Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

E & W Electrical LLC

Founded 1984 • With Angi since November 2011

4.7

(21) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

515 Meadowland Dr Ste 100

Hillsborough, NC 27278

Description

E&W Electrical, LLC is a power systems provider specializing in the sale, installation, and then correct service of automatic home standby generators. See website for additional service areas: www.ncgenerators.com

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

10/13/2017


Ashley K.

They ripped me off!

Description of Work
My generator

Category generator service

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] it is unfortunate you feel we ripped you off, we feel this to be an unfair judgement. Yes we agree correct service to an automatic standby generator can be expensive, generators in order to be successful, require correct proactive and consistent service. We responded to your email request, provided both the signed agreement by you, which states the exact cost and services to be performed. The agreement also discloses the cost addition to the contracted price if a battery requires replacement during the service. Our services include the necessary maintenance to the engine, then observations of the battery state and battery charge characteristics, operating temperatures of the engine while loaded with an external load bank, verification of correct fuel pressures with manometer while loads external of the customer structure is attached, (we use Avtron Freedom 100 Load banks for load testing and load test last for an hour). We verify output voltages across five different load stages for your size generator, looking specifically at voltage drop and voltage transients. Additionally we verify there are not oscillations across the five different load stages. We observe and document rotor voltage regulator dc voltage and rotor amp draw while the maximum output capacity exist for the generator. We observe and document excitation current while the maximum output capacity exist for the generator. We perform operational testing and observe structure loads as they attach to the generator. If the technicians observe an issue as did the technician during his service we advise the customer to leave the generator off line as was the case with your generator. To be clear our technician spent four hours including travel with your generator, he provided an Interstate correctly sized battery per manufacturer specification, he provided the correct oil filter and 5/30 synthetic oil, he replaced the air filter as well as the spark plugs, the cost charged also included the required state sales tax of close to $41. Again it is unfortunate you feel you were ripped off, we have represented generator manufactures with correct installations, correct service, correct parts, correct repairs, and provided emergency response when needed, for customers across four states and have since 1995, it is our promise to all our customers to provide correct generator representation, honestly and efficiently.
5.0

01/26/2017


Sandy M.

Totally professional from the analysis of what system would meet our need physical installation, Electrical installation, system check 001 and customer training.

Description of Work
Installed 38 kw Kohler generator system. Delays caused by owner Travez.

Category electrician, generator service

5.0

01/17/2017


George D.

Everything went exactly according to plan. Michael Sr. came at appointment time. We had a very knowledgeable discussion. We decided on the details of the installation. I received the necessary documents as promised. The work began on time and Michael Jr performed the installation and explained everything necessary and more. E&W arranged for the gas line to be installed which took place at the committed time. Matt and Matt then returned at the committed time to complete the startup process. Startup was completed, operation and expectations were explained and the OnCue web based monitoring app was set up and initialized. These were all great people to work with including the office staff and the whole process could not have been more satisfying and professional.

Description of Work
Whole House Generator.

Category generator service

1.0

12/12/2016


cynthia S.

First time I called left detailed message interested in whole house generator and would like to schedule appt. 5+ days went by, no return call so I called again. Office mgr applogized due to some personnel changes.....and would check w/ technician on availability. She did call back the next week and we set up appt several weeks out. Gentleman/owner showed up on time for appointment, pleasant, knowledgeable, verbal estimate of 10k and would get me a written quote in a week! That he would have installation done before end of the year. Well that was Nov 1st 2016 Its December 12th and I have yet to receive a written proposal! Needless to say nothing has been installed and I won't be doing business with them.

Description of Work
I was interested in a whole house generator tied into gas line

Category generator service

1.0

10/25/2016


Eva B.

I called and spoke with the receptionist. She said that she would have the person that comes out to give the estimate contact me. One week later and I still have not heard from them. I have contacted them three times and there had been no response.

Description of Work
Install generator

Category generator service

5.0

04/02/2016


Zach A.

I talked to a couple of providers and decided to go with these guys based on their reviews and overall impression. Their pricing was similar to the others, if not a little lower. They were very competent and the job went through without any issues. The county inspector spoke very highly of them when he came to do the final inspection, which is always a good sign.

Description of Work
Installed whole home generator

Category electrician, generator service

5.0

02/17/2016


Jim A.

Excellent technician on time. start knowledge & performance.

Description of Work
Whose house generator maintenance service.

Category generator service

5.0

01/29/2016


Ted H.

It went very well. The company came out and gave me a quote for the work. My job consisted of a Kohler standby generator and two transfer switches. (I needed two switches because I have 2 200 Amp circuits coming into my house.) The quote was very detailed and included information to answer questions that I asked. The contact with the office after accepting the quote and setting up the work was great, both by email and phone. We were working up against a deadline and they scheduled the work to meet that deadline. It took about a day and a half to install the system. This was completed in marginal weather. Both days were threatening rain and the second day it rained. They put up a tent the second day to keep the work area dry (good to do when working on electrical things). The job was done in a professional and very neat manner. The work area was clean and neat when done and the electric panels and switches on the outside of the house were very neat, level and precise. They worked well and kept us informed of any electrical disruptions and answered my questions thoroughly as I occasionally checked the installation. They also obtained the necessary permit and the installation passed inspection the first time. After installation, there is a startup phase where they come out and start the generator and test it under load for a few hours. During this time, they also set up my On Cue remote monitoring system. This again was done in a professional manner with very few interruptions. Any interruptions were noticed to us well in advance. The walk through was thorough and they answered all my questions and made sure that the On Cue system was set up and working properly. This was an excellent job from beginning to end. I actually have recommended them to a company that is considering installing a standby generator system. I would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
Provider installed a Kohler whole house standby Generator.

Category electrician, generator service

5.0

01/29/2016


Heidi M.

.

Description of Work
My generator stopped functioning. I called & spoke with Michael. He advised me I was not receiving proper maintenance on my generator. I trust that he has integrity - my generator was fixed & is now on a maintenance program with E & W.

Category electrician, generator service

5.0

12/17/2015


Rowland A.

Overall an excellent experience from the initial visit and quote through the professional installation and follow-up. I have received quotes from three different vendors. I think all of them would do a good job, but I went with E&W because the person doing the quoting and selling took the time to really go over my home's electrical system, breaker boxes, and all the higher power devices. There really is quite a range of how carefully the different vendors spec out your system. Michael from E&W was head and shoulders above the rest in investing time with me and thinking through a detailed installation. This investment of time meant there were no surprises during the install - meaning no unexpected costs. The quote was very competitive and thorough. We went with a Kohler 20KW LP gas powered unit. Kohler is running a special deal now with 36 month no-interest financing. I had planned to pay up front, but if Kohler wants to let me use their money for three years, so be it! The installers were friendly and professional. Mike, son of Michael, was the lead installer. This is all they do, so they know generators and generator installations end to end. Mike said he was nearing 1000 generator installs. The installation is clean and well laid out, with all entry points caulked to protect from the weather. E&W worked with my gas company, who also did a fine job installing a 500 gallon propane tank and running a new line to the generator. All the work was handled with a single inspection (both gas and electrical), and by the way, the inspector was very thorough but reasonable. He pointed out one minor issue (add a warning sticker to the cutout box on the wall near the generator) and passed the installation with that sticker added. Matt came to do the startup and walkthrough once the inspection passed, and again did a thorough and professional job testing things out and explaining how to do routine maintenance and what to expect if and when there is a utility power outage and then restoration. (Basically, do nothing except wait 30 seconds for the generator to decide it's more than a momentary power glitch and kick in). I have everything except our spa on generator power. Three A/C units, electric range, fridge and freezer. The dryer will be dropped (load managed) if reserve power is needed. Bottom line - these guys know their business and do a quality job. Recommended without hesitation.

Description of Work
Install a 20KW Kohler whole house generator

Category electrician, generator service

5.0

12/14/2015


Donna B.

We are very pleased with the service provided by E and W. Although we have had the generator for only a few weeks and cannot yet judge it's quality or reliability, we found Michael Williams and all of his associates (which seem to be mostly members of his family) very knowledgeable and efficient in setting up our system. They spent much time explaining its operation and assuring us that they were available if any problems occurred. All were pleasant and attentive. As I mentioned above, this is a propane fueled system. We already had a 500 gallon propane tank and fuel line from when we heated our house with propane a few years ago. We placed the generator within 8 feet of this fuel line's regulator and then asked Carolane, the natural gas company, to hook it up to the generator. We were not pleased. Carolane charged us over $800 for the hookup. They did not run the connection underground and left us with an ugly mess of pipes above ground. We can highly recommend E &W for their workmanship with generators but warn their customers not to use Carolane as a source of propane.

Description of Work
E & W Electrical installed a whole-house propane fueled 20 kw generator.

Category electrician, generator service

5.0

10/29/2015


Patricia K.

Called in advance to advise us of appointment and confirm date/time was okay. Came as expected, diligent & efficient work, pleasant. Technician us great!

Description of Work
Periodic generator maintenance - replaced fuses.

Category generator service

5.0

09/29/2015


Sarah G.

E and W electric installed our generator. It has changed our lives to have their generator. We never are inconvenienced when the power goes out. They are completely reliable with maintenance checks. They always inform us before they come out. Very polite, and do their work without disturbing our routine.

Description of Work
Maintenance check of propane powered generator installed by the company.

Category generator service

5.0

09/02/2015


Jim A.

On time, excellent work, polite, total explanation of work performed. Great customer service.

Description of Work
Service whole house generator at two houses.

Category generator service

5.0

08/17/2015


Pat N.

Wonderful! They do a good job. The techs come when it's convenient, and I don't even have to be around. They leave me detailed notes afterward, and the office staff has also been great to work with.

Description of Work
They did a yearly and 5-year maintenance on our generator system.

Category generator service

5.0

06/22/2015


JOHN O.

Description of Work
Great company,great staff, a pleasure to work with

Category generator service

5.0

04/23/2015


Jim A.

We were very pleased with the quality of the work and the professionalism of all the technicians. Installing a generator is a complex job and competent people are extremely important, as is using a reputable firm. We were 100% satisfied.

Description of Work
Installed a standby generator.

Category electrician, generator service

5.0

04/22/2015


Lucy B.

We wanted to upgrade / add generators so that all buildings with water lines could be heated in the case of an extended power outage. Replaced 12 year old 15K Generac generator which they had installed in 2003 with a 20K Kohler whole house generator at the main house. Installed a 20K Kohler whole house generator at a 2nd house on the same property. Installed a slave connection so that a 3rd building has power for the heat / air. This is not a simple quick business. First they had to undo the installation for the old generator. This involved moving all the breakers back to the original panel box. They also found they had to run new wires from the power mast. The insulation was pretty much gone. The original wires had been in place for 50+ years. They had to add a wireless extender so that both of the Kohler generators can be managed / checked on using Kohler?s Oncue system. A trench had to be dug between the building with the slave and the new generator to bury the line. Surge protectors were added to protect the equipment. Start to finish the project took 9 days with 2 people working each day and three people several days. The person who makes the sales call to figure out exactly what is needed is also part of the execution team. Everyone with whom we have had contact has been polite, cheerful and professional. Great job! Now even if we aren?t in residence we will be able to monitor the activity of the generators and thus be able to alert the power company if there is a power issue. Meanwhile we have heat and air from the generator power source. And added plus is all refrigerators are now on one generator or another.

Description of Work
We wanted to upgrade / add generators so that all buildings with water lines could be heated in the case of an extended power outage. Replaced 12 year old 15K Generac generator which they had installed in 2003 with a 20K Kohler whole house generator at the main house. Installed a 20K Kohler whole house generator at a 2nd house on the same property. Installed a slave connection so that a 3rd building has power for the heat / air.

Category electrician, generator service

5.0

04/17/2015


Tom B.

Perfection. That was my experience with E&W Electrical with Michael Williams and anyone from his Team I had the pleasure to work with. Each member of the Team impressed me with their professionalism, their know-how, and their flawless and quick execution of the work plan. I was kept informed at all times. I took some vacation time as I wanted to observe the work. They work quickly, and at the same time, they are very thorough and do not take "short cuts". When Michael came into my home, he removed his shoes as that's part of them being very particular and customer focused. They left the job site immaculate. Nothing was left behind -- not even a sliver of insulation from a wire. Friendly, professional, knowledgeable, thorough, honest, extremely strong work ethic, customer focused -- if these are the traits you want if you're going to have a home standby electrical generator installed or serviced, I strongly recommend you choose E&W Electrical LLC. They made me a happy customer.

Description of Work
E&W Electrical installed a new 20KW Kohler home standby generator with transfer switch. Also, my external power panel was in bad need of replacement. They replaced that power panel and all my circuit breakers in that panel.

Category electrician, generator service

5.0

10/07/2014


Patricia K.

.

Description of Work
They maintain our home generator.

Category electrician, lighting, generator service

5.0

04/29/2014


Friederike S.

.

Description of Work
E&A services the natural gas backup generator they installed at my home in 2007. For the cost of a flat fee, recently raised from $350 to $400 per year, E&A do two maintenance checkups on the machine, replacing parts as necessary. They always call a few days ahead to let me know the service-man will be coming, and he always leaves a detail record of what he found and has done. The fee also covers emergency visit, should there be trouble when severe weather cuts off public supplies.

Category lighting, generator service

    Other local Pros in your area

    Comfort First Heating & Cooling

    Comfort First Heating and Cooling takes great pleasure in being the friendliest, most caring and competent air conditioning and heating service, repair and installation company in North Carolina & Virginia. Our more than 20 years of residential and commercial experience gives us the confidence needed to boldly offer the most aggressive,thoughtful Written Guarantee in the industry. Everything we do, from answering your first call to seeing the savings in your electricity after our visit, is meticulously planned because we feel that every detail of your comfort is valuable. If you need air conditioning and heating service, repair or installation and live in central North Carolina, we have technicians locally that can serve you. Contact Us today to find the people and comfort you can count on! Financing is available and Military discounts.  

    Offers by Comfort First Heating & Cooling on Angi
    CMC Service Experts

    CMC Service Experts has served the home electrical needs of residents and businesses in the Triangle area and beyond since 2005... Our full list of generator, and electrical services includes everything from minor fixes to major renovations and installations. That means we’re ready to handle all your needs, no matter how simple or complex. We believe you won’t find a more capable team of technicians anywhere around. From a blown fuse to a faulty outlet or a new addition to your home, you can count on CMC Service Experts for any type of electrical work as well as generator installations and replacement. You can now call or text at (919) 205-5080  

    Mattko

    Professional electrical services at affordable prices  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard
    Senior Discount
    No
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Automatic Home Standby Generator sales, installation, service, warranty & repair. Lighting & electrical.

    Services Not Offered

    ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about E & W Electrical LLC

    How is E & W Electrical LLC overall rated?

    E & W Electrical LLC is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are E & W Electrical LLC open?

    E & W Electrical LLC is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does E & W Electrical LLC provide

    E & W Electrical LLC accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard

    Does E & W Electrical LLC offer free estimates?

    No, E & W Electrical LLC does not offer free project estimates.

    Does E & W Electrical LLC offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, E & W Electrical LLC does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does E & W Electrical LLC offer a senior discount?

    No, E & W Electrical LLC does not offer a senior discount.

    Does E & W Electrical LLC offer emergency services?

    Yes, E & W Electrical LLC offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by E & W Electrical LLC?

    Yes, E & W Electrical LLC offers warranties.

    What services does E & W Electrical LLC offer?

    E & W Electrical LLC offers the following services: Automatic Home Standby Generator sales, installation, service, warranty & repair. Lighting & electrical.

    Are there any services E & W Electrical LLC does not offer?

    ask for details