Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Walter's Well Pump & Tank Service

With Angi since June 2010

We are a family business, have 2 employees, we do not use subcontractors, we are lic& insur, we only work on wells and install presure tanks , pipe , wire,pressure switches , trenching , and we have an E /Z Bore swinger crane for larger pump work and backhoe services.Well Video Camera

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Verified Reviews

4.9

(69) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 69 reviews
Rose D.
5.0
08/12/2021
They were very nice professional and knowledgeable..Highly recomend them..🌷
Description of Work
Well pump replacement
Category
wells
Tim R.
5.0
11/27/2018
We came home from a trip to find we had no water. We called Walter on Sunday afternoon and he answered his cell phone, saying he could be here first thing Monday morning. He and his crew arrived at the stated time and after diagnosing the issue replaced the well pump. They were professional, friendly and knowledgeable. Exceptional service!
Description of Work
Well pump replacement
Category
wells
Fred D.
1.0
04/12/2018
We hired Walter's Well Pump for well in rental houses based on many good reviews, but Walter disappointed us. We always paid Walter immediately whatever his asking price, we did not cut one penny. We tried to keep the same contractor, Walter had good reviews, we thought our experience may be exceptions. We tried not to tell what Walter did in public, we tried to appraise him, to please him, until now. To give an example, On 5/2/2014, Walter's Well Pump installed a new well pump at our rental house 1312 Salem Church Rd, charged $2181, plus a second 20-gallon pressure tank for $375. Two issues here. (1) The second 20-gallon pressure tank was not necessary, because the original 40-gallon pressure tank was in good conditions, still working good today. (2) The well was 315 feet deep, previous pump installation was 270 feet, Walter installed the new pump at 200 feet. Tenant had no water. Walter came back on 5/14/2014, lowered the pump to 300 feet deep, charged us another $496 to correct his own mistake. For the total charge $3052 for this pump, $871 was not necessary or Walter's own mistake. But we paid all of his charge $3052 immediately, we did not cut one penny of his charge. On 4/9/2018, tenant said no water. I begged Walter to check. Walter did not answer my phone call, did not reply my text. We had to hire another well pump company on 4/10/2018, whom was good and solved the problem.
Description of Work
Well pump and pressure tank
Category
wells
Gary A.
5.0
01/19/2018
Walter and his employees fixed it quickly but with care, got it up and running in less than 2 hours. The wire was broken and worn in another spot. They fixed the bad spots, installed a torque arrestor and taped the wire so it will not fail again. They inspected the pump/wiring, reinstalled it in the well and checked the water flow to make sure it was working correctly. I will recommend Walter to my friends and neighbors for well and pump installation or repair.
Description of Work
Well pump not working, it was most likely a bad wire or pump motor after calling then texting Walter with some details.
Category
wells
Donnie F.
5.0
11/23/2017
Walter and his guys did a great job for a great price
Description of Work
Well pump replaced
Category
wells
Charles M.
3.0
06/07/2017
Talked a couple times but never was able to schedule. I would reach out but service was never performed. Would say they would call me the next week, but nothing till I would reach out again. Rating a 'c' since can't judge workmanship.
Description of Work
Needed a shallow well pump replaced
Category
wells
Donald S.
5.0
11/14/2016
Walter replaced the pump, expansion tank, switch, etc. and set the whole system up. I know how the best water pressure I have ever had. He was responsive and an extremely nice individual to work with. I highly recommend him and his team.
Description of Work
Had water issues in the house with the well and pump
Category
wells
Robert D.
5.0
08/21/2015
About mid-morning we heard a strange noise under the house. Having recently had a T connector in a plumbing line we recognized the sound as water spraying onto the plastic over the ground in the crawl space. I crawled under the house and saw a spray of water coming from a pinhole leak in the black pipe connecting the well head to the pressure tank. It was something I couldn't fix so I went to Angie's list and searched on wells. Walter's name was the first one that popped up and it looked promising. I called the listed phone number and Walter answered. I told him my problem and asked when he could fix it. He said he was booked up for the day. I told him we were having a party Saturday for more than 20 people. He asked a few more questions about the problem, where I lived, etc.. and said that we were on the way to his next job after the one he was working on and would stop by as soon as he could. He came as promised and completed the work in a timely manner. I was impressed by the way he worked me into his schedule to save the party. Walter is my new well man the next time I need well service.
Description of Work
Repaired leak in pipe between well head and pressure tank.
Category
wells
John G.
5.0
07/10/2015
Walter could have cost me an expensive dispatch to fix my well problem, but instead, he chose to tell me exactly how to fix the well problem myself. I admire someone whose MO is not to make money first, but to put himself in the shoes of the person with a problem.
Description of Work
Told me exactly how to rectify my well problem.
Category
wells
Rebecca F.
5.0
05/25/2015
We weren't getting any water in the house, called Walters and a serviceman guided me over the phone how to check my pump to diagnose whether I had a pump problem or if my well was dry. Unfortunately it's the latter, but to have them guide me through checking over the phone, patiently, and free of charge was much appreciated.
Description of Work
Called thinking someone would have to come out to my home, but a knowledgeable person guided me through how to check myself over the phone.
Category
wells
MARTHA F.
5.0
05/21/2015
Walter and his assistants diagnosed a failed check-valve in my well quickly and correctly. Rather than the expensive pump/valve replacement I had anticipated, they installed an additional check-valve at the well head. This solved the incessant on-off cycling of the pump and was much less costly than replacing the check-valve at the bottom of the well. Walter briefed me on the failure and the fix and explained what I might expect. They also went into my crawlspace to ensure there were no other related issues. Walter and his guys were punctual, friendly and professional. I recommend them without reservation.
Description of Work
They installed a check-valve at my well head.
Category
wells
Carl G.
5.0
05/12/2015
He is very pleasant. I would use again.
Description of Work
He fixed some plumbing needs that we had. He also was honest and told us what he could not do.
Category
wells
Vincent Q.
5.0
04/21/2015
Walter and his team provided excellent service! His response confirmed the "A" ratings given by previous customers! My call was answered by Walter and he spent significant time listening to me and explaining the service he would provide. He put me into his schedule for the next day and arrived on time. Walter and his team worked efficiently and explained each step as they progressed. I was satisfied with the price based on the quality of the parts installed and the service provided. Typically, I don't provide reviews immediately after service is rendered. I prefer to let time evaluate the repair. Over three months have past since my repair. My water supply system is working just like Walter said it would after he serviced it. Plus I'm positive I benefitted from the insulation upgrade he installed during the harsh 2015 winter. Thanks Walter!!
Description of Work
This provider replaced my well pump and upgraded all existing connections. The water supply line at the well was insulated for winter protection. My supply line and system inside my house were carefully inspected and the water pressure was confirmed.
Category
wells
Donna L.
3.0
04/14/2015
The service provider responded very quickly to my inquiry regarding services. The time scheduled was for between 9:30 and 10:00 am. Provider did not show up until almost 11am and did not call to let us know they would be late. Further, the provider did not bring towels to deal with the water in the old pressure tank and asked that I provide them. I did not have old towels so good ones had to be used one was ruined by rust and had to be discarded. One would think that with 3 or 4 pressure tanks on the truck, the provider would have foreseen the need for something to handle the water from the old tank. The work performed was done well and the people who were sent out were extremely nice.
Description of Work
Replaced pressure tank.
Category
wells
Walker F.
5.0
03/30/2015
Walter and his assistant Roberto swapped out both the well pump, upgrading it from 1/2 hp to 1 hp, Thin wall PVC pipe to Flex Poly pipe and swapped out the sediment filter to a flush at the well head - protects irrigation valves. Our well pipe and electric lines were in great shape so he left them . They did replace the pressure switch at the pank. We were lucky that Walter and Roberto were out in their fully equipped truck only 30 minutes away when we called. They had everything needed for the job. Roberto was very skillful with the PVC re-plumbing for the filter at the well head after installing the new pump in the well.
Description of Work
Replaced Well Pump, pipe. sediment filter, and pressure switch
Category
wells
Joseph P.
5.0
02/17/2015
Walter's Well was very professional and accommodating. I called him at 7:45am and told him that my 23yr old pump was only pumping about 30 lbs of pressure. He came out that afternoon and diagnosed the problem to be a bad pump. I had known a pump replacement was coming sooner than later and he gave me 2 options to replace it with. I did not feel any pressure from him to buy a more powerful pump but opted to anyway. He was able to replace it right there on the spot and it only took about 2 1/2 hrs. Seems like an honest guy and did everything I could have asked for.
Description of Work
Replaced pump and pressure tank
Category
wells
Timothy T.
5.0
01/06/2015
We came home from a day of visiting friends and last minute shopping on Christmas Eve only to discover we had no water pressure! Not the best time to have a home emergency. We had problems coordinating a service call through our home warranty company. We called a local plumber ourselves who came out first thing on the 26th. They said it might be an electrical problem and that they could not diagnose that. They recommended calling an electrician before spending a bunch to replace the well pump. Instead we called Walter - who had been recommended by a neighbor - and he came right out. He was wrapping up a job and was at our house within 1 hour. At first Walter thought it was a simple electrical problem at the pressure tank, but it turned out to be a combination of electrical and compressor problem at the tank, which was causing the well pump to cycle too frequently, which toasted the well pump. The pressure tank was old and we knew we were going to need to replace it anyway. We didn't know it would wreck the well pump. Anyway Walter and his assistant Roberto swapped out both the well pump, upgrading it from 3/4 hp to 1 hp, and swapped out the pressure tank. Our well pipe and electric lines were in great shape so he left them alone. I hung around to watch the whole job so that I could learn a little about the system. Walter was very friendly and answered all of my questions and explained what he was doing, why he was doing specific things, and why he wasn't doing some things (like replacing perfectly good pipe or wiring). After nearly 48 hours my family had water again. I can't compare on price, other than to note that Walter's price for the pump replacement alone was much less than the estimate that the original plumbers had given me. In fact the whole job was about as much as the first estimate just to replace the pump. I can say that the quality of the work is outstanding, Walter and his assistant were very professional and helpful and didn't seem to mind me hanging around to watch, and I'm inclined to support small business owners in the rural area where I live anyway. I would recommend him to anyone needing well service.
Description of Work
Replaced well pump Replaced pressure tank in crawl space
Category
wells
Brian T.
5.0
12/02/2014
Called Walter, discussed problem. Spoke to Walter over the phone - He came out, and found out it was not a simple fix - as I expected... Otherwise I would have taken care of it. Gave me a couple options, made a couple suggestions We agreed on the job, and approximate cost He and assistant came out the next day - They were running a bit late (no problem) They came out, and he called me at work when the job was about complete (roughly 3 hours to remove and replace the pump, along with relocation of tank, plumbing, and electric) I drove out, and we discussed and reviewed job. He even took a few extra steps to put the pressure tank and switch under the house in the crawl space. Price came in about $200 above what we had discussed, But I was so satisfied with the job, I didn't even ask for an explanation. As I indicated previously - it was an approximate cost! Would I suggest Walter to anyone else? You Betcha!!!!!!! Don't find that kind of quality in presentation & execution often! Keep up the great work Walter.
Description of Work
replaced leaking jet pump with a submersible well pump
Category
wells
Robin T.
5.0
09/29/2014
My well pump was not running reliably, and at times one evening, I did not have running water or not much water running. I called Walter after hours, and he had me check a couple of things to narrow down the problem. He very willingly talked to me at least a couple of times that evening and made plans to come early the next morning. We thought he might have to pull the pump and replace it. He had planned to go on vacation that morning, but he said he would come to my house first. When he got there promptly the next morning, he realized that the only problem I had was a shorted-out wire. The problem was promptly fixed, and he didn't charge me anything. He was as nice as he could be, both when I was talking to him the evening before and the next morning. I would definitely call him again..
Description of Work
He fixed a shorted-out wire at no charge
Category
wells
Diane M.
5.0
05/21/2014
On Friday morning we had no water pressure. My husband looked in the crawl space and saw water gushing out of the holding tank (we have well water). He turned off the pump. After calling another service who said they were too busy to get to it that day, we looked up Walter's in the latest Angie's List Raleigh Update. Mr. Walter's was so responsive and came at the time he said he would be here. He and his helper had the tank replaced in under 30 minutes. They were friendly and professional. And he gave us $25 back since the ad said we could get $25 off the total bill! We will definitely use this business again.
Description of Work
.Replaced water holding tank.
Category
wells
William N.
5.0
05/14/2014
They did a good job. They did a quick job and very efficient. They were courteous. Overall, they were definitely A+. As for their price, that's kind of standard. We priced a lot of different companies around and that is sort of a standard price for a new pump. They were out the next day.
Description of Work
We used Walter's Well Pump & Tank Service. They installed a well.
Category
wells
Tom A.
5.0
03/09/2014
Our church bought a property on which to build our first church building that had a 6 inch well on site. We were interested in finding out what we could about the well. We hoped to be able to use this well for irrigation of planted vegetation after we build. Walter performed all of the services listed above for us as a charitable contribution to our small church. He and his crew were extremely knowledgeable, friendly, helpful and great to work with. He enabled us to determine that we can use the well in the future. We intend to hire him to put the well into service when the time comes.
Description of Work
Pulled a submersible pump that had been cut and allowed to drop into the well. Sounded the well for further obstructions. Provided a total depth and water level depth. Took a water sample for Fe. Chlorinated the well with HTH. Replaced a makeshift well cover with a proper well seal and put a water well identification plate on the casing.
Category
plumbing, wells
Christopher C.
5.0
02/22/2014
Walter's Well & Pump has been our go-to for all our well issues. On this last occasion, we had no water to the home due to a frozen/cracked pipe out at our pump. Walter was able to get to us same-day & assess the issue quickly. Walter & his team are excellent! Highly recommend!
Description of Work
Replaced cracked pipe on pump
Category
wells
Rita H.
5.0
02/19/2014
Our pump had gone out after 23 years. They were great and helped us understand each step. Our water pressure is great now. We asked them back a week or so later to add some faucets for us. We highly recommend them
Description of Work
They replaced our well pump, 500 feet of pipe and electrical wire.
Category
wells
Matt K.
5.0
02/16/2014
Excellent Walter and his helper was right on time and diagnosed the problem. And got to work he had all supplies right on the truck. Very professional . Great service will highly recommend .
Description of Work
Install new pressure tank in crawl space and install whole house filter.
Category
wells

Other local Pros in your area

Air Experts Heating & Cooling

We keep your heating and cooling equipment working properly, performing at peak efficiency while insuring your comfort and keeping your air safe. We Guarantee 100% Satisfaction with all our work. The professionals at Air Experts have been providing comprehensive HVAC services to the residents of Raleigh, Durham, and Chapel Hill since 1986.  

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

 Alexander Services

Winner of the WRAL Voters' Choice Award 4 years in a row, Alexander Services provides Commercial and Residential Heating, Air Conditioning and Electrical Installation, Repair and Service. We offer Same-Day Service, Exact-Time appointments and are open 7 days a week.  

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Adam and Company-Plumbing

At Adam and Company Plumbing, we are your one-stop-shop for all of your plumbing, water heater, filtration system needs, and more in Raleigh and the surrounding communities. As a customer-centered business, you can count on our professionals to take the time to understand your needs, budgets, and other requirements before we recommend you the best options. To learn more about the full scope of our services and how we can help you, get in touch with us today. One of our friendly representatives will be more than happy to answer any questions you may have and schedule a consultation with one of our experienced plumbers. We look forward to hearing from you soon.  

Angi Certified

Phone

Address

5217 Penny Rd

Raleigh, NC 27606

Other Information

Services Offered

Services Not Offered

Ask for details.

Payment options

Check
Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

FAQ

Walter's Well Pump & Tank Service is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

Walter's Well Pump & Tank Service is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 6:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Tuesday: 6:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Wednesday: 6:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Thursday: 6:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Friday: 6:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Saturday: 6:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Walter's Well Pump & Tank Service accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Yes, Walter's Well Pump & Tank Service offers free project estimates.

No, Walter's Well Pump & Tank Service does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Walter's Well Pump & Tank Service does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, Walter's Well Pump & Tank Service offers emergency services.

Yes, Walter's Well Pump & Tank Service offers warranties.

Walter's Well Pump & Tank Service offers the following services: Water well pump & pressure tank troubleshooting, repair, replacement, installation & maintenance.