Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

J C Builders Inc

Founded 1993 • With Angi since May 2003

4.8

(57) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

3514 McKee Rd

Charlotte, NC 28270

Description

JC Builders is an established residential and commercial renovation company that has been in business for over 21 years. Our company has completed a wide variety of construction projects in locations from Raleigh, North Carolina to Columbia, South Carolina. We have accomplished historic renovations in Charlotte including projects such as master suites transformations, kitchen and bathroom remodels, build garages, sunrooms and porch additions, basement renovations....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

08/25/2016


Sam H.

FANTASTIC !!! Bit of history: builders were not interested in doing anything more than their standard build on the porch, so I was forced to engage a contractor to do the work after closing. Best decision I've made so far in my new home build ! James and his crew were excellent ! Not the cheapest quote, but certainly worth the slightly higher price. Prompt, professional, friendly, committed, fun and very good at their jobs. It's nice to work with a company where the owner is on site working right along with the guys - that seems pretty rare these days. James and his crew had some good suggestions for modifications as we went, and I could literally not be happier with the results !!! Think I might just live out on the back porch now ! :-)

Description of Work
Redo my porches and deck (add composite decking, screening the back porch, adding railing to the deck)

Category decks

5.0

06/15/2016


Tina Z.

Built a cottage in my back yard with kitchen and bath, fine finishes, beautiful. Added screened porch and small deck to my 70's ranch with a ramp down to a patio and a curved sidewalk leading to the cottage. Added a garage to the house, perfect match to existing brick, which wasn't easy to match. Nice retaining wall and new concrete driveway. Also did a lot of extras for us inside the house, did demolition on a large existing shed, took some large trees down. There was a small amount of existing siding and he replaced that with siding to match the new garage. Roofline on porch and garage tie in perfectly with existing roof. From the street it looks like a new house. Fun to work with, kept me informed all along the way, great experience. Dealt with issues like the fact that we have a huge number of underground utilities we didn't know about with patience and good problem-solving skills. I am a very happy customer.

Description of Work
Added stand-alone cottage with kitchen and bath in back yard. Added garage, screened porch and deck to my 70's ranch.

Category decks, remodeling, garage builders, home builders, sunrooms

1.0

10/27/2015


STEVE W.

agreed we were not ready to do the job until the fall. that was good for them as they were involved in a big project until then. I tried to call and email and got no response after several tried that's the kiss of death for me

Description of Work
came by to talk to us about a job

Category decks

5.0

10/25/2015


Aliya C.

The process went smooth from the intial meeting to the finished product. James was very professional, easy to work with and very detailed with the entire process. The deck looks great and I am excited about the future use of the new area.

Description of Work
Built a 16x16 deck with alumunium balusters in our backyard

Category decks

1.0

09/01/2015


kevin M.

Even though the day before i was told they did work right down the road from me. He only asked me about a detached garage this was just one project i had for him, We also had a bathroom, kitchen deck and garage retro in mind as well, the garage just needed to be done first.. I told the person i talked to the day before this exact thing i had many project i would like to discuss. Now when i was called by the owner he may not have had all of this information that is not my fault, i was going to say something but i thought if your to busy and don't think its worth the trip to put up a garage i don't think i want to give you 100,000+ to do my other projects. I am sorry to give you a negative mark but my money is as green as the rest and if you don't want it then I guess i will look for someone that does as you told me too do.

Description of Work
Contacted JC builders because of their Reviews. Was contacted the next day by the owner to be told we were an hour away from him and that we were outside of their area.

Category decks

Service Provider Response

Dear Angie's List Member, I'm sorry that you are angry that your project was outside of our coverage area.

5.0

05/29/2015


C D.

Having read many favorable reviews in regard to JC Builders, I contracted them to repair, refortify and resurface both my daughter's and my decks (qty 2) with TREX Decking and Iron Railing . We have lived in Charlotte for over 18 years and I have seen the good and the bad of many contractors over that period of time. Our experience with James Carr and his team was above reproach in every area. They are knowledgeable, efficient, courteous and exude the highest degree of professionalism that quite frankly, is a very rare find these days. They showed up exactly when they said they would. They finished both jobs exactly when they said they would. They were on budget and played no games in regard to price. And they actually went 'above and beyond' in regard to their attention to detail. I am a degreed engineer, so I know a little bit about this stuff. In short, there should be no hesitation to contact JC Builders for any construction related project that you might be planning. They keep pretty busy, but one can rest assured that they will provide the time, attention and expertise required to complete any project to their customer's satisfaction.

Description of Work
Repair and Resurface two residential decks.

Category decks

5.0

05/10/2015


Collette W.

I would like to thank JC Builders for a fantastic job that they did on a garage I had them recently build for me. I contacted James Carr after reading the reviews he had on Angie's list and they were all so impressive that he was my first choice to do this work. The garage was completed and I couldn?t be happier, he and his team were professional in every way, he kept me informed for the duration of the job and it was my pleasure to have him perform the work. I would highly recommend JC Builders, you can definitely expect class A performance from this company. Billy Egan.

Description of Work
Built 2 1/2 car garage, and retaining wall

Category decks, landscaping, masonry, garage builders

5.0

08/20/2014


Brendan D.

Completing a home improvement job can be very frustrating, but working with James was a pleasure. While we had a few ideas how we wanted our new screen porch to look, James was able to bring his expertise to the project resulting in a beautifully designed and constructed porch. James was hands on in many aspects of the construction and made sure the project stayed on track. He communicated promptly if any issues arose that might affect the budget. We would not hesitate to hire James again in the future. He takes pride in his work and it shows. Thank you, James, for providing us with such a beautiful porch!

Description of Work
Built a screened porch and paver patio

Category decks

5.0

07/09/2014


Robert W.

From start to finish James has been nothing but professional to work with. He did an outstanding job on our porch and helped turn our vision into reality. He communicated with us well and consulted with us every step of the way. His employees are courteous and hard working. Working with James on our project has been the best experience we have ever had with a contractor and we would not hesitate to use him again. We love our new porch!

Description of Work
Removed exsisting brick deck; replaced with an enlarged, out door seating and dining area, covered porch and outdoor fireplace.

Category decks, fireplaces, sunrooms

5.0

07/07/2014


carey E.

JC knows how to get the job done, he has all the right contacts and is able to advise on current trends and assist in making decisions when necessary. Was able to complete the job within the time frame stated and kept us updated each week with what work was completed and what would be completed the following work. Total job took about 6 weeks from start to finish.

Description of Work
JC performed the following: -Remodeled the kitchen, including new cabinets, counters, electric, plumbing and install of new appliances -Removed with walls to open up the living space between family room and den area -Painted entire interior of home -Added stone veneer to fireplace -Re-finished hardwood floors throughout the main level of home and the stairs.

Category custom cabinets, countertops, decks, electrician, flooring contractor, plumbing, remodeling, fireplaces, home remodeling, interior painters

5.0

03/12/2014


SARA R.

They did a Great job! They were quick but professional and built a lovely garage/workshop area as well as replacing the windows in the house and residing the house. They added the extra features of grading around the yard and extending our porch. The crews were professional and very reasonable. The built what we asked for.

Description of Work
J C Builders Inc built a large garage for us at our new home.

Category decks

5.0

11/17/2013


Bill E.

It went very good. We initially worked with a designer to create the detail plans. J C Builders then provided us with an estimate, both cost and the time it would take to complete the job. The addition was completed on time and within the cost estimate. We came to know, trust and like the J C Builder workers. We highly recommend their work.

Description of Work
Room addition that included a bedroom, bathroom, and laundry room. They also widened a hallway within the current structure.

Category ceramic tile, countertops, hardwood floor, masonry, remodeling, replacement windows, home remodeling

5.0

11/14/2013


ALAN F.

They did unbelieveable wood work and just turned it into a magnificient living area. We were very pleased with the quality of work and the entire experience.

Description of Work
We hired this company to build and install a screened in porch and he also did tile work.

Category sunrooms

5.0

11/04/2013


Art G.

They did a fantastic job. The inspector that came through afterwards said it was exceptional work. I do not have enough good things to say about them.

Description of Work
Addition to home and new roof.

Category remodeling, roofing

5.0

09/05/2013


Paul B.

Our experience with this company was a pure pleasure. Let me preface this by saying that what we started with was a two acre plot in the corner of a wheat field, so this truly was a scratch built house. The reference originally came from the architect we hired, also found on Angie's list. Being first time home owners all around, we had no idea really what we were getting into . So the first item on the list of things that are incredible about them: they're patient. They're attentive. They were genuinely concerned with making sure we got exactly what we wanted. Price Knowing what things cost is very important. It makes the expectation of the end product realistic. That said, James knows what things cost! He was able to provide a very close estimate, and worked really hard with his subcontractors to get us the most bang for our buck. And he never hesitated to offer an upgrade as long as it was within budget, either. He kept his eyes and ears open for deals on finishes that we never would have been able to afford otherwise. Examples include the Carrara Marble that finishes our master shower, tub, and bathroom counter tops when what we thought we could afford was ceramic and select red oak floors when we were sure we could only afford engineered hardwood. In fact, he managed to do so well saving us money we were able to get a whole house sound system and still have money leftover at the end of the project. responsiveness All of my calls, voicemails, text messages, and emails were returned in a timely fashion. And there were many. Punctuality . Well, the house was built, from the ground up, in about five months, between October and March. Read: WINTER. Wet, soggy, cold, muddy carolina winter. Impressive. Professionalism: James and his staff were present, timely, and while they moved efficiently, they were always welcoming and would answer any questions we had whenever we asked. James even went tile shopping with me when I became overwhelmed and generally stressed out. That was really very nice of him to spend his morning helping me decide the fate of my bathrooms before I had a total melt down. He even learned my tastes after a short time and was able to filter the options. And when I couldn't decide, he always came up with the perfect solution. In summary, our house is beautiful. It's everything we ever dared to dream it could be. I don't think we would have even gotten close if it hadn't been for the kind of service JC Builders provided.

Description of Work
He built our house.

Category decks, hardwood floor, home builders, marble & granite

5.0

08/12/2013


Art G.

They are fantastic. They are nice, and pleasant to work with, he gives good suggestions. We are delighted with his work we have no complaints at all, and we don't think anyone could have done a better job. I don't have enough superlatives for James and his crew. They are just super great. I would recommend them to anyone with no reservations.

Description of Work
He added a sun-room and a deck.

Category sunrooms

3.0

05/15/2013


Dena M.

I called looking for an estimate for some work on my home and left a message which was promptly returned. After answering a slew of very abruptly asked questions, I was informed that they were too busy to help me. I understand that people are busy but there is a better way to go about this. I had to actually say "Well - I guess I should call someone else" and the lady on the phone said "Yes."

Description of Work
I called looking for an estimate for some work on my home and left a message which was promptly returned. After answering a slew of very abruptly asked questions, I was informed that they were too busy to help me. I understand that people are busy but there is a better way to go about this. I had to actually say "Well - I guess I should call someone else" and the lady on the phone said "Yes."

Category remodeling

Service Provider Response

Dear Member, As I mentioned to you in the phone conversation, we are a small, locally owned company with an owner who works with his tools on site. It is this type of supervision and project involvement that makes JC stand out among his competitors and what makes customers choose him. By staying small we are able to provide excellent customer service and quality work that has made our loyal repeat customers happy to wait for a spot on JC's calendar. They would rather wait and have their project done right by someone they trust and feel comfortable being around. We have been in business for 22 years because our customers are happy to refer our company to their friends, family and neighbors.

3.0

04/22/2013


Nicole C.

Rang for a quote but I was told (by a very nice lady) that they had a lot of work on and if they quoted now, the prices of the materials would have changed by the time they could do the work!! I'm pleased they are so busy, but that isn't very helpful. I expect they must be good to be able to turn away possible business.

Description of Work
I was looking for a deck, screened porch, kitchen remodel project to be done.

Category decks, remodeling

Service Provider Response

[member name removed], First of all, it was a pleasure to have spoken with you last week. It was my understanding that you were looking to get an estimate now for a project that would not begin until the end of summer or early fall, which is about 4-5 months from now. Our estimates given are for a guaranteed price for 30 days. If you would like for us to quote your project when you return back from your summer holiday James would love to come out and meet with you about the details of your project. We hope you have a safe and happy holiday! We look forward to the opportunity to meet with you upon your return.

5.0

04/15/2013


Rachel P.

. He was punctual, thorough. There was a slight delay at the feedback but he kept his touch with us. I really was impress with his professional wisdom. He was very good, he seems to really know his stuff. I would recommend him to came out and do a quote, he seems to really know his stuff.

Description of Work
.I contacted J C BUILDERS INC for building a deck and a porch.

Category sunrooms

5.0

04/15/2013


Emily A.

They came out to give us an estimate - we decided not to build the deck.

Description of Work
We were getting estimates on having a 400sq ft deck built.

Category decks

5.0

03/10/2013


Sarah H.

James Carr, owner, was very personable, professional, and hands on. He accompanied me to meet with his vendors (to select tile, bath fixtures, and cabinets) and provided helpful input. He uses a regular crew, and closely monitored/assisted them (as needed) with the work. He was very flexible with revisions during the project, and also allowed me to add in some small projects (eg. redoing tile in a hall bath shower, restoration/replacement work on doors/door hardware) along the way, and did excellent work on these, too. His price was fair, and he was readily available during the project. He kept in close communication with his crew and provided me with frequent updates throughout the project.

Description of Work
Renovated master bath and bedroom, bumped out exterior wall and gutted a room to create a new family room, built a new garage, replaced all old windows, and put in a new driveway and brick walkway.

Category remodeling, garage builders, home remodeling

4.0

11/24/2012


Marj S.

I called to get a quote to perform the above work on 11.1.12. I did receive a voicemail informing me to please call back after the first of the year so that they can give me a quote for work to be scheduled for the spring. We will continue to look for those that can complete our project before spring, but will keep JC Builders in mind in the event other builders are not able to complete before that time. At this time, I can not comment on the professionalism, quality or price of their work.

Description of Work
Called to get a quote for a tear down of my porch to adjust the roofline and rebuild.

Category decks

5.0

10/24/2012


James D.

Our house was fire damaged back in June of 2011. Once we had the green light from our insurance company, we began asking for bids from contractors. This was approximately October 2011. Although JC Builders was our first choice but we did not hire them because 1.) We were being persuaded from our adjuster to go with his recommended company and 2.) JC Builders bid was really high. Highest among five other contractors. We learned, however, that by the end of the project, JC Builders bid, although high, was actually the most realistic bid and matched the overall cost of the project while the others were low to get the job. We initially hired another company and after countless arguments over construction and discrepancies over out of pocket "up grades" our house sat with virtually nothing done after five months (see the review for Home Again Restoration), and they left the job. After nearly year of frustration, we called back JC Builders to take over. James and his crew did more for us in the two-three weeks of that initial call--without even a contract--than our first contractor did for us in six months! After months of frustration, I immediately felt relief working with them as I could tell right away that I was working with professionals. JC Builders took over the job seamlessly and finished on time and within the budget we worked out from choices already made and some not. It was like a puzzle that had to be put together and James and his team did it happily and professionally. They worked long hours and often weekends to get us home since we had be displaced for so long. James surrounds himself with some of the most skilled, polite and pleasant professionals in the construction business and it was truly a pleasure to work with them. Our house is beautiful. I would hire this company again and again.

Description of Work
JC Builders rebuilt our home after a fire damaged the whole interior and part of the exterior of our home. The job included some demolition and rebuild of the kitchen, two living areas, four bedrooms, an office and three and a half baths. It also included all new windows; matching siding; new HVAC, plumbing and electrical systems; tile; flooring; cabinets; countertops; drywall; paint and other aspects of building a house of which I know nothing.

Category ceramic tile, decks, remodeling, siding, garage builders, home builders, home remodeling, sunrooms, basement remodeling

5.0

10/17/2012


Ted D.

James is General Contractor with a great customer side. If you want someone to work side by side with you to design a beautiful outdoor living space he is your guy! We have an unfinished basement and he will be back. Ask James about this review and he will give you our contact info if you want to look at his work or get ideas for your new space.

Description of Work
JC Builders removed our old deck and porch and added a new ~1000 sq. ft. Trex deck with a full masonry fireplace with awesome stone work. He also added an basement space and a beautiful porch.

Category decks, masonry, remodeling, fireplaces, sunrooms, basement remodeling

4.0

07/02/2012


Cornelia C.

Contacted contractor on 7/2/12. Contractor called back but could not come out to give an estimate until November, 2012.

Description of Work
Contacted contractor on 7/2/12. Contractor called back but could not come out to give an estimate until November, 2012.

Category decks, sunrooms

Service Provider Response

Dear Member, I would like to first start by saying Thank You for the "A" rating you gave to our company for "Responsiveness." It was unfortunate that we were not able to co-ordinate our schedules to work on your project. We at JC Builders always strive to meet our customers satisfaction with the quality craftsmanship that goes into all of our jobs. We were featured in Angie's List Magazine this month with a very nice article showcasing a project we recently completed which demonstrates the consistent quality that our company provides. We are continually working to do our very best for all of our clients. I hope that in the future we can be of service to you. Best Regards, JC

    Other local Pros in your area

    Artistic Colors Painting

     

    Gutter World

    Gutter World has been in business for over 14 years , with offices in three states NC, SC, and OH. The company is built on family values and integrity. We offer quality service at an affordable price. Contact us today about an estimate! 5% discount offered to Military and Seniors.  

    Offers by Gutter World on Angi
    The Brothers That Just Do Gutters

    The Brothers That Just Do Gutters is a fully insured, locally owned and operated. The company was established in 1999. From the beginning, the focus and determination was to create a five-star experience in the home residential and commercial remodeling construction industry. We are committed to our employees and clients throughout every phase of the solution. Call today for a free experience of getting a solution for your gutter or guard project.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    Yes
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    $100.00
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Full scale renovations. Room additions. Screen porches. Sunrooms. Decks. Garages. Kitchen & bathroom remodeling.

    Services Not Offered

    Small projects that could be performed by a non licensed handyman. We do not make recommendations for other service providers.

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about J C Builders Inc

    How is J C Builders Inc overall rated?

    J C Builders Inc is currently rated 4.8 overall out of 5.

    What days are J C Builders Inc open?

    J C Builders Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does J C Builders Inc provide

    J C Builders Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does J C Builders Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, J C Builders Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does J C Builders Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    Yes, J C Builders Inc offers eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does J C Builders Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, J C Builders Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by J C Builders Inc?

    Yes, J C Builders Inc offers warranties.

    What services does J C Builders Inc offer?

    J C Builders Inc offers the following services: Full scale renovations. Room additions. Screen porches. Sunrooms. Decks. Garages. Kitchen & bathroom remodeling.

    Are there any services J C Builders Inc does not offer?

    Small projects that could be performed by a non licensed handyman. We do not make recommendations for other service providers.