Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

DODSON CONSTRUCTION CO INC

Founded 1984 • With Angi since June 2006

Mike Dodson, Owner and President of Dodson Construction Co. Inc., has been building custom homes for over 32 years. Mike also holds a North Carolina Private Home inspectors license and is a Certified Union corrugating Metal Pro Installer. Dodson Construction Co. Inc. is a full service building and contracting firm, which specializes in custom homes, additions , renovations and Metal and Asphalt Roofing. We take pride in our employees and subcontractors as they provide personalized service, excellent workmanship and attention to detail on each project. We can do any type of addition you desire and provide great care and patience with the renovation of an existing home. We try to commit to only the amount of projects that we can complete in a timely manor and still provide the amount of personalized service that you desire.

Amenities

Free Estimates
No
Warranties
No
Senior Discount
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
Yes
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

5.0

(34) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 34 reviews
Allen & Donna C.
5.0
12/28/2018
Mr. Dodson was very responsive to all inquiries and questions concerning metal roofing. The metal roofing arrived sooner than expected and his construction crew put the roof on, turn key, in one morning. The crew was very professional and thorough during installation and clean up.
Description of Work
Installed painted metal roof on new construction 24'x30' garage
Category
roofing
DAVID T.
5.0
11/16/2017
The project took about a day and a half. The installers were punctual and professional, and cleaned up after themselves. The new roof and cricket look great, and the leaks in the carport roof are gone.
Description of Work
Replaced badly installed & leaking roof on our carport, as well as two faces on the main roof of the house. The latter work included installing a cricket behind a large chimney.
Category
roofing
Barbara K.
5.0
07/06/2017
We recommend Dodson Construction of Hillsborough, NC without reservation. As a licensed general contractor, Mike Dodson is professional, trustworthy, honest and reliable. Mike and his crew did an excellent job of building our two-story, two-car garage. Mike worked with us from the design stage to the final sign-off of the garage. His recommendations and creative ideas kept the project on budget to a high standard of quality. All materials were itemized and carefully considered. All county applications and on-site inspections were handled efficiently and promptly. Mike provided great advice to us at every stage of the project and ensured quality work; from foundation, framing, siding, roofing, painting, electrical, interior finishing, doors, windows, landscaping and more. We endorse Dodson Construction and are delighted with our new garage.
Description of Work
Two-story, two-car garage
Category
decks, remodeling, roofing, garage builders, home builders
Vickie M.
5.0
04/14/2017
We were very happy with the porch construction and because of that we have hired Mike for all our other jobs that needed to be done. He is fair, honest and professional and a very nice guy to work with and that makes things go much more smoothly. The subcontractors that he uses do quality work and are a pleasure to have around our home. Any construction work or renovation in your home is an inconvenience but Mike and his crew minimize that as much as possible. We would highly recommend Mike Dodson Construction!
Description of Work
Mike and his crew built our screened porch years ago and we love it! He also took care of getting our roof replaced last year. Currently Mike is finishing our third floor with his very capable and professional crew.
Category
decks, drywall, electrician, remodeling, roofing
Robert D.
5.0
07/05/2016
Service was started as promised and completed in two days. Each day, the clean-up was thorough - you could not really tell anybody had been there. I did have some cheaper bids (and one for about the same price), but was I not confident in what I was getting for the money. Usually cheaper meant installation over the existing asphalt - not the way I wanted to go. Mike was able to explain what I was getting for the money in a matter-of-fact manner that was not a bunch of sales-hype.
Description of Work
Install new Metal Roof ... did complete tear-off of existing Asphalt roof.
Category
roofing
Peter C.
5.0
12/14/2015
Highly recommend as we are very pleased with the outcome of our project. Would absolutely use Mr. Dodson again if we had a need. He had very helpful insights when working with the architect on design, checked with us as applicable about implementing design details throughout the project, has skilled & conscientious employees & sub-contractors, and deals effectively with unanticipated events (jobsite issues, inspection problems, etc.).
Description of Work
remodel & expansion of master bedroom, bathroom & clost
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Terry N.
5.0
12/10/2014
Mike Dodson and his crew did a fantastic job in rebuilding our deck. Would recommend his construction knowledge to anyone!
Description of Work
Deck replacement
Category
remodeling
Iain H.
5.0
06/29/2014
I called and left a message about getting someone to look at a roof leak. Mr. Dodson called me back the same day and left a message for me. After a day or two of phone tag, I caught up with him. He was very nice and explained that he had recently had a sharp uptick in the number of jobs and wasn't able to agree to do anything soon. Said he'd keep my contact information and pass it along to anyone he ran across and might have some openings. I really appreciated him calling me back to let me know what the deal was - I called several people and it must have been really busy for everyone, but most folks didn't call back at all. I will definitely call Dodson again for future jobs.
Description of Work
Returned my calls promptly and was honest about not having capacity to take on new clients.
Category
remodeling
Ann V.
5.0
09/21/2013
It has been over two years since it has been built and we have had no problems. There were a lot of unanticipated glitches and they were all handled in a professional way. Among the glitches were delays in the permit process and wood rot on our house leading to the replacement of a door. They also worked straight through a heat wave.
Description of Work
Demolished old deck and external stairs, built new deck and pergola, filled in second floor door.
Category
decks
John S.
5.0
09/10/2013
The results were excellent, and I am very satisfied. I did monitor the job as it progressed. I had photos of the original deck if questions arose. His crew was very competent. They made several suggestions that improved results on the stairs and planters, while maintaining the original appearance. The finished deck looks very good and everything feels solid. The lumber quality was beyond my expectations, with many boards having no knots at all and the rest having an occasional very small knot. Mike had ordered some extra boards so that they could be culled so that only the best boards were used. Unused boards were then returned to the local supplier, Mebane Lumber. At the end of the job, Mike Dodson went over all the screws on the deck to make sure they were flush, and that no places were missed. Cleanup was meticulous and everything was swept clean.
Description of Work
This was a renovation of an approximately 600 sq.ft. deck, which was 26 years old. The horizontal decking needed replacement because of weathering and checking, but the joists and support members below the deck were still sound. All of the horizontal boards and some other boards on the main deck, two stairways and two planters were replaced, maintaining the existing design. Mike Dodson came to my house on Auguet 19th and we discussed how the job would be done in detail.. We specified premium 5/4" x 6 " width pressure-treated lumber, kiln dried before and after treating. This type of decking is made by Cox lumber, one of the largest suppliers in the Southeast. It was agreed to use 3-inch long hot-dipped galvanized screws with a square drive hole in the top of the screw for best installation.. Afterwards Mr. Dodson emailed a professional and detailed written quote of $7314 (with Angie's list discount) with a complete breakdown of labor and materials. The job was scheduled to start on 9/3/2014, weather permitting, with completion in 4-5 consecutive days. Initially 3 men and later 2 men worked on the job. Old decking was removed in sections and replaced with new decking each day. All debris was removed in their truck each day, and a magnetic sweep was done to insure there were no old nails or screws in my drieway. The job was completed in 4 days plus a few hours on the 5th day. Mike Dodson was there at the beginning and end of the job and at various times in-between.
Category
decks, deck cleaning
Kent W.
5.0
09/03/2013
It looks good. Doesn't appear like a rush job or that is what it was meant to be originally.
Description of Work
build an extra step to a deck platform walkway due to settling of ground near driveway. Had to cut an existing 4x4 support beam to extend another due to the ground settling and deck sinking. Then build to extra step since the driveway that abutted the step had sunk as well.
Category
remodeling
EJ P.
5.0
08/16/2013
He was good. He did a project for me and we discussed it and he told me sign off on it so that's good. He's very easy top work with. The price was reasonable.
Description of Work
I used Dodson Construction Company to remodel a bedroom and a bath for me.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Lisa F.
5.0
08/12/2013
Mike Dodson of Dodson Construction company is professional, punctual, honest, reasonably priced, skilled and has a host of phenomenal suppliers and subcontractors. Mike was always available to discuss our concerns, modifications (there were many), options, areas of potential cost savings and any other items pertinent to the project. Mike was also great at educating us regarding areas to not cut costs on and why. He was patient with our seemingly never ending list of add-ons and changes. Mike and his crew were always reliable and tidy. Trust was never a concern and the end product is beautiful. The very few, normal, minor issues that have arisen since the project completion have been addressed promptly and without hassle. We have embarked on several remodels over the years and Mike was (and is) the most relaxed yet professional contractor ever encountered. I would highly recommend him to anyone looking for a residential contractor. Mike was always available via text, phone and email which we truly appreciated as this isn't always the case with general contractors. His company is based out of Hillsboro, NC and the best number to reach him is 919-644-0076.
Description of Work
Major house renovation in Durham including complete bathrooms, full window replacement, high end utility room, extensive carpentry, electrical, mechanical, drywall, painting, etc.
Category
decks, drywall, electrician, remodeling, replacement windows, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters
ted P.
4.0
07/09/2013
He came in and he was really high. He was very professional, very professional. He was very confident. He knew exactly what he was doing. But you could just tell he was probably hired other people to do the job so we went ahead and hired someone who actually does it themselves where he doesn't have to contract it out.
Description of Work
Dodson Construction Co. Inc. gave us a quote on the roof.
Category
roofing

Service Provider Response

I may be mistaken, but I have no records of an estimate submitted to [ member's name removed]. Without a review of the submitted estimate I cannot respond properly. If I submitted an estimate to another family member please respond with their name. I have built my company name on quality of work and the satifaction of the homeowner, I am rarely the lowest bidder. The quality of competing bidders often carries a lot of weight upon where my bid may be ranked in the order of the total bids.
Doris R.
5.0
05/14/2013
Have not yet startled project. Contractor just submitted bid. Waiting on another quote before we proceed. Do like this contractor though.
Description of Work
The contractor responded to our request to come to our house to give us a quote on an addition to our home. He was very responsive and answered all our questions. We look forward to working with him on this project.
Category
decks
Alice B.
5.0
02/24/2013
Mike was suggested as a viable contractor by another contractor that I respect, so I asked for an estimate from him. Mike is very easy to work with and listens to what you want and makes suggestions when he thinks he should. The employees and sub-contractors that he brought in were knowledgeable, skilled and were people that I was very comfortable with having in my house. The work progressed as I had expected. When we had a surprise of a waste line in the wall where a doorway was to be cut, the plumber came in and moved the line and kept the job moving. The cabinets that were built match my other cabinets exactly. I had slide-out shelving built. When an adjustment needed to be made, the cabinet maker came out and took care of it immediately. He had been able to make the trim to match the detailing on the cabinets exactly. One small item - I'm still waiting on a trim piece for the ice maker line supply box. Only reason I gave a "b" on price was that I had gotten two estimates The first guy took longer to do the estimate. He came back higher. But then Mike ended up increasing his estimate after I had decided to go with him. We did discuss the cost and he worked with me. I felt that I had given each contractor the same detail. Mike still came in fairly close to the other contractor, so I think he was in the ballpark for a general who manages the project from start to finish. The contractors did their best to keep a clean site and cleaned up each day. They were there when they said they would be.
Description of Work
I had my kitchen and utility room reworked to move the refrigerator and dryer and to add cabinets and relocate the entry into the utility room. I also had a closet removed and that door removed and the wall repaired. Rather than remove the existing cabinets, I had cabinets made to match them. I had a layout in mind when I got estimates, but was concerned about bearing walls. I wanted to work with someone who knew building codes and understood structural issues.
Category
remodeling, home remodeling
Joanne T.
5.0
02/23/2012
Extremely satisfied, professioa Nal
Description of Work
Room and bathroom addition
Category
decks, remodeling, home builders, sunrooms
Patricia B.
5.0
07/23/2011
Mike, the owner, came out to my house within an hour of my call on a Saturday. I reported to him that I had a drip happening in an upstairs window and could find no source. He investigated, including going up into the (probably) 165 degree attic and found the problem. It was not his area of expertise (not construction/roofing, but heating and air conditioning) and recommended someone to help with the issue. He was prompt, courteous and exceedingly helpful. AND, he did not charge me. What a company! Told him that the minute he left I was going to write a good report for Angie's List and recommend him to anyone needing construction. DO NOT HESITATE to call on Dodson Construction.
Description of Work
Dodson Construction thoroughly assessed the potential roofing issue I was having by researching both where the leak was emanating from and climbing to the attic to investigate further sources of leakage.
Category
handyman service
Judy S.
5.0
06/23/2011
This addition created a new larger laundry and mud room and created a new side entry into our home. Our wish and request was for the addition to match our existing home as completely as possible so as to appear an original part of the home. Mike & crew did an outstanding job in this regard. On the exterior, Mike took pains to match the wood accents and shutters on the windows, the wood columns and woodwork on the new covered porch, the shingles and all other exterior aspects of the new construction to the existing home. On the interior, the baseboards, crown molding, wood cabinetry and light fixtures were all carefully matching to the existing kitchen. Additionally, in order to create the new entry into the kitchen, Mike & crew breached a wall, removed a small section of tile flooring and replaced with wood plank flooring which had to be blended into and stain matched to the existing wood flooring in the kitchen. This was a nice improvement to the existing kitchen. During the consultation & bidding process Mike listened to our input, noted where code requirements would influence decisions, laid out options for later choices and provided a base bid with clear notations on cost allowances for various items. Construction started on time. Mike was generally on-site each day to coordinate activities but would let us know in advance if he would not be on-site on a particular day. Mike was readily available via cell phone and email for questions, etc. Mike provided weekly expectations of work to be performed and any decisions we needed to make on materials, fixtures, etc. There were a few instances where we asked Mike to rework items. In each case the issue was addressed promptly and completely to our satisfaction. The tile grout color did not match our expectations and was re-grouted. The final finish on the hardwood floor was not as smooth as the existing floor (although the color match was great) and was refinished. A couple of subcontractors didn't cleanup completely after themselves but Mike took care of it as soon as we brought it to his attention. Overall, we are very pleased with the quality and results.Overall, we feel the value was good. The original bid was on budget (not counting our various change orders). We may have been able to reduce costs by using someone who performed most of the work themselves or by simplifying the trim, finish and cabinets. However, the final product is exactly what we were hoping for and the in the expected time frame. We also added several significant change orders including a garden window and extensive wood cabinetry which added to the cost.
Description of Work
We collected three comprehensive bids from three well ranked contractors on Angie's List. We chose Mike Dodson because of his extensive new home construction experience and his remodeling experience. Since this addition was much more than an enclosed porch we wanted someone with wide experience. Mike Dodson & crew built an addition with entry and covered porch of approximately 200 sq ft., created a new entry into the kitchen, added new cabinetry in both the addition and expanded kitchen area and made some other minor repairs on the original home. The addition included a concrete, cinder block and brick foundation, complete framing, Hardiplank siding, asphalt shingle roofing, HVAC, plumbing & electrical for washers, dryer & sink, tile floor, wood plank flooring, windows, painting, etc.. Also included was a covered brick porch with iron railing. In order to create the new entry and transition into the kitchen, Mike & crew removed a small existing laundry room, turned a window into a full doorway, removed some unwanted wall sections, removed a small section of tile flooring and replaced with wood plank flooring which had to be blended into and stain matched to the existing wood flooring in the kitchen.
Category
contractors, remodeling, roofing, replacement windows, garage builders, home builders, woodworking, home remodeling, doors
Grettel C.
5.0
06/19/2011
My husband and I were very pleased with the finished product. The crew arrived right on time each morning and the job was finished as promised. They were courteous and friendly. Our deck looks gorgeous. Not only do I recommend this company I anticipate that I will use them for future remodels.
Description of Work
I contacted Dodson construction for a deck remodel job. We had the wood replaced with Trex and had them add a planter.
Category
decks, sunrooms
Carolyn P.
5.0
06/09/2011
Mr. Dodson was professional, giving me a complete estimate before commencing work. He, his workers, and subcontractors were polite, friendly, thorough, and knowledgeable. I never heard a curse word from anyone. His price was higher than other contractors I had contacted, but he was the most professional and up-front. I would use him again for any project I had, and will recommend him to anyone who asks. My neighbors have commented very favorably on the look of the deck and screen room. I am enjoying my addition immensely.
Description of Work
Remove old deck. Build larger deck and screen porch, including extra bracing for anticipated hot tub.
Category
decks, sunrooms
Mark A.
5.0
02/01/2011
They didn't do the work. I didn't go with them because of the price. I really liked them. He was very honest and he was local. It was just more than I wanted to spend. I didn't think he was too high for what I asked him to do. I decided I didn't want to spend that much money for what I thought I wanted but held back my plan rather than find somebody else to do it cheaper. I really liked him and I would definitely ask him to quote again on a different project if I have it come up. He seemed very honest and knowledgeable. He was very detailed.
Description of Work
I had an estimate done by Dodson Construction for a new garage bonus room addition.
Category
remodeling, garage builders, home builders
Julia R.
5.0
06/09/2010
The estimate was real high. We went with another company. We just didn't go with them because of the price. They were very professional and very nice.
Description of Work
We got an estimate from Dodson Construction to build a small deck. It was 16x16.
Category
decks, sunrooms
Susan S.
5.0
04/14/2010
When we began the process, we were amazed at how many contractors didn't return our calls when we were calling to get estimates, occasionally didn't show up for appointments and frequently, if they did show up, showed up late. Mike Dodson did none of the above. He returned our call and was on time for our appointment. He spent a lot of time talking to us about various options and answering our questions about the process. When we were finally finished with talking to contractors, we decided to choose Dodson Construction simply because they were the best we had spoken to. Once we had signed the contract, Mike Dodson explained what the process was going to be. Application for building permit, etc. Everything went smoothly because even when things didn't (permit took longer than expected, inspectors not showing up, etc.), he called to let us know what was happening and why. (I can deal with things not going as scheduled as long as I know what is happening.) After construction began, he let us know who was going to be doing what, when and where so there were no surprises. Our screened porch is beautiful and we spend a lot of time outside using it. We have received nothing but complements on it from anyone who has seen it. All in all, it was money well spent.
Description of Work
Dodson construction removed a small deck that the builder of our home had put on and then they built an 18x20 screened porch with an attached open deck to the side.
Category
decks, home builders, sunrooms
Ryan T.
5.0
02/16/2010
Mike obtained all necessary permits, used top-quality materials, and completed the porch in a timely manner. His assistants were prompt and very polite, even cleaning up any mess at the end of each day. We couldn't be more pleased with our porch!
Description of Work
Mike Dodson designed and built us a screened-in porch. This included removing a window, moving an air duct, and adding an exterior door to our family room.
Category
decks, handyman service, remodeling, replacement windows, doors, sunrooms

Phone

Address

3210 OLD CHAPEL HILL HILLSB RD

Hillsborough, NC 27278

Other Information

Services offered

NEW CONSTRUCTION, RENOVATIONS, ADDITIONS, ROOFING, BOBCAT WORK, IN-HOUSE DESIGN WITH CAD SERVICE. HAULING- MULCH, TOPSOIL, VINYL SIDING INSTALLATION, VINYL WINDOW REPLACEMENT, INTERIOR TRIM INSTALLATION, BASEMENT RENOVATIONS OR UPFITS,SCREEN PORCHES, DECKS, GENERAL LANDSCAPING AND GRADING.

Payment options

Check

FAQ

DODSON CONSTRUCTION CO INC is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

DODSON CONSTRUCTION CO INC is open:

Monday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

Tuesday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

Wednesday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

Thursday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

Friday: 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM

DODSON CONSTRUCTION CO INC accepts the following forms of payment: Check

No, DODSON CONSTRUCTION CO INC does not offer free project estimates.

Yes, DODSON CONSTRUCTION CO INC offers eco-friendly accreditations.

No, DODSON CONSTRUCTION CO INC does not offer a senior discount.

No, DODSON CONSTRUCTION CO INC does not offer warranties.

DODSON CONSTRUCTION CO INC offers the following services: NEW CONSTRUCTION, RENOVATIONS, ADDITIONS, ROOFING, BOBCAT WORK, IN-HOUSE DESIGN WITH CAD SERVICE. HAULING- MULCH, TOPSOIL, VINYL SIDING INSTALLATION, VINYL WINDOW REPLACEMENT, INTERIOR TRIM INSTALLATION, BASEMENT RENOVATIONS OR UPFITS,SCREEN PORCHES, DECKS, GENERAL LANDSCAPING AND GRADING.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

WJM Roofing

5.0

(3)

Angi Certified

WJM Roofing

Small custom roofing business.Will do entire project and pay when completed and customer is satisfied  

Sun4light.Inc.

5.0

(9)

Angi Certified

Sun4light.Inc.

As the area's ONLY VELUX Dealer Installer, Sun4Light provides homeowners superior products and installation. Velux Sun Tunnels and Skylights are manufactured in South Carolina and delivered to our warehouse within two to four days. Our team of installers has more experience in tubular lighting (solatube, sun tunnels, sola tubes) than anyone in the country! With a solutions-oriented approach to day-lighting, our specialist will provide you with the best lighting solution! All installations are warranted by the manufactured against leaking! Give us a call for your free in-home evaluation! Ask about how our products can qualify for a 26% solar tax credit. Beginning November 2020, Sun4Light,Inc. expanded product and service offerings to include roofing!  

Cardinal Home Services is locally owned and operated. We pride ourselves on high customer satisfaction driven by superior quality work and southern hospitality. Our services guarantee a beautiful new look for your home or property and include interior and exterior painting, carpentry, concrete cleaning, deck sealing and staining, roof repairs, popcorn ceiling texture removal and custom deck building.