Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Wood Wise Design & Remodeling

Founded 1990 • With Angi since June 2006

5 Employees

Amenities

Free Estimates
No
Warranties
No
Senior Discount
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(18) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-18 of 18 reviews
Mary Jo C.
5.0
04/05/2016
(This was also posted on Quality Guild site) Working with Wood Wise on our kitchen remodel was a wonderful experience. After listening closely to our ideas and concerns, Kathy provided several design options, and melded them into the final design. Kathy then accompanied me when choosing sinks, faucets, lights, etc., and helped me stay within allowances and get fixtures I love. Ben, the foreman, kept the job going and promptly addressed any and all questions and concerns we had about the job. Greg, Wood Wise's master carpenter and man of many talents, was here almost every day and was always professional and friendly, and customized things so I ended up with exactly what I wanted. The subcontractors were professional and almost always left the job site clean (if it wasn't up to his standards, Greg cleaned up after them). We had the work done over the holidays, and they told us it would take a while (it did), but there were no surprises regarding schedule or budget. At the end of the project Hank, the owner, came by with a goody bag of wood floor care products, etc. Wood Wise is not the cheapest, but they are the best.
Description of Work
Remodeled 1970's era kitchen and opened up first floor by removing 1 entire wall and parts of two others.
Category
electrician, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [Member Name Removed], for the kind words. Our company enjoyed working with you from the initial contact to the design of your great kitchen and through the construction.
Terry A.
2.0
11/19/2015
The design cost $700 dollars and was just drawings without a lot of detail on materials. I asked for a ballpark estimate of the cost and was quoted $30,000-$50,000. I thought this was extremely expensive. Basically, I felt I overpaid for the drawing. I think the owner makes a lot of money by meeting potential customers and over charging them for design. There was no follow up from Woodwise, I thought they might want the business and come down on the construction price, but that never happened. They never contacted me again. So I was out $700.
Description of Work
The owner met with me at my house for approximately 2 hours and designed a patio and covered porch.
Category
electrician
David A.
5.0
02/03/2015
I liked everything about them. It was excellent from start to finish. I would highly recommend them.
Description of Work
For decks and porches, we used Wood Wise.
Category
decks

Service Provider Response

Thank you, [member name removed], for choosing Wood Wise to remodel your home and for the great review. We enjoyed working with you and Mary.
SUSAN F.
5.0
11/13/2014
We had pursued it with them had we chosen to do so. The quote was close to $40000. I would give them an A+.
Description of Work
We had them come in and give us an estimate on a major home renovation project that we ended up not pursuing. It was going to be a third floor renovation.
Category
remodeling
Thomas B.
3.0
06/30/2014
.
Description of Work
We considered Wood Wise for a big kitchen renovation. The owner showed up and I walked him through the design I wanted including cabinet types, granite selection, stone and ceramic selections, etc. He said he did not want the job because he wanted to do the design instead of working within my requirements. For the money it was going to cost for this job I expected some design input.
Category
custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, decks, electrician, remodeling, woodworking, basement remodeling
Seth C.
5.0
02/15/2014
They were great. They did a great job. They are very professional and timely. They know their subjects - the home improvement. They are fully integrated as a team where they can design the improvement but then also the contractor as well.
Description of Work
Wood Wise Design & Remodeling did consulting for me and I got some price quotes. They prepared five set of plans for our home renovation.
Category
remodeling
Robert W.
5.0
01/08/2014
The owner, designers, and project managers were very helpful and professional. Cabinets, flooring, structural work and painting went very well; countertops went pretty well. We were very unhappy with the electrician they used because of sloppy work (e.g. very visible switchplates were crooked). Other subcontractors were excellent (e.g. painters) and we used them for later work. Because overall we were pleased with Wood Wise we called them in 2013 about remodeling a hall bathroom. As a courtesy the owner and project manager came out to take a look but the job was too small for them and their price would have been too much for us.
Description of Work
Kitchen and powder room remodel.
Category
remodeling
George H.
5.0
11/18/2013
I recommend him to everybody who asks. He was just phenomenal. He is one of the best contractors I have ever had any interaction with. Everything was positive. They are very professional. They have a great design team so they were good at coming up with ideas and things. They actually gave the most detailed proposal in terms of when things would be done and what would be done and the cost of each phase. They were right on the money in terms of time wise, punctually and cost wise. Everything came exactly as it was presented at the beginning. They are expensive but I think it's worth it. I have no regrets that I paid extra.
Description of Work
I used Wood Wise Design & Remodeling to do a full basement remodel.
Category
basement remodeling
Lindsey P.
5.0
03/26/2013
We were favorably impressed with Wood Wise and so happy with the outcome! Hank (the company owner) worked directly with us to define the scope and terms of the project. This was not a small hurdle considering the mention of Do-It-Yourself scared away a few other companies we had contacted. Even though the arrangement was not their regular modus operandi, they found a way to accommodate us. We did the demolition which included removing a wall. We installed two doors and did the painting, wall repair, and are currently working on the floor installation. Wood Wise was able to make the necessary adjustments, finishing the project on schedule in six weeks. I have heard plenty of horror stories about kitchen and bathroom remodeling dragging on for months, so this company's efficiency was most appreciated. Kathy did the cabinet layout and ordered all of the cabinets. It was amazing to see the laundry list of pieces involved. She was on site to ensure they were delivered safely. Kathy also coordinated with the various vendors for cabinet trim and hardware, tile, sink, granite counters and lighting fixtures. These items arrived on time and in the correct quantities. Ben managed the project. This entailed tracking down sub-contractors and having them arrive so they weren't in each others' way. He was also present for the numerous inspections. In some cases Ben rolled up his sleeves and completed leftovers. As mentioned previously things went smoothly and on schedule, a testament to Ben's oversight. Greg was there to do whatever carpentry is required. He is personable and courteous as are all employees and even sub-contractors of Wood Wise. We were pleased with his craftsmanship. Speaking of craftsmanship, Tom the sub-contractor who worked for days on our cabinet installation was quite meticulous and took pride in his workmanship. I was laid up with a bad back for the massive amount of electrical work that was done in the first two days but the inspectors were happy with it! The tile guys were super quick and their end product was beautiful. The back splash we chose with the help of Wood Wise is the centerpiece of our kitchen. I did meet the sub-contractor who handled the drywall as well, though I don't recall his name. He is a hard worker and also friendly. Predictably we were impressed with his work too. The granite counter top installation was also excellent though I missed this crew. All in all we met many nice, talented people throughout this process, which made the ordeal of forgoing a kitchen for a few weeks more bearable. The beauty of our kitchen is a testament to the careful choice of employees, vendors and sub-contractors by Wood Wise.
Description of Work
I've already reviewed the design portion of the project. This review is for project implementation. Recessed lights, pendant lights, cabinets, backsplash, crown molding, baseboards, wall and ceiling repair, sink, dishwasher, gas line, island and granite countertops were all installed.
Category
custom cabinets, ceramic tile, countertops, electrician, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling
Seth C.
5.0
03/20/2013
This was the first project I used them for. They have been out to my house twice and I have been to their showroom. They are remodeling the down stairs of my house. They took out a wall, refinished the wood floors, installed storage, installed baseboards and the rest of the general remodel. I will continue to use them in the future.
Description of Work
I used WOOD WISE DESIGN & REMODELING to do a major remodel in my house.
Category
remodeling
Lindsey P.
5.0
03/20/2013
We really enjoyed working with both Kathy and Hank of Wood Wise. They both worked directly with us to define the scope and terms of the project. This was not a small hurdle considering the mention of Do-It-Yourself scared away a few other companies we had contacted. We are somewhat picky clients and they were both patient and accommodating, going over design after design and negotiating the work that they would ultimately perform for the remodeling portion of the project now in progress. They literally spent months making sure we were satisfied before we actually signed the remodeling contract. We are so happy with the finished product! Even though our arrangement was not their typical modus operandi, they found a way to accommodate us. We did the demolition which included removing a wall. We installed two doors and did the painting, wall repair, and are currently working on the floor installation. Wood Wise was able to make the necessary adjustments, finishing the project on schedule in six weeks. I have heard plenty of horror stories about kitchen and bathroom remodeling dragging on for months, so this company's efficiency was most appreciated. Kathy did the cabinet layout and ordered all of the cabinets. It was amazing to see the laundry list of pieces involved. She was on site to ensure they were delivered safely. Kathy also coordinated with the various vendors for cabinet trim and hardware, tile, sink, granite counters and lighting fixtures. These items arrived on time and in the correct quantities. Ben managed the project. This entailed tracking down sub-contractors and having them arrive so they weren't in each others' way. He was also present for the numerous inspections. In some cases Ben rolled up his sleeves and completed leftovers. As mentioned previously things went smoothly and on schedule, a testament to Ben's oversight. Greg was there to do whatever carpentry was required. He is personable and courteous as are all employees and even sub-contractors of Wood Wise. We were pleased with his craftsmanship. Speaking of craftsmanship, Tom the sub-contractor who worked for days on our cabinet installation was quite meticulous and took pride in his workmanship. I was laid up with a bad back for the massive amount of electrical work that was done in the first two days but the inspectors were happy with it! The tile guys were super quick and their end product was beautiful. The back splash we chose with the help of Wood Wise is the centerpiece of our kitchen. I did meet the sub-contractor who handled the drywall as well, though I don't recall his name. He is a hard worker and also friendly. Predictably we were impressed with his work too. The granite counter top installation was also excellent though I missed this crew. All in all we met many nice, talented people throughout this process, which made the ordeal of forgoing a kitchen for a few weeks more bearable. The beauty of our kitchen is a testament to the careful choice of employees, vendors and sub-contractors by Wood Wise.
Description of Work
Kathy designed six layouts for our kitchen remodel project. Three dimensional views of the installed cabinetry were also provided along with a lighting plan. It's possible the line between the design and remodeling project was blurred because we certainly got more than our money's worth. The project involved installing recessed lights, pendant lights, cabinets, back splash, crown molding, baseboards, wall and ceiling repair, sink, dishwasher, gas line, island and granite counter tops.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Michael B.
5.0
10/23/2012
The entire project progressed smoothly with only a few issues along the way. All issues addressed and corrected readily and completely. The add-on items were integrated into the project plan without any problems, and completed along with the overall project. No issues.
Description of Work
Complete renovations done for two full bathrooms. This included new sinks/vanities, tile work, shower fixtures, electrical. There were two add-on items that are not usually part of a typical bathroom renovation. The contractor reduced the size of an over-the-door window in the master bath which is not a feature the one normally finds. They also painted our master bedroom for us since it was very convenient to add this to the project.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Barbara M.
5.0
09/13/2012
The kitchen remodeling process was a pleasure. My husband remarked that he had never experienced such a smooth process with such honorable people. We would feel very comfortable recommending Wood Wise to anyone considering a home remodel, and in fact have already done just that.
Description of Work
My kitchen area measures about 21x11 feet, but the space was bisected by a peninsula, leaving a small area for cooking when my husband and I were both using the kitchen. I drew a rough layout, made a wish list and presented it to each of six different kitchen remodeling companies. I first learned of Wood Wise at a home show at the convention center. and made an appointment for them to come to give me an estimate. Wood Wise made the best, most professional, presentation. Their references were outstanding. They were not the least expensive, but I went with my gut and haven't regretted it for a minute. Kathy, the designer, measured, photographed and came up with a three-dimensional, detailed plan. She accompanied me to showrooms to help choose cabinetry, hardware, tile, lighting, sink and faucet, stove exhaust hood (I kept my other appliances as they were only a year old). Ben, the project manager, was on site at least part of each day, and was available by phone at all times. Wood Wise uses the same group of sub conractors for all jobs, and they work well as a team. On the first day Ben and his helpers set up a temporary kitchen for us in the dining room. The old cabinets and countertops were placed in the garage and were picked up the next day by Habitat for Humanity. The demolition was difficult because they removed a tile floor, but every day the crew left the area as clean as possible. Then came the prep--plumbers, electricians, framing soffits, new duct work for exhaust hood. Next came inspections, dry wall, installation of new cabinets, countertops, paint, tile, new wood floor, lighting, moving appliances back into new kitchen. At the very end a gentleman came and thoroughly cleaned the entire kitchen to sparkling. Hank Wall, owner of Wood Wise, and Kathy Walker, designer, stopped by several times to check on the progress. Twice Hank even surprised us with gift cards for dinner out. We now have a beautiful kitchen with far more storage than before and a ten-foot long center island. The room looks much larger than it did before and is far more functional, as well as beautiful. The entire process took 8 weeks, just as we had been told at the beginning.
Category
home remodeling
Patty W.
4.0
09/09/2012
N/A
Description of Work
I had Wood Wise come out to give me an estimate on my master bath (not a large space). I received a phone call shortly after the visit, letting me know that the remodel would cost $40,000. I didn't feel as though they wanted to do my project.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Angela H.
5.0
05/19/2012
They came by the house, and they were extremely personable and friendly. They were upfront and honest with me about the fact that it wasn't that big of a project, and hiring them would have cost more if we went with them. They were great, and provided some good recommendations for me. I liked them. They gave us a realistic viewpoint of the work we needed done. It was nice and refreshing to have honest business people come in.
Description of Work
They came by the house to give me an estimate to remodel our first floor.
Category
remodeling
Michael B.
5.0
02/01/2012
The project progressed smoothly. A few issues came up, but they were addressed promptly and completely.
Description of Work
We had the kitchen and an adjacent powder room remodeled.
Category
remodeling
Jane K.
5.0
09/17/2011
Excellent service in designing what we wanted, working with us to make custom adjustments, putting a skilled team on the job, providing a professional project manager, completing the work on time and within the budget, and following up to be sure everything was okay. It was a great experience with a beautiful result.
Description of Work
Built screened porch and deck
Category
decks, remodeling
4.0
06/13/2006
I HAVE USED THEM BEFORE A FEW TIMES AND I REALLY LIKE THE WORK THAT THEY DO. THIS COMPANY IS VERY PROFESSIONAL AND VERY RELIABLE. THEY ARE NEVER LATE AND THEY KNOW WHAT THEY ARE DOING.
Description of Work
THEY BUILT US A LARGE PATIO.
Category
decks

Phone

Address

3121 Glen Royal Rd Suite A

Raleigh, NC 27617

Other Information

Services offered

Wood Wise is a design-build company, meaning that we provide the design and planning services as well as construction for your home remodeling project. Our services include kitchen remodels, bathroom remodels, attic and basement finishing, room additions, outdoor living projects, and whole-house remodeling.

Services not offered

Call for information

Payment options

Check

FAQ

Wood Wise Design & Remodeling is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

Wood Wise Design & Remodeling is open:

Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wood Wise Design & Remodeling accepts the following forms of payment: Check

No, Wood Wise Design & Remodeling does not offer free project estimates.

Yes, Wood Wise Design & Remodeling offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Wood Wise Design & Remodeling does not offer a senior discount.

No, Wood Wise Design & Remodeling does not offer warranties.

Wood Wise Design & Remodeling offers the following services: Wood Wise is a design-build company, meaning that we provide the design and planning services as well as construction for your home remodeling project. Our services include kitchen remodels, bathroom remodels, attic and basement finishing, room additions, outdoor living projects, and whole-house remodeling.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Keystone Tile and Remodeling LLC

5.0

(8)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Keystone Tile and Remodeling LLC

Tile installation. We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. Our team has quality experience in this industry, and we make sure our customers are happy before we leave. Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

Wayne Builders, LLC

5.0

(11)

Angi Certified

Wayne Builders, LLC

Wayne Builders specializes in finishing basements, attics, kitchen & bathroom remodels, and home additions. Our principal has decades of experience in the residential construction business. Our recipe for success is simple... integrity & communication while providing an enjoyable work experience resulting in a high quality, finished project.  

At Borges, we are committed to making long term relationships with our clients. After working with us, you'll rest assured that you can turn to us whenever anything happens to your home.