Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Enhanced Heating Cooling

Founded 1966 • With Angi since March 2011

4.6

(73) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

5441 Lumley Rd Ste 101

Durham, NC 27703

Description

We have 35 employees. We accept cash, check, credit cards and have 0% financing programs available.

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

07/17/2016


Peleg M.

Vendor install a Honeywell 7200 series thermostat in my new home, but I decided to upgrade to a 6580 WiFi unit. I did all the work myself but couldn't get the A/C to work. I called Honey well who referrred me to Enhanced Heating and A/C. I called them at 3:45 PM on a Friday afternoon and got a live person who said someone will call me back after I presented the problem I had. Around 4 PM I got a call from Sean who helped me out with the wiring and the A/C is now working.

Description of Work
Programming & Wiring of new WiFi Thermostat.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/15/2016


Peleg M.

Vendor install a Honeywell 7200 series thermostat in my new home, but I decided to upgrade to a 6580 WiFi unit. I did all the work myself but couldn't get the A/C to work. I called Honey well who referrred me to Enhanced Heating and A/C. I called them at 3:45 PM on a Friday afternoon and got a live person who said someone will call me back after I presented the problem I had. Around 4 PM I got a call from Sean who helped me out with the wiring and the A/C is now working.

Description of Work
Programming & Wiring of new WiFi Thermostat.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/27/2014


Ranota H.

Our motor burned out the week before Christmas during the night. I called Alpine and the serviceman was at our home the next morning. He determined the problem, let us know the cost and the part was ordered immediately. He installed the part as soon as it came in. We have been standing customers with Alpine and the prior HVAC company with a service plan. We appreciated their responsiveness and flexibility. R Hall Durham

Description of Work
Replaced a variable speed blower motor in my gas furnace.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] thank you for the wonderful review, I will let the guys know. We appreciate your business and look forward to partnering with you on all your future heating and cooling needs. Thanks again David President
5.0

12/22/2014


cm M.

I called first thing on Monday morning and someone was on their way by the time I got out of the shower. He showed me what had caused the problem and worked quickly to repair the system. He explained everything that he was doing and I had heat before the afternoon was out. If anything happens in the future, Alpine will be my first call. I couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Description of Work
My HVAC system wasn't working so he got it back up and running and replaced the older thermostat control with one that I can actually program.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

[removed member name] thank you for the great review. I will let the team know. We look forward to partnering with you on all your heating and cooling needs. Thanks again David President
5.0

12/18/2014


Leola J.

Arrived promptly; didn't rush; explained in detail what he did; very professional and courteous.

Description of Work
Heat tune-up

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

[member name removed] thank you for the great review I will let the team know. Have a great holiday season. We look forward to partnering with you on all your hvac needs. Thanks David Breed President
5.0

12/15/2014


William J.

The AC unit worked like a champ. When we switched to heating in the fall, the heating unit would shut off after starting. After several visits, Jacques, the maintenance supervisor, determined that a smaller diameter exhaust pipe had been initially been installed. Jacques supervised the replacement with a larger diameter exhaust pipe which eliminated the back pressure problem that was triggering the shutdown with the smaller diameter exhaust pipe. Alpine was completely responsive and professional in their servicing of my situation. Also, the initial defective thermostat was replaced free of charge. Alpine wanted to make sure I was a satisfied customer with the new units.

Description of Work
Alpine replaced our 24 year old heating and cooling system. A 14 SEER 2.5 ton AC unit and a 94@ efficient heating unit were installed.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed] thank you for the great review. I will let the team know asap. Have a great holiday season. We look forward to partnering with you on all your hvac needs. Thanks David President
3.0

12/02/2014


beverly K.

They didn't put the filter back in right so the door won't close. When they left they did not leave me a receipt or anything so I don't know exactly what they did.

Description of Work
Tune up air conditioner.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

(Member name removed) have we resolved the issue, if not call me I will handle personally. Thank you for the constructive criticism, we strive each and every day to get better. We look forward to helping you maintain your system going forward. Thanks David Breed President
5.0

10/31/2014


David M.

Drew came out and looked over our unit, ducting, thermostat and checked for carbon monoxide. Our furnace was failing to come on and he was able to resolve the issue. Drew did a great job explaining everything and even came back out a second time to resolve a secondary issue (bad thermostat). He was professional, friendly and wasn't pushing for an equipment sale like some companies do. I will be using Alpine from here on out.

Description of Work
Performed diagnostics and cleaned furnace

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

Service Provider Response

[Removed member name] thank you for the great review. I will let drew know ASAP. Look forward to partnering with you in the future. Thanks again David President
5.0

10/24/2014


Charles M.

Chris Morris changed our air filters which we have extras at all time. He was very helpful with suggestions to help with our heating bill. He is an asset to the Alpine Company.

Description of Work
Checked two propane heating units for home. Chris Morris was on time and very friendly. He was very efficient and professional but made you feel at ease and explained everything that he did. We have used Alpine for the past four years and find them to be a nice company to deal with.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed] thank you for your review. This review has been shared with Chris & the team. We appreciate you for choosing Alpine & look forward to a long partnership for your home comfort needs. Thanks again, David Breed President
5.0

10/19/2014


Deborah N.

It went great - he told me all the things he was doing. Very professional and precise, courteous. I will call them back again.

Description of Work
Serviced air conditioner/heater for winter

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

[member name removed] thank you for the great review. We look forward to partnering with you for all your home comfort needs. Thanks again, David Breed President
5.0

10/17/2014


Yvonne D.

This appointment was the free maintenance checkup following the installation in June 2014. Scott H was my Service Technician. He was very professional, arriving on time; explaining what he will check during this appointment; explaining his findings; making sure I scheduled my next maintenance checkup, also, making sure I had signed up for the Maintenance Agreement. Additionally, Scott H connected me to Christie in the Alpine Office to make sure they knew that I am an Angie's List member. He was very pleasant and comforting to talk to making sure I understood my system. He also made sure he covered his shoes when entering my home. I give Alpine an "A" rating.

Description of Work
1st Maintenance Visit following the installation of the Amana Heat Pump System in June of this year.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed] thank you so much for the awesome review & we have shared this with Scott & the staff. We appreciate you taking the time as we depend on reviews & referrals. Thank you for choosing Alpine & we look forward to a long term partnership for your home comfort needs. Thanks again, David Breed President
5.0

10/08/2014


Wade H.

We paid for the service plan. As far as scheduling, they’re excellent. They usually call ahead of time. We don’t have to call them. They have it in their calendar and they’ll call me. We’ll schedule a time that works for both of us. They usually call 30 minutes before they show up. They seem to be very professional. They do a good job. Sometimes they might try to add on a couple of extra things that they think we need. Sometimes we do that and sometimes we really think we don’t need it. It depends on the situation. They’re very thorough. The guy explained everything and did an excellent job. I would highly recommend them to other people.

Description of Work
We used Alpine Heating and Air. They check the a/c unit and the furnace once a year. We used them the first time last 2013. We had them come and replaced the blower in our furnace that went out.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

[member name removed] thank you for the awesome review. I will let everyone at alpine know & look forward to partnering with you for all your homes needs. Thanks again David President
5.0

09/22/2014


Martin G.

Great service provided by a friendly, knowledgable and trustworthy professional.

Description of Work
Fall maintenance for HVAC

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

[member name removed] thank you for the great review. We look forward to partnering with you for all your homes needs. Thanks again David President
5.0

09/16/2014


Cheryl O.

Great so far. About to have the air quality assessment and am confident they will take care of any heat/air variations from room to room.

Description of Work
Install new HVAC system

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, air duct cleaning

Service Provider Response

[member name removed] thank you for the review. We appreciate the opportunity to make you comfortable and save you money on your electric bill. Thanks again David President
5.0

09/11/2014


Yvonne D.

They were very professional and considerate of taking care of their work while at my home. They completed the installation and made sure the system was working before leaving my home. My electric bill deceased and I have enjoyed a savings of about $350.00 per month since the system was installed. They explained the different types of system and advised me on the best one for the size of my home. A maintenance appointment was set up at the time of the installation and today I received a reminder call to set an appointment for them to come out. I am well pleased with Alpine and recommend them to everyone needing a HVAC System.

Description of Work
Installation of an Amanda HVAC System.

Category electrician, heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

[member name removed] thank you for the wonderful review. We look forward to having a partner for life. I will let everyone at alpine know about the great review. Thanks again David President
5.0

08/30/2014


anthony H.

being a person in the profession, I was amazed at the quality of work given ......lets start at the beginning..i was calling around to find a good a/c company, so I called alpine air to my amazement they sold on their ability in dealing with strangers the company them set up an in home apt for me working around my hours of availability. this gentleman had his act together , knew his business from start to finished and explained everything I did not understand so we set up an install date they sent two insatallers out and they was the top of the line. in just a few hours it was installed .doing the install process these two men were all about business and knew their jobs .never have I seen the ability as I had seen in these installers. after the install they really cleaned up the area and made sure that I was totally happy with my new A/C unit and the quality of work in which was more than I expected. personally I am over the top in complete satisfaction with the job being well done I would highly suggest that alpine air is the ones to call if you want the job to be top rated and to my amazement they are well respected in the BBB with no complaints to warrant any thought from the public .being hind sight is 20/20 I look back and is overjoyed that I called Alpine Air and on top of that they worked with me 100% to meet all my needs as a customer I would use then in the future before I call any one else.........yes sire I,m a happy customer

Description of Work
replaced my entire a/c system

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

Anthony thank you for the outstanding review I will let everyone know ASAP. We look forward to partnering with on all your Hvac plumbing and electrical needs. Thanks again David President
5.0

08/25/2014


Franklin G.

Very professional. Very good quality service.

Description of Work
Replace bad motor for A/C Fan

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

[Member Name Removed] thank you for the great review. I will let everyone know. We appreciate the opportunity to partner with you. We look forward to working with you in the near future. Thanks again David President
5.0

08/20/2014


Carolyn F.

Alpine's sales rep, Bill Graves, came to the house several times to review the estimates he'd given me and to answer additional questions/concerns. I signed the contract on Aug. 7th and the heat pump was installed on the 8th!! Great service! Due to additional work that needed to be done for the ductwork in the crawlspace, the service techs couldn't complete the returns that day but the air conditioning was up and running perfectly before they left that day. The service techs had to return on the 12th to complete the installation of the new returns but that was completed within a couple of hours. My thanks to Bill for his help in ensuring that I had a good system for this house, and to the techs who were all courteous and professional and ensured that the system was properly installed!.

Description of Work
Replaced propane gas furnace and central air conditioner with a new heat pump.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing, air duct cleaning

Service Provider Response

(member name removed) thank you for the awesome review. I will let bill and the installers know ASAP. We appreciate you choosing alpine We look forward to partnering with you on any future needs you may have including plumbing and electrical. Thanks for choosing alpine David President
5.0

08/10/2014


Dee B.

EXCELLENT prompt courteous and professional service. Bill Graves, sales rep, is dynamic. I appreciate his attention to detail and getting things done in a timely manner. I called 4 companies on Thursday for an estimate, 2 companies on Angie's A list did not bother to call back until Monday. I selected Alpine's quote the system was installed and completed Tuesday morning. Bill made this a "smooth transaction". Thank you Bill with a special thanks to Laura in customer service. I am very satisfied!

Description of Work
Installed new HVAC system

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

(Member name removed) thanks for he great review I will let Bill and Laura know asap. We appreciate you allowing us into your home to upgrade your heating and air conditioning system We also offer plumbing and electrical services. We are big on referrals, up to 100$ for an install and 50$ for service. Thanks again David President
5.0

08/06/2014


Sharmin M.

After 3 weeks of living with no air conditioning, and a leaky ceiling, during which time I had 5 technicians (3 from one company that doesn't even have an option to leave a voicemail after 5pm!) attempt (and fail) to fix the problem, I finally had to get a new system. I sincerely hope you don't need to replace your AC system any time soon, but just in case you do, I highly recommend Alpine Heating and Air. Their telephone number is: 919-404-1717. They went above and beyond customer service, and addressed my concerns, explained answers to my questions in detail re: energy efficiency, payment, warranty, etc., and did exactly what they said they would do re: installing on time. I have a 10 year warranty for parts and labor and a lifetime warranty for the compressor. If it breaks (the outside unit), they will replace the entire thing. A week after my system was installed, the unimaginable happened, and my ceiling was leaking again!!! I couldn't believe it!!! I called them - this was on a Sunday evening at around 8:00pm - and they told me that they would send someone over right away, and they did. I told them that this was unacceptable, and that I expected them to replace it w/a new system. They assured me that they would do that if necessary. Fortunately, the issue wasn't the system, but the pipe in front of it, which the technician replaced. I was still in shock that my brand new system had leaked, and I asked him to open the panel in front of the system to ensure that everything was OK. He went back out to his truck and got his tools and it was fine. The next morning, Alpine called me and apologized for what happened, and offered to have my ceiling fixed. I was very surprised, and I told them that I wanted to give full disclosure, and that although it had leaked because of the pipe, I told them that I had previous damage from my other AC, but they said it was OK and that they wanted to make things right, so they sent someone to repair it (no charge to me).

Description of Work
Installed a new AC/Heat system

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac, plumbing

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for the kind review I will let everyone know. The ceiling thing happens occasionally but we always repair free of charge. Comes with the territory. We look forward to a long partnership. If we can assist you with plumbing or electrical let us know. Thanks again David President
5.0

07/31/2014


Scott T.

FANTASTIC! Old unit (7.5 yrs) sputtering so I looked online to see if I could get pricing and providers. I Input my name, email address and within 5 minutes I got a call from Melanie at Alpine to see if they could be of assistance. Within 30 minutes Alpine was at my door to offer solutions. Tom Ashley was the nicest guy you could ever meet and as honest as they come. He listened to what I had to say and gave me a spectrum of solutions. He explained how Alpine does business and the type of equipment they recommended and I was sold on Alpine. I ordered the ac unit (condenser and evaporator) and they scheduled installation for the day after next. They called to tell me what time they would be there and within 2 minutes of the estimate they arrived. Eddie and his partner were very professional and very competent. They had the outside condenser and attic evaporator coil swapped and two matching thermostats installed with 4.5 hours. They left the place spic and span. David Breed and his team including Melanie, Laura, Tom and the installers get 5 stars from me. If you are in need of a/c work call Alpine. My experience has been the best it has ever been with any a/c company.

Description of Work
New AC condenser and evaporator coil for second floor

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

[member name removed] thanks for the great review I will let everyone know. It was a pleasure working with you. We look forward to a long partnership. Thanks David President
1.0

07/29/2014


Andrew T.

My A/C unit was barely cooling. Technician was on time and was polite and in good order. I was at work, and my wife showed technician the unit. First he called me and told me I needed a new unit. I asked why and he said it would not even come on. I told him that was not the problem - the unit is running but not cooling well. He hung up and called back saying okay the unit is now running. I have no idea how this could happen, but to jump to "I need a new unit" so fast was a blow to technician's credibility. Now the technician is telling me that tells me that the outside coil is really dirty and that's why A/C unit is not running well. I said okay please clean it. He said okay. He wrapped up the job and gave bill to my wife. That was where things ended up that day. Except the unit still was not cooling well. About two weeks later, on a really hot day, I went out to look at the unit, and I pulled the grill on the front. The cooling coil was FILTHY (I took pictures including some before and after shots). This coil was not cleaned - the unit is 6 years old and I have to believe there was 6 years of deposit on the coil. I cleaned the unit myself but it still did not cool well. So I called another contractor out to have a look. Within minutes of arrival, NEW technician tells me the evaporator coil is leaking. He shows me the oils stains on the coil, and also uses a freon gas detector to confirm the leakage. I need a new coil. Within a week. coil is replaced and the unit is now running fine. Bottom line - Alpine technician did not clean the cooling coil like he said he was going to do, and he missed the evaporator coil leaking, which was the real problem. So I am left wondering what I paid $195 for. I called Alpine to complain. When I reached customer service, they gave me a separate name and number to call. I called and got voice mail, left a message - no call back as of yet, still waiting. So points off for problem resolution as well.

Description of Work
Central air conditioner tune-up and troubleshoot

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

[Member name removed], I tried getting in touch with you several times. I did finally get a hold of your wife, she gave Scott a glowing review. I apologize for the miss diagnosis, we all make mistakes. We strive to get better every day. I will have my service manager spend some time with Scott. We have refunded you in full. Any concerns call me anytime. Thanks David President
5.0

07/25/2014


Sara B.

The guys that came to my house were Jerry and Ricky. They were really easy-going, covered their shoes before they came into my house and were really nice to dogs that were barking like crazy. They were really kind to my little boy that seemed to talk them to death. After the repair, they came back out two times to make sure that everything was still working fine, at no charge. I would definitely use them again.

Description of Work
I have a dual HVAC system in my house. The unit upstairs went out on me. I called them and they sent someone within a few hours. They gave me an estimate and made sure that I was comfortable with it. Apparently I needed an air handler.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

thank you for the great review. I will let Jerry and Ricky know about this review ASAP. Thanks again David President
5.0

07/24/2014


John M.

Matthew came to do a free inspection of my plumbing. He noticed some water under the kitchen sink and gave us a very reasonable estimate for that repair. We ultimately decided to replace the sink and faucet, as the whole setup wasn't in great shape. Matthew came the next day and did the job; he was punctual and professional, and he did an excellent job. We are very pleased with how it turned out.

Description of Work
Installed new kitchen sink and faucet and bathroom faucet.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

[removed member name] thanks for the great review. It was a pleasure working with you. We look forward to a long partnership for your home comfort needs. Thanks again, David Breed President
5.0

07/17/2014


Jerry B.

Alpine provides quick service and checks out any problems. We are completely satisfied with their service and the professional quality of their employees. In January 2011 they installed a new Everrest split system 16 SEER 48,000 btu air conditioner and coil matched with Everrest 95% two stage condensing furnace. They removed and disposed of existing unit. They put in a new condenser pad and reconnected low voltage and communicating thermostat. They removed existing duct work and installed new R-8 valve, insulated flex duct for both supply and return, sized for larger unit, and insulated existing floor boots, bringing them up to code. They installed airtight collars with dampers. In short they removed the old system and put in new heating and air conditioning units and installed new ducts throughout the house. The cost was $9084.

Description of Work
Alpine installed our heating and air conditioning unit in Jan. 2011. They provide service twice a year to check and clean the unit which maintains the warranty. They also answer any questions we have.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

[member name removed] thank you for the great review. I will let our guys know. We look forward to partnering with you on all your heating, cooling, plumbing and electrical needs. Call us anytime. Thanks again David President

    Other local Pros in your area

    Shamrock Waterproofing

    Serving the Triangle area since 1992 Licensed and Insured. Residential and Commercial. Lowest Price Guaranteed. Interior and Exterior Systems. Lifetime Warranty FREE ESTIMATES  

    Angi Certified

    Home Comfort Systems

    We guarantee your satisfaction and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out our services offered and call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Angi Certified

    Jonathan Mcneil HVAC

    Licensed and insured independent Heating and Air Conditioning contractor. 15 years experience. Locally owned and operated. The owner is present on every job.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available, American Express, PayPal
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential & commercial heating & air conditioning system. Installation, service & maintenance of heat pumps, air conditioners, gas furnaces, indoor air quality, duct work & ventilation. Plumbing. Electrical.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Enhanced Heating Cooling

    How is Enhanced Heating Cooling overall rated?

    Enhanced Heating Cooling is currently rated 4.6 overall out of 5.

    What days are Enhanced Heating Cooling open?

    Enhanced Heating Cooling is open:

    Sunday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Saturday: 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Enhanced Heating Cooling provide

    Enhanced Heating Cooling accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover, Financing Available, American Express, PayPal

    Does Enhanced Heating Cooling offer free estimates?

    Yes, Enhanced Heating Cooling offers free project estimates.

    Does Enhanced Heating Cooling offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Enhanced Heating Cooling offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Enhanced Heating Cooling offer a senior discount?

    Yes, Enhanced Heating Cooling offers a 10% senior discount.

    Does Enhanced Heating Cooling offer emergency services?

    Yes, Enhanced Heating Cooling offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by Enhanced Heating Cooling?

    Yes, Enhanced Heating Cooling offers warranties.

    What services does Enhanced Heating Cooling offer?

    Enhanced Heating Cooling offers the following services: Residential & commercial heating & air conditioning system. Installation, service & maintenance of heat pumps, air conditioners, gas furnaces, indoor air quality, duct work & ventilation. Plumbing. Electrical.

    Are there any services Enhanced Heating Cooling does not offer?

    Ask for details