Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Alert Construction Remodeling & Repair Inc

Founded 1995 • With Angi since June 2007

3.5

(12) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

1206 E Wendover Ave

Greensboro, NC 27405

Description

Alert Construction Remodeling and Repair is a family owned business. We do everything from small repairs to remodeling, to new construction. We are a NC Licensed General Contractor. We have a full 30+ man roofing division. We do insurance disaster restoration and repair work. We are a Master Elite

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

04/21/2022


Tracey S.

Alert has worked for me hundreds of times and they are always quick to respond and do a great job! Julie in the office is great, and she will get you a written quote within 48 hours. As a Realtor, and using them on my personal home and rentals...they can do it all! They replaced the roof on my rental property in Greensboro, and did a wonderful job.

Description of Work
Repair work

Category remodeling, roofing, pressure washing

1.0

03/28/2018


blake B.

so alert construction was hire by April McCullom of Keller Williams realty for the sellers of this resident(fresh start empire) we purchased. first off April denied that any permits were needed when ed of alert construction moved a load bearing wall to open the space up. during our negotiations we made them pull permits for building electrical and plumbing. this work was all done without permits to begin with and if i had not known better they would have never been pulled. so lets start with ed of alert trying to lie and say no permits were needed until proven wrong not to mention illegal. lets talk about quality of work. after the plumbing inspector made them remove mud pan for the shower it was proven they never waterproofed or seemed taped any of the cement board like the manufacture recommendations for installation. also already the wall he opened up the joints are already opening up. ed also was caught in lie with the electrical grounding rods. fixing them and than denying he did even though it was on our due diligence period because once again did work without a permit. than he goes on to the city website and talks bad about his client client saying he is a pain in the ***.

Description of Work
buying from seller

Category contractors, decks, drywall, electrician, handyman service, lighting, plumbing, home builders, woodworking, home remodeling

2.0

09/29/2015


lee C.

Alert contracted by home warranty company to repair three roughly 12"x12" holes in ceiling. Alert showed up three weeks after claim filed.Two workers spent 2 days doing patch and finisheed job had blisters, loose tape and rough surface - not adequate for painting

Description of Work
ceiling drywall repair from water leak

Category decks, drywall

5.0

04/16/2015


Elise I.

I had water damage to my plaster walls and sheetrock ceiling in my bathroom from a roof leak in my bathroom. Since my house is over 90 years old, there was also no exhaust fan in the bathroom. The guys from Alert Home Repair did a great job installing the fan and repairing the plaster and replacing the sheetrock. I'm used to waiting a couple of weeks to schedule a job, but they were able to schedule the contractors within 24 hours. I was so pleasantly surprised by that. Even though it was a small repair, they were super-careful and professional, and took extra time to go over the process with me (since I am nosy and ask a lot of questions). I have another small repair pending for which I will definitely seek their help. Thanks for a job well-done.

Description of Work
Vent fan installed in bathroom; water damage to drywall and plaster repaired, molding repaired.

Category decks, drywall, handyman service, roofing

3.0

12/18/2014


Jon S.

Description of Work
They built a sunroom on the back of our home. After lots of bargaining, they reduced their original price by a huge amount. The ultimate quality seems to be good, but there were numerous delays - stretching out over several months - in getting the work done, apparently due to a change in personnel and disorganization. Change in personnel seems to be the norm with this company, as the people who served us and guaranteed certain follow-up measures - lli8ke refilling screen doors for free - are no longer there, and the new people will not honor their promises. They also no longer represent the national sunroom company, and there is no longer anyone local who does, so we cannot get assistance with other problems that should be under warrantee.

Category decks, doors

4.0

06/26/2013


Jonell H.

They had some rough spots as this was the first time they had installed this particular sun room so there was quite a bit of a learning curve involved from sales through implementation. We had been told by the salesman that it would be less than a week for the installation but it lasted several long weeks. The configuration was incorrect to start with, then the wrong color center beam, ceiling, and roofing were ordered in error so that caused multiple issues and delays. The on site work leader was awesome and worked really hard to make sure everything was completed as it should be. The work started in mid July and continued into August and was finished in September. They worked through some extremely hot days and toughed it out with a great attitude. Communication from the office in Greensboro was frustrating at times but overall the project ended well. We are happy with the final product and have enjoyed it since it was completed.

Description of Work
Built a sunroom on our existing deck

Category sunrooms

1.0

03/25/2013


Don E.

Went by the contractor's location to request information about rebuilding my deck. Made appoint for Bob to come by our house on 2/27 at 2:00 PM. He arrived on time and spent a great deal of time discussion all the options we might choose from. He indicated that he would return to his office and develop quotes for several options and return them by email. No quotes were ever provided, and we have heard nothing from him since 2/27.

Description of Work
No services were performed.

Category decks

1.0

11/03/2011


Ryan J.

Communication was horrible. I first contacted Alert through their website - didn't hear anything back from them. I then called directly, but had to leave a message with a lady there. The contact person didn't return my call. When I did get in contact with him on the phone, he didn't have all of the information I needed, so he said he'd have the appraiser call me the following week. I didn't hear anything & called them back. Then I was told the appraiser was out for a couple of days b/c his wife gave birth. Still didn't hear anything back for another week. Apparently business is so good for Alert that they can throw work opportunities away.

Description of Work
Alert was supposed to replace my dryer exhaust, which ran through the floor of the master bath.

Category handyman service

2.0

11/09/2010


kimberly V.

I had recently acquired 2 small occasional leaks in my home. I specifically called home repair company's as I was not looking for a new roof. When the man arrived , he immediately said your going to need a roof but were just going to get your Home owners Insurance to pay. I told him I was not interested in a new roof just leak repair, he looked around my house and tried to solicit other work assuming i was flipping this house, which I am not.I asked him to just deal with the roof. He went o the roof, took pics measurements etc.Came back and told me the roof had some issues and he was surprised by only 2 leaks. Still NOT addressing the leaks. He then told me he would speak with the owner of the co but thought the only fix was a new roof, he then handed me a stack of company fliers and told me if I got them business I could make some money from them to help pay for my roof. After 6 days I never heard back from them, so I called and after 2 days of back and forth phone calls they could not even give me an accurate estimate because the did not have the measurements in there system. I explained that before I put a roof on my home, I would like the boot replaced on the vent directly above the first leak (Coincidence)?? and the flashing's replaced on the chimney above leak 2 (another coincidence)?? I was then quoted an outrageous amount of money for that service. I asked that a quote be worked up for a roof and mailed to me. That was a week ago and still I have received nothing. The receptionist was as friendly and helpful as she could be , but I feel that this company wasted 2 weeks of my time and was of no help.As well I feel insurance scams are a HUGE dishonesty.They were not interested in problem solving, or starting at the basics at all.

Description of Work
estimate for roof leak repair

Category decks, roofing

Service Provider Response

Dear Displeased Customer: I first want to apologize for our company making you feel your business was invaluable. Please know, that every piece of business is appreciated & valued! I do hope that we can somehow communicate and put some clarity into this situation. I have since looked back on the notes & the inspector we had come out is actually one of our best inspectors. We are always getting high remarks about his helpfulness & friendly personality. I don't exactly know what happened, because actually, this doesn't sound like anything he or anyone else from our company would do. Unfortunately, your roof needs replacing. The roof is in such bad shape that we were actually scared to touch it because we didn't see anyway we could warranty our work. However, even with the shape the roof was in, giving you a price of $1200 was pretty reasonable. Let me explain: Changing out pipe vent boots usually runs $250. You have 3 chimneys and it is more than just re-flashing & caulking them. We actually have to take off the shingles and flashing, then re-flash it, and put back the shingles, and then caulk it. To do one chimney is usually $750. Contrary to how it sounds, it really is a lot of work and liability. Therefore, as you see based on a individual breakdown, $1200 was not too bad. Was this not explained? As far as our communication, I went back into our system to view the communication logs. Our Customer Representative, who talked with you during the whole time, notated every conversation. On 10/26/10 we came out to look at the job. We couldn't respond back for a couple of days because we had to get our senior inspector to review your paper work. On 11/1/10 our Customer Representative called and spoke with you to let you know we would have the report back to you the next day, and why it was taking longer than usual. On 11/2/10, she called again to give you the entire report. Due to our NO HASSLE policy, we gave you a few more days before following back up. On 11/8/10, we gave you a call to see what you wanted us to do. At that point you told us you wanted a estimate for the roof to help with future financial budgeting. On 11/9/10 we put a hard copy of your estimate in the mail. I can't figure out exactly what we have done wrong? I truly am sorry you are upset and wish we could have settled your frustrations before getting this far into it. Please let us know if there is anything we can ever do to help your opinion of us. Sincerely, Alert Management Team
1.0

10/15/2010


TOM L.

Poor customer service.

Description of Work
Roof inspector visited home and was very punctual. He stated that he would turn in his findings to his office and a person from the office would be in touch with me with an estimate for a new roof for my home. I have still not had any contact from this company regarding an estimate/quote.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Dear Customer: I want to first and foremost apologize that your service with Alert Construction was not what you had hoped for. I am upset as well that you were not happy and therefore reflected that to millions of people via a web portal. However, not only has my operations manager and customer relations manager tried reaching out to you, but myself, the owner of Alert Construction. It has been nearly a week and have had zero returned calls. I have reprimanded my employees for their lack of communication in this instance. I would like to reiterate what happened and explain the reason for us taking a few more days than what our 24 hour turn around estimate states. On October 12, 2010, Alert Construction went out to access damages to above stated roof. When our inspector went out and looked at the roof, he found several questionable damages. Due to his findings, the inspector was not sure whether a claim should be filed through insurance or the manufacturer;s warranty. Alert Construction is Haag Certified which means that there is a lot of credibility given to us through the insurance company on our findings. Therefore, sometimes depending on what we find there is additional research needed which can delay our communication to the customer. Employees of Alert Construction should have phoned the customer to let him/her know what was going on and reasons for the delay. However, as stated before on Monday, October 18th there were at least three calls that went out to above stated customer and zero calls have been returned. Once again, I am sorry for the lack of communication on our part and only hope that you will give us another chance to prove our A+ workmanship!
5.0

04/23/2010


El R.

They break down the estimate very well; it's very clear. They're professional and on time. They clean up.

Description of Work
They have done deck work, painted the interior of houses, done vinyl siding, and have done four or five roofs for me.

Category decks, gutter repair, roofing, siding, interior painters

5.0

06/18/2007


JINI Z.

They were friendly and the price was very reasonable. They were on time and I was impressed with everything. They were knowledgeable and were very clean while they were working. I think they are dependable and I am pleased to do business with them. They did a good job.

Description of Work
They installed gutters around our 1200 square foot home. They also put a 12 x 12 deck on the back of our house and installed recessed lighting inside the house.

Category decks, gutter repair, lighting

    Other local Pros in your area

    Sanchez Construction

    Sanchez Construction is committed to excellence in every aspect of our business. We uphold a standard of integrity bound by fairness, honesty, and personal responsibility. Our distinction is the quality of service we bring to our customers. Our crew is dedicated and knowledgeable and we know what it takes to get your job done right. Give us a call or click for an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    K R Painting And Remodeling, LLC

    New local business owner, looking to serve you in your projects and show you the potential of how we can grow with you. 5+ years of experience and continuing with your help we are much appreciated for your business, no job to big no job to small.  

    Angi Certified

    L&M Painting Solutions LLC

    Interior & Exterior Painting Residencial & Commercial Wallpaper Removal Spackling, Skim Coating & Plastering Sheetrock (Drywall) & Plaster Repairs Ceiling Popcorn Removal Exterior Power Washing Staining and polyurethanes Wood Finishes Interior & Exterior (Decks, Fences, etc.)  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Construction, remodeling, home repairs, roofing, siding, windows, window replacement, fire damage repairs, storm damage repairs, roof inspections, water damage repair, insurance repair specialists

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Alert Construction Remodeling & Repair Inc

    How is Alert Construction Remodeling & Repair Inc overall rated?

    Alert Construction Remodeling & Repair Inc is currently rated 3.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Alert Construction Remodeling & Repair Inc open?

    Alert Construction Remodeling & Repair Inc is open:

    Monday: 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Alert Construction Remodeling & Repair Inc provide

    Alert Construction Remodeling & Repair Inc accepts the following forms of payment: MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Visa

    Does Alert Construction Remodeling & Repair Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Alert Construction Remodeling & Repair Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Alert Construction Remodeling & Repair Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Alert Construction Remodeling & Repair Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Alert Construction Remodeling & Repair Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Alert Construction Remodeling & Repair Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Does Alert Construction Remodeling & Repair Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, Alert Construction Remodeling & Repair Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Alert Construction Remodeling & Repair Inc?

    Yes, Alert Construction Remodeling & Repair Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Alert Construction Remodeling & Repair Inc offer?

    Alert Construction Remodeling & Repair Inc offers the following services: Construction, remodeling, home repairs, roofing, siding, windows, window replacement, fire damage repairs, storm damage repairs, roof inspections, water damage repair, insurance repair specialists