Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Raleigh Deck & Screen Porch Builder Inc

Founded 2001 • With Angi since October 2011

4.9

(9) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2901 Old Crews Rd

Raleigh, NC 27616

Description

We are one of the few licensed general contractors (#77527) in this section that only build new construction decks, porches and patios. We are not a fence contractor and we are not a repair service. You will not be asked to purchase anything for your project or deal with multiple people. Projects

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/03/2020


Anne K.

Vic was incredibly responsive to our design request and was helpful in providing us with knowledgeable information about what we could/couldn't do with our deck design. Very appreciative.

Description of Work
Design Request/Quote

Category decks

5.0

02/19/2015


Michael F.

Description of Work
Absolutely amazing experience and product. The guys were just amazing!

Category decks

5.0

08/03/2014


Rick B.

WOW, Vic Henderson and the team with Raleigh Deck and Screen Porch Builders are FANTASTIC!!! After getting stung with a pre-fab sunroom from a now bankrupted company several years ago, I literally had a mess that needed to be replaced. This time I researched my contractors and invited 3 well rated contractors to give bids on a 17'x21' screened porch. Vic was the only contractor that gave me a specific reasonable price for the work instead of a ball park high/low number. Moreover, he supplied a document that outlined EXACTLY how he would build the porch; what my responsibilities were; what his team's responsibilities were; options that were available to me to enhance my screen porch; and the type of high quality materials he would use. This was something the other contractors did not take the time to do. The workmanship, materials and teams were outstanding, the best I have ever seen. There was a lot of time spent on details. My screened porch is now the envy of the neighborhood and I feel I got more than my money's worth on this project. Great Job Raleigh Deck and Screen Porch Builders!

Description of Work
Removed an old prefab sunroom that leaked. Then provided a new, larger screened porch.

Category decks, sunrooms

5.0

03/17/2014


James B.

Our huge, old and falling down deck needed to be replaced. We had several estimates. When Vic came, he listened to our thoughts about replacing it with a screened porch. Then he offered suggestions from his years of experience. They were excellent. His guys showed up on time, worked diligently while there and were the nicest, most polite guys we have had doing construction. Evert step of the process was smooth which is unusual when you are tearing something down and putting up something new. The finished porch absolutely surpasses our hopes and we feel lucky to have found Vic and his crew. If we had anything else they could build for us, we wouldn’t hesitate to call them. They are by far the best guys for building screened porches. You can’t go wrong with calling Vic Henderson!

Description of Work
Tore down large old Deck. Built a screened porch

Category decks

5.0

12/30/2013


Shannon M.

While Vic couldn't do the job we wanted since it was a bit too small for them, he gave good advise on what we should do for our deck (get handy man level workers to replace existing deck) and what is allowed for this type situation. I always appreciate when contractors give advice without expecting payment every time.

Description of Work
Gave advise on deck.

Category decks

1.0

02/07/2013


Catherine J.

My husband and I were doing some preliminary research on building a deck in our backyard. Did not really know exactly what we wanted, other than a basic deck with a couple of access points. We had hoped that we would get some responses from professionals in the area that could provide ideas that would work in our space and provide us with some quotes. That said, we got the name of this company from a friend who was also looking at getting a deck built. I reached out to Vic from his website - I found his email address clearly listed at the top. I grabbed his email address and sent him a note asking if he had any availability to come see the space and to provide some ideas. I pasted his reply to me below if you would like to see it. I would not recommend you work with this guy unless you like working with people who are completely unprofessional. I understand that small business owners have a lot of daily challenges. But that is no way to ever respond to a potential new client with such outright hostility. UPDATE - also received another nasty note after posting this review. As an Angie's List member for a few years now, I am honestly just trying to let other people know who is out there and accurately describe my experience. You can then decide who to hire. His original reply to me: Don't take this wrong. I looked you up on facebook and you are a marketing communications specialist. Do you have any idea how many people have invited me to their home only to want to barter their marketing for my services or sell me something. It would amaze you and it's so bad I look people up and won't do an estimate for anyone that has these qualifications. You didn't fill out my contact us form, you didn't provide an address and there is no phone number. You are just wanting to hear from me? If I am wrong please don't be upset because we waste a lot of money and time on things like this. His second reply to me after this review was posted: I bet you are a fun person. Gave me a bad rating at the BBB and on Angie's list. Trying to hurt a business when I thought you were a salesperson wanting to waste my time. Posted a private e-mail on line which is inappropriate. I'm curious who gave my name as a reference. I recognized a couple of people from your facebook contacts so I think I know who it is. I looked your home up from the address off Angies list. We aren't even allowed to work on homes built pre 1976 due to lead paint and things like that. That is why it's important to provide an address. Now you have gotten all mad and I wouldn't have worked on your home to start with. It is customary to let contractors know if you are a reference. Also if you are going to be a mean person and slander companies without knowing anything about who you are talking to it would be wise to keep your address hidden. I'm real easy going but a lot of people would not take this with a grain of salt. Most of the people that hire me will see through what you are trying to do. Angies list and the BBB are for people that have worked with contractors so little emphasis is placed on things like you posted. It was just a situation where your request looked exactly like the dozens of contacts I get a month from people trying to sell me things. Good luck with your deck project.

Description of Work
I reached out to Vic to get an estimate on building a deck in our backyard. Please see details below on the blatant hostility that he showed back to a potential new client.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

This is an inappropriate review from an angry lady that I have had nothing to do with. In a given year I get so many sales people trying to contact me that it is a huge problem. This person sent a vague request with no personal information, no phone number, just wanted to talk which is exactly what the scammers and sales people do. It is customary for a person that is a reference to point that out. Now she is just an angry person that we are very happy we did not work or. Anyone that would take the time to try and hurt a business is not the type of person we want to work for anyway. If you contact my company realize that we get dozens of calls each week from marketing and sales people trying to sell us things. In hind site I am very happy that I never gave her a quote and in fact have never even talked to this person.
5.0

12/08/2012


Andrea M.

Overall, we are happy with the outcome

Description of Work
Torn down old deck, Built new deck with porch.

Category decks

5.0

05/06/2012


Curtis E.

The process from start to finish went very smoothly. Vic originally gave us an estimate for the deck / stairs / columns work, and we moved forward with the process. Part way through demolition Vic talked to us about adding the screen porch right then, and what he envisioned for it. He had a ball park figure in mind to do the work, and by the next day he provided an accurate estimate for the work. We decided to move forward with that part too, which didn't change what they were already working on since we had asked them to build the support for the deck so that we could add a screen porch later. The masons, whose work was outstanding, built 5 brick columns to support the deck (the deck extends across a majority of the back of our house). Each column is about 12 feet tall. They also built 5 smaller brick columns on the embankment to support the staircase. This was not in the original plan (they were going to be 6x6 wood posts originally), but I'm so glad Vic changed to brick (at no additional cost). They look fantastic. In addition, while the masons were on site Vic asked us about fixing our front stoop, which was made of brick but which he noticed had sunk and was in need of repair. It was an extra expense, but we knew we would need to address it at some point so we agreed and the masons stayed an extra few hours and fixed it. The rest of the deck and porch work went well. The peak of the porch is 32 feet off the ground, and although it was hard to watch them work that high, they worked safely and with ropes and scaffolding. It was impressive how they handled the heights of the porch, both outside and inside. The screens were built with a heavy duty black screening material, and were built into metal frames that exactly fit our deck. The frames were screwed into 1x1 wood strips that are around each "window" of the deck. The ceiling of the porch is tongue and groove, and nicely stained. We have two skylights, four pot lights, a ceiling fan, and crown moulding around the ceiling. It looks great. Rope lighting was added to a recess in the crown moulding above the screens, and the effect is very nice at night. The floor, support posts for the ceiling, and railings are stained, and the balusters are black metal. We also have three electrical receptacles in the porch, which is nice. (I'm typing this review on the porch and have my laptop plugged in out here.) Overall it was great working with Vic. He provided a detailed description of the work he would do for both parts, and he did exactly what he said he would. He and the crew showed up every day on time, arriving at 7:30 and leaving between 4:00 and 5:30. They had a Porta John on site, so no one had to come inside for relief. Each night they cleaned up the work site, and then came back the next day and started over. If we had questions or requests he would answer everything clearly. I would highly recommend Vic and Raleigh Deck and Screen Porch building to anyone who asked.

Description of Work
We had a 17-year-old deck that was in dire need of replacement, and we were considering adding a screened porch. The deck (and now our new porch!) is on a second story, with a patio underneath. Along with replacing the deck we wanted to move the deck's staircase from it's current location to a new spot where we have a steep embankment. The embankment made that part of our yard unusable, so we wanted the staircase put there to free up the usable space in the yard. We also wanted the new staircase to land on our patio. The last problem we had was that the deck was supported underneath with X-braces, and between those braces and the bad setup of the existing staircase we could not easily access our back yard from the basement patio. We had a number of deck builders and landscapers come and give us quotes for the work. A number of people had no solution for the X-braces, because they were clearly structurally necessary. A number of other people did not want to touch the staircase because moving it to the embankment was going to be a very labor intensive, not to mention they were not sure how to design it to work with what we had and what we wanted. Enter Vic Henderson and Raleigh Deck and Screen Porch Builder. We explained the problems to Vic and he immediately saw solutions. He removed the X braces and instead built brick columns to support the deck and new porch -- a great solution to have a well-supported structure above, but to also create something visually appealing from below. He designed the staircase to follow the guidelines of our neighborhood's HOA, as well as our own desires. He replaced the deck with premium treated wood, and added a beautiful and visually stunning screen porch on top. From design to demolition to build to electrical, and everything in between, Vic and his team were top notch.

Category decks, sunrooms

5.0

10/24/2011


Marcee T.

We had a 20+ year old deck on the back of the house that was not built to code and was rotting away, including compromising french doors in the back of the house. The old deck was removed, rotted areas repaired replaced, including re-hanging the french doors. A section of the house that was not properly supported and rotting was replaced and support was built into the new deck design. Materials were delivered and the new deck was built in 4 days as well as replacing the railings on the front. Power washing, painting and staining as well as the installation of gutters were all finished in the next week. Instead of pickets, the owner recommended metal balustrades that really enhance the look and feel of the deck, making the railings almost invisible. Although not cheap, the quality and end product really enhances the house and property. It was well worth the expense. The owner/foreman led the most professional crew I have ever worked with. Not only did the owner wear a tool belt, but he assumed responsibility for the work of various subcontractors, getting us a fair price on the additional work done. The new deck is beautiful, blends with the current look and feel of the house and is truly eye-catching. We are delighted with the work done, the manner in which the work was done, and the attention to even the smallest detail that the owner and his crew handled without question (or being asked)! When difficulties were discovered, we were kept informed every step of the way and the issues were handled efficiently, effectively and completely. I cannot praise their work enough and the craftsmanship is truly exceptional. I would work with them again.

Description of Work
Needed to have a 20+ year old deck replaced and rotted areas repaired both in and out of the house, all connected to the deck. In addition, to a full deck replacement on the back, had the rails replaced on a front porch, house pressure washed, exterior trim painted and gutters installed. All material was hauled away quickly and the entire area was cleaned of debris, nails, etc. before they were done.

Category decks

    Other local Pros in your area

    CertaPro Painters of North Raleigh

    Additional contact name - Kirt Storch. Additional email - wakeforest@certapro.com. Additional DBAs - Sheri Storch Services Inc, Certapro Raleigh, CertaPro Painters Ltd. Independently owned & operated. Additional website - www.certapro.com.  

    Angi Certified

    Mallards Decks and Commercial Cleaning

    Here at Mallards Decks and Commercial Cleaning, we sustain our business on quality and integrity. With over 5 years of experience we are experts in the Interior and Painting trade for residential and commercial customers. We are committed to quality from the beginning to the end of your project. We are locally owned and operated and look forward to earning your business. Contact us today and we look forward to earning your business  

    Angi Certified

    RenovateRepair.com

    James Hardie Siding Contractor: ext. carpentry; ext. painting; door and window installation. RenovateRepair.com is owned and operated by Cary resident, Susan Prenatt. Under her supervision, qualified reside and paint crews will transform the exterior of your home. Member of: James Hardie Contractor Alliance; Guild Quality, and Better Business Bureau with A+ rating. 12-18 months same as cash on approved credit for projects over $5000. 15% Angie's List Discount.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    No License Required for Trade
    Trade License Number
    77527
    Trade License Expiration
    12/31/2017
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Decks, screen porches, patio enclosures, stone patios, outdoor fireplaces & exterior paint.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Raleigh Deck & Screen Porch Builder Inc

    How is Raleigh Deck & Screen Porch Builder Inc overall rated?

    Raleigh Deck & Screen Porch Builder Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Raleigh Deck & Screen Porch Builder Inc open?

    Raleigh Deck & Screen Porch Builder Inc is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Saturday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Raleigh Deck & Screen Porch Builder Inc provide

    Raleigh Deck & Screen Porch Builder Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Raleigh Deck & Screen Porch Builder Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Raleigh Deck & Screen Porch Builder Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Raleigh Deck & Screen Porch Builder Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Raleigh Deck & Screen Porch Builder Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Raleigh Deck & Screen Porch Builder Inc?

    Yes, Raleigh Deck & Screen Porch Builder Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Raleigh Deck & Screen Porch Builder Inc offer?

    Raleigh Deck & Screen Porch Builder Inc offers the following services: Decks, screen porches, patio enclosures, stone patios, outdoor fireplaces & exterior paint.