Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Carolina Improvements

Founded 2006 • With Angi since November 2015

4.2

(26) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

312 Orville Wright Dr

Greensboro, NC 27409

Description

We are experts in Roofing, Replacement Windows, Vinyl, Rock, & Shake Siding, Chain Link Fences, Decks, and Walk-In Safe Tubs & Showers. We also offer great financing options such as low interest financing & same as cash options. We are an A+ Rated with the Better Business Bureau and have been in

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
3.0

04/07/2020


Kimberly J.

The installation was great and professional. However, get everything in writing. I was quoted one price and was told that price included a discount. Once the job was finished. We received a bill for the exact amount of the discount!! We called but the representative had quit! We still owe them plus major finance company. FYI Get everything in writing. Do not take any word those fast talking sales reps quote! Ever!!

Description of Work
Siding, Gutters, Windows

Category gutter repair, siding, replacement windows

1.0

10/20/2019


Laura F.

3 1/2 months later, I was told by the owner it’s completed after a 2nd rebuild and if I did not sign off with approval he will lien my home and it will expose/ruin my credit. The 2nd rebuild was due to the first outside contractor they hired to build my deck. The floor was not leveled, rails were different heights. One side if the rail was 8 to 10 inches from the house and the other side was flushed against the home. One if the rail was higher in one end and made the rail look warped the pickets were installed in the inside of the deck. They screwed the nails so tight it cracked a lot of the pickets and cracked a couple of four by four. The stairs were a safety hazard. I contact these people in the beginning: main reason the 1st outside contractor they hired to my work claim they are disorganized and shady and there are few contractors won’t work for them for good reason. When I told them what I found out they fired that contractor and I said I wanted out and at this time the material was only ordered and not delivered and they did not allow me to back out if the contract. The first day I sent pictures of what the 2nd contractor was doing. He built the frame first and then the post and the cuts he made. I never heard anything from them and when I called to see if he seen the pictures, they said the project manger was busy and I’m not the only customer. Two weeks after I sent the pictures I took more pictures showing what he was doing and they said he was fine. I was left with trash they did not take and pickets they reused are warped and deep cracks. I’m force to sign off of the 2nd time around which it was not a tear down and reused warped pickets and cement rocks and trash left in the ground and told if I will pay attorney their attorney fees and the lien on the house giving me bad credit. They felt I had no reason to be upset and they strong arm me and turned it around on me being very upset for that what happen and will not compensate me for the inconvenience, stress and heartache. The inconvenience dealing with three dogs taking them out 4 to 5 times on a leash to the front of the house and the exposed nails sticking out if the pile of wood they left in my backyard and not deck floor. So much more, but enough to give community in overview what happened to me. They did there best to intimidate me and it worked. I’m signing off with trash and all pickets we are having to replace. So they don’t put a lien on my home and ruin my credit that I have worked so hard for years to have a decent credit rating after my divorce. Carolina Improvement is not a company has a way to make sure they are untouchable when things go wrong. Because they try to fix the mistakes they feel there did not do anything wrong when it took me two weeks to make them use another contractor to fix the mess that took place, they wanted to send the same person who built uneven floor and rails and so much more and who never called the inspector toll he finished and the inspector told me it was their first time out and did not pass inspection and even the inspector said to me @ I hope you have not paid them yet.” It’s been a nightmare and very stressful.

Description of Work
Backyard Deck

Category decks, fencing

3.0

10/21/2018


Verna H.

Although we signed a contract with the company in mid June and was told that work would start within 2-3 weeks, they only began working on our project in August. The company installed a composite deck which we were informed by its salesman that this was the best type of deck due to its neat appearance of not having any nail holes, unlike wood decks. However, this was not the case. Every single screw installed is clearly visible, and although the installer informed us that he questioned the company regarding the type of screws provided, the company refused to provide an alternative. After several attempts of trying to get someone in charge over the phone, we were eventually told that there was nothing they could do and actually asked us to offer a solution. Further, the deck railing is incomplete as improper angles were sent in with the materials. We have waited too long for this to be taken care of. Because of the lack of responsiveness from the company and its negative attitude with us, we were compelled to file a complaint against the company with the Better Business Bureau.

Description of Work
deck installation

Category decks, replacement windows

1.0

07/19/2018


Rene J.

This is a follow-up to a previous review, in which I gave them a "D." Now they're at an F. In my first review, I spoke of the lack of follow up and response to my request for a written quote. Despite having both my phone number and my email address, they chose to provide the quote in a response to my review publicly on Angie's List. Who does this? I saw it about three weeks after the fact, when I happened to return to the site. I contacted them again to arrange another meeting (despite my reservations about them). The salesman called me a couple of days after I called and said he could come to my house the following Tuesday. I told him I would be returning from a trip that evening, but could meet any other day that week. He said he could not meet on any of the other days I proposed, but that he would call me back to set something up. Two weeks later, he called again. By that point, I had already signed a contract with another company. Their customer service is inexcusably poor.

Description of Work
Estimate on window replacement.

Category replacement windows

5.0

09/20/2017


Tammy L.

Excellent company! Very professional work! Highly recommend!

Description of Work
Siding replaced on entire house.

Category gutter repair, remodeling, roofing, siding, replacement windows

5.0

09/20/2017


Tammy L.

Very professional and the house looks amazing!

Description of Work
New siding.

Category remodeling, roofing, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the very nice review! We hope you enjoy your home!
5.0

09/06/2017


Tammy L.

Perfect! Highly recommend!

Description of Work
Excellent company in every way!!

Category remodeling, siding, replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the awesome review!
1.0

06/07/2017


Tim S.

Charged upfront locking me in to their company. Then they claimed this was a repair not a new roof so refused to provide any meaningful warranty. They actully told me I was lucky to be getting 30 days as "repairs" don't get ANY warranty. Obviously, they are doing whatever they can to NOT stand behind their work. They already had my money so I had no recourse. The form I submitted at the start of this was for a repair to my tin roof. However since it was not visible from the street, this actually turned out to be a new roof over two sections of flat tar and gravel. A "new " rubber roof, which is what they put on, would have had a 50 year warranty. Would not negotiate and basically stiffed me. Just hoping the new roof holds up.

Description of Work
New roof over two flat sections

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

First, I would like anyone reading this review to understand this customer ordered a repair on his roof from us. The agreement he signed and agreed to CLEARLY states there is no warranty on roof repairs. We repaired this customers roof in a very timely fashion, but we did not replace it. He had several sections of flat roof tied into the metal roof which required rubber membrane to repair and to last. This customer has demanded that we give him a warranty after the fact, though he was fully aware no warranty is offered on repairs. This customer essentially attempted to "Bully" us into giving him a warranty after the work was done, and since we said no, he threatened to post bad reviews about our company, so here we are. Some people are very unreasonable when they don't get what they want, which is certainly the case here. On the bright side, this customer did get a very professional repair which will likely last for many years. Perhaps in a few years he will change this review.
5.0

12/18/2016


Tammy L.

We just got the job finished last Friday, December 16th. Shane and his crew were outstanding! They were very hard workers(even with a couple of rainy days). They barely took a lunch break and worked right up until dark. The siding is beautiful and the house looks brand new! We are very impressed and I am sure we will call Carolina Improvements for more work in the future! Call them and you can't go wrong! Thanks so much Carolina Improvements!

Description of Work
Carolina Improvements replaced our old cedar siding with new vinyl siding.

Category siding

5.0

09/29/2016


Albert W.

It went very well, the windows reduce the noise in the house greatly and the windows look great.

Description of Work
Replace windows in a rental house in Elizabeth City, N.C.

Category replacement windows

1.0

09/10/2016


David M.

I signed a contract on July 15, 2016 with Carolina Improvements for eight replacement windows with grids ($200 upcharge for adding grids to windows). I was required to pay with a certified check for both the cost and labor for installing the windows upfront on July 15, 2016 (As required by Carolina Improvements). I was told by the owner that the windows would be installed no later than August 5th, 2016. They arrived to install the windows on August 5th, 2016, however, none of the windows had grids as specified on the contract and one of the windows was broken. I was assured by the owner that this was just a one-time internal mistake made when ordering the windows from the manufacturer that never happens, and the earliest they could get the windows re-ordered and installed was August 19th, 2016. The installer made his 2nd trip to my house on August 19th, 2016, with eight new windows with grids. During the 2nd attempt to install the custom windows, the installer noted that all of the windows had been cut 7/8 of an inch too short, so none of them fit. I was contacted by the owner again who placed the blame of the manufacturer, for not cutting the windows to specifications. I was told the earliest that they could receive new windows and install them would be another two weeks, on September 2nd 2016. I was contacted by Carolina Improvements on September 1st, 2016, to let me know that my windows had not arrived as promised, and it would in fact be another week before they could install them. The installer made his 3rd trip to my home on September 9th, 2016, to install the windows. During installation one of the windows on the front of my house was shattered, and is still currently broken at this time. The owner has told me that it could potentially be September 23rd, 2016 before the replacement window could be installed, which will be their 4th trip to my home. I have been assured by the owner during each mistake that these mistakes never happen at Carolina Improvements, and that I am just that “One in a hundred customer” with this experience. The bottom line is that I paid Carolina Improvements a certified check over 8 weeks ago for the entire cost of my windows as required by the company, and it could be 10 weeks before they are actually installed, and that is under the assumption that the job is completed successfully on the 4th attempt. I was able to completely remodel the house to put it on the market in less than 3 weeks, coordinating with painters, roofers, plumbers, and laying new floors. However, the windows that I was assured would take no more than 3 weeks beginning to end to install, are still not complete. When speaking with the owner on September 9th, I was told that “Broken windows are not keeping me from putting the house on the market”. I have also been reminded several times by the owner that he has lost money on the transaction as well (From mistakes made by his company). The true cost is to the customer, who has now paid thousands of dollars for an unsatisfactory product and service upfront that is still not complete 8 weeks later. The owner offered me a $300 rebate check on the windows I paid for July 13th for my experience with Carolina Improvements. $300 comes nowhere close to covering the cost for keeping a house off the market and paying a mortgage an additional 2 months due to all of the mistakes made by the company, not to mention the 4 days I have taken off of work to meet the installer. I own a small business as well, and understand that mistakes happen from time to time, but you have to make sure that the customer is made whole again. Ten weeks and at least 4 trips to install 8 windows is more incompetence than a casual mistake happening here and there to “One in a hundred customers”. Carolina Improvements states on their website that, “We do it right the first time. And if we mess something up, we come back and correct it”. How I wish either of those statements were actually true!

Description of Work
8 Vinyl Replacement Windows

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

The things that this customer has said are true. It has been one mistake after another after another. We (Carolina Improvements) made the first mistake by not ordering the grids, and for this we are very sorry. The second and third mistakes were made by our manufacturer, and for this we are sorry and it is embarrassing. The forth mistake was made by our installer Tommy, and it was an accident that he broke the window while installing it, and of course, we are sorry. We have apologized to Mr. [Member Name Removed] more times than we can count and given him a $300 rebate check as part of the apology. Unfortunately, it has not been enough. Hopefully his replacement sash will come in this Thursday and we will install it Friday. We are very sorry so many things have gone wrong with this one customer. We work our butts off every day to make sure these type of things don't happen to our patrons. Unfortunately, everything seemed to go wrong with this job. This is not ok with us, nor will it ever be.
5.0

09/07/2016


Lynda B.

Everything went as expected. They were on time. Made sure they got all nails out of my dog pin so they wouldn't get hurt. Very professional. Went beyond what they needed to do to make sure I was pleased with their work. Will not hesitate to contact them again.

Description of Work
Put on a metal roof on my house

Category roofing

5.0

08/18/2016


Arin C.

They came out and showed me the windows they had and I selected the double pane with the extra thick glass and the extra space between the panes. I originally wasnt going to buy them today because I dont like financing things but they offer 12 months same as cash financing (if you dont pay within the 12 months though you have to pay back all the back interest so make sure you get them paid off). A week or so later they came out and measured my windows (unfortunately they are replacement windows so I couldnt get them to change the size of one of my windows but thats understandable since it would have been a much bigger job and cost way more that way). A month later they came back and worked straight through (in the july heat mind you) from 9am till 2pm to replace all 15 windows in my house! They were fast, and professional and courteous. They didnt even take a 5 min break till all the windows were in and the flashing was about to be finished. These guys were awesome and I would recommend them to anyone. In fact my neighbor across the street came over and talked to them as they were finishing up and said that she had some other people put in her windows a few years ago and they were sticking and some couldnt even be opened... So I think she'll be the next person with a Carolina Improvements sign in her yard.

Description of Work
Window Replacement

Category replacement windows

5.0

08/04/2016


Coy B.

We contacted Carolina Improvements after seeing their advertisement on a local television station. The salesman came to our house, informed us of their credentials as far as being licensed, bonded, and insured, and gave us an estimate. This was the last estimate that we were scheduled to receive on this job and his price was just a little less than his competitor's price. We started the process with him that day. He told us that the contractor would be in touch with us to set up the exact dates of installation. He said the job would take about three days. The contractor told us upon arrival that the job would take four days because they could only work for a half day the first day. They started the job on a Tuesday. One of the workmen was sick on Thursday, so the job was not finished until the following Monday. In spite of the delay, we are extremely happy with the finished product. Our house has never looked better. We are looking forward to many years of carefree maintenance on the exterior of our house.

Description of Work
Installed vinyl siding.

Category siding

5.0

07/31/2016


Ingrid N.

this company is wonderful, from the sales person Joel Morgan to the installers Jason and Tamara. all very nice people, helpful and honest - all did a wonderful job for us - would recommend to anyone!!!!!!

Description of Work
new windows

Category replacement windows

5.0

07/29/2016


Greg H.

From start to finish the job was done professionally. The crew that they sent was very punctual and very professional. They worked all day everyday that they were here. The job really went way better than I had ever dreamed.

Description of Work
New windows, siding, shutters and gutters.

Category gutter repair, siding, replacement windows

5.0

07/27/2016


Beverly W.

Well the representative who first came out to see the house, and give our free in-home estimate was very courteous and knowledgeable. He called ahead of time to let us know that he was going to be on time for his appointment, and was there on the dot. He was very respectful to my mother (which was important to me, the last company we had do a quote seemed to ignore her because she's an older woman. My sister and I were involved in the process, had more opinions on the work to be done, but it was still HER house.) and although my mom can't get outside like she used to, he took my sister and I out and walked us around the house. He pointed out possible problem areas where wood might have to be replaced, all of the ancient creepers were going to have to be removed off the back, did we want the underpart of the overhang covered? Again, very, very knowledgeable, very courteous. He talked with us for almost two hours, breaking down what we wanted to know, showing us color and grade options, and patiently waited while all three of us voiced our opinions. He worked with us on financing, and we received a very reasonable price for the siding and all of the trim. As far as when it came time to install, the work out shown the salesmanship. The man who came to work on the house had to deal with April showers (no sign of rain, then an all-out pouring until dark, and visa versa.) He showed up everyday he said he would, and worked as long as he could until the rain started. He was so diligent, and worked so hard. Considering all of the rain, he got her house finished in a very timely manner, and lost no attention to detail. All in all? A job very well done. The financing options were affordable, and it remains a pleasant experience. Especially every time I pull into my mother's driveway.

Description of Work
Vinyl Siding installed on my mother's house.

Category remodeling, siding

5.0

07/27/2016


Tom H.

All went very well. It was same installer that put our window in earlier this spring. They make sure everything is done right. When they are done for the day they clean everything up. No messes left behind.

Description of Work
New siding

Category siding, replacement windows

5.0

07/27/2016


Beverly W.

Well the representative who first came out to see the house, and give our free in-home estimate was very courteous and knowledgeable. He called ahead of time to let us know that he was going to be on time for his appointment, and was there on the dot. He was very respectful to my mother (which was important to me, the last company we had do a quote seemed to ignore her because she's an older woman. My sister and I were involved in the process, had more opinions on the work to be done, but it was still HER house.) and although my mom can't get outside like she used to, he took my sister and I out and walked us around the house. He pointed out possible problem areas where wood might have to be replaced, all of the ancient creepers were going to have to be removed off the back, did we want the underpart of the overhang covered? Again, very, very knowledgeable, very courteous. He talked with us for almost two hours, breaking down what we wanted to know, showing us color and grade options, and patiently waited while all three of us voiced our opinions. He worked with us on financing, and we received a very reasonable price for the siding and all of the trim. As far as when it came time to install, the work out shown the salesmanship. The man who came to work on the house had to deal with April showers (no sign of rain, then an all-out pouring until dark, and visa versa.) He showed up everyday he said he would, and worked as long as he could until the rain started. He was so diligent, and worked so hard. Considering all of the rain, he got her house finished in a very timely manner, and lost no attention to detail. All in all? A job very well done. The financing options were affordable, and it remains a pleasant experience. Especially every time I pull into my mother's driveway.

Description of Work
Vinyl siding installed on my mother's house.

Category remodeling, siding

4.0

07/25/2016


Dennis M.

Ok. Removed 2 old later's of roof, replaced 15 4x8 sheets of plywood. Re-roofed with new underpayment & new shingles, cleaned up. Pretty well.

Description of Work
Reroof.

Category roofing

5.0

07/23/2016


Frank R.

I am very pleased with the way everything went. They first replaced my roof in only one days time and several days later they came back and added vinyl rock siding to the front of my home. They did a very good job. Cleaned up like they were never here.

Description of Work
Roofing and Rock siding

Category roofing, siding

5.0

07/05/2016


Melinda T.

Provider arrived on time, replaced the windows, cleaned up after himself , and did so in a timely and professional way. He was careful w/ my flowers on the outside, and w/ my floors in the house. He was pleasant and non-intrusive. He made sure the windows worked and that I knew how to work the interior blinds. The guarantee was also explained. He took his time caulking the windows and made sure there was no mess on my floors. Great product and great service from a classy company.

Description of Work
Replaced 4 windows , two w/ interior blinds and two regular.

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the great review!
1.0

06/30/2016


Ray P.

The guy got really annoyed when I told him I wanted to think it over before signing the contract. He also insulted my wife. He said her option didn't matter.

Description of Work
come to the house to give us a quote

Category replacement windows

Service Provider Response

We have never done business with this person nor do we have any record of them.
5.0

02/19/2016


Derrick J.

Everything was perfect. They called me ahead of time to reconfirm the appointment, they were on time. They even followed up afterwards to make sure I was happy with everything.

Description of Work
I had them do a roof and fix some siding. Also had them replace a window.

Category roofing, siding, replacement windows

5.0

12/10/2015


Margery M.

Everything was done quickly and without too much trouble to us or our two dogs. The workers were prompt and cleaned up everything after themselves. We were asked to inspect each step of the process. It didn't take them long at all to finish the job. We never had to call to let them know something was wrong, or the someone didn't come when scheduled. When the job was completed, we were asked to walk around the entire house and inspect, we were even instructed to open and close all of the windows to make sure they all worked properly. We noticed right away how much quieter it is in our house since we got the new windows. We have been very satisfied.

Description of Work
Provided and installed replacement windows, put all new rain gutters on the house, and covered all wood on house with vinyl siding.

Category remodeling

    Other local Pros in your area

    ABC FENCE BUILDERS LLC

    Top-Rated Commercial, Industrial and Residential Fencing Services in Burlington.. We have proudly built our fencing company on the core principles of safety, beauty, and privacy! With years of experience serving prestigious neighborhoods around Burlington, we take pride in being ranked as the leading company for residential, commercial and industrial fencing. We offer a wide variety of stylish, durable and premium-quality fencing options for properties of all styles and sizes. When it comes to finding the perfect fence for your home or business, there is no better choice than ABC Fence Builders LLC. Our skilled experts have the experience required to fabricate a premium-grade fence that not only complements the architecture with a stylish design, but secures your property with high-strength materials. Our luxurious fences are designed to seamlessly blend with the architecture of any style of property, from victorian to contemporary. Secure your home and boost the aesthetics of your property with a sturdy, premium-grade fence! With the right tools, many fences can be breached, putting your property at risk. So when safety and security are of the utmost importance, you’ll want to use a premier fencing company that can achieve your goals. If you’re looking for the highest-grade and most durable residential fencing in North Carolina, look no further than ABC Fence Builders LLC. Our trained fencing professionals approach every fence project with the highest level of craftsmanship, safety and precision. When your residential fencing is damaged after a storm or your commercial fencing is unexpectedly breached, you need a top-rated fencing company you can trust! When you choose ABC Fence Builders for an upcoming project, you can count on us to bring your dream fence to life, from the initial concept to a brand-new luxurious fence. Give us a call today at (336) 234-5300 so that we can maximize the safety of your property with a durable, premium-grade fence.  

    Angi Certified

    Ragsdale Home Services

    Building the future of your outdoor living dreams and restoring the paths to four season fun. We specialize in creating decks and screen porches to fit your lifestyle and make the most out of your outdoor space. We are a home company able to assist you with any project, from just a hole in the wall to full bathroom or kitchen remodels including sheetrock, wall repair, simple plumbing, electric, and painting We are always on time and always have the customer in mind. We show up with good attitudes and a willingness to make your ideas come to life, We are the answer! Thanks, Forrest and Team  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    G. Garcia Framing

    I am Guadalupe Garcia ownerof GarciaFramingInc. I have alot experience to build decks, Framing houses,additions,roofing and shingles installation. I try to help each costumer on the each project try to do each job like my own house.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing
    Senior Discount
    3%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Roofing. Vinyl Siding. Replacement Windows. Kitchen & Bath Remodeling. Room Additions. Fencing. Decks.

    Services Not Offered

    Insurance Estimates. Repair Services.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Carolina Improvements

    How is Carolina Improvements overall rated?

    Carolina Improvements is currently rated 4.2 overall out of 5.

    What days are Carolina Improvements open?

    Carolina Improvements is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does Carolina Improvements provide

    Carolina Improvements accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing

    Does Carolina Improvements offer free estimates?

    Yes, Carolina Improvements offers free project estimates.

    Does Carolina Improvements offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Carolina Improvements does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Carolina Improvements offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Carolina Improvements offers a 3% senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Carolina Improvements?

    Yes, Carolina Improvements offers warranties.

    What services does Carolina Improvements offer?

    Carolina Improvements offers the following services: Roofing. Vinyl Siding. Replacement Windows. Kitchen & Bath Remodeling. Room Additions. Fencing. Decks.

    Are there any services Carolina Improvements does not offer?

    Insurance Estimates. Repair Services.