Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Archadeck of Piedmont Triad

Founded 1991 • With Angi since July 2010

3.9

(22) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5587 Garden Village Way C

Greensboro, NC 27410

Description

Archadeck Outdoor Living designs and builds custom outdoor living spaces for our clients. From porches and patios to decks and sunrooms, Archadeck is North America’s leading outdoor space builder....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/02/2017


Ted B.

.

Description of Work
.

Category decks

3.0

07/22/2016


Suzanne S.

Description of Work
"The product looks nice. Getting there was painful. It was not turn key. The wood they use is not 1st grade, actually worst I have ever seen. The contractor they used was skilled but had no common since on when to use a board or reject it. It took a gread deal of my time to check behind them and make sure it was ok. The owner did everything he could to make me happy, minus using good wood. I should not have had to have him out twice, nor clean up and check behind his contractors work | | "

Category decks

5.0

11/18/2015


Bruce G.

.

Description of Work
.

Category sunrooms

1.0

01/24/2015


Cynthia K.

After the work was completed and paid for, I called John and told him that the pergola was swaying in the wind and that some of the railing was separating. He sent someone to fix it. Several months later I called about the same problem and John told me that "we accepted the job as it was and that was the end of our guarantee". We have repaired the railings several time since it was just nailed together with small, thin carpenter nails. We are now tearing it all down since it is falling apart. Also, the composite material, that we used based on John's recommendation and paid so much extra money for, is poor quality, stains very easily and the screws are falling out of the decking floor.

Description of Work
Built on to existing new deck, building pergola, building step and seats using composite decking material and wood.

Category decks, sunrooms

3.0

08/22/2014


Wayne C.

project started 10 days late. very little communication provided by Archadeck. subcontractor assigned to perform work was very courteous and competent but not particularly punctual. half of windows did not arrive with delivery so were reordered - another 2 week delay. finally finished and a leak developed at the storm door. Archadeck attempted twice to seal leak and finally decided that the gutter above the door was the problem and they did not install gutter so - not their problem, even though they did install the door. interior caulking almost non-existent and finish details are a bit rough. a project that was supposed to start 6/9/14 and be finished around 7/4/14 finally started on 6/19/14 ( after much complaining) and finished 8/21/14.

Description of Work
convert screened porch into 3 season sun room

Category sunrooms

3.0

04/22/2014


John L.

Description of Work
In process. Work has not begun.

Category sunrooms

5.0

09/18/2013


John L.

I was amazed at how nice it looks. The detail work really cleaned it up. I would use them again.

Description of Work
I had them come out and rebuild my deck.

Category decks

2.0

09/13/2013


Robert B.

Archadeck of Piedmont Triad (the Contractor) had built three decks in our neighborhood and was well recommended. However, work is done by one of several teams of sub-contractors that work with the Contractor. Maybe different teams built the other decks. Our project, a screened in room over an existing deck, was handled by Mike Mann (the sub-contractor) and his assistant Matt. Matt was incredibly hard working. If you have read Fine Homebuilding or other sources on how decks should be build, this is different. The construction is much cruder and many of the recommendations are not followed. The approach seems to have been to minimize all costs once the price was agreed. This includes the miscellaneous sub-contractors (electrical, painting, roofing) some of whom were unimpressive and either unskilled or uncaring about their work. First problem: The plans that were drawn up were not followed. The stairs blocked a window that should have had a clear view and ended at the edge of the patio, rather than leaving room for a landing. When I discovered this, excuses were made and “it is too late to change”. Rather than discuss changes from the plans with the owner, the sub-contractor simply went ahead and did what he thought best, or easiest. I suspect he did not even have a copy of the plans at the site. There are lots of decisions that have to be made along the way that affect the outcome of a project like this. Unfortunately, the sub-contractor’s taste and judgment differ from the owners. You want to find a sub-contractor that respects an owner’s participation. This one does not. Second problem: I did not know about wood grades, so the contract did not specify these. The result was that we got the lowest grade of wood, full of knots. It was not dry or pressure treated. Inside, this is not too bad as we covered the floor with rugs. But beware. It does not look like the pretty pictures the Contractor showed us. Screw holes are much more prominent than the pictures show, perhaps because of the fasteners used. The lumber used for outside stairs and handrails has developed cracks and warps within a few months. The biggest problem: The design created new gabled roof over the deck adjoining another gabled roof over part of the house (think of a big inverted W). This design was supposedly approved by Archadeck’s “engineers”. This construction resulted in a large “V” between the two ridges. This was filled with a sloping triangular section. The result was that all the rainwater falling in the area between the two gables was directed to a single point at the edge of the building. Bad idea. Then the structure built to catch the runoff was too small and too low. The result is that in a moderate or heavy downpour, the rainwater shoots over the gutter and falls 25 feet into a flowerbed, where it is digging a hole and undermining the patio. Here is where the Contractor completely failed. Communications with the Contractor, never good once payment was made, have ceased. Neither phone calls nor emails are answered. The sub-Contractor has no interest in doing a proper job of fixing problems. I do not know if the Contractor has any control over the sub-contractor, but it is clear that neither of them is interested in having a satisfied customer. Archadeck headquarters did not respond to my inquiry concerning the “warrantee” they provided. I do not know if Archadeck of the Piedmont Triad is better or worse than other contractors. Overall, while we love our enclosed deck, this has been an unpleasant experience and promises to continue to be so. We are going to have to put more money into fixing shoddy work and materials. Whatever general contractor you hire, get independent recommendations of the specific sub-contractors, and chose one that has done a good job and has had good relations with the owner. Be careful about the miscellaneous sub-contractors as well. Make sure they a reputable. Find people who take pride in their work.

Description of Work
Cut back and refloored an existing uncovered deck, installed new stairs, enclosed deck with roof and and installed sliding windows.

Category decks

1.0

05/07/2013


Carolyn A S.

he proceeded to tell me that the weather made their business slow. MMMM might be the attitude projected. I would NEVER have this person do a job, he was rude, condescending. He would not even answer the questions. I dismissed him; he was not worth the time or the use of my own precious resource my voice. Caroline Smith

Description of Work
I found John Mallard to be condescending; and rude during the interview process. I had scheduled a review of the area and he had a book showing Million dollar homes they did. I lived in a house before; I did all my own work; I now live in a town home. I put in my own Deck, an extended patio, 3 levels of retaining level gardens; 39 to be exact. A rose garden, a walkway, steps up the slope in my backyard. Because I am handicapped with a voice problem; does not equal stupid. Apparently John thought so. At least this is the impression he projected. He would not answer the questions I had on my interview list. I will say, he was prompt; he did come at the right time for the most part. However after looking at his book; I asked him why they would want to do a small town home like this; well

Category sunrooms

Service Provider Response

Dear [member name removed], thank you for providing feedback with your thoughts about our visit. It is our goal to serve every one of our Piedmont Triad customers with the quality, craftsmanship, and service level that we have been providing for over 20 years in this market. In the past 22 years, Archadeck of Piedmont Triad has weathered 2 recessions. We have customers from 20 years ago that have come back to us 3 & 4 times with more work. We’ve built everything from an outdoor cat playground to large decks and porches. We appreciate those and everything in between. Please accept our apology that we didn’t make you feel that we appreciated the opportunity to work with you. Kind Regards, John Mallard – owner, Archadeck of Piedmont Triad

1.0

03/23/2013


Carolyn R.

The experience wasn't the best. They didn't put the wood up that was supposed to be installed, and then they made the hole to big for the gutter. The second crew that did come in did a good job though, and they did tell me that they fired the first crew and stopped a job to bring in there replacements.

Description of Work
They installed a new deck for me.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Hi [member name removed], As the owner of Archadeck of Piedmont Triad, I want to thank you for taking the time to let us know your concerns about your experience. We've been building decks here in the Piedmont Triad for over 20 years and we wish that all the crews we hire would be top notch. Please accept our apologies that we had to replace the crew working on your project. Your business, your concerns, and your feedback are very important to us. Thank you for sharing. Sincerely, John Mallard - Owner, Archadeck of Piedmont Triad

4.0

02/25/2013


Tom H.

My expectation with their work was not met and their service was very pricey. But I would still use them in the future and be prepared to negotiate with them.

Description of Work
We used Archadeck for roof installation on our patio.

Category sunrooms

5.0

10/17/2012


James G.

Cost was high

Description of Work
Estimate only

Category decks, sunrooms

5.0

03/28/2012


Charles A.

.The project manager came out first and helped us decide what design would be the best for our area. Then the main carpenter that came out he was very neat and very polite. I hardly knew he was hear except for the noise tht was made while he was building. All and all it was a great job. The manager came by every few days to check on the job. Its been great and we love it.

Description of Work
.We used Archadeck to have our deck out back built.

Category decks, sunrooms

Service Provider Response

Thank you [member name removed]. It was a pleasure working for you!

4.0

02/20/2012


BARBARA L.

I am very happy with the finished product. It looks excellent. I might use them again but it would depend on the price.

Description of Work
I used Archadeck to build a three season room.

Category remodeling, sunrooms

5.0

06/29/2007


GLENDA W.

This company deserves all A's. There is no question. They are not the cheapest company you will find in this area. They are certainly the best. I love what they built for me and now have the luxury of enjoying the beautiful area on a daily basis.

Description of Work
This company built a rather large porch and deck made of wood off the back of my maybe 2000 square foot home. The wood is wrapped in aluminum and it is attached to the underneath part of my roof.

Category decks

5.0

04/30/2007


KATHLEEN F.

It went very well. I really liked the carpenters that they sent out. They tried hard to do what you asked them to do, and cleaned up well after themselves. They also tried not to do much damage to plants or lawn.

Description of Work
They replaced the posts on my screened porch, replaced some of the floor, put plywood under the floor, replaced my steps, installed Eze-Breeze windows that I can move up and down to keep my porch clean and dry, and installed a new door that I provided.

Category concrete repair, decks, flooring contractor, replacement windows, doors

5.0

02/14/2007


JOHN F.

We are very pleased with all aspects of the work performed and the beautiful results they gave us. The service people were all courteous. Their price was fair especially considering the quality of the materials and the work that they did. I do not wish to discuss the price but we had shopped around and it was fair.

Description of Work
Archadeck enclosed our existing 16 x 28 square foot porch. They created a screen/sun room area.

Category decks

1.0

02/14/2007

What an experience I must say. The deck is not very nice at all. The wood is seeping up sap and some of the boards are even green. It is disgusting. The workers were not very nice at all. Even the owner was not very satisfying in my eyes. The quality was OK, but for what I paid, it should have been better. Another thing, the project was supposed to take three days and it ended up taking a month, which was not thrilling either. When they came to fix some things, they only fixed one board. I guess I am not very enthused with them at all.

Description of Work
Archadeck build a fairly large sized wooden deck off of my two story home. My back yard actually goes out and kind of slopes down. The deck was built in a particular way so that it was made even with the yard. Its kind of hard to explain; it is really nothing special.

Category decks

4.0

02/14/2007


Frank H.

I was very happy with the service. The room is very nice. They had the project completed by the time promised. The workers were friendly and easy to work with. They did a good job. I would recommend them to others.

Description of Work
Archadeck of the Piedmont Triad built a sun room on my existing deck. The room is 12x14 feet and has about 16 windows and a sliding door to the outside. They put lighting outside. Siding was also put on the sun room to match our home.

Category sunrooms

5.0

02/14/2007


KATHERINE G.

The deck looks wonderful. I was surprised at how large it was when it was done. You can actually fit two tables and a grill and still have room left over on it. I did have a small problem with the plastic part of the pergola but they came out promptly and took care of it.

Description of Work
I am not sure of the size but I had a large wooden deck built with a wood pergola roof that has a layer of clear plastic to keep the rain out.

Category decks

5.0

01/31/2007


ROBERT D.

Larry returned call promptly and arrived on time. Lengthly consultation four our likes/dislikes, terrain, etc. Larry worked up sketch and altered it until it was what we wanted. Job was quoted on basis of sketch and we accepted. Some days later drawings arrived from their office. They arranged all the permits and utilities inspections. We were given a start date and this was held up for a week with inclement weather. I consider this an uncontrollable delay. Once the job started we were never really sure when or if the carpenters were going to turn up but in the end it didn't really matter as the job was completely finished on schedule. Representatives from the company visited the site as the work was in progress to insure all was well. The completion and full clean-up occurred on the same day.

Description of Work
Stripped decking from old deck. Used piers and joists from old deck and added to them. More than doubled the size to about 16 X 20 feet. They designed a free-form deck with wide steps for better view while sitting. Design included a pentagon shaped area ideal for table and chairs. Lattice around and access gate for storage area under deck.

Category decks

5.0

08/07/2006

THEIR DESIGN WORK IS VERY INNOVATIVE. THEY DID AN EXCELLENT JOB. I THOUGHT THEY WERE VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE IN THEIR FIELDS. I WOULD RECOMMEND THEIR SERVICES.

Description of Work
THEY BUILT A CAR PORT AND A DECK.

Category decks

    Other local Pros in your area

    Zen Windows Carolina LLC

    At Zen Windows, we think that finding replacement windows and doors for your home should be a simple, pleasant experience. Our team works closely with you via e-mail and phone to help shape the improvements you envision without ever having a salesperson visit your home. Zen Windows sets our clients at ease with our "No Down Payment Policy". All projects are completed before any money is paid to us. We offer a fully-transferable lifetime warranty on both the labor and material of your windows and doors.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Zen Windows Carolina LLC on Angi
    Regional Foundation & Crawl Space Repair

    Regional Foundation & Crawl Space Repair isn't your typical company of contractors, but we make the search for a responsible and trustworthy contractor rather easy. We're a member of the internationally renowned Basement Systems, Inc. basement waterproofing network, where you'll find a network of dealers devoted to the important guidelines of respect, integrity and responsibility. We want to meet your needs and wherever possible, we even want to exceed your expectations! Additional phones - (800) 536-6260, (919) 605-4110, (919) 982-1239, (919) 422-3206.  

    Precise Flooring

    As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Decks, sun rooms, pergolas, screened porches, open porches, arbors, trellises, paver patios, fire pits, outdoor kitchens & fireplaces.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Archadeck of Piedmont Triad

    How is Archadeck of Piedmont Triad overall rated?

    Archadeck of Piedmont Triad is currently rated 3.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Archadeck of Piedmont Triad open?

    Archadeck of Piedmont Triad is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    What payment options does Archadeck of Piedmont Triad provide

    Archadeck of Piedmont Triad accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available

    Does Archadeck of Piedmont Triad offer free estimates?

    Yes, Archadeck of Piedmont Triad offers free project estimates.

    Does Archadeck of Piedmont Triad offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Archadeck of Piedmont Triad does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Archadeck of Piedmont Triad offer a senior discount?

    No, Archadeck of Piedmont Triad does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Archadeck of Piedmont Triad?

    Yes, Archadeck of Piedmont Triad offers warranties.

    What services does Archadeck of Piedmont Triad offer?

    Archadeck of Piedmont Triad offers the following services: Decks, sun rooms, pergolas, screened porches, open porches, arbors, trellises, paver patios, fire pits, outdoor kitchens & fireplaces.