Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Andy On Call

Founded 2004 • With Angi since August 2006

3.9

(24) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1526 W English Road

High Point, NC 27262

Description

Owner operated. No subs. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. May contact through email. Additional DBA - Evans Andy On Call LLC....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
1.0

04/16/2016


Jacqueline G.

THIS IS FOLLOWING THE PREVIOUS REVIEW I JUST LEFT - LEAVING THAT REVIEW I FEAR FOR MY LIFE

Description of Work
MAINTENANCE ON 5 FT X 8FT DECK

Category deck cleaning

1.0

04/16/2016


Jacqueline G.

SEE ABOVE - IT WAS HORRIBLE AND THEY STOLE FROM ME

Description of Work
REPAIR DECK - NOT AS LISTED WORK WOULD BE DONE. ESTIMATE OF 3,000 BECAME 10,000 AFTER THEY FINISHED. i PAID FOR EQUIPMENT AND THEY TOOK IT WHEN THEY LEFT, NOT REFUNDING THE MONEY BACK TO ME. WHEN I CALLED TO FILE A COMPLAINT THEY HUNG UP ON ME. SINCE SUBSEQUENTLY I WENT FOR THE FIRST OF THREE MAJOR BACK SURGERIES I WOULD HAVE FILED A COMPLAINT WITH THE BBB AND ALL THE PAPERWORK AND CHECKS WRITTEN OUT TO THEM.

Category deck cleaning

5.0

08/21/2013


Charlotte E.

The guy that I got from ANDY ON CALL was really good. He was real reasonable about what he charged, helpful about helping me do the project, and he made suggestions. I really liked him so I called him back to do another job.

Description of Work
I used ANDY ON CALL for household projects including on the deck.

Category handyman service

3.0

11/22/2011


Linda E.

Description of Work
We had Andy On Call come out to give us a quote. He was very nice, however, we thought this was an individual "handyman" but found out that it would be (2) men contracted out of a company in Tennessee that actually came and did the work. We thought his quote was high, and fortunately found someone locally that has just finished the job at $350 less than Andy's Handyman quoted. After the contractors we selected had already begun their work, Andy's Handyman called back and said they had looked at their estimate again and thought they could come down $250 on the labor price they had quoted. It is our opinion they should have given us the best price from the beginning.

Category handyman service

1.0

11/03/2011


Annette S.

Called for a plumbing leak. They couldn't get here the day I called, so we scheduled for the next day between 5pm & 5:30pm. At 5pm the next day I received a call that the job they were one took longer and they would reschedule for the next day. I understand that some jobs do take longer and it's difficult to always plan, but they waited until the 12th hour before calling me and it was impossible for me to get another plumber out that day without paying for the overtime hourly rate.

Description of Work
Called for a plumbing leak. They couldn't get here the day I called, so we scheduled for the next day between 5pm & 5:30pm. At 5pm the next day I received a call that the job they were one took longer and they would reschedule for the next day. I understand that some jobs do take longer and it's difficult to always plan, but they waited until the 12th hour before calling me and it was impossible for me to get another plumber out that day without paying for the overtime hourly rate.

Category plumbing

5.0

07/28/2011


Beryl M.

He was very good. He did a great job for me. The price was about the same as everyone else.

Description of Work
Mark came and some plumbing work for me.

Category plumbing

5.0

07/28/2011


Beryl M.

He was very good. He did a great job for me. The price was about the same as everyone else.

Description of Work
Mark came and did some plumbing work for me.

Category handyman service, plumbing

5.0

09/13/2008


Cynthia S.

He was respectful, they took their shoes off at the door. He wasn't chatty or nosy and the company called us back later and wanted details on how the day went. It wasn't just a if they do ok, let us know-they wanted the whole thing, literally everything.

Description of Work
I had one ceiling fan moved, one installed in it's place.

Category handyman service, ceiling fans

1.0

04/09/2008


Donna B.

I called for an estimate to build a wood deck and screened porch. Their selected contractor contacted me and we set up an appointment. The contractor did not show up and when I called him he said he forgot, but did come over within the hour. He spent about 15 minutes with us, wrote nothing down and said he would drop off a design and estimate within a few days. His truck leaked oil all over our driveway. That was 3 weeks ago and we never heard back from him. UNACCEPTABLE.

Description of Work
No services were performed.

Category handyman service

5.0

02/07/2008


Christopher B.

The estimate went pretty smoothly, and since I was happy with their quote, we scheduled a time that day. Andy-On-Call essentially lets you buy the materials; I picked everything up for the install a few days beforehand. Alternatively, the handyman gave us the option of buying the materials for us, with no mark-up. On the day of the appointment, the handyman called to give me an update on when he would arrive. The installation itself went really smoothly. He put down a drop cloth to catch all of the mess, and the fan/light works well (and appears to be installed correctly). Total install time was probably under two hours, so I think we both profited from the venture.

Description of Work
Andy-On-Call installed a new bathroom exhaust fan, to replace a light fixture. Installation included installing the fan/light combo, duct work for the exhaust, and an exhaust vent in the attic.

Category electrician, lighting, home remodeling

3.0

12/31/2007


Thomas W.

The work turned out nice, however, as noted on other comments, the guy would not return phone calls for additional work.

Description of Work
The workman installed all new screening in a approx 12x12 porch. Installed new porch door. Painted trimming.

Category decks

1.0

08/22/2007


Adam H.

The handyman Shawn's quote was four to five hours at $60 per hour, stating "my estimates are usually pretty accurate". But the guy took over eleven hours (over two days) to do the work and he didn't even finish. He left several light switches still undone (didn't have the hardware) and one switch only turns on now when another one's down and he couldn't fix the door. I paid him and let him leave anyway because the job had already taken so long that I just wanted him out. This is my second bad handyman experience and I've decided from now on to just save myself the trouble and do the work myself.

Description of Work
The main job that we needed was to have all of our light switches, outlets and covers throughout the entire house replaced with new ones we had already purchased. We also needed a track door fixed.

Category handyman service

1.0

06/21/2007


S R.

Repeated attempts to get someone to provide an estimate for services failed. There was never anyone to answer calls directly. Voice tag became frustrating. Voice messages left for me stating that I would be contacted were not followed up. What kind of customer service is that?

Description of Work
Gutter repair.

Category gutter repair, handyman service

5.0

02/16/2007


KAY W.

Job 1: A free estimate was given as promised, the carpenter arrived when promised for both estimate and job. He was friendly, professional, personable, and he cleaned up after the work well. Job 2: Norman Williams returned after completing another small job we had asked for earlier (both estimates were done at the same time). He arranged for an electrician to come, made multiple trips for supplies and spent the better part of three days working to arrange hook-ups for a washer/dryer placed upstairs. He returned to check the water pressure and secure the exhaust hose for the dryer after the delivery. He was efficient, professional, and careful to clean up all areas after working. The only downside was that the job was a bit more than the estimate, but that had to do with more electrical work that was needed.

Description of Work
Job 1: Two safety bars were installed in the bathtub/shower; this involved carefully working with around 50 year old ceramic tile on the wall where the bars were placed. ($86.) Job 2: Carpentry, plumbing and electrical connections were done in a kitchen in order to place a stacked washer and dryer upstairs. ($800.)

Category home remodeling

5.0

08/07/2006

THEY KEPT US WILL INFORMED ON WHAT THEY WERE DOING AND WHAT WAS GOING TO HAVE TO BE DONE. THEY WERE VERY HARD WORKERS AND COMPLETELY PROFESSIONAL THE ENTIRE TIME HE WAS AT THE HOUSE.

Description of Work
THEY LIVING ROOM FLOOR WAS SINKING AND THEY HAD TO REPLACE THE FLOOR SUPPORTS.

Category contractors

2.0

08/07/2006


GARY K.

I DO NOT HAVE A GOOD OPINION OF THESE PEOPLE. THEIR QUALITY OF WORK IS NOT BAD. THEY ARE VERY UNPROFESSIONAL AND HAVE NO TRAINING IN CARPENTRY. I WOULD SAY STAY AWAY FROM THEM.

Description of Work
THEY REPAIRED MY PORCH.

Category deck cleaning

5.0

08/07/2006

THIS MAN IS VERY GOOD AT THIS JOB. WE WERE SATISFIED WITH THIS WORK AND PROFESSIONALISM. IF I EVER NEEDED ANY ADDITIONAL WORK DONE I WOULD NOT HESITATE TO CALL HIM.

Description of Work
THIS MAN CAME AND INSTALLED A LIGHT FIXTURE. HE DID SOME OTHER THINGS ALSO BUT I CAN'T REMEMBER WHAT THEY WERE.

Category electrician, handyman service, lighting

5.0

08/07/2006


KRISTINA D.

I'D HAVE TO SAY THAT HE'S A PRETTY NICE GUY, AND HE STICKS TO THE PRICE HE QUOTES YOU. I REALLY CAN'T COMMENT ON HOW GOOD A JOB HE DID BECAUSE IT HASN'T RAINED YET.

Description of Work
HE CLEANED OUR GUTTERS.

Category gutter cleaning

5.0

08/07/2006


KATE J.

THEY WERE VERY PUNCTUAL IN SHOWING UP TO THE HOME AND GOT THE JOB DONE QUICKLY. THEY ARE EXPERTS AT PLUMBING JOBS AND REALLY SEEMED TO KNOW WHAT THEY WERE DOING.

Description of Work
THEY FIXED A LEAK IN MY BATHROOM PIPES.

Category plumbing

5.0

08/07/2006

THE JOB THEY DID WAS JUST WONDERFUL. I CANNOT SAY ENOUGH ABOUT THEM. I HAVE RECOMMENDED THEM MANY TIMES TO MANY PEOPLE. THEIR PRICE WAS JUST GREAT, AND I HAVE NO COMPLAINTS ABOUT THEM AT ALL.

Description of Work
THEY REPLACED PART OF MY COUNTERTOPS.

Category countertops

5.0

06/19/2006

Andy On Call is a very good company. I hired them to install a grab bar in my shower, and it was done to my satisfaction. One problem, I have tried to reach them for another job, however, they have not responded to my calls.

Description of Work
Andy On Call installed a grab bar in my shower.

Category handyman service

2.0

06/16/2006


SALLY R.

Andy Oncall fixed the floor, but I did not find their work satisfactory. They left a weak spot in the floor, which they should have taken care of before I laid the tile. The floor did not support the tile.

Description of Work
Andy Oncall helped when we remodeled our bathroom. They laid the sub flooring, so I could lay the tile.

Category flooring contractor

Service Provider Response

UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT, NOVEMBER 2007. PLEASE CONTACT US SO THAT WE CAN INSPECT YOUR SITUATION & WORK THIS OUT. 336-373-9898. PLEASE GIVE US A CHANCE TO WORK THROUGH THIS.
5.0

06/16/2006


EDWARD D.

Andy's OnCall was a very professional and pleasant company to work with. They were very quick and complete with their work and I was highly satisfied. I would definitely use them for future work.

Description of Work
Andy's on Call tacked on a piece of siding that the wind blew off.

Category siding

4.0

06/14/2006


Carla F.

I had a fairly good experience with Andy Oncall Inc. They were professional and courteous, but the quality wasn't that good. The steps are wobbling and warping already. I am getting him to come back and fix that.

Description of Work
Andy rebuilt my deck.

Category decks

    Other local Pros in your area

    G. Garcia Framing

    I am Guadalupe Garcia ownerof GarciaFramingInc. I have alot experience to build decks, Framing houses,additions,roofing and shingles installation. I try to help each costumer on the each project try to do each job like my own house.  

    Gregs Gutter Service

    We are a company that is locally owned with a strong commitment to customer service. We do not believe in overselling to our neighbors and believe that quality is the most important thing we have to offer. Greg has been in this business for more than ten years and has lived in this area for all of his life. It is very important that his customers feel that he can be reached at all times for questions or problems. Greg is known by co-workers and his spouse to be a perfectionist. This contributes to his skill at this job, and as customers, you can be assured he will get the job done correctly.  

    Golden Brush Remodeling

    We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Carpentry, kitchen & bath, painting, vinyl, drywall, ceramic tile, decks, maintenance & repair, fix a fence, caulk a tub, stop a drip, pane a window, grout tile, hang a blind & screen a porch.

    Services Not Offered

    FOUNDATION REPAIR.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Andy On Call

    How is Andy On Call overall rated?

    Andy On Call is currently rated 3.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Andy On Call open?

    Andy On Call is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Andy On Call provide

    Andy On Call accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does Andy On Call offer free estimates?

    Yes, Andy On Call offers free project estimates.

    Does Andy On Call offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Andy On Call does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Andy On Call offer a senior discount?

    No, Andy On Call does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Andy On Call?

    Yes, Andy On Call offers warranties.

    What services does Andy On Call offer?

    Andy On Call offers the following services: Carpentry, kitchen & bath, painting, vinyl, drywall, ceramic tile, decks, maintenance & repair, fix a fence, caulk a tub, stop a drip, pane a window, grout tile, hang a blind & screen a porch.

    Are there any services Andy On Call does not offer?

    FOUNDATION REPAIR.