Outdoor Lighting Perspectives - Raleigh

About

Founded 1996 • With Angi since July 2009

It’s one thing to say “The Night Is Ours.” It’s far more convincing to hear what our customers are saying about us. At Outdoor Lighting Perspectives, we’re proud of our success in achieving customer satisfaction and honored to be considered a Best in Class company in the outdoor lighting industry.

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

4.9

(36) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

34

4

1

3

1

2

0

1

0

Rating Details

Price

4.6

Professionalism

4.9

Punctuality

4.9

Quality

4.9

Responsiveness

4.9

Read reviews by category

landscape lighting (36)electrician (18)lighting (15)
Showing 1-25 of 36 reviews
5.0

03/10/2021


Robin B.

Precise, Polite. Efficient. Excellence.

Description of Work
Landscape lighting

Category outdoor lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/10/2021

5.0

03/04/2021


Dana C.

The landscape lighting looks amazing. The company was great to work with. They knew exactly what we needed, gave us a quote on the spot and came out a week later and got to work. Would 100% recommend.

Description of Work
light installation

Category outdoor lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/04/2021

5.0

06/26/2015


Julie C.

Upon first contact, Dave and his crew were very professional. This was a small job, yet they made me feel like it was the most important job they had that day. I called them for a quote, and they arranged a date to come look at the job in a very timely manner. Once they arrived to look at what would be involved, they gave me three different options of what could be done and let me decide based on what I wanted the ultimate goal to be. We live in a 30 year old home and there are always challenges when work like this is to be done. That did not scare them off at all. They installed a new junction box, as well as the new lampposts (which we bought on our own). There was an unexpected issue w/wiring between the lampposts, but they took care of it. The final cost was $50 than the quote, but it was because of having to deal w/ the wiring. They were very easy to work with and did quality work. I would highly recommend their services if you are thinking about outdoor lighting.

Description of Work
Installed two new lampposts

Category electrician, lighting, outdoor lighting

Cost $450

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/26/2015

5.0

06/07/2015


William H.

Excellent. Installation went well and looks great. They did exactly what they said they would do.

Description of Work
Provided pathway lights, driveway lights and up lights for 2 trees

Category electrician, outdoor lighting

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/12/2015

5.0

05/18/2015


Margaret H.

It has the LED lights and some of it had already burned out and we are getting back in touch with them. Our interaction was okay.

Description of Work
We used Outdoor Lighting Perspectives Raleigh.

Category outdoor lighting

Cost $7,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/27/2014

Service Provider Response

Customer called May 19th at 5:48pm, the day after this review was written, by 5pm the next day, May 20th, the problem was corrected at no charge.
3.0

05/12/2015


Lois V.

They seemed annoyed when I asked about price and about using a coupon I found in the newspaper ads. It was as if they were giving me such a "great" deal that I shouldn't' be worried about the coupon ($250). Their attitude in general was one of talking down to me and I didn't appreciate that. After all, I am the paying customer and they installed our original outdoor lights to the tune of $8000 in 2007. In addition, we also switched out lights to LED and found them on the internet for 1/4 of the price they were charging and they were annoyed by that too. Since the business was sold sometime between 2006 and now, customer service has not been their strong suit.

Description of Work
Installed garden lights to our existing outdoor lights in our front garden bed

Category electrician, lighting, outdoor lighting

Cost $2,500

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2014

Service Provider Response

We did provide you with multiple pricing options and must have obviously offended you in the manner which we tried to differentiate our LED bulbs vs what can be found on the internet for pennies on the dollar. For this we are extremely sorry for making you feel that way. If I could change your experience, I would. The customer decided to change bulbs themselves after asking us which type and spread to purchase. After they completed bulb change out, we added a few more lights at customers desired locations and also added lens covers for retrofitted lights. They day we completed install, we realized that we were short in the amount of required lens covers, we made a decision to install temporary used covers while we waited on new ones to arrive. We made a mistake of forgetting to mention this to the customer which proved to be a mistake as she took it as us trying to install used equipment, which was never our intention. As far as pricing goes, we had already reduced the price after some negotiations and then customer wanted to add coupon on top of reduced price which would not have allowed us to install job at necessary price to maintain profit. We very much regret how this was perceived. Our bulb pricing that was 75% percent higher than found on the internet included the installation of the bulb, cleaning and trimming shrubbery that had grown over the lights, re aiming of all the lights, and a 5 year warranty on our bulbs. If any of our customers want to change their own bulbs, we have no problem with that, however most bulbs found in open market place that are inexpensive turn out to be exactly what you paid for, poor lumen output, poor color quality, inconsistent color output bulb to bulb, and shorter life than expected. Sometimes you can get lucky and very much hope that is the case with the bulbs you purchased. If there is anything we can do at this point to make you feel better, please let me know. We greatly value your and everyone elses business. Our bulbs are one of the few that are rated IP-67 which means it is submersible in water, most others are rated IP-65 which means it can be in a damp location. Again, please forgive us for coming up short on your expectations.
5.0

04/23/2015


don S.

The company did what they said they would do, when they said they would do it and the result was fantastic. We have received a lot of comments about the appearance of our house and we like the way Outdoor Lighting Perspectives works. They actually put the lights in where they are proposing in a temporary way before you approve their quote so that you know what you will get and how it will look before you say yes or no. They also have been around a long time and you know that they will support their installations. We had a cut wire when we made sprinkler modifications this spring and they came out and fixed it at no charge. We would highly recommend them and are thinking about a future add-on to what we have.

Description of Work
The provider proposed a complete outdoor lighting system for our house, which included about 33 different lights and a control for the. entire system The system, while costly, is of the highest quality, with LED light features, up lights, ground lights, stairway lights and a system that turns the lights on and off as programmed and re-sets itself if there is a power outage. We had used these systems in a previous house in another city and were satisfied with our first system and we are extremely satisfied with this new one.

Category electrician, lighting, outdoor lighting

Cost $9,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/15/2014

5.0

04/11/2015


Susan W.

He was great. He was extremely professional. He was very comfortable to work with.

Description of Work
I bought a Big Deal for $499 for a Landscape Lighting System Including Installation.

Category outdoor lighting

Cost $499

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/02/2015

5.0

02/24/2015


Eileen H.

Great! Installation was simple and easy - I spoke with the installers and explained what I wanted. I love the way the house looks at night and I also feel more secure knowing the house is lit when I come home after dark, or we're away for the weekend. Esthetically, the house looks better but for security purposes, I'm really glad we did this! Hope to upgrade or add some more lighting in the natural area this Spring/Summer.

Description of Work
basic lighting for the front of our home - Angie's List "special" included 5 lights - upgraded for light covers...

Category electrician, outdoor lighting

Cost $700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/15/2014

5.0

02/20/2015


Mary Christine H.

We purchased an Angie's list special for the installation of the 6 outdoor lights along with the wiring and a transformer in the fall. The installation was done promptly and professionally. We have enjoyed the lighting for the last 6 months. Everything has worked extremely well with no problems. We would highly recommend this company to anyone interested in outdoor lights and we will use them again for any additional lighting needs.

Description of Work
Installed 6 outdoor lights for the outside of the house along with the wiring and a transformer.

Category electrician, outdoor lighting

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/07/2014

5.0

12/24/2014


Anna K.

David came to our home outside of his regular business hours in order to accommodate our schedule. He was pleasant, knowledgeable and prompt. He suggested optimal placement for our new fixtures and completed the work when it was scheduled. He also provided guidance and made recommendations for landscaping work we want to do. David is a terrific guy and is very professional. We plan to use him again soon! 21feb2015: David installed three new light fixtures to highlight some crape myrtle trees we added to our front yard. The area truly looks gorgeous thanks to Cat Valand, Fine Lines Landscaping and OUtdoor Lighting Perspectives! We also needed OLP to come back to fix what turned out to be a problem with the wiring for our deck lights that was done by a handyman several years ago. David returned several times in order to diagnose & fix the problem. In fact, he re-wired the entire setup to correct the previous installer's work! So, not only does he back up his own work, he takes care of issues he finds in existing lighting configurations! Use this guy! Not only is he competent and reliable but he goes the extra mile (and beyond!) when problems arise!

Description of Work
Installed outdoor lighting.

Category electrician, lighting, outdoor lighting

Cost $500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/11/2014

5.0

11/12/2014


Ares T.

Awesome, they we professional and very helpful.

Description of Work
Installed 6 outdoor lights with covers.

Category electrician, lighting, outdoor lighting

Cost $575

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/01/2014

5.0

10/28/2014


Victoria M.

Outdoor Lighting Perspectives did an excellent job with our exterior home lighting. David and Ryan were very personable, and provided good advice on where to place the lights. Installation was quick, and the house looks great. We feel good about the overall value, and would definitely recommend Outdoor Lighting Perspectives to friends.

Description of Work
The provider installed exterior LED lighting to illuminate the front of our house. The lights are on a timer, and do not require manipulation.

Category outdoor lighting

Cost $1,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/20/2014

5.0

10/01/2014


James A.

We thought we were having company come over but it turns out they aren't. At this time we do not have a need for the deal.

Description of Work
We bought a Big Deal for $499 for a Landscape Lighting System Including Installation.

Category outdoor lighting

Cost $499

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/22/2014

5.0

08/29/2014


Henry A.

Prompt, efficient, courteous; highly recommended.

Description of Work
Repaired / Replaced low voltage outdoor garden lights

Category outdoor lighting

Cost $394

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/05/2014

5.0

05/28/2014


Eric S.

It went very well - we were very pleased! The price was very reasonable and they obviously knew the old system we have because it did not take them very long to get the thing running!

Description of Work
We bought a 15 yr old house with older landscape lighting that was in disrepair. Another contractor said it would be better to replace our old system, but we have quite a list of projects to do around the house and we need to be mindful of our budget. Outdoor Lighting Perspectives came out and got our old system running in 1hr or less. They professionally explained the potential issues we may have with the system in our back (it is different than the one in front). We did not feel embarrassed or ashamed that we asked them to just fix what we had and we will DEFINITELY be calling them when we are ready to replace the old system!!

Category electrician, lighting, outdoor lighting

Cost $488

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/14/2014

5.0

03/16/2014


Malik K.

All went very well. Received a call back promptly, came out a few days later to install a demo and 3 days later they installed my lights. Very professional and knowledgeable about their products and services.

Description of Work
Installed 8 LED Outdoor lights in my home in Durham

Category electrician, lighting, outdoor lighting

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/11/2014

5.0

02/19/2014


James M.

The technicians arrived early for the appointment and were able to quickly get all the work done including the new fixture installation. Prices for LED bulbs were high, but they should pay off in the long run with durability. I now have 13 fixtures in total installed by OLP over the last 3 years, and they have definitely improved the appearance of my home.

Description of Work
Annual mtc of landscape lighting Upgrade of bulbs to LED Addition of new fixture on side of house

Category outdoor lighting

Cost $1,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/19/2014

5.0

12/24/2013


Ed Z.

When I called Outdoor Lighting Perspectives (which is technically a franchise) I expected a lot of nonsense and broken promises but was pleasantly surprised. David (if that's not his name - I'm sorry) answered and gave me an immensely (perhaps a little too) detailed description of why they're the best (years of experience, and a great deal of stuff about the kind of bulbs - LED?). He said he'd be by the next day to talk. He was. He was 15 minutes early. This is a good thing. He came and talked to my wife, gave a ballpark figure, and then came by the next night at 6pm to give us a show. They certainly did. The lights were amazing - they seemed subtle until you did a before/after comparison by turning them on and off. Little lights at the side of the house stopped it being so awfully dark, and the front looks beautiful. It's hard to describe exactly why - it's something to do with shading, but the underlighting looks fantastic. The path lights were a tad expensive ($250 a piece) but worth it - they're hardy little metal things. Everything they installed was also LED, which apparently costs a few dollars a year per light to deal with, which was mostly my concern - I expected it to add a few hundred to our electricity bill. The whole thing was just shy of $3k. Part of that went into the transformer, too, which can power up to 50 lights. I should also add that this was the week before Christmas, and they said they'd probably have it in before Christmas. Naturally I said sure, buddy, not really believing it, but they appeared at my doorstep yesterday to put the first touches in and finished today. I actually got confused - they turned up and did everything without talking to me, which was a tad jarring but a pleasant surprise. These guys are professionals - and actually a real pleasure to work with. I'll be hiring them in the future without a doubt.

Description of Work
Installed front lighting and path lighting on my house

Category electrician, lighting, outdoor lighting

Cost $2,700

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/24/2013

5.0

10/27/2013


CHERI G.

I called this contractor and we chatted about our budget, lighting needs and set up night time demo of lights to light a large lower garden area. The two contractors arrived on time and quickly strung extension cords and hung lights where they thought we would get the most impact and light the area. We made a few minor adjustments, added a few lights and agreed to have them do the work. They didn't require any deposit. We set a date for them to arrive, they were on time that day, had to share the driveway with another contractor doing other work, quickly did the job, made a few improvements to the original plan (at no additional cost) and completed the job in less time than they estimated. The lights come on at dusk and off at midnight, we are thrilled no more timers, the job is exceptional and definitely adds value to our landscape and property in addition to security improvement.

Description of Work
We had contractor come out for a night demonstration of outdoor lighting of a lower garden area that had been lit with malibu lights.

Category outdoor lighting

Cost $2,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/21/2013

5.0

10/08/2012


Kimberly M.

I've been working with David for a number of years now. They did my original landscape lighting and continue to maintain the installation as needed. In this instance, I needed some maintenance on my existing installation. They responded that day, and were on site the following day. We also discussed expanding my current installation. Plans were made that week to do a demonstration. That is such a great way to show off their services. You get the opportunity to see exactly what your landscape will look like with the lighting. After the demo - Rian and David were out the next day - and by the time I got home that evening - my home looked lovely with the additional lighting. I would heartily recommend Outdoor Lighthing Perspectives for all your outdoor lighting needs.

Description of Work
Maintenance of some lighting as well as installation of some additional outdoor lighting.

Category outdoor lighting

Cost $2,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/17/2012

5.0

09/17/2012


Rashida H.

The service was EXCELLENT! I love my lights and my home is literally the best house not just on the block but in my sub-division. I am very grateful for the decision I made and the choice I made for selecting Outdoor Lighting. My lights have given my home a new shine. I've had several people ask me about my lights and who did them.

Description of Work
I had a full installation of landscape lighting installed at my home. I recently moved into a new home and I live at the end of a subdivision with limited lighting. I contacted David and he came by and visited my home. He assessed my property and gave me a free estimate of what I would need to keep me safe and beautify my home. I contacted just about every landscaping company in the area and many actually refused to come to my home unless I guaranteed to them that I would use their services and I also felt as though unless I was willing to pay a certain price they were not willing to come to my home to assess my options. David and his team was the ABSOLUTE opposite. I called about lighting and they treated me as a valued customer -- just knowing that I needed service. When David arrived, he looked at my home and provided me with options and told me the advantages and disadvantages of various options and what can be options for enhancements in the future as I make home improvements. I really felt he was providing me with sound advice and not just trying to 'sell' me a product. After we discussed the options and pricing, he came back within three days and did a demonstration of the package at night. I was able to see exactly how my lights would look if I had them installed. This was all done - free of charge and and with no strings attached ! His service was just immaculate! After seeing the light demonstration - I was sold! He was back the next day at 8am and that night I had lights installed at my home. It's such a pleasure as a home owner to know that you can drive to your home and feel safe and most importantly have a product that was sold and installed with trust, excellent customer service and backed with an excellent warranty. The products that are used by Outdoor Lighting are the best in class - I did my research ! But most importantly, they will provide you with the customized service you need whether your job is big, medium or small. I found in this business not many landscaping companies that provided high quality service wanted to deal with smaller home owners and I am glad to know that Outdoor Lighting is in the business of DELIGHTING ALL CUSTOMERS! I would highly recommend them.

Category outdoor lighting