Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Savage Painting & Drywall

Founded 1994 • With Angi since August 2010

4.7

(36) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1160 County Home Rd

Mocksville, NC 27028

Description

Savage Painting originated in upstate New York as a female owned and family operated painting company. We realized early on that spreading paint smoothly and evenly was only a portion of our job. Correcting minor issues became a trademark for our company.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Paul H.
5.0
03/28/2020
Excellent work. Meticulous cleanup. Fair price. Finished ahead of planned deadline. Wonderful experience!
Description of Work
Popcorn ceiling removal Drywall repair Painting
Category
drywall, remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thanks [Member Name Removed], It was a pleasure to complete the work for you. It is amazing on how different things look without popcorn on the ceilings. The difference in changing wall colors is always a huge difference in the appearance of a room. Thanks for choosing our business.
Tim H.
5.0
03/26/2020
Professional, punctual, quality work & they cleaned up afterward.
Description of Work
exterior painting
Category
house painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed], It was a really nice view today. Thanks for calling us and trusting in our abilities. Hope in the future if you need anything you won’t hesitate to use our company again.
MICHAEL D.
5.0
03/05/2020
professional all the way. very nice and knowledgeable. estimated and explained everything to a tee. love the work that was done and highly recommended!
Description of Work
paint downstairs and our kitchen cabinets
Category
interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed], It was a pleasure to complete the job for you. Hope anything you need in the future you won’t hesitate to call us again.
Mary P.
5.0
05/28/2019
He's a very hard worker and did a great job. I would definitely re-hire him again.
Description of Work
He removed wallpapers in 2 bathrooms, he prepared the walls for wallpapering, did a sheetrock repair and painted the ceiling.
Category
wallpaper removal, wallpaper
Mary P.
5.0
02/05/2019
The owner was a perfectionist and he has many years of experience.
Description of Work
They came out and gave us an estimate on painting and sheet rock repair.
Category
interior painters
Damon H.
5.0
10/05/2018
This was the second time we've hired Shawn to do work for us and as with the last time he did an excellent job. The even did the job a day earlier than we'd planned because of raining threatening the next day and he wanted to make sure he got the job completed in the timeframe we desired. He arrive when he said he would and went straight to work with no delay. He and his helper Rex were very polite and professional. They did the job in a little under 9 hours and the house looks great for the estimated price. I will definitely hire Shawn again.
Description of Work
Pressure wash house, driveway, brick wall and deck
Category
deck cleaning, pressure washing
Damon H.
5.0
06/24/2018
Shawn was exceptional to work with and very professional and knowledgeable about this craft. He answered the phone the first time we called and set up a time to meet right away to see the house in order to give us an estimate. He arrived on time (in fact he was waiting when I arrived) and was very friendly. He went through the entire house room by room examining every detail about what needed to be done and went over exactly how he would handle doing the work. He explained how he would patch all of the small holes left from picture hangings and would removed two bent/broken off screws in one room. He then gave me an estimate, a date that he could start (within 2 days) and explained his payment expectations (1/3 at the start to buy paint, 1/3 half way through the job, 1/3 at completion) and explained that he and his crew would stay on the job every day from start to finish. He also told us how long it would take him to complete the job (3 days). We engaged him that same day and he arrived on the day he said he would at the time he said he would show up. As promised he completed the work within the promised duration and the quality of his work was outstanding. I cannot recommend this company higher! I would hire them in a minute the next time I have need of a painter. We even engaged him immediately to caulk and paint a new set of doors we had installed on an outdoor shed at our primary residence. We also had them pressure wash the outside of the house and they made it look brand new.
Description of Work
Paint interior of 1600 sq ft 2-story rental home including walls, trim and all doors.
Category
deck cleaning, pressure washing, interior painters
Michal D.
5.0
07/14/2017
Shawn Savage (painter) was prompt, and professional. He had me check his work at each step. He did a great job. We would use him again and recommend him to others.
Description of Work
Wall repair, paint small bathroom.
Category
drywall, interior painters
Bob E.
5.0
05/16/2017
Great experience. Professional quality the entire job.
Description of Work
Office painting, prime and paint walls and baseboards.
Category
interior painters
Katherine P.
5.0
01/24/2017
They did an excellent job. All 'A's across the board. I think all together, from quote to completion and keeping up the cheque, they were probably 5 people involved. We saw both Mr and Mrs Savage in the process. We saw one of their sons and there where at least 2 or 3 workers involved. They are very personal. Very one on one communication all through the process. (Where they clean) Yes.
Description of Work
They refinished it. It was a repair and refinish and they did a good job. (Remember cost?) No I don't but we were more than happy to pay it.
Category
deck cleaning
Debbie T.
5.0
12/13/2016
painters were always on time, did not leave the job until it was completed - worked the entire weekend to fit into my schedule, did a great job on the painting, did not damage anything, cleaned up after themselves, very pleasant and willing to do whatever was asked of them. The owner kept the crew focused and on task. Price was comparable in the market. I am very satisfied and will recommend Savage Painting whenever asked for a painter referral.
Description of Work
Repaired cracks in walls, replaced drywall tape, painted walls, trim, removed artwork then replaced after painting walls
Category
drywall, interior painters
Pam M.
1.0
10/09/2016
They never responded to my message and 5 days later still haven't contacted me.
Description of Work
Asked them to contact me so I could get a quote on some work.
Category
drywall, house painters
MICHAEL AND JEAN M.
5.0
08/18/2016
They painted the house a few weeks ago. The paint on metal trim did not work well. They were very pleasant and came back and re did the metal trim. They did a really good good. Fair priced.
Description of Work
Painted my home
Category
house painters
LAWRENCE H.
5.0
07/01/2016
My exterior painting job was interrupted because when it was about 3/4 finished we had a very large limb hit the house during a storm and it did significant damage to our porch roof. Savage continued to paint what they could but then they had to leave while the porch was repaired. They returned within just a few days of the porch repair being completed and finished up very nicely. I could not be more pleased.
Description of Work
This is a follow up on a review I gave Savage Painting a couple weeks ago. They came out and finished the exterior paint job on my house that was interrupted by tree damage to the house.
Category
deck cleaning, house painters
LAWRENCE H.
5.0
06/22/2016
My 120 year old (plus) home was badly in need of a paint job. It had been neglected for way too long. Savage painting was in-line on their price but a little less than other quotes. As a general contractor specializing in larger remodels I have been looking for a better painting contractor. I believe I have found him. Sean did exactly what he said he would do when he said he would do it. His crew were extremely hard working and thoughtful and careful in their approach. Two of his guys have been with him for several years which speaks very well for the company. They spent the better part of two days just cleaning, scraping, spot priming and caulking. I was very happy with the amount and quality of the prep work. The prep work really makes the job. The job had a wrench thrown in it because we had a very large limb fall on the house and do significant damage part way through the project. Sean and his crew just rolled with it. They continued to paint everything they could. The parts they couldn't finish because of the pending repair they left in a neat orderly fashion. Sean was very reasonable in adjusting the payment schedule to reflect the painting left to do after the repair. Sean did some other repairs on the home prior to painting. They replaced some fascia board, corner boards and a few pieces of siding as well. I was very pleased with how those came out. Toward the end, I began to make a mental list of small touch up items that I wanted them to address. Sean and I walked the outside of the house. He detailed to me what he saw as being on the punch list. His list was at least as complete as mine and all items were taken care of before they left. Our house looks better now than it has in quite a while, even with the storm damage on the front. I'm working through the insurance claim process and looking forward to having Savage Painting come back soon and finish the last little bit. I'll update this review after that happens. My only very slight criticism is that it sometimes took a little longer than I would prefer for calls to get returned. In all fairness though, I know from experience it is often difficult to be a working owner of a trade business to be perfectly responsive to current and future clients at the same time. I'd much prefer dealing with an owner who is on site much of the time and doing some of the work rather than a salesman or manager who is absent and not aware of how the job is progressing. Thank you Sean! I'm very pleased and look forward to working on more projects with you in the future. Larry Harkness Harkness Builders, Inc.
Description of Work
They pressure washed and painted the exterior of my house and rather large and complex outbuilding.
Category
pressure washing, house painters
Sharon F.
5.0
10/10/2015
The whole process went well and we are so happy. We had one spot that lifted off but my husband called Shawn and he and his team came out the next day to assess and fix.
Description of Work
Shawn and his team pressure washed the two large decks, railings including spindles; they moved furniture to prepare for painting. They put 2 coats of exterior deck paint on both decks and the railings - they went beyond what we asked for because they knew there were a few things that would make a difference to us if they took care of them while they were working for instance when pressure washing the decks they also pressure washed the eaves and gutters because they knew it would look better. This team is nothing short of AWESOME!! As they were finishing up we decided we wanted the shutters on all the windows painted too so they got the paint and came back the next morning to do the shutters - this was an extra charge of course but very reasonable! These guys are top notch - you wont go wrong hiring Savage :-) We will definitely use them again!!
Category
gutter cleaning, deck cleaning, pressure washing, house painters
Lee H.
1.0
09/15/2014
After meeting me at my home to look at the job and figuring so he could give me an estimate, he did come at the time he said he would be there. Everything went down hill from there. First he said he would e-mail an estimate in the next couple of days, it didn't happen, so I called him, he said he promised he would do that evening. Didn't happen again. So now I e-mailed and called his wife, no response talked to Shawn one last time said he said for a third time he would get it to me. And e-mailed Deb one last time. I gave them both to many chances to do what they said they would do to no avail. Of all the sub contractors that I have dealt with in the last 2years, since I moved down here, they are the worst by far.
Description of Work
Nothing
Category
deck cleaning
Don B.
5.0
08/11/2014
Excellent, thorough work with great attention to details. Shawn Savage, the owner, was onsite almost all the time over the course of a week. Very accommodating and easy to work with; flexible to changing requests by us. Good crew. Always on time. Highly professional. Exceeded our expectations. Will certainly use him in the future, and have recommended him to others.
Description of Work
Power wash and two coats of paint plus trim and shutters on exterior of 3,400 sq ft residence. Interior two coats of paint on walls in areas with two story ceilings; interior patching as needed.
Category
deck cleaning, pressure washing, house painters, interior painters
Mimi F.
5.0
07/17/2014
Shawn,s work is quick and perfect. He does what.he says he will do in the time frame he specifies. He is an outstanding craftsman, a direct businessman, and a fine gentleman. I plan to use him again.
Description of Work
power washed decks and porch,, painted them, cleaned gutters, removed waste material. Painted interior of house .
Category
gutter cleaning, deck cleaning, pressure washing, house painters, interior painters
Katherine P.
5.0
04/01/2014
It's just a small company so they don't sort a big crew to do anything. They are very easy to reach.
Description of Work
We used Savage Painting & Drywall for house and deck painting.
Category
deck cleaning, house painters
Douglas & Patricia P.
5.0
11/04/2013
I think it is important to note early-on that the owner, Mr. Shawn Savage, was not only the estimator, he was on-site every day, working with his crew. He was always there working when we dropped in during the 6 days they were on site and he did both the initial and final walk-through with us. We recently purchased a home built in 1990 which needed some significant updating and TLC. We originally just wanted to have the popcorn finish removed from all of the ceilings (which included the garage). Savage Painting gave us the lowest estimate to have the work done and seemed to be the most down-to-earth and up-front of the 4 contractors we had come out (all A-rated from Angie?s List). Because the pricing was well below our expected budget, we decided to have Savage Painting also remove the wallpaper from 3 rooms and paint almost all of interior of the house. Last minute, we decided to blow the budget and have a partitioning wall removed and one more room of wallpaper removed, and Savage Painting was also able to do this work. A separate electrician was hired to do the electrical work of moving a pair of switches. The house was unoccupied during the work. Popcorn Removal: Savage Painting removed the popcorn from 1900 square feet of ceilings in less than 2 days and probably could have done it in one day if not for the other work they were doing for us. They then sanded and patched the ceilings, putting on 2 coats of quality flat white paint (a second full coat was at our request and at slightly greater expense). Bottom coat sprayed, top coat rolled. They took care to make sure the ceilings were as smooth as possible considering the age and condition of the home. One ceiling, they discovered, was half finished and half skim-coated under the popcorn. They skim-coated the rest of the ceiling at no additional charge to make it look even. This whole endeavor was an incredibly messy job. If you ever have this type of work done, please don?t expect the house to be dust-free when it is finished. A little detail cleaning will always be needed. That being said, they did a good job of covering everything with drop cloths and plastic, and cleaning up the vast majority of the dust where it snuck around their coverings. Wall Removal: The wall was gone the first day. Due to the unusual construction of the home it was necessary to provide some support for the ceiling drywall (but the wall was not load-bearing), which we did ourselves from above. Mr. Savage offered to put up a header beam at the cost of materials only, but with the overhead supports we added this was unnecessary. They filled in the gaps left behind by the removal of the wall, added 2x4?s and drywall as needed, taped and spackled the joints, finished the new corners with metal angle strips, and did a fantastic job with the spackle finish coats. Unless it was pointed out, you would not know there had been a wall there unless you really looked for it. They even re-used trim from the missing wall to fill the gaps in the trim where the wall had been. We did have a little panic when he let us know that his usual electrician was unavailable to move the wall switches, but that was poor planning on our part since the wall removal was a last minute decision. We found one quickly who was able to do the work that day. Wallpaper Removal, Painting and Finishing: Mr. Savage?s crew ran into some unexpected problems with the wallpaper removal. The wallpaper was very strongly bonded to the drywall and removal resulted in many gouges and tears in the drywall in one room. They skim-coated the entire area where the problems were and there is no noticeable sign that they had any issues. We had them paint the majority of the interior and they even painted some small areas that were outside of the contract agreement at no charge. Wherever there was a problem (old color showing, dimple in wall, etc.) they re-finished as needed and then repainted. They even left some paint for us for future touch-ups as well. On top of everything else, they power-washed the driveway and front door walkway for us at no additional charge. This was a very nice added touch, and was desperately needed. Full Disclosure: There were only two problems that we discovered several days after the work was done and we had time to look around in detail. Two or three spots on the kitchen ceiling had been re-finished with spackle after the paint was dry and needed a coat of paint but were missed. In one bathroom where the wallpaper removal had been difficult, we found a 1? square patch on the wall that could have used a skim coat of spackle to blend some uneven surfaces. Overall these were very minor issues in our opinion and we honestly didn?t consider it worth the bother to have them come back and touch up since we could easily handle it ourselves. Relative to the condition of the house when we purchased it, the improvement resulting from the work they did was incredible. Overall, Mr. Savage and the entire Savage Painting crew were very approachable, down to earth, actually listened to us and our concerns, and then acted on those concerns to resolve them. They never once acted condescending or dismissive, which is a problem we have had with some contractors in the past. Adjustments and change requests to the contracted work were handled more than fairly in my opinion with very reasonable adjustments to the pricing. All of the smaller requests we made (drywall patch here, extra paint there, etc.) they completed for us at no additional charge for labor or materials. They cleaned up after themselves, removing all of the construction debris, and vacuumed and dusted the house before leaving. Highly recommended!
Description of Work
Popcorn ceiling finish removal, ceiling refinishing, ceiling painting, wall painting and finishing, wall paper removal, wall removal / light carpentry, pressure washing driveway and walk way.
Category
drywall, remodeling, wallpaper removal, pressure washing, interior painters
EVELYN S.
5.0
08/04/2013
Shawn was very quick to come and provide me with a proposal. They showed up on time to do the work and it was finished very quickly and professionally.
Description of Work
removed popcorn ceiling in bathroom, painted bath, foyer and hallways. Pressure washed and painted deck.
Category
deck cleaning, pressure washing, house painters, interior painters
Katherine P.
5.0
02/04/2013
He is excellent. They are very reliable, very punctual and very professional. Mr Savage and his wife work together and they run several crews. One or the other is here when the job starts and if they don't stay they come back to make sure the job is done correctly. They are very good people. I would use them again in the future.
Description of Work
We use Savage Painting and Drywall. We last used their service in August. We had the deck cleaned. They painted it the previous year and over the summer it developed some grunge so we wanted to make sure we didn't carry that into the winter. They have also painted the interior and interior room, painted the deck, cleaned the driveway and front porch.
Category
deck cleaning, house painters, interior painters
julie M.
5.0
12/19/2012
I saw a Savage truck and called to get an estimate. I couldnt even get other companies to call me back. He gave us an estimate and he got to work. The team showed up when they should have. They did not leave a mess and the deck is beautiful. They did a first rate job and did not cut any corners. They were very knowledgeble about how to repair someone elses mistakes! My deck looks beautiful!
Description of Work
The entire deck was repaired and stained
Category
deck cleaning, house painters
Angela P.
1.0
06/15/2011
The quote was worth $1200. Nothing about them really stood out and I didn't hire them for the job. I felt they were trying to sell me a bunch of junk. They never e-mailed me a written quote.
Description of Work
I contacted Savage Painting & Drywall to get a quote to paint my foyer. It also included painting the ceiling that included crown molding and such.
Category
interior painters

Service Provider Response

We felt we were being interveiwed more on price than quality. We were being price compared to the illegal, uninsured "other guy" We kindly gave our bid verbally to what seemed to be a disinterested customer. The foyer was very high and multiple colors to the job. We adhere to high quality and standards,sorry it didn't work out for this particular customer.

    Other local Pros in your area

    AJ's Quality Painting Services

    We have the experience and dedication to bring your dreams to reality! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. Our team has quality experience in this industry, and we make sure our customers are happy before we leave. Call or click to schedule an estimate today! Secondary Phone (336) 858-8445.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    On Point Pressure Washing

    Pressure Washing and Gutter Cleaning  

    Angi Certified

    BJax Custom Painting

    We are a locally owned and operated company with years of industry experience. We value honesty and integrity, and stand behind our work. We specialize in both interior and exterior residential and commercial painting projects. We pride ourselves on the quality of our work as well as our commitment to outstanding results. We look forward to building long-term relationships with our clients and guarantee your satisfaction!  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Veteran Owned & OperatedVeteran Owned & Operated
    No License Required for Trade
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    no
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Painting- Interior & Exterior. Drywall & Plaster Repair. Water Damage. Accent Walls. Wallpaper Removal. Popcorn Ceiling Removal. Deck & Fence- Sealing & Staining. Pressure Washing. Gutter Cleaning.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Savage Painting & Drywall

    How is Savage Painting & Drywall overall rated?

    Savage Painting & Drywall is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Savage Painting & Drywall open?

    Savage Painting & Drywall is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Savage Painting & Drywall provide

    Savage Painting & Drywall accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Savage Painting & Drywall offer free estimates?

    Yes, Savage Painting & Drywall offers free project estimates.

    Does Savage Painting & Drywall offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Savage Painting & Drywall does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Savage Painting & Drywall offer a senior discount?

    No, Savage Painting & Drywall does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Savage Painting & Drywall?

    No, Savage Painting & Drywall does not offer warranties.

    What services does Savage Painting & Drywall offer?

    Savage Painting & Drywall offers the following services: Painting- Interior & Exterior. Drywall & Plaster Repair. Water Damage. Accent Walls. Wallpaper Removal. Popcorn Ceiling Removal. Deck & Fence- Sealing & Staining. Pressure Washing. Gutter Cleaning.