him and would use Island Creek Landscape again for future projects. The crew always cleaned up in the evenings. When it was forecasted to rain, they covered the project in plastic. Again, I was very pleased with how the overall project turned out. The key is good communication and Daniel, the owner, did that well!

Description of Work
Installed Paver Patio, Firepit and Landscaping. Scope included: Excavation of ~950 square feet of topsoil and existing lawn Rerouting existing sprinklers Installing underground drainage from 4 downspouts and popup emitters Installation of geotech fabric and crusher run backfill Compaction Installation of sand base Installation of steps and small retaining wall Installation of ~950 feet of Belgard Pavers with Polymeric sand Installation of 5'6" diameter firepit with firebrick lining and natural stacked stone facade Installation of three landscaping beds with mulch and plants (16 plants total) Topsoil and seeding to repair damaged areas of lawn

Category excavators, landscaping, irrigation systems, masonry, mulch, hardscaping, patios

5.0

07/21/2014


BILL B.

It went very well. The crew showed up on time and got to work after a walk through in the yard. They did exactly what was requested and did a very good job.

Description of Work
The Island Creek crew pruned all the shrubs that needed pruning. We have LOTS of shrubs!

Category landscaping, lawn service

5.0

07/06/2014


Mark M.

Great. Everything looked exactly like we wanted when they were finished.

Description of Work
Cleaned out all flower/tree beds, replaced mulch, trimmed al shrubs, cleaned up after themselves.

Category landscaping, mulch

    Other local Pros in your area

    DIVINE LIGHTSCAPES

    Divine Lightscapes uses, lifetime warranty BRASS products & Long Lasting LED's bulbs. Sign up today for a FREE DEMONSTRATION and see you home in a new light. Ask about our Angie's List Discount !!! Cell 704-749-4949  

    Offers by DIVINE LIGHTSCAPES on Angi
    Carolina Southern Scapes

    Are you tired of Landscapers giving you the run around? Hard to get in touch with and once the job is finished you can forget getting them back out to fix anything, much less get them on the phone. Here at Carolina Southern Scapes we pride ourselves at being the premier landscaping and hardscaping company in the Charlotte area, with our project quality as well as our customer service second to none. No job too big or too small. We provide many Outdoor living installation options as well as regular lawn maintenance. Listed bellow are some of the many ways we can help you make your lawn beautiful. - Patios - Firepits - Outdoor Kitchens - Sitting Walls - Retaining Walls - Elevated Plant Beds - Mulch Delivery and Installation - Plant and Tree installation - Plant and Tree trimming - Yard Maintenance  

    Offers by Carolina Southern Scapes on Angi
    MA Outdoor Services LLC

    We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Landscape and Hardscape design & installation, landscape lighting, landscape construction, horticultural maintenance & drainage systems.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Island Creek Landscape

    How is Island Creek Landscape overall rated?

    Island Creek Landscape is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What payment options does Island Creek Landscape provide

    Island Creek Landscape accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Island Creek Landscape offer free estimates?

    No, Island Creek Landscape does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Island Creek Landscape offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Island Creek Landscape does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Island Creek Landscape offer a senior discount?

    No, Island Creek Landscape does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Island Creek Landscape?

    Yes, Island Creek Landscape offers warranties.

    What services does Island Creek Landscape offer?

    Island Creek Landscape offers the following services: Landscape and Hardscape design & installation, landscape lighting, landscape construction, horticultural maintenance & drainage systems.