Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Brookins Construction

Founded 2005 • With Angi since April 2011

3.4

(9) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5521 erinvale ct

Holly Springs, NC 27540

Description

We are a full service turn key residential and commercial construction company. We offer services from small home repairs to large agricultural buildings as well as steel horse barns and riding arenas. We are the NC MD/Barnmaster dealer and installer. If you have a construction need, we can service you....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

01/01/2016


Katharine A.

.

Description of Work
.

Category decks

5.0

10/21/2015


Seth S.

Description of Work
They did a large barn remodel for us. They provided us with a detailed contract and performed the work punctually exactly as budgeted. During the process we asked for some small changes; some were done at no additional cost and some at costs that we felt were extremely reasonable and gave us real value added. We had mentioned that we need a counter for the feed room area which was not part of the contract and something I was going to do. When we went into the barn they had built one for "temporary use" out of recycled materials. It is so nice we are just going to keep it! Their crew could not have been nicer, more knowledgeable or more efficient. The workmanship is outstanding. They were not the cheapest contractor but for marginally more dollars you get a first rate organization and first rate work. The parts they used were far superior to the original and generally gave the barn tremendous increased functionality and an exceptionally good look. They always had a suggestion as to how to do things better, often at no higher cost. To give you an idea of detail, we noticed after 6 months that one of our barn door handles was missing. They were over the next day to install it, apologizing for the oversight. I would recommend them to anyone.

Category decks, garage builders

2.0

07/31/2015


Katharine A.

We found Brookins Construction through another list site for home improvements. The reviews were fantastic. What we experienced was much like the reviews here on Angie's list for this company. They were very professional, explained why we should go with them, what they would do, worked with us on what we wanted done. At first everything looked great. I was informed how the screens would go on to cover up most, if not all, of the staples from the previous screen that the builder used. The screens ended up being put on differently and all of the staples from the previous screens were in view. Brookins painted over the staples. Originally we had trim pieces covering the edges of the screens, Brookins did not replace these until we insisted it be done, since they were there before and the staples needed to be covered up. When the trim pieces on the screen porch were replaced it was about 6 months after the initial work was done. The boards on the deck are already completely dried, so they can be painted right away or stained etc, we were assured this by Brookins. My husband noticed most of the deck boards were placed crown down and pointed this out to Brookins when they came to review the work. He was told since the boards are dried before installation that this wouldn't be a problem. Of course it is a problem and the edges on most of the boards are bending up. You can feel almost all of the deck boards when walking on the deck. It feels like walking on a bunch of tiny speed bumps. I again pointed this out 6 months later when they finally came to put the trim work on the screen porch. I told them I was not happy with how that felt walking on it and they should be replaced. The gentleman, who looked like he would much rather be on a golf course than working, ignored me and just said the boards are dried before they are put down so they can be crown down. This was a very bad decision hiring this company. I am not happy at all with my deck. Every time I walk on the deck I am reminded of how we went with the company that seemed most professional when really it was just a bunch of talk and they probably wrote their own reviews on the other site where we found them. We should have looked at angie's list also and would have seen consistent problems with their work and wouldn't have even called them.

Description of Work
We needed our deck and screen porch repaired and painted. The deck boards on the deck needed to be replaced and areas on the screen porch needed to be replaced, screens replaced and then painted. All of this was done, over a very long period of time.

Category decks

2.0

06/25/2013


Andrew C.

Overall, the rooms are much better than when the project started. Big however: the project took almost two months longer to complete than was originally planned, some of the subcontractors who were hired were not well supervised by the general contractor and did substandard work. There were several-approximately 17 total weekdays when work was supposedly scheduled and no one showed and no call was made. The floors in both the office and bedroom are not exactly what was on the contract. The windows in the master bedroom and bath are also not what was discussed. The time frame was slipping by and I think the decisions on some of these items were made to hurry up-at a cost of quality and "Exactly what the customer wanted" and signed a contract to receive. I have since found a couple of electrical items that should have been changed, ie, too many lights on a single circuit, too many outlets on a single circuit, no gfci breaker on the outside outlets, and an outlet which has the upper disconnected from the lower. This electrical contractor was hired through the general contractor, however this billing was separate. There were problems with the custom cabinets built into the bathroom-wrong size doors and drawers. The contractor and subcontractors did not originally pull all of the correct permits for the county in which the home is in. After a failed electrical and plumbing inspection, the proper other permits were pulled. Upon completion of the final inspections, their sub contractor refused to finish connecting the water heater to the propane tank. I had to hire a separate company to complete the install. The general contractor did take off the cost of hiring the separate company from the final bill. They also did not originally install the correct size of custom bathroom sinks & counter tops. The general contractor did take off the cost of the replacement, correct sized sinks from the final bill. The project was started on Jan 21, 13, with a six week timeline~first week of March 2013 for a scheduled completion time frame. The project was completed on June 7, not to include the 2 weeks of order time for the correct sinks. Those were replaced on June 16. All in all, I think the general contractor did not have the quality workmanship on hand to complete the project as specified and in the time frame agreed. The contractor and project manager are very nice guys; but nice does not equal high quality work and on time completion as expected from a highly word of mouth recommended contractor. We did pay as agreed every single time when asked, even made full payment on a milestone when a portion of that milestone was not completed. When the final bill was received on June 19, we received a message from the contractor asking (politely however) if we had sent the final payment. The check had been sent the previous day- which was 5 days from receiving the final bill, to include a weekend. Since my wife and I are very busy and travel with work, I really should not have hired out a job as large as this without being able to supervise myself every single day.

Description of Work
Full remodel of master bedroom-new closets built, flooring, and trim, master bathroom full remodel with installation of all new fixtures, and water heater; office remodel, and through this contractor we had full electrical panel replaced and whole house checked for proper wiring.

Category closet systems, decks, electrician, flooring contractor, lighting, water heater repair, woodworking, home remodeling

4.0

05/14/2013


TINA M.

After getting an initial estimate for several projects, we decided we wanted the wood floors and ceiling fans the most. We provided a sample of the original product with brand and make used for the existing wood floor in the kitchen and dining room and they were able to match the sample. Once the product arrived, the team of installers made quick work of laying the floor. Unfortunately, they did not have enough flooring on hand to complete the job. They had to wait for the factory to ship more to complete the job. The ceiling fans were installed on the last scheduled day of the project. Two of the fans were defective upon arrival. We were not contacted by the contractor to discuss the issue. We had to discover the issue ourselves. Once we contacted Brookins Construction, they said they would take the defective fans down so we could return them. We purchased the ceiling fans ourselves. After getting replacements, they again were quick to install the new fans.

Description of Work
Installed wood flooring throughout home (minus kitchen and dinning room) Installed ceiling fans in all bedrooms (3) and living room

Category flooring contractor, hardwood floor, remodeling, ceiling fans

3.0

03/18/2013


Kimberly S.

Poor communication skills. We take responsibility for some of the problems. They did not include items that I specifically said I wanted included in the job, it was not put into the contract. They were very punctual at first. Then the more we paid them the more they would not show up. They still have not corrected items from the punch list. We call they say they are coming and don't show. They ruined the grass in our yard by leaving construction waste on the grass for weeks. fFinish work is rough even after they came back to fix it. Workmen turned off heat by accident. When we had to pay for it to be fixed we found out that it was just a switch that was turned off under the house. The cable was turned off regularly. Overall they are nice guys. I wouldn't have them back for another job unless I wanted to wait triple the estimated time. Still waiting for the repairs to be made on the punch list (this is Mar.)

Description of Work
Screened in porch, see through fireplace and wired for TV and surround sound. Added additional patio space.

Category decks

5.0

01/09/2013


Catherine V.

We did not have them do it; he came by to give us a quote and was very good. It would have been good but we chose a different person. My husband did these negotiations and I think it was really the price; it was a couple of thousand dollars more than the other person. The other people also had a coupon that gave us further discounts. Both my husband and I thought he was great and would like to have used him but the price differential was so significant. He was great; he called us and followed up. He brought stuff and gave a very good presentation.

Description of Work
We got a quote from Brookins Construction for deck work.

Category decks

4.0

03/01/2012


William H.

They gave the best price and did a good job. The only negative was a delay in the final details of the project.

Description of Work
They enclosed a screen porch, installing windows and door. They also put in a new tile floor.They gave the best price abT

Category ceramic tile, decks, picture framing, remodeling, siding, replacement windows, woodworking, sunrooms

5.0

04/20/2011


Lily W.

I am extremely pleased with the attention to detail, and that Scott knew what to add (without me asking) to give the porch a polished, finished look. Scott visited our home, then worked up a detailed quote outlining what would be done and specific costs. Work crews were nice, I felt comfortable with them around my two small children. Great job cleaning up the site. Any concerns, problems, or questions I raised were addressed immediately and resolved to my satisfaction. Would hire them to build my porch again, would also hire for other projects around my home.

Description of Work
Scott replaced an existing deck with a beautiful screened in porch. I am extremely pleased with the attention to detail, and that Scott knew what to add (without me asking) to give the porch a polished, finished look. Work crews were nice, I felt comfortable with them around my two small children. Great job cleaning up the site. Any concerns, problems, or questions I raised were addressed immediately and resolved to my satisfaction. Would hire them to build my porch again, would also hire for other projects around my home.

Category decks, remodeling, home builders

    Other local Pros in your area

    Closet Factory

    We design, manufacture and install custom storage for closets, home offices, garages, pantries, laundry rooms, murphy beds and more. We are locally owned and operated and have a lifetime warranty on our product.  

    Tar Heel Basement Systems

    Tar Heel Basement Systems, founded in 2003, is a subsidiary of Groundworks, a family of companies that offers superior, proven solutions for your foundation repair, structural repair, crawl space encapsulation, dehumidification, and concrete leveling needs. Serving North Carolina High Country, Winston-Salem and parts of southwest Virginia, they currently maintain offices in Raleigh and Winston Salem. Tar Heel is a recognized accredited member of the Better Business Bureau and devotes its years of experience, industry knowledge and specialized training to help customers protect their homes or commercial buildings from water damage, concrete sinking, and foundation failure.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Tar Heel Basement Systems on Angi
    AMC Concrete

    AMC Concrete specializes in pouring concrete, making stamped, and decorative works in your sidewalks, driveways, porches, and especially patios. AMC has been in this line of work for one and half decades. We are an owner-operated business.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Home Construction, Remodeling, Restoration, Screened Porches, Decks, Attic, Basement Finishing, Sun Rooms, Garages, Additions, Concrete Placement, Home Energy Efficiency Improvements, Steel Storage Buildings, Steel Horse Barns, Steel Indoor or Outdoor Riding Arenas, Agricultural Storage Buildings, Steel Garages, Steel Workshops.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Brookins Construction

    How is Brookins Construction overall rated?

    Brookins Construction is currently rated 3.4 overall out of 5.

    What days are Brookins Construction open?

    Brookins Construction is open:

    Sunday: 6:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Monday: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Tuesday: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Wednesday: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Thursday: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Friday: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    Saturday: 6:00 AM - 10:00 PM

    What payment options does Brookins Construction provide

    Brookins Construction accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Financing Available

    Does Brookins Construction offer free estimates?

    Yes, Brookins Construction offers free project estimates.

    Does Brookins Construction offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Brookins Construction does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Brookins Construction offer a senior discount?

    No, Brookins Construction does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Brookins Construction offer emergency services?

    Yes, Brookins Construction offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Brookins Construction?

    Yes, Brookins Construction offers warranties.

    What services does Brookins Construction offer?

    Brookins Construction offers the following services: Home Construction, Remodeling, Restoration, Screened Porches, Decks, Attic, Basement Finishing, Sun Rooms, Garages, Additions, Concrete Placement, Home Energy Efficiency Improvements, Steel Storage Buildings, Steel Horse Barns, Steel Indoor or Outdoor Riding Arenas, Agricultural Storage Buildings, Steel Garages, Steel Workshops.