Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

The Pest Control Authority Inc

Founded 1980 • With Angi since June 2003

4.8

(51) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

PO Box 220704

Charlotte, NC 28222

Description

Additional address - 4331 monroe Rd, 28205. Award winning. Additional DBA - Pest Control Authority Inc.(The).

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
BELLE H.
2.0
04/18/2017
They were recommended to use by our son who had bats that they got rid of. But they did not do a good job with the racoon deal. I am very disappointed in them. They told us that they would come out and put traps in two or three places. They only put 1 trap until the middle of the week and they came and put another one. He looked under the house and said that he did not see anywhere that a raccoon could get in. But we had some work done under the house last week and the man said he saw a hole with fur on it. So, if he could have seen it the pest control guy could have seen it. Also, we were told that Pest Control Authority would remove all the droppings and put deodorizer and stuff under there. When the plumbers came back the droppings were not removed. We were very disappointed in the Pest Control Authority. I think the price was way too high for what they did. They were very responsive. They came when they said they would come. As far as paperwork is concerned the guy was very professional. As far as doing the work to get rid of the racoon I would not call it very professional.They came out on 3/3/17 and he explained what they did and signed the papers and all that. Then they came the next week on Monday to put the traps out. They asked for a deposit. I think I paid $350 or something like that and then I paid the rest later when the guy came out to remove the traps and spray the deodorizer. He gave me a total, but the total didn't turn out to be right. I wrote the check for what he told me and then they called me later and said I owed still owed thirty more dollars. It was kind of a rigamarole.
Description of Work
Racoon removal.
Category
pest control
Kevin W.
4.0
06/10/2015
They were expensive, but they did a good work and said what they were going to do. They did the work on time.
Description of Work
The Pest Control Authority did preventive measures on the house to not let the animals back in.
Category
pest control, animal removal
Jeffrey S.
5.0
03/24/2015
I contacted The Pest Control Authority to see if they could help keep the birds out of the exterior exits for the vent fans in our home. Before I could even explain what I needed, the woman in the office was already getting me in contact with a technician in my local area. He returned my call very quickly and explained the process to me. He was out the next day to perform an inspection and gave me an estimate. This was on a Thursday. By Monday morning, he had one of his guys out on my property taking care of everything. He even took the time to walk around the house with my wife to explain the work and make sure they were covering everything. Josh and Justin were professional and curtious throughout the entire process and I would not heistate to recommend them in the future.
Description of Work
Removed bird nest material from exterior vents and covered
Category
pest control, animal removal
Brian P.
2.0
07/27/2014
On a recent Saturday night, a black rat snake somehow got into our home. After unsuccessfully attempting to contact several removal companies, I spoke to an employee from the Pest Control Authority. I informed him that the snake was underneath our dishwasher and had not exited the area because my wife and I did not take our eyes off the area. When I spoke to the employee initially, he told me he was returning from another call and would not be able to come to our house for three hours though the location he was driving from was approximately 45 minutes away. At this point we were desperate and I inquired about the price for removal, which I was told on a Saturday night would be at least $200. Again, at this point, we were anxious to resolve the situation and asked if he could come even if it took three hours. Next, he said he could be there in two hours and reminded me the price would be $250 just to show up at our door and possibly more if the snake moved to another location. I explained it was seemingly contained underneath the dishwasher, but he said and logically so it could have moved to a adjacent cabinet or another close location, which would increase the price. In other words, our experience was being quoted one price, then another higher price, and then possibly another price if the snake moved three feet. While I realize it was 6:00 on a Saturday night and definitely not the best time to perform a job, it seems being upcharged is not an effective or fair business practice. After I spoke with the business who at least said they would perform the service where others would not return our calls, I was able to remove the snake with the help of a neighbor. Finally, I can thank the business for suggesting we remove the bottom of the dishwasher, which enabled us to see the snake underneath the dishwasher and coax in into the open and catch and remove it. It seems the moral of the story here is hope a snake does not get into your home on the weekend because seemingly businesses won't return your phone call or will try to overcharge you.
Description of Work
Provided phone support
Category
pest control, animal removal

Service Provider Response

I am sorry your experience with us was unpleasant. I hope the on call technician informed you that close to 95% of all service calls for snakes result in us unable to remove the snake because they are gone when we arrive at the customers home/business and we are still required to collect a trip charge of $95.00 and even more for an after hours or weekend call (the trip charge does not include removal and because every situation is different, very hard to quote over the phone). Because of the trip charge and the fact that most snakes (including black snakes) are harmless and beneficial to the environment, we try to discourage customers from putting in a service call for snake removal. Only a true emergency warrants a service call for a snake. I am glad that we were there for you when you needed someone to talk to and that our advice of removing the bottom of the dishwasher helped to remove the snake.
Thomas P.
5.0
06/10/2014
The vendor fully inspected the crawl space of our home for termites and other pests. Provided mouse traps and bate in the crawl space to deter unwanted pests. The service technician was very professional and personable.
Description of Work
Provide annual pest control coverage and termite coverage.
Category
pest control
Russell L.
5.0
04/09/2014
I call and they come out same day. If the first visit doesn't fix it then they come again. The team always are nice and they really know their business
Description of Work
I have used these guys for years and had no issues
Category
pest control
Lolita S.
5.0
11/12/2013
They were very professional. I had a problem with squirrels or mice in the crawlspace and in the attic. They set traps and checked back with me bi-weekly as needed. They were very informative about what they were doing and what was going on.
Description of Work
I have used The Pest Control Authority Inc for pest control and wild life control.
Category
pest control, animal removal
Joyce H.
5.0
09/23/2013
They are great. They will come out to respray if you are having any issues. they also took care of some rodents that made their way into our home.
Description of Work
regular pest control
Category
pest control
Diana D.
5.0
06/27/2013
We have used them for 3 1/2 years. They are great. We haven't had any problems. They are very friendly and professional. Polite and clean. We really like them.
Description of Work
Quarterly treatment.
Category
pest control
Mark M.
5.0
05/13/2013
They were great. They came out, set the trap and they repaired everything that has been damaged by the installation of traps.
Description of Work
I have used the services of The Pest Control Authority for pest control.
Category
pest control, animal removal
KAREN & WILLIAM P.
5.0
05/07/2013
We thought they were very prompt, came when they said they would, and were very professional. They were more reasonable in price compared to others.
Description of Work
They removed some opossums from under our home.
Category
pest control, animal removal
Autumn S.
5.0
01/23/2013
Excellent response one hour after call made shortly after 8 a.m. Service prompt. Price quoted. Exceptions to quote advised. Call from Justin to advise on the way and get directions. He went to work immediately and wasted no time. He got the job done admirably, in spite of a challenging entry. He advised need for repair of crawlspace door and explained chemical applied to kill bacteria and neutralize odor. I forgot to ask for Angie's List 5% discount, although I promised good review.
Description of Work
Dead oppossum removed from crawlspace. Area deodorized and sanitized. Possum disposed.
Category
animal removal
Beth S.
5.0
12/09/2012
The company was EXTREMELY professional. We had a major ant infestation and ants were everywhere. They found a large nest underneath a tree on the side of our home that we had missed when looking around. They baited all around the nest, and placed a large amount of bait inside the house in the areas of infestation. Within 2 days, the ants had vanished. We found over 1000 dead ants in the baited areas. They came back to recheck how things looked twice at no extra cost. We were so pleased that we contracted with them to spray around our house every quarter. Great company and service.
Description of Work
Help with ant infestation.
Category
pest control
Mary Sue F.
5.0
12/06/2012
They have always been prompt and thorough. On the first occasion that I used them all the technicians were tied up so the owner himself came out and checked himself. He was very thorough. We will continue to use them.
Description of Work
We use them for termite protection.
Category
pest control
Paul B.
5.0
10/11/2012
Buying a house in a different state comes with a whole new set of challenges. When we did this and bought a house here in North Carolina while still living in Texas, you never know what can happen. We were having the HVAC system checked out when our HVAC inspector was greeted with a "set of eyes" under the house. We were called back and said the inspection could not continue till the animal(s) were removed. I utilized Angies list and checked out the reviews from "A Pest Control Authority" They were curteous and very rapidly rearranged their schedule to get someone on site immediately. They set traps, and checked them multiple days and made sure the crawl space was secure after the "Rogue Possum" was apprehended. Kudos to the team for the rapid response and enable me to get the HVAC crew back on site just a few days later. Highest recommendation and would gladly use them again,....although I am hoping I won't ever have to. (8->
Description of Work
Came and inspected crawlspace for animal infestation and set traps and safely removed and relocated trapped animals.
Category
pest control, animal removal
Robin H.
5.0
06/28/2012
He discovered the problem, and took pictures of the problem area. He was Excellent. They have the latest technology, and they do what they said they are going to do. They are very intelligent, and they really took authority.
Description of Work
They came after hours to do an inspection.
Category
pest control, animal removal
GWEN M.
5.0
05/31/2012
The technician was very knowledgeable and worked hard to make sure the exclusion materials matched the house or was painted to make it less visible. We have not had any trouble with squirrels since.
Description of Work
Pest Control Authority came out and for a fee of $95 inspected our attic to verify that the noises we had been hearing in our attic were squirrels and found the locations where they were entering. Then we were given an estimate for capturing the squirrels, performing a squirrel exclusion, and also an estimate for excluding other pests such as mice. We were told the exclusion would be performed first, leaving specific holes open so that traps could be set at those openings. We agreed to the charges for capturing the squirrels and the exclusion. The exclusion was then performed a few days later and traps were set. The traps were left for approximately a month and periodically checked. No squirrels were ever caught which didn't seem to be the norm but we also did not hear any more noises in the attic. The traps were removed and the exclusion was then completed.
Category
animal removal
Susan D.
5.0
05/08/2012
.I think they are very reliable and reasonably priced. They are punctual and friendly. I have no complaints about them at all.
Description of Work
.I use The Pest Control Authority Inc for my pest control.
Category
pest control
Martha S.
5.0
05/02/2012
They've always done a good job for us. I've been using them for years. They come out every year and inspect the property to make sure everything is good. They seem to do a good job for us. It seemed to be a going rate for me. The service has always been good. They don't come at a certain time. They just fit me into their schedule. I think they're punctual.
Description of Work
They come for pest control services.
Category
pest control
Carolyn D.
5.0
01/17/2012
Everything went well. Do ask questions to ensure you understand exactly what work will be performed, expectations, warranties, etc.
Description of Work
11/30/2011 placed 5 bait stations for mice: (1 @ kitchen sink, 2 in attic, 1 crawl space, 1 exterior storage room). 12/15/2011 removed 12 temp vents in crawl space, installed 12 new black one piece temp vents; removed old plastic crawl space lining; laid new poly liners 80% in crawl space. Checked bait stations previously set; removed one mouse found in crawl space. Service technicians were very cordial, professional, and proficient in their work. Very helpful in explaining work to be performed and potential ways to avoid future occurrences of the problem experienced.
Category
pest control
JEFF J.
5.0
01/11/2012
We were having problems with a feral cat in our area. It attacked our cat, killed our neighbor's cat, and severely injured another neighbor's cat. We were able to trap and have PCA remove the cat. PCA was great - I called them late at night and they came out early the next morning to remove the cat.
Description of Work
Removed feral cat.
Category
animal removal
David W.
5.0
07/25/2011
They came out once and they did it and we still saw some bugs so they had to come out again and they resprayed. We had no more bugs after that. They didn’t charge us for the second time. They were great and did a good job. The thing that stood out the most about them was their willingness to come back out immediately and solving the problem.
Description of Work
We used The Pest Control Authority Inc for pest control and exterminating. We had them come out couple of times. The last time we used them was during the spring of last year. They came out and sprayed for bugs.
Category
pest control
AMY D.
1.0
06/07/2011
I called on Monday morning, June 6, 2011, when I discovered a yellowjackets nest near my front door. I was told someone would come out to spray it either that afternoon or the following morning. No one ever showed up. I called repeatedly to find out if someone was coming, and there was no answer and the call didn't go to voicemail -- it just kept ringing. That left me wondering if the company was still in business. I was frustrated because I had a handyman over to pull out a shrub at the front of my house, and he couldn't remove the stump because of the nest. If the Pest Control Authority had come out as promised, I could have had the stump removed while the handyman was still here. Or if someone at the Pest Control Authority had called to let me know they couldn't make it, I would have called someone else to come out. So the Pest Control Authority is going to cost me extra, because the no-show means I have to pay the handyman to come back once I get another company to spray the nest. Please note: I had used this company a week early to remove a dead mouse from my wall. An employee showed and removed the mouse, but cut short a full inspection of the house that was promised because he received a call in the middle of the appointment to go somewhere else. So I never had the full house inspected, including the crawl space, where the mouse could have come from. I also asked for an invoice for service performed. The employee said the company would mail one to me. I never received it. I should have known better than to call this company again, but they were prompt the previous visit and I needed someone quick. I wanted to give them another chance. Big mistake, apparently.
Description of Work
I wanted a yellowjackets nest sprayed. The Pest Control Authority agreed to the work, but never showed up for the appointment.
Category
pest control, animal removal
Angela P.
1.0
05/03/2011
NOT RECOMMENDED. UNPROFESSIONAL, SHODDY INSPECTION REPORTS. This was my first experience with a pest control company as this was my first time purchasing a home. This inspection was ordered after I put in an offer on a foreclosed home and this particular company was recommended by my realtor. Like an idiot, I went with his recommendation. The inspector found active termites in the wood debris in the crawlspace (there was no vapor barrier in the crawlspace so the wood was on the soil). As an ignorant first time home buyer, I had no idea that it was required that any active termites found had to be treated prior to closing, which my lender informed me 2 days before the closing date. My realtor also neglected to inform me of this very important fact. And so the scramble began. Immediately, I contacted my realtor to obtain the inspection report and the termite treatment quote from The Pest Control Authority (I had previously requested these documents, more than once, from my realtor and I never received them). Mike, the technician from The Pest Control Authority that inspected the property, called me shortly thereafter to "plug" his business, which, in reality, came across as if he was discouraging me from obtaining other quotes. In fact, he specifically stated that my realtor informed him that I intended to get additional quotes (as if I wouldn't!)! Not a good way to start on the right foot. I asked him to email me a copy of the report and a written contract. He emailed me the quote (about $1,700) to treat the property, which was simply stated in the body of his email - not the professional contract I had requested. He also neglected to email me the report I had requested. I responded, again asking for the report and a written contract. He finally sent me the report, but, again, no written contract. I asked for the contract again and I never received it. At that point, The Pest Control Authority was out of the running for the termite treatment job. But it gets worse. I then contacted 3 other companies and forwarded them the inspection report and they all said the same thing: The WDIR (a state form) was not properly completed. The inspector never checked any of the appropriate boxes. They then asked for a graph showing the termites' locations and other information, such as the property's linear feet, things they said should have been provided by the inspector, especially if he formulated an estimate (which he did). The state even gives an online example of a properly completed WDIR form and it, too, includes pictures and graphs! These items were not included in the report packet that Mike completed. Basically, they couldn't give me a ballpark estimate until they inspected the property themselves because my [paid!] inspector provided no relevant details necessary to formulate a quote. 2 of the 3 companies were able to inspect the property within my time frame, but only 1 was able to treat the termites in time. I'm lucky that it got done in time, no thanks to Mike's shoddy report. Each company provided me with complete reports and graphs - all at no charge. Mike at The Pest Control Authority charged me $90.00 and gave me an incomplete WDIR report and no supporting documentation, like pictures or graphs. That is unprofessional and, in my opinion, unethical. Perhaps Mike did produce these supporting documents but didn't want to share them with me in the hopes of discouraging my pursuit of additional quotes, which wouldn't surprise me since he practically discouraged this when speaking to me on the phone - again, not a good sign of a professional technician. He wouldn't even provide me with a contract! I can only speculate as to his motives, but any way you look at it, it is unprofessional and unethical to treat paying customers as such. I do not recommend that anyone hire The Pest Control Authority to complete a paid termite inspection during your home buying process. If The Pest Control Authority treats inspections in such an unprofessional and shoddy manner, then imagine how they'd treat the actual termites. Just the thought makes dread coil in the pit of my stomach. NOT RECOMMENDED.
Description of Work
Termite Inspection (WDIR - Wood Destroying Insect Information Report). This inspection was ordered after I put in an offer on a foreclosed home.
Category
pest control
Amanda H.
5.0
04/04/2011
It went fine, I wasn't even home. I have a quarterly service with them.
Description of Work
The Pest Control Authority did exterior spraying and confirmed there were no rodents or infestation .
Category
pest control

    Other local Pros in your area

    Green Mango Pest Control

    We can take care of all of your pest control needs.  

    Angi Certified

    Remedy Pest Control

    Remedy Pest Control is Charlotte's premier provider of integrated pest management solutions, using common sense and scientific principles to treat and exclude unwanted pests. Remedy offers traditional and botanical treatment solutions for general pests, mosquitoes, termites, bed bugs, rodents, squirrels, and moles.  

    Angi Certified

    2022 Super Service Award

    Offers Coupon

    Economy Exterminators Inc

    Award winning. "Caring People---Careful Solutions" "Consider It Done". All our employees undergo an extensive background check.  

    Angi Certified

    Business Highlights

    Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Ask for details
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Ask for details

    Services Offered

    Monthly and quarterly preventive pest control, termite inspections & treatments, Wildlife inspections & exclusions.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about The Pest Control Authority Inc

    How is The Pest Control Authority Inc overall rated?

    The Pest Control Authority Inc is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are The Pest Control Authority Inc open?

    The Pest Control Authority Inc is open:

    Monday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 7:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does The Pest Control Authority Inc provide

    The Pest Control Authority Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check, Visa, MasterCard, Discover

    Does The Pest Control Authority Inc offer free estimates?

    No, The Pest Control Authority Inc does not offer free project estimates.

    Does The Pest Control Authority Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, The Pest Control Authority Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does The Pest Control Authority Inc offer emergency services?

    Yes, The Pest Control Authority Inc offers emergency services.

    Are warranties offered by The Pest Control Authority Inc?

    No, The Pest Control Authority Inc does not offer warranties.

    What services does The Pest Control Authority Inc offer?

    The Pest Control Authority Inc offers the following services: Monthly and quarterly preventive pest control, termite inspections & treatments, Wildlife inspections & exclusions.