Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

AKR Builders

Founded 2000 • With Angi since August 2007

3.9

(40) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3924 S Holden Rd Ste AA

Greensboro, NC 27406

Description

AKR Builders has been accountable to our customers for more than ten years, and completely focused on their satisfaction. That’s why we employ only experienced, qualified, top designers who take the time to truly understand what you want. Full Service Home Improvement Company.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
2.0

05/11/2020


JOSEPH T.

“ A BIG TRAIN WRECK “ VERY POOR WORKMANSHIP!!

Description of Work
NEEDED A ROOFING JOB

Category roofing, home builders

1.0

08/29/2018


Janet B.

My experience with AKR construction and Lowe's ProServices for my deck installation was the worst imaginable experience. AKR began our interactions by lying about filing the permit with the city (and only told the truth once we contacted the city and found out no permit was filed). Then the first attempt at building the deck was not only a completely different design than what we ordered and paid for, but it was also of extremely poor quality (they also cut our internet line and didn't tell us and we work from home). Lowe's and AKR attempted to tell us the design change was due to the it being more structurally stable and we had to refuse to allow work to continue until they came out to see the work. Once they did, they agreed it was of extremely poor quality and had the deck torn off and started again. Then the finished product of the deck was not the dimensions we ordered and was not finished well (splinters and nails everywhere). They also ruined our brand new sod by driving a forklift on it and refused to fix it. If you are looking for a quality deck and customer service, I suggest you look elsewhere.

Description of Work
I went through Lowe's ProServices who contracts through AKR builders for a deck installation on my new house.

Category decks

5.0

02/28/2017


Brian C.

2 men showed up at 7:30 in the morning. They worked until about 1 when I served up some burgers and dogs. They were back to work around 1:30. The job was finished, including clean-up around 5:30 that evening. They were very courteous. They explained each step of the process even though I had prior roofing experience. They asked multiple times if I had any concerns or questions with any part of what they were doing. They went above and beyond my expectations. In this area, I believe code requires 3 nails per shingle. They did 5. The ground around my house, including deck and porch were cleaner when they left than when they arrived. Very happy with AKR Builders. Highly recommended.

Description of Work
Roof Re-shingle

Category roofing

5.0

05/06/2016


Jack S.

A crew of 8 men did all this in approximately 6 hours. They were not rushed, just very experienced and efficient. I watched them all day. They hardly took a break, no lunch. During the the last phases of the job, two guys left the roof and thoroughly cleaned up the surrounding grounds. I found very remaining debris after they left. It was as if a new roof had descended during the day. It looks great, and provides a sense of security, as we've had several days of heavy rain recently, and the previous roof already had weather damage at drip edge.

Description of Work
Tore off old 3-tab roof, repaired wood decking including replacement sections, opened ridge vent, secured new boots on vents, attached new weather stripping at drip edges, new felt, new Owens Corning Oakridge shingles.

Category decks

1.0

05/04/2016


Jennifer F.

They came back a week later on the phone wanting to do a "total rework" to my deck, that was not yet 1 year old. I was in shock. I just had a completely new deck installed the year before that cost more than a fully loaded Honda Accord. I requested work that was mostly labor with very few materials necessary, and they basically said no thanks. They did not want my business. I am happy for them that they have so much business that they can turn customers away. I was also very ANGRY. At the time, they were highly rated from both TREX and Angie's list. To me, both lose credibility. AKR were a total waste of time and if agreed with them for a total rework, would have been a total waste of money. I am doing the work myself. Customers be wary.

Description of Work
Provider did nothing. They showed up for an estimate on securing some Trex floor board on my deck. They asked many irrelevant questions. They hemmed and hawed. They looked under the deck, which was pointless because there is a water system blocking view. I could tell then they were not interested in my request to re-fasten TREX floor boards.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

It is our company policy that we do not repair decks due to the fact it makes us responsible for the work that the other company did. I'm sorry you were not satisfied. I apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused.
5.0

08/12/2015


Scot F.

Excellent. Firstly, the outcomes were just what I expected. Deck is perfect, precisely as planned. Workers were pleasant, neat and extremely attentive to detail. Had some rotted wood on house behind old deck they replaced at no extra cost. The front steps were the same, area left neat when done. It was a stamped, colored concrete that came out beautifully. Archie, my contact with AKR was also very attentive. Checking on progress almost daily, and asking me what I thought. Would definitely use again.

Description of Work
Replaced old deck, replaced old front steps

Category decks, masonry, roofing, woodworking

3.0

08/05/2015


Janice H.

Initial meeting to review my needs and prepare to give the estimate went well. They were punctual and professional. Although some ideas and drawings were sent to me that were helpful It took approximately 3 months to receive the estimate. It was unbelievably high and had little detail. I even had to email back and ask if there was a type with an extra 0. By this time I had already engaged someone and almost started work. They have done an awesome job for a tenth of AKR's estimate. I still can't believe the estimate. It was incredible.

Description of Work
Gave me an estimate to remove 2 load bearing walls, move a doorway, and install a cabinet with a double oven.

Category roofing

4.0

05/08/2015


Matthew T.

The guy who came to give me the quote was friendly and on time. I didn't have them do the service though because I found another contractor to do it for 6K less.

Description of Work
The quote for 18K was for building a two tier deck about 17x14 and putting stamped concrete on an existing 15x17 concrete patio.

Category decks, stamped concrete

2.0

01/19/2015


r.f B.

I was asked to contact AKR a couple weeks before I returned to NC so a date would be ready for install on the windows, which were totally paid for in 2013.. Did that, let them know when I arrived and still had to wait a couple weeks to have anyone do the work. Let me tell you, the men who arrived did a good job structurally, cleaned up but left equipment on my porch for 6 weeks..I called, and emailed the company to no avail. NOONE would get back with me.. The owner wouldn't return voice mails either. Finally after 6 weeks I got in touch with them, only to be told the window ( which was a picture and two highlights) was in but the ''header'' for the picture was ''damaged''.. They had to order a new one. So I waited for a couple weeks.. No contact whatsoever. Finally got in touch with someone at the office and she told me two other headers were ordered and also ''damaged''....REALLY??? REALLY??? Dear Lord, the window company they deal with should be pushed aside and another used!!!! Of course, some contact with the people running this AKR builders would have been a nice thing so I knew what the heck was going on. Well, I was reassured the work would be done in the time I was at my home in NC...That being March 1, 2014 until the end of May 2014 all of the 10 windows and other trim work would be done. .Well, yes, how many months does it actually take a responsible contractor to install 10 windows, trim them inside and out???? Surely not 3 months!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Actually I waited so long for AKR to complete the front picture and highlights (which were in my garage, still factory wrapped0 installed, I finally had to get another contractor .to finish AKR's work so I could return home. How did they know anything was damaged if the picture window wasn't even opened up and checked out?? Now the $3040.00 that I was charged in LABOR ONLY. . . Is still to be paid. I'm attempting to pay this, have sent a check for a portion of this and I had the secretary email me to say they wouldn't cash it because they wanted more. The owner got on the phone and tried to get me to commit to paying either 2 or 3 payments because he already paid his men. I'm doing the what I can to pay him and that's not good enough, but of course I was supposed to be oh, so patient trying to get my work completed over the course of 3 months???? With no contact from them.. Well, if he actually got that amount of money out of the laborers who worked at my home....God bless him!! The install of the windows they did manage to get in was very nice. However, they put white trim in. . .was supposed to be natural, stained. Finally got the white stuff out of the house only to be reassured the natural would be stained by their painter..Still waiting for him to stop over and do that ON THE WALL I MIGHT ADD.!!! Also, the bathroom window was supposed to be obscure glass. It wasn't, so waited so long for that to be ''reordered'' I told them to forget it after 4 or so weeks when it did come in. Here's the thing with this company. You'll hear just what you need to from the person who runs AKR. Take heed, he talks a good game. Of course, after the work he thinks he completed is done, he has the nerve to call and want to know when you're going to pay him for the ''work'' his company did..because he already paid his men. BEWARE IS THE BEST ADVICE I CAN GIVE. GO SOMEWHERE ELSE.!!!

Description of Work
ten windows replaced. Two of which needed to be enlarged..

Category remodeling, roofing, replacement windows, home remodeling

5.0

10/01/2014


Burnes F.

Work completed in one day,all debris cleaned up,windows look fine. I have no complaints.

Description of Work
Replaced 5 windows

Category replacement windows

5.0

03/25/2014


John S.

We went to Lowes Home Improvement to arrange for a new deck to be built. AKR Builders was the contractor used by Lowes. We wanted the reputation of Lowes to rely on to get the job done properly and meet local regulations. We had previously contacted several 'handymen' in the area to give us estimates, and they varied widely not only with cost, but with their methodology. We decided to go with Lowes and AKR Builders. In short, we could not have been more pleased. Each day they cleaned their workarea and kept the noise level down as much as possible. The finished product is a deck we are proud of and love. I would highly recommend AKR Builders and Lowes for that matter.

Description of Work
They tore down our dilapidated old deck and built a new one in under a week.

Category decks

5.0

02/07/2014


Janet C.

They did everything they said they would and during the process made sure they were around several times when I got home from work to make sure I was happy with how the job was progressing. It took a few days longer than anticipated but it was well worth it. After the work was completed they left my yard neat and tidy. We would definitely give them a big thumbs up.

Description of Work
AKR builders installed a composite deck for us.

Category decks

5.0

01/25/2014


Carl R.

They were highly professional and very helpful.

Description of Work
Tore down old deck and built a new one.

Category decks

5.0

01/22/2014


Robin E.

We have had AKR Builders provide services for three different projects in our home. First, they added a sunroom, (which is absolutely beautiful and the most enjoyed room in our home!), then we had them replace our roof, and lastly, remodel our master bathroom. Our sunroom was more beautiful than we could imagine with absolutely no problems. When they replaced our roof, I couldn't believe they were done so quickly and they did an awesome job! (They were recommended to us by a neighbor who had just had their roof replaced by AKR). The clean-up was immaculate and our roof looks great. The last job AKR Builders did for us was remodel our bathroom. I have never seen anyone who could do tile work like this company. There were absolutely no flaws whatsoever. I get so many compliments on my sunroom and bathroom and I am always excited to tell them who did the work for us. Our next project is a kitchen makeover and I will definitely be calling AKR Builders to complete this project. My only regret is that I didn't contact AKR Builders for ALL of our remodeling through the years. We love this company and their work ethic and professionalism is extraordinary! Even if you should get a lower quote through someone else, don't take the chance...let AKR Builders do it right for you the first time. I'm speaking from experience.

Description of Work
Added a sunroom, remodeled our bathroom, and replaced a roof.

Category remodeling, roofing, home remodeling, sunrooms

5.0

01/19/2014


Brenda K.

We re-sided our house in two separate jobs. We went through Lowe's. They were a disaster. Wrong materials, delays, etc. AKR Builders came to us through Lowe's after initial contractor stopped showing up. AKR did an exceptional job. We were 1000% satisfied. They came when they said they would, worked steadily, hard and left us with a siding job we love !

Description of Work
.

Category siding

5.0

11/04/2013


Deborah M.

Over the past 20 years, we have had small remodel improvements to our home. This was our first major remodel. Although, I consider myself an HGTV enthusiast, nothing can really prepare you for the experience of living in your home through a remodel. Depsite what seems to be a common place in this industry of the unexpected and delays, we were pleased with the end result. Special thanks to Gary, our project manger and lead contractor. He was great! I appreciate the challenges of his job, yet he consistently returned my calls, answered my questions and found solutions to problems and concerns. The entire crew was very friendly, professional and polite. I would be remissed not to mention Dave and Brent - excellent craftsmanship. A rainy Spring, meant delays for AKR. Unfortunately, in an effort to meet the demands of all their waiting clients, their staff were really stretched too thin and needed to be in to many places at once. I trust that this is not common practice for them and would definitely consider using them again in the future. Our sunroom is everyone's favorite room in the house. I couldn't be happier with the way this space turned out. I believe you will be making an excellent choice to do business with this company.

Description of Work
Room addition/sunroom.

Category roofing, siding, woodworking, sunrooms

5.0

09/13/2013


gussie K.

They quoted us on the work. We were pleased with their estimate that we are going to use them in the future. They are very friendly and accommodating. We look forward to working with them soon.

Description of Work
We are looking to have old steps removed and a new deck put in.

Category decks, remodeling, woodworking

5.0

09/03/2013


Michele B.

FANTASTIC. Mr. Stacy was very professional. The was on time and focused on the job. Very professional, curtious, and polite. Highly recommend this company. The project was a Lowe's home improvement contract, wish we had know about the and could have skipped the middle man. It was a pleasure to work with this group. We have an older home. After the project was completed our circuit breakers were tripping. AKR sent their inspector, an electriction, to check all the work. He was at our home in only a few hours. He not only inspected AKR's work, he went the extra mile,and inspected the circuit breakers and the panel. He explained the issue, how it s should be fixed and even took the time to make sure the electrical was safe. Very impressed with the professionalism of AKR Builders. Will use this company again.

Description of Work
Installed new siding and gutters.

Category gutter repair, roofing, siding

1.0

08/20/2013


Amy C.

They did a horrible job. they left nails all over my yard. they didn't patch places in my roof. we contracted through lowes hardware. Fortunately the roof doesn't leak but I am still not happy. He called once and they never came back. He sent out a group of spanish speakers but was only on the job once momentarily. They worked very hard but they didn't complete the job properly. I would never recommend them to anyone. I payed so much money and expected not to have substandard work. I tried to mitigate with Lowes but I haven't had the opportunity.

Description of Work
New roof

Category roofing

4.0

08/20/2013


Helga R.

We still have a little dip in the roof from when Sears did the roof years ago but besides that the work was great. They did a nice job shingling around the chimney. Their was a big crew working on the roof, they did the job in one day. They did a 99% good job in cleaning up.

Description of Work
They were sub-contracted through Lowe's to install our roof.

Category roofing

3.0

08/20/2013


JODY M.

They did a good job as far as my roof. However, they weren’t real honest. I asked the supervisor when he arrived if they had English speaking people. He said they have some Spanish speaking workers, but the supervisor would speak English. When they arrived to do the work, it was all Spanish speaking people. The supervisor did speak English, but he was not around very much. I couldn’t communicate with anyone on site about my roof. They did a good job on the roof, but when they finished the work they left a bunch of roofing nails in the grass. I spoke to Lowes about it, but nothing was done about it. They should have been up front with the situation. They should have told me up front that all the workers would be Spanish speaking and the English speaking supervisor would only be there for about 15 minutes twice a day.

Description of Work
They put my roof on. They do contracting for Lowes. Lowes referred them to me.

Category roofing

5.0

08/20/2013


Steve S.

They did excellent work. They were professional and the general manager came out to inspect the work. The first company that did the siding was throwing their trash in my yard, I never had any of these issues with AKR. They respected my property and cleaned up well.

Description of Work
They did siding on the exterior of my house. They had to redo the work that another company did that turned out badly.

Category siding

5.0

08/20/2013


Brian E.

My experience with them was very good. They were professional and thorough. They came out and gave me an estimate prior to doing the work. Everything was done on the time schedule that we agreed to. I was happy with the overall renovation.

Description of Work
They did some renovations due to storm damage on my house. They renovated my bathroom and replaced part of my ceiling that was damaged.

Category drywall, remodeling, home remodeling

5.0

04/24/2013


Jan C.

Although we had some initial issues obtaining the composite materials, AKR kept us informed and made sure that all materials used were of the finest quality. They sent plenty of help each day, and they did an excellent job on the structure and aesthetics of our project. No problems passing inspections. Workmen put in full days and were very personable.

Description of Work
They tore out old deck and installed a new, composite deck with concrete pad underneath. They drew up a new configuration that works great for us. We have received many compliments from our neighbors, many of whom have stopped by just to look at our deck.

Category decks

1.0

11/02/2011


Peggy M.

I requested that the contractors they refer to me speak English and that I would be able to communicate with them in case anything happened. The 2 workmen that came out to my home for the estimate reassured me about what Lowe's said that there would be no communication problems. However the crew that showed up was not as promised. I could not communicate with any of them. The contractor did not come out as promised after the work was done to inspect the job. All I received was a phone call asking if I was happy with the work. I was not impressed with this job or feeling helpless about what was going on with my roof.

Description of Work
re roof through Lowe's

Category roofing

    Other local Pros in your area

    AHC plumbing llc

    We offer quality and affordable plumbing services.  

    Quality Masonry and Concrete

    We are a family owned and operated company who specializes in custom masonry for 20+ years, brick, block, and stone construction, pavers, new construction, masonry repairs, custom outdoor fireplaces, fire pits, patios/porches, foundations, and masonry restoration.  

    Brick Doctor Inc

    We install and repair stone, brick, block on residential and commercial. We specialize in stone, building outdoor fireplaces and outdoor living areas.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Residential, commercial roofing, room additions, renovations, sunrooms, siding (including installation of James Hardie products), gazebos, ramps, walkways, screened porches, & decking.

    Services Not Offered

    ask for details.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about AKR Builders

    How is AKR Builders overall rated?

    AKR Builders is currently rated 3.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are AKR Builders open?

    AKR Builders is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does AKR Builders provide

    AKR Builders accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available

    Does AKR Builders offer free estimates?

    Yes, AKR Builders offers free project estimates.

    Does AKR Builders offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, AKR Builders does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by AKR Builders?

    No, AKR Builders does not offer warranties.

    What services does AKR Builders offer?

    AKR Builders offers the following services: Residential, commercial roofing, room additions, renovations, sunrooms, siding (including installation of James Hardie products), gazebos, ramps, walkways, screened porches, & decking.

    Are there any services AKR Builders does not offer?

    ask for details.