Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Floor Coverings International

Founded 1995 • With Angi since August 2006

4.5

(35) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

330 Pineview Dr.

Kernersville, NC 27284

Description

Welcome to Floor Coverings International Triad! We are the premier flooring company serving the Winston-Salem, Greensboro, High Point area. We provide high quality design and installation services and carry the latest flooring products including hardwood, carpet, stone, and tile flooring! Take the

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
Erik C.
1.0
03/02/2023
No show and no call. Had an appointment for them to come out and look at our flooring project which I took off from work for. Unreliable.
Description of Work
Hardwood floor sanded and refinished.
Category
hardwood floor
Caryn W.
1.0
08/24/2019
The carpeting and other floorings were done decently except that the carpet guys threw the carpet out of the master window and killed one of our azaleas. The painting was horrible. The paint on the trim has been coming off all over the place due to the fact that the painter, Alphonso Sanchez, used latex paint on top of oil based paint without sanding or priming the trim first. The paint literally peals off. The backs of closet doors were not painted nor the trim in the closets. The caulking was done poorly, its not smooth at all. He even used caulk to patch some holes up.The bathrooms were the worst. Leftover adhesive from the wallpaper was painted over instead of removed first. Some wallpaper was painted over instead of being removed also. The toilets were not painted behind. His skimming to fill in holes and ***** made from wallpaper removal was horrible. I've had to go over everything and use putty to fix the stuff he did incorrectly. Alphonso also left gray paint on the wainscoting in the dining room and on a lot of the trim and baseboards. There's to much to list here. I would not recommend hiring this company to anyone if you need painting done and would recommend using them as a last resort for any work.
Description of Work
Painting, Carpet, Vinyl flooring,Hardwood refinishing
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, interior painters
trever H.
5.0
10/11/2017
FCI always does quality work. They leave the area cleaner than they found it. Responsive to questions and issues. Best flooring company in the area bar none.
Description of Work
Removed carpet from 2 rooms and closets and replaced with hard wood laminate
Category
flooring contractor
Josephine B.
3.0
04/03/2017
Everything went very well, they were extremely pleasant on the telephone and the representative who came out was great. I liked his ideas and he seemed an overall lovely person. Unfortunately, that is where it ends. I never heard back from them. I spent a wasted afternoon whilst he measured the floor and came up with various suggestions. I am confused as I explained to him that I was also looking at having my bedrooms and basement recarpeted and he said that he would contact me and come out again with samples etc. I waited for some contact and then decided that they obviously did not want the work.
Description of Work
I had some water damage to my kitchen and called for a representative to come out and give me a quote to repair and finish floor.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor, hardwood floor
Barbara P.
5.0
01/26/2017
I was impressed with them. Very professionally done. He came when he said he would. He had all of the materials he needed. He seemed to be very knowledgeable about what he was talking about. Their price was competitive.
Description of Work
Estimate for installing hard wood flooring.
Category
hardwood floor
Teresa B.
5.0
11/17/2016
It was very pleasant! The young men were nice & knowledgeable. The wood they had, did not match the wood we already had on our floor. That is not the only reason that we choose to go with the other company. They price was very competitive.
Description of Work
They did an estimate for us on hardwood flooring.
Category
hardwood floor
Carlene M.
3.0
02/29/2016
I would really like to give this company a great review, but unfortunately our project didn't end well. The people at FCI are very friendly, responsive, and professional......... until you're not happy. We began by meeting with Randy and Matt, they measured our space and we were impressed by their professionalism and knowledge. We then went by the showroom and looked at samples. We told Randy we needed 1/2" boards since we were replacing 1/2" boards. He came by the house with the samples we liked and we decided on the boards and scheduled to install. Everything great to this point. The installation took place the following week during the day when I was at work so I didn't see it completed until it was basically done and installers were gone. I saw the kitchen, but the remainder was done the final day. When looking around at the installation, I noticed there was trim installed around 2 places where we have tile. When asked why the trim was there, we were told because the boards that they installed were not as thick as the ones we had previously so there's a gap. There's also trim going into both our bedroom and office where there is carpet. We didn't have trim there before. We also saw some other minor issues that needed to be fixed so we called Matt. Matt came out, looked at our concerns and we measured the new boards and determined that the new boards were indeed 7/16" instead of 1/2", even though it says they are 1/2" when you order them. Matt sent Reuben (installer) out next day to fix some of the minor adjustments that needed to be done (including a place that sqeeked but didn't before) and also to talk to us about the trim. Reuben seemed very rushed, but he did try to fix the squeak but was unsuccessful. I asked him if he could put something different around the tile that was smaller, he quickly said no. We called Randy (owner) to let him know we weren't happy and his response was that he would make sure we were happy. That was 2 weeks ago and we haven't heard back from him. Yes, unfortunately we paid them in full. After all the wonderful reviews on Angie's list, we are very disappointed. We chose this company because of the high rating and reviews. We do think Randy and Marty are good folks, but they've missed the target on customer service on this one.
Description of Work
Replaced hardwoods on main level of our home - approximately 1300 square feet.
Category
carpet installation, ceramic tile, flooring contractor, hardwood floor, home remodeling

Service Provider Response

We are sorry you feel your expectations were not met. When Randy spoke with your husband [Removed Member Name] on February 18th [Removed Member Name] declined Randy's offer to come back to your home to problem solve the transition between the 1/16" height difference of the existing tile and your new wood floor.
Beverly R.
4.0
12/22/2015
The gentleman came out and gave me a price He came right away. Was extremely courteous and professional. I would have used him but I obtained a price from someone a friend recommended that was significantly cheaper. I will get a quote from him in the future. I did not use him but I believe he would do a good job.
Description of Work
He just gave me a quote
Category
flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Thanks for giving us the opportunity to quote your project. Thanks for considering us for the future.
David G.
5.0
06/23/2015
Marty and Camellia are very knowledgable, courteous, prompt and professional. They are also very credible. They gave me a competitive quote on a fairly large project. We decided not to move forward with them because we did find a credible smaller provider with lower overhead, who came highly recommended, was able to provide a better price and meet our tighter time window. They did try very hard to do so, and were very upfront about their backlog. I would not hesitate to recommend them, and trust the other good reviews on AL.
Description of Work
FCI was very prompt and professional in giving us an extensive estimate for 1,800 square feet of new hardwoods (replacing carpet)
Category
flooring contractor, hardwood floor

Service Provider Response

Thanks for giving us the opportunity to bid on your project! Thank you for your kind words.
Zack G.
5.0
06/07/2015
We recently remodeled our entire basement that was considered a major project that lasted roughly seven weeks. We did hire a contractor but the flooring was outside of the project. We initially received three to four estimates and was shocked with the range of costs when comparing similar flooring. Our basement is below grade and even had flooring "experts" recommend products that contained wood which could be compromised with moisture. Roughly halfway through our remodel with no flooring commitment, we received a recommendation to contact Floor Coverings International. They were professional and quick to respond with an on-site estimate and full disclosure of services. They guided us to the most appropriate flooring for our space. They had financing options and very flexible on install date. The cost compared to other similar flooring options was very reasonable - other quotes we received were double this amount! We had a two man crew that disposed of the old carpet, leveled/repaired concrete slab and installed the new floor. They were extremely professional and completed the install in one day. The sales office followed up right after the install to make sure everything was perfect. I would highly recommend Floor Coverings International and would continue to use them for future projects.
Description of Work
Laid new flooring for basement area (900 sq ft) that included storage and laundry room.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

Thanks so much [Member name removed], it was a pleasure to work with you!
Emily S.
5.0
04/08/2015
The designer came out to our house to show us samples and take measurements. She was very helpful and professional as was the financial person in the office who also scheduled the work and kept us up to date about when our materials came in. The installers were very professional. We are very pleased with the work and will use them again in the future.
Description of Work
Installed linoleum in our master bathroom.
Category
flooring contractor
Stacey P.
4.0
12/16/2014
Installers were great! Installation was great! Carpet quality wasn't as good as I expected, but not bad.
Description of Work
Installed carpet
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor
Craig B.
3.0
09/18/2014
The carpet stretch went well. The stretch looks ok. The wrinkle in the carpet isnt 100% gone. I can see a mark where it was... I dunno, maybe I expected too much. The repair was poor. They used a piece of my carpet from elsewhere, however you can very easily see the lines where it was cut. I dont know if it was turned 90 degrees or what, but its VERY obvious its a patch.
Description of Work
Carpet stretch, and carpet repair
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor
Richard C.
4.0
02/18/2014
My 88 year old mother-in-law lives with us and we worried about several thresholds that could present trip hazards. Because several floor coverings had been added over the years the difference in levels was as much as 1 inch and the thresholds added a little to that height. FCI removed laminate wood flooring in the kitchen and tile from one bathroom and put down new roll linoleum in the kitchen, dining room and both baths. | |My overall impression of all involved was good - very friendly and communicated with me what was going on and worked with our schedule. We put my mother-in-law up in a hotel room for a night and day while the tearing out and most of the installation was being done so she would neither be in the way or in danger. The end result was good and met our expectations. | |I would have rated this company an A except for a few slip-ups. During the original at home consult the owner, Randy Hatteberg took measurements and recorded our requests and flooring selections except for one of the bathrooms - which he mentioned was small enough that it wouldn't require additional material, it could be covered with left-over from the other rooms. Later when I got a proposal agreement it left out the bathroom entirely. When I brought this to Randy's attention he said he would need to come back out and take measurements because he had no notes regarding the second bathroom. After coming back out he added what was originally verbally agreed on to the proposal at no additional cost. | |The flooring we initially choose for the baths wasn't available in time for the installation and had to be substituted last minute. Fortunately we're happy with the substitution. | |Additionally, I was asked at one point to provide my credit card number over the phone to Randy's office for the down payment with no signed contract or anything else that might prove what I was giving it to them for or how much they were supposed to charge to the card. This was straightened out to my satisfaction also but it really shouldn't have come up in the first place. | |I would like to compliment Tim Johnson and his crew for the labor they put in and the way the performed their jobs.
Description of Work
This was a "floor leveling" project to remove or reduce floor level transitions.
Category
hardwood floor
Carol S.
5.0
01/24/2014
They showed up as promised. Came to my house to show me samples. Scheduled the work within 2 days, so floor would be finished before Christmas. The floor is beautiful, work was done on time and as promised.
Description of Work
Removed carpet and pad, installed new hardwood floor.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor, hardwood floor
Susan B.
5.0
10/20/2013
They were not able to assist me with my request, but the woman I spoke with was very nice. I would consider contacting the company again for carpet installation.
Description of Work
Inquiry about a carpet repair -
Category
carpet installation
Marc W.
5.0
07/30/2013
I contacted and received estimates from several highly-rated flooring contractors found on AL. FCI not only gave the lowest price but also offered to move our furniture out of the house (we had to provide two Pod storage units). Also, FCI estimated the work could be completed--with furniture returned to the house--in one week. Other providers' time and cost estimates were greater, so hiring FCI was an easy decision. We scheduled the work for a week when we would be on vacation, which was ideal. I met with the installer just before leaving town, gave him a key, and told him we'd be back the next Saturday. We actually decided to return a day later, which turned out to be good luck because due to heavy rain and humidity, the finish had not completely dried by Saturday. We returned on Sunday and found the work completed and all the furniture restored to the house as promised. My only complaint is that it was sometimes difficult to schedule time with the installer responsible for finishing some detail work in my home. While the primary work was completed in a timely manner, there were two details that needed some attention and the installer rescheduled appointments to do this work many times. To their credit, FCI management never made me feel pressured to remit final payment until I was completely satisfied, so the delays in scheduling work probably affected them more than it affected me. The dedication quality work is made evident by FCI ownership and I found their approach refreshing. I would definitely hire FCI again. We may install new floors in the bathrooms in the future and I will call FCI first when we're ready to do that work.
Description of Work
Sanded and refinished existing wood floors, installed new wood floors in family room and kitchen.
Category
flooring contractor, hardwood floor
LLOYD W.
5.0
07/22/2013
the Owner, Randy Hatteberg met with us for two hours during which he presented us with three different designs for the tile for the shower and bathroom floor,reviewed the scope of the project he is to perform which involved our choices for tile combinations, shower doors, painting, light fixtures and the removal and disposal of all existing fixtures and debris from construction. He will install two sconce lights, fan/light fixture, toilet and vanity furnished by us. He anticipates starting work around August !st. His cost proposal was very detailed and within our expected budget. We anticipate a very well done project based on prior customer satisfaction with his work by telephone comments.
Description of Work
A review of our project, renovation of a bathroom. Selection of materials and specifications of systems. Developed a cost proposal which was reviewed and accepted.
Category
ceramic tile, countertops, flooring contractor, glass repair, remodeling, home remodeling, interior painters
Richard T.
5.0
07/12/2013
Everything was perfect. The job turned out really well, and I liked the fact that, when I went to see them, they knew what they were talking about and offered lots of options.
Description of Work
They installed complete tile for a shower and floors.
Category
ceramic tile
William K.
5.0
05/17/2013
Randy was great to work with. We went to the store to check the offerings. They spent time with us working out a selection and also took the time to give me an informal estimate. Their cost was right there with everyone else. The difference was the service you get. Randy went out of his way to come by and measure and also to schedule the installation around my busy schedule. That's worth a lot in my book.
Description of Work
Carpet in our living room
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor
Cynthia M.
5.0
12/08/2012
The whole project was easy and I had no problems. The designer brought the flooring/carpet I was interested in at our meeting, so I had nice choices. THe install went without a hitch. I would use them again.
Description of Work
I had laminate flooring installed in my family room and carpet on my stairs.
Category
carpet installation, flooring contractor, hardwood floor
Gregory E.
4.0
08/01/2012
I thought that they were efficient and quick. There price was a little out of range for what I was looking for. The people were good.
Description of Work
We received a quote from Floor Coverings International to refinish our hardwood floors. [removed approximate cost of $1600.00]
Category
flooring contractor, hardwood floor
Margaret S.
4.0
01/17/2012
The did a good job. I would use them again.
Description of Work
They put down carpet. They did one large room, the entrance way and down the hallway.
Category
carpet installation
Nicole H.
5.0
11/17/2009
Wonderful, the representative came out with samples in hand to match my decor (from a phone description)that matched perfectly! They measured, repsonded with a propsal in the same day, their price was the best of all the quotes we had recieved. Installation was scheduled and finished in one day even though it was after normal business hours when the work was completed. The installion crew was VERY respectful to myself and my small children. I was very concerned about my children getting to bed at a decent time and they focused on getting those rooms done first. It's been a long time since I have seen such team work from a company. There were follow up calls and even a HAND WRITTEN thank you note. I couldn't of asked for a better experience.
Description of Work
Carpet removed and replaced in all bedrooms, greatroom, dining room, and hallway's.
Category
carpet installation, hardwood floor
5.0
08/07/2006
THEY ARE VERY HONORABLE AND TRUSTWORTHY PEOPLE. THEY HONORED ALL THEIR COMMITMENTS. I THINK THIS IS THE BEST COMPANY AROUND. THE QUALITY OF THE CARPET WAS GREAT.
Description of Work
THEY INSTALLED CARPET IN THREE ROOMS AND A HALLWAY.
Category
carpet installation

    Other local Pros in your area

    Lefler's Glass Service LLC

    Specializing in glass service! We always guarantee your satisfaction and won’t leave until the job is done right. We take pride in ourselves and on the quality work we provide, while always delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered, then call --or-- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Azuara Painting

    We have the experience and dedication to get the job done right! Specializing in painting mud work and also sheet rock and also flooring too; We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Diaz Painting

    Interior and exterior painting pressure washing popcorn ceiling removal and put popcorn ceiling clean gutters fix damage walls and ceiling Thanks  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Custom design flooring including carpet, hardwood, laminate, tile, sand & refinishing, luxury vinyl, sheet vinyl & area rugs.

    Services Not Offered

    NA

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Floor Coverings International

    How is Floor Coverings International overall rated?

    Floor Coverings International is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Floor Coverings International open?

    Floor Coverings International is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM

    What payment options does Floor Coverings International provide

    Floor Coverings International accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Floor Coverings International offer free estimates?

    Yes, Floor Coverings International offers free project estimates.

    Does Floor Coverings International offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Floor Coverings International does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Floor Coverings International offer a senior discount?

    No, Floor Coverings International does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Floor Coverings International?

    No, Floor Coverings International does not offer warranties.

    What services does Floor Coverings International offer?

    Floor Coverings International offers the following services: Custom design flooring including carpet, hardwood, laminate, tile, sand & refinishing, luxury vinyl, sheet vinyl & area rugs.

    Are there any services Floor Coverings International does not offer?

    NA