Nicolas' Hardscapes & Drainage LLC

About

Founded 2001 • With Angi since March 2012

We specialize in residential hardscape design and installation. Whether you have a blank slate or you would like to enhance your yard's features, we are the company you have been looking for! Do you dream of an inviting grill area and entertaining patio? What about a beautiful walkway, fire pit or

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Business Highlights

Se Habla EspañolSe Habla Español
Family Owned & OperatedFamily Owned & Operated
Eco FriendlyEco Friendly

Images

BackyardPatio with WallA Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

5.0

(373) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

358

4

7

3

2

2

2

1

4

Rating Details

Price

4.9

Professionalism

5.0

Punctuality

5.0

Quality

5.0

Responsiveness

5.0

Read reviews by category

hardscaping (334)Patios (160)drain pipe installation (122)lawn & landscaping (113)stone & gravel (97)concrete repair (52)mulch delivering (48)excavating (33)lawn care (30)landscape lighting (28)decks & porches (17)outdoor kitchens (14)
Showing 1-25 of 373 reviews
5.0

01/25/2023


Suzie N.

Nicolas’ Hardscape and Drainage came out to build us a flagstone path and edge two garden beds with stacked stone. They end result is more beautiful than I imagined. They went above and beyond throughout the entire process and I will definitely use them again on future projects. I highly recommend Nicolas!

Description of Work
A flagstone walkway, repair stone steps, and two garden beds edged in stacked stone to match the stone on our home’s exterior.

Category hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

01/03/2023


Kim A.

Have used Nicolas for multiple projects and the quality of work is always excellent. Nicolas and team are great to work with. Work is always finished on time and on budget.

Description of Work
Installed paver patio and walkway. Patio is multi-level and has lighting and water fountains. Also installed drainage protection edging.

Category hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Service Provider Response

It was was wonderful to work with you again! Your outdoor space is truly an extension of your beautiful home. We are so honored you have chosen us to bring your vision to reality. We wish you and your family a very healthy and happy new year!
5.0

12/19/2022


Jane C.

We can't speak highly enough of Nicholas and his team! Nicholas installed beautiful backdoor steps and a patio and also fixed our drainage issues. He truly went above and beyond in every day. It was our first project like this, and weren't exactly sure what we wanted/needed when we were starting out. Nicholas guided us through the process every step of the way. The final project was way better than I could have imagined -- we were blown away by the extra effort Nicholas and his team put into making sure everything was perfect for us. They added extra design touches that really elevated the overall look, and it really transformed our backyard. We would 100% recommend to anyone looking for hardscape and drainage work, and we hope to work with Nicholas on future projects as well. Thank you Nicholas and team!

Description of Work
Installed stone steps and wall, patio, and drainage solutions

Category patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Service Provider Response

We enjoyed working with you on this great project! Thank you for entrusting us with your vision. We appreciate your kind review and are so happy to hear we exceeded your expectations. We hope you enjoy your new patio space with family and friends for many years to come.
5.0

12/19/2022


Chris & Dannette C.

Nicolas has done lots of stonework for us, including retainer walls, walkways, a beautiful stone patio with a gas fire pit and landscape lighting along the walls and seating area. He and his crew always arrived on the job early and ready to work. Nicolas was always here to work along with his crew and to oversee the job. He is a man of his word and makes sure that you are happy with the work. We recently had a bad storm to knock out several of our landscape lights, so I reached out to Nicolas and he made time to come out and check things out. After a few weeks, he came and replaced the bulbs that were damaged. We always know that he is just a text or phone call away and doesn’t hesitate to continue providing his best service to us.

Description of Work
Landscape lighting

Category hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Service Provider Response

We are always happy to see you so it was our pleasure to come out and replace the bulbs for you. We stand by our work and we appreciate you writing a review confirming this. We are so grateful for wonderful people like you who begin as a customer and end up a friend. We hope you and your family have a wonderful holiday season and a healthy and happy 2023!
5.0

12/08/2022


David L.

Nicolas and his crew did an excellent job. Nicolas is both professional and friendly. He communicated well during the entire process. The actual work was performed in a timely manner. They even came later and patched up some damaged done to the walkway by another contractor.

Description of Work
Removal of old walkway for install of new paver walkway including ground leveling and incorporation of gutter drainage. Also install of a dry river rock bed to control erosion off driveway.

Category hardscaping

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your kind words and are so pleased you are happy with our work. Thank you for being a wonderful customer. We enjoyed working on this with you. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.
5.0

12/03/2022


John D.

One of the best service experiences ever was working with Nicolas and his team. Our drainage problem is solved and the hard scape added is a work of art. Nicolas took the time to explain everything and answered all of our questions. He and his team paid attention to every detail. Our expectations were exceeded. We highly recommend Nicolas for hard scape or drainage projects.

Description of Work
Hard scape patio and installation of underground drainage.

Category hardscaping

Cost $5,900

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words! We love hearing that our work exceeded your expectations! Thank you for the wonderful compliments, as we also view our work as art. We enjoyed working on this project with you and it was an absolute pleasure meeting you. Please let us know if we can be of assistance in the future.
5.0

10/13/2022


Adriana O.

Nicolas and his crew did an amazing job on our backyard. We had grading and drainage issues that caused the dirt to erode and sink our backyard slab. Nicolas gave us many options and designs to fix our water problems. We had spoken to 3 other companies but they didn't give us all the ideas that were provided by Nicolas and he also gave us a very good price. We decided to have a contention wall with a French drain built and pavers installed to create our dream yard. They removed 2 very large trees from our backyard and 6 other smaller trees. I was impressed to see how they took the time to remove all the large roots and big rocks. Our old slabs were also removed from the property, other companies didn't want to do that, but they made it look easy. They were very careful not to damage the property or surrounding areas. They were extremely efficient, punctual, knowledgeable, and friendly. The crew arrived early every morning and worked very hard. We are very satisfied with the outcome of the project. Our yard is now leveled / graded properly, no more water issues, and it's and Oasis that my family and I are enjoying very much. Once they were ready to finish, mulch was also put in the needed areas, sod was installed to replace the grass, and they cleaned the property. Nicolas communicated with us daily and updated us on the days progress. Once the project was completed, he took his time showing us with great detail all the work that was done. I highly recommend Nicolas hardscape to everyone! I'm attaching pictures for you to see how nice our yard looks now.

Description of Work
Retention Wall and Custom Patio Pavers

Category concrete repair, excavators, landscaping, lawn service, mulch, pavers, gravel, tree service, drain pipe, hardscaping, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/11/2022

Images

Review for Nicolas' Hardscapes & Drainage LLC - 117 Stagecrest Drive, Raleigh, NC - 39908848

+2 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We enjoyed working on this great project. Thank you for recognizing our attention to detail and craftsmanship. We pride ourselves on excellent communication with our customers as that ensures all items are addressed. We are so happy to hear you are thrilled with your new oasis. We hope you and your family enjoy it for many years to come!
5.0

09/03/2022


Lauri W.

Nicolas and his crew do excellent work. This is the 2nd time I've hired him. Although we were happy he is a perfectionist and saw something he didn't like so he made his crew re-do a portion. Cannot recommend enough.

Description of Work
Fix Pavers in Driveway

Category concrete repair, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/27/2022

Images

Review for Nicolas' Hardscapes & Drainage LLC - 117 Stagecrest Drive, Raleigh, NC - 39860298

Service Provider Response

We were so happy to see you again and work on another project for you. Thank you for your repeat business. It is true that we pride ourselves on exceeding customer expectations! We hope you enjoy the new space with friends and family for many years to come.
5.0

08/26/2022


Katie S.

Great. First off, Nicolas knows his stuff when it comes to drainage and how to address problems. He recommended a great solution to the problem. He set the date for the work early and stuck to it, and kept me up to speed as the dates shifted due to the weather. The entire crew was prompt, polite, friendly, and they got everything done incredibly quickly. The finished product looks amazing and 100% addresses the drainage problems. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Adding a new patio, wall, and dry creek to redirect drainage from the house

Category concrete repair, pavers, gravel, drain pipe, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/25/2022

Images

Review for Nicolas' Hardscapes & Drainage LLC - 117 Stagecrest Drive, Raleigh, NC - 39850164

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased to hear you are happy with the final product. It was wonderful working with you and we appreciate your understanding of unpredictable weather. Thank you for entrusting us with your beautiful project.
5.0

08/08/2022


Michael C.

Called Nicholas to discuss drainage issues at my rental unit. He came up with a plan to divert the water away from my unit to the catch basin in my patio. Work was completed in one day. During a heavy Summer afternoon rain storm the stet flowed as Nicholas designed.

Description of Work
Fix Drainage on Rental unit

Category drain pipe

Cost $3,850

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/14/2022

Images

Review for Nicolas' Hardscapes & Drainage LLC - 117 Stagecrest Drive, Raleigh, NC - 39827872

+2 More

Service Provider Response

It was great meeting you and we thank you for the review. Drainage issues are concerning and we are pleased you chose us for the resolution. We appreciate your business and are here should you have any needs in the future.
5.0

08/04/2022


Jackie A.

I am very pleased with the work that Nicolas and his team provided. We get many compliments on the pavers and edging. I would use them again for any additional hardscape work and highly recommend them. Nicolas works with the vision you have to make it a reality.

Description of Work
Edging around my beds, pavers on the walkway, landscaping at the rear of my home

Category landscaping, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/06/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy to hear you are pleased with our work. We enjoy bringing our customer’s vision to life. We hope you enjoy your new space for many years to come with family and friends.
4.0

08/02/2022


Matt T.

This review is way overdue-Nicolas was quick to communicate, always professional and an overall really nice guy. He and his crew were very efficient and helped us transform our messy yard into a beautiful and peaceful oasis. We would not hesitate to reach out to him again and I would recommend him to anyone looking for a reliable company to work with!

Description of Work
Hardscape, tree removal, landscaping

Category landscaping, mulch, pavers, gravel, tree service, hardscaping

Cost $10,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/02/2020

Images

Review for Nicolas' Hardscapes & Drainage LLC - 117 Stagecrest Drive, Raleigh, NC - 39820262

+6 More

Service Provider Response

We enjoyed working on this great project and thank you for the review. We pride ourselves on excellent communication with our customers as that ensures a beautiful result. We are so happy to hear you are enjoying your new oasis. We hope you and your family enjoy it for many years to come! Thank you for your business.
5.0

07/31/2022


Giselle C.

What a beautiful retaining wall and fabulous customer service! I can’t thank Nicolas & has team for all their hard work & attention to detail - my stone retaining wall exceeded my expectations & I am simply thrilled with the experience from my first call to Nicolas to the finished product! These fellas know what they are doing. Very professional, arrived early every day, Nicolas was always available to answer my questions & wanted to make sure I was happy with the final product! I will definitely hire Nicolas and had team again!

Description of Work
Beautiful stone retaining wall

Category hardscaping

Cost $5,800

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/25/2022

Images

Review for Nicolas' Hardscapes & Drainage LLC - 117 Stagecrest Drive, Raleigh, NC - 39818516

+5 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review and for posting the beautiful pictures. We really enjoyed working on this beautiful project. It is always our goal to exceed our customer’s expectations and we are thrilled we accomplished just that! Thank you for your business, we are always available should you need anything in the future.
5.0

07/30/2022


Susan T.

It went really well. He is, and his employees are, always on time, get straight to work and work hard till the job is done, even in the hottest weather - and it was extremely hot and humid! Had a small issue and it was taken care of first thing the following morning. I will definitely recommend to anyone looking for a paver patio.

Description of Work
Extended our paver patio, which was originally done by Nicolas

Category drain pipe, hardscaping, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/30/2022

Images

Review for Nicolas' Hardscapes & Drainage LLC - 117 Stagecrest Drive, Raleigh, NC - 39817606

Service Provider Response

What a beautiful result! We appreciate your review and thank you for posting the photo. We appreciate your patience and communication. We hope you enjoy your new beautiful entertaining space.
5.0

07/25/2022


bruce M.

Nick and his crew did a great job repairing the settled hardscaped patio at no cost. I can strongly recommend them if you're looking for high quality hardscape installation and warranty.

Description of Work
Hardscaping patio installed years ago had settled and need repairs.

Category concrete repair, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/25/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time for us to write a review we really appreciate. It has been a few years since we did this amazing project and even after warranty expired we repair all natural damage at cost for any of our installation. I hope you enjoyed the outdoor living for many years to come it looks amazing. Again thank you so much. Nicholas.
5.0

07/25/2022


Enid T.

Nicolas and his team are top notch. We have used him on several properties since 2009. He is responsive and stands behind his work.

Description of Work
Hardscape and landscape lighting

Category landscaping, hardscaping, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/25/2022

Images

Review for Nicolas' Hardscapes & Drainage LLC - 117 Stagecrest Drive, Raleigh, NC - 39811380

+3 More

Service Provider Response

I really appreciate and thank you much for taking your to write a review for us.all the projects we have had done At your different properties turn out amazing we really love and enjoy having you as a great friend and excellent customer. Again thank you so So much for this great review. Nicholas
5.0

07/22/2022


Dan E.

We are thrilled with the work and the results. The townhouse patio area is about 20x30 with brick party walls along two sides. The project required removing a large concrete slab and a set of concrete steps and regrading the entire patio area. The original construction caused rain to run toward and under the townhouse. Nicolas created a design reversing the flow and was able to tie it into the common area seamlessly. He had to change our original design slightly to get the drainage to work. His reasoning was clear and he communicated it well. His crew installed the pavers and borders exactly as we had requested. The project turned out better than we imagined it would. One of the things we knew would happen with the equipment is that it would disrupt some of the lawn. His crew put down plywood sheets to protect the lawn but some damage just can’t be avoided. He and his crew took care of the damage and from our point of view, left it better than it was before. We had a brief communication lapse with scheduling the work that was quickly and amicably resolved. Nicolas is personable, energetic, talented, and knowledgeable. We would hire Nicolas again and, in fact, are planning to have him come back and do some additional work.

Description of Work
Excavation and regrading of townhouse patio and installation of patio with pavers, border, and low wall for landscaping island.

Category excavators, hardscaping

Cost $15,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/22/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a great review. Your outdoor living came up beautiful amazing like always is always a pleasure to work with great people like you, makes life so much better. I hope you enjoy your amazing backyard for many years. If there is anything we can do in the future for you please let us know. Again thank you.
5.0

07/22/2022


Susan P.

Nicolas and his crew were wonderful to work with and did an amazing job, we are extremely pleased with how this project turned out. Yes, it takes awhile to get on his schedule - because he is in demand. Yes, it seems expensive - but not when considering the amount of work performed, the specific skills involved, the weather conditions, and the cost of supplies and labor. Nicolas and his team helped change my do-it-yourself brick pathway that tree roots had upheaved and which drained toward our deck, into a professional looking walkway with proper drainage. They removed and reused the bricks to create level and more functional storage areas. They put another pathway and stone steps into the slope down to the patio, which is now also finished with pavers. Nicolas was attentive to details and added requests, and guarantees their work and that you will be happy with it. We would recommend them and use them again without hesitation.

Description of Work
Stone steps put in slope, paver walkway with drainage, replace concrete patio with pavers, level and bricked storage areas

Category pavers, gravel, drain pipe, hardscaping, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/09/2022

Images

Review for Nicolas' Hardscapes & Drainage LLC - 117 Stagecrest Drive, Raleigh, NC - 39807936

+4 More

Service Provider Response

We really appreciate all this Time you have put in to write this review. Walkway and steps also patio look amazing beautiful hope you enjoy for many years to come. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions bout problem problems or new project. Again thank you so much.
5.0

06/28/2022


Tracy F.

Nicolas and team busted up the current cement walkway, put in a drain and pipe to help with the drainage issue we had, and then created a new walkway with stone tiles. Nicolas was prompt and professional from first contact. He was booked about 6 weeks out but told me when he would contact us next and did on the exact day. The team is prompt (early am) and fast in their work, leaving a clean and finished job. He is fair and just a really nice guy. 100% recommend!

Description of Work
Replace walkway and fix drainage

Category concrete repair, pavers, gravel, drain pipe, hardscaping

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/03/2022

Images

Review for Nicolas' Hardscapes & Drainage LLC - 117 Stagecrest Drive, Raleigh, NC - 39780780

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. It was great pleasure working on this project with you. Walkway looks amazing. If I can be of assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me again thank you.
5.0

06/25/2022


Juana V.

Nicolas and his team did an extraordinary job! They went above and beyond to ensure that everything was perfect and as we wanted. They were always on time and work very hard to meet the planned timeline. They are super organized, and kept me informed of any issue timely so it could be resolved promptly. Nicolas is always verifying that the work done meet his high quality standards, the same standards that had made his company a star in the industry. Nicolas presented us a choice of great quality materials, and helped us to decide which ones will be best for our project. His design matched perfectly what we were looking for and it was in harmony with out home and landscape. I am very grateful with Nicolas, and his team (Eduardo, Simon, and Andrew) for their extraordinary work ethic, dedication, and professionalism.

Description of Work
Our project involved many components including pathways, flowerbeds, steps, rest area, lighting, and drainage.

Category electrician, excavators, mulch, pavers, gravel, drain pipe, hardscaping, outdoor lighting

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2022

Images

Review for Nicolas' Hardscapes & Drainage LLC - 117 Stagecrest Drive, Raleigh, NC - 39778398

+6 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us really appreciate. It was wonderful and great pleasure to be able to do this transformation at your home. All Hardsdcape looks truly amazing. Every day we show you up a your home and work feels great and we enjoyed. If I can be of assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me. Again thank you so much for this review.
5.0

06/24/2022


Ed V.

Nicolas and his crew were fantastic. They built our new patio exactly as we requested and were in and out in about a week. They went out of their way to make sure we were happy with the end result. I would definitely use them again and highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Paver patio and firepit

Category landscaping, drain pipe, hardscaping, patios

Cost $25,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/23/2022

Images

Review for Nicolas' Hardscapes & Drainage LLC - 117 Stagecrest Drive, Raleigh, NC - 39777120

+1 More

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us really appreciate. It was wonderful and great pleasure to be able to do this transformation at your home. All Hardsdcape looks truly amazing. Every day we show you up a your home and work feels great and we enjoyed. If I can be of assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me. Again thank you so much for this review.
5.0

06/17/2022


Andrea F.

Nicolas did an outstanding job for me. This is to add to review submitted yesterday-- because I forgot to mention some important details. Apart from fixing my drainage issues, burying downspouts into the backyard, they went above & beyond even what I expected. 2 days before the job, I had 4 large trees & large shrubbery removed from side & backyard. My yard was l left in a mess from all this tree work. Nicolas' crew regraded my yard & put seed & hay from front to back --in a much larger area than their drainage work. They took lots of the big roots that had been left from the tree service. They left my yard far better than they found it, & for that I am grateful! I noticed they also fixed a brick on my retaining wall that was no longer secured. This was something I didn't ask for, but they saw needed work & just did it. They are professionals & thought it was the right thing to do. Again, I'm so very happy I found Nicolas on Nextdoor, & I will highly recommend them!!

Description of Work
Drainage-Downspout burial

Category concrete repair, drain pipe

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/16/2022

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us. Definitely feels great to be able to fix your drainage problems and now you can rest and relax without thinking of any problems with rain water. Also was a great pleasure working with you on this project. If I can be of assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me Again thank you.
5.0

06/15/2022


Sarah R.

Nicolas laid a brick patio for us about six years ago. It developed a pronounced dip over years so I called him. He promptly came out and said he would make things right, no charge. His crew had to dig down about 3 feet before they discovered the unexpected/unforseen issue: a very large amount of potting soil underneath. They removed all the potting soil and - the bricks. We happily paid for sanding. Nicolas takes amazing pride in his craftsmanship, you can’t go wrong!!

Description of Work
Brick Patio

Category concrete repair, pavers, gravel, hardscaping, patios

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/15/2022