COVID-19 Update
We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

Health & Safety Measures

We will wear masks and gloves when we visit your home
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

High Tech Home Warranties

Founded 2008 • With Angi since January 2012

4.3

(55) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

315 Hubert St

Raleigh, NC 27603

Description

We are a one stop shop for all your home warranty needs. Our upbeat and friendly support team is always at your fingertips to respond to questions about your warranty 365 days a year! Emergency claims will be addressed within 24 hours from time claim is submitted and non-emergency claims will be addressed within 48 hours Monday - Friday 8:30 am - 6:00 pm. During nights and weekends non-emergency claims will not receive a call back until the next business day. Our service call deductibles range from $65 - $75....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

01/03/2021


Debra C.

They told me it was a covered repair and to get the work done and submit invoice and they would reimburse us. We got it done and submitted the invoice. After 3 months of constant follow up they covered part of the parts charge and none of the labor. Then, following up again, they responded with, WE ARE CLOSING THE BUSINESS.

Description of Work
Water Pressure Regulator

Category appliance repair

Service Provider Response

Mrs [Member Name Removed] this is Keith Fennell I worked with you and your husband with many claims before. I'm not sure what happened but I would love to speak with you as Our management team is back in place. Our company is open and if you would like to discuss the previous claim feel free to contact me @ htwarranties@gmail.com. I would love to hear the full story Keith
1.0

08/27/2018


marc G.

I had a bad computer board in my oven. they said they would not cover it because they found a roach. This is Florida we have some roaches. i do not have a bug problem. It has nothing to do with a bad computer board. This company looks for a way to deny claims. i had one other claim and they tried to deny it as well. Save yourself some agravation and stay away. They must post their own positive reviews. They took my $65.00 fee and did nothing

Description of Work
repair oven

Category appliance repair, home warranty companies

Service Provider Response

Mr. [Member Name Removed] we are very sorry that you are upset, however we must adhere to the terms and conditions that you agreed to when you purchased the home warranty. Which clearly states we do not cover appliance repairs/damages due to insect infestations. Our independent contractor who diagnosed the issue (see diagnostic report below) cleaned out all the roaches and grease build up that caused the circuit board not to function properly. Prior to this claim you were satisfied with our services; you recently added pool coverage. This negative comment is nothing more than attempt to get us to pay for a claim that is not covered. You've since cancelled your policy and we have refunded the $50 monthly payment to your account. Contractor's report: Arrived onsite, pulled out oven, found moderate corrosion on power plug and outlet, found grease buildup along right side and underneath unit. Opened up rear control panel to find roach excrement and damaged control board. Control board cleaned with isopropyl alcohol. Power board undamaged. Home owner killed live roaches during my visit. Range functioning again, but voltage regulator on control board is not functioning properly leading to control browning out, unit considered jury rigged until repair can be completed. Model #PB975ST1SS Serial#G2241290Q Sincerely, Adrian J Bowen Adrian's Appliance Repair
5.0

12/08/2017


Robert W.

Great! recent signed for Home Warranty.

Description of Work
Home Warranty

Category home warranty companies

5.0

07/04/2017


JUAN P.

Excellent service prompt reaponse. Cobered under warranty, with required deductible.

Description of Work
Refrigerator, hot water heater and HVAC

Category appliance repair, heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, water heater repair, home warranty companies

5.0

04/26/2017


David W.

It was completed very quickly & the warranty service paid the contractor who did the work.

Description of Work
after joining the warranty service Broken shutters on front of house

Category home warranty companies

5.0

03/13/2017


Jason B.

When the oven broke, Hi Tech got a technician out with a couple hours to look at things. The tech was unable to fix it within a time frame that Hi Tech felt was fast enough so to make sure I wasn't without an oven they simply ordered me a new one. What more can you ask for? There was no "we need to order parts" or "we need to get another tech out who maybe knows more about this model." None of that. They couldn't fix it on the first trip so let's order a new one, take care of the customer, and the contractor can refurbish the original oven on his own time and do with it as he needs. Every time I've contacted Hi Tech they have moved mountains to make sure I'm taken care of...even in cases where their warranty didn't cover whatever was going on they have helped negotiate lower prices and have helped coordinate routine maintenance. This is a big issue that I think a lot of people take for granted. Hi Tech, like any home warranty company, is NOT responsible for routine maintenance. We as homeowners have to take care of our homes, appliances, water heaters, HVAC systems etc. We can't expect Hi Tech to fix issues that are a result of our own lack of maintenance. We have to do our part and I have been incredibly grateful for Hi Tech's willingness to help coordinate that routine service. When it's time to have my HVAC system looked at, I call Hi Tech and they coordinate a service visit. I pay a preferred rate to the contractor and I know that I'm doing my part under the warranty to ensure that if issues do arise I'm covered. There was one issue that was not covered under the warranty because I had not had my HVAC inspected in over a year. In that case, Hi Tech worked with the contractor to 1. get out to my house IMMEDIATELY to address the major issue 2. work with me and the contractor to ensure I was paying the lowest possible price. I've never had a warranty company advocate for me in this way. Most of the time if something isn't covered you get a "sorry we can't help you" kind of response and that's the end of that. Then we're on our own to find a repairman and deal with whatever comes. Not so with Hi Tech. They are with me every step of the way, on the phone coordinating everything between me and the contractors. Of all the companies out there I have found Hi Tech to be the easiest to deal with, the most straightforward and professional, and who have the nicest, hardworking contractors. They even provide a plan that includes basic issues related to the exterior of the home, another plus that distinguishes them from other companies. Again though, don't expect them to replace your roof for you. That's not what they do but if you're maintaining things and you have a covered issue, there will be no problems in working with Hi Tech to address whatever is going on. If it's not covered, expect them to go the extra mile to make sure you get what you need done by honest people you can trust.

Description of Work
I've been with Hi Tech for over a year now and I don't suspect I'll ever switch to another home warranty company. I've had two others before signing up with Hi Tech and the difference is astounding. They are honest, hard-working, very communicative, and straightforward with how their service works. Other home warranty companies were a nightmare to work with. It was difficult to contact them, their contractors seemed shady or disinterested but the folks at Hi Tech have established great relationships with some really nice contractors that have been a pleasure to have in my home. When I signed up for Hi Tech and had a few questions about limitations and coverage I actually received a call from one of the managers, Keith, who explained everything perfectly. Over the time that I've been a client he and I have established a very nice rapport and I truly appreciate Hi Tech's honesty and response time. They've helped with an oven going bad, which they ended up replacing outright with a brand new one and they helped with a major air conditioning leak. Again, response time is incredible.

Category appliance repair, heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, home warranty companies

5.0

01/25/2017


Amalia R.

All was repaired and updated. Work was EXTREMELY prompt, professional, well priced, and beautifully done. I HIGHLY recommend High Tech.

Description of Work
HVAC, leaking toilets, broken disposal, leaking roof, outdated kitchen, leaking gutters

Category appliance repair, ceramic tile, flooring contractor, heating & air conditioning/hvac, home inspection, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, water heater repair, home warranty companies, home remodeling, house painters, interior painters

1.0

10/05/2015


Aaron M.

At the time of writing this review, I notice that there is another bad experience and we are barely finished with the first week of the month. I have been a client with HT Warranty for 5 months due to Angie's List recommendation. However, had an issue with Air Conditoning prior to the weekend. HT Warranty was sent an emergency email. (Hyperlink is not a form, only an email). Has been an ongoing issue for over 7 months with the hyperlink according to spokes person. I felt insecure about the email being delivered, so I called the number listed and was forwarded to voice mail for a person named Theresa. This person sent a text, for me to call another number, which I did. This message was the same voice mail for Theresa and I left about 3 messages; the last stating I was very uncomfortable leaving a message with a calling service that uses first names instead of company names. After about 4 hours of calling; I received a call stating a contractor would call within the next day or two. The contractor arrived, I paid $290 for Freon which was not covered. However, when I looked in my files, I had sent a copy of the inspection report done one month prior to taking services with HT. Bottom Line, I could not get a straight answer on how much HT would provide to cover the monetary costs of replacing a unit should it come to that. The gentleman who I last talked to stated that, "HT did not have enough of my money invested to warrant paying for a complete replacement". Being said that they could not quantify an amount other than possible about $400 to replace a $5000 dollar unit, I elected to discontinue giving them anymore of my money. If they could not guarantee more than 10% of the costs to replace this item, I am only surmising that they would pay even less if any to replace a washer/dryer, or any other item that cost significantly less than an Air conditioning unit. If you use these guys you are on your own. I imagine that this review will probably be met with "... There are two sides to each story". However, take a look at the majority of issues by members. There are more complaints than kudos. Buyer beware.

Description of Work
Air Conditioning repair.

Category appliance repair, home warranty companies

Service Provider Response

We're sorry it took so long to respond to this review! But, we didn't want this review to go unanswered. After reading your review I thought to myself, you have to be kidding! I would never write a review based on fraud and deceit. I will prove to you, Angies List Corporate, and other members how you flat out lied! Your review stated that you had been with our company for 5 months which is TOTALLY not true! On July 31, 2015 you got an ON LINE QUOTE and then on August 12, 2015 you signed up ON LINE at which time your coverage started on September 12, 2015 It shows in our invoice Autobiography that you viewed the written invoice which serves as your policy! You actually disregarded the invoice and signed up online through the website. Which was fine, but the only way to check out on the site is to agree to the Terms and Conditions. All the other jargon about hyperlinks and 7 months of anything is you just blowing hot air! Please see the invoice and your invoice autobiography. Invoice: 5893 High Tech Home Warranties PO Box 1484 Jasper GA 30143 Aaron Michaelian (Platinum Plan + W/D) 5200201529 Aaron Michaelian 14211 Before Dawn San Antonio TX 78248 INVOICE # 5893 INVOICE Date July 31, 2015 Balance Due (USD) $0.00 Item Description Unit Cost Quantity Line Total Account/Policy number When emailing or calling customer service you can simply state your first and last name. One of our customer service agents will take care of any concerns you may have! Your account number is 5200201529. 0.00 0 0.00 Platinum Plan 33 What's Covered? (1)AC/Heating system, Electrical System, Plumbing System, Plumbing Stops, Water Heater, Range/Oven Stove, Built-In Microwave, Cooktop, Refrigerator, Dishwasher, Garbage Disposal, Ceiling Fans, Duct Work, Garage Door Opener 33.00 1 33.00 Washer/Dryer Per Month Optional Washer & Dryer Coverage Per Month 5.00 1 5.00 Discount Angies List 10% Your plan has been reduced 10% for being a member on Angie's List (see discount amount at bottom of invoice). 0.00 1 0.00 What's Not Covered 2015-2016 For what's not covered please see our Terms and Conditions at http://www.htwarranties.com/terms-and-conditions.pdf which are in PDF (Picture Document Format) that can be printed, bookmarked, or downloaded to your computer for future reference! 0.00 1 0.00 Coverage - Monthly Coverage will begin on September 12, 2015 and will continue as long as monthly payments are received and terms and conditions are met. 0.00 1 0.00 Cancellation Please refer to terms and conditions on pages 10-12 or click on this link http://www.htwarranties.com/terms-and-conditions.pdf 0.00 1 0.00 Claims For claims 24/7 call 1-855-278-1312 Ext 3 or you may go online and make a claim at http://www.htwarranties.com/claims.php 0.00 1 0.00 Deductible 60 Service call fee is $60 when making a claim. 60.00 0 0.00 Monthly Invoice You will receive a monthly invoice on the 27th of every month. The invoice is a computer generated invoice and will repeat every month beginning September 27, 2015. 0.00 0 0.00 Payments Payments are due on the 1st of the month following your invoice. There is a $5.00 late fee on all payments made after the 6th of every month. 0.00 1 0.00 By paying this invoice You agree to the terms and conditions of High Tech Home Warranties http://www.htwarranties.com/terms-and-conditions.pdf 0.00 1 0.00 By paying this invoice online, by phone or mail By paying this invoice online, by phone or mail you agree that all items covered in the plan stated above are in good working condition and, at the time of the payment, there are no known pre existing conditions at your home. 0.00 0 0.00 Our commitment to you We truly value your business, if you are in an emergency situation and our contractors some how are not able to come out! You are allowed to call a company of choice and we will extend our credit card over to you! We just need to talk with the contractor to authorize him to do the work. This is not normal but an option for comfort! 0.00 1 0.00 Home Improvement Reward As a member, your reward is the guaranteed best price on any home improvement project you might have in your home. We will insure you the best quote. 0.00 1 0.00 We are green friendly Going green can help you save our earths natural resources. This can increase your net income every month by at least 10%. 0.00 0 0.00 Inspection We reserve the right to inspect your home within 30 days after the purchase of policy. There is no charge for inspection. 0.00 1 0.00 Terms and Conditions 1 Please click this link for the terms and conditions in PDF format. http://www.htwarranties.com/terms-and-conditions.pdf 0.00 1 0.00 Note to client Before coverage goes into effect, we will need a maintenance service record on your HVAC system. Most tune ups are very reasonable and they will provide a make, model and serial number along with their report on system for future reference. 0.00 1 0.00 Subtotal 38.00 Discount - 10% -3.80 Total 34.20 Amount Paid -34.20 Balance Due (USD) $0.00 Terms Please see our Terms and Conditions at www.htwarranties.com. Once you are on our home page, please click on the about us page there you will see our Terms & Conditions, FAQs, and our Brochure to the right. For any other questions call us at 1-855-278-1312 Ext 1 or you can email us at customerservice@htwarranties.com Thank you, Customer Service Notes Welcome To High Tech Home Warranties. We Value Your Business!! Invoice Autobiography 1. Viewed 02 Oct 2015, 4:35 PM Viewed by Aaron Michaelian. 2. Viewed 26 Aug 2015, 6:29 PM Viewed by Aaron Michaelian. 3. Viewed 26 Aug 2015, 6:26 PM Viewed by Aaron Michaelian. 4. Sent 13 Aug 2015, 2:32 PM Sent via e-mail to Aaron Michaelian by you for $34.20 USD . 5. Updated 13 Aug 2015, 2:31 PM Updated by you to $34.20 USD . 6. Payment 13 Aug 2015, 2:26 PM Payment added by you. $34.20 of $34.20 USD is paid. View payments. 7. Viewed 31 Jul 2015, 7:06 PM Viewed by Aaron Michaelian. 8. Viewed 31 Jul 2015, 6:59 PM Viewed by Aaron Michaelian. 9. Sent 31 Jul 2015, 4:35 PM Sent via e-mail to Aaron Michaelian by Theresa Meroney for $34.20 USD . 10. Created 31 Jul 2015, 4:35 PM Created by Theresa Meroney. I want to show how in your second paragraph you lied, really it's all in black and white! When we have a new sign up we request that you have your HVAC unit maintenance completed! Reason 1 safety, in some parts of the United States homeowners have furnaces and we do not want to be a 3rd party in a Carbon monoxide situation in the home! Reason 2, if your drain lines are stopped up in your unit and you don't have a switch under the bottom telling the unit to shut down it can flood the home (if you have the unit in the residence). Reason 3, it arms you with a way to hold High Tech Home Warranties accountable for what we say we cover! Lastly, servicing your unit can reduce the cost of your energy bills saving you 7 to 8 percent annually. In your case you told me that you had your unit serviced in April or May which may be true! You also told me they put 2 or 3 pounds of Freon in the unit! Which told me you had a leaking evaporator coil. High Tech Home Warranties does not cover Freon or leaking evaporator coils for that very reason. People, like you, sign up knowing they have a problem long before you purchase a plan. Some people honestly do not know, in your case you did! You did send in paperwork work not sure if you made a mistake or not but it wasn't for maintenance! On June 26, 2015 you had a company come out for service, not inspection. Based on the invoice the company put 3.2 pounds of Freon in your system which tells me that with the Freon being so low, your compressor wouldn't even come on and YOU HAD NO AIR! You had to get someone out. That wasn't a maintenance he tried to repair your problem, he put a can of stop leak trying seal your leak and dye trying to locate the leak! (Can insert the file, but will supply if Angie's List needs a copy). To the right of his invoice he has a check list for maintenance nothing was done! I After a long conversation on the phone with you explaining why we cannot cover your unit, you then twisted my words. We pay out money all day in the warranty field, for those with legitimate claims and yours was not! After our contractor came out, he took pics of your unit and on your compressor you had a hard start which is a boost. You claimed it was a eco-friendly boost, yea right that means your compressor has failed or failing therefore, it wont work without it! That is preexisting and your unit is 15 yrs old and it has reached its life cycle. Although we have clients that have units 20 to 25 yrs old that's because they have maintenance performed on their units accordingly! Leaking evaporator coils are common when there has been no maintenance! You told me you wanted to cancel and you would go to another company. I then told you they are gonna get you for a preexisting condition as well. BY FAR you have told the biggest lie on Angie's List that I have ever responded to and the proof is in the paper work! Keith Fennell
1.0

10/04/2015


Brandon W.

First and foremost: When you purchase a warranty from this company READ THE FINE PRINT. The devil is in the details and he is shrewd. I have had 3 home warranties in my lifetime and this is by far the worst. I have used American Home shield and First American, and whenever a covered appliance went out they responded, made repairs, life went on! Not so fast with Hi-Tech. I called to report my AC unit was frozen and a call was placed to a service tech who responded the next day. He wasn't there 5 minutes and took one look at the unit and said Hi-Tech wasn't going to cover the cost of the repair, and this was with the"Platinum" service package. He stated that in the fine print it states that the covered or sealed portion of the AC, which by the way is about half or more of the unit, IS NOT COVERED! This is also the most likely part of the unit to break down. I had a Freon leak, which can you guess, they DON'T COVER! He then told me that he can fill it up with Freon and stop leak for an additional $300 and get us up and running. It was over 100 degrees outside that week, so I told him to fix it. He called the warranty company back to let them know what he found and Hi Tech then stated it was a preexisting condition. This is a little tactic of theirs to get away with NOT COVERING the problem. Keep in mind the AC had been running since April, and they said because we bought it in November it was preexisting--please explain that to me. We also found out that if--IF--they covered the repair they would pro-rate the cost based on the age of the unit. After reading the fine print, we found out that they would not even pay for 1/3 of the cost of a new unit. So either way we pay out the rear for what we thought was covered by HI-TECH. To make matters worse we found the AC tech they sent ripped us off. He charged us for 5 lbs. of R22, when the unit only held 4 1/2, and it had over a pound in it when he got there, do the math and well--lesson learned. In summary, be aware that though you are paying a couple hundred less for a year warranty, there is a lot of fine print you need to read VERY CAREFULLY before making the purchase! Very disappointed in the service, and I will not do business with HI-TECH again. In the end I paid them for the warranty, paid their rip off man, and I had to have the entire unit replaced at my expense. I wasted over $800 messing around with this crap, and that's before the $3800 I paid out of pocket for a new unit. There are far better warranties out there for a little bit more per year!

Description of Work
Purchased a Home Warranty in Nov. 2014. Made a service call for a frozen AC in July 2015. Sent out their "go to" guy JD Farres to make repairs. Over charged and AC was never fixed.

Category home warranty companies

Service Provider Response

This review is totally ridiculous!! I'm not sure how one would have more time to write than read! Angie's List has a good service and they work hard in maintaining order for both parties in the review process. And yes, fortunately there are 2 sides to every story! You signed up with High Tech Warranties on November 13, 2014 and your coverage started on December 13, 2014. In the invoice it states: By paying this invoice You agree to the terms and conditions of High Tech Home Warranties http://www.htwarranties.com/terms-and-conditions.pdf It also states: Maintenance When was the last time you had your heating and A/C serviced? If you haven't received one then please do so before your coverage goes into affect. When I first spoke with you, you told me that the upstairs unit wasn't blowing cold air! I then asked you if you had maintenance done on your equipment? You said you had not got around to it yet. That was your first violation of your warranty agreement! I said okay no problem we will still send someone out to check it! I looked at your paperwork and noticed that you had not purchased the optional coverage for your 2nd AC unit. That was the second violation of your warranty! I then gave you the benefit, saying to you that's no problem we will cover the one that's broken under our terms, and you can add additional coverage and then both we will be good! I also told you we need you get both of them maintenanced at the time of repair. At that time, I wasn't sure what was wrong, but was willing to fix the unit if it were something we covered under our terms. The tech came out and then told you that your evaporator coil was leaking and High Tech Home Warranties doesn't cover leaking evaporator coils! The contractor has been working with us about 4-5 years he knows what's covered and what's not covered, because he read our terms which is something you didn't do! To get back to the point, it was 38° that day when you signed up it and would have been using your furnace, not your AC. You went through a 30 day grace period and your coverage started December 13, 2015 and on that day the high was 55°. In order to get your unit to even start up with that temp, you would have to turn your thermostat to about 45° to get the compressor to turn on. Units leak even when they're not being used; which tells me that your unit was leaking when you signed up! Then when the weather broke you cut the unit on and said it was blowing hot air. Then made a claim on something you didn't even purchase coverage for! You did all that writing in your review and didn't take time to read even the invoice that bounds you to our terms until after the fact! You speak about small print all the information pertaining to your plan is on the 1st page of our terms and what's not covered on the AC IE evaporator coil is in RED letters! The tech that came to your house said your unit was dirty and sent pictures of them both. We cater to all clients and majority or our clients are either from the BBB or Angie's List we are not out to cheat anyone that's not allowed in our company! We have contractors that work in our claims department which allows us to approve or deny without incident! By not having any previous records we have no way of knowing any history of your unit. That is perfectly fine if you don't have them at least when signing up it would be good to have one! Having your unit serviced saves on your utility bill and when it breaks down we will know that it's not a maintenance issue especially if a good company does the service. In your case it was considered maintenance as that's what Freon is considered to be, it's not a mechanical break down! In most cases, when your evaporator coil leaks on the older systems, it comes from rust and dirt! In layman's terms “lack of maintenance”! When you don't maintain your system and when a gas furnace is involved you run the risk of Carbon Monoxide poisoning; and on the AC side if your evaporator coils are dirty it can short the compressor out; and if your drain line is stopped up, it can flood the home out, unless you have a switch under the unit telling it to shut off because your pan is full. I know people pay to be on Angie's List and we help you pay them by giving a 10% discount, we go the extra mile for members on a daily basis and if we were not doing a good job there would be a whole lot more complaints then we have! Keith Fennell
3.0

09/06/2015


June G.

The heater they supplied was a good one. However, they sent an inexperienced repairman to replace the heater. He slipped and fell through our newly remodeled bathroom. The company repaired the hole in the wall with the wrong texture and then wrong the type of grout. We are going to have ceiling repaired by a company recommended by the my daughter who works for one of the largest builders in the country. I have cancelled my service with the warrantee company. I now have to pay an additional $150.00 to have the ceiling refloated and all the wrong grout taken off and replaced with the correct type. *In response to service provider response: We hired 1 contractor that they recommended. He came out and said that he did a lot of work for High Tech. He fell through the ceiling that same day. We called High Tech the same day. They wanted my husband to go up in to the ceiling to get a model number. He is 79 years old and could not do that. We then had to contact a different service provider and pay an extra $150.00.

Description of Work
Our water heater conked out. They replaced a 15 year heater with a new one.

Category plumbing, water heater repair, home warranty companies

Service Provider Response

We are sorry for the unfortunate accident which occurred at your home, but in all honesty Mrs. [Member name removed], we did not hire the company to replace your water heater. Mr. [Member name removed] filed a claim on August 27, 2015 and he couldn't give me the necessary information from the water heater, therefore we had a reputable company go to your location to give us that information. Since your coverage had just started and your water heater was 15 years old, and apparently had been leaking for a long while (according to the pictures which showed the rust and calcification); we knew we would only be offering a cash settlement for the claim. You and/or Mr. [Member name removed] hired the company for the replacement without our knowledge. Evidently during this time, an unfortunate accident occurred and the contractor fell through the ceiling. We were not notified of the installation or the damages until days after it had occurred and any damage from the result of the accident had already been “patched”. I do not feel this incident should reflect bad on our company as we did NOTHING WRONG and only did what we were supposed to do. A claim was filed, we sent someone out that very day to obtain information for us, so we could move forward with a resolution. We DID NOT hire the company to replace your water heater, we simply offered a settlement and it was up to you whom you hired for the job. Again, we are very sorry this incident occurred but High Tech Home Warranties had no control over the situation. Regards, Theresa Meroney
5.0

08/31/2015


Eugene M.

My HVAC unit (home in Vegas) had a couple of capacitors go bad in early August. Hi-Tech was very responsive in getting a repair man from 5-Star Home Service out to fix the unit.

Description of Work
Hi Tech was great! They provided education on their policies so that I would understand the process. Keith at Hi-Tech recommended that I make sure to have my HVAC unit serviced regularly to that I would be in compliance with the policy, He was thorough, friendly, and when the unit needed a repair, he was very responsive.

Category home warranty companies

5.0

04/03/2015


Chanda M.

They are really good and I will continue to use them.

Description of Work
I use High Tech Home Warranties for home warranty.

Category home warranty companies

1.0

03/05/2015


william M.

Sorry, we were unable to deliver your message to the following address. < management@htwarranties.com>: Remote host said: 550 5.1.1 < management@htwarranties.com> Recipient not found. < http://x.co/irbounce> [RCPT_TO] --- Below this line is a copy of the message. Received: from [66.196.81.174] by nm9.bullet.mail.bf1.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 05 Mar 2015 06:28:35 -0000 Received: from [98.139.212.225] by tm20.bullet.mail.bf1.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 05 Mar 2015 06:28:35 -0000 Received: from [127.0.0.1] by omp1034.mail.bf1.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 05 Mar 2015 06:28:34 -0000 X-Yahoo-Newman-Property: ymail-3 X-Yahoo-Newman-Id: 991865.52934.bm@omp1034.mail.bf1.yahoo.com X-YMail-OSG: 9keh_34VM1mjlVkL94QxPGm3VNBYG2FKP_o.A8kgQ2AVf_WToWsQxgoM5xBWBE4 2pycTJhlQyhZ5f0WcTzRToVlEZQbvAuUqeuSK0QCvb4474Konyvo54tzau4gd3wMx0VS7nmhbERY eLBa_iVRbMrpjwMFMlGwcgxMgaES4YVokixZwt8WwwHKdELObcshLh3WejUyeaVe_Rqi2Dyfz64_ V2qRl32nDcK_lZynAcpml1JEefCAn864HChbyMHX0UVA9NL5mGSGDZRFIRcqqTpFfuGxrSuQL_U6 rumq_1hDe_leQiMOXhi0jANEqazdtp91IN88vd6ERSxywOuVzHKtzo9HbWqToIhobQe_JUX5EO.K Sk.isenXf77Kcmo4bAL.kSCDgEXIigVITX44Psk7dCW7CFFAoZF6vp176mDbBIP4lcpxLRrrjY_x

Description of Work
nothing - web site for filing claims was inoperable (i.e.) Sorry, we were unable to deliver your message to the following address. <management@htwarranties.com>: Remote host said: 550 5.1.1 <management@htwarranties.com> Recipient not found. <http://x.co/irbounce> [RCPT_TO] --- Below this line is a copy of the message. Received: from [66.196.81.174] by nm9.bullet.mail.bf1.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 05 Mar 2015 06:28:35 -0000 Received: from [98.139.212.225] by tm20.bullet.mail.bf1.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 05 Mar 2015 06:28:35 -0000 Received: from [127.0.0.1] by omp1034.mail.bf1.yahoo.com with NNFMP; 05 Mar 2015 06:28:34 -0000 X-Yahoo-Newman-Property: ymail-3 X-Yahoo-Newman-Id: 991865.52934.bm@omp1034.mail.bf1.yahoo.com X-YMail-OSG: 9keh_34VM1mjlVkL94QxPGm3VNBYG2FKP_o.A8kgQ2AVf_WToWsQxgoM5xBWBE4 2pycTJhlQyhZ5f0WcTzRToVlEZQbvAuUqeuSK0QCvb4474Konyvo54tzau4gd3wMx0VS7nmhbERY eLBa_iVRbMrpjwMFMlGwcgxMgaES4YVokixZwt8WwwHKdELObcshLh3WejUyeaVe_Rqi2Dyfz64_ V2qRl32nDcK_lZynAcpml1JEefCAn864HChbyMHX0UVA9NL5mGSGDZRFIRcqqTpFfuGxrSuQL_U6 rumq_1hDe_leQiMOXhi0jANEqazdtp91IN88vd6ERSxywOuVzHKtzo9HbWqToIhobQe_JUX5EO.K Sk.isenXf77Kcmo4bAL.kSCDgEXIigVITX44Psk7dCW7CFFAoZF6vp176mDbBIP4lcpxLRrrjY_x

Category home warranty companies

Service Provider Response

Mrs. (member name removed) and Mr. (member name removed) you recently signed up for our program in January 2015 and according to our records your coverage just started in February 2015! You have not logged into our system since January 4, 2015. The information that you submitted to Angie's List is totally incorrect. That was actually an email address that your were posting to, not a website! You sent an email into our claims department about 1:36 am and in less then 1hr time you got a response. You had sent a email to our claims department about how the website was, and how you were gonna send Angie's List a message. When in fact you never spoke about the problems you actually had at that time! One of the 3rd shift agents responded to you! Not sure how you can grade us based on you not reading your invoice at all? Below is a copy of your detailed invoice that you actually paid yourself . You did not do any of the following. We care about all clients in our company and will cater to you as we do everyone! Throwing us under bus for you not reading is not right and exact! I have been working claims for about 6 yrs and there is no client ever left behind. We just don't do that! This morning I spoke with you in detail about your problem and you have electrical outlets out and we are setting an electrician up to come to your home. That's why its so important to read, because if that would of happened you never would of sent Angie's List a message! For the record we are attaching your actual invoice which shows all the details associated with the plan. To whom it may concern we pride ourselves on being the best we can be! We have done nothing wrong and getting graded on something that we have not done is ridiculous! Respectfully, Keith Fennell Claims Manager Below is the invoice which shows all the details... Invoice: 4782 High Tech Home Warranties P.O Box 24881 Raleigh, NC 27611 [Member's name/address removed] INVOICE # 4782 INVOICE Date December 18, 2014 Amount Due $0.00 USD Item Description Unit Cost Quantity Line Total Account/Policy number When emailing or calling customer service you can simply state your first and last name. One of our customer service agents will take care of any concerns you may have! 0.00 1 0.00 Platinum Plan 396 What's Covered? (1)AC/Heating System, Electrical System, Plumbing System , Plumbing Stops, Water Heater, Range/Oven Stove, Built- Microwave, Cook Top, Refrigerator, Dishwasher, Garbage Disposal, Ceiling Fans, Duct Work, Garage Door Opener 396.00 1 396.00 Washer/Dryer Optional coverage 60.00 1 60.00 Discount Angies List 10% Your plan has been reduced 10% for being a member on Angie's List. -45.60 1 -45.60 Discount - Senior Citizen HT has deducted a $10.40 Senior Citizen Discount from this invoice. -10.40 1 -10.40 Inspection We reserve the right to inspect your home within 30 days after the purchase of policy. There is no charge for inspection. 0.00 1 0.00 What's Not Covered 2015-2016 For what's not covered please see our Terms and Conditions at www.htwarranties.com on the about us page to the right! There you will see our terms in PDF (Picture Document Format). Terms and Conditions can be printed, bookmarked, or downloaded to your computer for future reference! 0.00 1 0.00 Coverage - Annual Coverage will begin on January 18, 2015 and will expire on January 18, 2016. 0.00 1 0.00 Cancellation Please refer to terms and conditions on pages 10-12 or click on this link http://www.htwarranties.com/terms-and-conditions.pdf 0.00 1 0.00 Claims For claims 24/7 call 1-855-278-1312 Ext 3 or you may go online and make a claim at http://www.htwarranties.com/claims.php 0.00 1 0.00 Deductible 50 Service call fee is 50 dollars when making a claim. 50.00 0 0.00 By paying this invoice You agree to the terms and conditions of High Tech Home Warranties http://www.htwarranties.com/terms-and-conditions.pdf 0.00 1 0.00 By paying this invoice online You agree that all items covered in the plan stated above is in good working condition and, at the time of the purchase, there are no known pre existing conditions at your home. 0.00 0 0.00 Our commitment to you We truly value your business, if you are in an emergency situation and our contractors some how are not able to come out! You are allowed to call a company of choice and we will extend our credit card over to you! We just need to talk with the contractor to authorize him to do the work. This is not normal but an option for comfort! 0.00 1 0.00 Home Improvement Reward As a member, your reward is the guaranteed best price on any home improvement project you might have in your home. We will insure you the best quote. For more information on our services please visit our sister company's website www.hthomeexperts.com 0.00 1 0.00 We are green friendly Going green can help you save our earths natural resources. This can increase your net income every month by at least 10%. For more information on going green or for home improvement services visit our sister site at www.hthomeexperts.com 0.00 0 0.00 Maintenance When was the last time you had your heating and A/C serviced? If you haven't received one then please do so before your coverage goes into affect. 0.00 0 0.00 Terms and Conditions 1 Please click this link for the terms and conditions in PDF format. [hyperlink removed] 0.00 1 0.00 Total 400.00 Amount Paid -400.00 Amount Due $0.00 USD Terms Please see our Terms and Conditions at www.htwarranties.com. Once you are on our home page, please click on the about us page there you will see our Terms & Conditions, FAQs, and our Brochure to the right. For any other questions call us at 1-855-278-1312 Ext 1 or you can email us at customerservice@htwarranties.com Thank you, Customer Service Notes Welcome To High Tech Home Warranties. We Value Your Business!! Invoice Autobiography Viewed 04 Jan 2015, 3:03 PM Viewed by William Mangan. Success 03 Jan 2015, 1:37 PM Order Success. Payment 03 Jan 2015, 1:37 PM Payment added by William Mangan. $400.00 of $400.00 USD is paid. View payments. Pending 03 Jan 2015, 1:37 PM Order Pending. Viewed 03 Jan 2015, 1:21 PM Viewed by [Member's name removed]. Viewed 19 Dec 2014, 6:23 PM Viewed by [Member's name removed]. Sent 18 Dec 2014, 10:50 PM
1.0

02/28/2015


Alex L.

This was one of the most unpleasant experiences we've ever had with home repairs - no, actually it was the worst. The refrigerator repairman rescheduled to another day, which was okay, but then arrived with a seriously unpleasant attitude. Halfway through the work, with our refrigerator in pieces, he made a long phone call to someone at High Tech and then announced that we SHOULD have had a refrigerator maintenance plan, and that if people like us just continually used their home warranty to have appliance repairs without one then they're just "using" the system, whatever that means. When I pointed out that our last home warranty company hadn't required one, he became aggressive and loud and accused me of lying. In my own home! We had to ask him to stop being so rude in our home, and were on the verge of telling him to leave, before he would stop shouting at us. Now that our refrigerator is in pieces, we have to let that man back into our house to fix it next week, but we will never again use this company for any reason. I would tell people to avoid High Tech Home Warranty company like the plague.

Description of Work
Refrigerator repair

Category appliance repair, home warranty companies

Service Provider Response

(member name removed) signed up with our company on January 4, 2015 at which time he purchased one of plans on line! Their coverage began on February 4, 2015! They submitted a claim online on February 27, 2015 also on line. Neither member has spoken to anyone with our company at any time since they signed up. (member name removed) sent an email on February 28, 2015 in regards to being mistreated by a contractor! Being concerned for all clients and giving the best possible customer service is our main objective. After receiving the email, we tried making telephone contact with them. We left a voice message for them to please return our call. At no time during this alleged incident did we receive a telephone call. Since neither member has returned our phone call regarding this situation, we reached out for some clarity from the service technician. Here is what he has to say.... > > "James Faris > > > Mar 2 (1 day ago) > > to me > > Being in business for myself for over 4 years, in a business credited on my name and reputation alone and never having a negative or even grossly dramatic comment made like this. I felt the need to respond to the negative service report given here. The service was performed Saturday February 28 to which we were given the original call Friday the 27th and did have to reschedule to Saturday morning between 8&9. We did arrived just as we set. > The first and most important thing was the quality of service performed. Which I think we will address first. The refrigerator was not left in pieces. The refrigerator was completely put back together and left in operating condition. Because of the age and the style of component that was failed the part did have to be ordered which isn't uncommon. > Secondly, and equally important is my character and behavior while inside the home. With all third-party warranty companies you do have to figure out what is going on with the system then call in for approval so during the repair process I did stop for a brief moment possibly 5 minutes at the most to speak with third-party warranty company. To address and speak of the details of the failure and get approval for the repair. The biggest issue for me is she said I called her a liar. Which is not the case at all! I never at any point in the service called the client a liar. I was asked by the third party warranty company if she had a preventive maintenance plan on her refrigerator or had ever had it serviced which is a common question for the third party company. Immediately the client became very defensive and argumentative and made all these statements; she wanted to know how much extra this was going to cost, very sarcastically said they never had to have this before, she wasn't going to stick with this company... etc. These were all statements made off of my one question! As the technician being the middleman, all this made me feel very uncomfortable and quite offended because of her rude behavior. What she greatly failed to mention was She made mention and claim that they had American Home Shield and did not have to carry preventive maintenance plan on the equipment under that company. Because of my prior experience and work with my previous company i was very familiar with the company's policies on caring preventive maintenance plan on all major appliances in the home. That was my statement: that I didn't understand or make sense of that, "if they had American Home Shield how one they didn't ever have a preventive maintenance plan or weren't familiar with caring a preventive maintenance plan on there major appliances!" I was adamant about working with American Home Shield for quite some time knowing their policies and she corrected herself after all her defense and admitted that they did not have American Home Shield it was another company. Regardless all I was trying to do was ask the customer because of what I was told: "do they understood how and why PM plans and policies are intended to be used under 3rd party warranty companies?" > I Find the clients behavior and even in regards to this comment very brash, resentful, rude and damaging especially in the majority of statements being outright lies! > We never want any client to be unhappy with any aspect of their service however doing for the amount of time that we have and building a business on relationships I believe this client was the unreasonable and unpleasant one." > >(member name removed) made 2 payments of $33 ea (1 of which has not been refunded) and we have paid out their claim of almost $200. I truly believe (member name removed) should recant their negative review on our company as we have done nothing wrong. They called in a claim, they received a phone call from the service company that same day and he came out the following day. Yes, he did have to call our claims department for authorization which is a very expeditious process with us. This service company has worked with our company for over 3 years and we have not had one complaint during this time. It is unfair for this bad review to go against our company when (member name removed) had a negative interaction with the servicer. There's always at least 2 sides to every story. Theresa Meroney Accounts Manager
5.0

02/27/2015


noriel L.

They responded quickly and I was able to set up the account fairly easy. Their customer service is wonderful. They also gave me a 10% discount, because I am a member of Angie’s List.

Description of Work
I have been using them for my other home. I had a good experience and I will be using them again for my new home.

Category home warranty companies

5.0

12/11/2014


Louise R.

Roger's Repair (also on Angie's list , cam over promptly found our problem, contacted the Hi Tech and repairs were made. Very happy with the Warranty company and Rogers Repairs.

Description of Work
Contacted a pool repair service for our burned out pump and covered $500 of the repair.

Category home warranty companies

4.0

12/11/2014


Matt Z.

We chose High Tech because it was able to piece together certain parts of its policies in order to provide coverage for our geothermal heating and air conditioning system. Furthermore, they've been very helpful in terms of providing information and answering our questions, and on one occasion they were even able to help us find a company to service the system for a lesser price than the original installer.

Description of Work
They're our home warranty company.

Category home warranty companies

4.0

08/04/2014


Kevin C.

No problem purchasing a policy and their price and covered services were better than all other providers in Virginia.

Description of Work
I purchased a warranty from High-Tech but have not used it yet. I'll update this review if/when I need to use my policy.

Category home warranty companies

5.0

08/04/2014


Amod S.

Keith at High Tech Home warranties coordinated a repair where a service professional evaluated and fixed an AC unit with a matter of hours. Hugely important in Florida. All the more impressive considering that AC guys must be in high demand with the heat. I was very impressed overall.

Description of Work
AC repair

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, home warranty companies

5.0

07/24/2014


Jaime A.

High Tech Home Warranties was very professional and courteous. They went above and beyond when we lost our copy of the invoice, which was important to prove that the work we thought had been done had not. They told us straight about the system.

Description of Work
Upon purchasing our home warranty with High Tech Home Warranties, they recommended we have someone come out to do an initial home warranty "tune up/inspection" for the new house we just purchased. The tune up revealed that our HVAC system had not been cleaned or serviced, which we thought our seller had performed (and provided us a copy of their invoice for). They cleaned our compressor on the spot, and recommended that we have the system cleaned and serviced. Since the seller indicated they had done this, and provided "proof" that they'd done it, our realty agent covered the cost of the HVAC servicing and cleaning.

Category home warranty companies

5.0

06/16/2014


Christina H.

I asked to renew my warranty because of the dependable service and professionalism

Description of Work
Peace of mind

Category home warranty companies

5.0

04/06/2014


karl A.

Don't remember specifics but was very reliable.

Description of Work
Home warranty

Category home warranty companies

5.0

04/01/2014


Shardule S.

Our heat went out and we promptly called Atlanta Gas Light who said there was a problem with the furnace. We then called High Tech Home Warranty. 1. They sent a contractor the next day to inspect the problem. Determined that a complete replacement was needed. The contractor was 90 minutes late (did not call me) but I am not pinning that blame on High Tech. 2. The day after that, contractors came back to replace the furnace. They were courteous (though I was a not a huge fan of them smoking on my lawn). However, they did not tell me when they would be coming to my house so I received a called from High Tech after I had gone to work saying the contractors were there. 3. Finished the job in the afternoon and were courteous to my wife as they tested the system. 4. We have heat in our house again! Keith is always available to talk to on the phone but I wish the contractors would show up on time and notify me ahead of time when coming. The total cost of the replacement was $2625 and the platinum warranty covers $1500 so our out-of-pocket was $1125. Not bad for a replacement. Would highly recommend (not that we hope to have to :-))

Description of Work
Honored warranty to partially cover replacement of gas furnace

Category home warranty companies

5.0

02/09/2014


Kelly R.

After finding out that Hi-Tech warranties services the state of Iowa, I have just been blown away by the responsiveness I've gotten from Keith at Hi-Tech. We've been in contact almost everyday for the past week. He's been very good to stay in touch & to let me know what things he needs from me, in order to get us set up with this home warranty service. This was the only company I saw that offers warranties for the exterior of your home. Under the best plan available, I was still able to get everything covered I needed for $50/mo. This was a much better price than I had seen from other companies (that don't provide exterior services). We haven't actually had any problems or needed to make a claim yet, but I have the utmost confidence that it will be handled timely & professionally.

Description of Work
.

Category home warranty companies

1.0

11/08/2013


Robin M.

Their website was very easy to navigate, enter all our information, and sign up for a policy. We entered all the information for our home. We chose the Platinum plan and added coverage for Septic. We were pleased with the price, and with the reviews of the company. Everything went well, our account was charged, and service was to start 30 days from the date we enrolled. Then the next week, about 4 days later, I received a phone call from them cancelling my home warranty. The representative stated that my house was too old. I explained it had been remodeled in the 90's, and that was still "too old." She then asked how old my furnace was, but I had no clue. I explained that it was in excellent working order, that we had just bought the house & it passed inspection. That didn't matter. I asked if we could simply exclude it from the coverage if that was the issue, and she said no, because the house was too old anyway. Then why did she just waste 10 minutes of my time discussing the age of the furnace & even asking the question in the first place? If there is a cut-off for the age of a home that they will cover, they should state that up-front on their website. Also, they should have something in place when applying on their website which will automatically deny that age. My time has been completely wasted, and now I have to start my search all over again. UPDATE: After reading the Provider Response to my review, I dislike them even more. I'm so sorry I missed two little letters in reading that entire fine print disclosure, when the LARGE PRINT said you covered my state. Your representative still completely wasted my time, and yet you brush that off & then blame it on me. You seriously need a different person to respond to complaints -- one who doesn't push the blame onto customers & takes responsibility for their own mistakes with humility.

Description of Work
Provided a home warranty for our 1978 home, which was remodeled in the 90's, with additional coverage for the septic system. THEN CANCELLED IT THE NEXT WEEK.

Category home warranty companies

Service Provider Response

Thank you for wanting to sign up with our company. The rep that you spoke with instead of asking you any questions about your home, should have simply said we dont cover California any more! One thing I notice is that people spend a lot of time on Angies list writing reviews. No one takes the time to read the Terms and Conditions on the site. Had that happened you would of noticed that califirnia is not a covered state! We hope that you find a company that will take good care of you! When visitng our site now we have all states deleted that we do not cover just in case The terms are not read during sign up, although when you checkout on our site you agree that you have read the terms.Half of the reviews are from people that are not reading as they say they have. Thank you, Keith Fennell General Manager .

    Other local Pros in your area

    R & D Painting

    R&D Painting is a Garner based paint contractor serving the entire Triangle. We have over 12 years of painting experience. Our work comes guaranteed with a 3 year warranty(sheetrock/deck stain carries no warranty), so you can be sure you are getting the quality you deserve. Locally owned and operated by Travis Robeson, who does all the estimates and sees each job through from start to finish himself. R&D Painting will work closely with you to help you achieve the look you desire. R&D Painting has built its reputation on a foundation that communication is essential to customer satisfaction.  

    Express Yourself Paint

    Express Yourself Paint is the Triangle's premier repaint specialist. We hate average and love fantastic! We only do repaints so we consistently leave our customers with a paint job to show off to their friends and neighbors while leaving their furnishings clean and beautiful. We offer a complete line of services. We carry full liability and workers compensation insurance on everyone working at your home. We have a top notch team of designers, knowledgeable sales persons, professional management and true craftsmen to perform your work. We apply the best products from all the major coating manufacturers and pick the best products for your project. We are accredited by the BBB and our customers grade us on each project. Call an average contractor or call Express Yourself Paint and find out how hard we work for our 5 star rating from our customers. We are so confident we guarantee you will love the results before we accept your final payment.  

    ORO PREMIER PAINTING LLC

    We are a locally owned and operated business that has been proudly serving the Raleigh area for a few years now. Our quality and precise work speaks for itself, but we also strive to be the most reliable company we can be with reasonable pricing. We can handle all of your painting needs, including pressure washing and drywall repair beforehand. Click or call for a free quote today!  

    Business Highlights

    24/7 Service Offered24/7 Service Offered
    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Wears MaskWears Mask
    Licensed
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Exterior and Interior home warranty coverage.

    Services Not Offered

    Coverage not offered in California, Oregon, Illinois, New York, New Jersey, Rhode Island, New Mexico, West Virginia, Maine and the Washington D.C.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about High Tech Home Warranties

    How is High Tech Home Warranties overall rated?

    High Tech Home Warranties is currently rated 4.3 overall out of 5.

    What days are High Tech Home Warranties open?

    High Tech Home Warranties is open:

    Sunday: Open All Day

    Monday: Open All Day

    Tuesday: Open All Day

    Wednesday: Open All Day

    Thursday: Open All Day

    Friday: Open All Day

    Saturday: Open All Day

    What payment options does High Tech Home Warranties provide

    High Tech Home Warranties accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal, Financing Available

    Does High Tech Home Warranties offer free estimates?

    No, High Tech Home Warranties does not offer free project estimates.

    Does High Tech Home Warranties offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, High Tech Home Warranties does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does High Tech Home Warranties offer a senior discount?

    Yes, High Tech Home Warranties offers a 10% senior discount.

    Does High Tech Home Warranties offer emergency services?

    Yes, High Tech Home Warranties offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by High Tech Home Warranties?

    No, High Tech Home Warranties does not offer warranties.

    What services does High Tech Home Warranties offer?

    High Tech Home Warranties offers the following services: Exterior and Interior home warranty coverage.

    Are there any services High Tech Home Warranties does not offer?

    Coverage not offered in California, Oregon, Illinois, New York, New Jersey, Rhode Island, New Mexico, West Virginia, Maine and the Washington D.C.