Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Michael & Son

Founded 1976 • With Angi since November 2011

4.5

(1155) Verified Reviews

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Wears MaskWears Mask
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing full services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
We will sanitize the workspace and all areas touched
We offer estimates and quotes using video calling
We accept remote payment
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Description

Michael & Son Services provides expert plumbing, electrical, heating & cooling service for residential customers. We offer 24/7 emergency service, financing options for any size job & pride ourselves on exemplary customer service. We are licensed, bonded & insured with over 35 years of experience behind us....

Other local Pros in your area

Professional Restoration Services, Inc.

When disaster occurs, and it always does when you least expect it, call Professional Restoration Services, your preferred insurance restoration specialist. We are a full-service contractor who will mange your loss and restoration project from start to finish with our award winning craftsmanship. PRS is here to serve you with the utmost courtesy and care. We believe in working with our clients in all aspects of the claims process to ensure that the restoration is handles properly the first time. We are a fully insured, North Carolina licensed general contractor serving the Triangle Area with 25 years experience. Within minutes of your call, our IICRC-certified technician will be dispatched to your home and most times, on site within the hour. PRS will work directly with your insurance adjusters to save you time and money. Our on-call technicians are available 24 hours and use the latest, state-of-the-art technology for a quick, thorough, and guaranteed remediation processes. Giving you peace of mind when it matters most.  

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020
Drain Designs

At Drain Designs, our goal is to double the healthy life of your home and landscaping by ensuring a proper, well maintained drainage system. We have over 30 years of experience in drainage & waterproofing detective work - design & installations - foundation and structural repair. Our systems prevent costly depreciation, structural damage and health concerns. Lifetime guaranteed, easy to test, PVC pipe systems, French Drains & our patented American Drains. Satisfaction is guaranteed! For more info, please call us at (919) 545-7771 or 1-800-DRAINAGE, or visit www.draindesigns.com.  

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020
Shamrock Waterproofing

Serving the Triangle area since 1992 Licensed and Insured. Residential and Commercial. Lowest Price Guaranteed. Interior and Exterior Systems. Lifetime Warranty FREE ESTIMATES  

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

01/25/2021


Lisa H.

Am not trying to be rude but anyone trying to hire this company for a job should cancel,first they sent someone to fix the toilet and at the end of the day the toilet was not fix and I paid $419 and the guy scheduled another appointment for someone else in the company to come fix it but guess what,the guy came and charge my company again $667for a stupid job and the toilet was not fixed properly,just to fixed a toilet we spent almost $1100 so I will tell you right now that they are the worst company ever.

Description of Work
Fixing the office toilet

Category appliance repair,plumbing

1.0

01/05/2021


Mohit B.

First of all, am not writing this review to put anyone down but sharing my experience with this 'reputed' company. Long story short - STAY AWAY FROM THEM! Now the long story. I had a gas smell coming from the attic yesterday morning and immediately called Dominion Energy who promptly came and shut off & locked the gas supply. Next task was the toughest to find a reliable service provider to diagnose the cause and fix it. Some of the names that were suggested were busy and did not have appointments available for the day. FB ads showed 'Michael & Son Service' with amazing reviews. Decided to call them and was able to get an appointment for the afternoon. A guy named BXXXX comes in at the opportune time. I explained him what had happened. The first thing he asked me was to go ahead and turn ON the gas supply & I was like - "are you serious"? (the Dominion Energy technician in the morning had told me that the HVAC person doesnt need to turn on gas and if he tries to do that he should not have got HVAC certification). When I told him that & also his certifications, he asked me to wait and get instructions from his supervisor. After making me wait for 45 mins he told me that I was right and it would 'air compression' test & blah blah blah (technical jargons) which would cost me $660 to diagnose the leak. While my intention was to get the job done, first, his lack of knowledge and second lack of confidence & crazy diagnosis charges ****** me off and I refused further service. Who knew how much they would have charged had I committed to go with them. After he left, I called back their customer service to complain for the time I wasted with them & to request a refund for the $74 'dispatch' fee but to no avail. Later I had conversation with their Customer Support Manager - Maurice Noori but again, to no avail. While $74 fee is no big deal, I firmly believe they should employ skilled technicians who know their jobs and provide confidence & trust to the customers that their issues will be solved with no issues WITH reasonable charges. Crazy fees coupled with inexperienced technicians would not make people happy especially in these trying & tough times. Update - Am happy to write that I was able to get the same job diagnosed and fixed for less than half that diagnosis fee from someone else (can share their number if you PM me) but once again, PLEASE STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY.

Description of Work
Gas leak in attic

Category gas leak repair

5.0

12/30/2020


Natalie B.

They were very responsive so we could get the water shut off as soon as possible. They were great to work with and we would highly recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
They pulled out insulation, drywall, ceiling, and dried everything out from major water damage. They also installed a tankless water heater in the past, and serviced my HVAC system .

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac,plumbing,water damage restoration,water heater repair

5.0

07/06/2020


Karen R.

They have been excellent and I have used them for the past 8 years. I would highly recommend them and I would definitely hire them again.

Description of Work
They installed an HVAC system and have serviced it. They have done plumbing, installed ceiling fans and put in wireless light switches.

Category electrician,heating & air conditioning/hvac,plumbing

1.0

11/28/2019


Shane W.

Ridiculously over priced. Charged almost $900 to clear out a clog in the main drain. In the past I have paid others a couple hundred dollars to correct. When agreeing to pay I understood it not only cleared the clog but fully clear the pipes out so I thought it would be worth it. Clog ended up being in a single spot about 2 feet down. Took them all of 10 seconds to clear it. Not exaggerating the time unfortunately. Took them longer to put their equipment away. Then he wanted to charge another $1700 to remove roots from the pipe. When I asked what the $900 was for guy said just to clear the clog and nothing else. Needless to say I declined anymore work from them. After the tech left went inside and flushed the toilet only to find the issue was not fixed, the drain was still clogged. When I called the tech back and explained the issue was not fixed he was very short and rude, saying needed to pay for the full repair. After challenging that the work I paid for of clearing the clog was not completed, he very disgruntly came back to clear the other direction of the drain which took another 10 seconds to complete. Guy didn't even came back to the door to say it was finally fixed, he called from his truck - very unprofessional. Strongly recommend avoiding. Either rent a drain cleaner for $60 at Home Depot to resolve the clog on your own and/or sign up for Duke Energys prevented sewer repair plan for only $6.99 per month. If you must hire someone, save yourself a lot of money and go elsewhere.

Description of Work
Clearing main drain

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

We are sorry for your concern if you need help please email maurice.noori@michaelandson.com
5.0

05/25/2018


Linda H.

We are very pleased with Michael & Son service..... especially with Brent who we always ask for to service our generator. We have used this company a few times for electrical work and have been extremely pleased with them being so knowledgeable, personable, punctual and accommodating.

Description of Work
This was a maintenance agreement service call on our new all house generator that we bought from Michael & Son in 2017.

Category electrician,generator service

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] family for the wonderful review, We are blessed to be able to serve amazing people every single day like yourselves !! Please call me at 703-658-1128 I want to be able to give you store credit for future use if that is ok with you.
3.0

05/21/2018


Michael N.

Friendly service, they're just overpriced and tried to up-sell me on a bunch of plumbing work.

Description of Work
water heater

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review. We cannot try to sell you plumbing work. There is either a need for the work or not. In your homes case you needed the work.
5.0

03/21/2018


Harry M.

There was an issue with a pipe that was installed without enough pitch, but they sent someone out to fix it right away. Very professional; a safe choice.

Description of Work
They replaced both my HVAC systems in one day.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Good Morning & thank you for the awesome review. You are very right we are a safe choice.
5.0

03/14/2018


erik L.

Although difficult to access, the problem was solved quickly and the solution was tested multiple times to ensure no return visit.

Description of Work
Plugged drain

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for allowing us to be your service provider, We take great pride in serving.
4.0

02/16/2018


Matthew G.

Woke up first thing in the morning to find my existing water heater overflowing from the top. Michael and Sons was the only plumber who could come to my house the same day. Repairman was knowledgeable and professional. Explained what needed to be done and explained options for different levels of replacement tank. I called my neighbor, who told me he had his replaced for around $1,500. The estimate for the work from M&S was nearly $2,600, including my Angie's List discount. Looking at the itemized list, this included $250 for installing a large yellow and black post in my garage to prevent running into the tank, $100 for the town of Cary permit for inspecting the work, and $200 in carbon monoxide detectors needed to past the inspection. None of this was "replacing the tank," but the tech would not start the work unless I agreed to all of it. When I realized the CO detectors were the $14.99 ones from Lowe's I managed to convince him that I would buy them myself and install them. Saved me a good amount. At the end of the day, I overpaid for this because I needed it fixed same day. The work was completed on time, and seems to be a very quality job. If needed, I'd have them do the work again, but I'd rather shop around for a better price.

Description of Work
Replace gas water heater in garage.

Category plumbing,water heater repair

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your honest review, We are happy that your concern was handled. I would be more than happy to look into the price for you to ensure that you are getting the best deal possible. I will call you today.

    Michael & Son

    Founded 1976 • With Angi since November 2011

    4.5

    (1155) Verified Reviews

    Business Details

    Phone Number

    Address

    4001 Atlantic Ave

    Raleigh, NC 27604

    Services Offered

    Drain & Pipe Cleaning, Rooter Service, Garbage Disposal Repair & Replacement, Toilet Repair & Replacement, Water Heater, Water & Sewer Lines, Electrical, HVAC, Heating & Furnaces, Central Air & Light Commercial Electrical Services, Septic Pumping

    Services Not Offered

    Drywall Repair & Handyman Services.

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes