Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

DAVID LONG ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR INC

Founded 1990 • With Angi since June 1998

4.9

(387) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 126

Matthews, NC 28106

Description

David Long Electrical Contractor is a dependable, professional team of electricians delivering the highest quality work in the Charlotte area for over 25 years. We listen to our customers and often assess and diagnose issues prior to our arrival at the location of your service call. Customer satisfaction is our ultimate goal. We will accomplish your electrical goals with local service at a reasonable price. LICENSE #: 16402....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/08/2021


Dennis F.

This was the only company I contacted which returned my call and promptly sent someone out to fix the problem. Would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Numerous electrical outlets knocked out by lightning strike.

Category appliance repair, electrician

5.0

10/24/2019


Patrick N.

We have used David Long numerous times and it is always a positive experience. David Long Electrical delivers on their promises! We had friends coming to town to see our new house and we had a portion of our new fans and lights delivered as well as our chandelier from our previous home at our new home. My wife called mid-week to see if their was anyway they could get the fans and lights we had installed. They actually went out of their way and sent someone on a Saturday, which they normally do not work, just so we could have the fixtures in before our good friends arrived. Jon was unbelievable and did a great job. You cannot go wrong with David Long Electrical!! Call them for your electrical needs. They do what they say they will!

Description of Work
We recently moved into a new house and needed new fans and light fixtures installed.

Category electrician, lighting, ceiling fans

1.0

10/17/2019


LINDSAY R.

I paid David Long Electrical more than $200 up front to provide me with estimates for installing can lighting in my kitchen and multiple outlets in a bedroom. They came to my home, charged me for the technician's time, and promised to provide an estimate and then return to do the work. They never came back. They never provided an estimate. They never responded to my extremely polite calls, voice messages, or emails over three months. Do yourself a favor and find another electrical contractor to do your work.

Description of Work
Installing can lights in the kitchen and outlets in the bedroom

Category electrician, lighting

5.0

07/10/2018


Leroy M.

Service was provided as part of a handyman service we contracted with. David Long's team did a good job, discussed our concerns, did prompt work and were very professional.

Description of Work
Change out breaker and install security light (ran line)

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great review. We're so glad you were happy with the service we provided for you.
5.0

12/18/2017


James E.

the work was completed quickly and looks professional

Description of Work
We had some grow lights installed in our basement and an additional receptacle installed on a wall

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] and [Member Name Removed] I am so glad you are happy with those grow lights we installed fo you! I hope all your plants grow and stay healthy thanks and it was a pleasure meeting you David Long
5.0

11/16/2017


LAURA H.

Great experience! I called Saturday morning and my problem was solved by early afternoon.

Description of Work
Determined why furnace didn't have power and reconnected electrical line.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great review. We're so glad we were able to help you with the problems you had and that you were satisfied with our service.
5.0

09/11/2017


Valerie W.

They were able to work my friend in and took care of the electrical problem and even finished installing the light fixture. They did a great job and all were pleased

Description of Work
A close friend was closing on a home sale and a ceiling light that was being installed was not getting power. I reached out to David Long's group and advised them of the situation, hoping they could handle the same day.

Category electrician, lighting

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind review. We are happy to hear you were pleased with our work and hope you keep us in mind for any further electrical needs.
5.0

08/03/2017


SALLY B.

Well. Santiago is an excellent election and very personable

Description of Work
Installed GFI in crawl space for sump pump. Replaced outside lights. Replaced chandelier. Reinstalled garage light.

Category electrician, lighting, wells, ceiling fans

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review of Santiago. We are always happy to hear that our technicians have left a good impression on our customers. If you should have any future electrical needs please feel free to contact us.
5.0

02/21/2017


Sandra P.

I sent an email detailing what I needed and received a response the same morning with a Monday appointment and timeframe of 12-2pm contact with electrician. Santiago was the electrician and called when he was in route at around 11:30 am or so and said he would be there in 20 minutes. He was there before noon. He drove a van with company name on the side and was in uniform. He introduced himself, shook hands and asked me for details of what he would be working on. I showed him the items I'd purchased from Lowes and he let me know one set of bulbs I purchased for the motion sensor floods were not the right type, he would tell me what to get. He also looked for the wiring and tested to make sure he could do his installations. It turns out that the simple doorbell installation turned out not to be so, I'd had a wired doorbell in the past and had a handy man change it. He apparently ripped out the wires and installed a battery operated doorbell. Santiago had to install a transformer and connect back to the wiring before he could install doorbell. Cost me more time and money, but I was glad to find out about the issue. The motion sensor lights, he had to go through my attic and install a wire to the outside of house where I wanted lights located. I was concerned he would not have time to get everything done, but he assured me he had the things he needed in the truck and he could do everything in time. I went to Lowes to get correct flood lights and he worked on the different items. Everything was installed correctly. The only hiccup is that I did not open my Ring Doorbell when received and realize it should have been charged and an app installed to my telephone so that it would work correctly. I had to take it off to charge and install app to my cellphone as there is an orange reset button not reachable once the doorbell was installed. Fortunately, it was installed neatly and I only had to unscrew the two small screws it was installed with and reinstall exactly the same way. The pricing was more than I thought it would be, but that was because of the him having to fixed what the handy man had ripped out a few years ago. I went outside after dark and the motion sensor flood lights have coverage over the areas Santiago pointed out to me. The light fixture at the front door also worked as I wanted it to, came on when I walked up as if I were going to open door with a key. Ring doorbell and my android phone are still not connected due to me, but the actual doorbell chimes.

Description of Work
I needed to add motion sensor flood lights to the side of my house, reinstall wired light fixture outside affixed near back door of my house that I had loosened while trying to change a burned out bulb, remove an outdated light fixture at front doorway and install a motion sensor light, and install a "Ring Doorbell" (with video).

Category electrician, lighting

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the great review of our technician. We pride ourselves on having technicians that are not only knowledgable but will represent the company well. If you should have any further issues with your electrical, please feel free to contact us.
5.0

12/30/2016


Jim S.

All problems corrected in less than an hour and a half at a fair price. Santiago, the service person arrived precisely at 8:00 AM. He had gotten an email to his company so he came in asking for where the bedroom was that had the circuit breaking problem. He checked the outlets, noticed what else was plugged in in that bedroom, and listened as my wife explained her experiences with the vacuum cleaner plug. He plugged in vacuum, turned it on, along with a TV and other lights in the room then went to the garage to check the breaker box. He came back with a report of how many amps the items turned on were pulling from the power load and reported that we had too much plugged into receptacles in that room. He advised we use the vacuum with other lights and TV turned off so as to not overload the circuit. He then went to the room with the fan/light problem, removed the fan base where the wiring was and found a wire that become broken from the switch box with the chain. He replaced that and all worked well. He went outside to the receptacle on a brick wall, and watched as I showed him the easy tripping of the breaker with a plug in of holiday lights. He found the box loosely attached to the wall so he removed the receptacle, tightened up the box, then checked the wire connections where he found a ground wire touching a neutral wire. Correcting these problems, he reattached the box and caulked it on the top seam. He told me not to use it for and hour or so to let the caulk dry and seal the box from water. He told me he did not find any corrosion in the box area. Santiago was very polite, well-spoken, and knowledgeable. He listened as we explained the problems then set out to repair them. He then explained why the problem existed and how he repaired it. He kept his shoes covered at all times and worked quickly. I felt like we got more for our money from his explanations and work.

Description of Work
Safety check of a bedroom circuit after repeated breaker tripping when vacuuming. Fan that would not turn off separately from overhead light and an outdoor receptacle that tripped off repeatedly when holiday lights were turned on.

Category electrician, ceiling fans, outdoor lighting

5.0

12/19/2016


Jackie G.

Scheduling was very easy and they were flexible. I had to cancel once because my fixture did not come in as planned and they were very nice about rescheduling. The electrician arrived on time for both appointments and the work was done in a reasonable amount of time. I will definitely call David Long Electrical again.

Description of Work
We needed a large chandelier, small chandelier, and ceiling fan installed. We also had landscape lighting that was damaged and needed to be re-wired.

Category electrician, lighting, ceiling fans, outdoor lighting

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the positive review. We are happy to hear that you were happy with our service and look forward to helping you with all of your electrical needs in the future.
5.0

08/16/2016


Eric C.

Have used David Long company before, will use again and will recommend. On time, professional and courteous. Source of the outdoor problem required significant effort to trace the problem due to the old wiring of the house but he got it done. Advised me current outdoor outlets were not up to code and replaced them for me.

Description of Work
Repair and replace 3 outdoor receptacles, replace 2 fluorescent ballasts, repair indoor receptacle.

Category electrician, lighting

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your positive review. We are glad that you were happy with our service and hope to help you in the future for all of your electrical needs.
5.0

07/25/2016


Terri K.

Absolutely wonderful. Could not ask for better service!

Description of Work
Needed a full inspection of our electrical system due to closing on the house and a strike by lightning.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the positive review. We are pleased that we were able to help you with your electrical needs.
5.0

04/23/2016


Kim M.

i called them on Thurs 4/21/16, spoke with a very nice woman who scheduled time for them to come out the following...she then called a little later to say they could fit me in on Friday 4/22/16 if I wanted...which I did. So I called Thursday and the were here to do the job the next day. The two electricians showed up on time and completed the job. The men were great - nice, friendly and professional. One is a drummer in a rock and roll band if you get the reference ;0). Could not have gone better - they were respectful, asked my opinion on directionality of the flood lights and type of lights I wanted. Happy customer, kim

Description of Work
installed new security lighting on the outside of the home. New flood lights, motion sensitive.

Category electrician, lighting

5.0

02/23/2016


Carol F.

The technician arrived promptly and quickly got to work in diagnosing the issues I had called about. This is not the first time this provider has been in my home and the technician was familiar with the previous work. He was very professional and friendly. He answered all of my questions and was very patient with my explanations of the issues as I explained them. He cleaned up after himself and did not track anything into the house even though it had begun to rain and he had to make several trips outside to the electrical panel or to his truck for the necessary supplies. He also searched to insure that the new switch and plate matched with the existing materials. He offered suggestions for continued maintenance of my aging electrical system.

Description of Work
David Long Electrical Contracting repaired 2 defective switches and a defective outlet in my home which included a three way switch. The technician also diagnosed an ongoing issue with my aging electrical system and provided some suggestions. The technician also assured me of the safety of the current system in my home.

Category electrician

5.0

12/09/2015


Margaret W.

He put in a new outlet and cover in. He also fixed a switch in our lamp. Everything was complete thoroughly and promptly We are very satisfied.

Description of Work
Heater plug caught fire leaving black marks on the wall.

Category electrician

5.0

12/08/2015


TERESA L D.

I called Long Electrical, they ave me instructions over the phone to try simple fix, didn't work and then they came out to replaced the circuit breaker that wasn't working. They came out very quickly. They tell you how much its going to be and its going to be that way. They did what they said they were going to do. While they were there I got a quote for a replacement panel and adding more electricity being sent throughout the home.

Description of Work
Fixed Circuit Breaker Panel

Category electrician

5.0

04/04/2015


James H.

They were very friendly, courteous, on time! Came out weekend of Easter and saved the day!

Description of Work
Installed oven outlet where one did not exist. Had old oven that was hard wired.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our service(s). We truly appreciate your business and hope we'll be able to help you in the future with all of your electrical needs
1.0

02/23/2015


Randy G.

David Long is listed under appliance repair and has this as a service on their website. They also advertise Sunday hours. My freezer stopped on Sunday and I called them to see if they work on freezers. The rep that answered the phone got all my info including a request for a prompt response and said someone would get back with me. I never heard back from them at all. Very unprofessional.

Description of Work
Nothing

Category appliance repair, electrician

Service Provider Response

We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy. We tried to contact you but were unavailable to with the number that was left for us. That being said, our area of expertise is electrical repairs to appliances not appliance repairs. This is definitely misleading and we are updating our information on our website. We are sorry for any inconvenience this may have cause you.
5.0

01/28/2015


Sandra C.

They were very professional. The service was very good. They left the area neat and clean. They called because they were running behind but the did call.

Description of Work
They put in some recess lights in the kitchen, hung chandeliers, hung up an electrical fixture over an island, they installed a vent fan with a light in the bathroom, and had to run wiring into the attic to get it all hooked up.

Category electrician

5.0

12/15/2014


Amy P.

They were fine and on time. They were very thorough in what they did and very caring. We were very pleased with them. No problems came out and they were here when they said they would be. They cleaned up after themselves and they did everything the way we wanted it to be done. Their price is pretty comparable.

Description of Work
We use them for electrical work.

Category electrician

5.0

12/09/2014


Lisa M.

They were great, prompt and did a great job. Will always use them for all my electrical needs.

Description of Work
Replace a smoke alarm

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you for reviewing your experience with David Long Electrical. We are pleased that you were happy with our service and look forward to helping you with all of your electrical needs. David Long Electrical
5.0

12/06/2014


Chris H.

He was very courtesous over phone to schedule an appt. When the technician called me he helped me troubleshoot my problem and walked me through how to fix it without him having to come out on a Saturday afternoon. Very thankful for this superior customer service.

Description of Work
Fixed outdoor outlet GFI failure problem.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our services. We sincerely appreciate your business and hope to be able to help you again in the future. David Long Electrical
5.0

06/25/2014


Edward G.

Every aspect of our experience with David Long Electric was excellent -- from getting the quote through all the work being done by two of their electricians. We thought the price was very reasonable, liked the people we got to work with, and will definitely make David Long our go-to for future electrical work.

Description of Work
Installed 6 ceiling fans, an undercabinet light, and two outlets in the garage; changed a fluorescent fixture; installed a cable demarcation box.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], It was our pleasure doing business with you. If you should need anything in the future please feel free to contact us. Thank you, David Long
5.0

04/12/2014


Jim V.

David Long is extremely responsive and professional. He returned my phone call promptly and sent his son and another gentleman right away to take care of my hazardous electrical problem. I highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
Replaced burnt out breaker in bedroom and checked all outlets in room.

Category electrician

    Other local Pros in your area

    DIVINE LIGHTSCAPES

    Divine Lightscapes uses, lifetime warranty BRASS products & Long Lasting LED's bulbs. Sign up today for a FREE DEMONSTRATION and see you home in a new light. Ask about our Angie's List Discount !!! Cell 704-749-4949  

    Offers by DIVINE LIGHTSCAPES on Angi
    Comfort First Heating and Cooling - Charlotte

    If you want to stay cool and comfortable in Charlotte, North Carolina, then the Comfort First team is the one to call! We specialize in AC repair, maintenance, and installation to keep your family happy and healthy in the sweltering southern summers. Since 2010 our customers in Charlotte have been completely satisfied with our state of the art AC repair and maintenance!  

    Offers by Comfort First Heating and Cooling - Charlotte on Angi
    Comfort First Heating & Cooling

    Comfort First Heating and Cooling takes great pleasure in being the friendliest, most caring and competent air conditioning and heating service, repair and installation company in North Carolina & Virginia. Our more than 20 years of residential and commercial experience gives us the confidence needed to boldly offer the most aggressive,thoughtful Written Guarantee in the industry. Everything we do, from answering your first call to seeing the savings in your electricity after our visit, is meticulously planned because we feel that every detail of your comfort is valuable. If you need air conditioning and heating service, repair or installation and live in central North Carolina, we have technicians locally that can serve you. Contact Us today to find the people and comfort you can count on! Financing is available and Military discounts.  

    Offers by Comfort First Heating & Cooling on Angi
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Senior Discount
    5.00
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    COMMERCIAL, INDUSTRIAL & RESIDENTIAL CEILING FANS, REPAIRS, UPGRADES, WATER HEATERS, KITCHEN UP-FITS, BATHROOM UP-FITS, SWIMMING POOL PUMPS, SECURITY LIGHTING, ADDITIONS, TELEPHONE LINES FOR COMPUTER, LIGHT SWITCHES, CRAWL SPACES, ATTICS & ATTIC VENTS.GENERAL ELECTRICAL REPAIRS

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about DAVID LONG ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR INC

    How is DAVID LONG ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR INC overall rated?

    DAVID LONG ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR INC is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are DAVID LONG ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR INC open?

    DAVID LONG ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR INC is open:

    Sunday: 6:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Monday: 6:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Tuesday: 6:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Wednesday: 6:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Thursday: 6:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Friday: 6:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    Saturday: 6:00 AM - 9:00 PM

    What payment options does DAVID LONG ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR INC provide

    DAVID LONG ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR INC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does DAVID LONG ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR INC offer free estimates?

    No, DAVID LONG ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR INC does not offer free project estimates.

    Does DAVID LONG ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR INC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, DAVID LONG ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR INC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does DAVID LONG ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR INC offer a senior discount?

    No, DAVID LONG ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR INC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by DAVID LONG ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR INC?

    Yes, DAVID LONG ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR INC offers warranties.

    What services does DAVID LONG ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR INC offer?

    DAVID LONG ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR INC offers the following services: COMMERCIAL, INDUSTRIAL & RESIDENTIAL CEILING FANS, REPAIRS, UPGRADES, WATER HEATERS, KITCHEN UP-FITS, BATHROOM UP-FITS, SWIMMING POOL PUMPS, SECURITY LIGHTING, ADDITIONS, TELEPHONE LINES FOR COMPUTER, LIGHT SWITCHES, CRAWL SPACES, ATTICS & ATTIC VENTS.GENERAL ELECTRICAL REPAIRS

    Are there any services DAVID LONG ELECTRICAL CONTRACTOR INC does not offer?

    Ask for details.