Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

A HELPING HAND CONSTRUCTION

Founded 2002 • With Angi since February 2009

4.9

(18) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

400 Karen Ave se

Concord, NC 28025

Description

A Helping Hand Construction is a local home improvements company owned and operated by JC Chapman, bonded and insured company. A company 15 years in the making, here to help you with nearly every need you may have. Bathrooms are our niche, custom work that challenges us is what we work for. Billing is completed and payment is due in full at time of completion. E-mail: Jcc@ahelpinghandconstruction.com....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

11/05/2020


Edward B.

JC’s meticulous attention to detail is second only to his honesty, integrity, and work ethic. I wouldn’t hire anyone else. He’s the guy you call to get the job done right the first or redo a job that was done by a low cost handyman or big-box store installer. I won’t make that mistake twice! Check out the vinyl luxury plank he installed in my mud room. He shaved the door jambs, cut every piece to perfection—even around the dryer vent and outlet, and silicone caulked all the molding to make it waterproof. Thanks JC!

Description of Work
Flooring replaced

Category flooring contractor, siding, woodworking, doors

5.0

03/09/2018


Patrick H.

From the initial contact it was a great experience. I found A Helping Hand Construction on Facebook and sent a message. JC responded immediately and came right over to check out my project. He was very transparent in what to expect. I decided to go ahead and have him do the work and I’m glad I did. He kept me posted on when he was going to be there and did an amazing job on the repairs. I will definitely call them again for my next project.

Description of Work
Fix wood rot on roof eve and install a flood light

Category electrician, handyman service, roofing, woodworking

Service Provider Response

It's easy to provide our services when we have great customers to work for.... Thank you for an awesome experience

5.0

09/06/2017


steven L.

Nice work. Would definitely recommend

Description of Work
Garage finish work. Siding repair and exterior door replacement

Category drywall, handyman service, woodworking, doors

Service Provider Response

Thank you, we appreciate every opportunity to help and serve every customer we come in contact with. Thank you so much!

5.0

09/26/2016


Amanda B.

This is the 2nd time I have called JC but for a different issue. I had plumbing issues that needed to be addressed immediately. He was prompt and took care of my issue right away. Thank you JC....AGAIN!

Description of Work
Plumbing under kitchen sink

Category plumbing

5.0

09/01/2016


Amanda B.

AWESOME! I first emailed JC to request a quote. He was very prompt getting back with me and scheduling a time to visit and quote the job. He quoted immediately and scheduled the work in a timely manner. The job lasted exactly the time frame he gave and he was in constant communication throughout the entire process which for me, it a BIG thing. I was a little nervous not really knowing what to expect but I was so happy with the end result. He is broad in construction and it's nice to find one person that can do so many things. If there was an A+ on the rating scale, I would choose it. He is very professional and I won't hesitate to call him again for future projects.

Description of Work
Tiling for laundry room/powder room

Category ceramic tile

Service Provider Response

I want to thank the Blankenships for being so easy to work with, as always it was a pleasure to take care of the projects they requested, very nice family, can't wait to see them again.

5.0

06/22/2016


Jane M.

Description of Work
Owner, JC Chapman is extremely reliable and honest about what should be done.

Category woodworking

Service Provider Response

I want to send a thank you to [Member Name Removed] she is one of my favorite customers who has called me for the past 9 years, we have grown together, she is most definitely a friend, and a friend in business. Thank you!

5.0

03/14/2016


john B.

Excellent, couldn't have asked for a better result... and JC is one is the nicest guys,and extremely easy to work with, we're easy to work with,I could not believe he did all of it by his self.

Description of Work
Trim work, wall removal, hvac replacement, paint, popcorn removal

Category drywall, heating & air conditioning/hvac, woodworking

5.0

12/18/2015


Jennifer S.

It went wonderful. They were very prompt and professional.

Description of Work
They fixed a light fixture, installed blinds

Category handyman service

5.0

08/04/2015


Terri L.

I have a long list of projects to discuss with JC after an incredible first impression. The work was completed within 24 hours of making contact. I was not home when he came by, but he kept me updated, asked a few very relevant questions, and sent a picture when done. Excellent communications. Can't wait until next week to talk about the rest of the to do list. Thank you JC!!

Description of Work
Replaced a mailbox and post

Category woodworking

Service Provider Response

When this customer first called and explained with a great spence of humor that the job was his mailbox, that had been destroyed, he wasn't going to be able to get his mail until the job was completed, it made no sense not to jump on It, I know I would have wanted mine to be a rush as well. I thoroughly enjoyed digging through all the rock to get to the dry clay to set the mailbox assembly in concrete for the next car to hit it as well. Mr. [Member name removed] was a pleasure to work for, and prompt with his payment, would love to work with him again. Thank you Mr. [Member name removed].....

5.0

01/22/2015


GAYLE K.

I received an email from this company telling me that they did not do service in my area.

Description of Work
They were to do 2 Hours of Wood Rot Restoration and Repair

Category remodeling

5.0

09/17/2014


Patricia C.

What a great job - JC opened up our small closet, added shelving and rods and replaced the floor. It now looks like a truly custom made closet. we spent more than we expected, but kept adding on to the project as it progressed.

Description of Work
Expanded a closet

Category drywall, handyman service, woodworking

Service Provider Response

That closet expansion job, was very fun, it really helped that the customers were very easy to deal with and knew what they wanted. We do understand that it was a little more expensive, but it was a one of a kind job.

5.0

08/06/2014


Bruce B.

JC was very good about communicating and being responsive both through Angie's list as well as follow-up phone calls and email. He was very prompt and professional. He even offered "free" advice/suggestions on how we could fix it ourselves if we wanted to. Even though we didn't use him for these services to do this job at this time, I would recommend him and give him a good rating based on the other criteria. Would use in the future if needed.

Description of Work
We contacted 3 different companies for quotes for minor repairs/issues we were having with some of our doors. The request/review was for general handy-man services that we might use in an on-going basis, in addition to fixing our door problems.

Category woodworking, doors

Service Provider Response

We are greatful for the experiences we get with every person, we are very happy to give advice to help the customer fix the problem theirselves if it's simple enough to handle. If they aren't, well, that's why we are here, able to nearly anything, and we stand behind it... Thank you {member name removed}.

5.0

05/19/2014


Karen T.

Hands 4 Hire did a wonderful job. Would use them again.

Description of Work
replaced rotted would under crawl space.

Category woodworking

5.0

02/20/2014


Patricia B.

It went extremely well. JC was very polite, showed up when he said he would, and cleaned up after himself. To be honest, our master bath is such a large area I was afraid I would not be able to use it for a very long time but within a week JC had both floors done. He did a beautiful job! I am so excited with it that everyone who has been to my home in the past week has been treated to a tour of my new master bath! I don't believe I have ever had work done in my home before that the work area was left as spotless at the end of the project as this was. I was truly amazed. It took him about a week and each day he showed up exactly when he said he would. He even left the work area clean each day. That really impressed me. He was very polite and handled himself in a most professional manner. I was all full of questions (It was a big job and I was nervous!) about each step and he was very patient with me. He took the time to answer all my questions. Having work done in your home is always exciting but can be very nerve wracking as well, but JC made it a pleasurable experience. I would not hesitate to recommend him to anyone. We are planning at some point on replacing the tile in my kitchen along with remodeling the kitchen island and when we are ready for that project I will be contacting JC again. I am not really sure how to add a picture but here goes. I hope everyone can see it looks great!

Description of Work
I had two tile floors put in, one was in a very large master bathroom and the other was the floor in my entry way. He cut and laid the tile, did the grout and put molding around in both rooms.

Category ceramic tile, flooring contractor, handyman service, woodworking

3.0

04/05/2013


Kelly H.

J.C. is a very polite and friendly contractor. He built a screened-in porch on the back of our house. He and his helper did a good job except for using cheap materials in the ceiling that bulged in places and a screen door that would not hold it's shape. J.C. made an effort to correct these issues. He replaced the door with another door that also would not hold it's shape. His helper tried tacking the ceiling which worked to some extent. J.C. is an excellent tiler. He retiled our kitchen floor and bathroom. These are excellent. My husband and I would both recommend him highly for tiling. He and his crew laid bamboo flooring in our living area and hallway. It is beautiful except for some buckling issues. We made some notes of a few other areas that needed finishing. (3/4 round by the fireplace, sealing of the rock tile at the front door.) The frustrating part of our experience was the bathroom. My husband and I spent an enormous amount of time (50 miles round trip, 3 trips) to take care of tiling for the bathroom. Our first selection didn't work because when we were back home, we were told that some items were out of stock. If the tile is on the show room, it doesn't mean it is in s tock. Our second trip was wasted when the salesman JC wanted us to use showed us only high-end products and our bill was going to be through the roof. We only agreed to a third trip if JC would guarantee to come with us. JC highly recommended a walk-in shower. I was skeptical about our shower not spraying the bathroom floor with water without a door. JC explained how it would work and not to worry. A year later, we are finally contracting someone to come in and install a glass door so I don't have to wipe up the bathroom floor after a shower. JC was not always present when the workers were there. As a result a lot of work had to be redone due to lack of experience. J.C agreed that his continuing presence was needed in order to guide the progress and accuracy of his workers. When we pointed out that the tiles to the bathroom looked crooked, JC explained it was the initial contractor who didn't build the house square. That sort of information would have been helpful before the work began and not after it was completed. J.C. found a great solution and redid the vanity wall to line up with the tile. The make-up mirror was installed too high and only cold water came out of the shower head until JC thought they may have overlooked the scald-prevention device. Once it was removed, it was fine. We both like J.C very much. I think it became frustrating for him when we asked him about problems we saw and how it would be corrected. It became clear that he was ready to move on to the next job. The overall experience and quality of work we graded at about a C. On the other hand, J. C.'s tiling would be A+

Description of Work
Built a screened-in porch with ceiling fan and doggie door that attached to the back of our house. Retiled kitchen floor with granite tile. Removed carpet from living area and hallway as well as parquet flooring at entrance. Laid down bamboo flooring throughout living area and hallway and put stone tiling at entrance. Replaced floorboards. Remodeled master bathroom. Removed old shower, garden tub, linoleum tiling, old medicine cabinet, lighting. Placed new stone tile on floor, completely retiled a new shower, closed in a window so exterior matched and inside was tiled. Painted bathroom. Built shelves for a linen closet next to new shower. Put in the plumbing and lighting in shower area. Removed popcorn from ceiling, rebuilt vanity wall next to toilet. Installed new lighting above mirror.

Category ceramic tile, decks, drywall, hardwood floor, plumbing, remodeling, roofing, screen repair, woodworking, ceiling fans, home remodeling, interior painters

Service Provider Response

hello, this job started out as the screen porch job, when we installed the ceiling, it was cold out side, when the temps began to rise, the materials we used started to expand and buckle, I offered to completely remove the ceiling and install new materials on the ceiling, which was rejected, the option was to tack up what was there. (this entire job was a good experience, just had punch list items that needed to be worked out, as most larger jobs do.) The shower and the entire bathroom were enjoyable to do. The homeowners were out of town for a week, and they were expecting the work to be on the tail end by the time they returned, therefore a lot of decisions needed to be made in their absence unfortunately, we always prefer homeowners to be around in the event a design decision needs to be made. When the shower was completed, and before the glass wall was installed, the customer was anxious to use the shower and put down towels on the floor incase there was water the splashed onto the floor, I was told the next day, that she was impressed at how little water really came out of the shower, the shower was tested at the time of the completion, and both of us saw that the water outside the shower was minimal, about as much as walking out of the shower wet. The tile supplier we used for this job take good care of their customers, I found out in the process of ordering the tile, the salesmen/women work strictly on commission, little to my knowledge at the time I sent the customer to pick out what they wanted, so I indeed went with them to pick out more of what would be within their budget. Then thankfully all was well. Yes there were times when I couldn't be there, I being the owner have the responsibility of estimate appointments that I must keep. My standards are higher, when something is not done to my standards, I will have it redone until I am happy or I will do it myself. The customer requested that we frame in the mirror which was sitting on the vanity, so it had to be raised up, no options there, it still sits very very close to the vanity surface. The wall referenced that had to be moved in order for the tiling to be correct was a knee wall next to the toilet that wasn't straight into the room, the customers were not in town and not in the country for me to inform them of this so as a result, afterwards we made it right. There were indeed a couple of spots in the bamboo flooring that needed attention, and were fixed, if there is anything still not right with any of the work performed, I have not been notified, to this date. we used a run of the mill vinyl screen door with a doggy door in it from the factory, the top of the door came apart, we returned it and installed a new one, it also came apart, lol. We attempted to install a storm door that the customer bought and it would not work, so we installed the second door we had used and installed some diagonal bracing, to this date I am under the impression that it is just fine. We will not be using the same ceiling materials we used there, it was definitely an inferior product. Overall, the job went well, the Hardings are very nice, and as with any large job there are always punch list items towards completion that need to be worked out.

5.0

10/14/2011


Joan D.

JC was wonderful. He was friendly, courteous and very trustworthy. He completed what I thought would take two days in about 6 hours. He cleaned up everything, you couldn't even tell he was there except that everything was fixed perfectly. I am keeping his name and number and will definitely utilize his services again.

Description of Work
JC fixed all the decorative window trim in my house, about 20 windows worth. He also patched a hole in our kitchen and painted it all to match.

Category handyman service, woodworking

5.0

03/11/2010


Mark K.

I called A Helping Hand Construction (owned and operated by Mr. JC Chapman) and asked him to do some drywall work for me. I explained that I needed the work done immediately. He came out the next morning and checked on what exactly I needed done. I had a new countertop coming the following week, and I had been taking off the existing ceramic tile, which had destroyed sections of the drywall. This had to be repaired before the new countertop arrived. I gave him a check for supplies, and he returned the next day to begin working. From the very beginning I found him to be friendly, honest, a hard worker, highly skilled and conscientious about cleaning up the mess. He finished my job in two days, including removing my wall mounted microwave, repairing that wall, and then reinstalling the microwave. He did great work with the drywall, the spackling compound and the sanding. I am totally happy with every aspect of my experience with A Helping Hand Construction and have Mr. Chapman's business card in my files for future work. Mr. Chapman does all types of handyman and construction work, and his rates are very reasonable. ETA: Mr. Chapman recently did a wonderful job replacing the tile and grout in our master bathroom. He, as always, arrived on time, cleaned up every speck of the mess, charged a reasonable fee, and the tile looks perfect. I also recently had him look at our heat pump, which was blowing cold air in December. He spent several hours diagnosing the problem, buying the new part it needed and replacing it. It works perfectly now, and we are happy with his work.

Description of Work
Mr. Chapman replaced a large section of drywall in my kitchen. I had torn out a ceramic tile backsplash and damaged the drywall all around the countertop area. ETA: I've called Mr. Chapman back to do two other jobs for me - re-laying some tile and grout in our bathroom and also repairing our heating/AC. Edited May 2011 to add: JC returned to our house to replace a leaking "boot" on the roof where our septic vents. We paid $400 and he re-routed the venting in the attic the proper way, adding a second boot and replacing the first one. We plan to have him return to install an attic fan soon. As always, JC is professional, prompt, friendly, competitively priced, and he does great work. He's the only handyman to call for all the little jobs around your house! Updated 8/11: Mr. Chapman has done several other jobs for me since I originally wrote my review. I also wanted to add two categories to his profile because he's focusing his business on tile installation, hardwood floor installation and HVAC installation and repair. We've had him service our non-functioning A/C heat pump, and plan to have him install a new one for us when this one is beyond repair. He installed ceramic tile in one of our bathrooms this month, and did a wonderful job. It totally changed the look of our bathroom, and I highly recommend him for this type of work. He has also cleaned our gutters and patched some drywall in the bathroom for me. I'm comfortable enough with JC Chapman to leave him alone in my home I have to go get my kids from school. He's totally honest, and respects my home and belongings.

Category ceramic tile, drywall, handyman service, hardwood floor, heating & air conditioning/hvac, remodeling, woodworking

5.0

02/19/2009


Jennifer A.

It was a great overall experience. JC came to our house and advised us as to what kind of door we wanted to get. We bought a vinyl french door kit from Lowe's. JC's price did not include the door itself, but he did go pick it up, install it completely, and he hauled away the old door, and cleaned up. It was a one-day job, and he was very professional and kind to my two young children, who wanted to be right in the middle of everything. I feel that he was very honest with me, and I felt comfortable with him in my home. There was a bit of trouble making the doors fit into the space correctly, but he handled all the issues without extra charge.

Description of Work
We replaced our exterior sliding glass door with a pair of French Doors.

Category doors

    Other local Pros in your area

    MyNewFloor.com

    A premier flooring company in the Carolinas, MyNewFloor.com was founded by a talented, design savvy professional with 15 years of experience in designing and installing a variety of flooring products. Our company is built on the principles of honesty, quality, craftsmanship, and a sincere effort to provide 100% customer satisfaction! You can be sure that only our professional, knowledgeable and experienced installers will complete all the work for you. We do not sub-contract any of our projects.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by MyNewFloor.com on Angi
    Best Floors

    Since 2000, Best Floors has provided quality services to clients by providing them with the professional care they deserve. Since our founding, we’ve worked with numerous clients throughout the area. Great service begins and ends with experienced and friendly professionals, which is why we put so much consideration into selecting only the best to join our team. We complete projects efficiently and on schedule, and go above and beyond to form lasting relationships with our clients. We are proudly serving Charlotte, North Carolina and the surrounding communities; we have over 30 years of experience in the flooring business. Specializing in all types of floors, we look forward to working with you on your flooring project.  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by Best Floors on Angi
    SCS Painting Company

    SCS Painting Company has over 13 years of experience in residential painting, drywall, carpentry and leak repairs proudly serving the Charlotte metro area. Our prices our competitive, yet we don't compromise quality. Please, call us today for a free estimate. for tex 704 293 4993  

    Angi Super Service Award badge
    Super Service
    Award 2021
    Offers by SCS Painting Company on Angi

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    No License Required for Trade
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover
    Senior Discount
    10%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    CARPENTRY, DRYWALL, FLOORING, BONUS ROOMS, WOOD ROT REPAIRS, BATHROOMS, PAINTING, KITCHENS, INT-TRIM, DOORS, DECKS, COUNTER TOPS, TILE, SMALL PLUMBING REPAIRS, REMODELING

    Services Not Offered

    NO GRANITE, NO CARPET (INTERIOR INSTALLATION) WINDOW SASH, HARDWARE REPAIRS. We do not hold a North Carolina Plumbing Contractor License, a North Carolina Heating License, and a North Carolina Electrical License and do not perform work necessary/governed for these licenses.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about A HELPING HAND CONSTRUCTION

    How is A HELPING HAND CONSTRUCTION overall rated?

    A HELPING HAND CONSTRUCTION is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are A HELPING HAND CONSTRUCTION open?

    A HELPING HAND CONSTRUCTION is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 6:00 AM

    Saturday: 9:00 AM - 12:00 PM

    What payment options does A HELPING HAND CONSTRUCTION provide

    A HELPING HAND CONSTRUCTION accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover

    Does A HELPING HAND CONSTRUCTION offer free estimates?

    Yes, A HELPING HAND CONSTRUCTION offers free project estimates.

    Does A HELPING HAND CONSTRUCTION offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, A HELPING HAND CONSTRUCTION offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does A HELPING HAND CONSTRUCTION offer a senior discount?

    Yes, A HELPING HAND CONSTRUCTION offers a 10% senior discount.

    Does A HELPING HAND CONSTRUCTION offer emergency services?

    Yes, A HELPING HAND CONSTRUCTION offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by A HELPING HAND CONSTRUCTION?

    Yes, A HELPING HAND CONSTRUCTION offers warranties.

    What services does A HELPING HAND CONSTRUCTION offer?

    A HELPING HAND CONSTRUCTION offers the following services: CARPENTRY, DRYWALL, FLOORING, BONUS ROOMS, WOOD ROT REPAIRS, BATHROOMS, PAINTING, KITCHENS, INT-TRIM, DOORS, DECKS, COUNTER TOPS, TILE, SMALL PLUMBING REPAIRS, REMODELING

    Are there any services A HELPING HAND CONSTRUCTION does not offer?

    NO GRANITE, NO CARPET (INTERIOR INSTALLATION) WINDOW SASH, HARDWARE REPAIRS. We do not hold a North Carolina Plumbing Contractor License, a North Carolina Heating License, and a North Carolina Electrical License and do not perform work necessary/governed for these licenses.