Angie's List is now Angi. Learn more

Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

James Brown Air Conditioning & Heating

Founded 2007 • With Angi since February 2008

4.7

(26) Verified Reviews

Business Highlights

Emergency Services OfferedEmergency Services Offered
Bonded
Insured
All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.

Description

James Brown Air Conditioning & Heating, formerly, J.E. Brown's Mechanical group was founded in 2007 by the owner and license holder, James Brown, though James has serviced the Charlotte area for almost 17 years with other companies in the area. The initial service fee is $69 and after that the cost is determined by the job. Free second opinions and free estimates on replacement are available. Financing is available. Additional email - jamesbrownhvac@yahoo.com. Additional contact name - James Brown....

Other local Pros in your area

All City Heat and Air

We repair, maintain and replace residential and light commercial heating and air conditioning systems. We are a "Factory Authorized" dealer of quality Bryant heating and cooling products. We strive to maintain customers for life. Satisfaction guaranteed. Award winning.  

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020
Offers by All City Heat and Air on Angi
EcoGreen Home Services

Our vision is to create a better tomorrow by offering Plumbing, Electrical, HVAC equipment and indoor air quality products that offers the highest level of efficiency and keeps your home and family safe, clean and comfortable. We hope that you will join us.  

McClintock Heating & Cooling

McClintock Heating and Cooling provides quality HVAC products and service to the Matthews and Charlotte, North Carolina areas. We are an Angie's List Super Service Award winner and strive to set new standards in workmanship and customer satisfaction. Our family owned and operated HVAC company will meet all of your heating and air conditioning needs. From heat pumps to central air systems to furnaces, our skilled professionals will assist you with home comfort issues, reduce your energy costs and improve your indoor air quality. With more than 100 years of combined experience, McClintock Heating and Cooling is your quality heating and cooling partner. Award winning.  

Angi Super Service Award badge
Super Service
Award 2020

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

12/11/2020


judy S.

I cannot say enough good words about this company. Every time I have them come out, they act very professional, do a great job, and take care of everything they touch.

Description of Work
Heating and air conditioning

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

12/06/2020


Dona F.

Very interested and caring. Went out of his way to help with another problem.

Description of Work
Yearly heat inspection

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/05/2020


Carol A.

Great. Got here quickly and made sure there wasn't a problem causing more water than usual from the condensation pipe.

Description of Work
Check condensation pipe.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

03/06/2020


Martha Anne K.

They were very prompt and friendly. Answered all of my questions and did an extremely thorough job in looking at the proposed project, exploring all of the options for completing the job and providing a thorough estimate. Definitely will use for the job I had quoted and will sign up for their seasonal HVAC system servicing as well. Highly recommend.

Description of Work
Estimate for Running Gas Line for New Cooktop

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

11/20/2016


Roger T.

James did an excellent job of explaining his recommendations and presenting options. Installation went well, starting on time and completed in time expected.

Description of Work
Full replacement of furnance

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

1.0

12/01/2015


Nancy .

I have called a different company to do annual service at both properties

Description of Work
Despite installing new systems at two properties, they were negligent in doing the routine service of the systems. It took them until Aug to service the A/c at one property and have made no effort to do the fall service.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

Service Provider Response

James Brown Air Conditioning & Heating deeply regrets your frustration with our company. While some of our Priority Service Group clients prefer to have their a/c and heating systems serviced before they turn them on for the season, some prefer to have them serviced after the equipment has had a chance to operate for a while. We strive to anticipate the needs of our clients, we have clearly failed you-a valuable client of ours-in this respect. My records indicate that the a/c service of both your home and your rental property, occurred on July 2, 2015 and that the heating service at your home occurred on September 16, 2015. We did make several attempts to contact your tenant and mailed out a letter as well. I apologize if this information was never received by the tenant or if we have the incorrect information for him/them. Since our phone call ended abruptly, and you have already contacted another company to service your equipment, I did not have the opportunity to express our sincerest regrets surrounding these circumstances, or to determine if there was a way to correct our errors. Our company apologizes for any inconvenience this has caused you or your tenant and we wish you nothing but the best. Thank you.
5.0

09/24/2015


Kim A.

John, the technician, examined the heat exchanger (as well as the rest of the unit) and found that the heat exchanger is what I had replaced two years ago. It was still in like-new condition and had no cracks/rust. The other company had tried to convince me that I needed to buy a $8-10k unit via fear/deception (i.e. could explode, carbon monoxide). John put all my fears to rest and assured me that the unit is in working order and could last another 10 years. He took his time to explain everything and showed me everything (which the other company failed to do completely). I greatly appreciate the honesty and John/James Brown saved me thousands! John even sanded down some terminals and didn't charge me! Very much appreciated! Highly recommend them!

Description of Work
I had another HVAC company tell me that I needed a new gas pack due to a cracked/rusted heat exchanger. I contacted James Brown for a second opinion.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

08/06/2015


Ken B.

James and his crew did an excellent job. They were punctual, responsive, professional and did exactly what they said they would do. We have been using James for several years, but this was by far our most significant AC work that we had done. His pricing is very fair, especially when compared with the quality of work that he does. He even worked with us to find some units and pricing options that fit within our budget. Even after the job is done, he takes the time to walk you through the work that he did and answer any questions. I would not hesitate to use him again given the honesty and integrity that he exhibits time and time again.

Description of Work
Installed two Trane HVAC systems with air handlers, re-routed duct work and intake vents.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

07/31/2015


Chad S.

James was punctual, thorough, and very good at explaining the work that he did. I have used lots of folks in this space and I believe that nobody compares to his work and professionalism. He came highly recommended and did not disappoint.

Description of Work
James responded within 15 mins on a Friday night to fix our broken AC during a heat wave (that had been out for 48 hours). Another company had spent an entire day and couldn't fix it then never showed up to follow up on the work that day. James fixed it within an hour and diagnosed some other issues. I won't use anyone else from now on.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

5.0

04/28/2015


Mary T.

Checked and cleaned everything for the spring. They'll do with the heating in the fall. They are very good and very professional.

Description of Work
Spring checkup and changed the furnace filter.

Category heating & air conditioning/hvac

    James Brown Air Conditioning & Heating

    Founded 2007 • With Angi since February 2008

    4.7

    (26) Verified Reviews

    Business Details

    Phone Number

    Address

    8920 Lawyers Rd. #690356

    Charlotte, NC 28227

    Services Offered

    Residential and light air conditioning & heating maintenance, service and replacement & indoor air quality products.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, Check, Financing Available
    Senior Discount
    5%
    Emergency Service
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes