Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

COVID-19 Update
We are actively performing limited services. We are taking additional precautions to protect our customers.

All exterior services available, some interior services are limited. Daily installer safety meeting with temperature screening; gloves & masks when working inside, sanitize commonly touched surfaces.

Health & Safety Measures

We complete exterior work only (No need to enter home)
We offer estimates and quotes using video calling
All statements concerning COVID‑19 business operations and essential services are informational only, and are self‑reported and not verified by Angi.

Serpaco Painting

Founded 2003 • With Angi since June 2014

5.0

(88) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

6000 Fairview Rd Suite 1200

Charlotte, NC 28210

Description

At Serpaco Painting, Inc. our mission is to deliver the best, from outstanding customer service to painting work that stands the test of time. We use our decade of experience, combined with value and customer care, to give our house painting clients the best experience possible. At Serpaco, we pride ourselves on attention to detail while providing true home improvement value....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

02/24/2022


Dana S.

Pro: Meticulous, professional, timely, excellent work product. Would re-hire them without a second thought. Con: Can't think of any, except maybe that they aren't the cheapest? We tend to not hire the cheapest service providers anyway - usually get what you pay for. We recently moved to Charlotte; knew when we bought the house that the relatively recent addition needed some fresh attention to address the original painter's failure to prime, resulting in deteriorating paint as well as some wood rot on windowsills and trim. We saw Serpaco Painting busy at work on historic homes in Dilworth and decided that if they can be entrusted with that work, we should at least get a quote. The owner, Chris Gray, arrived to give an estimate and we knew right away he is the kind of person we prefer to give our business to. He took time to carefully evaluate the job and give us what we felt was a reasonable estimate - he described his business as not the cheapest but not the most expensive. When the crew arrived, his crew chief, Hugo, was also personable and professional. The crew remained roughly the same throughout the job and were pleasant and polite (never saw a cigarette around them, either). They consistently showed up when they said they would, explained what the day's priorities were and then followed through. Chris was onsite at least once a day to keep apprised of progress and to point out any additional priorities to Hugo and the crew, and also to touch base with us. He also provided well-reasoned advice about colors and contrasts when we asked. The job ended up requiring more woodworking than anticipated as there was some additional, hidden rotted wood. Hugo may be primary a painter but he is also an adept craftsman, rebuilding our front porch facade and column. They prepped more than any painting crew I have ever seen, sanding for about a week before starting any paint. The priming was thorough and the painting very well-done. When the job was deemed to be nearly complete, Chris came to walk around with us. He noticed the things we had noted, but also pointed out several other areas that were not to his liking; Hugo came back the next day to repaint one of our shutters that was a little streaky, and one entire side of the house that needed another coat to counter the effects of the sanding that was required (the extra coat improved it tremendously), but also to take off, sand, and refinish our front door. Although the front door was not part of the coat, it seemed that the bleach used in pressure washing the siding had dripped through the plastic-and-tape covering intended to protect the door. The refinished front door looks great, too. We are extremely happy with the finished product and suggested that Chris can keep his sign in the yard as long as he wants.

Description of Work
Repairing exterior trim as needed and painting entire house exterior

Category woodworking, house painters

5.0

05/05/2020


Trudi and Tom A.

I have owned a house in Charlotte for 30 years. Serpaco Painting is the best painting company I have used. Serpaco has painted my house twice and my daughter’s house once. All three paint jobs have been outstanding. You may think there’s not much involved in painting a house; how hard can it be, right? That’s a common misunderstanding. If you want a result that looks great and will last many years, choose Serpaco. Here’s why they’re so good. Chris Gray runs the company in Charlotte. He gets personally involved in every job and takes full ownership. He develops the quotation, reviews it with the owner, checks in on the job while in progress and does a final acceptance walk around with the owner. The most important aspect to a good paint job is preparation. Chris plans every detail of the job with his crew and makes sure they understand what has to be done and how. He and his crew leaders are experts at material selection, calking, preventing water damage, and preparing surfaces. These details make your paint job look good and last. Finally, all members of the Serpaco crew will respect your property. They take great care to ensure that nothing is damaged and clean up at the end of every day. In the end, they’ll make sure you’re happy with their work.

Description of Work
Exterior Painting and Wood Replacement

Category house painters

5.0

08/19/2019


Amy M.

We hired Serpaco Painting to paint the exterior of our home, and we could not be more pleased. Chris is wonderful to work with and does a great job explaining the process. His attention to detail is awesome, even when completing a larger scale project. The crew did an outstanding job, and only Chris noticed the small things that made the touch up list. We will definitely use Serpaco Painting again for all of our painting needs!

Description of Work
Exterior home painting

Category house painters

5.0

02/14/2019


Jane V.

Although I ended up not using Serpaco Painting I was extremely impressed by Tim Costello who came by my home and gave me a thorough estimate on painting, etc. on my home. His estimate was very detailed and he reflected well on his company. I will keep the company in my files for future painting.

Description of Work
Exterior Painting

Category contractors, house painters

5.0

10/31/2018


Bill G.

Among the best contractors I have hired to work on my house. Chris and crew were responsive to every concern and the work was top quality. The crew is very skilled and has the ability to handle unexpected repairs (its an old house). I am very pleased with how the job turned out. While their pricing may be a bit higher than some competitors it is clear that their quality of work makes the premium worth it. I will likely be hiring this crew again for an interior paint job in the future.

Description of Work
Exterior paint on a 100 year old wood clapboard house.

Category house painters

5.0

10/31/2018


Jonathan M.

Serpaco was great to work with. Punctual, professional, and detailed. I’ll be hiring them again to paint the interior this winter.

Description of Work
Exterior painting

Category woodworking, house painters

5.0

10/04/2018


ROBIN J.

I have only good things to say about this company. From the first estimate to the completion of the work, I felt like our home was a priority. The coordinator assigned to oversee the work (Mason Cossette) did an excellent job of explaining our options and looking for ways to keep the costs from creeping up as unexpected things were discovered (as they always are on a large job). They also did carpentry work, replacing rotted boards on our deck, and were meticulous in their choice of materials (returning some warped wood that didn't meet their standards). I had gotten two less-expensive quotes from other teams, who were not offering the same level of quality (for instance, Serpaco was the only one to quote priming the whole house, which pushed the price up -- but since it had been 20 years since the last paint job, it was money we thought was necessary for long-term protection). Very, very happy.

Description of Work
Painting of 2-story home and sealing of large deck

Category decks, deck cleaning, pressure washing, woodworking, house painters

5.0

07/24/2018


patricia R.

The crew did a great job of painting the exterior woodwork on our house including a large porch with lots of detail work. They also did an excellent job with needed carpentry repairs. They were very pleasant and cleaned up each afternoon before leaving. We enjoyed working with David Presslein, who was in charge of the work crew at our house. He had such a positive attitude and made sure every aspect of the project was done correctly and professionally!q

Description of Work
Painting exterior woodwork of house including a large screened porch

Category house painters

5.0

10/27/2017


Jeanne S.

We had interior walls/trim painted and ceiling popcorn removed and refinished. When Serpaco estimated the project, I pointed out several wallboard repairs we had made previously (3 inch hole that squirrel in attic made, holes in ceiling where I had hanging plants, wallpaper removal scars) that I feared would be difficult to conceal because we are not skilled wallboard repairers. Mason said this would not be a problem. He was right. The walls look amazing. They look brand new—thirty years of wear & tear had disappeared. The ceilings look as good as the walls—smooth even finish and crisp line where wall & ceiling meet. So nice to be rid of the popcorn. Painters were courteous, professional, and skilled craftsmen. Floors were well protected and after cleanup, I did not find any splatters at all. Excellent and quality work! Will use again and recommend to others.

Description of Work
Paint interior walls and trim. Remove popcorn from ceiling and refinish.

Category interior painters

4.0

10/04/2017


Peter S.

They did a great job but quite a bit of carpentry work had to be redone. Redone without hesitation after I pointed out issues. Mason was the lead representative at the company.

Description of Work
Exterior painting.

Category house painters

5.0

09/13/2017


Allison S.

I hired Chris from Serpaco initially after reading Angie's List reviews that assured me that Serpaco was a little bit more expensive, but completely worth the small extra money. I found that assessment to be completely true, so much so that I hired them again when I needed interior work done (and will be hiring them once more when I do some kitchen work). Chris and his crew did several things that impressed me: first, they were always timely and communicated well, which, while basic, is often not the case with vendors. Second, their attention to detail was superb, and they explained what they were doing well. For instance, Chris told me that the reason I had some rot on a cornerboard was because it was installed first and then painted, when the proper way to do it is to paint it first so you can coat all six sides of the board to keep moisture out. Finding all sorts of little things that I had overlooked was very helpful, and the attention to getting everything just right over the course of the job was excellent. Third, they were true to their estimates. When our interior job turned out to be a bit tougher to complete than they estimated, they still charged me the amount they promised initially. To me, that is truly the standard it should be, and yet so few vendors manage to hit that standard. Chris did it impeccably. Fourth, they were simply pleasant to work with and be around. Everyone had a "can do" attitude, and even went so far as to explain what they were doing to my very curious children (two- and four-year-olds) even though it undoubtedly slowed them down a bit. I've already recommended Serpaco to friends and coworkers, and given them the highest compliment, which is to book them without getting competing quotes for a second job. It is certainly my pleasure to recommend them to the Angie's List community without hesitation.

Description of Work
Exterior trim/boxing replacement and painting; Interior removal and replacement of wainscoting and replacement

Category woodworking, house painters, interior painters, doors

5.0

09/02/2017


CHARLES D.

Serpaco has a good team with quality teammates. The project turned out great, I’m pleased with the final results. Although Serpaco did a good job of responding to all punch list items, there were more punch items than should have been, had they conducted a better quality review during and at the end of the project.

Description of Work
Paint house including any bad wood replacement and shutters replacement.

Category pressure washing, woodworking, house painters

5.0

04/27/2017


Carrie S.

We are so happy with our project. Chris and his crew provided outstanding work and quality craftsmanship. They truly cared about the end result, not just completing the job. Coordination with other service providers was handled smoothly. Unexpected circumstances which surfaced during our project were handled professionally. The attention to detail was reassuring and follow-up was consistent and timely. Ours was a (relatively) large project that was well-managed from start to finish. This was not our least expensive estimate, but the quality and workmanship made it money well spent! I can highly recommend Serpaco Painting, and will definitely be using them again in the future.

Description of Work
Exterior painting - residential Carpentry repairs - siding, trim, etc

Category siding, pressure washing, woodworking, house painters

5.0

04/27/2017


Carrie S.

We have used Serpaco for 2 different projects. They repaired and painted the exterior of our home about a year ago. High quality work, attention to detail, and the exterior is holding up exceptionally well. Our interior project consisted of painting a few rooms as well as a ceiling repair in the kitchen. The repair looks amazing and the interior project was managed as well as the exterior project. In both projects the painters were courteous, thorough, and project sites were clean/neat as possible. Chris Gray does a great job communicating before,during, and after the project. Serpaco does high quality work, and I would not hesitate to recommend them for any project.

Description of Work
Exterior paint and interior paint

Category drywall, woodworking, house painters, interior painters

5.0

02/27/2017


Cassandra W.

I found Serpaco Painting from Angie's List, and I couldn't be happier. Chris Gray runs a top-notch business. It's probably not be the cheapest, but for the quality and service, it was worth every penny and then some. The crew was professional, speedy with top quality work, and always left the job site clean and tidy. It's been a year since they did the work, and it still looks fantastic! I had put off painting the house longer than I should have because I had no idea of what color to paint. By the time Serpaco got here, things were looking pretty grim. They provided a professional color consultant who was fantastic. She had great ideas I never would've thought of. We also needed a fair amount of prep-work before painting could begin due to things like wood-rot, however, this was easily handled by Serpaco's excellent people. Chris Gray is a top notch project manager and communicator. Throughout the entire job, and even a year later, we've been completely satisfied with the quality of work.

Description of Work
Exterior painting

Category house painters

5.0

01/31/2017


Marcus C.

great-very professional and althoughnot the cheapest, flexible with price and better quality was worth the premium

Description of Work
exterior and interior painting

Category gutter cleaning, siding, deck cleaning, pressure washing, woodworking, house painters, interior painters

5.0

01/31/2017


Marcus C.

they were extremely professional, attention to detail and you received what you paid for--recommend them

Description of Work
exterior painting

Category house painters

5.0

01/14/2017


R Brian H.

Team arrived on time, performed the services as discussed, were extremely courteous, and neatly managed the worksite. Mason and team were a pleasure to work with on the project.

Description of Work
Paint basement and 3rd floor walls, molding, and ceiling plus repair sheet rock damage.

Category drywall, interior painters

5.0

10/30/2016


Jennifer R.

A friend of ours recommended Serpaco and decided to hire them after we saw the work they did. We couldn't be more pleased with our paint job. I would say Serpaco is a restoration painting company - they bring back the original integrity and beauty of your home. Anyone can paint - and many other companies will do just that - as little work as possible and "paint over" areas which should truly be sanded, caulked, restored, etc. When Chris Gray (project VP) came to our house, we knew we were asking him to repair many years of poor paint jobs. It's unbelievable to me that it took us 10 years to find a quality painting company. If you are looking for a DETAILED paint job with sanding/restoring to original integrity, this is your company! Chris, Mason, Jaime and the rest of the crew were very accommodating and respectful. They did a very thourough prep and clean up after each day. Our wood columns in the front of our house were destroyed by a previous painting company and Serpaco made them look new again. The wooden exterior window sill/frames were sanded down to the original wood and restored to unimaginable beauty. Wood rot repair was also done very well. Chris was also able to work with our budget and special requests. Serpaco truly has the customer in mind and has the "customer is right" mentality and their attention to detail is top notch. I highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
Exterior painting and restoration, wood rot repair. Interior painting and woodwork/crown molding repair.

Category woodworking, house painters, interior painters

3.0

09/19/2016


MELISSA A.

They came to give an estimate and pretty much told us they didn't want the job. They wanted to reside the entire house. That would be nice but 1) wasn't what we asked for a quote on and 2) was way more than we'd planned on spending on our house this year. We never got an estimate for painting from them.

Description of Work
Exterior painting on gypsum board

Category house painters

5.0

07/17/2016


ELIZABETH P.

Very Well. Was very patient with us as we we made decisions about exactly what we wanted and made sure we were completely satisfied with the quality of the work and clean up. Also, had some good suggestions about what to do with some wood detail on the front of our house.

Description of Work
Exterior House Painting

Category contractors, house painters

5.0

05/31/2016


Winton B.

We are very pleased with the service provided by Serpaco Painting. Tim Costello, area manager, was prompt in making his estimate and setting a date for work to begin. He immediately noticed several defects in the woodwork that were not obvious to the untrained eye and made recommendations for correcting them. The carpentry work was performed by a very skilled carpenter. All the employees were polite, of good humor and always busy; working full days stopping only near sundown. Tim was frequently on hand making observations and recommendations as the work went forward. Serpaco provided a five year guarantee and we expect it will last beyond the guarantee time. Impressively, during the estimation process, Tim said that no payment would be expected until the work was entirely completed to my satisfaction. Work done: The trim on our 2-1/2 story brick house was pressure-washed, primed and painted with 2 coats of high quality Sherwin-Williams Duration paint. Wood needed to be replaced in several places. All work was professionally done and we are very happy with the results.

Description of Work
Pressure washing, caulking windows, sanding flaking paint, spot priming, replacing several rotting wood elements, and application of two-coat of paint to all exterior wood on house, including doors.

Category pressure washing, woodworking, house painters

5.0

05/14/2016


ELIZABETH P.

Chris and the Serpaco team were very professional, detail oriented and helpful with advice based on their expertise and experience. One of the distinguishing factors as to why I hired them was Chris's eye for detail and his willingness to provide suggestions based on what has worked for him in the past. Our house was built in the early 60's and we wanted to return it to more of a retro style look. Chris and Alex the carpenter spent considerable time talking with us about options before they began the work. We also wanted a color that was slightly lighter than what we had picked from SW and Chris was able to work with us on shades. The painters were painstaking about accuracy, neatness and special attention to our recently landscaped yard. All materials and supplies were neatly stored after each day. We also had a "tricky" exterior door situation where we wanted it reframed and cedar to replace the siding on the inserts......working with Chris and team over the course of a few days provided us with an exceptional look to our home.

Description of Work
Removed aluminum siding and replaced with cedar, pressure washed and painted exterior with wood stain to siding and screen porch.

Category deck cleaning, pressure washing, woodworking, house painters

5.0

11/03/2015


DIANE D.

We hired the Serpaco painting team to replace about 26 boards on our wooden deck (because of sap coming through), re-stain the deck, and re-screen and repaint the screened in porch. When I met the team leader, Mason, he was very personable and willing to come to our house on a Saturday to give us a quote. We called him back the next week to set up dates for the project to be completed. The guys who completed the project were extremely hard-working, and Mason checked in on the job every day. He checked all of the small details to make sure nothing was left unfinished. To re-screen the porch, the outside wood boards needed to be pulled off, and some of them broke in the process (this is common). Mason called me when this happened to let me know we were going to need to replace these boards. This is just one example of how I was included in each step of the project. The stain that the team used is a ?dock and deck? stain and has help up very nicely since the work was completed about a month or so ago. We very much enjoy our deck?s ?face lift!?

Description of Work
-Replaced 26 deck boards -Re-stained deck -Repainted screened in porch -Re-screened screened in porch

Category deck cleaning, woodworking, house painters

5.0

10/14/2015


Megan J.

This is the second time I have used Serpaco and once again I have been blown away by their work, their professionalism, and their willingness to go above and beyond. I hired the team to paint and stain several rooms and floors, and to fix poor carpentry work performed by another contractor. Not only were they able to fix the issues, they made a huge difference in the overall appearance of the house. From the initial visit to the end of the job Chris was onsite and always willing to offer suggestions and perspective. His team is extremely professional, always on time, and leaves the job site spotless each day. I have never seen a more hardworking, dedicated team of painters. This is a quality team and a quality company. I continue to be impressed by their work and would recommend them to anyone looking for great work at a fair price. I only wish I could hire them for all of my renovation needs.

Description of Work
Carpentry, exterior painting, interior painting and deck maintenance.

Category deck cleaning, woodworking, house painters, interior painters

    Other local Pros in your area

    Artistic Colors Painting

    We have the experience and dedication to get the job done right! Specializing in painting services; We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won't leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Call or click for your FREE estimate today!  

    Gutter World

    Gutter World has been in business for over 14 years , with offices in three states NC, SC, and OH. The company is built on family values and integrity. We offer quality service at an affordable price. Contact us today about an estimate! 5% discount offered to Military and Seniors.  

    Offers by Gutter World on Angi
    The Brothers That Just Do Gutters

    The Brothers That Just Do Gutters is a fully insured, locally owned and operated. The company was established in 1999. From the beginning, the focus and determination was to create a five-star experience in the home residential and commercial remodeling construction industry. We are committed to our employees and clients throughout every phase of the solution. Call today for a free experience of getting a solution for your gutter or guard project.  

    Licensed
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, PayPal
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Interior & Exterior Painting. Carpentry Repairs. LEAD Safe Certified services for painting and carpentry repairs. Siding replacement - Hardie. Popcorn ceiling De-Texture. Wallpaper Removal. Deck Maintenance Stain & Refinishing. Stained Door Refinishing. Color Consultations.

    Services Not Offered

    Wallpapering

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Serpaco Painting

    How is Serpaco Painting overall rated?

    Serpaco Painting is currently rated 5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Serpaco Painting open?

    Serpaco Painting is open:

    Monday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Tuesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Wednesday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Thursday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    Friday: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

    What payment options does Serpaco Painting provide

    Serpaco Painting accepts the following forms of payment: American Express, Check, Discover, MasterCard, Visa, PayPal

    Does Serpaco Painting offer free estimates?

    Yes, Serpaco Painting offers free project estimates.

    Does Serpaco Painting offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, Serpaco Painting offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Are warranties offered by Serpaco Painting?

    Yes, Serpaco Painting offers warranties.

    What services does Serpaco Painting offer?

    Serpaco Painting offers the following services: Interior & Exterior Painting. Carpentry Repairs. LEAD Safe Certified services for painting and carpentry repairs. Siding replacement - Hardie. Popcorn ceiling De-Texture. Wallpaper Removal. Deck Maintenance Stain & Refinishing. Stained Door Refinishing. Color Consultations.

    Are there any services Serpaco Painting does not offer?

    Wallpapering