Find top-rated Pros in your area

Enter a zip code and get matched to businesses near you.

Greg Handyman Service

Founded 2011 • With Angi since January 2011

4.5

(22) Verified Reviews

Business Details

Phone Number

Address

7802 Ridgeloch Pl

Charlotte, NC 28226

Description

Owned & operated by Greg Bandos....

Verified Reviews

A few reviews for this pro...
5.0

06/01/2016


Amy A.

GREG Handyman gave a detailed quote and scheduled service within 2 weeks. He arrived on time and did a good job with the work which took about 2-3 hours. Cleaned up the work area after finished.

Description of Work
Repaired holes in drywall, cracks in wall and painted, repaired rotting door jam.

Category drywall

3.0

11/19/2015


Evelyn W.

Description of Work
.

Category handyman service

5.0

09/23/2015


W HERBERT B.

Category handyman service, insulation, woodworking, doors

1.0

07/08/2015


Edward P.

Greg the "Handyman" never showed. He had come to my house 2 weeks prior to the appointed work day of July 6, and given me an estimate for the job. We agreed on the price, and decided that the best day for both of us would be July 6. He even wrote on the estimate, "July 6 at 10 am". I took leave from my job to make sure that I could be there for the entire day. Greg never showed up. I called twice and left messages asking him to call and let me know when he would be there. I am writing this review on July 8th, and not only did he not show, and I wasted an entire day of leave, but he hasn't even had the decency to return my calls. i can not understand why he is on Angie's List and would never recommend him to anyone!

Description of Work
What he was suppose to do: replace rotted wood around garage doors, and fix woodpecker damage to 2nd story dormers.

Category handyman service

1.0

06/05/2014


Lorrie W.

2 days prior to start of a 3 day job Greg calls to change start time for the fist day, today, from 10:00 to 1:00. I reluctantly agreed. He calls at 12:30 today and says he just wants to start tomorrow at 10:00. I express my concern that he would not be able to complete all in 2 days now, he says he can just work Saturday then - that was part of the initial plan! I explain I have now wasted a days vacation waiting for him to arrive today - he showed no concern. Again I reluctantly agree and say he can start tomorrow. I then stopped to wonder if this is service up front what will happen on the job. I did not want a rushed job with him trying to put 3 days of work into 1 or 2 days and if he has this lax attitude about his business I don't want him to work for me. I called him back and told him not to bother showing up as I had wasted enough time with him and didn't trust that I would get quality work. Again a complete lack of concern, just an OK. Apparently there is no lack of work for handymen as this my 4th attempt to get a list of things done with this similar results.

Description of Work
Nothing he promised

Category handyman service

3.0

04/07/2014


Karen C.

Did not use this handyman.

Description of Work
I called Greg for an estimate for a storm door on the front door. He asked me to call him the next day to remind him to come to my house to estimate the job. If he cannot remember appointments or have some type of appointment calendar, i dont feel comfortable. I never called back.

Category handyman service

5.0

03/06/2014


Lori V.

It worked out fine. He was on time, professional and got everything done he said he would. This was the second that we've used them and I will use them again.

Description of Work
I used the services of Greg Handyman Service. They put up some curtain rods and minor patching.

Category handyman service

5.0

02/28/2014


Helen G.

There was another company that quotes us $700 for the same job so we were happy with Greg Handyman Service's price. Their quality of work, punctuality, and professionalism stood out to us.

Description of Work
We have used Greg Handyman Service. He has done some carpentry around our house and he will be coming back in a couple of weeks to do more. He built a support wall along my wife's ramp; she is handicapped and she uses an electrical wheelchair. She wanted some protection for going up or down her ramp.

Category handyman service, woodworking

1.0

02/06/2014


Judith P.

When I called Greg he told me that because I was a new customer for him he would install my bi fold doors for $50.00. Keep in mind I told him that I needed him to cut the doors, remove the old metal frame and put the new hardware in the doors. No painting. Greg was suppose to be at the house at 3:00 pm but he called me to tell me that he was caught up with other projects and he could come now (1:00 pm). Greg started to work on the situation and I told him to let me know if he needed anything. I came to the front of the house to do something and I asked him how things were going. Both bifold doors were outside at this point and one had been cut. He then told me that he could not do the job. I asked him why and he told me that the doors were too long and they were hollow. I then asked him why he cut the one door and he just looked at me. He then told me that it was going to cost a lot more to put the doors in. I asked him how much and he never would tell me. Basically he acted as if he did not want to do it. I asked him about putting wood in the hollow area to hold the door and he said it would take over night. (once again he acted like he messed up and he did not want to try to fix the door that he ruined) Based on his attitude I asked him how much I owed him (he was at the house for less than 30 minutes) he told me to give him $25.00. I wrote him a check and I had it on my kitchen counter. I walked away to go into another room and when I did he grabbed the check and ran out the door. I thought at first he was just going to get something and come back to get the check but then I did not see the check and he was driving off. Needless to say I just lost $89.00 which is the cost of the bi-fold door and the $25.00 that I gave him. If he had onlyl accessed the situation before he started cutting my door I believe this review might be different. I'll never use him and I don't think you should either.

Description of Work
Greg was supposed to install my bi-fold doors

Category handyman service

5.0

01/31/2014


ranjan G.

.

Description of Work
.

Category handyman service

5.0

01/30/2014


Patricia M.

.

Description of Work
.

Category handyman service

5.0

12/31/2013


Timothy R.

Greg was not only on time, but did the work thoroughly, correctly, since its easy to skimp, so that all our towel racks, coat racks and all hooks are secured really well and I think I could do chin ups on them. He is more than fare for the quality of work, time it takes and advise he gives from his extensive experience in all aspects of home improvement and renovation. Greg is our go to guy. Thank You again Angie's List.

Description of Work
Greg installed all the towel racks, toilet paper holders, hooks, coat hangers...

Category handyman service

5.0

11/10/2013


Scott S.

Greg laid a moisture barrier in my crawl space. It's a very tight space in places. He purchased the material and did a nice job.

Description of Work
.

Category handyman service, insulation

4.0

10/15/2013


Ann T.

I was very, very happy with the completed job. The ceiling repairs were a difficult job and I had a few people not want the job because of the height and with it being an older home with a popcorn ceiling, the possibility of it becoming a much larger job. Again, I can't emphasize enough how happy I was with the completed job. However, the problem lies with the workers that actually did the job. It was an empty home that was being put up for sale. I stopped by one evening and could smell cigarette smoke in the house and also found someone had been doing laundry in the house as there was still clothes in the dryer. I immediately called Greg and left him a voicemail. He did not return my call. Two days later I went by the house again with family members, and found the painters at the house and both were smoking cigarettes in the house. I asked them to please not smoke in the house because it was going up for sale and it smelled terrible in there. He suggested that I could spray some air freshener. Two days after that I called Greg again and he answered. He didn't know who I was and asked if he was doing work for me. I explained that I had hired him to paint my father's home. He immediately told me that the painters were not smoking in the house, to which I told him I was there with my family and we saw them. His response to the painters doing laundry in my house was and quot;it was just that one time.and quot; After the job was completed, Greg called and wanted payment immediately. I asked him where all the outlet covers were and that none of them had been put back on. He said he didn't know but assumed they were in a drawer in the house. I told him that I wanted to walk-thru and I would do it that evening and would call him and he could come and get the check. When I showed up at the house that night, Greg was there waiting. I paid him and he left. My sister and I put the outlet cover back on.

Description of Work
Painted interior walls, door, trim, windows, drywall repairs on ceiling.

Category drywall, handyman service, interior painters

1.0

07/02/2013


Michael G.

I first contacted Greg because of his reviews here on Angie's List. I had received an estimate from another provider that seemed high for the job. I needed someone to mud, tape and sand drywall that I had installed during my kitchen remodel. It is a job that my father in law and I could handle, but with a baby on the way in a couple of months, cabinets to install, and flooring to also install we wanted to save some time. We opened a doorway and installed a header that needed mudding. We also had installed french doors and walled in a different door. I also scraped my popcorn ceilings and needed them sanded and ready for paint. When I contacted Greg he was nice and came to my house for an estimate that afternoon within hours. He gave me an estimate that seemed fair for the job and was better than my previous quote so I hired him for the job. Another reason I decided to go with Greg was that he told me he could start the job the next day versus the week to two weeks out the other provider quoted me. He told me my that he had a and quot;great guy for drywalland quot;. That led me to believe he had an employee he would send for the job. I felt that I was in good hands. Greg also mentioned since it was going to rain the next day it would be a great job for his guy because he would have a job inside for him. His guy was currently working on a deck and wouldn't be able to stay on that job due to rain. So, I left our encounter with the expectation of a two day job that would start the next day performed by Greg Handyman Service for the price of $500. Day 1: Thursday - I work odd days since I work in a hospital. I work twelve hour shifts as well where it is impossible for me to answer my cell phone. At 8:30 I receive a call to my phone that goes to voicemail. Two hours later I am receiving text messages from my pregnant wife that no one has arrived at the house to do any work. An hour later I get another text message from her stating that she had called Greg and since the weather was clear, his guy was going to work the other job that was outside. To Greg's defense, during my lunch break I checked my voicemail and it was Greg at 8:30am telling me the change plan. Also to his defense, I didn't give him my wife's cell number. However, it left a bad taste because there was no discussion between Greg and I where I was told my job would be put on hold if the weather was nice. I didn't complain and let it roll off my back, but it made me heighten my senses. When my wife called Greg told her the job would start the next day at 10am. My wife asked for them to come at 12:15 due to a prior appointment. She tells me that she was given some attitude regarding the request and was told that since she was the customer he guessed he had to work with her schedule. Day 2: Friday- Again I had to work this day 7am to 7pm. My wife texted me telling me that two guys were at the house and the job was underway. Even though it was a day later than I had planned, I felt good about it. Later that day on my way home I called my wife. She sounded less than enthused about the job done that day. She went on to tell me that two guys showed up, and then later, another guy named Dave. Dave had dropped the two others off without transportation. The workers had the wrong type of compound to do the job correctly. Three hours later Dave came back to my home and then berated the other two for doing a bad job and for the fact that they didn't know how to used the and quot;20 minute mudand quot; that he provided. He went on to tell her that he was the experienced drywall guy but he was out looking for a place to live because he had to move immediately due to his landlord. When I came home, I saw little work done. I began to get irritated because my previous conversation with Greg I was told my job would be done that day and I would be to paint. I saw a bunch of drywall with a poor covering of compound. I was less than impressed and thought to myself that I could have done much more if I had the time myself. Day 3: Saturday- The same two workers show up at my house at 10:30am. I was beginning to question their ability and their work ethic by now, plus I thought they should have been at my house at 8 or 8:30 to begin work. However, I didn't complain and sat down to watch TV in the adjacent room. One of the workers seemed disinterested in doing much work. He seemed to want to shoot the breeze with me and my wife instead. It was kind of weird, especially when he told me he had never met Greg and had no clue who he was. Then it dawned on me, Greg had subcontracted my job. By now my level of irritation was getting worse, but, I didn't say anything. I just sat there and let them work. At 11:15 they tell me they need to go to Lowe's to get some materials. Lowe's isn't even a mile from my home. 45 minutes later the two workers arrive back at my house. During the time they are working, Brian (one of the workers) hands me his business card and tells me next time to call him. I found that highly unprofessional. He goes on to tell me Dave doesn't know what he's doing. He states that Dave gave them the wrong material the day before, etc... At 2:30 Dave arrives at my house. By now I am starting to get irritated and I could tell they were starting to notice. Dave starts to tell me about his landlord problems, how these two guys didn't know what they are doing, and how Dave himself is the real drywall guy and he would have had my job done. That doesn't sit well with a customer. I tell him my concern is my job, not his living situation. I have flooring and cabinets en route to my home, plus my mom will be in town the following week. I could care less about his landlord situation. I ask him when the job will be completed since no sanding has occurred yet. He says, with a sense of resentment that he will be at my house the next day, Sunday, to personally finish the job. He goes on to add that he'll put his house hunting on hold just for me with a serious sense of sarcasm. I think it over and decided to have them come back Monday since I had to work on Sunday and by now my trust of this crew was zero. The three guys leave. I call Greg to voice my concerns. He tells me that he will come by himself Monday to check on the job and finish it if he has to. Day 4: Sunday - No work occurs as we agreed upon Day 5: Monday - When the crew left on Saturday I was told they would arrive at and quot;9 or 9:30and quot; to get everything done. Well, I got up and wait around until 10:45. I called Greg and tell him if no one is at my house by noon to simply have them not come because I will finish the job. Greg apologizes and tells me he is sorry. Saying sorry doesn't fix my kitchen, or the inconvenience of not using my stove, refrigerator or microwave. I call Brian, the guy who gave me his business card on the side, and I get fed a line about the other guy on the job, Rick, has to take a bus from somewhere to another location where he picks him up and then drive to my house. Of course, by this time I could care less. At 12:30, 3 hours late, the two arrive. I promptly ask for Dave's phone number since Greg obviously wasn't going to do a thing. I get on the phone with Dave and inform him that he needed to answer the question and quot;Is this job going to be done today?and quot; By this time I was tired of the teenager like shenanigans. I inform him that I would rather have them stop and I'll finish the job. He again tries to make me feel bad about his landlord woes and living situation, all of which I could care less about. He tells me his workers are going to be fired and that I can pay him $350 which is and quot;what he has in the joband quot;. I respond by telling him if my job isn't finished I will not be paying him because I hired someone to complete the job, not do it halfway. He then tells me he'll will some over and finish it himself. During my conversation with Dave he tells me his worker, Rick, had overslept and that was the delay on the day. His worker Rick smelled like a distillery. I told him to find out if the job would be done or they could all leave. To say the least, there was a serious feeling of awkwardness in my house as the two workers Brian and Rick worked silently. Finally after 3 hours, they tell me that they had sanded and everything was done. My house was a disaster with dust since no plastic was kept up during the job. I was furious. I inspected the job for a second and paid Dave since he finally decided to grace me with his presence. I paid him the full price since the job appeared, at a glance, to be done. I should have paid him half of what I paid him, but I took the high road. So my house was a disaster, but told the workers it was fine since I just wanted them out of house. My wife and I spent 4 hours cleaning my living room after they left. They didn't cover any of my furniture or electronics. My appliances were covered in dust. I am mad at myself for paying them at all and I have a sore throat from cleaning my living room and kitchen. To boot, the more I have looked at the job, the more unsatisfied I have become. This was a horrible experience. Greg left me out to dry and I feel ripped off. I received a verbal and quot;I am sorryand quot; over the phone from Greg, but he never did personally show up on the job to check on progress as he promised. What a sham. I wouldn't let Greg, Dave, Brian or Rick cut my lawn for free after this experience.

Description of Work
Mudding, sanding and taping of drywall

Category drywall, handyman service

5.0

06/28/2013


Patrick B.

Greg is very pleasant and does good work. Prices are very reasonable and he enjoys taking on the and quot;smalland quot; jobs many others aren't interested in. Definitely recommend Greg and will be using him for some future projects.

Description of Work
Installed bathroom hardware and hung various pictures and wall art

Category handyman service

5.0

04/07/2013


ALICE F.

Great!

Description of Work
This is our second time using Greg, he installed a pull down garage stairs, fixed front door knob, painted out deck and railing, removed tile in our master tub so that plumber could fix leak, he then replaced tile and tile board, caulked, grouted. Perfect jobs. Would recommend highly and will have him back for more repairs. Very polite, sense of humor, cleans up after and is very reasonable.

Category drywall, handyman service, doors

5.0

09/17/2012


LILY W.

Excellent job!

Description of Work
Repair sheet rock where a plumbing repair had been made, add insulation around pipe and vapor barrier, replace baseboard trim, finishing to state ready for painting

Category drywall, handyman service

5.0

08/27/2012


Karen F.

It went fine; he did okay. He did a nice job the first experience I had with him but I was not comfortable using him for larger, higher end projects. He is best used for smaller, more modestly-priced projects.

Description of Work
I used Greg Handyman Service to do some small handyman things for me.

Category handyman service

5.0

02/02/2012


Janis H.

Husband was installing pot lights in ceiling, stuck foot through ceiling. Had to be drywalled. The job was done well.

Description of Work
Had a hole in ceiling; this was repaired very well.

Category drywall, handyman service

5.0

08/30/2011


Steven K.

Greg was prompt and thorough with the repairs. He explained how he would make the repairs and priced his work at a very fair price. I will definitely use him again!

Description of Work
Repaired 7 interior doors: 4 would not latch, 2 couldn't close. 1 had a hole that had to be patched & painted. Also hang a large mirror, inspected outside gutters.

Category doors

5.0

03/04/2011


Cynthia S.

Greg the Handyman is a secret weapon! I found a recommendation for him on our homeowner's website and gave him a call. He was able to get me on the schedule within several days. I needed assistance on a variety of jobs and Greg was able to skillfully and efficiently accomplish each one of them. He is friendly and knowledgeable and comes prepared with enough tools to build an entire house! Greg had to return three times to complete the drywall repair after moving the wiring box, as the compound had to dry in between applications. The finished drywall repair was flawless. He kept me well informed of the schedule and consistently arrived on time. He has an excellent eye for placement and is meticulous about measuring. The new lighting fixture and the mirror were perfectly placed! The tub, shower and vanity fixtures were installed professionally and look great. I look forward to hiring Greg again soon and I've given his business card to all my neighbors and friends!

Description of Work
I hired Greg to help me finish renovating a bathroom. He replaced the tub and shower fixtures including the drain stop. He installed a new faucet on the vanity. He moved the lighting box over the vanity as the light fixture had to be installed eight inches above where it had previously been. He had to remove the wiring box, cut a hole in the drywall, install the box in it's new location and repair the open hole in the wall with a drywall patch and compound. When the wall repair was complete he installed the new lighting fixture and a new dimmer switch. He finished the job by hanging the new mirror over the vanity.

Category drywall, electrician, lighting, plumbing

    Other local Pros in your area

    Colors of Paradise Painters

    We provide painting interior & exterior Outdoor brick paint Drywall installation and repairs High Quality Services Warranty Work We specialize in interior and exterior painting services, cabinet painting, staining, and more! We guarantee your satisfaction, and we won’t leave until the job is done right. We pride ourselves on the quality work we provide, while delivering great customer service! Check out all the services we offer below and call -or- click to schedule a free estimate today!  

    SK Professional Window Cleaning

    Our mission is to be a provider that brings back the personal touch with our customers. We will build a relationship that will last a lifetime after you see our quality work. As a locally owned and operated business we feel invested in our clients and constantly strive for customer satisfaction. We won't leave until the job is done right! Call or click to schedule an estimate today!  

    Offers by SK Professional Window Cleaning on Angi
    CertaPro Painters of South Charlotte

    Hello, my name is Vic Sayegh, and I am the proud owner of CertaPro Painters of South Charlotte. I am excited to announce that 2021 begins our 19th year in business! Our focus continues to be on customer service, which has placed us in the top 5% of Charlotte painting contractors for customer satisfaction with Angie's List for 16 years running. Knowing that each customer’s project is unique, we are committed to listening to your needs, developing a customized work plan, and delivering our service around your individual wants and concerns. We maintain an A rating with the BBB and appreciate you considering us for your painting needs. All estimates are complimentary, and all warranties are in writing. 704-386-8343  

    Insured
    All statements concerning insurance, licenses, and bonds are informational only, and are self-reported. Since insurance, licenses and bonds can expire and can be cancelled, homeowners should always check such information for themselves.To find more licensing information for your state, visit our Find Licensing Requirements page.
    General Information
    Free Estimates
    Yes
    Eco-Friendly Accreditations
    No
    Payment Options
    Check
    Senior Discount
    Yes
    Warranties
    Yes

    Services Offered

    Handymen job.

    Services Not Offered

    Ask for details

    Frequently Asked Questions & Answers about Greg Handyman Service

    How is Greg Handyman Service overall rated?

    Greg Handyman Service is currently rated 4.5 overall out of 5.

    What days are Greg Handyman Service open?

    Greg Handyman Service is open:

    Monday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Tuesday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Wednesday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Thursday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    Friday: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM

    What payment options does Greg Handyman Service provide

    Greg Handyman Service accepts the following forms of payment: Check

    Does Greg Handyman Service offer free estimates?

    Yes, Greg Handyman Service offers free project estimates.

    Does Greg Handyman Service offer eco-friendly accreditations?

    No, Greg Handyman Service does not offer eco-friendly accreditations.

    Does Greg Handyman Service offer a senior discount?

    No, Greg Handyman Service does not offer a senior discount.

    Are warranties offered by Greg Handyman Service?

    Yes, Greg Handyman Service offers warranties.

    What services does Greg Handyman Service offer?

    Greg Handyman Service offers the following services: Handymen job.