Superior Pools and Spas

About

Founded 1999 • With Angi since April 2009

At Superior Pools, our promise to you, our valued customer, is to design, build and service the pool of your dreams. With over 33 years in the pool industry, you can count on us for reliability, knowledge and expertise. We enjoy helping our customers design their backyard poolscape paradise. It is

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Images

A Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile imageA Service Provider's profile image

Verified Reviews

4.8

(68) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

61

4

3

3

1

2

0

1

3

Rating Details

Price

4.7

Professionalism

4.8

Punctuality

4.7

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.7

Read reviews by category

Pool Installers (63)pool cleaning (17)Patios (9)concrete repair (7)stone & gravel (5)decks & porches (3)outdoor kitchens (1)
Showing 1-25 of 68 reviews
1.0

12/28/2022


James M.

I was told by multiple people to stay far away from this company as they are a pain to deal with. As a person who has been in construction management for over 20 years I have been around difficult companies and difficult people in this business so I figured it was just your normal jerks which I have learned how to deal with. I am now extremely sorry I went with this company. They are by far the worse company I have ever dealt with and it is mostly because they don't care. They are unresponsive, missed every date during my pool install, refuse to fix any warranty items in a good faith timeline, and make up lies. My current experience is my spa leak. I have now been calling for a year and they just refuse to send someone out to fix it. Peter the owner said he had a company out here 2 times to look at it which is an absolute lie. I have cameras, work from home and have 2 big dogs that bark uncontrollably when anyone enters my yard so nobody entered this yard to look at the spa. I explained to Peter when I talked to him how my daughter fell last winter on the ice created by the leak injuring her elbow and back. She had to stop riding horses competitively for a short time while she did physical therapy but knowing that he just doesn't care about getting the spa fixed. He doesn't care that a child was injured which blows my mind. This is who you are dealing with when you contract with this company. Best advice I can give is the 1's you see are real. Family, Friends and fake accounts can give 5 reviews that seem amazing but they are not true. This company is extremely poor with service, professionalism and all aspects of communication so I would highly recommend you look elsewhere for your needs.

Description of Work
Install of pool and spa

Category pool cleaners

Cost $95,000

Services Performed? Yes

Images

Review for Superior Pools and Spas - 20135 Knox Rd, Cornelius, NC - 39982398

+1 More

1.0

06/29/2022


Pernell M.

This was the worst experience of our lives it’s been almost 45 days since my pool was put in and no one from Superior Pool has come back to finish it the backfill gravel is still sitting around the pool no heater for the pool no wire for the pool wrong pipes for the pool, large unsafe piles of dirts and very large ditch, that a child can get seriously hurt in my backyard and no one calls us back in over a Month. this could be considered a crime. Superior Pool takes our money cash the check, & won’t return calls, can’t get the pool equipment that we pay for and we have no idea if they plan on finishing this job is this a crime someone let me know. I call the city & reported what they are doing. Got photos of unfinish work, and phone records , texts message of all the time we tried to contact superior pool. The respect they have for there paying customers is Over 30plus days & still we don’t have all our pool equipment, no one calls us back &. Peter the Owner of Superior Pool has $56,000 of my family hard earn money. What would you do if superior Pool cash your hard earned money and still have your equipment won’t finish your pool $ won’t call you back tell me what will you do

Description of Work
Install pool

Category pool cleaners

Cost $56,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/23/2022

Images

Review for Superior Pools and Spas - 20135 Knox Rd, Cornelius, NC - 39782130
5.0

08/10/2021


kelly B.

If you are considering a pool, you need to consider Superior Pools! We interviewed 5 different companies and once we spoke with Peter Johnson, we knew we had found our pool company. We have a challenging lot with serious water runoff issues; the moment Peter walked in the backyard, he said he knew exactly what to do and he did. The other companies had lists of things we needed to do prior to them starting work on a pool, Peter made water control part of the design and created a lovely backdrop for the pool and a larger deck where we wanted it....simply brilliant! Our site foreman, Ian MacCormack, was responsive and calming with all of the concerns of a newbie to the pool construction experience. He stood behind his word and did not stop until he was sure we were beyond happy. When Ian was not available, Jon always stepped up to make sure we were informed and aware of what was going on. Ian and Jon both added suggestions along the way of features we may want to add that added to the beauty and ease of care. Other Superior folks to mention are Kathy Giannuzzi for her great color and design input and Dan Jones for helping us learn how to take care of our gorgeous pool. Dan is great at making sure your investment is protected and I cannot tell you how much that means when one has absolutely no pool experience! We just love our Superior Pool!

Description of Work
Pool Design and Installation

Category concrete repair, pool cleaners, pavers, gravel, patios, swimming pools

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/08/2021

Images

Review for Superior Pools and Spas - 20135 Knox Rd, Cornelius, NC - 39435698

+2 More

5.0

02/27/2021


Paul C.

Superior Pools was my choice for building my dream pool for my family. After extensive research and having 5 pool companies at my home Superior Pools earned the right to build my pool and spa. The quality of the equipment is the heart of the pool. Superior only uses Jandy equipment and puts top of the line filters, pumps, valves and heaters. Add the superior automation of the IAqua link system and no other pool builder comes close. I highly recommend to go to Jandy's website and learn about their products. The workmanship of my equipment pad is a 10. When gathering quotes from other pool companies the mix and match of equipment and quality of the brands was not to par on what Superior had to offer. You combine this with their warranty and the clear winner was Superior. Then the customer service they provide exceeds all expectations. From the owner Peter to the installers that built my dream pool all were listening, educating and caring to my many questions I asked of them. Superior wants to build their customers a top quality pool at a fair price. They want to make sure the customer is happy and build on those relationships. I highly recommend if looking for a pool do your research on the equipment Superior Pools uses. Combine that with the service and experience Superior Pools has to offer and it made my decision very easy. Peter and his team exceeded all my expectations.

Description of Work
Pool construction

Category swimming pools

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/27/2021

5.0

12/18/2020


Mira N.

When we were researching a pool company, we were looking for good service and high quality product as it is a complex project and we don’t have time to worry about anything. Superior Pools & Spas delivered from A to Z on time. We were rest assured we are getting highest quality product by the lifetime warranty on the pool shell and other components which only few companies are confident to offer such guarantees. On the other hand, this team build so many pools a months, are experts at what they do and while very busy, always make themselves available to address questions. Ralph the lead designer is probably one of the best designers you will meet. He lived and built pools everywhere including CA and taught many pool design classes. Kathy and John(s) are the hardest working folks and know how to get it done. What is also important that the owner Peter is accessible and kudos for such a good company. We are very pleased with the end product and strongly recommend Superior Pools & Spas.

Description of Work
Outstanding Quality and Service

Category concrete repair, pool cleaners, patios, swimming pools

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/18/2020

5.0

07/21/2020


Kelly C.

We would highly recommend Superior Pools and Spas after our excellent experience with them. The entire process from our first meeting with Jake, Sales and Design, through the installation process with Ian, Project Manager, went smoothly. The installation process took only seven weeks to complete. The staff and work crews at Superior Pools and Spas were always professional, courteous and knowledgeable. Whenever we had a question or even a small change they were always willing to help us and try to accommodate our requests. We are now enjoying a beautiful pool and our house has become the favorite place for our family to hang out. Thank you Superior Pools and Spas!!

Description of Work
Pool installation

Category concrete repair, swimming pools

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/04/2020

5.0

07/13/2020


Jamie C.

I signed the contract to install a pool in early March right before we went into the stay at home order for Covid-19. My experience with Superior and their staff was amazing from the initial phone call through completion of the pool and still the same as we are moving into the servicing business. Peter Sr. and Jake (Sales and Design) came out for the initial consultation and were very professional and thorough in understanding what I was looking for. Knowing my budget they went back to the office and developed 3 designs for us to choose from. Peter Sr. has been in this business for a long time and is a straight shooter. He will not waste your time. He is upfront in what costs are so you will not be blindsided later with additional bills. When I went in to go over the design choices I honestly was blown away by what Jake had designed. My daughter and I quickly selected our favorite and asked to sign the contract at that meeting, which I did not originally plan to do. Once Covid arrived there were delays, but only by my HOA and the town I live in. Superior continued working on my project. Once all approvals and permits were secured, Superior showed up and went to work. I was amazed at how fast they completed everything with no issues and no additional costs! The communication by everyone at Superior, Jake in Sales and Design, Ian (the Job Supervisor), Kathy and Tammy in Scheduling and Billing and Dan in the Service Department was and continues to be outstanding! My family LOVES our new pool and spa and are so happy we chose Superior to complete the work. We have a top notch pool and spa that are lifetime guaranteed and the process was quicker than expected and there were no headaches or hassles. I highly recommend Superior Pools and Spas if you are looking to create your own backyard oasis!

Description of Work
Install Pool and Spa

Category concrete repair, pool cleaners, pavers, gravel, patios, swimming pools

Cost $80,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/07/2020

Images

Review for Superior Pools and Spas - 20135 Knox Rd, Cornelius, NC - 38714371

+6 More

5.0

12/06/2019


Barbara H.

We used Angie's List to narrow my pool builders down to 2 selections and Superior won out. Superior Pools built a beautiful free form gunnite pool in our yard!!! Our now backyard paradise! The designing process, options available and quality are outstanding and all at a very competitive and fair price. I would definitely use Superior Pools all over again.

Description of Work
Pool Construction

Category swimming pools

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 12/06/2019

5.0

10/04/2019


Albert F.

We have had this pool installed 2 1/2 years ago. The work was outstanding and professional. Superior Pool designed the pool and pool deck to fit our yard and handled all the certifications and preparatory needs. They installed the pool in 2 months which was quite fast due to the winter and a lot of rain. Their work was outstanding and we have a beautiful poos and spa. In two and a half years that the pool has been installed we have had a small crack in a plastic cap on the heater for the pool. Superior had a service representative out to our home and replaced the cap the very next day. They have an excellent service staff with rapid response and will respond to your calls very quickly when you have issues or just questions about how to maintain your pool. After the installation of the pool, they also have a training staff to come to your pool and train you on maintaining your pool. They have an ongoing service to maintain the pool for you if you require or they can provide a short two or three month program to help you maintain the pool yourself. Bottom line is that they do excellent work and have a great service for after the installation when you may still be not pool savvy.

Description of Work
In ground, concrete pool installed and concrete pool deck

Category swimming pools

Cost $63,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/31/2019

5.0

05/05/2019


Kathleen S.

When we decided to put in a pool, we had no idea what we were getting into. We had a few companies out to quote and superior pools went above and beyond with making sure we were happy with everything from the design, price, and service. Even with all of the rain that we have had these past months, our pool was done within a timely manner and exceeded our expectations. We have enjoyed our pool the past couple months or so and are extremely happy. The service that they have provided during and after has been nothing short of great. We have recommended them to a couple of friends that are looking at pools since being in ours.

Description of Work
Concrete pool

Category swimming pools

Cost $72,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/04/2019

5.0

03/17/2019


Anthony R.

Being a first time pool owner, I had 4 or 5 quotes and heard many different things from multiple companies. Superior gave me the best quote and service. Pete Sr. and Pete Jr. (owners) helped throughout the entire process. I had tons of questions about designs, layouts, options, etc. They were patient and made changes at the design center that showed they cared. The owners came out on site multiple times and even suggested changes that made a huge difference in the final look. The care, workmanship, and final product were unbelievable!

Description of Work
Install pool, hot tub, decking, and sitting wall

Category swimming pools

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

5.0

02/13/2019


Trent R.

When my wife and I started the process of getting quotes from pool companies, we really didn’t know what to expect. We had two friends recommend the companies that they had put their pools and we wanted to have one neutral company quote as well (Superior Pools). To be honest when we started this process we thought we knew what company we were going to go with, but we were wrong. After experiencing all three companies customer service and quote process, the choice for us was clear. Superior Pools was very professional, our salesman made several trips to the house to make sure when we came in to the design center to start to talk numbers and finalizing design that he was prepared. The detail that went into Superior Pools design was awesome. They laid everything out and when we made changes we were able to on the spot see how it changed. At this point we felt very comfortable with Superior Pools and each time we were at the Design Center the owner stopped in to make sure we were getting the experience that we wanted. When they started to dig in our backyard, our Construction Manager was on site and talked us through the whole process. Jimmy, our construction manager, told us that the pool would take 8 weeks weather permitting. The pool ended up taking 10 weeks at no fault to Superior Pools. Had we not had Hurricane Florence and Michael come through during the process, it would have been done on time or sooner. Superior Pools went above and beyond right before Hurricane Florence came through by getting everything cleaned up and done enough so that they could put my hot tub back on the decking so that it didn’t get ruined by all of the mud, dirt, and water. Jimmy our construction manager was great, he was very visible on site and easy to get a hold of if we had any questions. The only thing left for us is to finally get to really enjoy the beautiful pool that Superior Pools built.

Description of Work
Pool and decking

Category swimming pools

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/13/2019

5.0

11/06/2018


David V.

Superior Pools built our pool a few years back. Couldn’t have asked for better service. Workers always on time and completed each and every task most Professionally. Ready to build another pool and couldn’t be more excited to use them again. Pete, the owner is a great guy and always available when you need him.

Description of Work
I ground po

Category concrete repair, pool cleaners, swimming pools

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 07/01/2015

5.0

06/26/2018


Steven R.

We came to Superior Pools & Spa in Cornelius, NC, last fall and asked them to help us reconnect with our sloping, tree-filled backyard and turn it into an “oasis” where we could relax, enjoy and entertain. Peter Johnson and his staff more than exceeded our expectations! They created a work of art, a true architectural masterpiece. We now walk out on the deck of our gunite pool and hot tub/spa and are simply amazed at what they created (see pictures). The workmanship in the stone is stunning, and it simply takes your breath away. We ask ourselves "Why didn't we do this sooner?" Now we regularly spend our afternoons swimming, and our evenings relaxing to the sound of gentle waterfall and the visual of blue lights from the pool. Along with our ground lights and landscaping it is a perfect ambiance. Several nights we’ve even fallen asleep outside on the deck in our patio chairs listening to soft music! We spoke with three pool companies prior to making the decision to go with Superior Pools. We liked Peter right away and felt he would be great to work with given his enthusiasm and professionalism. Once the process began, Peter walked us through a potential design of the pool. We tweaked a few minor things, moving the hot tub/spa, to a different area. Peter was more than open to the change, eager to work to the project that WE wanted. His staff helped us pick out some great stone and tiles and pebble tech (interior flooring and siding) for the pool. The contractor, Jim, then executed the plan to perfection. During the process, Superior Pools was always there to answer questions promptly and address any minor changes that needed to be made along the way in terms of leveling our backyard. They were always courteous and helpful and the pool, which we broke ground on in late December, was finished by April -- in plenty of time for the warm weather -- despite a very rainy winter and spring. We are so thrilled with the beautiful oasis that Superior Pools and Spa created and the workmanship is second to none. We could not be any happier with the work. The people at Superior Pools are professional, and just plain a lot of fun to work with. We highly recommend them to everyone!!!

Description of Work
Installation of a pool and hot tub/spa

Category concrete repair, pavers, gravel, patios, swimming pools

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2018

Images

Review for Superior Pools and Spas - 20135 Knox Rd, Cornelius, NC - 37192384

+1 More

5.0

04/21/2018


Ryan F.

After interviewing a few pool builders, we did not feel that we found the company we wanted to hire for the job. A colleague of mine recommended Superior Pools and told me that both she and her brother used Superior for their pools and highly recommended the company. I gave them a call and Peter, the owner, chatted with me for a while about what we were looking to accomplish with this project. He came out to our house to see the site and we discussed the project at great length there. We felt he was honest and upfront about the entire project and that he offered a wealth of knowledge and design ideas to truly transform our vision into a reality. Peter invited us to his facility in Cornelius where we saw the different material options for constriction. Peter sat down with us there and helped us select everything from the Pebble Tec interior, to the stone and travertine. The building process was flawless and well-orchestrated. We had a great project manager, Tim, who was always happy to answer questions and keep us well informed. He FaceTime’d me while I was away in New York to show me the progress that took place during the trip! The crew was always courteous of our space and truly did a remarkable job! We have had nothing but compliments on how beautiful the finished product is. Our back yard went from being a piece of grass to a resort-style retreat. Upon the completion of our project, we were given “pool school”. A Superior representative came out to our home to teach us how to use the interactive mobile app to control the pool’s functions, how to balance chemicals and how to properly care for and maintain our pool. We opted to hire Superior for the weekly maintenance and it has been just as great as the initial build itself. We would whole-heartedly recommend Superior Pools to any client seeking top notch quality and service.

Description of Work
Pool & Spa Construction

Category pool cleaners, patios, swimming pools

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 10/16/2017

Images

Review for Superior Pools and Spas - 20135 Knox Rd, Cornelius, NC - 36999834

+1 More

5.0

07/10/2017


Kimberly C.

Superior Pool Company far exceeded with superior service and quality. We performed our due diligence and had 3 other companies give us quotes and renderings. It was a big project for us and we were really nervous about making decisions. We chose superior because of their excellence in the pool industry. We were most comfortable with Superior, we dealt with Ralph for our design and for every question we had and I might add we had tons of questions. He walked us through from beginning to end giving us a great level of comfort. He is a true professional with an eye for designing pools. He answered every question and responded to every text message we sent, he even made himself available on a weekend to make some design enhancements. Installing an in-ground pool is a big deal and Ralph was so accommodating and caring. He nailed our pool design making the tiniest of detail changes that in actuality made a huge difference in appearance and comfort for the kids when swimming. The office staff was extremely knowledgeable and informative, Jim the office scheduler was super helpful with finalizing our coping and pool interior. We also loved that they had a local office. The work performed was impeccable and skilled. The workers in and out of my yard were very respectful and neat.I am extremely pleased from start to finish of my pool. This company far exceeded our expectations with the quality of workmanship and customer service. The owner, Peter is a businessman with his whole heart in his business. He prides his business on customer satisfaction. He is approachable and available to his customers and looks after each and every job on his schedule. He is truly running a great company. Within a short few months we were swimming in an oasis!! They broke ground on March 28th and my kids were swimming by Memorial Day weekend. My husband and I can’t say enough about our experience with Superior Pools. Needless to say, a few neighbors have already mentioned how they will use this company based on their work ethics and quality of work. Superior did not skimp on quality based on how deep your pockets are. We got the top of the line pool equipment and material, not because there was an upcharge like other companies, but because the company looks for quality and passes on superior quality to their customers. Definitely a great pool company if you need one. We highly recommend. We are enjoying our yard and pool while entertaining with family and friends.

Description of Work
Install In-ground Pool 17X30

Category swimming pools

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/28/2017

5.0

06/25/2017


Jane S.

My husband & I wanted a swimming pool for years. We decided to get a couple of quotes. We immediately ruled out a franchise company. After getting down to the final two & doing our due diligence we chose Superior. We reallly liked our designer & we met the owner while visiting their showroom. We started construction and then the rains came. I felt terrible for them trying to work in the mud. Besides the weather, everything else went good. Our supervisor was very hands on. The owner also stopped by several times. If I needed anything the office was always helpful. At the end of the project we have a Magnificent Backyard!

Description of Work
Swimming Pool & Spa, Custom Outdoor Kitchen

Category swimming pools

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 06/25/2017

5.0

05/27/2017


Ryan C.

Peter was excellent to work with during the pool build. We received several quotes and feel Superior was competitive with the other pool builders. We made several changes during the build, including moving the pebble sheen finish, increasing size of decking and pool and adding the fireplace. Peter was very accommodating to these changes and was fair with the additional cost quote. Peter and his crew could be reached night/day with any questions or concerns. We encountered some small issues during the build and Peter went above and beyond to resolve. Would not hesitate using Superior Pools again.

Description of Work
Built a large in-ground, gunite pool (approx 30ft x 16ft wide, 8.5ft deep) and spa with large multi-tier travertine deck and outdoor fireplace.

Category patios, swimming pools

Cost $125,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/31/2016

5.0

05/22/2017


Don N.

Didn't build pool but they have offered to refund our initial deposit less permits and costs incurred. I thought this was very fair.

Description of Work
Had a contract for installation of a new pool at our new home originally designed June 2016. Unfortunately, our builder did not adhere to the original grade of our lot which has made it difficult to get the pool we originally designed. Peter Sr. and his team made numerous visits and attempts to reconfigure the pool design to accommodate the new grade and slope of our lot. After much thought and (still) pending repair of our yard by our builder, we decided to hold off on the pool. Superior pools has been very patient as this process is now a year old as a result of building delays from our home builder. Superior was willing to honor 2016 pricing despite delays not related to their company but lack of attention by our builder.

Category swimming pools

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/19/2017

5.0

04/19/2017


Jennifer F.

Peter was a pleasure to work with right from the start. His price was competitive and he was responsive throughout the entire process. Job was complete in 3 weeks. All of his employees/contractors were courteous and attentive to detail. It was a pleasure working with Peter and my husband and I would not hesitate recommending Superior Pools to anyone looking for a backyard oasis.

Description of Work
Installation of a 14x30 fiberglass pool

Category swimming pools

Cost $50,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/11/2017

5.0

03/06/2017


Patty S.

From beginning to end it was great. Even after they finish had questions and they came out on the help even though they did not have toEven after they finished they had questions and they came out on the help even though they did not have to even after they finish I had questions and they came out on the help even though they did not have to even after they finished we had questions and they came out on the help even though they did not have to even after they finish they had questions and they came out on the help even though they did not have to

Description of Work
They did a fantastic job. Exceeded all expectations.

Category decks

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 09/06/2016