Hutchins Landscape & Lawn Maintenance LLC

About

Founded 1999 • With Angi since January 2012

We are small business. We have been servicing the Triangle for many years. We offer reasonable prices, and phenomenal results. We know that details matter. We can help you get the landscape and lawn you've always dreamed of!

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Business Highlights

Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

4.8

(118) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

102

4

5

3

6

2

3

1

2

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

lawn care (90)irrigation system (48)lawn & landscaping (32)hardscaping (29)lawn treatment (25)mulch delivering (17)tree service (13)Patios (9)drain pipe installation (9)landscape lighting (7)leaf removal (7)well & water pump repair (4)
Showing 1-25 of 118 reviews
5.0

11/11/2021


SIDNEY D.

Jon put together a well designed system that provides excellent coverage and is very easy to modify. He was able to use parts of the old system without compromising the new system.

Description of Work
replacement of an existing irrigation system with all new lines and equipment

Category irrigation systems

Cost $9,155

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/01/2021

Service Provider Response

Hi Mr. [Member Name Removed], Jon really enjoyed working for you and Mrs. [Member Name Removed]. He understood you had a negative experience with contractors in the past, and it meant so much to him to be able to get your system in good working order. We trust you will enjoy it, and please let us know if there is any other way we can serve you! Jon & Carmen Hutchins
5.0

09/21/2021


Mike K.

Jon and his team installed a front yard irrigation system for me and tilled and graded my entire yard. Jon and his team delivered high quality results! I had a lot of questions and Jon was attentive to all of them. I will 100% hire them again for my landscaping needs!

Description of Work
Irrigation Install, Yard Tilling and Grading

Category lawn service, irrigation systems

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/21/2021

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your reply. We enjoyed working for you and look forward to a continued relationship as we maintain your new system. We know you will enjoy the assurance that your lawn will be healthier with routine watering. Take care!
5.0

02/01/2021


Matt K.

Jon was a pleasure to work with from the start. He sent me a fair quote for the job within a couple days and told me when they could start work and how long it would take. We wanted two tiered retaining walls and it seemed like a pretty tough job. Jon and his crew worked around some tough weather conditions and still completed the job in the time he was hoping for. I will definitely recommend Jon to anyone in the future and we're already in contact for a second job

Description of Work
Retaining Wall, Drainage, Grading

Category landscaping, drain pipe, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/31/2021

Service Provider Response

Hi Mr. [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the review. Jon enjoyed meeting you and working for you. Amazing clients make the work worthwhile! Jon and the crew had to work between weather events and in muddy conditions. But that finished product was simply amazing! We hope your family enjoys it! Best wishes, Jon & Carmen Hutchins
5.0

11/03/2020


Charles F S.

Excellent. Mark came out on his day off to review the damage and replace the controller that was fried. In addition, the lightning burst an irrigation pipe by the tree that he returned to fix as well. System working fine now. They have always done a good job, but I especially appreciated the quick response. Rick S.

Description of Work
Lightning hit a tree and damaged my irrigation system

Category irrigation systems

Cost $575

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2020

Service Provider Response

Hi Mr. Steineger, Though we were disappointed that your system was damaged by the storm, we were so happy to help you. During the two times we have worked for you and the various communications in between, it has been a joy! Thank you for the kind review, but more importantly for being such a great client! Jon & Carmen Hutchins
5.0

10/29/2020


Todd R.

Excellent work. Prompt, professional, dedicated crew who made sure everything was done right. Always cleaned up after themselves. John was very responsive to any questions or concerns and made sure we were comfortable and happy with the job.

Description of Work
Irrigation System and Lawn Renovation / Sod installation

Category lawn service, irrigation systems

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/28/2020

Images

Review for Hutchins Landscape & Lawn Maintenance LLC - 7515 Troon Ln, Rougemont, NC - 38986129

Service Provider Response

Hi Mr. [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the kind words. We are so glad you are pleased with the experience and the work done. We hope you enjoy the finished product! Wishing you all the best, Jon & Carmen Hutchins
5.0

10/26/2020


Todd S.

Jon, Mark, and the rest of the team was phenomenal. They were extremely professional and very knowledgeable. We couldn’t have been more pleased with their work. We would absolutely recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
Sprinkler Irrigation System

Category irrigation systems, drain pipe

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/19/2020

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review! Jon, Mark, and the crew really enjoyed working for you. We hope you enjoy your new irrigation system.
5.0

10/20/2020


William W.

I've used Jon and his crew for 3 or 4 years now. He first installed an irrigation system for us and, more recently, landscape lighting. What I appreciate the most about Hutchins Landscaping is their subject matter expertise with their products and services. They really know what they're doing - and do things the "right way". They are also responsive despite being quite busy. If there is an issue with irrigation (cut line for example), they come out quickly to fix the problem. They also squeezed us in on a special request for additional backyard lighting that we wanted for our daughter's wedding that was forced to our house due to COVID-19. All in all, certainly recommend Hutchins Landscaping.

Description of Work
Irrigation and landscape lighting

Category irrigation systems, outdoor lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/20/2020

Service Provider Response

Hi Mr. [Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have enjoyed working for you over the years. The best thing about having a business is the relationships that grow over the years. We also love the opportunity to be a small piece of making great memories for your family. Wishing you well, Jon & Carmen
5.0

10/15/2020


Kate T.

Jon, Mark, and their crew did an outstanding job! We had obtained another estimate, and both were nearly identical, but we decided to go with Hutchins and they did not disappoint! Jon and Mark were both on site when work began and checked on the progress as work was happening. Jon came back the day after the work was complete to ensure we were satisfied. Multiple neighbors stopped to ask for business cards, and commented on how great the patio looks. Pavers for patios are in short supply right now, which Mark warned us about, but he was able to secure us what we wanted much more quickly than expected. Carmen is very quick to respond to emails and clearly keeps the office running well. Highly recommend! Will hire again for our next hardscaping project.

Description of Work
Patio and drainage installation

Category drain pipe, hardscaping, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/15/2020

Images

Review for Hutchins Landscape & Lawn Maintenance LLC - 7515 Troon Ln, Rougemont, NC - 38951626

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! It means a lot to us! We are so glad that you had a great experience and we hope you enjoy these new investments at your home! Take care!
5.0

08/29/2020


Richard L.

Very impressed with all the folks at Hutchins, pleasant to work with, professional, and the quality of the work was excellent. Cost was quite reasonable. Would not hesitate to have them back. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Lawn Irrigation installation and drainage control

Category irrigation systems, drain pipe, hardscaping

Cost $7,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/26/2020

Service Provider Response

Hi Mr. & Mrs. [Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking the time to write a review! It means a lot. Jon, Mark, and the crew really enjoyed working for you! We hope you enjoy the new features. Take care, The Hutchins Team
5.0

01/10/2020


Chris K.

GREAT contractor! Jon and his crew did a really nice job on our projects. He made very good suggestions, he and Carmen were very communicative from the initial contact, they were prompt once the job started, did high quality work, left the site super clean, and were more than fair priced. Definitely will call them again for our outdoor living needs!! Thanks guys!

Description of Work
Stone walkway, outdoor timber staircase, gravel walkway

Category pavers, gravel, drain pipe, hardscaping

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/10/2020

Service Provider Response

Hi Mr. [Member Name Removed], Thanks for taking the time to write a review. This feedback really helps a lot! Jon really enjoyed getting to know you, as well as finishing this ongoing project for you. We wish you all the best, Jon & Carmen Hutchins
3.0

09/20/2019


Stephanie S.

They promptly got back to me...saying they were too busy to take on any new clients. Just posting a review so others don't waste their time too.

Description of Work
Irrigation repair and lawn maintenance

Category lawn service, irrigation systems

Work Completed On 09/20/2019

Service Provider Response

Hi Ms. [Member Name Removed], For the sake of others it may be helpful to clarify that we are not accepting any new clients for irrigation maintenance or repairs at this time. We are still accepting new clients for most of our other services in our service area. Wishing you all the best, Carmen Hutchins
5.0

05/16/2019


Ashley K.

Mark and John were great to work with! They were responsive, flexible to adjust the plan and their crew worked hard. We’re happy with how everything they did turned out!

Description of Work
Hutchins graded our back yard, installed a retaining wall, paver patio and fire pit. They also laid sod.

Category lawn service, pavers, gravel, tree service, drain pipe, hardscaping

Cost $1,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/15/2019

Service Provider Response

Hi Ms. [Member Name Removed], Thank you for the awesome review. Jon, Mark, and the crew really enjoyed working for you and Mr. [Member Name Removed]. We are so excited to see the completed project and hope your family makes many precious memories in your new outdoor living space. Carmen Hutchins
5.0

02/01/2019


Timothy C.

Jon Hutchins and his crew did a great job. Communication was excellent. Jon and Mark took their time to explain every step and answer all of my questions. They were very punctual, professional and did a great job. I look forward to hiring them again next fall to help me with aeration and routine maintenance. I would recommend Hutchins Landscaping and Lawn Maintenance to friends and family without reservation.

Description of Work
Irrigation System, Drainage, Grading

Category landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, lawn treatment, rototilling, drain pipe

Cost $12,400

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/12/2018

5.0

11/05/2018


Robb L.

This was without question one of the best contractors i've ever worked with. Mark Wise, the project manager, was hands-on, helpful, knowledgeable and very easy to work with. The work crew was super capable, the project was completed as promised, as quoted, not add ons or gimmicks, and looks absolutely beautiful. They even seeded and graded the area nearby, not called for in the bid, at no additional charge, simply because they felt that's what was needed to make the area look right. I couldn't possible give a higher recommendation and will be using them on all my future landscaping projects

Description of Work
addition - expansion of brick patio with lighting & drainage upgrades

Category hardscaping, outdoor lighting, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/03/2018

5.0

10/29/2018


Cathy H.

The folks at Hutchins were a pleasure to work with. I needed major lawn restoration and also knew I wanted to tear up and refresh my very tired landscaping but had no idea what I wanted to do. The process started with Carmen, the office manager who did the intake and managed the scheduling efficiently and courteously. Mark, the landscape and lighting designer, walked the property with me and was full of ideas. He didn't draw up any sketches -- he said that just cost more money -- but that was OK with me since he gave me a good idea of what he was thinking. We went back and forth on email and the phone several times to nail down the design and price. Mark was really helpful and very responsive -- a seasoned landscaper who knows his stuff. The crew who did the work was led by Jon, the owner, and they were all pleasant and professional. Jon and Mark both took time to explain things to me about what they were doing and how to maintain it since lawn and garden care is not among my favorite things to do. The work included tilling up my current lawn and laying new sod, creating and planting new beds, tearing up and replanting old beds, laying pavers as a deck landing, removing several small trees, and general yard cleanup in my backyard (mostly natural area). The job took about 2 1/2 days. I would definitely hire Hutchins Landscaping again. It was a very positive experience and I'm very pleased with the result.

Description of Work
Lawn restoration/sod placement, created and planted new beds and tore up/restored tired old beds, general clean up of natural area in backyard, cut down several small trees, new pavers added as deck landing

Category landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment, mulch, rototilling, tree service, hardscaping, outdoor lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/17/2018

5.0

10/29/2018


SILVIA B.

Great company to do business with...Mark was the best landscape lighting professional to work with..had to repair some lighting and new wiring, plus then replaced 5 other inground lights. Everything was well taken care of and problems solved on two visits.

Description of Work
Landscape Lighting repair and new install

Category outdoor lighting

Cost $700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/29/2018

5.0

10/27/2018


Spencer S.

Excellent. Will have additional work done soon

Description of Work
Fence, placement shrubs, plants and trees. Landscape lighting

Category lawn service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/27/2018

5.0

07/26/2018


Henry F.

Excellent work and very fair price. Would recommend to anyone

Description of Work
Installed a sprinkler system

Category irrigation systems

Cost $3,650

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/26/2018

Service Provider Response

Hi Dr. [Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Jon really enjoyed getting to know you and working for you. We trust that your new irrigation system will be helpful in keeping your lawn well watered and green! We also look forward to a continued relationship as we maintain your new irrigation system. Best wishes, Jon & Carmen Hutchins
5.0

05/09/2018


Kelly B.

We had outstanding experience with Hutchins. They were very responsive when we first contacted them, were straightforward and honest in explaining options, and then worked very hard to get the work done in a timely fashion. Jon Hutchins, the proprietor, worked closely with us and was great in helping us think through options. As an example, we had the option of a standard control pad where settings are done the usual way, or a more high-tech version where things can be controlled with an app and through the computer. Jon did not push one or the other, but rather talked us through the options. It was nice to know he was savvy with the latest electronics (we chose the high-tech version). I give this business very high ratings for responsiveness, quality of work, and integrity. I would use them again in an instant.

Description of Work
Irrigation system replaced and updated

Category irrigation systems

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/09/2018

Service Provider Response

Hi Mr. [Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for the outstanding review. Though we know this was not a repair you had anticipated with this move, we were happy to help you work through the process. We trust that your tuned up, repaired, and upgraded system will be very rewarding! With much appreciation, Jon & Carmen Hutchins
5.0

05/02/2018


Penny P.

I had Jon put in a patio off my deck as well as a sidewalk from the back patio to the front sidewalk as well as solve a drainage issue in the side yard. I was very impressed with his knowledge of proper drainage, weak areas of the soil and the need to stabilize every inch of the ground and put in a proper foundation for the entire project before even one stone was put down. He was very meticulous about all aspects of the job and I would highly recommend him for your project. He takes great pride in his work and will make sure it is done right. I could not be more pleased with my patio and sidewalk, it has made a huge positive impact on my landscaping. I plan on hiring him again to do my front sidewalk with the same stone later this year. Since he is a small company and is very hands on with his projects, sometimes it takes awhile for him to respond, but do not let that deter you, his team will do a good job for you.

Description of Work
Patio, Sidewalk, Drainage

Category hardscaping

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/15/2017

Images

Review for Hutchins Landscape & Lawn Maintenance LLC - 7515 Troon Ln, Rougemont, NC - 37029490

+3 More

Service Provider Response

Hi Ms. [Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thoughtful review. We also appreciate your understanding with the struggle to balance being hands on - on the job, as well as stay in close communication. We strive to improve this daily, but it means a lot that you get it. We are so happy that you are enjoying your space and look forward to working with you again! Regards, Jon & Carmen Hutchins
5.0

04/25/2018


Linda M.

Contacted Hutchins Landscape to have an evaluation of work I needed to have done on my property—Jon came out on April 13 — and 10 days later all was completed — plus had problems with a 30 year irrigation system after a very cold winter— replaced 14 sprinkler heads and a broken water line— Jon is a professional— kept me informed of what he had found and fixed all the problems in that same day— that was amazing to say the least — his co-workers worked until all was done to my satisfaction— something I need to commend them all for and thank them for —- would highly recommend them to anyone looking for a great experience and done quickly...

Description of Work
Needed to have sod put down in the back yard—new plants to replace ones that never did grow from being there for several years — pine straw put down around the yard and some refreshing new grass planted on the side yard—

Category landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems

Cost $7,840

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/23/2018

Service Provider Response

Hi Ms. [Member Name Removed], Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review about your experience. We were really happy to complete this project for you and see such an amazing transformation! We always enjoy projects when we feel like not only did we make a new business contact, but a new friend. Many thanks for your business and kind words, Jon & Carmen Hutchins
5.0

04/11/2018


John O.

I would like to apologize for the bad review I gave this company, ( it was the wrong company) so I would like to resend my last review. Again my apologies

Description of Work
I wrote a bad review on the wrong company

Category lawn service

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/11/2018

Service Provider Response

Hi Mr. [Member Name Removed], Thank you for posting to correct the review. Wishing you all the best! Carmen
5.0

09/18/2017


Martha C.

Outstanding! When Hutchins begin work on my lawn, probably 90% of it was dead! (Fescue installed by builder in 90 degree heat prior to closing!, then wasn't watered and builder went out of business so no recourse there.) When Jon began doing our lawn we asked him to re-sod thinking that was our only option, but instead of taking advantage of that opportunity for himself he told us he thought he could bring the lawn back (which would save us a fortune!) if we installed a sprinkler system and gave him a few seasons to aerate/over seed/treat for weeds etc. We followed his plan and within a year the lawn looked amazing (and even within just a few months it looked 90% better!) and now it is one of the best lawns in the n'hood. Neighbors regularly stop and comment on how great it looks, asking what we do! In addition, his employees are always polite and friendly and do a great job- even doing the little extras like bringing the trashcans up from the street when I'm not home. Highly highly recommend Hutchins!

Description of Work
Sprinkler installation, monthly maintenance, aerating/over seeding, annual shrub/tree maintenance, annual flower planting, all fertilizer and chemicals.

Category landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, lawn treatment, leaf removal, mulch

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/18/2017