Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Home Improvements by Donna

Founded 2007 • With Angi since December 2013

I am self employed and work with other sub-contractors based on the size of each job. Customers are responsible for material purchases and labor is payable on completion or on a weekly draw depending on the size of the job. Everything is negotiable. Credit cards are accepted but a fee to cover the processing fee is charged. I do not offer financing.

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
No
Senior Discount
no
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

5.0

(16) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-16 of 16 reviews
Brehyan K.
5.0
07/20/2015
unknown
Description of Work
Painting. Donna does great work. She is prompt, responsive, and is an excellent painter. She is a great person overall.
Category
interior painters
Heather H.
5.0
03/20/2015
Donna was very professional and easy to get in touch with. She was flexible in that I had to go out of state for a death in the family and she was willing to come on a different day before I left to get the job done. She paid attention to all the small details and even gave me some recommendations on what color of towel bars I should get. She left my space cleaner than it was before. I have already talked to her about installing some backsplash in the fall. I highly recommend Donna!!!!!
Description of Work
Painted both my master bedroom and master bathroom
Category
interior painters
Brad C.
5.0
02/25/2015
unknown
Category
decks, drywall, handyman service, hardwood floor, interior painters
Carol Ann R.
5.0
02/25/2015
unknown
Description of Work
They painted my stairwell and upstairs hallway. They were professional and worked until the job was done. They were reasonable priced and so pleasant. I have hired them back already to tile my laundry room. Donna is fantastic to work with and communicates regularly on an issue or requirement.
Category
decks, drywall, handyman service, hardwood floor, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review [name removed], it is a pleasure working with you!
Jane P.
5.0
01/30/2015
Donna did a great job. She contacted me immediately after I bought the "deal" and showed up promptly on the agreed-upon date at the agreed-upon time. The quality of the job was excellent and I will definitely call her again.
Description of Work
Painted living room and hallway
Category
interior painters
Jennifer G.
5.0
01/23/2015
I would not hesitate to call on Donna again for painting or other services. She was on time, very professional, cleaned up, didn't paint my windows shut (as other painters had) and did an overall excellent job. The deal I purchased was for one day of painting. At the end of the day we both agreed that the walls could use one more coat (we were going from a deep red to white). Donna offered to come back in the morning and charge a very reasonable hourly rate to finish it up. It looks great!
Description of Work
Painted my dining room - ceilings, walls and trim.
Category
interior painters
Ava L.
5.0
01/03/2015
Wonderful people, honest, hardworking, and (very hard to find) master craftsmen.
Description of Work
Numerous improvements needed recently. Including molding, painting, doors.
Category
interior painters
Brehyan K.
5.0
12/29/2014
Donna arrived on time and finished all that I asked under 8 hours. She did a great job.
Description of Work
She painted our hallway and bonus room. Bonus room included a staircase with tall ceilings.
Category
interior painters
Landell S.
5.0
09/08/2014
Donna arrived promptly at the predetermined time. She and her helper worked until the job was complete. No mess was left and useable lumber put away. No time was wasted! They were great and I will use her again! She can do,it all! I even had her come back and replace light switches and install 4 new lights! She worked until the job was complete....past 8:00 pm!
Description of Work
Replace weak spots in floor and put in a sink
Category
interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thank you for the review (member name removed)... I look forward to working with you (member name removed) in the future :)
Catherine O.
5.0
07/01/2014
Donna was wonderful! She and her brother did all the work. They were timely, friendly and professional. Worked with me before hand to get the best supplies and flooring before install. We chose to pick up wood, tar paper and molding. She guided us on best items to buy. I really appreciate her attention to detail, they took their time to do the work perfectly and cleaned as they went along. Our floor is beautiful and really enhanced our house. Will look to her for future projects!
Description of Work
Provider installed Bamboo Hardwood floors, 600 sq ft.
Category
interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thanks [member name removed]... I appreciate the opportunity and look forward to working with you in the future :) ~Donna
Emmy V.
5.0
05/16/2014
Donna called me back promptly, She and her brother Billy were able to start the job about 2 weeks later. They finished in the time they said they would, and cleaned up well after themselves. The project involved cutting into the existing wall to see what was under the stairs first. When it was established that there were no obstacles to the closet being built, they proceeded to make the cut for the new door. They purchased all of the supplies, and completed the closet, including installing drywall in the space, installing the new door, painting everything, putting a linoleum floor in place, a hanging rod in the closet, and all of the hardware.
Description of Work
Built a utility closet in the void under our attic stairs.
Category
closet systems, drywall, flooring contractor, remodeling, interior painters, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your review [member name removed]!!
MARK H.
5.0
05/07/2014
Excellent service. Donna did a great job. Would absolutely use her again.
Description of Work
Repaired shoebox.
Category
handyman service
Steve R.
5.0
03/22/2014
We've always been impressed by Donna and her brother Billy's workmanship and their strive for perfection, and in contracting them to upgrade our master bathroom we were not disappointed. We asked them to refurbish the entire master bathroom and master closet. Though were were not making any structural changes, we wanted the bathroom to be completely refreshed. We had them strip the popcorn off the ceilings, paint the ceiling / walls / trim, lay tile on the floor (at their suggestion we did it at an angle which is beautiful), had the shower done floor to ceiling with 3 different designs of tile, built a lip around the tup and tiled all around it, replaced 3 light fixtures and upgraded all of our plumbing faucets and toilet. Donna and Billy are extremely hard workers, perfectionists, creative, and just a pleasure to work with on this job. We had some left over glass accent tile so Billy and I worked on a design to use it over the tub wall which really makes the room!
Description of Work
Refurbishing our master bathroom with tile, complete change out of shower, painting and stripping of popcorn off of ceilings, replacement of 3 light fixtures, 3 faucets, and 1 toilet.
Category
custom cabinets, closet systems, remodeling, woodworking, home remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

Thanks [member name removed] ! You are an awesome homeowner to work for. The bathroom turned out amazing, I am so glad you gave us the opportunity to do this job for you. We loved the bonus of being well fed too ;-)
Susan J.
5.0
02/23/2014
Donna, provides excellent service and workmanship. She treats your home the same as she would her own. I highly recommend her to family and friends.
Description of Work
Bathroom remodel. Floors, walls, lighting and new toilet
Category
custom cabinets, flooring contractor, lighting, plumbing, home remodeling
Steve R.
5.0
01/25/2014
Considering the scope of the changes, this was the easiest remodeling effort that I've done. Donna and her team did a fantastic job. This job took 8 weeks, right at the estimate that she gave us. This was a huge scope, with lots of moving pieces (in we had to remove a baby grand piano, coordinate with outside painters, etc..). Donna and her team are truly craftsmen. She expects perfection from her and her team and that's exactly what she provided. Donna's team included Stephanie Muiter (who has since re-located out of state) and Billy her assistant carpenter. The first thing about Donna is that she's EXTREMELY FAIR AND HONEST! I emphasize this because I've found that it's rare in most contractors. They may be fair, and they may not cheat you, but they typically will not point out things that went better than expected and reduce the costs. This was the case in a couple of areas in our work. We added on painting of a bookshelf and after doing it she reduced the price originally charged because it only took one coat and she estimated the labor for two coats. Donna and her team's work ethic is fantastic. Not only was I totally comfortable leaving her and the team in my house by themselves, but when they went to do our master bedroom they helped dismantle our large king size bed and set it up in our family room while they worked on the master bedroom. They worked until 11:00 PM on Friday to make sure it was done and then helped re-set up the bed back in our master so we were only and quot;kicked out of our roomand quot; for one night. I don't know too many contractors that would do that! The end product of the house is fantastic. We couldn't be happier and our friends that now come to the house and see the work jaw just drop. In the coming weeks, Donna and her team will work to re-do our master bathroom (which was out of scope for phase 1 covered in this review).
Description of Work
Donna was hired to do a multitude of work on a major remodel effort in my house. This included 1) Stripping of "popcorn" off of the ceiling and then mudding / painting of the ceiling 2) Hardware upgrade of all doors (inside and outside doors) for new locks, handles, and hinges as we converted from brass to nickel 3) Wall paper removal of 2 bathrooms 4) Interior painting of my entire home (2,500 sq feet) 5) Destruction of hardwood floor / laminate / carpet and replacing with bamboo flooring throughout (approx 1800 sq feet) 6) Replacement of toilet and other miscellaneous plumbing fixtures
Category
flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, wallpaper removal, home remodeling, interior painters, doors
RAY NELL P.
5.0
01/15/2014
The work was EXCELLENT and professional. Always cleaned up at the end of each day. I would not use anyone except Home Improvements by Donna unless it was an emergency and I could not get anyone else. I will wait for them when I need work done. Highly recommend!!
Description of Work
Property #1 We bought a home that was built in 1984 and that was in need of many repairs. Home Imporvements by Donna installed hardwood floors, painted interior and exterior, built steps, removed and replaced rotten wood on exterior of house; did small plumbing job. Property #2: Rental property. They rebuilt steps and deck leading to 2nd level of the home. Renovated a bathroom. Installed exhaust fan, replaced and toilet. Property #3: Repaired dock, built cabinet and installed deep sink on the dock.
Category
custom cabinets, decks, hardwood floor, deck cleaning, pressure washing, woodworking, dock building, home remodeling, interior painters

Phone

Address

5508 Deer Hunter Ct

Garner, NC 27529

Other Information

Services offered

Home Improvements. Interior Work, Trim Installation & Repair, Crown Molding, Wainscoting, Chair Rail. Custom Cabinetry, Hardwood & Laminate Floors, Sub-Floor Repairs, Tile Floors & Back Splashes, Painting, Ceiling Scraping, Wall Paper Removal, & Sheet Rock Repair. Exterior Work, Building, Staining & Painting Decks, Closing In Carports & Porches, Building Sheds, Window & Door Replacement, & Rot Repair. Power-Washing.

Services not offered

Roofing

Payment options

Check
Visa
PayPal

FAQ

Home Improvements by Donna is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

Home Improvements by Donna is open:

Monday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Thursday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Friday: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Home Improvements by Donna accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, PayPal

Yes, Home Improvements by Donna offers free project estimates.

No, Home Improvements by Donna does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, Home Improvements by Donna does not offer a senior discount.

No, Home Improvements by Donna does not offer warranties.

Home Improvements by Donna offers the following services: Home Improvements. Interior Work, Trim Installation & Repair, Crown Molding, Wainscoting, Chair Rail. Custom Cabinetry, Hardwood & Laminate Floors, Sub-Floor Repairs, Tile Floors & Back Splashes, Painting, Ceiling Scraping, Wall Paper Removal, & Sheet Rock Repair. Exterior Work, Building, Staining & Painting Decks, Closing In Carports & Porches, Building Sheds, Window & Door Replacement, & Rot Repair. Power-Washing.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

Maestro Wallpaper and Paint

5.0

(6)

Angi Certified

2022 Super Service Award

Maestro Wallpaper and Paint

Maestro Wallpaper and Painting is locally owned and operated out of Cary, NC. We provide all types of home renovation and painting services and we have over 20 years of experience. We are experts that treat your home with the care it deserves. Please give us a call or click for an estimate!  

PCI Painting

5.0

(3)

Angi Certified

PCI Painting

At PCI Painting, our company is based on the belief that our customers' needs are of the utmost importance. Our team is committed to meeting those needs. We welcome the opportunity to earn your trust and deliver the best service. No job is too big or too small for our experienced team. We may be new to Angi but have been around for quite some time now. Please check out our reviews on Google; we can be found on all social media platforms. Just type in PCI Painting  

Express Yourself Paint

Angi Certified

Offers Coupon

Express Yourself Paint

We were established in 2006 through a lot of sweat, tears and 80-hour work weeks, like most small businesses. I left my cushy upper management job in corporate to take over the great business my wife had started. She had decided to make our home a happier place by learning to paint faux finishes through our home like marbled ceilings and a brick painted patio. Then the neighbors wanted them, their friends and so forth. The name "Express Yourself Paint" came from customer's expressing their unique character through faux finishes. We started out in an eight-foot utility trailer with the forty-foot ladders hanging out to infinity with red flags tied to them and a used spray gun. We looked more like the Red Neck Painters of Raleigh. Thanks to all those trusting souls who allowed us to paint for them in those early days! We came from humble beginnings, but we wanted to create a different kind of painting company. A company that is high performance, uses modern technology for communicating and scheduling making for a more satisfied customer experience while still applying paint the old fashion way...brushes, rollers and sprayers. Our desire to be different has resulted in us becoming the largest and most successful repaint company in the Triangle. All that said, we still trip over our own feet sometimes and as of yet have not discovered how to be perfect. Give us a try and we will most definitely put our best foot forward for you. We can't leave the light on for you because we are at your home painting, but we will definitely bring all the paint and the fixings. Our sincere wish for you is to experience, "The Power of Paint!"