Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Hollingsworth Roofing Inc

Founded 2002 • With Angi since October 2002

4.9

(371) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

4745 Silabert Ave

Charlotte, NC 28205

Description

We take roofs seriously. Our roofing company has been in business since 2002 and our staff is highly qualified and dedicated to building quality roofs. We price our products fairly and work hard to make sure that our customers get exactly the kind of roof they need. Hollingsworth Roofing Inc. is dedicated to customer satisfaction. We hold ongoing training and safety seminars to ensure up-to-date styles and techniques. Hollingsworth Roofing makes it a point to discuss any questions or concerns with the client. We want to provide each of our clients with a superior roof at a great price.Customer satisfaction is our top priorty and we offer the best warranty in town. 10 employees. No subs. Cost is determined by the job. No travel charges. No extra cost for emergency service. Phone is always answered by a live person. Additional contact name - Craig Hollingsworth. Additional email - office@hollingsworthroofing.com. Award winning....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

09/01/2022


ANNE W.

Office people are very polite and helpful on the phone. The roof was inspected and the estimate for repairs and maintenance was provided in mid-June. This was a small job, so they gave us an estimate of timing and worked us in when they could. The company experienced some minor delays due to weather. They did an excellent job of communicating this to us via email. The work was done in early August, which was close to the timing they had projected. A good experience with a great firm! I highly recommend Hollingsworth Roofing.

Description of Work
General roof maintenance and minor repair

Category roofing

5.0

05/07/2020


Lanny C.

A lot of houses, in my neighborhood, were damaged by a tornado in February. Hollingsworth Roofing was able to work us in to the schedule quickly. The repair guy who came out was friendly and helpful. When I had questions about a problem with the roof, he came back out, explained the problem, and repaired in quickly. Thanks for all of your help!

Description of Work
Roof damage

Category roofing

1.0

10/15/2018


ANDRES M.

Owner came by to review job. He said that they would call me with estimate. A week went by, nothing, and I had to call them. They said they were waiting on prices. Another week went by, still nothing, and I had to call them again. They gave me the same answer as before, waiting on prices. It’s been over a month and a half and they never had the courtesy to email me, call me and leave a phone message, text me, nothing. This is the same company that did my roof back in 2004. They had and excellent customer service back then and did a great job for me back then. Obviously things have changed. They just completely ignored my requests and did not evenhave the courtesy to contact me and tell me that they were or were not going to do the job. Since that first contact with them we have had more water damage due to major tropical storms coming through so their lack of response has cost me more even more damage that I will have to deal with. I do not recommend this company now or will ever use again.

Description of Work
Estimate on repairs for roof leaks

Category roofing

5.0

02/13/2018


PETER H.

The entire Hollingsworth team was a delight to deal with from start to finish. Kayla was very thorough and patient working with me on the quote, helping me to select the roofing material, and explaining the terms of the contract and warranty. Berto and his experienced crew did a great job. You could tell they care about their work. Berto said the crew did each job like it was their own home and I believe that to be true. There were three very minor followup issues that were dealt with promptly. A high up piece of gutter was bent out of place. Repaired with in a few days. A ripped screen (probably by a ladder). A check for the full cost of the repair was in the mail with no questions asked. A minor leak. A phone call to Ashley Hollingsworth and Craig Hollingsworth was promptly out to investigate. Unsure of what it was, he sent Berto back out to sleuth the problem. It ended up being a loose bathroom fan vent that wasn't really related to the roofing work. All of this to say that the Hollingsworth team strives for 100% customer satisfaction. And in our case we are 100% satisfied with the original work and with the followup!!

Description of Work
Full roof replacement

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words! We are delighted that you are pleased with our work.

1.0

10/31/2017


Dustin and Kaitlin T.

Hollingsworth quoted us X amount and then completed the job and billed us 15% more than the original quote (almost $1000) with payment due upon receipt of invoice (immediately). When we inquired about this, they copy and pasted a line from the terms and conditions from the initial quote which stated, "Any necessary wood replacement and/or carpentry work (i.e., siding, framing, decking, and painting) will be done on a time and material basis in addition to the roofing costs; and determined once the job has begun." This line protects them and screws you, allowing them to bill you for whatever work they completed (or claim that they completed) with ZERO notice to you whatsoever. They never called to let us know that they would need to replace anything, they definitely didn't provide pictures or an option for us to even take a look at what they found, they just billed us for it and said "payment is due now." They called us AFTER the job was completed and the invoice was sent to make sure we received their bill. My husband and I both called and tried to explain that a phone call should've been placed to let us know this was coming, and they again just regurgitated the line in their quote that protects them from having to explain anything to you. We understand needing to protect your business, and we certainly understand that roofers don't have X-ray vision to see under the shingles, but common courtesy and good customer service practices indicate that a call should be placed to let the customer know this expense is forthcoming. They refused to acknowledge that they should've called, and they just want to be paid. I've attached a photo of the front of our roof as well so that future consumers understand the aesthetic that they'll receive if they choose to move forward with Hollingsworth. Note the rippling - could this be from the new decking they installed? I'm not sure because I have no clue where it was installed. It could be from anything but again, we wouldn't know since they didn't communicate with us. Crappy customer service and a crappy aesthetic. Disappointed that we went with this "family company." Wondering if the Hollingsworth family would want to be treated this way. Additionally, they have just started seeing our reviews of our experience and called to inform us that we were wrong. And told blatant lies both over the phone and in their response to my review in another platform. When I told them they showed no regard for my concern they told me that my concern was not valid. Direct quote, and I repeated it back to the owner who then said it back to me and said that was correct that my concern was not valid.

Description of Work
Total roof replacement

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

We have tried many times to help Ms. [Member Name Removed] and her husband understand how the process of replacing a roof works. We are very sorry that she did not read her proposal/contract thoroughly before deciding to move forward with her project. We are sorry that she did not understand the explanation of what to expect that we share with all of our customers. We continue to be sorry that she is disappointed and angry. We believe that we treated these homeowners fairly and have done a good job for them. With all due respect, this was a smaller job, the majority of which was finished in a day. Ms. [Member Name Removed] believes that the damaged wood should have been brought to their attention and that they ought to have been given a chance to make some kind of decision or protect themselves from the additional cost of replacing bad wood. When the crew finds bad wood, it is necessary to replace it, and stopping the work to ask the homeowners permission to do work that is required is simply not feasible. This is precisely why we provide a clear, explanatory proposal to all of our customers. On page one in bold type there is a cautionary paragraph that indicates that any necessary wood replacement will incur additional charges. We include this caution because, without tearing the existing roof off, you cannot tell how much, if any, wood decking would need to be replaced on any given house. We don't want our customers to be surprised. We make every effort to be upfront with our customers from the beginning. If we find rotten/damaged decking, we need to replace it. It was necessary to replace some rotten/damaged wood decking on the house, and we charged the homeowners accordingly. Again, this possibility was explained to them in writing in the proposal. It was also explained to them verbally after they contracted us to do the work, but before work commenced. We told them in writing that there might be bad wood, that if there was we'd need to replace it, and that if we did, we'd need to charge them for it. We called them to let them know that bad wood had needed to be replaced, and that we would be charging them for it. We replaced the bad wood, and we charged them for it. We have tried in every way possible to reach out to these homeowners and to help them understand. Ms. [Member Name Removed] is angry and all of our attempts to explain the process and reason with her have failed. She has invoked the words fine print, worst case scenarios, hardship, crappy. She has accused me of lying. Our contract is not couched in fine print. We did all we could to prepare them for worst case scenarios. We are not in a position to determine what constitutes financial hardship for any of our customers. Our workmanship and our customer service is not crappy. And I did not lie in my reply to her review. Her concern that we did not give notice or ask permission to replace her damaged wood decking is not something that we would have been able to comply with even had we known she required it. Which we did not. We believe that her distress is real, but we also believe that a reasonable person, when faced with the reality of having been given all the necessary information, would not continue to batter us by every means possible. I will add that they did not make us aware that they had a concern about rippling during any of the first round of conversations after they received their invoice. We discovered this concern by reading about it in Google and Yelp reviews. It is difficult to tell from the picture they provided, but her concern may be that the shingles have not had a chance to lie down, yet. This is normal and once the sealing strips have had a chance to warm up the shingles will relax. However, once again, and as always, we have made ourselves available to address their concerns further. We have an appointment to meet with her the first of next week. We are a small company and we absorb the entire cost of the job until it is complete, so, yes, now that the work is complete, we would like to be paid. Our terms, which are also outlined very clearly in the proposal/contract, are Net Due on Receipt of Invoice. We are sorry that they are disappointed. We do continue to be very confused as to how they are able to lay their disappointment on us. We take great pride in our process, our service and our work. We treat every project as if it was our own home. We believe they made a good decision in choosing us to replace their roof. Over fifteen years of happy customers would agree. We hope that, in time, these homeowners will realize it, too.

5.0

08/28/2017


ELIZABETH S.

Originally they had told me they wouldn't be able to do until sometime in August. They Had something open up in their scheduled. They called me and ask me whether or not I wanted it done sooner. They were there delivering the roofing tile the next day. They had told me that once they got the old roof off, they would look tos ee if any of the decking needed replacing. There were a few spots where they did. So they charged me $200 for the materials for that. It was nothing. That was it. I think they were very reasonably priced.

Description of Work
They removed old roof, check decking and replaced where needed and replaced roof.

Category roofing

5.0

08/28/2017


ELIZABETH S.

When Hollingsworth came out, they came out for the roof and I also had questions about the chimney cap. He referred me to someone else for the chimney cap but Hollingsworth did replace my roof..

Description of Work
They provided an estimate to replace the roof.

Category roofing

5.0

08/01/2017


Stephen T.

It went Great! I'm very pleased with the installation.

Description of Work
Flat roof replaced.

Category roofing

5.0

07/24/2017


Steven S.

Very professional and prompt communication with the office. They were able to work work into their schedule timely. Performed work without having to be home. This is a really nice feature; however, would recommend the company to leave some note or evidence to let homeowners know that they were their and work was performed. Would use again

Description of Work
Repair flashing around chimneys, fixed slipped shingles, general roof observation and maintenance

Category roofing

5.0

07/05/2017


Ashley K.

Both leaks were fixed quickly and service was professional.

Description of Work
Hollingsworth has helped us on two separate occasions for roof leaks. They were quick to assess and fix the problem on both occasions.

Category roofing

5.0

06/13/2017


Judy P.

Fantastic. The guy that came out was fabulous. Polite and he just did a wonderful job. I would highly recommend.

Description of Work
Roof leak above master bath, nail pops, roof vent replaced, trim issues.

Category roofing

5.0

02/06/2017


ANNE W.

The owner came to our house in early October in response to my request for an inspection. We discussed my concerns and he assessed the situation. Autumn is a busy time for roofers, so he said he would work us in as soon as possible between roofing jobs. The maintenance was done in early November. The staff person worked quickly and diligently. Great job.

Description of Work
Roof inspection and maintenance.

Category roofing

5.0

11/28/2016


Mel B.

Repair quote was fair and very reasonable. Team members showed up on time for the pre-arranged day and time. Work was completed quickly and efficiently. All around A+++.

Description of Work
Shingles/ roof repair around perimeter of home.

Category roofing

5.0

10/12/2016


JUDITH G.

While tearing off the old roof, our garage door was smudged at the very bottom panel, leaving a very small mark of asphalt/tar, and he took care of it. He reached out to the company who sent us bottles of paint. One of his workers removed the asphalt and repainted. He even came back twice to check on the paint job. He did fantastic work, and we would highly recommend him.

Description of Work
He replaced the whole roof in two days.

Category roofing

5.0

09/04/2016


DOUG H.

The workers were neat, professional, courteous and efficient. There were NO nails on the ground after they left and almost no debris in the attic. I had a tarp, bricks and a rope on the roof. The workers folded the tarp, stacked the bricks neatly and coiled the rope. They did the work on one of the hottest days of the year.

Description of Work
Roof was leaking and larger ridge vents and baffles needed to be installed. Attic was getting oppressively hot; thermometer would register over 130 degrees.

Category roofing

5.0

08/03/2015


Candice P.

It was great. They did a great job. The roof looks great. The cleaned everything up and were very fast.

Description of Work
They installed a new roof on my house and on a small storage building.

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you for your kind words! So glad you are happy!

5.0

06/11/2015


ROBERT K.

We spent a great amount of time researching roofing contractors and received 4 quotes. After extensive research, we selected Hollingsworth Roofing. Thankfully, it turned out to be the right decision. Other than a mix-up about the hip and ridge shingles (shingles delivered and installed not the same as in the contract), everything about Hollingsworth was excellent. From the business approach of Craig Hollingsworth, to the excellent responsiveness of Becky in the office, to the quality of the work, things could not have gone better. The quality of work was very good, the crew obviously cared about doing the job right and the clean-up afterwards was excellent. These days, it is nice to hire someone who does what they said they would do, without having to chase them. I would definitely use Hollingsworth Roofing again. If you are going to have roof work done, you should definitely include them in your process.

Description of Work
Complete roof replacement (shingles, etc)

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Thank you so much for your kind words! It was a pleasure and a privilege to do business with you!

5.0

04/26/2015


NANCY H.

The estimate was completed within two weeks of calling to request an estimate. Received the estimate via email and after waiting a week to receive estimates from other roofing providers and I notified Hollingsworth via email that I wanted to proceed with scheduling the work to be completed. The next day I received a call from Hollingsworth's office to schedule a day for the work to be accomplished and a time for me to visit their office to select the shingles to be installed. When I stopped by to select the shingles, I asked if they could patch a small leak in the existing roof since the new roof would not be installed for another two weeks and the weather forecast was calling for heavy rain in 48 hours. I was so grateful that they had someone out to the house that same day to patch the existing roof. The roof was replaced in half a day and I received the bill via email, which I promptly paid. I was very pleased with Hollingsworth's professionalism. The whole process went very smooth and no hassle. I definitely recommend them and would use them again if I need a roof replacement on my primary home.

Description of Work
The following was accomplished on a small single family home (1,400 sq ft.): * removed existing roof * replaced 2 sheets of plywood * installed chimney flashing * installed tie-in wall flashing * installed new 25-year architectural shingles (OC Oakridge driftwood)

Category contractors, roofing, chimney repair

5.0

04/01/2015


Matthew R.

Hollingsworth was fair n price, honest about their scope of work and timely in the way matter in which they completed the job. The real kicker was when we were closing the condo and I needed some information about the work that was performed. Hollingsworth went above and beyond to get back to me, explain the repairs to the seller and got back to me very quickly. Hard to find that level of follow up and professionalism. I would highly recommend them.

Description of Work
Did general repairs for a residential flat roof.

Category roofing

5.0

03/04/2015


Don C.

great

Description of Work
Fixed nail pops in my shingled roof.

Category roofing

5.0

10/21/2014


Heather A.

It went well. They did a good job. They were very punctual. I would definitely use them again in the future.

Description of Work
I purchased a Big Deal for roof maintenance.

Category roofing

5.0

09/20/2014


Patrick O.

Great job, getting ready to scall the again to install skylight.

Description of Work
Checked shingles and vent on roof and fixed areas of concern.

Category roofing, skylights

1.0

09/18/2014


Dana B.

They didnt repair the leak, They have attempted to do it twice and dont want to come back out. They dont back up their work. I would change this grade if they would fix the leak.

Description of Work
They were to come out and repair a leak

Category roofing

Service Provider Response

Unfortunately, this report doesn’t tell the true story. The shingle on this roof is no longer in production. The area of the repair is on the front of the house. Before we agreed to do the repair, the homeowners assured us that they had the shingle materials to do the work. As it happened, they did not. We were unsuccessful in getting the materials after checking with all of our suppliers and even the shingle manufacturer. We explained this to the homeowners. We also explained that we were not comfortable with trying to do the work without the correct product. We finally explained that the homeowners might be able to find a contractor who had the materials in their inventory, and that we would cancel the contract. There were also flashing issues that they didn’t want us to address. They just wanted us to rig up a patch, but we can’t stand behind that caliber of work. Regarding the “report card,” the homeowners are correct that we have not repaired the leak. We have made no attempts to repair that area. We made repairs in the past to other areas of the roof which, to our knowledge, have been satisfactory. We do, indeed, back up our work as evidenced by our many years as a Super Service Provider through Angie’s List. We find it curious that the homeowners have offered to change the report and grade upon completion of the work since they also have reported that they would not hire us again. We categorically dispute the report. Our price was fair for the work quoted. It is unfortunate that the work cannot be completed as quoted, but that is out of our control. We absolutely stand behind the quality of our work. We responded immediately to all inquiries. We pride ourselves on our professionalism and we are always punctual.

5.0

07/11/2014


MARIA D.

Hollingsworth came out to do a free estimate--I had mistaken the time and the inspector couldn't have been nicer. He was able to start the job outside without me there and waited until I got home 20 minutes later to speak with me. We got the estimate within 48 hours and scheduled the job. She told us it might be up to 3 weeks to get the job, but they got to it within days when they realized that the missing boots were causing gaps in my roof. I was impressed with their timeliness and friendliness. Very easy to work with!

Description of Work
Gave estimate, did general roof inspection, replaced pipe boots.

Category roofing

5.0

06/16/2014


BILL S.

Great. Very professional, on time and quality of work was great. Would hire again.

Description of Work
Replaced some roof singles blown off in a storm, caulked flashing around chimney.

Category roofing, chimney repair

    Other local Pros in your area

    Artistic Colors Painting

     

    Gutter World

    Gutter World has been in business for over 14 years , with offices in three states NC, SC, and OH. The company is built on family values and integrity. We offer quality service at an affordable price. Contact us today about an estimate! 5% discount offered to Military and Seniors.  

    Offers by Gutter World on Angi
    The Brothers That Just Do Gutters

    The Brothers That Just Do Gutters is a fully insured, locally owned and operated. The company was established in 1999. From the beginning, the focus and determination was to create a five-star experience in the home residential and commercial remodeling construction industry. We are committed to our employees and clients throughout every phase of the solution. Call today for a free experience of getting a solution for your gutter or guard project.  

    Bonded
    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    No
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Residential Re-Roofing, Fiberglass & Asphalt Shingles Application & Repair, Low Pitch & Flat Roofs, Slate, Rubber, Tile, Copper & Metal Detailing, & Skylights.

    Services Not Offered

    Gutters, Siding, Windows

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Hollingsworth Roofing Inc

    How is Hollingsworth Roofing Inc overall rated?

    Hollingsworth Roofing Inc is currently rated 4.9 overall out of 5.

    What days are Hollingsworth Roofing Inc open?

    Hollingsworth Roofing Inc is open:

    Sunday: Closed

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM

    Saturday: Closed

    What payment options does Hollingsworth Roofing Inc provide

    Hollingsworth Roofing Inc accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Hollingsworth Roofing Inc offer free estimates?

    Yes, Hollingsworth Roofing Inc offers free project estimates.

    Does Hollingsworth Roofing Inc offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Hollingsworth Roofing Inc does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Hollingsworth Roofing Inc offer a senior discount?

    No, Hollingsworth Roofing Inc does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Hollingsworth Roofing Inc?

    Yes, Hollingsworth Roofing Inc offers warranties.

    What services does Hollingsworth Roofing Inc offer?

    Hollingsworth Roofing Inc offers the following services: Residential Re-Roofing, Fiberglass & Asphalt Shingles Application & Repair, Low Pitch & Flat Roofs, Slate, Rubber, Tile, Copper & Metal Detailing, & Skylights.

    Are there any services Hollingsworth Roofing Inc does not offer?

    Gutters, Siding, Windows