Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

JHR Custom Cabinets

Founded 2004 • With Angi since October 2012

4.7

(145) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

2840 S Wilmington St

Raleigh, NC 27603

Description

JHR Custom Cabinets has over 15 years of experience in the Triangle area. We're dedicated to customer satisfaction and are passionate about what we do. We are committed to excellence.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

01/16/2020


Susan B.

I would highly recommend Jose Ramirez of JHR Custom Cabinets. His attention to detail is amazing and his recommendations are spot on!! I would recommend him to everyone. He and his staff were wonderful to work with and they got to know me on a personal level.

Description of Work
A build in bookcase

Category custom cabinets, woodworking

5.0

04/12/2019


Colleen A.

Excellent! Jose and his men were very professional, prompt, and meticulous. The job was completed in a timely manner and it looks like a new kitchen! I would highly recommend this company!

Description of Work
New cabinet doors, drawer boxes and painting

Category custom cabinets, woodworking, interior painters, cabinet refacing

5.0

02/06/2019


Stan G.

I thoroughly enjoyed working with the folks at JHR. They communicated well, were open to discussing options with me, and adjusted the design when my preferences changed. They delivered the island to my garage ahead of schedule and made a second trip to install the island. I am very pleased with the quality of the work and believe I paid less than I would have at other companies. I would use them again and will recommend them to my friends.

Description of Work
JHR built a custom island

Category custom cabinets, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We appreciate your review Mr. Gaver! Trusting a company you hire for the first time, it may be a little hard but I am happy to know you did and that you were content with the final product.
5.0

07/02/2018


Laurel H.

These guys were awesome. At first a team was sent that obviously didn't know what they were doing. But they were fired within a day or two, and a new team was sent that began from the beginning, powerwashing the house. They found a number of rotten wood issues which they addressed, removing the rotten wood and replacing it, then painting it. They even removed the glass from a deck door that was rotten so they could reuse it. /They built a custom door around it, brought it back, and installed it. Their painting job is great. Everything looks wonderful. Unfortunately, they did put the wrong weather stripping on one door which we are having removed and replaced, but I would certainly recommend this company again.

Description of Work
painting the trim on our brick house

Category woodworking

Service Provider Response

Thank you for this awesome review! We appreciated your patience throughout the project and understanding that the first team we had sent was new and unfortunately we were not aware of there poor workmanship. We are happy that our second crew met your needs and did a great job! Thanks again!
5.0

02/19/2018


Mandi B.

JHR did a great job removing the walls and fixing the floor, sheetrock and molding. They arrived on time and kept our house as clean as possible during the remodel. Finished the job quickly! We are extremely pleased.

Description of Work
We had two walls removed

Category drywall, electrician, flooring contractor, picture framing, remodeling, woodworking, interior painters

Service Provider Response

It has been a pleasure working with you Mr. [Member Name Removed], we thank you for allowing us to help throughout your remodeling project and also for the great review! We appreciate you being a great costumer!
5.0

02/07/2018


Will T.

Jose, Cinthya, and Oscar make a great team. They took a difficult kitchen cabinetry tasks that other contractors weren't sure about getting into and they did a great job at a reasonable price. I have used them two times now and both times they get a great result very professional and a reasonable price. I got a massive refrigerator they were able to trim out kitchen cabinetry to give the space needed to be able to reset the door jam. Very easy going to work with too :-) kind of fun actually, A+ experience highly recommend!

Description of Work
Needed Kitchen Cabinets reshaped to allow room for bigger new Refrigerator

Category woodworking, cabinet refacing

Service Provider Response

Thank you! We are happy to have been able to help in this modification task. Oscar and his helper are thankful for the tip (; We appreciate your trust!
5.0

01/29/2018


Jeff C.

Perfectly. I had a nightmare experience with another contractor I hired on Thumbtack and this couldn't have been more different. All workers showed up when they said they would and the job was completed on time and on budget. Very friendly. Very professional. I will absolutely contact them for future jobs.

Description of Work
They removed ceiling mounted kitchen cabinets, repaired the ceiling, installed a new stove vent and rebuilt one of the kitchen cabinets .

Category custom cabinets, contractors, drywall, handyman service, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, cabinet refacing, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the positive review and for allowing our JHR team to show you their abilities and skills. Enjoy your kitchen modification, it's been a pleasure!
5.0

11/30/2017


Monica S.

I was extremely pleased with the professionalism of this company. The final price paid came in very close to the original quote. The quality of the work is impeccable. They came when they said they would and did exactly what they said they would do. Jose was very knowledgeable regarding what would work on my specific cabinets and what would not. They built replacement drawers for my cabinets to replace the original ones and they look great. They also built panels to go on my peninsula which gives the illusion of more doors. This small touch elevated the look of my kitchen and was suggested by Jose. Everyone I spoke with at this company was pleasant and helpful. I would definitely hire this company again to do more work for me and I would recommend them to anyone looking to have similar work done.

Description of Work
I hired JHR Contracting to paint my existing kitchen cabinets, and replace my old counter top with granite and replace the old sink and range hood.

Category custom cabinets, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters, cabinet refacing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for such a great review! It was a pleasure working with you, we are content to see our hard work reflected on a final product like your kitchen. We thank you also for trusting our company and allowing us to serve you, we will more then happy to work with you in future projects! Enjoy your kitchen & Happy Holidays! Sincerely, JHR Contractors & Cinthya
5.0

10/10/2017


Ken G.

Great! The owner visited my home to give me a detailed estimate. The job came in on schedule and on budget. The quality of the work is terrific. His various employees treated my home as if it was their own (booties, floor coverings etc.) The guys were very nice, personable, I enjoyed their company and appreciate their work. Found them based on Angie's List's prior reviews. Worked out perfectly!

Description of Work
New home but wanted some additional work performed before moving in. Had two built-in, custom bookcases built and installed. Also had a number of other, labor intensive enhancements made. All done to my complete satisfaction.

Category custom cabinets, decks, electrician, glass repair, woodworking, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for [Member Information Removed] review! We appreciate your business and it was [Member Information Removed] pleasure taking care of your project. Which I fell in love with [Member Information Removed] bookcase, great choice! We look forward working with you soon! Thank you for your trust! Best regards, JHR Contractors
5.0

10/05/2017


Mary S.

Went very well, very satisfied with their work, very professional and courteous, would recommend them.

Description of Work
porch railing painted

Category house painters

5.0

08/01/2017


myke B.

Exceptionally well! They did a professional job quicker than expected. The work crews were prompt, cordial and highly professional in their work. They did extra on top of what was needed to make the finish work look better. I would use them again anytime. I highly recommend JHR Contractors.

Description of Work
Handyman carpentry, painting of kitchen cabinets, laying down vinyl flooring.

Category flooring contractor, handyman service, woodworking, interior painters

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure to serve you, Thank you for allowing us into your house. JHR has great gratitude for your review! Best regards!
1.0

05/27/2017


ZACHARY L.

Was almost an hour late for an estimate appointment. Was very vague and non communicative throughout the process. Did not follow up with actual estimate.

Description of Work
Interior painting and patchwork

Category interior painters

5.0

05/26/2017


Sacha P.

Fantastic! JHR were extremely prompt and very fairly-priced; they quoted us 2-3 days and had the entire basement drywall replaced and ready-to-paint in just 2 days. JHR were great at keeping me posted throughout the process (I was away from my home at the time) and the quality of the work was very good. I would definitely hire JHR again - special thanks to Angelica and Jose, you guys are great!

Description of Work
Replace rotted timbers & drywall, mud/tape/finish ready for paint in a large downstairs basement.

Category drywall, picture framing, remodeling, woodworking, basement remodeling

5.0

04/18/2017


Barbara T.

It went great. I am completely satisfied with the quality of the cabinets and all the work done in the kitchen, including hanging new lighting, moving electrical outlets, building custom cabinets around a double wall oven, etc..Shaker style soft close cabinets were not extra money. Our cabinets were extended up to the ceiling, giving us a lot more storage space. I had already picked the floor and Jose the owner helped me pick out the perfect cabinet color to match, helped us pick countertop and backsplash. Many of his subcontractors have other jobs so it did take awhile to finish the kitchen--almost 2 months--but it was worth it. And our main contact person, Jorbick, was wonderful to work with. Anything that wasn't right was immediately corrected. They insist on perfection. We left the door unlocked if we weren't going to be home and there was never a speck of a mess left or anything out of order. His subcontractors were willing to work weekends.

Description of Work
Our kitchen had a leak and an entire row of lower cabinets needed to be replaced. I called several people recommended to me but they were all busy until 3 months later. So I looked on Angie's list and picked JHR from its good reviews. They were immediately interested in doing the work! I was thrilled. Their estimate to redo all the cabinets was not that much more than to replace only the damaged bank of cabinets so we decided to do the whole kitchen over. We needed demolition of old cabinets and countertop, repair to damaged wall and floor, installation of new cabinets and quartz countertop and stainless steel sink, plumbing and electrical work, painting everything including the pantry and the washer/dryer room and the ceiling, and put up new backsplash.

Category custom cabinets, contractors, drywall, electrician, plumbing, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

03/29/2017


Francisco D.

The work and the interaction was very professional.

Description of Work
House siding.

Category siding, woodworking

5.0

01/10/2017


Baverly G.

The subcontractors who installed the cabinetry and the new flooring, painted, and did electrical work were professional, courteous, and very thorough throughout the entire process. We've never experienced anything less than excellence from Mr. Ramirez and his staff. This is the 4th project that JHR Contractors have completed for us and we've NEVER had a problem with them. We highly recommend this company to anyone who is looking for a company that provides solid, professional, reasonably-priced service.

Description of Work
Remodeled a room in our home into an office. All cabinetry and woodwork were custom-built by the contractor, who did an OUTSTANDING job.

Category custom cabinets, flooring contractor, remodeling, woodworking, interior painters

5.0

12/12/2016


Katherine D.

Why am I reviewing them? Because I appreciate prompt service and honesty, particularly when it was a clear that I was not going to be a customer. So 3 cheers for JHR and their professionalism. In the future, I will definitely contact them when I need carpentry work.

Description of Work
I needed a repair on the sheet metal for my garage door frame and the brick foundation next to to it (apparently I need to improve my backward driving skills). I emailed JHR on a Monday morning for a quote. They got back to me in 5 minutes and let me know that they did not specialize in the kind of work I needed and so they would be unable to help me.

Category masonry, siding

5.0

11/30/2016


Maggie S.

The job went great! JHR came out promptly to provide the quote and was working on the job within a week. It only took 1 day and even though we knew there was risk that the repair might show a little bit, we can't even tell where the repairs were made. They put 2 coats of paint on the ceiling (which some contractors don't do), and it looks fantastic. This is the second time we've hired JHR, because they did such a wonderful job replacing our kitchen & bathroom cabinet doors and drawers and refinishing the cabinet boxes. They will be our "go-to" for any of our needs like these in the future. They were polite, professional and did what they said they were going to do--actually over and above. We have no hesitation in recommending them.

Description of Work
Repair sheetrock in kitchen where large fluorescent light had been removed and paint kitchen/hall ceiling.

Category drywall, interior painters

5.0

11/08/2016


Brad I.

Jose and his crew were great with communication, promptness and cost. The job was completed quickly and satisfactorily.

Description of Work
Built-ins on both sides of fireplace, bench area in utility room

Category custom cabinets, woodworking

5.0

11/01/2016


Maggie S.

We were having a lot of difficulty finding someone to replace our kitchen and powder room cabinet doors and drawers, and paint the existing cabinet boxes. Most folks we talked to either said they couldn’t do the work, or wanted to do a whole refacing job at a price we just couldn’t afford. Through Angie’s List, we found JHR and were impressed with the reviews, so contacted them. They were in touch within a day or two, and a meeting was set up during the next week. They looked at the scope of the job, made recommendations as to the best approach, and took measurements. They started working on the doors and drawers right away at the shop, and while this was going on, sanded and sprayed the cabinet boxes. They use lacquer for all their cabinet work, and I have to say that it looks fabulous! They took meticulous care to sheet everything, I mean everything, off, including the ceiling, windows and, basically, anything that wasn’t being sprayed. This part of the work was done in one day. A couple of days later, they installed the doors and new drawers, along with the new cabinet hardware that we had ordered online. In addition, they removed our old stove vent, which turned out to be a much more complicated process than they had anticipated, because the original construction didn’t even send the vent air outside! So, they rerouted everything the way it was supposed to be, and didn’t charge additional for that—which was very much appreciated. They then installed the new stove vent which we had also purchased online. We had left a new light (in a box) for over the kitchen sink in the room, and although it was not part of the job, they removed the old fluorescent light and installed the new one, again at no additional charge. I have done stripping, painting, staining, refinishing work myself, so am very particular about finished products. There were a few minor things that required three short trips to the house to fix, and all were fixed to our satisfaction within a few days of our notifying JHR. They were very accommodating and easy to work with on these issues. We are extremely pleased with the way our “new” cabinets look! They also fixed a wood gate in our yard that was sticking—not a written part of the job or estimate, but fixed nicely nonetheless! Jorbick and Jose were very easy to communicate with, and very helpful and pleasant. They said they don't want to be a one-job company for their customers--they do quality work so that their customers will be repeat customers—and we can assure you that we will call upon them again for any similar (or smaller) homeowner jobs we need done. (Once we paint the kitchen, we will submit before-and-after photos.)

Description of Work
Change kitchen and bath cabinet doors and drawers (also made quiet self-closing), paint cabinet boxes, install new door and drawer hardware, remove old and install new stove vent hood, fix outside wooden gate that was sticking.

Category custom cabinets, handyman service, woodworking, cabinet refacing

5.0

10/21/2016


Michele S.

From the time I contacted JHR, I knew had was in good hands. Jose and Jorbick were very attentive to my kitchen needs, ideas and were very patient with me even when I wanted to make changes. The timelines they promised were met. From the initial measuring to the guys showing up to do the install, everything went very smoothly. I am beyond pleased with my new kitchen as well as the customer service I received. I will alway recommend JHR and plan to contact them again for my next home project!! JHR Carpentry, Painting and Contractors ROCKS!!!

Description of Work
My kitchen was in need of a complete makeover. From the popcorn ceilings to the old style vinyl flooring.

Category custom cabinets, flooring contractor, plumbing, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

07/27/2016


Sean R.

No issues from start to finish. Owner and his employees were all very nice, easy to deal with and punctual. The pieces they built for us look like they were included in the original construction of the home.

Description of Work
Custom built-in bookshelves around living room fireplace and custom built-in toy box.

Category woodworking

5.0

07/25/2016


Lynn F.

They did an excellent job at a very good price. The workers were professional and did excellent work. The finished product was great and the work space cleaned up completely.

Description of Work
Construct a built in bookshelf and cabinet in my living room

Category custom cabinets, woodworking

5.0

06/16/2016


DEBORAH J.

Arturo and Fernando and their team were timely and professional and kind. They were communicative and let me know what they were doing. They arrived early and worked steadily til the job was done. Jose was available, and came by to assist with working with the weird angles in the foyer. Exceptional painting - no drip. Corners are tight, great cutting. It looks great and I am pleased with the work performance.

Description of Work
Installed crown trim in 3 bedrooms and an awkward foyer with high ceilings and weird angles. Applied caulk, putty, and two coats of paint on all; cleaned and painted walls that got dirty or scuffed. Replaced furniture and dusted off furniture from ceiling and sawdust debride.

Category woodworking

5.0

03/02/2016


Andi S.

The end product is amazing. I contacted JHR and Jose came out immediately to look at the project and sent me an estimate the same day. I signed the contract and although it was a bit of hit and miss with communication and a few cancelled appointments, when the project was finally complete I'm very satisfied.

Description of Work
Built custom cabinets for laundry room and repaired a window sill.

Category custom cabinets, woodworking

    Other local Pros in your area

    Sunnydale Electric North Carolina

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    East Coast Concrete Raising

    We specialize in concrete leveling services and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    AMC Concrete

    AMC Concrete specializes in pouring concrete, making stamped, and decorative works in your sidewalks, driveways, porches, and especially patios. AMC has been in this line of work for one and half decades. We are an owner-operated business.  

    Angi Certified

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, Check, PayPal
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Costume Cabinets, Carpentry, Painting, Additions, Interior & Exterior, House Remodeling, Wood Floor Installation, Pressure Washing & Residential Cleaning.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about JHR Custom Cabinets

    How is JHR Custom Cabinets overall rated?

    JHR Custom Cabinets is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are JHR Custom Cabinets open?

    JHR Custom Cabinets is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does JHR Custom Cabinets provide

    JHR Custom Cabinets accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, Check, PayPal

    Does JHR Custom Cabinets offer free estimates?

    Yes, JHR Custom Cabinets offers free project estimates.

    Does JHR Custom Cabinets offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, JHR Custom Cabinets does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by JHR Custom Cabinets?

    Yes, JHR Custom Cabinets offers warranties.

    What services does JHR Custom Cabinets offer?

    JHR Custom Cabinets offers the following services: Costume Cabinets, Carpentry, Painting, Additions, Interior & Exterior, House Remodeling, Wood Floor Installation, Pressure Washing & Residential Cleaning.