Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Custom Electric & Plumbing Inc

Founded 2009 • With Angi since February 2011

4.8

(83) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 38769

Greensboro, NC 27408

Description

Custom Electric & Plumbing is a full service electric and plumbing service company. We will exceed your expectations thru quality work, responsiveness, and competitive pricing. CEP does not use subcontractors. Custom Electric & Plumbing looks forward to serving you with all of your electrician and

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/17/2020


Denise H.

Chris was extremely knowledgeable and went out of way to provide advice that saved me thousands in potential losses. I found him to be honest and thorough. Would definitely hire again.

Description of Work
toilet valve replaced

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words and high marks. We appreciate the opportunity to provide quality service. -Chris
2.0

12/02/2019


William G.

Some of the work was good, but the floor electrical outlets do not work after only being used once, and they will not come to check the problem and fix it. They tried again and again to upset me on upgrading my circuit box, which was outside the scope of the project and outside my budget. Communication was poor. I had to repeatedly contact them before they would return my call or texts. They underestimated the time that would be needed for the project and then took a long time to come back to work on the project again. This delayed completion of the project, and use of a major part of our home, for several weeks.

Description of Work
Installed floor outlets and moved existing lights in ceiling

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Wow, we are very surprised by this review. We have reached out to the client and left messages on both cell numbers with no response. We worked with this client a year ago and thought all went well. I really would like to see what went wrong as I do not recall any issues on this project aside from an outlet not working that I went out and corrected the day after it was reported to us. We take pride in our customer service and the quality of our work. Thank you to all of our great clients that keep us busy each day! -Chris
5.0

04/24/2019


Dee D.

He jumped right in and got it all done in the first hour.I have several electrical issues but will have to schedule them as money allows.

Description of Work
Both kitchen and bathroom faucets leaks

Category plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words, we appreciate that you took the time to write a review for our company. -Chris
5.0

03/19/2019


Ike Q.

I've hired a lot of different professionals in order to get my dream workshop built, including roofing, concrete pouring... etc. Of all of them, Custom Electric and Plumbing was the most professional, the most responsive, and the easiest to work with. They did what they said they would do, at a fair price, and were quick to fix a minor error when I pointed it out. I would highly recommend them for any project you might have.

Description of Work
Added sub-panel for new workshop. Wired outlets and light fixtures.

Category electrician, lighting

Service Provider Response

It is our pleasure working with great clients. Thank you for your trust in our local small business. Your referral is the kindest compliment we can receive. -Chris
5.0

03/24/2018


Randy R.

Custom cabinets and complete rewiring of area. Replaced my dated Service box to the pole and added up to code wiring. Feel much safer. I was able to update to gas hotwater heater and Chris and his guys took care of everything. Even added a Generator hookup onto the back of the house and provided enough service to allow for hookup for my Shop. Getting ready to rewire my shop and Chris will be my guy again.

Description of Work
Complete Tear out and rebuild of kitchen and dining room.

Category ceramic tile, electrician, flooring contractor, picture framing, insulation, interior designers, lighting, plumbing, remodeling, water heater repair, home remodeling, interior painters, generator service

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words which I will share with our team. It was a pleasure working with you and designing your space. Also, a special thanks to the teams at Greensboro Cabinet & Countertop and Custom Construction & Renovations. We look forward to your continued support of our local small business. -Chris
5.0

12/16/2017


sandra L.

Things went very well. Blake and Herb were very professional and really gave me a sense of calmness concerning our electrical problems. They addressed all my husbands questions, and mine. They worked very diligently, and was very polite at all times. Chris was very polite on the phone and sent someone out immediately. Thank you so much CE.

Description of Work
I had electrical work completed in my panel box and check connections on my washer and dryer.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

It was a pleasure to work with you on your home. Our team at Custom Electric & Plumbing takes great pride in professionalism and client services above being skilled technicians. Thank you for your continued business. -Chris
5.0

06/19/2017


frank c S.

Went very smoothly. Prompt, courteous, excellent workmanship. Would definitely hire again.

Description of Work
Needed a ceiling light replaced over dining room table.

Category electrician, lighting

Service Provider Response

Thank you [Member Name Removed] for the kind words. I will pass on your compliments to our team. We believe quality craftsmanship and professionalism sets us apart an our in industry. Thank you for supporting our local small business. -Chris
5.0

05/10/2017


Steve F.

didn't use,chose another provider,price was a little on the higher side.

Description of Work
electrical,switch fuses to breakers

Category electrician, lighting

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to allow us to bid the project. I understand you hired another provider due to cost. As of July 9th 2017 no permit has been pulled for electrical work at your home. Are you sure you hired a licensed electrician?
5.0

04/10/2017


GERARD H.

We really like them. They are very professional. They did work for us back in 2013, and that's why when we needed something done, we went back to them. We found them on Angie's List. One thing that impressed me was that one night half of the power had went out. I called Chris and the first thing he asked me was going on with my kitchen range. I told him when I turned the range on high, it got warm and not hot. He was able to diagnose over the phone that one of the two phases from the electric company had gone out. I contacted the power company and they found where trees had fallen and taken out the power line. I was just impressed about how sharp he was picking that up right away. We weren't in an immediate need of doing all of our electrical, it was just something I had wanted to do for a long time, so I went for it. The price may be less than the original bid, since the city engineer deemed part of the work to not be necessary. Anything electrical we need, they would be the first people we call.

Description of Work
They just finished a big electrical job for us.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

It is great to have the oppurtunity to work for good people. Thank you for trusting us with your home electrical system and knowing we would keep your family safe in the process. We look forward to your continued business. -Chris
5.0

01/23/2017


Laura H.

I called Custom Electric of NC before even purchasing replacement backyard flood lights, and they were able to give me some advice on picking out new lights (amount of lumens, etc.). Once I did get the new lights, I called them back to schedule the installation and they were able to fit me in on the day that was convenient to me. Unfortunately, that day ended up being rainy, and because the work was to be done outside, they called to see about changing the work time. They actually checked a doppler radar to find the clearest time of the day and the worker came out at that time...such great service!!! They are professional, kind, customer-oriented, and all around the best electricians I've ever hired. This was the second time I've used them, and I will continue to whenever a new need arises.

Description of Work
I needed two outdoor flood lights replaced with motion sensor lights.

Category decks, electrician, lighting, outdoor lighting

Service Provider Response

You are so kind, thank you for sharing your experience with others and for your consistant referrals. We take pride in serving others and making home repairs as convenient as they can be. You compliments will be shared with our team at the next meeting. -Chris
5.0

12/16/2016


JOE V.

After calling a plumbing company for a water heater outage, he determined that the problem was in the wiring, not the water heater itself. I called Custom Electric after two other companies failed to respond to my calls, voice-mail messages and e-mails. I was informed that he could have a technician out around 1 or 2 that same day. Herb came out and quickly diagnosed that the problem wasn't with the wiring itself, but with a generator switch-box that another company installed. Herb quickly corrected my problem along with another minor problem. Herb saved the day! My wife and I were visualizing a bill in the high hundreds for re-wiring the water heater. Herb diagnosed the problem and had it corrected withing the first hour. Herb and Custom Electric of North Carolina are honest, trustworthy and highly skilled! I would recommend them to anyone.

Description of Work
Water heater outage.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to tell others about your experience with our team. We take great pride in the vital characteristics you described above and appreciate you noting them. We look forward to being your "goto electrician". -Chris
5.0

04/29/2016


Patti W.

Chris returned my call within an hour and asked what was going on. My hot tub wasn't turning on and he basically walked me through the process with the outside fuse (one I had never seen the likes of before) and realized it was in upside down. Put it in correctly, turned on the main breaker and TaDa~the hot tub turned on. Thanks Chris for saving the day.

Description of Work
Talked me through the fuse problem

Category electrician, pool cleaners

Service Provider Response

We don't make a profit by solving problems over the phone for a client but we do build relationships this way. Glad we could help! Thank you for supporting our local small business. -Chris
5.0

04/09/2016


C. B.

I was very pleased with this service. Mr. Davis, the service technician, was very punctual, professional, and courteous. He kept me informed throughout the process. I had purchased the $129 deal for one hour of electrical service--labor only. He diagnosed and repaired my problem, a faulty receptacle, within the hour. I had to purchase a replacement receptacle and choose the higher priced GFI @ $40 which brought the total to $169. I will definitely use Custom Electric for future electrician needs.

Description of Work
Diagnosed and repaired electrical problem.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your experience with our company. At custom electric of NC we pride ourselves in the details, working hard each day to provide a high quality level of service. Upgrading your outlet to include tamper resistant GFCI protection was a necessity to protect your family from risk of electric shock. -Chris 336-644-5600
5.0

03/16/2016


Katherine S.

Very professional & polite. Well done and will use this company in the future.

Description of Work
Swapped out 2 external light fixtures.

Category electrician, lighting

Service Provider Response

At Custom Electric of NC, we pride ourselves in professionalism in a non-professional field of construction. Thank you for you compliments, I will pass it on to the technician. He will appreciate hearing the results of his efforts to make each call a great experience for our client. -Chris
4.0

12/15/2015


Daphne R.

He estimated for 2 hours work. He had a lot of idling done as reported by my husband because I was at work. I wouldn't say the price we paid him was excellent because of that. They are expensive They are readily available and responsive. They showed up on time and did good work. The system check could have been $39 but I paid $199. I waited about 2 weeks to get the service.

Description of Work
They did a light fixture replacement. He also had to replace a part on the circuit board.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you for writing a review for Custom Electric of NC based on your experience with our company. We called to follow up with the client as we typically do to check on service experience and here is what the client told us: The technician showed up on time. The technician was neat in appearance. The technician did a good job replacing the light fixture and several smoke alarms. Everything worked as designed before he left the home. The technician left the work area in the home clean. The technician did NOT explain to the home owner the loose wires(6) he found and corrected during the panel service performed or the difference between a panel service and general electrical inspection that some companies offer for $50. This work was performed on a flat rate basis and the technician took his time to be sure it was all done correctly. The cost of the panel service, smoke detector installation, overall electrical inspection, and light fixture replacement was discussed with the home owner prior to scheduling the appointment for the service call to prevent any surprises. We will do better in communicating with the home owner when we find and fix problems so that they know they are getting their money's worth out of the service call. Thank you for finding a weakness in our service and bringing it to our attention. -Chris -Chris
4.0

10/22/2015


Matthew M.

Technician came out and we both assumed the problem was too much current running through the circuit, and that installing a new outlet on another circuit would solve the problem, and we started in on that solution. Then we stopped and thought we should test the GFCI itself - maybe it was old/bad and not allowing enough current to run. When we replaced the GFCI with a standard outlet and loaded up the circuit with everything we could (treadmill, fridge, space heater), it all ran fine...even the circuit breaker didn't trip. Technician didn't have a GFCI on his truck (surprisingly), but owner Chris came back out to complete the fix. Technician (David?) was very nice, and owner Chris is very attentive and wants to ensure satisfaction - especially to Angie's List members. I would use Custom Electric again.

Description of Work
Our treadmill in the garage kept tripping the GFCI outlet and I couldn't figure out why. After trying a couple of more-difficult fixes, the technician ended up simply replacing the GFCI...with a below-code/non-GFCI outlet. But owner Chris returned to complete the repair fully.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

We failed on this one...we should always have commonly used parts on the van to perform service work and in this instance we ran out of GFCI type outlets on this service van. As with any failure, how you recover is key. We got the client up and running that day, then returned with a new (proper) outlet to complete the repair without charging any return trip fee or even the charging for the GFCI outlet. This due to our failure and inconvenience to the client. We make mistakes and we make it RIGHT, always. Thank you for trusting Custom Electric of NC with your electrical needs. -Chris
5.0

09/09/2015


Mary Jane C.

I am pleased with the work performed and happy that Chris sent someone so quickly to find and correct the electical problems. I feel Chris is an honest businessman, one who is dependable, professional, and a contractor I can trust to do a good job at a fair price. I will use this company again.

Description of Work
I purchased the 2-hour deal for $160 and paid for an additional hour. Chris sent an electrician out promptly to install 3 new smoke alarms. I had been hearing beeping for about a week and could not find the battery in the smoke alarm. Robert continued testing to find out why the beeping continued after installing the new alarm. It was determined the beep was coming from a carbon monxide detector placed on a nearby wall. Since the existing smoke alarms were old, they were replaced with new ones Now, I can easlly locate and change the batteries when necessary. Some switches and outlets were not working properly. These were checked and problems corrected. Also, a dimmer switch was installed.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words. We appreciate the opportunity to help you maintain the safety of your family with new smoke detectors. -Chris
5.0

07/31/2015


Brian C.

The installation went very well. The installer did an excellent job and made sure everything was working fine before he left. I was very impressed from start to finish with his professionalism. The owner worked with me on the pricing and was very understanding with MY mistake when we agreed on terms for the installation. The experience left me feeling great and more than just another customer. I have used Custom Electric several times and plan on doing so in the foreseeable future. I HIGHLY recommend them to anyone that need residential work.

Description of Work
Installed two ceiling fans.

Category electrician, plumbing, wells, ceiling fans

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the continued support of our local small business. We take pride in serving our clients with a personal touch and dedication to professionalism. We look forward to your future business. Warm regards, Chris
5.0

07/29/2015


Jared S.

The electrician arrived right at the specified time and worked efficiently for the two hours he was at our house. The work that was done looks excellent!

Description of Work
The provider came and installed three lights (one of which was in a fairly awkward location to get to), replaced a dimmer switch which was damaged, and installed a digital thermostat.

Category electrician, lighting

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the kind words. We appreciate the business. -Chris
5.0

06/30/2015


katie C.

Installation went well. Fan is now solidly installed and functions correctly. Also looked at an outdoor floodlight and advised me on how to fix it without additional charge.

Description of Work
Replaced ceiling fan

Category electrician, lighting, plumbing, water damage restoration, wells, ceiling fans

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the great referral based on your experience with our company. We always aim to save our clients $ when we can. -Chris
5.0

06/06/2015


Joseph W.

Requested service and they were here the next morning. David was professional quick and neat.

Description of Work
Put up two ceiling fans

Category electrician, ceiling fans

Service Provider Response

It has been a pleasure working with you. We look forward to your continued business. -Chris
5.0

06/03/2015


Annika P.

They were very punctual, worked cleanly and carefully. No complaints, though I was a bit surprised at the cost, though it was for two workers and this was my first experience with an electrician. One dealt with things in the house while the other dealt with the circuit breaker and things outside.

Description of Work
Installed an outlet in a cabinet over our stove so that we could install a microwave.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the feedback on your experience with our company. We pride ourselves on working efficiently inside your home and appreciate your recognition of that success. We will work on communicating better about expected cost prior to beginning any work so as to not surprise anyone. Your feedback makes us better, thank you. -Chris
5.0

06/01/2015


Tracey H.

Well pleased with the work and the courtesy of the staff.

Description of Work
Installed ceiling fan, bathroom exhaust fan and electrical outlets

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you for reviewing our company. -Chris
5.0

04/14/2015


Joe B.

went great...no problems at all

Description of Work
installed LED lights

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the continued business, it is always a pleasure. We look forward to serving you again when you need us. -Chris
5.0

12/29/2014


Timothy G.

Chris was great to work with. There were many issues with the permit but none of it was Chris's problem. He was very patient and actually made several trips to the property after the work was completed to make sure that there weren't any issues. He was even kind enough to help me out with the circuit rewiring and what the city was expecting, since I was doing that myself. I would recommend Chris and his team and will use them again if needed.

Description of Work
Replaced breaker and meter box for service upgrade in my 100 year old house.

Category electrician

Service Provider Response

We really appreciate the kind words. It was a pleasure working with you and we are always here to answer any questions you may have on the DIY side to keep you safe in your historic home. Looking forward to your next upgrade to the property. -Chris

    Other local Pros in your area

    Water Improvement Technologies

    We specialize in knowing what’s really in your water, so we can find the most efficient and effective way to combat it. Our trained water technicians specialize in assessing your water’s current condition followed by the most efficient and effective customized solution.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Precision Garage Door

    Award winning. Same day/24-hour emergency service available. The highest quality garage door parts and accessories available in the garage door industry. Certified technicians, fully stocked trucks. Precision Door Service has more than 20 years of professional experience in garage door installation and is committed to customer satisfaction. We do top quality work at an affordable price  

    Angi Certified

    Offers Coupon

    James Cress Jr. Water Pump and Well Services

    We have the experience and dedication to assist with all of your plumbing services, installs, and repairs! We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    33755
    Trade License Locale
    North Carolina
    Trade License Authority
    Board of Examiners
    Trade License Expiration
    12/31/2018
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    No
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Electrical Switches, Outlets, Fixtures Install & Repair, Electrical Wiring & Panel Upgrade, Home Addition Electrical & Remodel, Generator Service & Installation, Lightning Protection & Repair, Outdoor Lighting, Hot Tubs pool & spa, Lightning Protection & Repair Plumber service including sink faucet tub drain bathtub shower faucet shower drain steam shower toilet installation toilet repair toilet flapper

    Services Not Offered

    We are an electrical contractor that is affiliated with a general contracting company that can handle all of your home needs.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Custom Electric & Plumbing Inc

    How is Custom Electric & Plumbing Inc overall rated?

    Custom Electric & Plumbing Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Custom Electric & Plumbing Inc open?

    Custom Electric & Plumbing Inc is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Custom Electric & Plumbing Inc provide

    Custom Electric & Plumbing Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check

    Does Custom Electric & Plumbing Inc offer free estimates?

    No, Custom Electric & Plumbing Inc does not offer free project estimates.

    Does Custom Electric & Plumbing Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Custom Electric & Plumbing Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Custom Electric & Plumbing Inc offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Custom Electric & Plumbing Inc offers a 5% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Custom Electric & Plumbing Inc?

    Yes, Custom Electric & Plumbing Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Custom Electric & Plumbing Inc offer?

    Custom Electric & Plumbing Inc offers the following services: Electrical Switches, Outlets, Fixtures Install & Repair, Electrical Wiring & Panel Upgrade, Home Addition Electrical & Remodel, Generator Service & Installation, Lightning Protection & Repair, Outdoor Lighting, Hot Tubs pool & spa, Lightning Protection & Repair Plumber service including sink faucet tub drain bathtub shower faucet shower drain steam shower toilet installation toilet repair toilet flapper

    Are there any services Custom Electric & Plumbing Inc does not offer?

    We are an electrical contractor that is affiliated with a general contracting company that can handle all of your home needs.