Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

STEVE SMALLMAN PROP INSP LLC

Founded 1980 • With Angi since June 2010

4.6

(25) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1002 Emerald Ct

Knightdale, NC 27545

Description

Residential and commercial building inspections, termite inspections, radon gas testing. 39 years experience, and our pre-purchase home inspections include a...

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/04/2019


Shelly R.

Absolutely wonderful. He was so nice and explained everything to us. Great quality service. Definitely recommend to do business with!

Description of Work
Home inspection

Category home inspection

5.0

05/06/2019


Beverly B.

The service was very good. The only inspectors I would use, very thorough, very professional and any problems he would find it. He came highly recommended by the Realtors in Raleigh. I would definitely be using his services in the future purchases I would be having.

Description of Work
Property Inspection service for a Residential Property

Category home inspection

Service Provider Response

thank you for your kind comment.. we look forward to helping the next angies list member
5.0

04/18/2019


Jill F.

The job went very well. He is highly professional and extremely competent.

Description of Work
They did an inspection.

Category home inspection

5.0

05/15/2017


Allison B.

A little confusion while scheduling but that was primarily our fault as we were out of state during most of the process. The inspection report itself was the best I've ever seen. It was thorough, with pictures and explanation and repair recommendations - no fluff. They went back for redress after completion of repairs. The guys were great!

Description of Work
Home inspection

Category home inspection

2.0

05/03/2017


NANCY S.

Home inspection part seemed to go fine but not very detailed oriented. The Radon inspection was suspect. He placed the unit in a small closed off room and ran the test during a 2 and a half day storm. The results came back and they were very strange and off the charts. Unfortunately this caused a lot of issues with our potential buyer. We immediately hired a certified Radon inspector which told us that the test was invalid and the inspector was clueless. They said the test should not have been done during a record breaking almost 3 day historic storm and that the inspector did not place the detector in a place which would accurately record radon levels and the unit and software were outdated and the inspector was not certified. The inspector also said that he was redoing a number of test which were done in error by the same inspector. Buyer beware this firm is not a firm which i would recommend.

Description of Work
Radon Inspection.

Category home inspection

5.0

01/30/2016


Karen W.

I thought Steve and his team did an excellent job. They did a full home inspection on a rather large house and did a good job detailing the problems in the report, including pictures. I had lived in the home for the prior 8 months so thought I was pretty familiar with it, but he found many things that I had not paid attention to or was unaware were dangerous. He also did a separate termite and radon inspection. Finally, he recommended very high-quality contractors (which I used) to repair the items and I was very pleased with that.

Description of Work
Home inspection, termite inspection, radon inspection

Category home inspection

5.0

01/04/2016


Marjorie V.

Bruce inspected our home just before it was drywalled. He is very thorough and found some moldy wood, some areas that weren't put together completely, a large hole for electrical in our concrete in our kitchen. It should have been a small hole and we made sure the contractors fixed it before they put the island on top of it. Our fireplace vent was not put in properly, as lay people, we wouldn't have known. During the final inspection, Bruce found several issues including a hole in the foundation that wasn't readily visible unless you got down on the ground, a crack in the foundation, several non-working outlets, in all he found about 20 things to fix. He's friendly, explains everything to you, answers all your questions and it's obvious he's an expert. He also did a radon test in our home. Bruce is very easy to work with, knows his stuff, is on time and again very thorough. We highly recommend him! We have a much better home because we had the issues addressed by our contractors thanks to Bruce! Margie & Chris

Description of Work
Drywall & final inspections on newly built home. Also radon testing.

Category home inspection

5.0

01/04/2016


Ronald M.

Steve conducted a thorough inspection of the house and identified a number of items that were needing repair or were not compliant with building codes. He explained his findings in detail and took time to answer all our questions. We are happy with the work he performed and were glad he identified the repair items that had been missed by the builder and builder's inspections. This ensured the items were added to the punch list before home closing and avoided a discussion/negotiation with the builder after closing to try and get the repairs completed!

Description of Work
Inspected new construction home before final closing. Identified issues to be added to punch list of builder repairs.

Category home inspection

5.0

11/04/2015


Wes L.

Steve Smallman showed up at the set time of the appointment and inspected the entire home including the roof, crawl space, exterior elevations and all interior rooms. Elecrical, plumbing and HVAC were also checked. Steve provided a detailed and well-written report with good photos. Concerns were found and noted with recommended repair methods included. In addition to this inspection, Steve has performed two prior inspections for me as well as one for my daughter and this one for my son. All were prefessionally completed. I would recommend Steve Smallman for home inspections if you want a thorough inspection with detailed reporting.

Description of Work
Home Inspection completed as requested and in excellent detail. Concerns were found and properly noted in the report along with recommended repair/replacement methods. Steve arrived at the designated time and stayed for an extended period of time in order to check all aspects of the home.

Category home inspection

5.0

06/01/2015


Matthew E.

Great! Bruce was wonderful and did a really thorough job. He explained everything in detail to us as we went through the inspection and provided a really detailed report. We knew the good, bad, and ugly buying our home and we were so appreciative of his hard work. Would recommend to anyone!

Description of Work
Home inspection/Pest inspection

Category home inspection

    Other local Pros in your area

    Linda Nuxoll

    2015 - 2018 Associate of the year! I will patiently work with you to find your dream home! In this very competitive Triangle area market you need someone who is watching the market closely and will get you into a house on the first possible day. I will be honest with you about the pros and cons of every house and guide you on preparing an offer that will help you win the home in a multiple offer situation. If you are selling your home I will help you determine what, if any, improvements you need to do insure the greatest return on investment. I have many contractors recommendation I can share. I will have your home measured and provide a floor plan, I include a professional staging consultation free of charge and will have a professional photographer capture the beauty of your home I've been a full time realtor since 2005 working the entire triangle area.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Iron Homes Inspections

    We are a comprehensive Home Inspection company covering the Raleigh Durham area. Also offering Radon detection and Well Water testing for your convenience. We accept cash check and credit cards to make payment as easy as possible.  

    Realm Inspections

    We are Realm Inspections, Fuquay Varina’s hometown home inspector. We are a women owned, family operated business serving the greater triangle area. Buying a new home, selling an existing one, or building brand new, or inspections have you covered. You’d be hard pressed to find a better home inspection team given our years of experience in the construction industry. You get the value you want and the attention you deserve when you have an inspection performed by Realm. Your main inspection comes with a web based report and a 24 hour turnaround, because we know that time is a factor in this hectic real estate market. Joe, our lead Inspector and co-owner, will be there to answer any question you have. The best part is, even after the inspection is over, you can reach out to Joe and team for any questions or guidance you need for your home. We go beyond the inspection, we are your resource for life. Realm utilizes all the latest technology when inspecting your investment, including thermal, drones, various measurement tools, etc. Not sure which way to go? Give us a call, we’d love to discuss your options with you.  

    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    3
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    No

    Services Offered

    Residential and commercial building inspections, termite inspections, radon gas testing

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about STEVE SMALLMAN PROP INSP LLC

    How is STEVE SMALLMAN PROP INSP LLC overall rated?

    STEVE SMALLMAN PROP INSP LLC is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are STEVE SMALLMAN PROP INSP LLC open?

    STEVE SMALLMAN PROP INSP LLC is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does STEVE SMALLMAN PROP INSP LLC provide

    STEVE SMALLMAN PROP INSP LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does STEVE SMALLMAN PROP INSP LLC offer free estimates?

    Yes, STEVE SMALLMAN PROP INSP LLC offers free project estimates.

    Does STEVE SMALLMAN PROP INSP LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, STEVE SMALLMAN PROP INSP LLC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does STEVE SMALLMAN PROP INSP LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, STEVE SMALLMAN PROP INSP LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by STEVE SMALLMAN PROP INSP LLC?

    No, STEVE SMALLMAN PROP INSP LLC does not offer warranties.

    What services does STEVE SMALLMAN PROP INSP LLC offer?

    STEVE SMALLMAN PROP INSP LLC offers the following services: Residential and commercial building inspections, termite inspections, radon gas testing