Closets By Design

About

Founded 2003 • With Angi since August 2006

Closets By Design is a family owned & operated business. We offer FREE in home consultations with one of our experienced designers who will customize designs to fit your organizational needs....

Awards and Badges

Angi Certified

Images

Island

+4 more images

Verified Reviews

4.7

(103) Verified Reviews

Ratings Distribution

5

91

4

5

3

2

2

1

1

4

Rating Details

Price

4.5

Professionalism

4.7

Punctuality

4.8

Quality

4.8

Responsiveness

4.8

Read reviews by category

closet design (98)professional organizers (22)woodworking (9)cabinet makers (7)countertop installation (3)
Showing 1-25 of 103 reviews
1.0

10/09/2021


J G.

Unfortunately, I am unable to give a ZERO star rating because this is what is truly deserved. And as you may see on Google reviews, on other customers reviews, the “owner” only replies to five-star reviews and positive reviews. There is no resolution to problems that arise during installation, nor is addressing anything otherwise of concern to Closets By Design, nor taking criticism of negative feedback and turning it into a positive matters, which says a lot about a firm. Only bottom line appears to matter, opposed to providing professional customer service and quality workmanship. This significantly lacks within my project. So, onto my issue, we had an initial cabinet install on 10/7/21, which is Day 1, part of a total of three days, to go through 10/9/21. The total cost of the project was over $23,000 despite it being a so-called 40% off, plus a so-called additional 15% off. Marketing these coupons attract customers but the prices are still very high for closet material not real wood. Aside from the above, the installation has been completely horrible. We are not happy whatsoever with the initial results from Day 1 not Day 2. Before the Day 1 install, we had our entire home painted. Now after the install, there are poorly spackled holes all inside the new closet openings where the wire shelving once was. This was the first issue that surfaced, from a horrible spackling job as if a rookie put mud on the drywall. The rookie mistake now results in the drywall needing to be sanded down and also needing painted by a true drywall and painting professional. This will result in an added cost beyond the initial $23,000+ project price because it was not properly communicated that all the wire shelving hole locations would NOT be covered up by backing material, despite the ”designer” alleging we were aware and it was initialed that backing would not be installed. However, strangely enough backing was used in some areas which further confused the matter. There was NO clear communication that the install would look as horrible as it does, and it would look like the cabinet installs were done by a complete amateur or installers who just recently started working in the closet industry. There must be better closet cabinet companies out there with better materials by using totally real wood and at costs similar or better despite the marketing of coupon discounts. On to Day 2, there are several wall dents, several wall scuffs, gouges and new paint damage on various places of the walls where the closets was installed. Also, caulk was left and not cleaned off of some of the new shelving. Even holes were left not even spackled on the drywall. Also, there is all kind of sawdust and white paint residue all over my front porch and all in both sides of the driveway. The crews arrived knowingly that cabinets materials were missing and only shared they have no idea when the other parts are coming in and the job is not complete. No doors was provided on the island. There is floor gaps on the bottom of shelving. Also, the cabinets in the laundry room is not the design of the cabinets selected for the laundry room. The pantry is missing both a shelf and a pull out basket. And to top it off I have NO INTERNET AND NO CABLE TV because they covered the entire wall with shelving and DID NOT run channeling from cable, data and electrical plugs!!! Based on the initial Day 1 and Day 2 issues experience and the fact the Closets By Design “designer” has totally ignored and brushed off the issue and also the “designer’s” manager, it proves the horrendous and awful customer service experience after the sale. Not to mention, the installers damaging up many wall areas just recently painted new. This has been by far the worst project experience ever! More photos to come soon as I DO NOT expect things to improve! I spoke to management today and was left ZERO confidence they will resolve things appropriately or IF at all! I am confident Day 3 will present more issues!!! There has been NO reasonable resolution WHATSOEVER by Closets By Design. BUYER BEWARE!!!

Description of Work
Closet Cabinets and Island and Cabinets Installed

Category custom cabinets, closet systems, countertops, remodeling, home & garage organization, woodworking

Cost $23,000

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 10/09/2021

Images

Review for Closets By Design - 1108 Continental Blvd, Charlotte, NC - 39502808

+9 More

1.0

12/30/2020


Ellisent D.

Designer sold me a product that did not meet my expectations. It was too large for my space. We spent a lot of time looking at photos of what I wanted and discussing my needs. She knew that the dimensions would be too large. However, she did not set expectations and explain well so that I could make an informed decision. They have removed the product but I had to submit a report to the BBB in order to get a refund for my money. I still don't have my money back yet.

Description of Work
Cabinets in Living Room

Category custom cabinets

Cost $3,600

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 11/13/2020

5.0

02/20/2020


Anthony & Cynthia P.

I would highly recommend this company, if your looking to organize your closet’s. Sandy our consultant, did amazing job with the design which met all our needs. The installer was very neat and did amazing job! We are very happy with the results and would use this company again.

Description of Work
Master closet

Category closet systems, home & garage organization

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/20/2020

5.0

02/05/2020


Lori C.

We could not have been more pleased with the way our closets turned out. We were impressed with the entire process, especially our consultant, Deb, who really worked with us for a fully customized, spacious, and functional design, and the installation team, Aaron and DeNecia, who kept the installation mess free and were such a pleasure to have in our home. It’s been a life-changing investment, and we are so glad we finally made the call. We would highly recommend this team to anyone!

Description of Work
storage configuration in two master closets

Category closet systems, home & garage organization

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 01/07/1970

5.0

11/20/2018


Carol H.

From the time Robin Garcia came to the house and measured our space to the time that Samuel and Jose installed the system, everything was done in an professional and efficient manner. They were punctual and very careful not do any damage to the floors and clean up after the work. The closet is beautiful and we are so happy that we had Closet by Design do the work for us. We highly recommend this company.

Description of Work
Master Bedroom Closet

Category closet systems

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/20/2018

5.0

10/25/2018


Stan S.

From design to installation they were top notch to work with!

Description of Work
Closet Installation

Category closet systems

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 08/08/2018

5.0

03/05/2018


Fiaz S.

Fantastic!! Sandy designed our closets to fit into our budget without compromising on organization. Initial installation plan was for 2 days, but they knocked off both the closets in 1 day. Very Happy with how it all turned out.

Description of Work
His & Her Walkin Closets

Category closet systems

Cost $5,500

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/27/2018

4.0

08/30/2017


Jerome M.

defective design of shoe racks. Designer would not admit fault--wanted to charge us to correct her error, Eventually my wife intervened w/ vendor owner and problem was fixed at no addl. cost to us.

Description of Work
bedroom closet

Category closet systems

Cost $2,300

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 08/30/2017

5.0

06/07/2017


Cindy M.

The closet and pantry designs suit my needs and the installation team did a great job installing and cleaning up after themselves. The garage epoxy looks great. The work was subcontracted, but the process was easy since it was all part of one contract and Closet Storage and Design took care of all the details.

Description of Work
Closet organization and garage floor epoxy

Category closet systems

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/12/2017

5.0

11/05/2015


John T.

I was very pleased with the service I received and with the sales representative that came out. They were willing to work with me on the price. They had easy financing. I was able to pay within 12 months, interest free. I loved my closet!

Description of Work
They designed and installed shelving and rods for 1 walk in closet.

Category closet systems

Cost $1,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/01/2015

5.0

07/22/2015


JENNIFER G.

LOVED IT!!! We met with Gail who seems to know her stuff. She came to our house, proposed some plans, reworked based on our budget and feedback and sent over revised plans. We met her at the showroom so we could look at and pick out a finish. Everything went so smooth and clean. The installation guys were courteous and cleaned up everything. Overall, VERY pleased with the process, design, and the final product!

Description of Work
Installed a customer closet with island as well as a BIG shoe rack in the laundry room

Category closet systems

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/27/2015

3.0

07/05/2015


Barbara T.

On April 29 I signed a contract to have a closet system installed in two bedrooms of my home. It took 3 separate installation visits in order to complete the job. Prior to having the installers come I had my existing system removed, the drywall repaired and painted each closet. Two weeks prior to the install I had repairs made to my wood floors. On the scheduled installation date of June 16 two installers were sent that spoke little English. Part way through the installation I was called by my designer and informed that additional molding was needed (double base molding) because my floors were uneven for an additional $380. The double base was installed improperly, no miter of corners, just loped off at a 45 degree angle with a large visible gap at each corner. During the course of the installation the installers dropped tools on the floor, knocked into my walls and doors with pieces of wood and made multiple requests for water and ice which were hard to understand initially due to the language barrier. At the end of this installation I was informed that they did not have all of the pieces required to complete the installation. I felt very uncomfortable with the lead installer that kept demanding that I sign off on the job and provide the final payment on the job which was incorrect as one part brought did not fit and pieces of what I ordered were missing. As soon as they left I took a close look at the work and noticed that I had multiple holes in the walls where they attempted to find studs, one of the drawers kept opening on its own, there were multiple dings in the walls and doors where they had hit it with wood, multiple dings in my newly repaired floors and that $10 in quarters was missing from a drawer in a bedroom where they had been working. I immediately called my designer and then sent an email and follow up pictures. I was told the following day by my designer that Closets management would take $10 off of my bill and that they would repair my floors. I then called the installation manager as I did not feel that taking $10 off of my bill was sufficient compensation for all of the repair work required. It took her a day to get back to me and after asking her if she would have felt adequately compensated with what was being offered she arranged to have $200 taken off of my $5k bill. As you wait on hold to get in contact with Closets you get to listen to repeated messages about their trained and certified installers. In any case a second team was sent to my house on the 23rd to install the rest of the system and replace the improperly installed molding. Upon arriving at the house they opened up the package with the missing parts and discovered it was damaged and could not be installed. They replaced the previously installed molding and left. I called my designer again and reported this issue. She assured me that the installation manager would get right on correcting the situation. Two days later I called the installation manager and was told that the broken piece had been reordered and was expected the following week and a third installation date was set up. On July 2 a third installation crew came to my home and installed the last piece. The crew lead said he would patch the holes left by the first crew but that they had to keep drilling into the walls in order to find the studs. I asked him why they did not use a Stud Finder and got no comment. In any case, despite having clean and professional looking trucks, the crews themselves do not present a professional appearance, do not seem highly skilled in the product, and little concern is taken with issues reported as rather than calling me to apologize it was left up to me to report and find out the resolution of any issue. There does not appear to be any coordination that what was ordered was installed properly and that the customer was satisfied.

Description of Work
Installed a closet system in two bedrooms.

Category closet systems, woodworking

Cost $5,136

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 07/02/2015

4.0

06/02/2015


Brannon R.

The designed came to our location and took measurements. She was very professional and had great ideas for the two closets and the pantry that we wanted shelves in. In the end, the price was more than the competition and we also ran out of funds.

Description of Work
Designed a shelving system for a master bedroom closet, another bedroom, and a pantry.

Category closet systems

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/07/2015

5.0

05/29/2015


Joseph M.

We love the closet!! Everyone associated with the project was great!! And although we thought the price was a bit high, we are so very satisfied with the results, it was definitely worth it.....!!

Description of Work
Designed a custom closet for our master bedroom closet.

Category closet systems, home & garage organization

Cost $2,682

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 02/19/2015

5.0

05/27/2015


Tom W.

The process was great Price was good, Quality was good and insulation was awesome. I didn't think a closet organizer would make much of a difference, but boy was I wrong. We did a simple design, with a few customizations and it was worth EVERY PENNY. Our closet now stays cleaner, our clothes don't get wrinkled and there is a TON more storage.

Description of Work
Designed and installed a master closet system.

Category closet systems, home & garage organization

Cost $3,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/30/2015

5.0

05/26/2015


Deanna W.

This is the second time we used Closets By Design. Our first project was 4 years ago and they did our master bedroom closet, an office and a huge pantry for our condo. It was perfect. This time went well, although there were a couple of hiccups. Nothing that was earth-shattering and they fixed it immediately. We plan to use them again in our new home. Very highly recommend.

Description of Work
Created a library shelving wall, finished out a closet and added shelves and a door to a linen closet, and built a small L-shaped kitchen area...all for my 89 year old Mother's apartment at an assisted living residence. She is only 4'7" tall so everything was too tall for her and she really wanted a small kitchen area.

Category closet systems

Cost $5,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/23/2015

5.0

05/19/2015


Javier O.

Great design. Installer late but after that was done very well.

Description of Work
closet - master

Category closet systems

Cost $2,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 04/21/2015

2.0

05/04/2015


Yolanda R.

My designer, Mona, was AWESOME! She was very responsive to my needs and answered all questions in a timely manner. Unfortunately, after my order was placed and after the month long wait for an installation, things got a little sketchy. My install window was 12:00 -2:00, so I took a half day off work. Around 1:45, I received a call that the installers were having some "trouble" at the previous client's home and that they would be there closer to 3:00. I kindly agreed that 3:00 would be fine and continued waiting for the installers. Around 3:15 no one had shown up, so I called the office only to find that no one was on the way. After being placed on hold for several minutes, I was told that they were sending someone out to get my closet from one place and then coming to my house. I was told that the new time would be "around 4:00". Of course, they arrived around 4:30 after I had taken off work and waited for several hours. At no time did I receive an apology or phone call from the owner or anyone else. As a matter of fact, when I voiced my distaste with the sequence of events the owner sent a message to me (via the phone representative) that he had already given me a $50 discount on the closet when I placed my order and there's nothing else he can do. Needless to say, I am quite displeased with the lack of professionalism and lack of regard for my time and my money. While I had planned two phases for this project, it is highly likely that we will be going somewhere else to have phase 2 completed. I am hoping they will be returning in the next few days to fix the damaged drawer and pen/marker marks that the installers left.

Description of Work
Master walk-in closet

Category closet systems, woodworking

Cost $1,030

Services Performed? Yes

Work Completed On 05/01/2015

5.0

03/24/2015


MARGARET L.

Unfortunately, there is no way I would spend the money they want for a closet design. Even after all the "discounts" she tacked onto the original ( IMHO seriously inflated) price, it still was way more than I would spend on a closet. We ended up going to a home improvemet store and purchased towers and closets bars, shelves, drawers, etc. and between myself, my husband and a good friend will have the whole thing done in about 3 Saturdays and honestly will be happier with what I will get for a fraction of the cost. That being said, I am sure the product they offer is a good one as they have a very good reputation and if you are ready to spend big bucks to hang clothes and stack shoes, go for it and ask for Carolyn as she'll take good care of you. We, on the other hand, would rather make memories and take a nice vacation and spend 1/3 of the cost at our local home improvement store and stand back and reap the rewards of doing it ourselves.

Description of Work
I called Closets by Design after our wire shelving collapsed on us. Carolyn, an incredibly nice lady, came to the house and spent over an hour with me helping decide on what we needed/wanted. She wasn't at all pushy and was doing her very best to get me something functional yet still within budget. She is obviously very good at what she does and I thoroughly enjoyed talking with her.

Category closet systems, woodworking

Work Completed On 03/10/2015

5.0

06/09/2014


Bob P.

This report is being created later than hoped. This report completes a series of reports on a garage makeover project at my home. I had previously written reports on the company that did the epoxy hybrid floor (Best In Show Garage) and the plumbing company that helped out with the garage sink (All About The Pipes). Closets By Design was the last company used to complete my project. Design: Stacey K. was the Closets By Design designer that worked with me on this project. Stacey was fantastic. I could not have been happier working with her. Stacey was a great communicator, always available, detail oriented, a good listener, pleasant and an expert on closet design. I was so lucky to have her on my project. The installation was done on a cold day in November and since it was a garage project, there wasn't much that could be done to make it warmer. But, the two installers worked all day to complete the job. I gave a B on quality because there were several sections of cabinets that had scratches or imperfections on them. i.e. nicks. I first fault the warehouse for not seeing the damage. I also fault the installers who should have said something but didn't. This was a garage project but I still expect good quality on cabinets I am paying for. I would think that a client would be very upset if they had bedroom closet cabinets installed with scratches and nicks. Closets By Design did replace one cabinet door. They offered to replace a large cabinet but I refused since I was concerened that a re-installation would cause more damage. I was also dismayed by the lack of concern by the owner of this franchise. He never reached out to me on this problem. My designer was my main contact. I would assume that they have rectified this problem. I could show pictures of the imperfections but won't. Again, Stacy offered to do whatever I wanted done to correct the problems but for the most part I decided to go with what was installed. The exception being the one door panel that was replaced. Overall, I am very happy with my garage makeover. I put a lot of work in finding the right people to do the work. If you look at the floor report you'll see how nice the floor came out. Photos of the cabinets are with this report. I am so happy to be able to put all of my paint cans, supplies, garden stuff, etc. away and into the cabinets. The garage looks great.

Description of Work
Closets By Design created a design and installed cabinets including a work space, cart and cabinet for a drop-in sink.

Category countertops

Cost $4,000

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 11/14/2013

Images

Review for Closets By Design - 1108 Continental Blvd, Charlotte, NC - 8490960

+4 More

5.0

05/12/2014


Stacie C.

Well it didn't start out well, but i am not one to hold a grudge. We had an appointment set up for someone to come out and talk about our closets....she was a not shoe, the receptionist never told the sales person that she had an appointment. Once we got that straightned out, they sent Jane Arthur over. She was a perfect fit for us and we loved her. She spent alot of time working with us to make sure we got exactly what we wanted....and it took about 4 appointments, so that proves she has patience. She never pushed us to decide or talked us into anything we did not need. Jane have us some great alternatives to items that we were looking for, to help bring down the cost. I have a beautiful master closet and walk in pantry (with pull out wine racks) thanks to her.

Description of Work
Installed a master closet and large walk in pantry

Category closet systems

Cost $6,300

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 05/02/2014

5.0

04/07/2014


Roxanne G.

Absolutely fantastic. I loved working with my sales person Joy Lowe, she made sure to remind me and followed up on everything as well as making sure I was happy afterward. I wish I had done this many years ago!

Description of Work
Provided great suggestions and design of closet system.

Category closet systems

Cost $3,100

Services Performed? Yes

Hire Again? Yes

Work Completed On 03/31/2014