Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

TROSA Moving

Founded 1994 • With Angi since June 2006

Award winning. Additional DBAs - TROSA, Triangle Residential Options for Substance Abusers. Additional Fax - (919) 490-1930. Additional emails- pglaser@trosainc.org, estimates@trosamoving.com. Additional contact name - Jeff Stern (jstern@trosainc.org) and Justin Tate, Estimates (jtate@trosainc.org). Please email general inquiries to moving@trosamoving.com

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered

Amenities

Free Estimates
Yes
Warranties
No
Senior Discount
10%
Emergency Service
Yes
Eco-Friendly Accreditations
No
Insured
This pro has not provided any licensing information to Angi at this time.All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves. To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page. Contact pro for more details.

Verified Reviews

4.8

(258) Verified Reviews

Showing 1-25 of 258 reviews
Janet N.
5.0
07/08/2021
They are highly recommended and they are also helping other people along with their move.
Description of Work
They helped me move some things on my house.
Category
moving companies
Sue P.
5.0
10/10/2019
Everything went very well. From the initial estimate, to the packing, to the loading on the truck and the delivery into the house. I worked with 11 different gentlemen during the process and I could not say anything negative about any of the, They were all very conscientious of my belongings. And each of them were polite and professional. I highly recommend TROSA Moving.
Description of Work
I was relocating from North Carolina to Maine. TROSA packed up all of my belongings, stored it for a week and then delivered it to Maine.
Category
moving companies
Eve M.
5.0
05/19/2019
TROSA exceeded all expectations! They showed up right on time, ready to roll, and packed and loaded up our entire apartment with staggering speed. Then, without even taking a break, they drive everything right over to our new house and unloaded so quickly I was barely able to order pizzas fast enough! I've moved multiple times with highly reputable NYC companies, but TROSA was by far the best, most professional, most efficient moving company I've ever contracted with. I cannot recommend them highly enough. The crew was amazing -- each of the guys worked unimaginably hard and was incredibly conscientious with our possessions. Thank you, thank you!!
Description of Work
The best moving company
Category
moving companies
JOYCE P.
5.0
06/13/2018
Took about 5 hours, as expected. Went very well with a just a few small mishaps.
Description of Work
Moved furniture from 1 house to 3 other houses.
Category
moving companies
Diane H.
1.0
03/21/2018
Emailed provider for quote for move. Provider was very responsive to initial emails and sent out move information form and checklist to complete. After taking the time to complete and return the forms that same day, we never heard from them again. Very disappointed in the lack of professionalism. Should respect potential customers' time and follow up in a timely manner with whether or not they can take the job.
Description of Work
Local residential move
Category
moving companies

Service Provider Response

Thank you very much for letting us know about this issue - we have investigated and clearly we dropped the ball. I'd like to offer you our apologies, as this clearly does not meet our standards of professionalism and customer service. This looks to be a training issue, which we have addressed, but I know that doesn't make things right for you. I'm very sorry that you went through the time of filling out paperwork and did not receive a response from us. I certainly understand your frustration and appreciate your feedback so that we can ensure that this does not happen to others in the future.
Carol R.
5.0
09/13/2017
Great! They were very competent, carefully wrapped furniture, used shrink wrap to keep drawers and doors from moving. Very efficient and got done quickly.
Description of Work
Moved furniture from second floor, 2-bedroom apartment into house.
Category
moving companies
ANNE S.
5.0
08/15/2017
TROSA moved us into the origin house 15 years ago. I got three quotes and selected TROSA again. We did almost all of the packing ourselves. The moving van and a crew of 8, including the supervisor, arrived on time the day of the move. After a walk through with the whole crew, the supervisor met with the crew to go over the job. The crew was unfailingly polite, professional, and respectful of our things. They worked quickly but carefully and effectively. Some members were literally running up the driveway racing to get the next boxes to carry to the van (and this was a late July day). We had some pieces of furniture that we wanted to donate. These items were kept separate and loaded last in case we ran out of room. They were taken back to Durham for the TROSA thrift store and we were given a donation receipt. There was damage to one dresser but they immediately accepted responsibility, apologized, and said they would take it for repair. The piece was repaired and ready for delivery about a week later. They delivered on a Saturday (by two more excellent workers) and the repair was completely satisfactory. The crew took reasonable measures to protect the origin or destination houses and there was no damage to either.
Description of Work
Moving furniture and household items from approximately 3100 square foot house plus attic and storage shed to new house 15 miles away.
Category
moving companies
Rachel G.
5.0
06/12/2017
Exceptional group who conducted the move, they were fast, careful, and professional. They treated our things as if they were their own and took steps to make sure all furniture was as exactly as we wanted it arranged. I would definitely use them again and recommend them for anyone needing a mover. An A+ operation!
Description of Work
local move
Category
moving companies
Lori R.
5.0
05/17/2017
Very smooth and professional. The team was very efficient, great to work with and competitively priced. Great organization to support!
Description of Work
Local move from one neighborhood in Raleigh to the another.
Category
moving companies
candace L.
5.0
11/16/2016
Great, I can't say enough good things about TROSA movers! those guys bust their butts and are very professional. they are efficient and do not miss a beat - no breaks, just work work work. i used them twice. the first time i hadn't done sufficient packing and they came in and bubble wrapped my stereo and other items before i could even lift a finger. i was still slowly getting clothes packed up and they were pretty much finished. the second time, same thing, those guys are ON IT! i've heard bad things about other movers and would not think of using anyone but TROSA. tell your friends.
Description of Work
Packing up and moving my furniture, etc. across town
Category
moving companies
DAVID E.
5.0
09/02/2016
Amazing. They brought six nice, professional men to our house. They did the move so quick, much quicker than the estimate. No plans to move anytime soon but will use them whenever that occurs.
Description of Work
Move from one part of Raleigh to another.
Category
moving companies
David J.
5.0
07/26/2016
The experience was excellent, first class. The team showed up right on time. The team leader did a thorough check of the items in inventory of things to be moved, organized the pick up and loading, and every member of the team showed great care and handling some expensive and difficult items. Came members were courteous and respectful and in every regard, and clearly committed to doing a top-notch job. I cannot imagine a better moving experience from any size company.
Description of Work
Moving an entire household furnishings to two separate local locations.
Category
moving companies
Doris J.
5.0
05/03/2016
Great! Literally great. It's stressful when you're moving from one county to another and it went great. They wrapped all the dressers and stuff in bubble wrap so I didn't have to take anything out of the drawers. They were very professional, very kind, and they got it done quickly.
Description of Work
They sent 7 people to help me move.
Category
moving companies
Heather Q.
5.0
04/22/2016
The contractor who was renovating my house recommended Trosa to move all the furniture out of the way of the work. Scheduling was not quite as easy as I had hoped it would be given my very narrow window of time for both the initial and follow up moves but the customer service folks were nice and after 5 or 6 calls back and forth, we worked it out to the perfect times around my renovation work. Our job was two part, first to move everything that wasn't nailed down out of the areas where the hardwoods were being refinished and then 10 days later to put it all back. There were highs and lows of this process. Overall, I would recommend Trosa again, likely I will use them again myself, but I will be sure to ask for an experienced crew and also to closely supervise the work. I was a little disappointed with just one of the total 6 movers who were at my house as he ended up scratching my newly installed wood floor and also dented the edge of an expensive appliance. He didn't wait for the others to help him move the oven and that was when both damage spots occurred. I walked in and saw him sliding the oven instead of carrying it. That was a little heartbreaking. Just poor judgement and maybe a lack of experience on his part. If the others had not been carrying something up the stairs, I am sure they wouldn't have let him make that poor choice as they had cautioned him about other items. I hope that my move was a learning experience for this crew and their future jobs will be better because of it. To be fair, the movers carried a LOT of really heavy furniture, mostly they showed a lot of heart, made good choices and very little wasn't 100% perfect. As I said, I will use them again. Trosa was by far the least expensive for this kind of In-House move and also the size of the company made it possible for them to work with my tight schedule.
Description of Work
In-house move of furniture.
Category
moving companies
Condit R.
5.0
02/15/2016
They came to our house and took a careful inventory of all the items to move, and answered our questions about TROSA and the process, then followed up to provide a full itemization and the estimate. They were flexible about scheduling until our floating move date was finally anchored. On moving day, a crew leader and 6 men arrived on schedule, calling ahead to confirm they were were on their way. They all functioned well as a team, cheerfully and carefully disassembling beds, mirrors from dressers, shrink-wrapping upholstered items and preparing our upright piano for loading. We had marked each item with the room where it should go in the new house, but it was helpful that they all spoke English, so we could communicate special instructions as they brought things in. The huge antique dresser was particularly fragile, because its trim had already been repaired once, but they were careful not to push on that trim piece as they lifted and walked it down the stairs. The crew leader let us know when they were going to take a break, and kept us informed as the day progressed. They reassembled beds and mirrors on dressers, etc. in place. We had packed and moved a few items ahead, so the final price was lower than the estimate. Every person was energetic, extremely courteous and respectful, and although they all worked very hard and very diligently, they made it fun for themselves, which lightened the stress of the moving process. They were delighted and grateful that we provided sub sandwich lunches for all. We haven't found any damage to either house, nor to any of our belongings. We wish we had realized ahead that TROSA also operates a thrift shop, because they would have gladly taken the old, but working, refrigerator that we wanted to get rid of, as well as some other items that we no longer needed. That would have spared us the difficulty of dealing with them prior to the move. I'm glad we don't move often, but I would definitely choose TROSA if we move within their area again.
Description of Work
Moved pre-packed household items and furniture for our 2100 sq ft house, 2 stories, to our new house
Category
hauling services, moving companies
Roy P.
5.0
10/02/2015
They carefully put everything near the loading dock. The other moving company was an hour late, but the Trosa staff stayed after closing and helped load the furniture and boxes on the truck. Without their generous willingness to help the other company load our furniture and boxes, we would have been there till midnight or had to come back during regular hours the next day. This was way beyond their responsibility, and made our evening a lot shorter. All our furniture including fragile antiques were in great condition. The TROSA people were professional and polite and very competent! We are grateful we worked with them and highly recommend them.
Description of Work
They moved our furniture and packed boxes into their storage. After storing our furniture for a little over a year, they prepared all our boxes and furniture to be picked up by another moving company.
Category
hauling services, moving companies
Christina J.
5.0
09/07/2015
There was a LOT of driving involved because our storage unit was 30 minutes away from our new home. But everything arrived and we were thrilled. They also assembled tables we had disassembled before we put them into the storage unit, which we didn't expect. This is the 2nd time I have used TROSA and I would recommend them time and time again. They are amazing to work with. One thing to keep in mind, you are unable to give the movers cash as a tip, but they can easily accept food. We gave them donuts and juice for breakfast and for lunch, we got Subway subs for them. I asked one of the guys, and he said they eat a LOT of pizza, so they really appreciated the subs - it was a nice change.
Description of Work
TROSA moved us out of both our home and our storage unit and into our new home in under 6 hours.
Category
moving companies
Peter S.
5.0
09/03/2015
Perfectly. The estimator came on time and generated an estimate that was reasonable but higher than our budget allowed. We worked on the room ourselves in order to lower the cost and saw how accurate the original estimate was for time and materials. After we did our work, TROSA came in well under cost after doing a prompt, friendly, professional job. They could not have been better, and we could not have been happier. Thanks!
Description of Work
Moved a large room overstuffed with books and bookshelves.
Category
moving companies
Betty H.
4.0
08/27/2015
The price was good. They were a little less than some of the other big movers. There punctuality was good.
Description of Work
Moving.
Category
moving companies
Joseph M.
5.0
07/22/2015
These guys rock. Showed up exactly at 8am as was promised and were 4 very polite and professional gentlemen. Move was completed at 2pm and the final price was UNDER the estimate. Amazing you don't see that in the moving business.
Description of Work
Moved from 2 bedroom apartment complex unit to private 3 bedroom home
Category
moving companies
Amanda F.
5.0
06/20/2015
We loved working with Trosa. Their estimates were very good, and we actually ended up under estimate. The crew was awesome - hard working, professional, organized, and took great care with our belongings. We had a crew leader who organized the moving day, and he did a fantastic job. We were very happy with Trosa!
Description of Work
Moved a 5 bedroom house plus items that were in a separate storage unit, packed the kitchen and wardrobe boxes. Also included moving a piano. Eight men plus 2 trucks.
Category
moving companies, piano moving
Kim D.
5.0
05/30/2015
They're very good. They're hardworking guys. They put a whole lot of effort. We had some challenging stuff and they handled it right after it so I was happy with them.
Description of Work
For moving, we used Trosak.
Category
moving companies
Steve P.
5.0
04/14/2015
It was perfect! They worked hard, they hustled and they were amazing! They beat their estimate, they were a pleasure to do business with.
Description of Work
They moved me from my apartment to a house.
Category
moving companies
JILL T.
5.0
03/18/2015
They were very pleasant and polite young men. They were capable and they did a good job.
Description of Work
They moved our belonging from our old house to our new home.
Category
moving companies
Burr S.
5.0
12/02/2014
We picked them, because my wife had heard of them before. They are working on substance abuse recovery, that is their focus, and one thing that they do, is put all those men to work as movers, and so we just appreciated the give back to community aspect of theirs. We did not even check prices, we just went there. They were fantastic overall, when you considering the people involved. They didn't do damage, and worked hard. I enjoyed spending time with them. They are nice, solid guys trying to get back up.
Description of Work
moved here. We did all our own packing, and they moved all the heavy furniture.
Category
moving companies

Phone

Address

1820 James St

Durham, NC 27707

Other Information

Services offered

Residential and commercial moving, packing & climate controlled storage facility.

Payment options

Visa
MasterCard
American Express
Discover

FAQ

TROSA Moving is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

TROSA Moving is open:

Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

TROSA Moving accepts the following forms of payment: Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

Yes, TROSA Moving offers free project estimates.

No, TROSA Moving does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

No, TROSA Moving does not offer a senior discount.

Yes, TROSA Moving offers emergency services.

No, TROSA Moving does not offer warranties.

TROSA Moving offers the following services: Residential and commercial moving, packing & climate controlled storage facility.

Other Local Pros In Your Area

FORREST TREE SERVICE

Angi Certified

FORREST TREE SERVICE

Tree removal  

Family Owned & Operated. Decks, paver patios, outdoor kitchens, fireplaces, fire pits, retaining walls, sunrooms & screen rooms, gazebos, play sets & wooden fences, aluminum fences.  

Action Piano Services

5.0

(9)

Angi Certified

Action Piano Services

Piano tuning, piano storage on a temp regulated area, piano moving (insured), Piano repairs, piano refinishing