Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Booker Garden Design

Founded 1992 • With Angi since March 2010

Landscape design, installation, and maintenance

Amenities

Free Estimates
no
Warranties
ask for details
Senior Discount
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.9

(14) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-14 of 14 reviews
Steven W.
5.0
02/25/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Leslie and her crew came to cleanup our yard, and to trim bushes, and then spread cedar mulch and pine straw.
Category
landscaping, lawn service
Beth P.
5.0
10/23/2014
They have pretty good reviews. They have good people and they do good work.
Description of Work
We have used the services of Booker Garden Design. They did general clean up.
Category
lawn service
Sharon D.
5.0
01/07/2014
Great. Leslie Booker and her sub-contractors were all terrific -- friendly, reliable, hard working. Leslie was a creative and fun collaborator during the entire process, from design to installation, which lasted several months but was fully completed during fall, 2013. The results are a beautiful and unique patio courtyard garden that is great for relaxation, puttering and entertaining and that greatly enhances the value and enjoyment of our property. It wasn't cheap but we love it!
Description of Work
Designed and installed patio courtyard garden, trees and shrubs, plus decorative landscaping at driveway entrance. Work included removing part of sidewalk (concrete slabs moved and used in back yard) and installing brick masonry patio in basketweave pattern. Remaining sidewalk was tied in by cutting walk and inserting decorative brick insets. Courtyard enclosed with cedar fencing with arbor gate featuring Booker designed twig sculpture. Garden enhanced by large original twig sculpture trellis. Work included installation of low-voltage lighting and irrigation.
Category
landscaping
Beth P.
5.0
12/13/2013
Prompt response to our request for advice and pricing. Leslie Booker does a lot of work in our immediate neighborhood, so we felt comfortable choosing her firm over the other two considered for this work. She worked with us on what plants to choose for the different areas. She seems to have an encyclopedic knowledge of plants which is very helpful to us as we are not from this area. She arrived on time with her two workers, and all three worked hard for two solid days doing the work. At the end of each day, the area was left clean and tidy, and the work was done without blaring radios or a lot of shouting. The end result is very pleasing and up to our expectations. There was some damage to a driveway light (the driveway is winding and steep and not easy to negotiate), but this was propmptly acknowledged and replaced within a week with an apology
Description of Work
Weeded and generally cleaned up our yard; recommended and installed plantings to replace ones installed by another firm that were very prone to deer damage; recommended and installed additional plantings to provide interest and screening requested; started remediation of the lawn areas; mulched all the planting beds.
Category
landscaping
Caroline P.
3.0
08/12/2013
We walked the yard, and discussed options. I was supposed to hear back from her and never did.
Description of Work
She came out to look at the property and discuss options for what we might do in the back yard
Category
landscaping
Rosemary H.
1.0
07/15/2013
Left a message that I was interested in having landscaping done. No one ever called me back - it's been over a month now.
Description of Work
Nothing
Category
landscaping
Andrew C.
5.0
09/09/2012
Fine.
Description of Work
Gave us a nice front yard plan with suggested plantings; easy to follow. But he never contacted us about possibly doing the work.
Category
landscaping
Diane M.
5.0
02/14/2012
She did excellent work. She was on time; she had good ideas, and I was very pleased with the overall out come.
Description of Work
She did lawn and yard work on my garden.
Category
landscaping
Kathy D.
5.0
11/18/2011
I heard about Leslie and called her about a year ago and was delighted with the work. I call her whenever I need a new area planted, or have a question about existing plantings. Her firm is punctual, professional and polite. They clean up afterwards! I expect to use them again and again.
Description of Work
I love this firm! Leslie has worked in our garden for about a year on various projects. She has personally taught me how to prune and how to sharpen my tools (I asked about those items). They have suggested plants, built and planted beds, mulched, cleared the garden of leaves and given good advice on creating and maintaining the garden.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, lawn treatment, leaf removal, mulch
Lynn Z.
5.0
06/23/2011
A less creative landscaping service had left our yard looking scraggy and blah. We started over with a plan created by Ms. Booker. It has been implemented and maintained over several years. She also solved a water drainage problem with a well-constructed stone system, as well as an attractive retaining wall. A yard is never finished, and we continue to use Booker Garden design to do the on-going work. For example, after a harsh winter a few plants had died, but Ms. Booker replaced them with heartier specimens. Her staff blows leaves, trims shrubs, etc. Ms. Booker is always response to requests and forthcoming with information on plants and yard design. Booker Garden Design is not the cheapest service around, but our yard is much better for their efforts. We are pleased with quality of their work
Description of Work
Planted replacements for winter-killed plants, weeded, trimmed trees and shrubs. Had also designed and created lovely yard and water drainage system.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, hardscaping
Robin L.
5.0
09/15/2010
She was very knowledgeable. We got some other estimates too and felt that she was kind of expensive. We just wished her price had been lower because we liked her a lot.
Description of Work
We contacted Booker Garden Design to get an estimate for the landscaping part of our front yard that included putting in a new bed, bushes and so forth.
Category
landscaping
Wes M.
4.0
06/21/2010
Leslie Brooker arrived promptly at the agreed time. The job was to improve the appearance of the exposed end of a drainage culvert in the front lawn. Leslie felt that it was a job for a stone mason and gave me the business card of the mason they she uses. Ultimately I found away to solve the problem myself with a minimum of masonary work. I walked around our yard with Leslie and discussed other future projects. She made some suggestions with no commitment on my part or hers.
Description of Work
No services were performed.
Category
landscaping, irrigation systems
Lynn Z.
5.0
06/18/2010
The yard on the 3-year old house was a mess. We wanted "natural" (but not untamed). The first landscaper merely plunked some of the plants in mulch, so we watched as they heaved out of the ground. Trees were dry as result of insufficient soil prep. Every hard rain meant a cover of mulch and dirt on our long, sloping driveway. Brooker to the rescue. First came a large stone drainage system, then low retaining walls (incredibly well-done). Then a plan that took into account our tastes, a preference for native or well-aclimated plants, and dear resistance. It's been three years and the yard looks great. We add something each year, sometimes make a change, but Leslie stands in back of her work. Bonus: Her crew are some of the nicest and careful folk around. Same can be said the owner! We are happy with healthy shrubs, spreading ground cover,booming perentials, and some bright annuals -- all Booker's doing. Wish we had more specific ideas of our own as it would have sped up the design process. And remember, there are things deer don't like very much, but if the critters are hungry, they will eat anything unsprayed.
Description of Work
Booker Garden Design started from a pathetic and ailing selection of inappropriate and/or dying plants surrounding our house. Thank's to Leslie's knowledge of both botany (what will flourish here) and design, our lawn-free yard is now lush and relatively low maintenance. Actually, Booker does our maintenance too. Hardscaping (maining drainage and retaining walls) work is first-class and has held up for three years with no problems. Not the cheapest company, but great work.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, hardscaping
Karen P.
5.0
03/14/2010
My front and back yard were sorry. Weedy, vole-ridden, dry dirt patches. A few desultory shrubs. Leslie and her crew transformed both spaces in 3.5 days. I've never seen people work so hard. In the front they tilled, added topsoil and fertilizer, planted shrubs, grasses, and perennials, and mulched. They dug up and replanted some things that were in the wrong place (viburnum and iris). In the back, they graded my lumpy dirt patch, added topsoil and fertilizer, raked in gravel to deter the voles, laid down sod and made three large planting beds with shrubs and perennials. Even though hardly anything is blooming yet, the improvement is enormous. I can't wait for spring!
Description of Work
Grading, adding topsoil & gravel, creating planting beds, fertilizing, planting shrubs, trees, bulbs, and perennials, putting down sod and mulch.
Category
landscaping, lawn service, irrigation systems, lawn treatment, leaf removal, hardscaping

Phone

Address

2073 N Pea Ridge Rd

Pittsboro, NC 27312

Other Information

Services offered

Patios, landscaping, brick, lighting, decks, fences, railings, arbors, gates, gardens, trees, structures, retaining walls, walkways, deer resistant plantings & playground design.

Payment options

Check

FAQ

Booker Garden Design is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

Booker Garden Design is open:

Sunday: Closed

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: Closed

Booker Garden Design accepts the following forms of payment: Check

No, Booker Garden Design does not offer free project estimates.

Yes, Booker Garden Design offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Booker Garden Design does not offer a senior discount.

No, Booker Garden Design does not offer warranties.

Booker Garden Design offers the following services: Patios, landscaping, brick, lighting, decks, fences, railings, arbors, gates, gardens, trees, structures, retaining walls, walkways, deer resistant plantings & playground design.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Hutchins Landscape & Lawn Maintenance LLC

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Hutchins Landscape & Lawn Maintenance LLC

We are small business. We have been servicing the Triangle for many years. We offer reasonable prices, and phenomenal results. We know that details matter. We can help you get the landscape and lawn you've always dreamed of!  

Fairway Green

Angi Certified

Fairway Green

Fairway Green is locally owned and operated offering award winning service to the Triangle. All of our Technicians are licensed through the North Carolin Department of Agriculture to proved the safest and most effective products available. Additional contact name - Izeta Winstead. Additional phones - (919) 872-4864, (919) 832-1774. Locally owned & operated.  

Swanson Landscapes

5.0

(7)

Angi Certified

Swanson Landscapes

Call today for any of your landscaping service needs. We pride ourselves on providing professional service at an affordable price. We look forward toward working with you soon.