Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Mr Smokestack Chimney Service

Founded 2008 • With Angi since November 2008

4.8

(393) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5201 Fayetteville Rd

Raleigh, NC 27603

Description

Mr. Smokestack Chimney Service is a 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017 & 2018 Super Service Award Winner. Hi, my name is Robbie Markey, owner and operator of Mr Smokestack Chimney Service. Mr Smokestack Chimney Service is a CSIA (Chimney Safety Institute of America) certified company. We maintain an A+ with the BBB and we are extremely proud to state, we maintain a 5 STAR RATING on ALL online presence. We serve Raleigh and surrounding areas. Give us a call, you won't be sorry :-)......

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

04/08/2022


James M.

I have had them out twice for the same service to my gas fireplace only to be told that my equipment was not to code and needed to be reworked. After going through the process of having the building code enforcement of my town look over my unit and the gas lines they found it was in fact built to code. Mr. Smokestack still insist that it needs to be altered to meet todays code. Basically they are saying the building code official I spoke to doesn’t know what he is talking about and I need to spend money to come up to todays code to make them happy or more money, you decide. I would not recommend using them it could be a wast of your time and possibly more expensive than it needs to be if they are not happy with the code at the time your house was built. I would also like to say the technicians who came out were fine the problem lay with the supervisor who felt he knew better than the building code office. Once again beware should you have a older unit not built to todays code.

Description of Work
Service Gas Fireplace

Category fireplaces, gas logs

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Regardless of the fact that you’ve chosen to leave us a one star review, we do appreciate your feedback. Yes, we sent two of our certified technicians out on two separate occasions to assess and diagnose repairs needed for your gas fireplace. You were not charged on either occasion. Both technicians called out what they believed to be inadequate configuration for current code which is the way they have been trained to keep our customers safe. Following your two service appointments and multiple one star reviews, we did reach out to multiple municipalities to get their opinion of your gas fireplace configuration and our assessment of it. One chief inspector that we spoke with indicated that although he didn’t like it, stated it was not ideal, and would not keep it that way in his own home, would likely pass it off as acceptable which does tie in with what your local inspector did indicate to you. With that said, we elected as a company not to offer repairs based on current configuration due to the fact that we also don’t believe it is ideal and may not keep you and your family out of danger, and with good conscience elected not to offer our services, which is why we did not pursue any charges for our technician’s two visits. We do hope that you were able to secure a company that will work with your current configuration. Thanks again for your feedback. Take care. Sincerely, Mr. Smokestack Chimney Service
1.0

05/09/2021


Neal B.

I emailed them and they said that I needed to call. I did. I left a message because it was busy. No one ever called. I guess they did not want the business. Choosy. I called another service and also left a message. They called back and I made an appointment.

Description of Work
nothing. They never called back.

Category fireplaces

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Not quite sure what happened here but our apologies for not being able to properly serve you. I do see that we performed your gas service in February 2020 and would have liked to have been the company to continue that service in 2021. Our records indicate exactly what you outlined in that we received your email and asked you to call to set up an appointment due to our inability to schedule online at that time. My sincerest apologies for not getting back to you to schedule an appointment. We strive to provide outstanding customer service and appear to have dropped the ball with the scheduling of your appointment but we definitely don't pick and choose our clients. We are glad you were able to find a company to service your needs and hope to improve our communications in the future. Take care.
5.0

03/04/2021


Van B.

Great job service was fast and the technician explained what he was doing and took pictures.

Description of Work
Fireplace service

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces, gas logs

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words. We are proud of the commitment of our technicians to making our community understand their chimneys and fireplaces. The chimney is an area of the home that is often out of sight and mind. We are committed to continuous education and improvement for our technicians so that we can continue to provide superior service and knowledge to the Triangle.
3.0

03/04/2021


David R.

Technician arrived on site promptly spent about 15 minutes checking out the chimney, told me all the things that needed to be done to it. Then proceeded to tell me that he couldn't do any of them. Gave me the name and number of someone that could"do it on the side". It just didn't seem like they wanted to do any hard repairs.

Description of Work
Chimney repair needed

Category chimney repair

Service Provider Response

We have talked to the technician and we apologize that we could not be helpful enough for your situation. It is complex to have roof concerns, a painted chimney and masonry that is quite aged all together. It was our technicians intent to help you by providing resources that could work with all of these aspects versus simply trying to complete surface repairs on one of your two chimneys. We hope that you find a resource that can be a complete fix for your water concerns. However, we reserve the right to candidly inform the Triangle and its surrounding areas when we are not the right resource for a homeowner's repairs. There is a fine balance between accurate estimates that are comprehensive repairs and meeting client expectations. We do not paint chimneys and until we have a process for that specific repair, we reserve the right to walk away from any painted chimney that we determine we cannot stop the water penetration properly. Thank you for your feedback.
1.0

02/11/2021


Karen M.

Not available for over two months to schedule the work. Suggested if I got a maintenance contract I may be able to get in sooner if there was a cancellation. So I guess they do not need any new customers.

Description of Work
maintenance on gas fireplace

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], Not sure who you spoke with but perhaps have us mixed up with another company because we do not offer service contracts. I apologize we are booked out but we do not financially incentivize for faster appointments. During the burn season the aforementioned wait time is pretty much industry standard so we suggest preparing early for next season. Thanks and take care. Mr. Smokestack Chimney Service
2.0

12/22/2020


Alexander W.

Didn't have time to service my request. They should have told Angie's list they couldn't do anymore work. Maybe next year.

Description of Work
Repair has log fireplace

Category chimney sweep, fireplaces

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed], We're sorry that our schedule is booked out as it is as this is burn season and our busiest time of the year. We recommend service in the fall to assure your fireplace will be ready for winter season. Thanks again and sorry for any inconvenience. Sincerely, Mr. Smokestack Chimney Service
5.0

12/15/2020


Alice C.

No one ever responded so we found someone else.

Description of Work
fix gas log fireplace

Category gas logs

1.0

12/06/2020


Kurt M.

Zero response back from company after calling them.

Description of Work
Wanted chimney cleaned but they never called me back

Category chimney sweep

1.0

10/25/2020


Arthur M.

Poor and expensive result. After Mr. Smokestack inspected my brick roof chimney for a leak, they said the mortar had to be repointed in spots, and the the chimney waterproofed. The charge for the repointing was $1,450.18, which I paid after the work was allegedly done. I decided that I would postpone the waterproofing to see if I still had a leak after the mortar holes were filled. Well the chimney still leaked and my roofer checked the chimney and said all the holes were not all filled. I called Mr Smokestack's representative again and he told me the leak was because I never waterproofed the chimney and the charge to do that additional work would be $1,485. At that point I searched other chimney repair contractors and found one who inspected the chimney and said he would repoint the holes, waterproof the brick and waterproof the cap where he thought the leak may be coming from all for $1.200 total. The leak was repaired for that amount and not for the almost $3000 that Mr Smokestack would had wound up costing me.

Description of Work
Fix leak in chimney

Category animal removal

5.0

08/26/2020


Jerry S.

It was great & quick! Found a problem & solved it with ease!

Description of Work
Annual HVAC service & thermostat installation

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], Thank you for sharing your positive experience with our service technician. We're glad we were able to get your fireplace up an running!! Cheers!! Mr. Smokestack Chimney Service
5.0

03/23/2020


Bob S.

Excellent!!! Stephen cleaned the gas logs, the gas pilot light, and returned the unit to proper operations. Well done!!!

Description of Work
Repair gas fireplace that was not operating

Category fireplaces, gas logs

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed], Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We greatly appreciate the kind words for our technician and are glad we could return your unit to working order. Thanks again and we look forward to servicing your fireplace for general maintenance in the future.
5.0

02/08/2020


Laura D.

Great! He had weather cancellations and was able to come earlier. That was very helpful for my schedule! He was prompt, explained everything, was polite, friendly and informative. Scheduling a week earlier than the first business I called and significantly cheaper! Great business. I would definitely refer my friends to them. Thank you, Craig!

Description of Work
Natural Gas Fireplace Repair

Category fireplaces, gas logs

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us! We greatly appreciate that and are happy to have been able to get you in for an earlier service appointment!
5.0

01/01/2020


Willie B.

I was very pleased with the service and also cleaned the glass of the fireplace. Would definitely recommend.

Description of Work
Cleaned gas lines and readjusted log. Performed a series of testS and made recommendations for parts replacement in approximately 2 years.

Category fireplaces, gas logs

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us, we greatly appreciate that! Cheers! Mr Smokestack Chimney Service
5.0

12/04/2019


India W.

I am highly impressed with Mr. Smokestack Chimney's Service. They replied immediately to my correspondence, explained the process, scheduled an appointment, and contacted me when an earlier appointment became available. Each employee greeted me by Ms. W and always addressed me as "Ma'am." Steven, technician, arrived at the earlier part of my timeframe, politely greeted me, diagnosed the problems with my gas fireplace, and thoroughly explained how he was going to complete the maintenance. Steven was professional, ensured he covered his boots each time he entered/exited my home, and made sure he cleaned up his work area before departing. I HIGHLY recommend this awesome company!

Description of Work
Gas Fireplace needed to be cleaned and repaired

Category fireplaces

Service Provider Response

Hi Ms. [Member Name Removed], Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience in regards to our service and our technicians, we greatly appreciate that! We also appreciate your patience and willingness to wait for an appointment, as this is our busiest time of year and happy we were able to move you forward! We look forward to servicing your future fireplace and chimney needs! Happy Holidays! Mr Smokestack Chimney Service
1.0

11/28/2019


Jerry R.

Mr Smokestack Chimney Service never contacted me.

Description of Work
repair gas logs

Category chimney sweep, gas logs

Service Provider Response

Hello [Member Name Removed], Unfortunately, we were not in receipt of your request through Angie's List, however we do apologize, we would be more than happy to help you with servicing your gas logs. Kindly, Mr Smokestack Chimney Service
1.0

10/10/2019


lisa jill F.

No one ever responded to my inquiry

Description of Work
Needed routine gas logs cleaning and maintenance

Category chimney sweep

5.0

10/03/2019


Peggy V.

They arrived on time, were very courteous, did a thorough check of the entire system and cleaned everything. They put down a tarp in front of the fireplace to protect my floors and then vacuumed around it when they were done.

Description of Work
My gas logs needed servicing and a good cleaning.

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Hi [Member Name Removed]! Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us, we greatly appreciate that! Cheers! Mr Smokestack Chimney Service
5.0

09/10/2019


David P.

They were great! They even removed our old, outdated fireplace screen and carted it away. The cost for the cleaning was very reasonable. They provided a quote for additional repairs and services that seemed a bit high so we are still deciding if we want to get all the other work done.

Description of Work
chimney cleaning

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to share your experience with us! Cheers, Mr Smokestack Chimney Service
5.0

06/24/2019


Lawrence G.

The technicians did a great job repairing the stucco and upgraded the chimney structure. They also installed a gas-log insert that looks great. They were good at responding for my request for a quotation for the repair. That was better than the other chimney repair companies did. It took awhile to get on their schedule, but it was worth the wait.

Description of Work
The chimney needed repair.

Category chimney sweep, chimney caps, chimney repair, gas logs

1.0

12/20/2018


Mitra R.

It just worked for one day , we gave him calls but he never came back to fix it.

Description of Work
The pilot not working

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Good morning Mr. [Member Name Removed]. I most definitely understand your frustrations regarding utilizing a service company thats unresponsive sir, but unfortunately, in this case i believe you have the wrong service company. Upon looking your information up in our system/s Mr. [Member Name Removed], we were unable to find you in our Quickbooks, Calendar, Worksheets, Phone Logs, etc... Again, i completely understand your frustrations 'and i am sorry this happened to you', but it wasn't Mr Smokestack Chimney Service you contacted for your service sir. Happy holidays to you... Robbie Markey Owner/Operator Mr Smokestack Chimney Service
5.0

11/27/2018


Pamela N.

Very professional, knowledgeable and personable. Great service.

Description of Work
capped off the gas line, and removed the glass insert

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with our AngiesList viewers Miss [Member Name Removed], much appreciated.
5.0

10/22/2018


June B.

It went well, but there was a mismeasurement and the cap had to be refabricated, but they put a rush on it and got it in 2 days. Once the right sized one was installed, it worked perfectly with no leaks. Looks really nice, too. Great people to work with...owner on site for job.

Description of Work
Replacement of a leaking chimney cap

Category chimney sweep, chimney caps

Service Provider Response

We cant thank you enough for your review and positive feedback. We rarely miss a chase cover measurement, but sometimes accidents will happen or our distributor may have read the measurement incorrectly. Regardless, we are thrilled the water penetration has ended and look forward to servicing your fireplace for many years to come. Have a great day!
5.0

07/27/2018


Charlemae M.

Thorough, polite, professional, answered all my questions and reasonably priced. Very happy.

Description of Work
Chimney inspection

Category chimney sweep

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the amazing positive feedback and review, we truly appreciate it. We look forward to many years of friendship. Have a great day!
5.0

07/25/2018


Dino C.

Job went very well. Arrived on time. No fuss, no muss. Would hire again if needed.

Description of Work
Added new cement cap and cover to chimney. Cleaned and sealed chimney. Then cleaned the inside of the chimney.

Category chimney sweep, masonry, chimney caps, chimney repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your positive review and feedback, we truly appreciate it. We look forward to serving your fireplace/chimney again in the future. Have a great day!
5.0

07/24/2018


Meredith A.

Our tech was professional, called ahead of time to ask whether he could come early, and did a fantastic and quick job with the work. He even took the time to clean out the space under the dryer when we discovered it had been venting into the house! Would absolutely hire again. The office was also a pleasure to work with.

Description of Work
Dryer vent cleanout

Category dryer vent cleaning

Service Provider Response

We can't thank you enough for your business along with your positive review! We are thrilled you had a great experience with Mr Smokestack Chimney Service, and look forward to serving your dryer vent ( and fireplace if interested) for many years to come. Have great day!

    Other local Pros in your area

    Red Letter Roofing, Inc.

     

    VENCRETE LLC

    We strive in making you (our customer) a happy and loyal customer, we believe in the fact that actions speak louder than words. We can renovate or build your kitchen, bathroom, deck, siding, driveway & many more, making your vision a reality. We have certified professionals that will guarantee that the final product is up to your expectations.  

    Dryer Vent Wizard of Raleigh, Cary, Durham

    We are a locally owned business specializing in cleaning, installing and trouble-shooting dryer vents. We accept cash, checks, credit cards, and we will bill commercial accounts. In some cases we will finance the job accepting partial payment at the time we do the work and spreading the balance over one or two months for the remaining payments. Award winning. Additional fax - (252) 824-5241. Additional phone - (919) 581-5096 .  

    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    L.34313
    Trade License Locale
    North Carolina
    Trade License Authority
    North Carolina: Plumbers
    Trade License Expiration
    12/31/2022
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    2013 through 2018 Super Service Award Winner :-) Wood/Gas Chimney/Fireplace Inspections and Sweep/Cleaning, Chimney Repairs, Chimney Rebuilds, Chimney Cap Installations, Outdoor Fireplace Installations along with Indoor Fireplace Installations. We also specialize in re-facing/re-surfacing fireplaces along with application of all types of stone on the exterior of chimney structures. Mr Smokestack Chimney Service also takes pride in being a Regency and Buck Stove Wood-burning insert dealership.

    Services Not Offered

    Please Inquire

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Mr Smokestack Chimney Service

    How is Mr Smokestack Chimney Service overall rated?

    Mr Smokestack Chimney Service is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are Mr Smokestack Chimney Service open?

    Mr Smokestack Chimney Service is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Mr Smokestack Chimney Service provide

    Mr Smokestack Chimney Service accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does Mr Smokestack Chimney Service offer free estimates?

    Yes, Mr Smokestack Chimney Service offers free project estimates.

    Does Mr Smokestack Chimney Service offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Mr Smokestack Chimney Service does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Mr Smokestack Chimney Service offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Mr Smokestack Chimney Service offers a 5% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Mr Smokestack Chimney Service?

    Yes, Mr Smokestack Chimney Service offers warranties.

    What services does Mr Smokestack Chimney Service offer?

    Mr Smokestack Chimney Service offers the following services: 2013 through 2018 Super Service Award Winner :-) Wood/Gas Chimney/Fireplace Inspections and Sweep/Cleaning, Chimney Repairs, Chimney Rebuilds, Chimney Cap Installations, Outdoor Fireplace Installations along with Indoor Fireplace Installations. We also specialize in re-facing/re-surfacing fireplaces along with application of all types of stone on the exterior of chimney structures. Mr Smokestack Chimney Service also takes pride in being a Regency and Buck Stove Wood-burning insert dealership.

    Are there any services Mr Smokestack Chimney Service does not offer?

    Please Inquire