Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Baker Roofing Co

Founded 1915 • With Angi since July 2013

4.7

(24) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

7922 Industrial Village Rd

Greensboro, NC 27409

Description

Welcome to Baker Roofing Company. Since 1915, Baker Roofing has grown to become one of the Nation’s largest and most respected roofing contractors. We are the experts when it comes to residential roofing projects in Wilmington, North Carolina. Our reputation for quality work, responsiveness and competitive pricing has been the primary factor in our success. We are committed to client satisfaction so call us today! We offer professional building envelope services for residential, commercial and industrial customers....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/31/2019


SHIRLEY H.

The professional presentation by the salesman was the first good impression I had of this company. Nathan showed up on time and spent time looking at the roof and assessing what I needed. He presented a thorough and complete estimate, with numerous options, with a detailed package of information. Baker was not the lowest estimate I got, but they provided a more professional and complete picture of what I was to expect. This is the primary reason I choose them over some lower priced offers. On the day of installation the roofers arrived on time and started right away. They removed my old roofing and began the installation of the new roof by the afternoon. They came back a second day to finish up. This was as expected. One area of my roof needed the wood decking replaced. The roofers found the cause. There was a gap that allowed water to get in between the original wood siding and the added aluminum siding. They saw this when they were roofing the gable. If they hadn't pointed it out the water would have continued to seep in and damage the new roof. They took it upon themselves to point out the problem, take pictures, and provide a solution. I didn't have to get someone else to place a cap on the chimney - they took it upon themselves to hire a fabricator, get a lift to reach the top of the chimney and fix the problem. This took some additional time and cost, but they took the time and effort to make sure I was pleased with the entire process. When I got the bill, it was EXACTLY what I expected. There was no hidden cost, no oops, price overruns. A truly professional company. I can see why they've been in business so long! I would recommend Baker Roofing to anyone looking for a new roof or roof repairs.

Description of Work
I required an entire roof replacement. Since there was already a 2nd layer of asphalt shingles on my roof, they had to be removed before the new roof and sheeting could be installed.

Category roofing

5.0

09/11/2018


Dawna J.

Francisco led this project and he and the team from Baker were professional, pleasant, punctual and extremely helpful. I know we received the best possible price, service, and work and we are extremely pleased with the outcome. I highly recommend Baker!

Description of Work
Desperate need of a new roof

Category roofing, water damage restoration

5.0

07/14/2017


Margaret M.

The salesman gave a timely and thorough quote and the work was completed within 2 weeks of my ok.

Description of Work
Removed old gutters/install new gutters & guards.

Category gutter repair

5.0

07/13/2017


Sue Z.

My daughter found him on Angie's List and we were very pleased. It was a good price for what had to be done and also including replacing some windows because of water damage, I had no problem with it. My daughter originally dealt with them. He did call me wanting to meet with me but I didn't get the call until 3 days later so I never met them but my daughter was well pleased. It was scheduled while we were having a really rainy period but they did it when they could. I wasn't living there at the time so it was ok. They're very professional.They communicate in a positive manner and make it clear on what to expect. If other things need to be done, they explain that as well. My daughter kept an eye on everything and she was well pleased. I think it took 3 or 4 days.

Description of Work
I had my roof replaced. He also replaced some windows.

Category roofing, replacement windows

5.0

02/17/2017


Jean G.

Workers on time & did not waste any time the whole day. Project manager very polite & professional.

Description of Work
Roof replacement.

Category roofing

5.0

01/11/2017


Manfred R.

.

Description of Work
.

Category roofing

5.0

04/13/2016


EJ P.

Very smooth & professional job very happy.

Description of Work
Replace siding and 6 windows.

Category siding, replacement windows

5.0

11/10/2015


Kevin B.

Description of Work
Baker Roofing replaced the roof on our 1957 house. The process from start to finish was very professional. Options for various roofing products were shared and prices were clearly stated. Workers were on time and extremely competent. The job foreman was very responsive and kept us informed as to job progress. Baker Roofing only required payment when the job was satisfactorily completed. We would definitely use their services in the future.

Category roofing

5.0

08/17/2015


Nancy G.

The estimator appeared on time and was professional. He climbed on the roof and checked out the roof and skylights, flashing, etc. He then prepared a detailed quote, including the materials, their process, crew policies, warranties,etc. He responded to all of my questions. I chose another provider - actually two providers. One for the skylights and another roofer that he recommended. I decided I wanted someone whose business was skylights - I think Baker would have done an excellent job as well and certainly would recommend that anyone interested in a roof request that they give an estimate.

Description of Work
Came out, got on roof, estimated replacing the roof and skylights.

Category roofing, skylights

3.0

04/30/2015


Shirley A B.

Description of Work
They installed a roof on a utility shop and did a great job. They performed work as a subcontractor for a roof repair that was not satisfactory. It is unclear to me as to whether the contractor or Baker was responsible, but the issue was a misunderstanding between the two companies.

Category roofing

2.0

02/14/2015


Keata R.

I live in a double wide mobile home and was looking to get a quote on metal roofing. This would have been my 3rd estimate and needed to make a decision. He came out to my house and spoke with my husband and gave him some ridiculous price before he every stepped one foot on my roof. He emailed my husband a proposal and I could not believe what the amount to do a 1300 square foot home. Standard shingled roof was $5300, Metal roof was $15000.00!! Really, are you kidding me that says to me "I DON'T WANT YOUR BUSINESS BECAUSE YOUR TO SMALL"... I would be very careful if you are looking for a reasonable quote for a roof.

Description of Work
I called this roofing company because they were on this website and offered $300.00 off of any roofing that was purchased. An estimator came to my house

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

{removed member name} I really hate to hear that you had such a negative experience with Baker Roofing. Please know that we have been installing metal roofs since 1915. Metal roofing is one of the more expensive roofing products that you can put on your home. We do tend to be on the expensive side when it comes to metal roofing but feel as though our end product will be the last roof that you will ever have installed. I sincerely apologize if you were made to feel as though your job was too small. Please know that every customer is important to us. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly. Bill Collins Director of Residential Sales Baker Roofing Company 919-625-6781

5.0

01/21/2015


Audrey L.

John Frost did a thorough inspection when giving estimate. The very was friendly and efficient. they cleaned up and removed all debris. Tom was readily available for project questions and review of project completion.

Description of Work
Removed old shingles attic vent , gutters, downspouts, replaced shingles, new bathroom vent, vents along eaves, boot on stock gutters and downspouts, add new gutters and downspouts where needed.

Category gutter repair

5.0

12/26/2014


Chad B.

I first took note of Baker Roofing when I saw their slogan on their trucks. Then when I saw the positive reviews on here I was convinced Baker Roofing would be one of the companies that I would have quote me for the repairs I needed. I had three reputable companies quote for this job. They were all very friendly, but I felt Baker Roofing was the most professional. The other companies would only quote me to do a bandaid job on my roof, even though they admitted it wasn't the proper way. Baker Roofing was the only company willing to put in the time to do the repairs correctly. I received the quote within 24 hours and everything was clear. The team from Baker Roofing showed up on time and completed the work over a two-day period. At the end of each day they cleaned up debris from my yard and did a sweep with magnets to ensure no nails were left behind for my dog to eat. I inspected the work that they completed and from everything I can tell it is flawless. I inspected the new sheeting from inside my attic and everything looked great. The new shingles match my existing shingles very well. I've used three different roofing companies for different maintenance items over the 15 years in my home. Baker Roofing is the company I will use for all work going forward. I highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Replaced about 1 foot of roof sheeting on each side of ridge, there was about a 2 inch strip of sheeting before along the ridge as it had been done improperly when my home was built. They put new tar paper, shingles and ridge cap.

Category roofing

5.0

11/10/2014


Geoff D.

The work was fantastic! They were very diligent with communication, and they had actually got to us a couple of weeks before they were scheduled. They did the entire job within two days, and our roof is very steep, which was very impressive. Their most impressive thing was how clean and detail oriented they were. One of their supervisors came and made a visit a week after job was complete, just to confirm satisfaction, and spent time answering any questions, along with reviewing composition instructions. Overall, job very well done!

Description of Work
Replaced some of the roof decking that were rotting and also also replaced all shingles and flashing.

Category roofing

5.0

09/24/2014


Adam H.

It was very difficult for me to find a company to work on our tile roof. I called three or four others and Baker was the only one who even agreed to come give an estimate. It took about a month for them to schedule and complete the work, but it was done well. The price seemed a little high, but perhaps they simply understand both economics and how hard it is to find people to work on tile roofs.

Description of Work
Inspected all of our clay tile roof, installed around 6 new tiles from our existing supply of replacement tiles, and caulked a few places.

Category roofing

4.0

06/18/2014


Lori A D.

Description of Work
Did not set up a time. I already had someone coming out.

Category roofing

4.0

05/11/2014


PATRICK M.

Requested an estimate for a standing seam metal roof. Received one email asking for the address. Replied to email and no one every called me back to schedule and appointment. UPDATE! After initially posting a review of Baker Roofing they did call me to apologize for slipping through the cracks. The gentlemen scheduled a time and did come out and measure and provided a quote while on-site. I have since update the grade to a B. The price was the seconded highest that I received. I also gave a B on Professionalism as the quote was ambiguous. It included replacing the two roof fans but also stated further in the quote that the fans would be removed and a vent cap would be installed on the roof. Part of the quote also had another homeowners name on it.

Description of Work
Requested an estimate for a standing seam metal roof. Received one email asking for the address. Replied to email and no one every called me back to schedule and appointment. UPDATE! After initially posting a review of Baker Roofing they did call me to apologize for slipping through the cracks. The gentlemen scheduled a time and did come out and measure and provided a quote while on-site.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Dear Angie's List Member, I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your initial experience with Baker Roofing. The Baker Residential team always strives for excellent customer service and we most certainly failed you. On behalf of everyone at Baker Residential I would like to sincerely apologize. I can't thank you enough for allowing Baker Residential a second chance to earn your trust. Respectfully, Judia Holton Lead Coordinator Baker Residential 919-256-4888

5.0

12/03/2013


Patti H.

They were punctual; did a thorough evaluation of the roof leak area. They were efficient and neat and the roof leak problem was solved. There were substantial rain events after the repair with no problems. They also went into great detail with me on what they were going to do to effect a solution and why.

Description of Work
Repaired my residential roof.

Category roofing

3.0

10/22/2013


Matthew F.

Baker Roofing is an excellent company with a great reputation, but in this situation I was reluctant to contract with them. I went with another roofing company and was extremely satisfied.

Description of Work
I needed a quote for a new roof so I went on the website and filled in the blanks. A week later I called the office and they told me that John Frost would be calling to set up an appt. to provide a quote. A WEEK LATER I called him and he said that he could be here in a few days - he had been busy with the home show in GSO and I asked him when the office told him I had called and he didn't know. After I got the estimate and found out the job would start in 3-4 weeks my confidence in this company vaporized.

Category roofing

3.0

10/03/2013


Kelly P.

Initially, I was extremely pleased with the gentleman that my husband and I met with. He was knowledgeable, professional, and prompt. We were very excited about working with the company. However, after a few e-mails were sent and we finalized the details, he just stopped responding. We were right at the point where we were going to schedule the date of the work and I didn't hear anything from him for a week. I sent another e-mail and another 2 weeks went by. I called the company and they reassigned us to another representative, so I don't know what happened to the last one. More time went by and they were finally able to schedule the work to be completed. My husband and I took off of work so that we could be there and the evening before they were supposed to come they sent us an e-mail saying that they wouldn't be able to make it and that they would have to reschedule. Finally, the second time they did come out and complete the work. They did a great job with the soffit and I really did like everyone that I met but I was extremely disappointed with the lack of communicaiton and getting shifted around so many times. The communication problems resulted in the project taking about 6 weeks longer to complete than expected.

Description of Work
They replaced the soffit on our home.

Category roofing

5.0

11/13/2012


Lynn P.

Description of Work
We contacted Baker Roofing after reading excellent reviews on Angie's List. My company has a 20,000 ft. manufacturing plant with a metal roof that was leaking in several areas. Bobby with Baker Roof came out and examined the roof, gave me a detailed written quote with pictures of exactly what he planned to do. Everything they promised in their quote was done with the utmost professionalism and on time ! Metal roofs are very difficult to repair, and we discovered a couple of screws that were missing and still caused a slight leak. I contacted Bobby, and without hesitation, he sent out a crew to make the necessary repairs without any additional charge. This is the first review I have every written on any product or service. I had to write about Baker Roofing because of their outstanding customer service ! I highly recommend Baker Roofing for any roofing jobs. They are top notch, and I plan on giving them a call for my home roof when the time comes for replacing it. Lynn Wager Powers Robert H Wager Company Inc.

Category roofing

3.0

10/25/2012


David K.

Called and made an appointment to look at our roof. They never showed or called. A company VP called to investigate and apologize after seeing the review and seem genuniely concerned. The previous review has been revised.

Description of Work
Called for estimate.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Dear Angie's List Member, I greatly appreciate you taking time to speak with me this afternoon regarding our failure to meet with you for the appointment. We sincerely apologize and realize this must have been quite frustrating for you. We also understand that you could have called upon any number of companies to provide service; a fact that we take very seriously. We are currently investigating to determine how this failure occured so that we can provide the competent, focused service our customers deserve. We greatly appreciate you taking time to provide valuable feedback and assure you that we will take it to heart and make the very best use of it. Sincerely, Keith Gregory Vice President Residential Division Baker Roofing Company

5.0

08/21/2009


Shannon W.

They did an excellent job. I have a pool and numerous vegetable and ornamental plants and they protected them and made sure everything was cleaned up afterwards. I have yet to find one nail, even a month later. It took an extra half of a day to complete the job as they were just short on materials, but they came back and got it done and took care of everything I pointed out. They are not the cheapest company, but they really take pride in their work.

Description of Work
They replaced my roof and 2 skylights and put in a ridge vent. The roof was replaced with architectural shingles.

Category roofing

5.0

05/22/2009


Robin L.

Bill (the salesman) scheduled an appointment with me to meet with his project manager Brad. This was to measure the roof for ordering the metal sheets. While they were here, I was explaining to Brad how bad the heat has been upstairs and that I was going with the metal for its heat reflectivity. Brad wanted to inspect my attic. He found that there was no ventilation in the attic, so heat could just collect up there and heat the house. We discussed my options, and Brad ballparked what he said was a high cost figure for adding ventilation. I agreed - so the original estimate Bill had given me was raised by a possible $2500, which they made clear they would not be able to solidify until they actually tore into the roof to see the situation (not much is visible from the attic area). The original estimate was $11,646, which included peak ventilation. They were going to add soffit vents and baffles to open the ventilation, which required replacing the roofing plywood. Brad figured they'd have to replace every piece of plywood they needed to lift to gain access to the attic space. I agreed, and we set a date for the work to begin. We had a lot of rain, so the start date was delayed a bit, but finally the metal was delivered and the crew came and began work. I was impressed by the crew - they were very professional, worked hard, took very few breaks, took care for safety, and cleaned up after themselves. They came early and stayed late. The roof was quickly done and looks great and does not leak, which is expected, and upstairs is much cooler, as I'd hoped. This should reduce my electrical bills a lot. Since the work was completed I have not found any nails around, or other litter, either - they cleaned up very carefully. I was particularly impressed with the way with any question, Brad presented my options and explained pros and cons, then left it up to me to make the decisions. I was also impressed with the care they took in getting it right. A couple of weeks after the work was complete, when Brad brought the final invoice, he explained that he tried to treat each roof as though his family was going to live in that house under that roof. It showed. I would recommend this company to anyone needing a new roof. The only improvement I could wish for would be slightly better communications. When the start was delayed for more than a week, an email during that week would have been nice, explaining that rain had held up the finish of the previous job. Final cost only $1727 more than estimate, tho they replaced the skylight, too, which we did not expect. This was less than the possible $2500 Brad had named, primarily because his crew was very careful in removing the plywood and managed to save most of it. We did have to replace 18 sheets due to rot or damage.

Description of Work
I needed to replace my aged roof and hoped that the new roof could help with the excessive heat in the upstairs of my house. I requested 4 estimates, threw out 2 (one no response, 1 way too high) and finally decided on Baker because of their responses to my questions. They just seemed more experienced than the other contractor. I replaced my asphalt shingle roof with metal raised-ridge roofing. I selected the unpainted Galvalume since it has the highest heat reflectivity.

Category roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Gregs Gutter Service

    We are a company that is locally owned with a strong commitment to customer service. We do not believe in overselling to our neighbors and believe that quality is the most important thing we have to offer. Greg has been in this business for more than ten years and has lived in this area for all of his life. It is very important that his customers feel that he can be reached at all times for questions or problems. Greg is known by co-workers and his spouse to be a perfectionist. This contributes to his skill at this job, and as customers, you can be assured he will get the job done correctly.  

    North Carolina Gutters Company

    We offer quality gutter services at an affordable price. Contact us about an estimate!  

    Offers by North Carolina Gutters Company on Angi
    Southern Builders of Alamance  Inc

    Southern Builders of Alamance Inc has been in business since 2001 and have been growing strong ever since. We design and build unique and affordable decks, screen porches, and other custom outdoor living spaces. We are dedicated to using only superior materials, construction techniques, and craftsmanship. From concept planning through completion, we will work with you to achieve the best results possible. We want your family and friends to enjoy and share experiences that an outdoor living space provides. Throughout the process , from the first consultation to the completion of your project, We strive to provide you with the highest level of professionalism ,reliability ,and attention to detail possible. All too often we find ourselves in a situation out of our control when we are forced to deal with incompetence and unsatisfactory conditions. Competence is a valued trait and should not be taken for granted among service providers. It is a personal goal for us to leave each customer with the feeling of satisfaction that will carry on to their friends and family. The best advertisement is a satisfied client willing to spread the good word . We encourage you to speak with some of our past customers and will gladly provide references upon request. When you have chosen Southern Builders of Alamance Inc for your project a written contract will be drafted. This will show our 5 year guaranty on our workmanship along with a detailed description of your project and pay schedule as pertains to it.  

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Licensed
    Trade License Number
    5812
    Trade License Locale
    NC, SC
    Trade License Authority
    NC, SC
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, Visa, Check, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Roofing, metal, wood, shingles, tile, slate, synthetic slate, membrane & built-up and green roofing systems, gutters-standard and specialty, siding, windows and doors, solar hot water, heating and power-generating systems & wind turbines.

    Services Not Offered

    n/a

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Baker Roofing Co

    How is Baker Roofing Co overall rated?

    Baker Roofing Co is currently rated 4.7 overall out of 5.

    What days are Baker Roofing Co open?

    Baker Roofing Co is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Baker Roofing Co provide

    Baker Roofing Co accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, Visa, Check, Financing Available

    Does Baker Roofing Co offer free estimates?

    Yes, Baker Roofing Co offers free project estimates.

    Does Baker Roofing Co offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Baker Roofing Co offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Baker Roofing Co offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Baker Roofing Co offers a 5% senior discount.

    Does Baker Roofing Co offer emergency services?

    Yes, Baker Roofing Co offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Baker Roofing Co?

    Yes, Baker Roofing Co offers warranties.

    What services does Baker Roofing Co offer?

    Baker Roofing Co offers the following services: Roofing, metal, wood, shingles, tile, slate, synthetic slate, membrane & built-up and green roofing systems, gutters-standard and specialty, siding, windows and doors, solar hot water, heating and power-generating systems & wind turbines.

    Are there any services Baker Roofing Co does not offer?

    n/a